فَنَكْ وقائع وأحداث عن الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا / الأديان في الشرق الأوسط / الموالد في مصر: احتفالاتٌ صوفية شعبية لا تحظى بإعجاب الجميع

الموالد في مصر: احتفالاتٌ صوفية شعبية لا تحظى بإعجاب الجميع

Specials- Moulid Egypt
مصريون يتحتفلون بالمولد في القاهرة. Photo Flickr ©Flickr

في كل عامٍ ولمدة خمسة أيامٍ في شهر أكتوبر، تجذب مدينة دسوق الصغيرة في دلتا النيل في مصر ملايين الزوار لتصبح مركزاً للصوفية في البلاد.

المناسبة هي الاحتفال بمولد الشيخ الصوفي، الولي إبراهيم الدسوقي، الذي عاش في مدينة دسوق في القرن الثالث عشر، ويقع ضريحه في مسجدٍ وسط المدينة.

أثناء المولد، تنقلب المدينة رأساً على عقب، حيث تعجّ شوارعها بالناس وأماكن الجذب. تقدّم عروض السيرك مثل المهرجين والسحرة ورماة السكاكين والثعابين والأقزام ودوامات الخيل والسيارات التصادمية والدوامات المرتفعة.

وقال محمود السيد، أحد الفلاحين من قرية مليج، لفَنَك “يأتي الناس من كل مكانٍ إلى هنا، وعادةً ما يستأجرون مكاناً للإقامة طوال الأسبوع.” غالبية الزوّار من الفلاحين، الذين عادةً ما يُسافرون لساعاتٍ ضمن حافلاتٍ منظمة من قرى دلتا النيل وخارجها.

أما أولئك الذين لا يستطيعون تحمل تكاليف السكن يبقون في الشوارع أو في مسجد إبراهيم الدسوقي نفسه، الذي يُصبح مكدساً بالأشخاص الذين ينامون ويأكلون على الأرض. تُترك بعض الممرات الصغيرة ليعبر منها الآخرون لزيارة ضريح الدسوقي، حيث يتدافعون نحو القبر للإمساك بقضبانه والصلاة. كما يلمس المصلون حجراً في جدران المسجد يقال إنه يحتوى على أثر قدم النبي إبراهيم، للتبرك به.

وبحسب قول السيد، “يُعرف إبراهيم الدسوقي باستجابته لصلوات الناس عن طريق إيصالها إلى الله، أياً كان ما تطلبه، سيحصل.” وأضاف “عندما أصل إلى المسجد وأقف بالقرب من قبره، أشعر بعظمته وهيبته.”

يتجلى الطابع الديني للمولد أيضاً من خلال وجود العديد من الشيوخ من مختلف الطرق الصوفية الذين يقودهم مؤدون صوفيون غالباً ما يتمتعون بالشهرة. يعزفون الموسيقى الصوفية، بينما يؤدي العديد من الحضور الذِكر، وهو شكلٌ من أشكال الحركات الروحية أثناء ترديدهم أسماء الله الحسنى- دون مزجها بالرقص. بينما يجلس آخرون وهم ينصتون بصمت، ويدخنون الشيشة.

إبراهيم الدسوقي هو مؤسس الطريقة الدسوقية، والتي تُعرف أيضاً بإسم البُرهامية. يُنسب إليه قدرٌ كبيرٌ من الأعمال الصالحة، أو الكرامات، فعلى سبيل المثال، يُقال أنه أنقذ صبياً صغيراً كان يلتهمه تمساحٌ بعد أن أمر التمساح ببصق الصبي وهو على قيد الحياة.

يعتبر مولد الدسوقي واحداً من العديد من الموالد التي تُقام في مصر. فمدينة طنطا، في دلتا النيل أيضاً، موطن مولد السيد البدوي، مؤسس الطريقة الصوفية البدوية. بينما تحتفل الاسكندرية بالشيخ الصوفي أبو العباس المرسي. وعلى غرار الدسوقي، جميعهم ينحدرون من القرن الثالث عشر. وفي القاهرة، تُقام ثلاثة موالد كبيرة للاحتفال بحفيد النبي محمد، الحسين، وحفيدته السيدة زينب، والسيدة نفيسة من أهل البيت.

