فَنَكْ وقائع وأحداث عن الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا / الأديان في الشرق الأوسط / الصوفية اليوم

الصوفية اليوم

Religion- Sufism
صوفي يتمايل على ألحان أغانٍ دينية في حي الحسين في القاهرة احتفالاً بالعشر الأواخر من شهر رمضان المبارك. Photo AFP

يُشتق أصل كلمة الصوفية من الجذر صُّوف، الذي يدل على كلٍ من الملابس الصوفية التي يرتديها الزاهدون أو الدراويش المسلمون الصوفيون الذين يرفضون ارتداء الملابس الملونة والمتكلفة، ومفهوم الصفو أي النقاء والوضوح.

إن مفهوم التصوف معقدٌ ومتعدد الجوانب على حد سواء، إذ يُعزى تعقيدها إلى تاريخها الطويل واستيعابها من قِبل مختلف الثقافات في آسيا وإفريقيا؛ بينما يكمن تعدد جوانبها في التفسيرات المختلفة لعقائدها ومذاهبها. يدمج مفهوم التصوف بمفهومة الأوسع، والذي يُصنف في إطار “الفكر الصوفي الإسلامي” (المغاير للإسلام الشرعي)، التنقية الذاتية الفردية، والتوفيق بين الجسد والروح بالروحانية، والقيم الشاملة التي يلتزم بها جميع البشر.

ومن حيث المبدأ، قد يكون الإسلام الصوفي قويم الرأي أو شعبياً. يرتبط النوع الأول بالبعد “الرسمي” للإسلام ويستند إلى المصادر الأساسية للدين الإسلامي: القرآن والسُنة. كما يستند النوع الثاني أيضاً إلى القرآن والسنة إلا أنه يتضمن معتقداتٍ وممارساتٍ إضافية يعتبرها علماء الدين الإسلامي السُنة غير إسلامية، مثل تقديس الأولياء والرقص الصوفي وما إلى ذلك. ومع ذلك، وكما قال ابن خلدون، عالم الاجتماع في العصور الوسطى، إن ما يجعل التصوف جذاباً هو العكوف على العبادة والانقطاع إلى الله والإعراض عن زخرف الدنيا وزينتها، والزهد فيما يقبل عليه الجمهور من لذة ومال وجاه، والانفراد عن الخلق في الخلوة للعبادة.

وكما يعيش الناس في أماكن جغرافية مختلفة، فقد فُهمت الصوفية ومورست بشكلٍ مختلف عبر الزمان والمكان، ومن بين أكثر المتصوفين شهرةً عبد القادر الجيلاني (القرن الثاني عشر)، وجلال الرومي (القرن الثالث عشر)، وبهاء الدين النقشبند (القرن الرابع عشر)، وابن العربي، ورابعة العدوية.

وعليه، تزدهر الصوفية في أجزاء كثيرة من العالم؛ أهمها في تركيا والهند وباكستان، ولكن أيضاً في المغرب والجزائر وتونس ومصر. ففي المغرب، على سبيل المثال، الصوفي هو ولي الله. وتشمل المصطلحات الأخرى على الناسك، والعبد، والمجدوب (أي المنتشي، الذي تتأثر قدراته العقلية بانجذابه الشديد وشعوره بالحميمية تجاه الله). وفي المغرب، الصوفية تقليدٌ روحاني قديم لا يزال يجذب الشباب، ويعود السبب الرئيسي لهذا الافتتان لأن التقدم والتغيير جزءٌ لا يتجزأ من الروحانية الصوفية المغربية.

وبالتالي، فإن المهرجانات مثل مهرجان الموسيقى الروحية العالمية في فاس، وما يصاحبه من لقاءتٍ فكرية وثقافية، والأناشيد والرقصات، تشكل وسيلةً اجتماعيةً قوية حيث تنصهر العلمانية والروحانية في لحظاتٍ ساحرة يترفع من خلالها الأفراد عن المخاوف المادية، ويتآلف الجسد والروح، لتجمع بين الأفراد المحلين والعالمين معاً.

