فَنَكْ وقائع وأحداث عن الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا / الأديان في الشرق الأوسط / المذاهب الشيعية الثلاثة

المذاهب الشيعية الثلاثة

Specials- Shia islam
Photo: Wikipedia ©WIKIMEDIA COMMONS

يتشارك جميع المسلمين في المبادىء الأساسية للعقيدة، التي أدخلت خلال حياة النبي محمد، ويتفق المسلمون في جميع أنحاء على العالم، بغض النظر عن طوائفهم، على هذه المبادىء، ألا وهي الإيمان بالقرآن، والاعتراف بأن محمد آخر الأنبياء المرسلين، ووحدانية الله. وعادةً، يتمحور الخلاف بين الطوائف حول مسألة ما حدث بعد وفاة النبي محمد، وليس حول ما حصل أثناء حياته. وبالتالي، منذ وفاة النبي عام 632، كان هناك خلافاتٌ مستمرة بين المسلمين حول قضايا مختلفة تتعلق بالدين الإسلامي والمجتمعات الإسلامية، إذ يعتبر الإنقسام ما بين الشيعة والسُنة واحداً من أهم الانقسامات في الإسلام. باختصار، يؤمن الشيعة بأن آل البيت كانوا أحق في قيادة الأمة الإسلامية بعد وفاة النبي، في حين يؤمن السُنة بأحقية صحابة النبي الآخرين. في البداية، لم يكن هذا الإنقسام عميقاً، ولكن تدريجياً تعمقت هذه الانقسامات خلال الخلافة الأموية (661-750) وأسرة بنو عبّاد (750-1258). فقد تسببت سلسلة من الأحداث والصراعات حول القيادة والمواقف السياسية بتعزيز هذه المنافسة الطائفية تدريجياً. ومن هنا، ما بدأ في المقام الأول كجهدٍ سياسي حول القيادة، اكتسب خصائص دينية وفتح الساحة لمعركة “الصواب” مقابل “الخطأ” في الإسلام لقرونٍ تالية.

في الواقع، لا يوجد اختلافٌ واضح بين السُنة والشيعة، إذ اشتعلت الخلافات والجدال أيضاً داخل كل مجتمع من هذه المجتمعات. فجميع الشيعة يؤمنون بالإمامة لعلي، الذي كان صهر النبي، إلا أنه لا تزال هناك اختلافاتٌ بين الطوائف الشيعية المتعددة. وكما سنرى في هذا المقال، كان هناك خلافاتٌ حول القيادة والخلافة بين الشيعة والتي أدت إلى ظهور فروعٍ مختلفة من الإسلام الشيعي.

الشيعة الإثني عشرية

يعتبر الشيعة الإثني عشرية الطائفة الشيعية الأكبر، فضلاً عن كونهم أغلبية في كلٍ من إيران (حيث هي دين الدولة)، وأذربيجان، والعراق، والبحرين. كما تعيش مجتمعات كبيرة من الشيعة الإثني عشرية في لبنان والهند والسعودية وباكستان، بينما يتواجد بعضهم في أفغانستان واليمن والكويت وعُمان والإمارات العربية المتحدة وقطر وبنغلاديش ونيجيريا وتنزانيا وتشاد.

يُشير مصطلح الإثني عشرية إلى الإيمان بوجود إثني عشر إماماً: أي إثني عشر خليفة ذكراً للرسول محمد. وبالنسبة لهم، الإئمة الإثني عشر هم رجالٌ معصومون، لا يحكمون الأمة بالعدل فقط، بل هم مؤهلون أيضاً بشكلٍ أفضل لتفسير المعنى المُبطن للقرآن. وكحال الجماعات الإسلامية الأخرى، يؤمن الشيعة الإثني عشر بوحدانية الله، وبأن القرآن الكريم هو كلام الله، وبأن محمد هو خاتم الأنبياء المرسلين. ولكن بالإضافة إلى كل ما صدر عن النبي من قولٍ أو فعل، يؤمن الشيعة الإثني عشرية بكل قولٍ أو فعلٍ صدر عن الأئمة المعصومين من آل البيت، وهي نقطة مرجعية مقدسة لمجتمع المؤمنين.