تُقام أشهر الموالد في صعيد مصر تكريماً لعبد الرحيم القناوي في مدينة قنا. ويُقام في جنوب مرسى علم، مولد أبو الحسن الشاذلي، تكريماً للشيخ الصوفي الذي توفي في طريقه إلى مكة لأداء الحج. بالإضافة إلى ذلك، تُقام العديد من الموالد الأصغر حجماً، ففي قرية مليج، التي ينحدر منها السيد، كان يُقام مولدٌ كبير تكريماً للشيخ علي الوصال، إلا أن الشرطة ألغته قبل عدة سنواتٍ لدواعي أمنية. فقد اندلعت شجاراتٌ عنيفة خلال آخر احتفالٍ بحسب قول السيد، واليوم، يتم الاحتفال بالمولد في ليلةٍ واحدة فقط وبمغنٍ واحد.

لا يُحب جميع من في مصر الموالد، إذ يعتبرها السلفيون وجماعة الإخوان المسلمين محرمةً في الإسلام، ذلك أنهم يرفضون تبجيل “الولاة” والحج إلى أي مكانٍ آخر غير مكة المكرمة. وبينما يعتبر السيد الولي إبراهيم الدسوقي وسيطاً للاستجابة لصلواته، يعتبر مسلمون آخرون أن العلاقة في الإسلام بين العبد والله مباشرة، ولا مكان لأي شخصٍ بينهما.

وعلاوةً على ذلك، تعتبر التيارات الأكثر تحفظاً وتشدداً الموسيقى والرقص، وحتى الذِكر، من المحرمات في الإسلام.

أحمد، على سبيل المثال، وهو مسلمٌ في العشرينيات من عمره وينحدر من مدينة المحلة، لا يرتاد الموالد، إذ يقول، “بالتأكيد لا، أعتقد أنها مجرد أعمالٍ تجارية قذرة لجني المال من الأشخاص الجاهلين.” وأضاف لنا في فَنَك، “لا يعرفون أي شيء عن الدين.”

بالنسبة لأحمد، الموالد “ليست إسلامية.” إذ يعتقد أحمد أن “الصوفيين فقط من يذهبون إليها، وليس الآخرون، مثل السلفيين،” بالرغم من اعترافه بالصوفية كجزءٍ من الإسلام. ويُضيف “ولكن ما يفعله الأشخاص الذين يُطلقون على أنفسهم إسم صوفيين اليوم لا يمت بصلةٍ للإسلام، بل أقرب إلى الشيعة.” ولكنه يؤكد أن تقليد المولد بحد ذاته الأمر السيء، وليس الأشخاص “أنا لا أتفق معهم.”

كما كان الصوفيون أيضاً هدفاً للمتطرفين الذين يستخدمون العنف. فقد قامت جماعةٌ متطرفة تابعة لتنظيم القاعدة بتفجير أضرحةٍ صوفية في تمبكتو في مالي، وأضرمت مجموعات سلفية النار في مزارين في تونس في عام 2013. كما استُهدف صوفيون في باكستان، بما في ذلك خلال تفجيرٍ كبير في أحد المزارات الصوفية في عام 2017، مما أدى إلى مقتل أكثر من 70 شخصاً، فضلاً عن تفجيرٍ آخر في شهر أكتوبر من ذات العام. كما قتلت جماعةٌ تابعةٌ لتنظيم الدولة الإسلامية تنشط في وسط سيناء داعيةً صوفي في عام 2016 وحذرت من أنها لن تسمح بممارسة الشعائر الصوفية. ووقع الهجوم الأكثر دراماتيكية في نوفمبر 2017، عندما هاجم تنظيم الدولة الإسلامية مسجداً يرتاده صوفيون في شمال سيناء، مما أسفر عن مقتل أكثر من 300 شخص.

السيد من أتباع الطريقة الرفاعية الصوفية، التي يقول أنها متوارثة من الأب إلى الأبناء. “يذهب الصوفيون الحقيقيون إلى جميع ليالي الذِكر التي تنظمها الطريقة الصوفية التي يتبعونها ويذهبون إلى الموالد.”

وقال إتش إي هيلير، الباحث في الدراسات الإسلامية في المجلس الأطلسي، لفَنَك أن هناك مستويات مختلفة من الالتزام بالطرق الصوفية. “إن كونك جزءاً من طريقةٍ ما يعني عموماً اتباع نهجٍ معين لتطوير وتنمية علاقتك بالله.”

وأضاف أنها يمكن أن تكون علاقةً رمزية بالطريقة أو بشيخها، منها على سبيل المثال وبكل بساطة محبة والصلاة للولي. بينما يقوم آخرون بقراءة الأوراد أو تعاليم أو مذكرات الولي، أو أنهم يتبعون الشيخ باعتبارهم مُريدين (تلاميذ). ويوضح هيلير هنا “في هذه الحالة، يكون شيخ الطريقة معلمهم ويساعدهم في تعلّم كيفية تطوير علاقتهم مع الله.”

