فَنَكْ وقائع وأحداث عن الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا / الأديان في الشرق الأوسط / مُقدمة عن السلفية

مُقدمة عن السلفية

Specials- Salafism
القاهرة، مصر. Photo AFP ©AFP ⁃ MARWAN NAAMANI

ما هي السلفية؟ تبرز الحاجة إلى استخدام المصطلح بدقة ذلك أن هناك ميلاً لمساواتها بالإسلاموية: وهي أيديولوجية تدعو إلى تطبيق الإسلام كنظامٍ سياسي تكون فيه الشريعة الإسلامية المصدر الرئيسي أو الوحيد للأحكام والتشريعات. إن مثل هذا التداخل يُهمل تنوع وجهات النظر داخل الاتجاهات السلفية فيما يتعلق بالطموحات السياسية والعلاقات مع الدولة.

يأتي مصطلح السلفية من الجذر العربي (السين واللام والفاء)، الذي يُشير إلى دلالاتٍ بالأسبقية. وفي هذا السياق، تعني الكلمة ممارسة الإسلام على أساس السوابق الصحيحة، أي القرآن الكريم، وكل ما نُقل من قولٍ أو فعلٍ بطريقة صحيحة وواضحة عن النبي محمد (السُنة النبوية) وفهم الدين كما كان موجوداً بين السلف (السلف الصالح)، الذين غالباً ما يتم تعريفهم بأنهم الأجيال الثلاثة الأولى منذ نشأة المجتمع الإسلامي.

ومع ذلك، لا يعني هذا الرأي أن أي شيءٍ جاء بعد الأجيال الثلاثة الأولى (أي حتى حوالي القرن التاسع) يتم تجاهله تلقائياً. في الواقع، كثيراً ما يستشهد الخطاب السلفي بكتابات العلماء اللاحقين الذين ينظر إليهم على أنهم حافظوا على فهم الإسلام كما كان موجوداً بين أسلافهم. ومن الأمثلة على هؤلاء العلماء عالم الدين ابن تيمية (المعروف باسم “شيخ الإسلام”) والشخصية المعروفة في القرن الثامن عشر، محمد بن عبد الوهاب، الذي أسس الاتجاه الوهابي في شبه الجزيرة العربية. وبينما ظهر اتجاهٌ سلفي في مصر في القرن التاسع عشر، كان للاتجاه الوهابي تأثيرٌ مهم على السلفية في العصر الحديث، على الرغم من أن السلفية والوهابية تعاملان في بعض الأحيان باعتبارهما ظاهرتين مختلفتين. في الواقع، سيكون من الأدق التعامل مع الوهابية كنوعٍ من السلفية.

الجانب الأبرز للفكر السلفي هو النظرة المتشددة بالتمسك بمبدأ التوحيد ورفض الشِرك. وعليه، يحرّم السلفيون زيارة المقابر ومزارات الأولياء وأداء الطواف حولهم. كما يحرّمون أيضاً السعي للحصول على شفاعة الأولياء، لأن مثل هذه الأعمال تعتبر بمثابة عبادة غير الله، وبالتالي فهي شِركٌ بالله. ويؤكد السلفيون معارضتهم الشديدة للممارسات التي تُعتبر بدعاً، والأشخاص الذين يمارسون مثل هذه البدع (مثل الصوفيين)، إلى جانب تحذيرهم من الطوائف الإسلامية الأخرى مثل الشيعة الذين يُعتبرونهم طوائف ضالة.

بيد أن الآراء السلفية عن السياسة والعلاقات مع السلطات الحاكمة تختلف اختلافاً كبيراً، بدءاً من منظور “الهدوء” الصارم وصولاً إلى الجهادية السلفية. بالطبع، يقع العديد من ممثلي السلفية مثل حزب النور في مصر في مكانٍ ما بين هذين الحدّين.

ومن الأمثلة على النزعة الهادئة الصارمة عمل أبو خديجة، مدير المسجد السلفي في برمنجهام في المملكة المتحدة، والذي يرى أنه يجب إطاعة الحاكم بغض النظر عما إذا كان من الصالحين أم الخطاة. في الواقع، يجادل أبو خديجة بأن “التمرد على الحاكم المسلم الطاغية مُحرّم، حتى وإن كانت شخصيته مثل الشيطان، حتى وإن لم يُطبق السُنة النبوية.”