بالنسبة للمسلمين الشيعة، فإن الإمام علي، وهو الخليفة الرابع للمسلمين السُنة، هو أول إمامٍ وخليفة لمحمد. فجميع الأئمة الآخرين من نسل علي قتلوا، وبالتالي اعتبروا جميعهم شهداء. كما تتمتع معركة كربلاء (680) بدلالةٍ رمزية ذات أهمية كبيرة لأتباع هذه الطائفة. ففي معركة كربلاء، قُتل الإمام الحسين بن علي، ابن علي وحفيد محمد، على يد رجال من الأمويين. يُحيي الشيعة الإثنا عشرية ذكرى هذه المعركة كل عام في يوم عاشوراء.

كما أن هناك عنصرٌ مسيحي قوي لدى الشيعة الإثني عشرية، حيث يؤمن الشيعة أن الإمام الأخير، محمد المهدي، لم يمت قط وأنه لا يزال على قيد الحياة ويعيش في الغيبة الكبرى. وبالتالي، وفقاً لمعتقداتهم سيخرج المهدي يوماً ما ليعيد إحياء العدالة الإجتماعية. لذا فهم يؤمنون أيضاً، أن عودة المهدي، الذي يُسمى أيضاً بالإمام الغائب، ستحدث بالتزامن مع عودة ظهور المسيح، الذي سيساعد المهدي لمواجهة المسيح الدجال، الذي يعتبر شخصيةً شريرة في الإسلام.

كما أن هناك بعض الإنقسامات اللاهوتية بين الشيعة الإثني عشرية، ولعل أهمها الانقسام ما بين المدرسة الإخبارية والمدرسة الأصولية. فعلى عكس الأصولية، لا تعتمد الإخبارية على مراجع التقليد (أو العلماء) الذين يمارسون شكلاً معاصراً من الاجتهاد (التفكير القانوني المستقل). بالنسبة لهم، التقليد مسموحٌ به فقط عندما يقوم به إمامٌ معصوم.

ومن الجدير بالذكر أن إيران كانت دولة ذات أغلبية سُنية حتى أوائل القرن السادس عشر، عندما ظهرت سلالة من الثقافة التركية، أي الدولة الصفوية، وجعلت الشيعة الإثني عشرية الدين الرسمي للبلاد. واليوم، تعتبر إيران الدولة الوحيدة التي تبنت الشيعة الإثني عشرية كدينٍ للدولة.

الزيدية

تُنسب الطائفة الزيدية من الإسلام الشيعي إلى زيد بن علي، حفيد الحسين بن علي. وهم يؤمنون أن زيد كان الإمام الشرعي ذلك أنه قاد تمرداً غير ناجح ضد الخليفة الأموي، هشام، في عام 740.

فهم لا يعترفون بشرعية الإمام إلى أن يحارب ضد الطغاة. ولذلك، على عكس الشيعة الإثني عشرية، يعترف الزيديون بأن زيد بن علي هو الإمام الخامس الشرعي، بسبب حملته العسكرية ضد الخلافة الأموية، التي يعتقدون أنها كانت غير شرعية. ويعتقد معظم الشيعة الإثنا عشريون أن شقيق زيد، محمد الباقر هو الإمام الخامس الشرعي، في حين لا يعترف به الزيديون لأنه لم يحارب السلالة الأموية.

أسس الزيديون أول دولةٍ لهم في طبرستان في شمال إيران على طول بحر قزوين عام 864، واستمرت حتى وفاة زعيمها على يد السامانيين في عام 928. وبعد أربعين عاماً، أعيد تأسيس الدولة في منطقة جيلان المجاورة، التي تقع في شمال غرب إيران، واستمرت تحت قيادة بنو الحسن حتى القرن الثاني عشر. وفي اليمن، تأسست دولة زيدية في عام 893 ونجت حتى وفاة إمامها الأخير في عام 1962. ويعتبر الحوثيون جزءٌ من الشيعة الزيدية في اليمن.

