فَنَكْ وقائع وأحداث عن الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا / الأديان في الشرق الأوسط / الاستيلاء على الحرم المكي: الحدث الذي صدم المملكة العربية السعودية

الاستيلاء على الحرم المكي: الحدث الذي صدم المملكة العربية السعودية

Specials- Grand Mosque
دخان يتصاعد من المسجد الحرام أثناء الاعتداء الذي تعرضت له منطقة السعي بين الصفا والمروة، 1979. Photo Wikipedia

تعتبر حادثة الإستيلاء على المسجد الحرام عام 1979 واحدةً من أهم نقاط التحول في تاريخ المملكة العربية السعودية. فقد هزّ الحصار، الذي استمر حوالي أسبوعين، أسس أسرة آل سعود الحاكمة وكان له تأثيرٌ عميق على المشهد الاجتماعي السياسي للبلاد. وبالنظر إلى حقيقة أن عواقب الحصار لا تزال ملموسة في البلاد والمنطقة، فمن الضروري إعادة تقييم الحدث بعد أربعين سنة من حدوثه.

كان يوم 20 نوفمبر من عام 1979 كأي يومٍ عادي، حيث اجتمع حوالي خمسون ألف مصلٍ داخل أقدس بقعةٍ لدى المسلمين لأداء صلاة الفجر. وبينما كان الشيخ محمد السُبيّل يهمّ للإمامة في الصلاة، سيطرت مجموعة من الرجال المسلحين، باستخدام العنف، على المسجد الحرام. وفي ضوء السمة غير المسبوقة للحدث في ذلك الوقت، وبما أن دين الإسلام يحظر أي نوعٍ من العنف وسفك الدماء في أو داخل الأماكن المقدسة، لم يكن يخضع المسجد الحرام لحراسةٍ أمنية مشددة. ولأنه لم يكن هناك سوى عددٌ قليلٌ من رجال الأمن الذين كانوا يتواجدون، بشكلٍ أساسي، للسيطرة على الحشود الضخمة، سرعان ما تمكن المتمردون، الذين كان يصل عددهم إلى 500 مسلح، من السيطرة الكاملة على الموقع، وبكل سهولة.

وعلى الرغم من أن المتمردين قاموا في نهاية المطاف بإطلاق سراح عددٍ من المصلين، إلا أنهم أبقوا بعضاً منهم كرهائن وحبسوهم في باحة المسجد. كما تمركز القناصة في المآذن، مما جعل مهمة تحرير المسجد الحرام أكثر صعوبة.

خلال المحاولة الأولى، حاول حوالي 100 من ضباط الأمن السعوديين استعادة السيطرة على المسجد الحرام، إلا أن مهمتهم باءت بالفشل ووقعت العديد من الإصابات بالأرواح. وعلى الرغم من مشاركة الجيش السعودي والحرس الوطني على وجه السرعة، ولكن على ما يبدو لم يكن الملك خالد يثق بهم تمام الثقة. فقد دعا كلاً من القوات الخاصة التابعة للجيش الباكستاني ووحدات التدخل التابعة للحرس الوطني الفرنسي لدعم عملية مكافحة التمرد شديدة التعقيد هذه، التي تطلبت إخلاء مدينة مكة بأكملها.

ينحدر جهيمان العتيبي، زعيم المتمردين، من منطقة نجد الشهيرة، التي كانت، تاريخياً، مقربةّ من آل سعود، فقد كان جده مساعداُ لإبن سعود، مؤسس المملكة. بينما كان بعض أفراد عائلته الآخرين أعضاء مهمين في الإخوان، التي كانت ميليشيا قوية ساعدت ابن سعود على هزيمة منافسيه الآخرين على السلطة داخل البلاد.

في البداية، كان العتيبي موظفاً في الحرس الوطني السعودي، ولكن نظراً لاهتمامه العميق بالدين، أصبح واعظاً، كما تتلمذ فيما بعد على يد الشيخ عبد العزيز بن باز، الذي كان، بالمناسبة، مفتي المملكة العربية السعودية عندما وقع الحصار. أصيب العتيبي بخيبة أملٍ من آل سعود، وفي النهاية، اعتبرهم أسرةً فاسدة لم تحافظ على القيم الإسلامية الأصيلة في البلاد. كان ينتقد سياسات “التغريب” للدولة وعارض إدخال أدوات الاتصال الحديثة مثل التلفزيون؛ كما أنه عارض وصول العمال الأجانب غير المسلمين إلى المملكة العربية السعودية الذين جاءوا للعمل في صناعة النفط المزدهرة آنذاك.