يرتكز أبو خديجة في مبدأه هذا على حديثٍ للنبي محمد في صحيح مسلم يقول فيه: “يَكُونُ بَعْدِي أَئِمَّةٌ لاَ يَهْتَدُونَ بِهُدَاىَ وَلاَ يَسْتَنُّونَ بِسُنَّتِي وَسَيَقُومُ فِيهِمْ رِجَالٌ قُلُوبُهُمْ قُلُوبُ الشَّيَاطِينِ فِي جُثْمَانِ إِنْسٍ ‏”‏ ‏.‏ قَالَ قُلْتُ كَيْفَ أَصْنَعُ يَا رَسُولَ اللَّهِ إِنْ أَدْرَكْتُ ذَلِكَ قَالَ ‏”‏ تَسْمَعُ وَتُطِيعُ لِلأَمِيرِ وَإِنْ ضُرِبَ ظَهْرُكَ وَأُخِذَ مَالُكَ فَاسْمَعْ وَأَطِعْ.”

ومع ذلك، فإن مبدأ الطاعة عامٌ وليس مُطلق. وبالتالي، لا طاعة لحاكمٍ في معصية الله. وإذا ما ارتكب الحاكم فعلاً من أفعال الكفر أو الشرك، فينبغي أن يكون هناك تمردٌ فقط ضد هذا الحاكم إذا ما رأى العلماء السلفيون أن الحاكم كافرٌ ويمكن الإطاحة به من قبل الناس دون إلحاق ضررٍ أكبر.

بالنظر إلى هذا النهج العام في السياسة، ليس من المستغرب أن يشجب أبو خديجة بشدة الحركات الإسلامية مثل الإخوان المسلمين وحزب التحرير التي تمتلك طابعاً ثورياً بطبيعتها. ويؤكد أبو خديجة، الذي يلعنهم باعتبارهم بدعة أنه “ممنوع الانضمام إليهم أو مساعدتهم في دعوتهم.”

ينبغي التأكيد على أن هذا النهج الهادىء لا يعني أن هؤلاء السلفيين يرفضون فكرة الترويج لوجهة نظرهم العالمية والسعي إلى اعتناق الآخرين لها من خلال الدعوة. كما لا يعني أن هؤلاء السلفيين يدعمون مفاهيم الديمقراطية. بطريقةٍ مثالية، هم يرغبون في العيش في مجتمعٍ يطبق أحكام الإسلام والشريعة الإسلامية.

في الوقت الحاضر، فإن الجدل الأكثر بروزاً الذي أحدثه نفوذ السلفية الهادئة هو ليبيا، حيث يشار إليهم بشكلٍ عام بالسلفية المدخلية، نسبةً إلى الباحث السعودي ربيع المدخلي، الذي يروج للنهج الهادىء الذي عبر عنه في طاعة وليّ الأمر. المداخلة الذين كانوا يوماً ما يرتبطون بدعم نظام معمر القذافي قبل عام 2011 على أساس نهج طاعة وليّ الأمر، أصبحوا متورطين مع كلا طرفيّ الحرب الأهلية الحالية المستعرة في البلاد. ففي شرق ليبيا، انضم المداخلة إلى صفوف الرجل العسكري القوي خليفة حفتر (المدعوم صراحة من قبل ربيع المدخلي) ولعبوا دوراً بارزاً في معركته العسكرية “عملية الكرامة” ضد الإسلاميين والجهاديين السلفيين. أما في غرب ليبيا، فقد انضم المداخلة إلى قوات الأمن التابعة لحكومة الوفاق الوطني التي تتخذ من طرابلس مقراً لها. في كلا طرفيّ البلاد، تم اتهام المداخلة باستخدام نفوذهم لتعزيز نظرتهم للعالم ومهاجمة خصومهم الدينيين مثل الصوفيين.

في الطرف الآخر من الطيف السلفي، هناك “الجهادية السلفية،” والتي تضم جماعاتٍ مثل تنظيم القاعدة والدولة الإسلامية (داعش). فعلى سبيل المثال، يؤكد تنظيم داعش (كحال أبو خديجة) في منشوره المعنون “هذه عقيدتنا وهذا منهجُنا” أن مبادىء الدين مستمدة من القرآن والسُنة وفهم السلف الصالح من الأجيال الثلاثة الأولى. فعلى سبيل المقارنة، شددت الجماعة الإسلامية المسلحة في الجزائر، والتي ظهرت خلال الحرب الأهلية في ذلك البلد في التسعينيات، مراراً وتكراراً في بيانها على أنها التزمت “بالمنهج السلفي.” ومن المؤكد أن الجهاديين السلفيين لن يختلفوا مع نظرائهم من السلفية الهادئة في قضايا مثل معاداة الممارسات الصوفية. إن مشاهد هدم الجهاديين للأضرحة الصوفية معروفة تماماً.

