فَنَكْ وقائع وأحداث عن الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا / الأديان في الشرق الأوسط / الصحوة الإسلامية في السعودية قد تواجه الزوال

الصحوة الإسلامية في السعودية قد تواجه الزوال

Specials- King slaman
أفراد من القوات المسلحة السعودية يقفون خلف صورةٍ للملك سلمان أثناء مشاركتهم في استعراضٍ عسكري في مدينة مكة المكرمة في المملكة العربية السعودية خلال مناورةٍ عسكرية أجريت في 13 أغسطس 2018. Photo AFP

كانت “الصحوة الإسلامية” – المعروفة باسم الصحوة – واحدةً من أقوى الحركات الاجتماعية والسياسية في المملكة العربية السعودية. تعود أصولها إلى خمسينيات وستينيات القرن الماضي، عندما فر الآلاف من أعضاء جماعة الإخوان المسلمين من القمع العنيف في جميع أنحاء المنطقة، وخاصة مصر، وجاءوا إلى المملكة المحافظة.

تم منح العديد منهم مناصب بارزة في الجامعات والوزارات الحكومية وأنشأوا علاقاتٍ وثيقة مع الحكام السعوديين.

وبحلول السبعينيات، ضمت الصحوة العديد من الجماعات الدينية غير الرسمية، كان أكثرها شعبية السرورية- التي سُميت على اسم الشيخ السوري محمد سرور زين العابدين- وجماعة الإخوان المسلمين السعودية، التي لم تكن تابعة رسمياً قط للمنظمة الأم في مصر.

فقد أكد الدكتور سعد الفقيه، وهو سعودي يعيش في المنفى في المملكة المتحدة، والذي تأثر بالصحوة ويرأس اليوم حركة الإصلاح الإسلامي في الجزيرة العربية، أنه لا توجد أيديولوجية “صحوة” واحدة ذلك أنها حركة إحيائية تشمل جماعاتٍ مختلفة مع وجهات نظرٍ مختلفة قليلاً. ومن الأمور المشتركة بينهم جميعاً أنهم استلهموا من تعاليم الإخوان التقليدية، التي تنص على أن القوانين والأخلاق الإسلامية يجب أن تحكم البلدان ذات الأغلبية المسلمة.

وبخلاف الإخوان، حافظت الصحوة على مبادئها الوهابية. فقد أشار الفقيه إلى أن صعودها متجذرٌ في ثلاث أحداثٍ محورية في التاريخ السعودي.

كان أولها عندما استولى عريفٌ سابقٌ في الجيش، جهيمان العتيبي، على المسجد الحرام في 4 نوفمبر 1979. في ذلك الوقت، كان ولي العهد الأمير فهد بن عبد العزيز يحاول الدفع لإجراء إصلاحاتٍ اجتماعية رئيسية، حيث أجبره الحادث على تقليص خططه لاسترضاء الإسلاميين السعوديين ورجال الدين المدعومين من الدولة.

كما كانت الثورة الإيرانية في نفس العام عاملاً رئيسياً آخر، إذ قال الفقيه إن أول مرشدٍ أعلى في إيران، روح الله الخميني، كان شخصيةً يتمتع بالجاذبية بالنسبة للكثير من السُنة في المملكة. وخوفاً من الهيمنة الإيرانية، شجعت المملكة ورعت العديد من رواد الصحوة لنشر صورة عن ملكية سعودية أخلاقية تهدف إلى نشر الخير.

العامل الثالث، بحسب الفقيه، هو أن هؤلاء الرواد تلقوا تعليماتٍ أيضاً لإقناع الآلاف من المسلمين إما بتمويل أو القتال إلى جانب المجاهدين في أفغانستان ضد الغزو السوفييتي.

بقي التعاون بين القيادة السعودية وبين هؤلاء الرواد قوياً إلى أن غزا العراق الكويت في عام 1991. وخوفاً من أن يهاجم العراق المملكة أيضاً، طلب الملك فهد نشر القوات الأمريكية على الأراضي السعودية. أثارت هذه الخطوة ضجةً بين شيوخ الصحوة البارزين، الذين كان جميعهم خارج دائرة رجال الدين المدعومين من الدولة.

إذ قال الفقيه، “لم يُصدم الناس أو [قادة الصحوة] بغزو صدام حسين للكويت. ما صدمهم كان قرار الملك السماح للقوات الأمريكية بالدخول إلى الجزيرة العربية، وأن رجال الدين الرسميين أصدروا فتوى لإضفاء الشرعية على الطلب السعودي.” وأضاف “يُهيمن الفكر الوهابي على المملكة، بمعنى أن طلب المساعدة من غير المسلمين [يجب] تحريمه حتى وإن كان دفاعاً عن النفس.”