يُثير الحديث مع المصريين المسلمين حول الموالد ردود فعلٍ مختلفة التي غالباً ما تصل إلى نقاشاتٍ محتدة. يقول البعض أن الصوفية تتعارض مع الإسلام السني السائد. “في الصوفية، يذهب الناس إلى الشيخ ليقربهم من الله، بينما بحسب السنة، لا وسيط بين الإنسان والله،” هذا ما قاله العديد من المؤمنين لفَنَك. كما يعتقدون أن الصوفية بدعة تُستخدم لوصف ممارسةٍ دينية جديدة تنحرف عن الإسلام. بينما لا يرفض آخرون الصوفية، إلا أنهم يعتبرون المعتقدات المحيطة بالموالد والولاة مجرد خرافات.

يرفض هيلير فكرة الفصل بين الصوفية والإسلام السني، إذ يقول “التصوف اتجاهٌ سائد ومعياري ومتشدد.”

وبحسب قوله، “قبل ظهور السلفية في القرن الثامن عشر، كانت فكرة أن كون الصوفية باعتبارها علم جماعي، بدعة، مجرد هراء .” وأَضاف “تأثرت المؤسسات القديمة في جميع أنحاء العالم الإسلامي بالصوفية أو شكلتها بطريقةٍ أو أخرى، ومن الواضح أن الصوفية جزءٌ لا يتجزأ من التعاليم الإسلامية التقليدية.” فعلى سبيل المثال، أثر التصوف بشكلٍ كبير على الأزهر في مصر، كما أن شقيق الإمام الأكبر أحمد الطيب زعيم طريقةٍ صوفية هامة.

يأتي نبذ الصوفية من صعود السلفية في المنطقة، كما يقول هيلير، ومن اتجاهٍ أكثر عمومية للحداثة يفصل الدين عن الروحانية، مما ينكر حقيقة التعالي الباطن في العالم.

بينما جادل البعض بأن شعبية الصوفية وانتشارها على نطاق واسع يجعلها وسيلةً أيديولوجية قوية لردع الناس عن التطرف وأن يتم تجنيدهم من قبل جماعات مثل القاعدة وتنظيم الدولة الإسلامية. وقال الخبير في شؤون سيناء مهند صابري لصحيفة الإندبندنت بعد الهجوم الكبير الذي وقع في نوفمبر 2017: “إن المجتمع الصوفي في شمال سيناء… ردع بقوة انضمام الآلاف من الشباب إلى صفوف داعش وواصل إشراكهم على المستويات الاجتماعية والفكرية، والأهم من ذلك، على المستويات الدينية.”

بينما يرى هيلير الأمر بطريقةٍ مختلفة. “الصوفية ليست تكتيكاً مضاداً للتطرف. إنها طريقة دينية للوصول إلى معرفة الله.” وأضاف “إن النظر إلى الصوفية باعتبارها رداً على التطرف تصرف نظرنا أيضاً عن فهم الدوافع السياسية والاجتماعية والاقتصادية لأولئك الذين يتحولون إلى التطرف، بينما يضع الصوفية أيضاً ضمن نطاق الخدمة السياسية للدولة.”

© Copyright Notice

click on link to view the associated photo/image
©Flickr

image_pdfimage_print

دعمكم عونٌ لنا

فَنَك هي مؤسسة إعلامية إلكترونية مستقلة، لا تمولها أي دولة أو مجموعات مصالح. تلتزم فَنَك بنشر تحليلاتٍ مبنية على الوقائع ومحايدة، إلى جانب التقارير المواضيعية حول الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا.
شهد الموقع نمواً سريعاً في نطاق وعمق المعلومات التي يُقدمها، واليوم، بات يُشكل مصدراً غنياً وقيماً للمعلومات عن 21 بلداً، من المغرب إلى عُمان ومن إيران إلى اليمن، باللغتين العربية والإنجليزية. حالياً، وصل عدد القراء إلى 6 ملايين سنوياً، والعدد آخذٌ بالإزدياد.
لضمان حيادية المعلومات على موقع فَنَك (وقائع وأحداث) ، تُنشر المقالات دون ذكر أسماء الكتّاب، مما يُتيح أيضاً لمراسلينا مساحة أكبر من الحرية عند التطرق إلى القضايا الحساسة أو المثيرة للجدل فى بلادهم. وإلى جانب ذلك، نتحرى حقائق جميع المعلومات الواردة في مقالاتنا قبل النشر لضمان دقة المعلومات، وحداثتها وحيادها.