ومع ذلك، يختلف نهج الجهاديين في السياسة اختلافاً جذرياً. وبحجة أن الحكام الحاليين في العالم الإسلامي هم مرتدون لأنهم لا يطبقون الشريعة الإسلامية ويتبنون الأفكار السياسية التي تعتبر مخالفة للإسلام (مثل القومية)، يُجادل تنظيم داعش وغيره من الجهاديين السلفيين بأن الانحراف عن مجتمع تحكمه بالمجمل أحكام الإسلام هو سبب تدهور العالم الإسلامي في العصر الحديث. كما يجادلون بأن الحكام “المرتدين” لا يستحقون الطاعة، بل ينبغي الإطاحة بهم من خلال الكفاح المسلح، واستبدال أنظمتهم وحدودهم المصطنعة بخلافةٍ قائمة على “المنهج النبوي” في جميع أرجاء العالم الإسلامي. وفي هذا الصدد، يعادي الجهاديون السلفيون الحركات الإسلامية مثل جماعة الإخوان المسلمين، ليس بسبب طابعهم الثوري، ولكن لأنهم حاولوا العمل ضمن الأنظمة السياسية وينظر إليهم على أنهم قدموا تنازلاتٍ غير مقبولة لمبادئهم.

وعلى صعيدٍ متصل، فقد اختلف الجهاديون السلفيون فيما بينهم حول قضايا التكتيكات وخصائص العقيدة. تشتمل الأمثلة على هذه الخلافات الداخلية حول مدى تطبيق التكفير على أولئك الذين يدّعون ارتباطهم بالإسلام، ومدى سرعة تطبيق الشريعة الإسلامية والأحكام في المناطق التي تخضع لسيطرتها، وإلى أي درجة يمكن لأي شخصٍ أن يتعاون مع الجهات الفاعلة المتمردة الأخرى ضد عدوٍ مشترك، وما إذا كان ينبغي التركيز على السيطرة على الأراضي أو متابعة حرب العصابات في موقفٍ معين، وما إذا كان من المقبول إقامة أي نوعٍ من العلاقات مع الدول في النظام الدولي التقليدي.

فقد برزت مثل هذه الإختلافات في الحرب الأهلية السورية، إذ لا يقتصر الأمر فحسب على الإنقسام الذي حصل بين تنظيم الدولة الإسلامية والقاعدة، بل أيضاً في خضم النزاعات الحاصلة بين هيئة تحرير الشام والقاعدة. فكلٌ من تنظيم الدولة وهيئة تحرير الشام تربطهما جذورٌ بالقاعدة، إلا أنهما اليوم أنهيا رسمياً ارتباطهما بالقاعدة. وفي حين يُنظر إلى تنظيم داعش على أنه يعكس الحد الأكثر تطرفاً للجهادية السلفية، إلا أن هيئة تحرير الشام كانت تميل نحو اتجاهٍ أكثر “اعتدالاً،” حيث تكيّفت مع سياق شمال غرب سوريا الذي يسيطر عليه المتمردون.

© Copyright Notice

click on link to view the associated photo/image
©AFP ⁃ MARWAN NAAMANI

دعمكم عونٌ لنا

فَنَك هي مؤسسة إعلامية إلكترونية مستقلة، لا تمولها أي دولة أو مجموعات مصالح. تلتزم فَنَك بنشر تحليلاتٍ مبنية على الوقائع ومحايدة، إلى جانب التقارير المواضيعية حول الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا.
شهد الموقع نمواً سريعاً في نطاق وعمق المعلومات التي يُقدمها، واليوم، بات يُشكل مصدراً غنياً وقيماً للمعلومات عن 21 بلداً، من المغرب إلى عُمان ومن إيران إلى اليمن، باللغتين العربية والإنجليزية. حالياً، وصل عدد القراء إلى 6 ملايين سنوياً، والعدد آخذٌ بالإزدياد.
لضمان حيادية المعلومات على موقع فَنَك (وقائع وأحداث) ، تُنشر المقالات دون ذكر أسماء الكتّاب، مما يُتيح أيضاً لمراسلينا مساحة أكبر من الحرية عند التطرق إلى القضايا الحساسة أو المثيرة للجدل فى بلادهم. وإلى جانب ذلك، نتحرى حقائق جميع المعلومات الواردة في مقالاتنا قبل النشر لضمان دقة المعلومات، وحداثتها وحيادها.