ادعى العتيبي أنه رأى في منامه الله الذي أخبره أن محمد عبد الله القحطاني هو المهدي المنتظر، الذي سيظهر على الأرض لعدة سنواتٍ قبل يوم القيامة. فقد التقى العتيبي والقحطاني في السجن بعد أن اتهما بالتحريض واستخدم العتيبي أجزاء من الحديث لتوثيق ادعاءاته فيما يتعلق بالدور الديني للقحطاني، الذي أصبح أيضاً صهره.

تزامن موعد الهجوم، 20 نوفمبر 1979، مع أول يوم من سنة 1400 في التقويم الهجري. ولربما كان هذا مرتبطًا بشكل متعمد بفكرة المُجدد، الذي، وفقًا للسُنة، هو رجلٌ يظهر في مطلع كل قرن لإعادة الإسلام إلى أصله الطاهر والنقي.

Specials- Juhayman al-Otaybi
جهيمان العتيبي. المصدر (pinterest.co.kr)

ونظراً للحساسيات الدينية – السياسية المحيطة بالحرم المكي، سعت الدولة السعودية للحصول على فتوى من علماء المسلمين لشن عمليةٍ عنيفة في أقدس مسجدٍ في العالم الإسلامي. التزم بعض العلماء الصمت، في حين لم يعتبر آخرون العتيبي وأتباعه غير مسلمين رغم خرقهم حُرمة المسجد الحرام. وعلى الرغم من أن بعض العلماء منحوا، في نهاية المطاف، آل سعود الضوء الأخضر لاستخدام القوة، إلا أنهم أصروا على أن تعرض الدولة أولاً على المتمردين خيار الاستسلام قبل حدوث أي إراقةٍ للدماء. وعندما رفض العتيبي الاستسلام، كانت لدى الدولة فتوى دينية في متناول اليد للقيام بعمليةٍ كاملة لمكافحة التمرد لاستعادة المسجد.

وبينما كان المسجد تحت سيطرة العتيبي، استخدم المتمردون مكبرات الصوت في المسجد، التي كانت متصلة بشوارع مكة، لتبرير تصرفاتهم بانتقاد آل سعود والمطالبة بتنفيذ مطالب معينة، والتي شملت الإنهاء الفوري لصادرات النفط إلى الولايات المتحدة وطرد المغتربين من البلاد. استمر الحصار لمدة أسبوعين تقريباً إلى أن تمكنت الدولة أخيراً من استعادة السيطرة على المسجد الحرام. ولا تزال الأرقام الدقيقة غير معروفة، ولكن زعمت الدولة أن الحصار أسفر عن مقتل “255 حاجاً وجندياً ومتشدداُ،” فضلاً عن “560 جريح.” كما قُتل محمد عبد الله القحطاني، ”المهدي المنتظر“، في تبادلٍ لإطلاق النار، في حين تم القبض على العقل المدبر العتيبي و67 من المتمردين الآخرين وتم قطع رؤوسهم.

Specials- Grans mosque attack
متمرودون ناجون قيد التوقيف لدى السلطات السعودية. Photo Wikipedia

فقد قال الدكتور أفشين شاهي، كبير المحاضرين المختص في دراسات الشرق الأوسط في جامعة برادفورد، في مقابلةٍ مع فَنَك، “صحيحٌ أن الاستيلاء على المسجد الحرام كان نقطة تحولٍ في تاريخ المملكة العربية السعودية، ولكن إذا ما أردنا حقاً تفهمّ أهمية هذا الحدث، يجب علينا أن ننظر إلى السياق الإقليمي الأوسع في ذلك الوقت. ما الذي كان يحصل في المنطقة عندما استولى جهيمان العتيبي على المسجد الحرام؟”.