من الناحية الدينية، نجد أن الزيدية أقرب إلى الأغلبية السُنية من الطوائف الشيعية الأخرى. فهم يختلفون على بعض المبادىء الأساسية مع الشيعة الإثني عشرية. فعلى سبيل المثال، هم لا يؤمنون بالفكرة االمسيحية للإمام الغائب، المهدي المنتظر. كما لا يؤمنون بأن الأئمة يتلقون الإرشاد الإلهي، وبالتالي لا يعتبرونهم معصومين عن الخطأ. كما لا يعتقدون بضرورة إنتقال الإمامة من الأب إلى الإبن، طالما أن من شغلها أي من أحفاد الإمام علي.

الإسماعيلية

تركز الطائفة الإسماعيلية، التي تشكلت خلال أواخر القرن الثامن وأوائل القرن التاسع الميلادي، على الطبيعة المزدوجة للتفسير القرآني، أي أنه يحمل تفسيراً ظاهراً وآخر باطناً. ينظر الإسماعيليون إلى أسرة النبي محمد باعتبار أن الله اصطفاهم، وبأنهم معصومون، وبأن الله يرشدهم ليقودوا المجتمع الإسلامي. كما يؤمن الإسماعيليون أن لكل إمام نور، أو نور الله، بداخله، الذي ينتقل لهم من النبي.

ومجدداً، يبرز الإختلاف الإسماعيلي عن الشيعة الإثني عشرية حول القيادة والخلافة، إذ يعتقد الشيعة الإثنا عشريون أنه بعد وفاة الإمام جعفر (765)، تولى الإمام موسى الكاظم منصب الإمامة، أو القيادة، إلا أن الإسماعليين اختاروا اتباع ابن آخر للإمام جعفر، ألا وهو إسماعيل. وبالتالي، يُعرف هذا الفرع من الشيعة بالإسماعيليين. يعتقد البعض منهم أن إسماعيل كان الإمام السابع والأخير، وبالتالي، فإنهم معروفون باسم السبعية، الذين زعموا فيما بعد أن ابن إسماعيل، محمد بن اسماعيل، الملقب بالمكتوم، سيعود في نهاية العالم كونه المهدي لإعادة نشر العدالة.

ومع ذلك، يعتقد غالبية الإسماعيليين أن الإمامة مستمرة. وعلى الرغم من صغر حجمها، تحولت الطائفة إلى طائفةٍ إسلامية ذات تأثير كبير حيث تمكنوا في نهاية المطاف من تأسيس الدولة الفاطمية (909-1171 في شمال افريقيا، والتي انتشرت فيما بعد إلى مصر واستولت لفترةٍ وجيزة على السلطة في بلاد الشام. كما قام الحشاشون أو النزاريون، وهي حركة دينية واجتماعية مستمدة من الإسماعيليين، بنشر معتقداتهم في أماكن أخرى مثل العراق. كما أن إيران مرتبطة بهم أيضاً.

هناك فرقٌ بين الإسماعلية النزارية والمستعلية- والتي تتعلق مجدداً بالقيادة والخلافة. فقد قبل النزاريون بنزار الأول باعتباره الإمام التاسع عشر، بينما اختار المستعليون شقيق نزار الأصغر، المستعلي بالله، إماماً لهم. إمام النزاريين الحالي هو آغاخان الرابع، الذي يُعرف بالإمام شاه كريم الحسيني. وهو الإمام الوريث الـ49 للشيعة الإسماعيليين، كما أنه الإمام الحاضر منذ عام 1957، عندما كان بعمر الـ20. يعتبر الإمام أغاخان الرابع زعيماً روحاني مسلم غير اعتيادي: فهو يحمل الجنسية البريطانية ويعيش في فرنسا وحاصل على شهادة البكالوريوس من جامعة هارفارد. وقبل حوالي عشر سنوات، كان ضمن قائمة أغنى 15 من ملوك العالم، وفقاً لمجلة فوربس بثروةٍ تقدر بمليار دولار (770 مليون جنيه إسترليني). وفي عام 2013، وصفت صحيفة ذا مسلم تايمز آغاخان الرابع بـ”الظاهرة المتناقضة،” إذ كتبت”فضلاً عن كونه إمام رعيته، يمتلك ثروةً أسطورية ويسكن عالماً من القصور الرائعة، ويمتلك اليخوت، والطائرات، والخيول الأصيلة. من المؤكد أن عدداً قليلاً من الأشخاص يسدون هذا العدد الكبير من الفجوات- ما بين الروحانية والمادية، والشرق والغرب، والإسلام والمسيحية- كما يفعل هو بلباقة.”