فقد تم سجن شيوخ بارزين من الصحوة أمثال سلمان العودة وسفر الحوالي وناصر العمر بعد ذلك بثلاث سنوات لتحديهم العلني القيادة السعودية والدعوة إلى إصلاحاتٍ جذرية. وبعد سحق الحركة، احتفظ النظام السعودي بكراهيةٍ عميقة تجاه الإخوان المسلمين، التي ألقى باللائمة عليها في قيادة موجةٍ من المعارضة. وخلص النظام إلى أن الصحوة على علاقةٍ مباشرة مع الإخوان المسلمين.

تراجعت حدة هذا الاستياء عندما تم الإفراج عن معظم الشخصيات البارزة من الصحوة في عام 1999، مما أشار إلى إحتمالية تقاربٍ ممكن. فقد كتب ستيفان لاكروا، وهو عالمٍ سياسي وخبيرٌ في حركة الصحوة، إن وفاة شيوخ محترمين من رجال الدين المدعومين من الدولة أوجدت حاجةً لدى العائلة المالكة للتحالف مع الصحوة. ومن خلال القيام بذلك، كان يأمل آل سعود بأن يحظوا بشرعيةٍ دينية بينما يساندون حملةً ضد الجهاديين.

وعليه، اغتنمت العديد من شخصيات الصحوة الفرصة لمحاربة التهديد المتزايد للجهادية، في حين انشغل البعض الآخر بالوعظ ضد مخاطر المجتمعات الليبرالية.

في الغالب، لم يكن لدى النظام أي سببٍ للتخوف من الصحوة إلى أن اندلع الربيع العربي في عام 2011. فقد أجبر سقوط الأنظمة في تونس ومصر العشرات من شخصيات الصحوة على توقيع التماسات تدعو إلى إصلاحاتٍ سريعة في المملكة. كان هناك عريضة واحدة بعنوان “نحو دولة الحقوق والمؤسسات” بينما حملت عريضة أخرى عنوان “دعوةٌ للإصلاح.”

فقد ذهب العودة، الذي كان قد غيّر من صورته ليصبح أكثر اعتدالاً، أبعد من ذلك. ففي عام 2013، نشر رسالةً مفتوحة إلى الملك عبد الله يدعوه فيها إلى إجراء إصلاحات.

وعلى الرغم من أن أياً من قادة الصحوة دعم دعوةً للتظاهر، إلا أن حشدهم السياسي كان يرعب النظام. فقد فاقم صعود حكومات الإسلاميين في تونس ومصر من مخاوفهم، خاصة بعد أن زار محمد مرسي، أول رئيس منتخب ديمقراطياً في مصر وعضو جماعة الإخوان المسلمين، العاصمة الإيرانية طهران في أغسطس 2012. وفي ظل الخوف من التحالف بين الإخوان وإيران، دعمت المملكة العربية السعودية والإمارات العربية المتحدة بحماس انقلاباً عسكرياً في مصر، مما أسفر عن رد فعلٍ عنيف في المملكة.

وكتب لاكروا: “وقعّت جميع الشخصيات الرئيسية في الصحوة على عرائض وبياناتٍ تدين الانقلاب، وبمصطلحاتٍ أكثر أو أقل وضوحاً، إدانة دعم الحكومة السعودية له.”

وعلى الرغم من انتشار معارضة الانقلاب، إلا أن أسباب هذه المعارضة تفاوتت، حيث جادل بعض رجال الدين أنه يُحظر الإطاحة بحاكمٍ مسلم، في حين رفض آخرون الانقلاب على أساس الدفاع عن الديمقراطية الانتخابية.

وفي ظل عزمه على سحق المعارضة، كثف ولي العهد السعودي، محمد بن سلمان، حملة القمع ضد الإسلاميين السعوديين، وبخاصة رجال الدين الذين لطالما كانوا ينتسبون لحركة الصحوة.

وبالتالي، ألقي القبض على العودة مرةً أخرى في سبتمبر 2017، بعد وقتٍ قصير من نشر تغريدة كان يبدو أنها تدعو إلى المصالحة مع قطر. فقد حاصرت المملكة العربية السعودية الدولة الخليجية الصغيرة في يونيو 2017 بسبب مزاعم دعمها للإرهاب. ومنذ ذلك الحين، وجهت النيابة العامة السعودية للعودة 37 تهمة وتطالب بإعدامه.

