فَنَكْ وقائع وأحداث عن الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا / الأديان في الشرق الأوسط / مساعٍ حثيثة لاستصلاح معنى الجهاد

مساعٍ حثيثة لاستصلاح معنى الجهاد

أصبح مصطلح الجهاد من أكثر المفاهيم المذكورة والتي يُساء فهمها في الصحافة الغربية منذ الهجمات الإرهابية على مركز التجارة العالمي في 11 سبتمبر 2001. وغالباً ما يتم تفسير معناها بـ”الحرب المُقدسة،” إلا أنها تعني في الواقع الانخراط في “نضالٍ ما” أو الالتزام بقضيةٍ نبيلة.

هناك ثلاث تفسيرات رئيسية للجهاد، ولا يُشير أي منها إلى قتل الأبرياء أو يسمح به. المعنى الأول لا يتعدى كونه هدفاً يسعى شخصٌ ما لتحقيقه، حيث تُعرّف الكلمة التي يرجع أصلها إلى التقاليد الصوفية، بشكلٍ منتظم على أنها “الجهاد الأكبر،” أي جهاد النفس بمعنى تعميق روحانية الفرد.

المعنى الثاني للجهاد يُشير إلى واجب تعزيز الإسلام من خلال القرآن عن طريق الحوار أو المعرفة. والمعنى الثالث، الذي يعتبر أيضاً الأكثر اساءةً للاستعمال ويختلف حوله الكثيرون، يتضمن مجموعة واضحة من الحدود لتعريف من يقع ضمن خانة “العدو المُبين.”

فالجهاد ضد عدوٍ مُبين لا يكون إلا “للدفاع عن النفس،” أو لصون الحرية الدينية. يُفسر معظم العلماء والمحللين السياسيين الآية 40 من سورة الحج في القرآن الكريم بمعنى أن على المسلمين القتال للدفاع عن صوامع الرهبان وكنائس المسيحيين ومعابد اليهود والمساجد.

إلا أن بعض التعاليم ما قبل الحديثة- كتعاليم أحمد بن تيمية– تقول أنه ينبغي الجهاد لقتل المسلمين الذين لا يُطبقون الدين بالكامل، مما يُشكل أسساً لأيديولوجية للمتطرفين. ولكن بعض هذه التعاليم، كما يقول الدكتور عزام التميمي، وهو محللٌ سياسي ومضيف للعديد من البرامج السياسية والإسلامية على قناة الحوار، غالباً ما يُساء تفسيرها من قبل المجرمين الذين يستخدمون الدين لإضفاء الشرعية على أخطائهم.

وشدد التميمي على أن “الكثير مما قاله ابن تيمية عن الجهاد كان في زمن تعرض العالم الإسلامي لهجومٍ من المغول.” وتابع القول “في ذلك الوقت، دعا إلى [الجهاد] للدفاع عن النفس. ما يهم حقاً في [الجهاد] ألا تكون مستبداً وأن لا ترتكب تجاوزات.”

يحاول المسلمون أمثال التميمي، الذين ضاقوا ذرعاً بمثيري الذعر والمتطرفين، إعادة تعريف الكلمة. ففي أبريل 2015، أكدّ علماءٌ مسلمون شاركوا في منتدى تعزيز السلم في المجتمعات الإسلامية أن قراءة القرآن الكريم على نحوٍ أكثر تعمقاً ضمن السياق أمرٌ ضروري لمكافحة الخطاب المتطرف وتعزيز المعنى الحقيقي للجهاد وكذلك المبادئ الإسلامية الأساسية الأخرى.

Specials- Jihad
متظاهر مسلم يحمل لافتة كُتب عليها “الجهاد” خلال مظاهرةٍ رداً على العمل العسكري الفرنسي في مالي خارج السفارة الفرنسية في وسط لندن في 12 يناير 2013. Photo AFP ©AFP ⁃ CARL COURT

تحاول المجتمعات الإسلامية في أوروبا وأمريكا أيضاً إعادة تعريف الكلمة. فقد قام أحمد رحاب، المدير التنفيذي لمجلس العلاقات الأمريكية الإسلامية (CAIR)، بالتعاون مع مجموعةٍ صغيرة من الناشطين بإطلاق حملة MyJihad في شيكاغو في ديسمبر 2013، حيث قاموا بنشر 25 إعلاناً في حافلات المدينة قبل توسيع الحملة إلى سان فرانسيسكو وواشنطن العاصمة.