فقد أوضح، “بالفعل، كان عام 1979 لحظةً محورية في تاريخ الشرق الأوسط لأسباب مختلفة، إذ مهدت معاهدة السلام بين مصر وإسرائيل واعتراف الرئيس المصري أنور السادات بإسرائيل، أخيراً، الطريق أمام زوال القومية العربية. وبدورها، مهدت نهاية القومية العربية باعتبارها قوة حشدٍ مؤثرة، الطريق نحو تمكين الإيديولوجيات الإسلامية، التي بدأت تغير المشهد السياسي-الاجتماعي للعالم العربي بشكلٍ جذري. في هذه المرحلة، بدأنا نرى المزيد من التسييس واستغلال الإسلام لملء هذه الفجوة الأيديولوجية. والأهم من ذلك أن الثورة الإيرانية حدثت عام 1979 وأسفرت عن سقوط شاه إيران العلماني القومي. استوعبت الثورة الإيرانية الإمكانات السياسية الهائلة للإسلام في العصر الحديث، كما أن إظهار الثورة الإيرانية للقدرة السياسية للإسلام كسى الثقافة السياسية الإقليمية بطابعٍ عسكري، مما أدى إلى المزيد من عدم الاستقرار في المنطقة. فقد كانت حركات الناشطين، سواء ذات الأجندات السياسية أم الدينية، مقتنعةً الآن بأن الإسلام ورقتها الرابحة التي يمكن توظيفها كآليةٍ فعالة لتسييس وتعبئة الجماهير وتطرفها من أجل مواجهة الدول السلطوية في جميع أنحاء الشرق الأوسط.”

ويضيف الدكتور شاهي أن “الدولة السعودية، التي كانت سعيدة برؤية زوال القومية العربية، أصبحت الآن تشعر بقلقٍ بالغ إزاء ما كان يحدث في إيران. كانت الثورة تعم الأرجاء، وكان القادة السعوديون – إلى جانب نظرائهم الإقليميين الآخرين- يخافون من الآثار غير المباشرة في بلدانهم.”

تابع الدكتور شاهي شرح الأمور، إذ قال “كان حصار المسجد الحرام بمثابة صدمةٍ كبيرة للنظام السياسي، في المملكة العربية السعودية والمنطقة ككل على حد سواء. ونتيجةً لذلك، وبعد التغلب على الحصار في نهاية المطاف، قررت المؤسسة السياسية السعودية زيادة اعتمادها على الوهابية للحفاظ على الوضع الراهن. ومنذ ذلك الوقت، بدأنا نرى المزيد من التمكين للعلماء الوهابيين في المملكة العربية السعودية والتنفيذ السريع للسياسات الاجتماعية المتطرفة، التي دافعت بشكلٍ رئيسي عن وجهات النظر الدينية المتشددة وغير المتسامحة. كما شرعت المؤسسة السعودية بضخ ملايين الدولارات في مؤسساتٍ دينية داخل المملكة وخارجها، الأمر الذي سرعان ما غيّر المشهد الديني عبر العالم الإسلامي. فقد تم استثمار مليارات الدولارات في بناء المدارس الدينية والمساجد للترويج للنسخة السعودية من الإسلام. وفي الداخل، تغير المنهاج الوطني السعودي، وبالتالي، خصص جزءٌ كبير من وقت الدراسة للدراسات الدينية التي روجت لنسخةٍ متعصبة جداً من الإسلام؛ المعادية للشيعة وغير المسلمين على حد سواء.”

وخلص إلى أن “الحصار كان بالفعل نقطة تحولٍ رئيسية في المملكة العربية السعودية والعالم الإسلامي ككل، كما يتضح في حقيقة أنه على الرغم من مرور أربعين عاماً على الحادثة، إلا أننا لا زلنا نعاني من عواقبها.”

دعمكم عونٌ لنا

فَنَك هي مؤسسة إعلامية إلكترونية مستقلة، لا تمولها أي دولة أو مجموعات مصالح. تلتزم فَنَك بنشر تحليلاتٍ مبنية على الوقائع ومحايدة، إلى جانب التقارير المواضيعية حول الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا.
شهد الموقع نمواً سريعاً في نطاق وعمق المعلومات التي يُقدمها، واليوم، بات يُشكل مصدراً غنياً وقيماً للمعلومات عن 21 بلداً، من المغرب إلى عُمان ومن إيران إلى اليمن، باللغتين العربية والإنجليزية. حالياً، وصل عدد القراء إلى 6 ملايين سنوياً، والعدد آخذٌ بالإزدياد.
لضمان حيادية المعلومات على موقع فَنَك (وقائع وأحداث) ، تُنشر المقالات دون ذكر أسماء الكتّاب، مما يُتيح أيضاً لمراسلينا مساحة أكبر من الحرية عند التطرق إلى القضايا الحساسة أو المثيرة للجدل فى بلادهم. وإلى جانب ذلك، نتحرى حقائق جميع المعلومات الواردة في مقالاتنا قبل النشر لضمان دقة المعلومات، وحداثتها وحيادها.

