فَنَكْ وقائع وأحداث عن الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا / الأديان في الشرق الأوسط / شبك العراق: أقلية تدفع ثمن المتغيرات السياسية

شبك العراق: أقلية تدفع ثمن المتغيرات السياسية

Religion- Shabak
صورة جماعية لمجموعة من الكشافة العراقيين في مدينة الموصل الشمالية في 25 فبراير 2018، وهم يرتددون قمصان كتب عليها باللغة العربية (من اليمين إلى اليسار): تركماني، يزيدي، صابئي (مندائي)، شيعي، سُني، شبكي (من مجتمع الشبك الشيعي في شمال العراق)، مسيحي، كردي، في إشارةٍ إلى الوحدة الوطنية بين مختلف الجماعات الدينية والعرقية. Photo AFP ©AFP ⁃ Ahmad MUWAFAQ

الشبك هم أقلية عرقية متعددة اللغات لهم ممارسات دينية متميزة، يعيشون في بضع العشرات من القرى الواقعة شرق الموصل، في سهول نينوى في العراق. وقبل ظهور تنظيم الدولة الإسلامية “داعش” في عام 2014، عاشت مجموعة صغيرة من الشبك في مدينة الموصل أيضاً. يرجع اسم الشبك من الكلمة العربية الشبكة، والتي تعني باللغة العربية “المتداخلة والمتشابكة.” وهذا مؤشرٌ على حقيقة أن الشبك يتألفون من العديد من القبائل المختلفة.

يدين حوالي 70% منهم بالمذهب الشيعي من الدين الإسلامي في حين أن البقية يتبعون المذهب السُني. ومع ذلك، فإن الممارسات الدينية للشبك هي مزيجٌ من عناصر من مختلف الطوائف الإسلامية والمعتقدات المحلية. وبالتالي، تختلف طقوسهم عن غالبية جيرانهم من الشيعة والسُنة المتدينيين: يتضمن الدين الشباكي عناصر من المسيحية، مثل الإعتراف، وهو سمة هامة للكاثوليكية. علاوةً على ذلك، فإن دين الشبك يضم بعض العناصر اليزيدية، فعلى سبيل المثال، يقوم شعب الشبك بالحج إلى الأضرحة اليزيدية، التي تقع في نفس المنطقة.

يعيش الشبك على مقربة من اليزيديين. وتضم قرية لالش، وهي قرية صغيرة تقع عند سفح جبلٍ في منطقة شيخان في محافظة نينوى شمال العراق، أقدس معبدٍ لليزيديين، والذي يزوره أيضاً شعب الشبك. لكن شعائر حج شعب الشبك متعددة جداً: فهم يقومون بالحج أيضاً إلى الأماكن المقدسة الشيعية، في مدنٍ مثل النجف وكربلاء، كما يتبعون التعاليم الشيعية.

لدى الشبك، يُطلق على الشخص العادي المريد، الذي يتوجب عليه الإلتزام بالتوجيهات الروحية للبير أو المرشد، الذين يعتبرون من ذوي المعرفة الدينية. يوجد هيكل هرمي واضح، بما في ذلك العديد من الرتب للبير، حيث يتربع على رأس الهرم البابا، أو القائد الأعلى للترتيب. من الناحية النظرية، يمكن للأفراد اختيار البير الخاص بهم، ولكن فعلياً، غالباً ما ترتبط أسر البير مع الأسر العادية على مدى عدة أجيال. لذلك، من حيث الهيكل التنظيمي العام، لا يختلف الشبك كثيراً عن الترتيب الصوفي.

بالإضافة إلى الهياكل التنظيمية، تضم الشبكية أيضاً بعض العناصر العقائدية المشابهة للصوفية. فعلى سبيل المثال، بالنسبة إلى الشبك، تحل فكرة الحقيقة الإلهية محل التفسير الحرفي للقرآن، الشريعة. يفهم الشبك الحقيقة الإلهية من خلال وساطة البير أو المرشد الروحي، الذي يؤدي أيضاً طقوس الشبك.

Specials- Shabak
المصادر: le_Carabinier, The Atlantic, Middle East Eye, minorityrights.org @Fanack.com

كتاب الشبك المقدس الرئيسي هو كتاب المناقب (أي كتاب الأعمال النموذجية)، والذي يُسمى أيضاً بويورق، المكتوب، بما يُثير الاهتمام، بالتركمانية العراقية، التي تعدّ أحد اللهجات التركية. وعلاوة على ذلك، يدرس الشبك أيضاً شعر إسماعيل الأول، شاه إيران من عام 1501 إلى 1524، الذي أسس السلالة الصفوية في إيران في القرن السادس عشر وحول البلاد من الإسلام السُني إلى الشيعي. وبالتالي، يقرأون في تجمعاتهم الدينية شعر الشاه إسماعيل ويحتفلون بالرجل الذي جعل المذهب الشيعي الدين الرسمي لإيران.