وأظهر أحد الإعلانات رجلاً يهودياً يقف بجوار رجل مسلم أسود يحمل عبارة: “جهادي هو بناء جسور لردم الهوة.” بينما ظهرت امرأة ترتدي الحجاب وتحمل كاميرا في إعلانٍ آخر وإلى جانبها عبارة “جهادي هو نقل الحقيقة حتى وإن كانت غير مستحبة.”

يقول نهاد عوض، وهو أحد المدراء التنفيذيين من مجلس العلاقات الأمريكية الإسلامية: “[الجهاد] هو مفهوم، مفهومٌ نبيل، في الإسلام يؤكد على الصراع داخل النفس ليصبح المرء شخصاً أفضل، أو زوجاً أفضل، أو زوجة أفضل، أو عاملاً أفضل، أو جاراً أفضل.”

وفي أكتوبر 2014، أطلقت الناشطة البريطانية سارة خان حملتها الخاصة التي حملت عنوان الجهاد ضد العنف. تمثلت رسالتها في تعزيز المعنى الحقيقي للجهاد لمحاربة الإيديولوجية الوحشية لتنظيم الدولة الإسلامية “داعش،” الذي ساهم في تطرف العديد من الشبان المسلمين والنساء في بريطانيا.

فقد كتبت خان في صحيفة الغارديان البريطانية، “يعلم المسلمون أن لدينا مبادىء في ديننا لتحدي النظرة المتطرفة؛ إلا أننا نحتاج إلى استعادة ديننا من هؤلاء الوحوش.” وأضافت “من خلال النجاح في حرب الأيديولوجيات هذه، يمكننا في نهاية المطاف إيقاف تدفق الجهاديين البريطانيين الذين يغادرون المملكة المتحدة للانضمام إلى [داعش].”

ناشطون مسلمون آخرون استخدموا المصطلح للإعلان عن كفاحهم لمحاربة التمييز والعنصرية في الغرب. ففي يوليو 2017، أشارت الناشطة المسلمة الأمريكية ليندا صرصور في إحدى المحاضرات إلى الجهاد لتعرب عن أملها في أن يقبل الله نضالها ضد التعصب الأعمى للرئيس دونالد ترمب.

أثار استخدامها للكلمة ضجةً على الإنترنت، حيث انتقد العديد من الأشخاص ليندا لدعوتها المسلمين شن “حملةٍ إرهابية” أو حرباً” ضد ترمب. فقد كشفت ردود الفعل بوضوح أن العديد من الأمريكيين لا يزالون لا يملكون أدنى فكرة عن معنى الجهاد.

دفاعاً عن ليندا صرصور في صحيفة الواشنطن بوست، كتب المفكر الأمريكي المسلم، قاسم رشيد، أن جماعات مثل داعش والكارهين للمسلمين يشوهون المعنى الحقيقي للجهاد، وبالتالي فهم يخدمون بعضهم البعض.

بينما حاول نشطاء آخرون الجهاد ضد المحرمات في البلدان ذات الأغلبية المسلمة. ففي عام 2007، قام المخرج الهندي برفيز شارما بصنع فيلمٍ وثائقي بعنوان “جهادٌ من أجل الحب،” الذي يحكي قصة مسلمين متدينين يناضلون للتوفيق بين أركان عقيدتهم وبين مثليتهم الجنسية.

وفي استعراضٍ للفيلم لصحيفة الغارديان، كتب جيريمي كاي أن الكرامة واليأس نسيجٌ محاكٌ بإحكام. جميع هؤلاء الأشخاص يقاتلون من أجل الحق في أن يعاملوا كمسلمين في مجتمعاتهم، وليس كمرتدين بسبب ميولهم الجنسية.

وفي هذا الصدد، قال شارما، “جميع الأشخاص في فيلمي مسلمون،” وأضاف “يُشكل الإسلام محور هذا الفيلم. [الجميع فيه] فخورون بكونهم شاذين، إلا أنهم في المقام الأول مسلمون ويقولون إنهم مسلمون كحال أي شخصٍ آخر، وأن إسلامهم حقيقي وجوهري مثل أي شخصٍ آخر.”