وعلى هذا النحو، يمكن أن يعتبر التصوف مصدر إلهامٍ للشباب الباحثين عن حوارٍ بين الأديان. ومن خلال السماح بفضاءٍ روحاني لا توفره الحداثة المادية، يُساعد المسلمون المتصوفون المجتمعات المغربية على التكيف مع ضغوط الحداثة والأوقات المضطربة التي يشهدها عصرنا اليوم. كما تكمن جاذبية الصوفية أيضاً بحقيقة أنها لا تحظر وسائل الترفيه الحديثة، أو عدم ارتداء الحجاب، أو الرقص المختلط، أو الإنشاد. بدلاً من ذلك، لا يحدد الفرق بين الفضيلة والرذيلة بالمظهر، بل بالنية والسلوك.

فالتصوف هو سمة من سمات العناصر المختلفة للموسيقى المغربية، إذ أنه حاضرٌ بقوة في كلمات أغاني الفرق الغنائية الشعبية أمثال فرقة جيل جيلالة وناس الغيوان (من سبعينيات القرن الماضي) فضلاً عن موسيقى الغناوة الصحراوية وحتى في أغاني فرقة الرولينج ستونز. والغناوة ينحدرون من سلالة العبيد الأفارقة الذين استجلبوا إلى المغرب ما بين القرنين الـ12 والـ17. وفي الآونة الأخيرة، قامت فرقة فناير لموسيقى الهيب هوب بالمزج بين الموروث الثقافي الصوفي والراب الأمريكي، وباتت تحظى بشعبية كبيرة بين الشباب.

يتجاوز التصوف طوائف ومزاراتٍ محددة، ويشتمل على أنماط موسيقية تُعرّف بكونها حديثة. ومن الأمثلة على ذلك موسيقى الراي، وهي نسخة من الهيب هوب التي تعتمد على الشعر الصوفي من خلال التركيز على الجسد، والتعبيرات البسيطة، والتضرع بالشفاء من خلال قدرات الشيوخ والشيخات. وينظر إلى الشيوخ في هذا الشعر كسادة روحانيين قادرين على توحيد الأفراد مع الله.

وخارج المغرب، يمكن إيجاد الصوفية في جميع أنحاء شمال أفريقيا وبعض أجزاء من غرب أفريقيا، مثل السنغال.

فالموسيقيى الشعبية في العديد من هذه البلدان مزيجٌ من الكلمات الدينية المتجذرة بعمق في التقاليد الشفوية في أفريقيا جنوب الصحراء، وغالباً ما تُماثل ألحانهم موسيقى البلوز والجاز الأمريكية. تكمن شعبية الموسيقى الصوفية بالرقصات المختلفة التي تلهمها، وتماماً كحال موسيقى ورقصات الغناوة المغربية، يرافق هذه الأنواع من الموسيقى غناء الشعر المُقفّى بصوتٍ مرتفع، وتكرار العبارات الإسلامية مثل “لا إله إلا الله ومحمد رسول الله،” مما يستعطف الجماهير.

ومن بين البلدان الأخرى التي تنتشر فيها الصوفية والممارسات الصوفية، وتتجذر فيها بعمق، هي مصر، أكثر البلدان اكتظاظاً بالسكان في العالم العربي. ووفقاً لمشروع الأدب الديني في كلية اللاهوت بجامعة هارفارد، يُشارك 15% من المصريين بالممارسات الصوفية والعديد منهم أتباعٌ للطرق الصوفية (جمع طريقة). تتعدد هذه الطرق في مصر ويجتمع أتباعها في حلقات الذكر التي ينشدون خلالها أسماء الله الحسنى بشكلٍ جماعي ومتكرر.

وبصرف النظر عن حلقات الذكر التي تعدّ جزءاً من الطرق الصوفية الرسمية، يزور العديد من المسلمين في مصر مزارات الأولياء الصالحين، والتي يمكن وصفها على نطاقٍ واسع بأنها ممارسة صوفية تشكل جزءاً من ثقافة شريحة كبيرة من المصريين.

كما تسود الإبتهالات والتواشيح الإسلامية أيضاً في الثقافة الدينية والشعبية للمصريين. وتتضمن هذه الابتهالات والتواشيح على تلاوة قصائد شعرية تذكر الله وتمدح النبي محمد، والتي قد تكون، أو لا تكون، مصحوبة بالعزف على الآلات الموسيقية.