استمرارية تشغيل مثل هذا الموقع الإلكتروني مُكلفة للغاية. بتبرعٍ صغيرٍ منك، يمكنك المساهمة في الحفاظ على حرية واستقلالية تغطيتنا.

Fanack Home / Religions in the Middle East / The Seizure of the Grand Mosque: The Event that shook Saudi Arabia

The Seizure of the Grand Mosque: The Event that shook Saudi Arabia

Specials- Grand Mosque
Smoke rising from the Grand Mosque during the assault on the Safa-Marwa gallery, 1979. Photo Wikipedia

One of the most important turning points in the history of Saudi Arabia was the seizure of the Grand Mosque in 1979. The siege, which lasted about two weeks, shook the foundations of the ruling House of Saud and had a profound impact on the socio-political landscape of the country. Given the fact that the consequences of the siege are still felt in the country, and the region, it is imperative to reassess the event forty years after its occurrence.

20 November 1979 started out like any normal day. Around fifty thousand people gathered inside the holiest site in Islam to perform the morning prayer. As Sheikh Mohammed al-Subayil was preparing to lead the prayer, a group of armed men violently took control of the Grand Mosque, or al-Masjid al-Ḥarām in Arabic. Given the unprecedented nature of the event at the time, and since the religion of Islam forbids any kind of violence and bloodshed at or inside holy sites, the Grand Mosque was not heavily guarded by security forces. Because there were only a few security personnel around who were primarily there to control the large crowd, the insurgents, who comprised around five hundred armed men, quickly and easily gained full control of the site.

Although the insurgents eventually released some of the worshipers, they kept some as hostages and locked them in the mosque’s sanctuary. They also placed snipers in the minarets, which made the task of recapturing the Grand Mosque much more difficult.

During the first attempt, about 100 Saudi security officers attempted to recapture the mosque, but their mission failed and they sustained heavy casualties. Although both the Saudi Army and the National Guards quickly got involved, King Khalid did not seem to have full confidence in them. He invited both the Pakistani military’s Special Forces and French National Gendarmerie Intervention Group (GIGN) units to support this highly complex anti-insurgent operation, which required the evacuation of the entire city of Mecca.

Juhayman al-Otaybi, the leader of the insurgents, came from the distinguished Najd region, which was historically close to the House of Saud; his grandfather was an associate of Ibn Saud, the founder of the kingdom. Some of his other family members were important Ikhwan members, which was a powerful militia that had helped Ibn Saud defeat other contenders of power within the country.

Al-Otaybi was initially a member of the Saudi National Guard but, given his deep interest in religion, he would later on become a preacher. He also went to study under Sheikh Abdel Aziz al-Baaz who, incidentally, was the Grand Mufti of Saudi Arabia when the siege took place. Al-Otaybi had grown disillusioned with the House of Saud and eventually regarded them as a corrupt family that did not safeguard authentic Islamic values in the country. He was critical of the “westernization” policies of the state and opposed the introduction of modern communication tools such as television; he also did not agree with the arrival of non-Muslim guest workers in Saudi Arabia who came to work in the then-booming oil industry.

Al-Otaybi claimed to have had a vision from God telling him that Mohammed Abdullah al-Qahtani was the Mahdi (“the guided one”), who would arrive on earth several years before Judgement Day. Al-Otaybi and Qahtani had met while imprisoned together for sedition and al-Otaybi used portions of the Hadith to authenticate his claims regarding the messianic role of al-Qahtani, who also became his brother-in-law.

Specials- Juhayman al-Otaybi
Juhayman al-Otaybi. Photo (pinterest.co.kr)

The date of the attack, 20 November 1979, coincided with the first day of the year 1400 in the Islamic calendar. This could have been deliberately tied to the idea of the mujaddid who, according to tradition, is a man who appears at the turn of every century to restore Islam to its original immaculate purity.

Given the religio-political sensitivities surrounding the Grand Mosque, the Saudi state had to seek a fatwa (ruling) from the ulama (Islamic scholars) in order to undertake a violent operation in the holiest mosque in the Muslim world. Some scholars remained silent, while others did not declare al-Otaybi and his followers non-Muslims despite their violation of the sanctity of the Grand Mosque. Although some scholars eventually gave the House of Saud the green light to use force, they insisted that the state must first offer the insurgents the option to surrender before any bloodshed ensued. When al-Otaybi refused to surrender, the state then had a religious fatwa at hand to undertake a full anti-insurgent operation to recapture the mosque.