على الرغم من الابتكارات في تفسير الجهاد، إلا أن المصطلح لا يزال موضع جدلٍ شديدٍ اليوم كما كان في الماضي. فقد قال مايكل جاي كايناب، المحلل المختص بشؤون الشرق الأوسط في الجيش الأمريكي، إنه في حين يدعي بعض العلماء المسلمين أن الجهاد ضد عدوٍ مُبين هو مشروعٌ فحسب عند القتال ضد غير المسلمين الذين يبدأون العدوان، إلا أن تعاليم أخرى لا تزال تنسب العدوان والعنف للمصطلح.

ويُضيف كايناب أن بعض هذه التفسيرات المتطرفة خرجت من المقاومة الإسلامية للإستعمار الأوروبي. واليوم، المسلمون هم الأكثر معاناةً عندما يُسيء المتطرفون للجهاد.

© Copyright Notice

click on link to view the associated photo/image
©AFP ⁃ CARL COURT

دعمكم عونٌ لنا

فَنَك هي مؤسسة إعلامية إلكترونية مستقلة، لا تمولها أي دولة أو مجموعات مصالح. تلتزم فَنَك بنشر تحليلاتٍ مبنية على الوقائع ومحايدة، إلى جانب التقارير المواضيعية حول الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا.
شهد الموقع نمواً سريعاً في نطاق وعمق المعلومات التي يُقدمها، واليوم، بات يُشكل مصدراً غنياً وقيماً للمعلومات عن 21 بلداً، من المغرب إلى عُمان ومن إيران إلى اليمن، باللغتين العربية والإنجليزية. حالياً، وصل عدد القراء إلى 6 ملايين سنوياً، والعدد آخذٌ بالإزدياد.
لضمان حيادية المعلومات على موقع فَنَك (وقائع وأحداث) ، تُنشر المقالات دون ذكر أسماء الكتّاب، مما يُتيح أيضاً لمراسلينا مساحة أكبر من الحرية عند التطرق إلى القضايا الحساسة أو المثيرة للجدل فى بلادهم. وإلى جانب ذلك، نتحرى حقائق جميع المعلومات الواردة في مقالاتنا قبل النشر لضمان دقة المعلومات، وحداثتها وحيادها.

استمرارية تشغيل مثل هذا الموقع الإلكتروني مُكلفة للغاية. بتبرعٍ صغيرٍ منك، يمكنك المساهمة في الحفاظ على حرية واستقلالية تغطيتنا.

Fanack Home / Religions in the Middle East / The Struggle to Reclaim Jihad

The Struggle to Reclaim Jihad

The term jihad has become one of the most cited yet misunderstood concepts in the Western press since the terrorist attack on the World Trade Centre on 11 September 2001. The word is often construed to mean ‘holy war,’ but it actually means engaging in a ‘struggle’ or undertaking a noble cause.

There are three mainstream interpretations of jihad, and none of them references nor permits the killing of innocent people. The first is nothing more than a goal that somebody is striving to achieve. Originating from the Sufi tradition, it is regularly defined as ‘greater jihad’ and emphasizes the spiritual well-being of individuals.

The second jihad refers to the duty to promote Islam through the Quran by way of dialogue or scholarship. The third, which is also the most misapplied and hotly contested, has a clear set of boundaries to determine what constitutes an ‘open enemy’.

Jihad against an open enemy can only be waged in ‘self-defence’ or to preserve the universal freedom of religion. Most Islamic scholars and political analysts interpret scripture 22:40 in the Quran to mean that Muslims must fight in order to protect synagogues, churches, temples and mosques.

But some pre-modern teachings – like those of Ahmad Ibn Taymiyya – argue that a struggle should be waged to kill Muslims who do not practise the faith entirely, laying the ideological foundations for extremists. Yet even some of these teachings, argues Dr. Tamimi who is a political analyst and a host for several political and Islamic shows on Al-Hiwar channel, are often misinterpreted by criminals who use religion to legitimize their wrongdoings.

“Much of what [Ibn Taymiyya] said about jihad was during the time when the Muslim world was under attack from the Mongols,” he emphasized. “At that time, he called for a [jihad] of self-defence. What really matters [in jihad] is not to be oppressive and not to transgress.”