© Copyright Notice

click on link to view the associated photo/image
©WIKIMEDIA COMMONS

دعمكم عونٌ لنا

فَنَك هي مؤسسة إعلامية إلكترونية مستقلة، لا تمولها أي دولة أو مجموعات مصالح. تلتزم فَنَك بنشر تحليلاتٍ مبنية على الوقائع ومحايدة، إلى جانب التقارير المواضيعية حول الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا.
شهد الموقع نمواً سريعاً في نطاق وعمق المعلومات التي يُقدمها، واليوم، بات يُشكل مصدراً غنياً وقيماً للمعلومات عن 21 بلداً، من المغرب إلى عُمان ومن إيران إلى اليمن، باللغتين العربية والإنجليزية. حالياً، وصل عدد القراء إلى 6 ملايين سنوياً، والعدد آخذٌ بالإزدياد.
لضمان حيادية المعلومات على موقع فَنَك (وقائع وأحداث) ، تُنشر المقالات دون ذكر أسماء الكتّاب، مما يُتيح أيضاً لمراسلينا مساحة أكبر من الحرية عند التطرق إلى القضايا الحساسة أو المثيرة للجدل فى بلادهم. وإلى جانب ذلك، نتحرى حقائق جميع المعلومات الواردة في مقالاتنا قبل النشر لضمان دقة المعلومات، وحداثتها وحيادها.

استمرارية تشغيل مثل هذا الموقع الإلكتروني مُكلفة للغاية. بتبرعٍ صغيرٍ منك، يمكنك المساهمة في الحفاظ على حرية واستقلالية تغطيتنا.

Fanack Home / Religions in the Middle East / The Three Branches of Shia Islam

The Three Branches of Shia Islam

Specials- Shia islam
Photo: Wikipedia

All Muslims share the fundamental principles of the faith, which was introduced during the life of the Prophet Muhammad. These principles – the belief in the Quran, recognizing the prophet as the last messenger of God, and the oneness of God himself – are universally shared among Muslims, regardless of their sects. The difference between sects usually revolve around the question of what happens after Muhammad’s time, rather than what happened during his life. Hence ever since the Prophet died, in 632, there have been ongoing disputes among Muslims on various issues related to the Muslim faith and Muslim communities. One of the most important divisions in Islam is the split between Shia and Sunni. In brief, the Shiites believed in the leadership of the Household of the Prophet after his death, while the Sunnis believed in the leadership of other close companions of the prophet. In the beginning, this division was not profound, but gradually during both the Umayyad (661-750) and the Abbā (750-1258) dynasties, these divisions deepened. A series of events and conflicts over leadership and political positions gradually cemented these sectarian rivalities. Hence, what primarily started as a political endeavor over leadership, gained religious characteristics and set the stage for the battle of “right” versus “wrong” in Islam for centuries to come.

Indeed, there is no clear line between the Sunnis and the Shiites, as there have been disagreement and disputes within each of these communities. All Shia Muslims believe in the Imamat – or spiritual leadership – of Ali, who was Prophet Muhammad’s son-in-law, but differences remain between different Shia sects. As we will see in this article, there have been leadership and succession disputes among the Shiites which have resulted in the emergence of different branches of Shia Islam.

The Twelver Shiism

The Twelver Shiism, or Athnā‘ashariyyah, is the largest branch of Shiism. It is a majority sect in Iran (where it is the state religion), Azerbaijan, Iraq, and Bahrain. Large communities of Twelver Shia Islam also live in Lebanon, India, Saudi Arabia, and Pakistan, with some in Afghanistan, Yemen, Kuwait, Oman, the UAE, Qatar, Bangladesh, Nigeria, Tanzania and Chad as well.