استمرارية تشغيل مثل هذا الموقع الإلكتروني مُكلفة للغاية. بتبرعٍ صغيرٍ منك، يمكنك المساهمة في الحفاظ على حرية واستقلالية تغطيتنا.

Fanack Home / Religions in the Middle East / Salafism: An Introduction

Salafism: An Introduction

Specials- Salafism
Cairo, Egypt. Photo AFP

What is Salafism? Precise use of the term is needed because there is a tendency to equate it with Islamism: that is, the idea that Islam should be implemented as a political system with Islamic law being the main or sole source of rulings and legislation. Such a conflation ignores the diversity of views within Salafi trends toward political ambitions of and relations with the state.

The term Salafism (Arabic: salafiya) comes from the Arabic root s-l-f, which has connotations of precedence. In this context, the word means practicing Islam on the basis of the correct precedents, namely, the Koran, the authentic and sound sayings and practices ascribed to the Prophet Muhammad (the Sunna) and the understanding of the religion as it existed among the salf (the predecessors), often defined as the first three generations since the inception of the Muslim community.

However, this position does not mean that anything that came after the first three generations (i.e. up until around the 9th century) is automatically discarded. In fact, Salafi discourse frequently cites as authoritative the writings of subsequent scholars who are seen as having upheld the understanding of Islam as it existed among the predecessors. Examples of those scholars include the medieval theologian Ibn Taymiyyah (frequently dubbed ‘the Sheikh of Islam’) and the 18th-century figure Muhammad bin Abd al-Wahhab, who founded the Wahhabi trend in what is now Saudi Arabia. While a Salafi trend emerged in Egypt in the 19th century, the Wahhabi trend has been an important influence on Salafism in the modern era, even though Salafism and Wahhabism are sometimes treated as two different phenomena. In fact, it would be more accurate to treat Wahhabism as a type of Salafism.

The most prominent aspect of Salafi thought is a hardline view on upholding the principle of tawheed (monotheism) and rejecting shirk (idolatry). Thus, Salafis forbid visiting graves and shrines of awliya (pious people) and performing circumambulation around them. They also forbid seeking the intercession of awliya, since such actions are deemed tantamount to worshipping one besides God and therefore constitute shirk. Salafis affirm strong opposition to practices deemed bida (innovations) and people who practice such innovations (e.g. Sufis), while warning against other Muslim sects like the Shia who are deemed to be heretical.

Yet Salafi views of politics and relations with the ruling authorities differ widely, ranging from a strict ‘quietist’ perspective to Salafi jihadism. Of course, many Salafi actors like the  al-Nour Party in Egypt fall somewhere between these two extremes.

An example of the strict quietist trend is the work of Abu Khadeejah, director of Birmingham’s Salafi Mosque in the United Kingdom, who holds that the ruler should be obeyed regardless of whether the he is righteous or sinful. Indeed, he argues that “rebellion against the tyrannical Muslim ruler is forbidden, even if his character is like that of a devil, even if he does not practice the Sunna.”

ِAbu Khadeejah bases this principle on a hadith (saying) ascribed to the Prophet Muhammad in the Sahih Muslim collection of hadiths, in which the prophet said that there would come after him rulers “not guided by my guidance and not following my Sunna, and there will rise among them men whose hearts are the hearts of the devils in human bodies”. When asked what one should do in such a situation, the prophet reputedly said: “You hear and obey the ruler, even if your back is beaten and your wealth is taken, hear and obey.”

However, the principle of obedience is general and not absolute. Thus, the ruler should not be obeyed for an act in which he commands the Muslim to disobey God. If the ruler commits an act of kufr (disbelief) or shirk, then there should only be rebellion against that ruler if the Salafi scholars deem that ruler to be a disbeliever and that he can be removed by the people without bringing about greater harm.

Given this general approach to politics, it is unsurprising that Abu Khadeejah strongly denounces Islamist movements like the Muslim Brotherhood and Hizb ut-Tahrir that have an inherently revolutionary character. Damning them as innovators, Abu Khadeejah affirms that “it is forbidden to join them or to aid them in their proselytizing”.