Fed up with fear mongers and extremists, Muslims like Tamimi are trying to reclaim the word. In April 2015, Islamic scholars who participated in the Promoting Peace in Muslim Societies forum stressed that a more contextual reading of the Quran is necessary to combat extremist rhetoric and promote the true meaning of jihad as well as other core Islamic principles.

Specials- Jihad
A Muslim protester holds up a sign that reads “Jihad” during a demonstration in response to French military action in Mali outside the French embassy in central London on January 12, 2013. Photo AFP

Muslim communities in Europe and America are also trying to reclaim the word. Ahmed Rehab, an executive director of the Council of American-Islamic Relations (CAIR), teamed up with a small group of activists to launch the campaign MyJihad in Chicago in December 2013. They posted 25 advertisements in city buses before expanding the campaign to San Francisco and Washington DC.

One of the ads showed a Jewish man standing next to a Black Muslim man with the words, “My jihad is to build bridges across the aisle.” A woman with a camera and a headscarf appeared in another ad with the words, “My jihad is to capture the truth even when it’s unpopular.”

“[Jihad] is a concept, a noble concept, within Islam that emphasizes a personal struggle within yourself to be a better person, a better husband, better wife, better worker, better neighbour,” explained Nihad Awad, who is also an executive director of CAIR.

In October 2014, British activist Sara Khan launched her own campaign called Jihad Against Violence. Her mission was to promote the true meaning of jihad to fight against the brutal ideology of the self-declared Islamic State (IS), which had radicalized many young Muslim men and women in Britain.

“Muslims know that we have the principles in our faith to challenge the extremist outlook; we need, however, to reclaim our faith from these monsters,” Khan wrote in The Guardian, a British daily. “By succeeding in this war of ideologies, we can eventually turn off the tap of British jihadists leaving the UK to join [IS].”

Other Muslim activists have invoked the term to announce their struggle to fight discrimination and racism in the West. In July 2017, the American Muslim activist Linda Sarsour referred to jihad in a lecture to convey the hope that God accepts her struggle against the bigotry of President Donald Trump.

Her use of the word triggered an uproar on the internet. Many people criticized Sarsour for calling on Muslims to wage a ‘terror campaign’ or ‘war’ against Trump. The backlash clearly revealed that many Americans still have no idea of the meaning of jihad.

Defending Sarsour in The Washington Post, American Muslim intellectual Qasim Rashid wrote that only groups like IS and Islamophobes distort the true meaning of jihad, and thus help to serve each other.

Other activists have attempted to wage their own jihad against taboos in Muslim-majority countries. In 2007, Indian film maker Parvez Sharma made a documentary called A Jihad for Love, which tells the story of devout Muslims struggling to reconcile the pillars of their faith with their homosexuality.

In a review of the film for The Guardian, Jeremy Kay wrote that dignity and despair are woven tightly together. All of those profiled are fighting for the right to be treated as fellow Muslims in their communities, and not apostates due to their sexual orientation.

“All the people in my film are coming out as Muslims,” said Sharma. “Islam is the heart of this film. [Everyone in it] is proud to be gay, but fundamentally they’re coming out as Muslims and saying they’re as Muslim as anybody else, and their Islam is as true and fundamental as anybody else’s.”

Despite innovations in the interpretation of jihad, the term remains as hotly debated today as it was in the past. Michael G Knapp, a Middle East analyst with the US army, said that while some Islamic scholars claim that jihad against an open enemy is only legitimate when fought against non-Muslims who initiate aggression, others teachings still attribute aggression and violence to the word.

Some of these radical interpretations, Knapp says, were born out of an Islamic resistance to European colonization. Nowadays, it is Muslims who suffer most when extremists (mis)appropriate jihad.

image_pdfimage_print

We would like to ask you something …

Fanack is an independent media organisation, not funded by any state or any interest group, that distributes in the Middle East and the wider world unbiased analysis and background information, based on facts, about the Middle East and North Africa.

The website grew rapidly in breadth and depth and today forms a rich and valuable source of information on 21 countries, from Morocco to Oman and from Iran to Yemen, both in Arabic and English. We currently reach six million readers annually and growing fast.

In order to guarantee the impartiality of information on the Chronicle, articles are published without by-lines. This also allows correspondents to write more freely about sensitive or controversial issues in their country. All articles are fact-checked before publication to ensure that content is accurate, current and unbiased.

To run such a website is very expensive. With a small donation, you can make a huge impact. And it only takes a minute. Thank you.