وتجدر الإشارة هنا إلى أنّ الاتجاه السائد للصوفية، بما في ذلك الصوفيون في مصر، يعتبرون مسلمين، فهم لا يشكلون طائفةً مختلفة أو ديناً منفصلاً. ومع ذلك، بدأت الصوفية تتعرض للهجوم سيما مع ظهور السلفية. والسلفيون هم المسلمون شديدو التحفظ ممن يسعون إلى استرجاع الإسلام إلى ما كان عليه كما يعتقدون خلال عهد النبي وصحابته والمسلمين الأوائل. فقد نشطوا في مصر خلال ما يسمى بالنهضة الإسلامية في سبعينيات وثمانينيات القرن الماضي، ليزداد نفوذهم وأتباعهم منذ ذلك الحين. ويؤمن السلفيون أن الصوفية “بدعة” تتعارض مع الطرق الإسلامية المبكرة كما يصفونها. ويجادل كلٌ من السفليين والمتصوفين بأنهم يطمحون إلى تنقية الذات، على الرغم من أن كلاً منهم يفعل ذلك على طريقته الخاصة.

image_pdfimage_print

دعمكم عونٌ لنا

فَنَك هي مؤسسة إعلامية إلكترونية مستقلة، لا تمولها أي دولة أو مجموعات مصالح. تلتزم فَنَك بنشر تحليلاتٍ مبنية على الوقائع ومحايدة، إلى جانب التقارير المواضيعية حول الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا.
شهد الموقع نمواً سريعاً في نطاق وعمق المعلومات التي يُقدمها، واليوم، بات يُشكل مصدراً غنياً وقيماً للمعلومات عن 21 بلداً، من المغرب إلى عُمان ومن إيران إلى اليمن، باللغتين العربية والإنجليزية. حالياً، وصل عدد القراء إلى 6 ملايين سنوياً، والعدد آخذٌ بالإزدياد.
لضمان حيادية المعلومات على موقع فَنَك (وقائع وأحداث) ، تُنشر المقالات دون ذكر أسماء الكتّاب، مما يُتيح أيضاً لمراسلينا مساحة أكبر من الحرية عند التطرق إلى القضايا الحساسة أو المثيرة للجدل فى بلادهم. وإلى جانب ذلك، نتحرى حقائق جميع المعلومات الواردة في مقالاتنا قبل النشر لضمان دقة المعلومات، وحداثتها وحيادها.

استمرارية تشغيل مثل هذا الموقع الإلكتروني مُكلفة للغاية. بتبرعٍ صغيرٍ منك، يمكنك المساهمة في الحفاظ على حرية واستقلالية تغطيتنا.

Fanack Home / Religions in the Middle East / Sufism Today

Sufism Today

Religion- Sufism
Sufi Muslims sway to the beat of religious songs in al-Hussein district of Cairo during a religious ceremony marking the last days of the holy month of Ramadan. Photo AFP

Etymologically speaking, the word Sufism derives from the root ‘suf’ (wool), which denotes both the woolen garment that Sufi Muslim ascetics and dervishes wear in rejection of colourful, sophisticated clothes, and the notion of ‘saf’/‘safw’ (purity, clarity).

The concept of Sufism is both complex and multidimensional. Its complexity is due to its long history and absorption by various cultures in Asia and Africa; its multidimensionality lies in the various interpretations of its tenets and doctrines. Subsumed under ‘Islamic mysticism’ (as opposed to legal Islam), the concept of Sufism in its broader sense incorporates individual self-purification, spi-itual reconciliation of body and soul, and universal values to which all humans adhere.

In principle, Sufi Islam may be orthodox or popular. The former type is associated with the ‘official’ dimension of Islam and is based on the foundational sources of the Islamic religion: the Koran and Sunna (Prophet Muhammad’s sayings). The latter type is also based on the Koran and Sunna but includes additional beliefs and practices that the conservative segments among orthodox ulama (religious scholars) consider non-Islamic, such as saint veneration, trances etc. However, as the medieval sociologist Ibn Khaldun stated, what makes Sufism attractive is its freedom of faith: each individual is free to have a personal relationship with God and also free to choose a way to worship and establish a direct relationship with God.