لغة الشبك هي مزيجٌ من التركية والفارسية والكردية والعربية، فالشبك موجودون في منطقة نينوى بالعراق منذ عام 1502. واليوم، يعملون بشكلٍ أساسي بالزراعة، ويُقدر عددهم بنحو 300 ألف نسمة. وفي العقود الأخيرة، كان موضوع الجذور العرقية لشعب الشبك محل جدلٍ كبير، حيث أن معظم الشبك يرون أنفسهم كجماعةٍ عرقية مميزة، لا كردية ولا عربية.

ومع ذلك، لأسباب سياسية، ادعى كلٌ من العرب وحتى التركمان أن شعب الشبك ينتمون إليهم. وخلال عهد البعثيين، اتخذت حكومة صدام حسين تدابير “لتعريب” الشبك من أجل تعزيز سيطرته على الشمال الغني بالنفط في البلاد، حيث توجد أعداد كبيرة من السكان غير العرب مثل الأكراد. ومع ذلك، لم يغير سقوط النظام البعثي بعد الغزو الذي قادته الولايات المتحدة هذه المشكلة. فقد بدأ أهالي الشبك في سهل نينوى بالتعرض لمضايقات بعض النشطاء الأكراد. ولا يخفى على أحد أن الأكراد كانوا يهدفون إلى توسيع نطاق سيطرتهم في سهول نينوى، وعليه، فهم يرون في ضم الشبك للأكراد بمثابة الفرصة السياسية لتوسيع اختصاص السلطات الكردية في المناطق الإستراتيجية والنفطية في شمال العراق. لذلك، يجد الشبك أنفسهم في وسط لعبةٍ سياسية بين الحكومة المركزية العراقية والسلطات الكردية.

Specials- Shabal people
جثث الضحايا الذين قُتلوا في هجومٍ انتحاري وقع في منطقة سكنية في قرية الموفقية، وهي قرية تقع شرقي الموصل، ليتم التعرف عليهم في مستشفى في شمال العراق في 17 أكتوبر 2013، وذلك بعد أن فجر انتحاري نفسه في سيارة مفخخة في القرية التي يسكنها بشكلٍ رئيسي أفراد من أقلية الشبك، مما أسفر عن مقتل 15 شخصاً، وفقاً للشرطة العراقية ومصدر طبي. Photo AFP ©AFP ⁃ STR

بيد أن مشاكل الشبك لا تقتصر على المنافسة السياسية بين العرب والكرد، ذلك أنهم يخضعون أيضاً للتمييز الديني. ففي السنوات الأخيرة، تعرض أغلبية الشبك من الشيعة للاضطهاد من قبل المقاتلين السنة. فعلى سبيل المثال، كان الشبك ضحيةً للعديد من حوادث العنف الجارفة بعد وفاة صدام حسين. ويقدر أن حوالي 1300 من الشبك قتلوا بين عامي 2003 و2014. كما يتعرض أولئك الذين يعيشون في المناطق المتنازع عليها في محافظة نينوى، وخاصة في الموصل، للاضطهاد من قبل الجماعات المتشددة التي اتخذت إجراءاتٍ فعالة لتهجير الأقليات، بمن فيهم الشبك من المنطقة. فقد اضطر العديد من الشبك الذين كانوا يعيشون في مدينة الموصل للمغادرة واللجوء إلى القرى المجاورة بسبب الترهيب والتهديد.

وكحال اليزيديين، عانى الشبك من سيطرة داعش على الموصل وسهول نينوى في عام 2014. وعلى الرغم من وجود العديد من الجرائم غير المبلغ عنها ضد الشبك، إلا أن مسلحين من داعش اختطفوا ما لا يقل عن 21 من الشبك من حي كوجالي شرقي الموصل، في يونيو 2014.

وعلاوة على ذلك، كان يتم وضع علامة حرف “ر” على منازل الشبك في مدينة الموصل، لدلالة على “الروافض،” وهو مصطلحٌ يستخدمه المتشددون في داعش لوصف المسلمين الشيعة وغيرهم ممن لا يتفقون مع وجهات نظرهم الدينية والعقائدية. وبحلول أغسطس من عام 2014، خضع ما يقدر بـ60 قرية من قرى الشبك لسيطرة مقاتلي تنظيم داعش. كما وردت تقاريرٌ عن انتهاكاتٍ ممنهجة لحقوق الإنسان حيث أصبح العديد من الشبك ضحايا للمذابح وعمليات الخطف، إذ تم قتل ما يقدر بـ117 أسرة. وعلاوةً على ذلك، خسر الآلاف من عائلات الشبك منازلهم ونزوحوا قسراً نتيجةً للأعمال المروعة التي قامت بها الجماعة، كما فرّ كثيرون آخرون من منازلهم. لجأت الغالبية العظمى من هؤلاء الأشخاص إلى المناطق ذات الأغلبية الشيعية في وسط وجنوب العراق.