استمرارية تشغيل مثل هذا الموقع الإلكتروني مُكلفة للغاية. بتبرعٍ صغيرٍ منك، يمكنك المساهمة في الحفاظ على حرية واستقلالية تغطيتنا.

Fanack Home / Religions in the Middle East / Moulids in Egypt: Popular Sufi Feasts Not to the Likings of All

Moulids in Egypt: Popular Sufi Feasts Not to the Likings of All

Specials- Moulid Egypt
Egyptians celebrate moulid in Cairo. Photo Flickr

Every year for five days in October, the small town of Desouk in Egypt’s Nile Delta attracts millions of visitors and becomes the country’s centre of Sufism.

The occasion is the celebration (moulid) of the birth of Sufi master (Wali) Ibrahim El Desouki, who lived in Desouk in the 13th century. His shrine lies in the town’s central mosque.

The town is turned completely upside down for the moulid. Its streets are jammed with people and full of attractions. There are circus acts with clowns, magicians, knives throwers, snakes and dwarfs; carousels, bumper cars, and top spins.

“People from all around come here, they usually rent a place to stay for the whole week,” Mahmoud al-Sayed, a farmer from the village Milig, told Fanack. The majority of visitors are farmers (fellaheen), often travelling for hours in organised bus trips from Egypt’s Delta villages and beyond.

Those who cannot afford housing stay on the streets or in the Ibrahim El Desouki mosque itself, which is packed with people sleeping and eating on the floor. Some small walking lanes are left open for others to visit El Desouki’s shrine, pushing themselves forward towards the tomb, to hold its bars and pray. The worshippers also touch a stone in the mosque’s walls, said to contain the footprint of Prophet Ibrahim (Abraham), for blessing.

“Ibrahim El Desouki is known for answering prayers of the people by delivering them to God; whenever you ask him for something, it happens,” Al-Sayed said. “When I go to the mosque and stand next to his tomb, I feel his greatness and prestige.”

The religious character of the feast is also apparent by the presence of Sheikhs from different orders and stands manned by often-famous Sufi performers. They sing Sufi music, and many in the audience perform Dhikr, a spiritual form of movement while citing the name of God – not to be confused with a dance. Others sit and listen quietly, smoking their shishas.

El Desouki is the founder of the Sufi Desouki order, also referred to as the Ibrahimi order. A great deal of good deeds, or Karama, are attributed to him. For instance, he is said to have saved a young boy who was eaten by a crocodile by ordering the crocodile to spit out the boy alive.

The Desouk moulid is one of the many in Egypt. Tanta, also in the Nile delta, is home to the moulid for Al-Sayyid Al-Baddawi, founder of the Baddawiyahh Sufi order. Alexandria celebrates Sufi master Abu al-Abbas al-Morsi. Similar to El Desouki, they also hail from the 13th century. In Cairo there are three large moulids (mawalid) in celebration of the Prophet Muhammad’s grandson Hussein, his granddaughter Sayyida Zeinab and great great granddaughter Sayyida Nafisa.

The most famous moulids in Upper Egypt are in honour of Abdel Rahim Al-Qenawi in the city of Qena. South of Marsa Alam, there is the moulid Abul Hassan Al-Shazli, in honour of a Sufi master that died on his way to Mecca for pilgrimage (Hajj). In addition, there are numerous other smaller moulids. In Milig, Al-Sayed’s village, there used to be a large moulid in honour of Ali al-Wassal, which the police cancelled several years ago over security concerns. Deadly fights had broken out during the last celebration, Al-Sayed said. Now the moulid is celebrated over one night with just one singer.

Not everybody in Egypt is fan of the moulids. Salafists and the Muslim Brotherhood consider it haram (forbidden) in Islam, as they reject venerating ‘saints’ and pilgrimages to any other place than Mecca. While Al-Sayed considers Ibrahim El Desouki to be something like a mediator who makes his prayers heard, other Muslims would say that in Islam the relation to God is a direct one, with no place for someone in between.

Moreover, orthodox-conservative currents consider music and dancing, even Dhikr, as forbidden in Islam.