As people live in geographically different places, Sufism has been understood and experienced differently through time and space. The most celebrated Sufis are Abd al-Qadir al-Jilani (12th century), Jalal al-Rumi (13th century), Baha al-Din Naqshband (14th century), Ibn Arabi and Rabia al-Adawiyya.

Sufism is flourishing in many parts of the world, the most important of which are Turkey, India, Pakistan, but also Morocco, Algeria, Tunisia and Egypt. In Morocco, for example, a Sufi is a wali Allah (friend of God). Other terms include nasik (devotee), abid (worshipper), majdhub (ecstatic, whose mental capacities are affected by intense attraction to and sense of intimacy with God). In Morocco, Sufism is an old spiritual tradition that continues to attract young people. The main reason for this attraction is that progress and change are part and parcel of Moroccan Sufi spirituality.

Hence, festivals such as the annual Fes Festival of Sacred Music, and the accompanying intellectual and cultural encounters, chants and trances, constitute a powerful social medium whereby the secular and the sacred are fused in enchanting moments that lift the individuals above material concerns, reconcile body and soul and bring the local and universal together.

As such, Sufism can be a source of inspiration for youth seeking interfaith dialogue. By allowing a spiritual space that material modernity cannot offer, Sufi Muslims help Moroccan communities to adapt to the pressures of modernity and today’s turbulent times. The attractiveness of Sufism is also due to the fact that it does not ban modern means of entertainment, unveiling or mixed dancing and chanting. Rather, the difference between virtues and vice is not determined by appearance but by intent and action.

Sufism is a characteristic of various strands of Moroccan music. It is very present in the lyrics of urban artists like Jil Jilala and Nass al-Ghiwane (1970s) as well as Saharan Gnawa music and even the Rolling Stones. The Gnawa are the descendants of African slaves brought to Morocco between the 12th and 17th centuries. More recently, Fnaire, a hip-hop group, has mixed Sufi traditions with American rap and is extremely popular with young people.

Sufism transcends specific sects and shrines and encompasses styles of music that self-identify as modern. Typical of this is rai, a version of hip-hop that draws on Sufi poetry by focusing on the body, simple expressions and the invocation of the male and female saints’ healing power. The saints are seen in this poetry as spiritual masters who are capable of uniting individuals with God.

Beyond Morocco, Sufism can be found across North Africa and some parts of Western Africa including Senegal.

Popular music in many of these countries is a mix of religious lyrics that are deeply rooted in the oral traditions of sub-Saharan Africa. Their melodies are often akin to American blues and jazz. The popularity of Sufi music resides in the various dances that it inspires. Just like the Moroccan Gnawa songs and dances, these types of music are accompanied by singing rhymed poetry in a high-pitched voice and frequent repetitions of the Islamic statement of faith (‘there is no God but Allah and Muhammad is his prophet’), which appeals to the crowds.

Another country where Sufism and Sufi practices are popular and deeply rooted is Egypt, the most populous country in the Arab world. According to the Religious Literary Project of the Harvard Divinity School, 15 per cent of Egyptians engage in Sufi practices and many of them are members of Sufi turuq (plural of tariqa, which can be translated as brotherhood or order). These turuq are numerous in Egypt and members gather in zhikr circles during which they collectively and repeatedly recite God’s name.

Apart from zhikr gatherings that are part of formal turuq, many Egyptian Muslims visit the shrines of spiritual leaders, which can be broadly described as a Sufi practice that constitutes part of the culture of significant segments of Egyptians.

Islamic ibtihalat and tawashih are also prevalent in Egyptian religious and popular culture. These ibtihalat and tawashih involve the recitation of lyrics and prose that praise God and Prophet Muhammad. They may or may not be accompanied by musical instruments.

It is important to note that mainstream Sufis, including Sufis in Egypt, identify as Muslim. They do not constitute a different sect or a separate religion. However, Sufism started to come under attack particularly with the rise of Salafism. Salafis are ultra-conservative Muslims who seek to restore Islam to how they believe it was during the time of the prophet, his companions and the early Muslims. They became active in Egypt during the so-called Islamic revival of the 1970s and 1980s, and their influence and following have increased since. Salafis believe that Sufism is an ‘innovation’ that conflicts with Islam’s early ways as they interpret them. Both Salafis and Sufis argue that they as-pire to self-purification, although they each do it in their own way.

image_pdfimage_print