وتعليقاً على اعتقال العودة، قال لاكروا لرويترز إن حملة القمع تمثل محاولةً أوسع لسحق الإسلاميين في المملكة، بغض النظر عما إذا كانوا يعارضون النظام أم لا. وإذا ما فترضنا أن هذا صحيح، إلا أن سجن النشطاء العلمانيين أيضاً يجعل من الواضح أن محمد بن سلمان يحاول سحق جميع أشكال المعارضة، لربما خوفاً من أن يؤدي ذلك إلى اضطراباتٍ أوسع.

وكتب لاكروا في مجلة فورين بوليسي: “الصحوة مثل الإخوان المسلمين في مصر: قد لا يكونوا من يبدأ الاحتجاجات، إلا أنها لن تنجح دونهم.”

image_pdfimage_print

دعمكم عونٌ لنا

فَنَك هي مؤسسة إعلامية إلكترونية مستقلة، لا تمولها أي دولة أو مجموعات مصالح. تلتزم فَنَك بنشر تحليلاتٍ مبنية على الوقائع ومحايدة، إلى جانب التقارير المواضيعية حول الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا.
شهد الموقع نمواً سريعاً في نطاق وعمق المعلومات التي يُقدمها، واليوم، بات يُشكل مصدراً غنياً وقيماً للمعلومات عن 21 بلداً، من المغرب إلى عُمان ومن إيران إلى اليمن، باللغتين العربية والإنجليزية. حالياً، وصل عدد القراء إلى 6 ملايين سنوياً، والعدد آخذٌ بالإزدياد.
لضمان حيادية المعلومات على موقع فَنَك (وقائع وأحداث) ، تُنشر المقالات دون ذكر أسماء الكتّاب، مما يُتيح أيضاً لمراسلينا مساحة أكبر من الحرية عند التطرق إلى القضايا الحساسة أو المثيرة للجدل فى بلادهم. وإلى جانب ذلك، نتحرى حقائق جميع المعلومات الواردة في مقالاتنا قبل النشر لضمان دقة المعلومات، وحداثتها وحيادها.

استمرارية تشغيل مثل هذا الموقع الإلكتروني مُكلفة للغاية. بتبرعٍ صغيرٍ منك، يمكنك المساهمة في الحفاظ على حرية واستقلالية تغطيتنا.

Fanack Home / Religions in the Middle East / Saudi Arabia’s Islamic Awakening Could be Facing Its Demise

Saudi Arabia’s Islamic Awakening Could be Facing Its Demise

Specials- King slaman
Saudi armed forces take part in a parade in Saudi Arabia’s holy city of Mecca during a military drill on August 13, 2018, behind a portrait of the Saudi King Salman. Photo AFP

Al-Sahwa al-Islamiya (‘Islamic Awakening’) – otherwise known as Sahwa – was one of the most powerful social and political movements in Saudi Arabia. Its origins date back to the 1950s and 1960s, when thousands of members of the Muslim Brotherhood fled violent repression across the region, especially Egypt, and came to the conservative kingdom.

Many of them were given prominent positions in universities and government ministries and fostered close relationships with Saudi rulers.

By the 1970s, Sahwa comprised several unofficial religious groups. The two most popular were the Sururis – named after the Syrian sheikh Muhammad Surur Zayn al-Abidin – and the Saudi Muslim Brotherhood, which was never formally affiliated with the mother organization in Egypt.

Dr Saad al-Faqih, a Saudi living in exile in the United Kingdom, who was influenced by Sahwa and now heads the Movement for Islamic Reform in Arabia, stressed that there is no single ‘Sahwa’ ideology since it is a revivalist movement that includes various groups with slightly different viewpoints. Common to them all is that they were inspired by traditional Brotherhood teachings, which state that Islamic rules and morals should govern Muslim-majority countries.

Unlike the Brotherhood, Sahwa maintained its Wahhabi tenets. Its rise to prominence, noted al-Faqih, is rooted in three pivotal episodes in Saudi history.

The first was when a former army corporal, Juhayman al-Otaybi, seized the Grand Mosque on 4 November 1979. At the time, Crown Prince Fahd bin Abdulaziz was attempting to push through major social reforms. The incident forced him to scale back his plans to appease Saudi Islamists and the state-backed clergy.

The Iranian Revolution the same year was another major factor. Al-Faqih said that Iran’s first supreme leader, Ruhollah Khomeini, was a very charismatic figure to many Sunnis in the kingdom. Fearing Iranian hegemony, the kingdom encouraged and sponsored many of the pioneers of Sahwa to propagate an image of a morally apt and benevolent Saudi monarchy.

The third factor, said al-Faqih, is that these pioneers were also instructed to persuade thousands of Muslims to either finance or fight alongside the mujahidin in Afghanistan against the Soviet Invasion.