Ahmed, a Muslim in his 20s hailing from Mahalla in the Delta, does not go to the moulids. “Of course not, I think it is just a dirty business to take money from uneducated people,” he told Fanack. “They don’t know anything about religion.”

For Ahmed, the moulids are “not Islamic”. “Only Sufis are going to them, not others, like Salafists,” Ahmed believes, while acknowledging that Sufism in itself is part of Islam. “But what people who call themselves Sufis do nowadays is not according to Islam, it’s close to Shi’ism,” Ahmed said. But, he stresses, it is the tradition of moulids that is bad, not the people themselves. “I just don’t agree with them.”

Sufis have also been a target for violent extremists. Al-Qaeda affiliates blew up Sufi shrines in Timbuktu, Mali in 2012 and Salafi groups torched two shrines in Tunisia in 2013. Pakistan’s Sufis have also been targeted, including during a major bombing at a Sufi shrine in 2017 killing over 70 and another one in October that year. The Islamic State (IS) offshoot operating in North and Central Sinai killed a Sufi preacher in 2016 and warned it would not allow Sufi practises. The most dramatic attack happened in November 2017, when IS attacked a mosque frequented by Sufis in North Sinai, killing over 300.

Al-Sayed is part of the Sufi Rifa’i order, which he says is something that goes from father to son. “True Sufis go to all the Dhikr nights organised by the order they follow and to the moulids.”

H.A. Hellyer, a researcher in Islamic studies at the Atlantic Council, told Fanack that there are different levels of commitment to an order. “Being part of an order generally means following a certain approach to developing and nurturing your relation with God.”

It can be a symbolic relation with the order or its Sheikh, such as simply loving and praying for the wali, he added. Others will recite the awrad, teachings or memoires of the wali, or will follow the Sheikh as murids (disciples). “In this case the Sheikh of the order is their mentor and helps them learn how to develop their relation with God,” Hellyer explained.

Talking with Egyptian Muslims about moulids sparks diverse reactions and often heated debates. Some say Sufism goes against mainstream Sunni Islam. “In Sufism people go to the Sheikh to bring them closer to God, while according to Sunna there is no mediator between man and God,” was what several believers told Fanack. They believe Sufism is bid’ah, or ‘innovation’, which is used to describe a new religious practise that diverts from the original Islam. Others don’t reject Sufism, but consider the beliefs surrounding moulids and walis as superstition.

Hellyer rejects such a notion of separating Sufism from Sunni Islam. “Sufism is mainstream, normative and orthodox,” he said.

“Before the rise of Salafism in the 18th century, the notion that Sufism as a science en masse would be bid’ah was nonsense,” he said. “Old institutions all over the Islamic world have been influenced or shaped by Sufism in one way or another, and are clear that Sufism is an integral part of traditional Islamic teachings.” For instance, Sufism has heavily influenced Egypt’s Al-Azhar, and the brother of current Grand Imam Ahmed el-Tayeb is the leader of an important Sufi order.

The rejection of Sufism comes from the rise of Salafism in the region, Hellyer said, and a more general trend of modernism that separates religion from the spiritual, denying the reality of an immanent transcendent in the world.

Some have argued that the popularity and widespread presence of Sufism make it a powerful ideological means to deter people from radicalisation and being recruited by groups like Al-Qaeda and IS. “The Sufi community in North Sinai…powerfully kept thousands of youths from joining the ranks of IS and has continued to engage them on social, intellectual and most importantly religious levels,” Sinai expert Muhannad Sabry told The Independent after the major attack in November 2017.

Hellyer sees this differently. “Sufism is not a counter-extremism tactic; it is a religious method to reach knowledge of God,” he said. “Seeing Sufism as an answer to radicalisation also diverts us away from understanding the political and socio-economic motives of those being radicalized, while also putting Sufism at the political service of the state.”

image_pdfimage_print

We would like to ask you something …

Fanack is an independent media organisation, not funded by any state or any interest group, that distributes in the Middle East and the wider world unbiased analysis and background information, based on facts, about the Middle East and North Africa.

The website grew rapidly in breadth and depth and today forms a rich and valuable source of information on 21 countries, from Morocco to Oman and from Iran to Yemen, both in Arabic and English. We currently reach six million readers annually and growing fast.

In order to guarantee the impartiality of information on the Chronicle, articles are published without by-lines. This also allows correspondents to write more freely about sensitive or controversial issues in their country. All articles are fact-checked before publication to ensure that content is accurate, current and unbiased.

To run such a website is very expensive. With a small donation, you can make a huge impact. And it only takes a minute. Thank you.