As the mosque was under the control of al-Otaybi, the insurgents used the mosque’s loudspeakers, which were connected throughout the streets of Mecca, to justify their actions by criticizing the House of Saud and calling for certain demands, which included an immediate end to oil exports to the United States and the expulsion of expatriates from the country. The siege continued for about two weeks until the Grand Mosque was finally violently recaptured by the state. The exact figures are still not known, but the state claimed that the siege left “255 pilgrims, troops and fanatics” dead and “another 560 injured.” Mohammed Abdullah al-Qahtani, the supposed Mahdi and redeemer of the age, was killed in the crossfire, while mastermind al-Otaybi and 67 other insurgents were captured and beheaded.

Specials- Grans mosque attack
Surviving insurgents in custody of Saudi authorities (1979). Photo Wikipedia

Dr. Afshin Shahi, a senior lecturer in Middle East studies at Bradford University, said in an interview with Fanack, “it is true that the Grand Mosque seizure was a turning point in the history of Saudi Arabia, but if we really are to appreciate the significance of the event, we must look at the wider regional context at the time. What was happening in the region when Juhayman al-Otaybi captured the Grand Mosque?”

He explains that “indeed, 1979 was a pivotal moment in the history of the Middle East for many different reasons. The Egypt–Israel peace treaty and the recognition of Israel by Egyptian president Anwar Sadat finally paved the way for the demise of Arab nationalism. The end of Arab nationalism as a powerful mobilizing force in turn set the stage for the empowerment of Islamist ideologies, which began to drastically change the socio-political landscape of the Arab world. At this stage, we began to see further politicization and instrumentalization of Islam to fill that ideological gap. More importantly, in 1979 the Iranian revolution took place and resulted in the downfall of the secular-nationalist Shah of Iran. The Iranian revolution realized the immense political potential of Islam in modern times, and the demonstration of the political capacity of Islam by the Iranian revolution militarised the regional political culture, which resulted in further instability in the region. Activist movements with either a political or religious agenda were now convinced Islam was a winning card that could be employed as a potent mechanism to politicize, mobilize and radicalize the masses in order to confront authoritarian states across the Middle East.”

Dr. Shahi adds that “the Saudi state, which was happy to see the demise of Arab nationalism, was now seriously alarmed by what was happening in Iran. Revolution was in the air and Saudi leaders – along with other regional counterparts – were afraid of the spillover effect in their countries.”

Dr. Shahi further explains, “the siege of the Grand Mosque came as a huge shock to the political system, both in Saudi Arabia and the wider region. As a result, after finally overcoming the siege, the Saudi political establishment decided to increase its dependency on Wahhabism to maintain the status quo. From that point on, we began to see the further empowerment of Wahhabi ulama in Saudi Arabia and the rapid implementation of radical social policies, which mainly championed hard-line and intolerant religious perspectives. The Saudi establishment began to pour millions of dollars in religious institutions within and beyond the kingdom, which rapidly changed the religious landscape across the Muslim world. Billions of dollars were invested in building madrassas (religious schools) and mosques to promote the Saudi version of Islam. At home, the Saudi national curriculum changed and, accordingly, a large portion of schooling time was devoted to religious studies that promoted a very intolerant version of Islam that was antagonistic to both Shiites and non-Muslims.”

“Indeed,” he concludes, “the siege was a major turning point for Saudi Arabia and the Muslim world at large, as evidenced by the fact that even forty years later, we are still experiencing its aftermath.”

image_pdfimage_print

We would like to ask you something …

Fanack is an independent media organisation, not funded by any state or any interest group, that distributes in the Middle East and the wider world unbiased analysis and background information, based on facts, about the Middle East and North Africa.

The website grew rapidly in breadth and depth and today forms a rich and valuable source of information on 21 countries, from Morocco to Oman and from Iran to Yemen, both in Arabic and English. We currently reach six million readers annually and growing fast.

In order to guarantee the impartiality of information on the Chronicle, articles are published without by-lines. This also allows correspondents to write more freely about sensitive or controversial issues in their country. All articles are fact-checked before publication to ensure that content is accurate, current and unbiased.

To run such a website is very expensive. With a small donation, you can make a huge impact. And it only takes a minute. Thank you.