The cooperation between the Saudi leadership and these pioneers remained strong until Iraq invaded Kuwait in 1991. Fearing Iraq would also attack the kingdom, King Fahd solicited the deployment of American troops on Saudi soil. The move provoked an uproar from prominent Sahwa sheikhs, all of whom were outside the state-backed clergy.

“It didn’t shock people or [the leaders of Sahwa] that Saddam Hussein invaded Kuwait. What shocked them was the king’s decision to let American troops into Arabia, and that the official clergy issued a fatwa granting Saudi Arabia its request,” al-Faqih said. “The kingdom is dominated by a Wahhabi ideology, meaning that seeking help from non-Muslims [should be] forbidden even for self-defence.”

Prominent Sahwa sheikhs like Salman al-Ouda, Safar al-Hawali and Nasir al-Umar were jailed three years later for openly defying the Saudi leadership and calling for radical reforms. After crushing the movement, the Saudi regime maintained a deep antipathy toward the Brotherhood, which it blamed for spearheading a wave of dissent. Sahwa, the regime concluded, had a direct link with the Brotherhood.

That resentment subsided when most of Sahwa’s prominent figures were released in 1999, signalling a possible rapprochement. Stephanie Lacroix, a political scientist and expert on Sahwa, wrote that the death of respected sheikhs in the state-backed clergy created a need for the royal family to ally with Sahwa. By doing so, the House of Saud hoped to win religious legitimacy while sponsoring a campaign against jihadists.

Many Sahwa figures seized the opportunity to combat the growing threat of jihadism while others were preoccupied with preaching against the dangers of liberal societies.

For the most part, the regime had no reason to fear Sahwa until the Arab Spring erupted in 2011. The downfall of the regimes in Tunisia and Egypt compelled dozens of Sahwa figures to sign petitions that called for swift reforms in the kingdom. One petition was called ‘Towards a state of rights and institutions’ while another was titled ‘A call for reform’.

Al-Ouda, who by then had rebranded himself as a moderate, went a step further. In 2013, he published an open letter to King Abdullah calling for reforms.

Although none of the Sahwa leaders supported a call for demonstrations, their political mobilization frightened the regime. The rise of Islamist governments in Tunisia and Egypt compounded their fears, especially after Mohamed Morsi, Egypt’s first democratically elected president and a Muslim Brotherhood member, visited the Iranian capital Tehran in August 2012. Fearing an alliance between the Brotherhood and Iran, Saudi Arabia and the United Arab Emirates fervently supported a military coup in Egypt, generating a backlash in the kingdom.

“All the major Sahwa figures signed petitions and statements denouncing the coup, and – in more or less explicit terms – the Saudi government’s support for it,” wrote Lacroix.

Although opposition to the coup was widespread, the reasons behind the opposition differed. Some clerics merely argued that it is forbidden to overthrow a Muslim ruler whereas others rejected the coup on the grounds of championing electoral democracy.

Intent on crushing dissent, Crown Prince Mohammed bin Salman (also referred to as MBS) intensified the repression against Saudi Islamists, especially clerics who have long been affiliated with Sahwa.

Al-Ouda was arrested again in September 2017, shortly after publishing a tweet that appeared to call for reconciliation with Qatar. Saudi Arabia blockaded the tiny Gulf state in June 2017 over allegations that it supported terrorism. State prosecutors have since charged al-Ouda with 37 crimes and are seeking the death penalty.

Commenting on al-Ouda’s arrest, Lacroix told Reuters that the crackdown represents a broader attempt to crush Islamists in the kingdom, regardless of whether they oppose the regime or not. While that may be true, the jailing of secular activists as well makes it clear that MBS is attempting to quash all dissent, perhaps out of fear that it could trigger wider unrest.

‘Sahwis are like the Egyptian Muslim Brotherhood: they may not start a protest, but it won’t succeed without them,’ wrote Lacroix in Foreign Policy magazine.

image_pdfimage_print

We would like to ask you something …

Fanack is an independent media organisation, not funded by any state or any interest group, that distributes in the Middle East and the wider world unbiased analysis and background information, based on facts, about the Middle East and North Africa.

The website grew rapidly in breadth and depth and today forms a rich and valuable source of information on 21 countries, from Morocco to Oman and from Iran to Yemen, both in Arabic and English. We currently reach six million readers annually and growing fast.

In order to guarantee the impartiality of information on the Chronicle, articles are published without by-lines. This also allows correspondents to write more freely about sensitive or controversial issues in their country. All articles are fact-checked before publication to ensure that content is accurate, current and unbiased.

To run such a website is very expensive. With a small donation, you can make a huge impact. And it only takes a minute. Thank you.