It should be emphasized though that this quietist approach does not mean that these Salafis reject the idea of promoting their worldview and seeking to convert others to it through dawah (proselytizing). It also does not mean that these Salafis support notions of democracy. Ideally, they would like to live in a society that applies the rulings of Islam and Islamic law.

At present, the most notable controversy created by the influence of quietist Salafis is Libya, where the quietists are generally referred to as Madkhalis, a reference to the Saudi scholar Rabee al-Madkhali, who promotes the quietist approach expressed in Arabic as taat wali al-amr (obeying the ruler). Once associated with support for Muammar Qaddafi’s regime in Libya prior to 2011 on the basis of obeying the ruler, Madkhalis have become involved on both sides of the current civil war in the country. In east Libya, Madkhalis have joined the ranks of military strongman Khalifa Haftar (who is explicitly supported by al-Madkhali) and played a prominent role in his ‘Operation Dignity’ against Islamists and Salafi jihadists. In west Libya, Madkhalis have joined the security forces of the Tripoli-based Government of National Accord. In both parts of the country, Madkhalis have been accused of using their influence to promote their worldview and attack religious rivals such as Sufis.

At the other end of the Salafi spectrum is ‘Salafi jihadism’, which includes groups such as al-Qaeda and the Islamic State (IS). For example, in its pamphlet entitled ‘This is our Doctrine and This is our Methodology’, IS affirms (like Abu Khadeejah) that the principles of the religion are derived from the Koran, Sunna and the understanding of the just predecessors (al-salf al-salih) of the first three generations. By comparison, the Armed Islamic Group in Algeria, which was prominent during that country’s civil war in the 1990s, repeatedly stressed in its manifesto that it adhered to the ‘Salafi methodology’. The Salafi jihadists would certainly not disagree with their quietist counterparts on issues like hostility to Sufi practices. Scenes of jihadists demolishing Sufi shrines are all too familiar.

However, the jihadist approach to politics is radically different. Arguing that the present rulers of the Muslim world are apostates as they do not rule by God’s law and espouse political ideas deemed contrary to Islam (e.g. nationalism), IS and other Salafi jihadists argue that the deviation from a society governed in its totality by the rulings of Islam has been the cause of the Muslim world’s decline in the modern era. They argue that the ‘apostate’ rulers are due no obedience, but rather must be overthrown through armed struggle, replacing their systems and artificial borders with a caliphate founded ‘on the prophetic methodology’ that spans the Muslim world. In this regard, Salafi jihadists are hostile to Islamist movements like the Muslim Brotherhood, not because they are revolutionary in nature but because they have tried to work within political systems and are seen as having made unacceptable compromises on principles.

Salafi jihadists have disagreed among themselves on issues of tactics and specifics of doctrine. Examples of these internal controversies include how far takfir (excommunication/declaring others to be non-Muslim) should be applied to those who profess affiliation with Islam, how quickly Islamic law and rulings should be applied in areas that come under their control, the degree to which one should cooperate with other insurgent actors against a common enemy, whether the focus should be on holding territory or pursuing guerrilla warfare in a given situation and whether it is acceptable to have any kinds of relations with states in the conventional international order.

It is in the Syrian civil war that these debates have become most prominent, not only with the IS-al-Qaeda split that emerged but also the dispute between Hayat Tahrir al-Sham and al-Qaeda. Both IS and Hayat Tahrir al-Sham have roots as al-Qaeda affiliates but have now officially ended relations with al-Qaeda. While IS is seen as reflecting the more extreme end of Salafi jihadism, Hayat Tahrir al-Sham has tended in a more ‘moderate’ direction, adapting itself to the context of Syria’s insurgent-held north-west.

image_pdfimage_print

We would like to ask you something …

Fanack is an independent media organisation, not funded by any state or any interest group, that distributes in the Middle East and the wider world unbiased analysis and background information, based on facts, about the Middle East and North Africa.

The website grew rapidly in breadth and depth and today forms a rich and valuable source of information on 21 countries, from Morocco to Oman and from Iran to Yemen, both in Arabic and English. We currently reach six million readers annually and growing fast.

In order to guarantee the impartiality of information on the Chronicle, articles are published without by-lines. This also allows correspondents to write more freely about sensitive or controversial issues in their country. All articles are fact-checked before publication to ensure that content is accurate, current and unbiased.

To run such a website is very expensive. With a small donation, you can make a huge impact. And it only takes a minute. Thank you.