وفي أعقاب تحرير نينوى عام 2017، بدأ العديد من أفراد الشبك بالعودة إلى قراهم ومناطقهم مجدداً، حيث شرعوا في إعادة إعمار مناطقهم ومجتمعهم مرةً أخرى.

© Copyright Notice

click on link to view the associated photo/image
©AFP ⁃ Ahmad MUWAFAQ | ©AFP ⁃ STR

image_pdfimage_print

دعمكم عونٌ لنا

فَنَك هي مؤسسة إعلامية إلكترونية مستقلة، لا تمولها أي دولة أو مجموعات مصالح. تلتزم فَنَك بنشر تحليلاتٍ مبنية على الوقائع ومحايدة، إلى جانب التقارير المواضيعية حول الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا.
شهد الموقع نمواً سريعاً في نطاق وعمق المعلومات التي يُقدمها، واليوم، بات يُشكل مصدراً غنياً وقيماً للمعلومات عن 21 بلداً، من المغرب إلى عُمان ومن إيران إلى اليمن، باللغتين العربية والإنجليزية. حالياً، وصل عدد القراء إلى 6 ملايين سنوياً، والعدد آخذٌ بالإزدياد.
لضمان حيادية المعلومات على موقع فَنَك (وقائع وأحداث) ، تُنشر المقالات دون ذكر أسماء الكتّاب، مما يُتيح أيضاً لمراسلينا مساحة أكبر من الحرية عند التطرق إلى القضايا الحساسة أو المثيرة للجدل فى بلادهم. وإلى جانب ذلك، نتحرى حقائق جميع المعلومات الواردة في مقالاتنا قبل النشر لضمان دقة المعلومات، وحداثتها وحيادها.

استمرارية تشغيل مثل هذا الموقع الإلكتروني مُكلفة للغاية. بتبرعٍ صغيرٍ منك، يمكنك المساهمة في الحفاظ على حرية واستقلالية تغطيتنا.

Fanack Home / Religions in the Middle East / The Shabak Minority of Iraq Pays the Price for Political Change

The Shabak Minority of Iraq Pays the Price for Political Change

Religion- Shabak
Iraqi boy scouts pose for a group picture in the northern city of Mosul on February 25, 2018, wearing T-shirts marked in Arabic (R to L): Turkoman, Yazidi, Sabean (Mandaean), Shiite, Sunni, Shabaki (of the Shabak Shiite community in northern Iraq), Christian, Kurd, in reference to national unity among the various religious and ethnic groups. Photo AFP

The Shabak are an ethnic and linguistic minority, with distinct religious practices, located in a few dozens of villages east of Mosul, in the  Ninewa (or Nineveh) plains in Iraq. Before the rise of ISIS in 2014, a small group of Shabak lived in the city of Mosul as well. The name Shabak is originated from the Arabic shabaka, which is translated as ‘inter-twining’. This is an indication of the fact that the Shabak is composed of many different tribes.

About 70 percent of the group identifies as Shi’a and the rest as Sunni. However, the Shabak religious practice is a fusion of elements from various Islamic sects and local beliefs. Hence, their rituals differ from most of their orthodox Shia or Sunni neighbors: Shabaki religion includes elements of Christianity, namely the confession, which is an important feature of Catholicism. Moreover, the Shabak religion incorporates some Yazidi elements. For example, the Shabak people take a pilgrimage to Yazidi shrines, which are located in the same region.

The Shabak people live in close proximity to the Yazidis. Lalish is a small mountain valley village situated in the Shekhan district of the Nineveh Governorate in northern Iraq and it contains the holiest temple in the Yazidi faith, which is also visited by the Shabak people. But pilgrimage rituals of the Shabak people are very eclectic: they also go on pilgrimage to Shi’a holy sites, in cities like Najaf and Karbala, and also follow Shiite teachings.

In Shabakism, the laymen are called Murids and they have to take spiritual guidance from Pirs or Murshids (meaning “guide” or “teacher”), who are considered to be religiously knowledgeable. There is a clear hierarchical structure, including several ranks of Pirs, with at the top stands the Baba, or supreme head of the order.

Theoretically, individuals can choose their own Pir, but in practice, the pir families often become associated with lay families over several generations. Therefore, in terms of the overall organizational structure, Shabakism is not very different from a Sufi order.

Specials- Shabak
@Fanack.com. Sources: le_Carabinier, The Atlantic, Middle East Eye, minorityrights.org

As well as organizational structures, Shabakism also incorporates some doctrinal elements which are similar to Sufism. For example, for the Shabak, the idea of divine reality supersedes the literal interpretation of the Qu’ran, the Sharia. The Shabak comprehend divine reality through the mediation of the Pir or spiritual guide, who also performs Shabak rituals.

The primary Shabak religious text is the Kitab al-Managib (Book of Exemplary Acts), also called the Buyruk, and, interestingly, it is written in Iraqi Turkmen, a dialect of Turkish. Furthermore, the Shabak also study the poetry of Ismail I, the shah of Iran from 1501 to 1524, who established the Safavid dynasty in Iran in the 16th century and converted the country from Sunni to Shi’a Islam. Hence in their religious gatherings, they recite Shah Ismail’s poetry and celebrate the man who made Shiism the official religion of Iran.

Shabaki language has Turkish, Persian, Kurdish and Arabic influences. The Shabak have been in Iraq’s Nineveh region since 1502. Today, they are mainly farmers. Their population is estimated at approximately 300,000. In recent decades, the question over the exact ethnic roots of the Shabak people has been subject of major controversy. Most of the Shabak people see themselves as a distinct ethnic group, neither Kurdish nor Arab.

However, for political reasons, Arabs and even Turkmens have claimed the Shabak people as their own. During the Ba’athist era, the government of Saddam Hussein took measures to ‘‘Arabize’ the Shabak in order to consolidate his control of the oil-rich north of the country, which has a vast non-Arab population such as Kurds. However, the demise of the Ba’athist regime following the American-led invasion did not change this problem. The Shabak people in the Ninewa plains started to face harassment from some Kurdish activists. It is no secret that the Kurds have been aiming to extend their control into the Ninewa plains, hence they see the Kurdification of the Shabak as a political opportunity to widen the jurisdiction of Kurdish authorities in both strategic and oil-reach regions of northern Iraq. Therefore, the Shabaks find themselves in the middle of a political game between the Iraqi central government and the Kurdish authorities.

Specials- Shabal people
Bodies of victims killed in a suicide attack that tore through a residential area of Al-Muwaffaqiyah, a village east of Mosul, are lined up for identification at a hospital in the northern Iraqi city on October 17, 2013, after a suicide bomber detonated a vehicle rigged with explosives in the village that is mainly populated by members of the Shabak minority, killing 15 people, according to Iraqi police and a medical source. Photo AFP

However, the Shabak’s problems are not only limited to political rivalry between Arabs and Kurds, as they also subject to religious discrimination. In recent years, the majority of Shabak who are Shi’a have been persecuted by Sunni militants. For example, Shabak have been the victims of many incidents of sweeping violence after the demise of Saddam Hussein. About 1,300 Shabak are estimated to have been killed between 2003 and 2014. Those living in the disputed areas of the Ninewa governorate, and especially Mosul, are persecuted by militant groups who have actively taken measures to displace minorities, including Shabak from the area. Many Shabak who once lived in the city of Mosul were pushed to leave and take refuge in nearby villages due to intimidations and threats.

Like the Yazidis, the Shabak suffered from the IS control over Mosul and the Ninewa plains in 2014. Although there were many unreported crimes against the Shabak people, IS militants kidnapped at least 21 Shabak from Gokjali, eastern Mosul, in June 2014.

Shabak homes in the city of Mosul were  marked with an ‘R’ to signify ‘Rafida‘, a term IS militants use to designate Shi’a Muslims and others who did not conform to their dogmatic religious perspectives. By August 2014, an estimated 60 Shabak villages had come under the control of IS fighters. There were reports of systematic violations of human rights as many Shabak became victims of massacres and kidnappings, with an estimated 117 families killed. Furthermore, thousands of Shabak families lost their homes and were forcefully displaced as a result of the horrific actions of the group. Many others fled their homes. The vast majority of these people fled to Shia-majority areas in central and southern Iraq.

Following the liberation of Nineveh last year, many Shabak people have begun returning to their villages and areas once more and have started to rebuild their lives and community again.

image_pdfimage_print

We would like to ask you something …

Fanack is an independent media organisation, not funded by any state or any interest group, that distributes in the Middle East and the wider world unbiased analysis and background information, based on facts, about the Middle East and North Africa.

The website grew rapidly in breadth and depth and today forms a rich and valuable source of information on 21 countries, from Morocco to Oman and from Iran to Yemen, both in Arabic and English. We currently reach six million readers annually and growing fast.

In order to guarantee the impartiality of information on the Chronicle, articles are published without by-lines. This also allows correspondents to write more freely about sensitive or controversial issues in their country. All articles are fact-checked before publication to ensure that content is accurate, current and unbiased.

To run such a website is very expensive. With a small donation, you can make a huge impact. And it only takes a minute. Thank you.