The very term “Twelver”, which is a literal translation for “Athnā’ashariyyah ”, refers to the belief in twelve divinely ordained Imams: twelve male descendants of the Prophet Muhammad. For them, the Twelve Imams are infallible men, who not only rule over the ummah (the community) with justice but are also best qualified to interpret the esoteric meaning of the Quran. Like other Muslim groups, the Twelver Shiites fully accept the unity of God, the Quran as the words of God and Muhammad as the last messenger. But in addition to the words and the deeds of Muhammad, they consider the words and the deeds of the infallible Imams from the household of the prophet, a divine reference point for the community of believers.

To Shia Muslims, Imam Ali, who is the Fourth Caliph for Sunni Muslims, is the first Imam and rightful successor to Muhammad. All the other Imams who were the descendants of Ali were killed, hence they all considered as martyrs. The battle of Karbala (680) has profound symbolic significance for the followers of this sect. In the battle of Karbala, Imam Hussain ibn Ali, the son of Ali and the grandson of Muhammad, was killed by men of the Umayyad sect. The Twelver Shiites commemorate this event every year on the day of Ashura.

There is a strong messianic element in the Twelver Shiism, as Shia Muslims believe that the last Imam, Muhammad al-Mahdi, never died and in fact lives in occultation. So according to their traditions, he will emerge one day to reinstate social justice. They also believe that the return of al-Mahdi, also called the Hidden Imam, will come about at the same time as the Second Coming of Jesus Christ, who will aid the final Mahdi against the Masih ad-Dajjal, an evil figure in Islam.

There are some theological divisions in Twelver Shiism. Perhaps the most important one is the divide between the Akhbaris and the Usulis. Unlike Usulis, Akhbaris do not follow the Mara’ja Taqleed (or scholars), who practice the modern form of ijtihad (or independent legal reasoning). For them, Taqleed is acceptable only when it is performed by an infallible Imam.

Iran was a Sunni majority country until the early 16th century, when a dynasty of Turkish culture, the Safavids, emerged and made Twelver Shiism the official religion. Today Iran is the only country which has adopted the Twelver Shiism as the state religion.

Zaidiyyah

The Zaidiyyah (Zaidi) sect of Shia Islam is named after Zayd ibn ʿAlī, grandson of Ḥussain ibn ʿAli. They believe that Zayd was the true Imam because he led an unsuccessful rebellion against the caliph of the Umayyads, Hisham, in 740.

They do not recognize a true Imam until he actively fights against tyrants. Therefore, unlike the Twelver Shiites, the Zaidis recognize Zayd ibn Ali as the true fifth Imam, because of his military campaign against the Umayyad dynasty, which they believe was illegitimate. Most Twelver Shiites believe that Zayd’s brother Muhammad al-Baqir was the true Fifth Imam. The Zaidis do not recognize him because he did not fight the Umayyad dynasty.

The Zaydis established their first state in Tabaristan in northern Iran along the Caspian Sea in 864, and it lasted until the death of its leader at the hand of the Samanids in 928. Forty years later, the state was re-established in the neighboring region of Gilan, which is in north-western Iran, and lasted under Hasanid leaders until the 12th century. In Yemen, a Zaydi state was established in 893 and survived until the death of its last imam in 1962. The Houthis are part of the Shia Zaidi branch in Yemen.

Theologically the Shia Zaidis are closer to the majority Sunnites than the other Shiites. They disagree on some fundamental principles with the Twelver Shiites. For example, they do not believe in the messianic notion of the Hidden Imam, al-Mahdi. They do not believe the imams receive divine guidance, hence they are not considered as infallible. They also do not believe that the Imamate (leadership) should necessarily pass from father to son, as long as it is held by any descendant of Imam Ali.

The Ismaili Branch

The Ismaili sect, formed during the late 8th and early 9th centuries, stressed the dual nature of Quranic interpretation as both exoteric (external reality) and esoteric (internal knowledge). Ismailis view the family of the Prophet Muḥammad as divinely chosen, infallible, and guided by God to lead the Islamic community. Ismailis believe that each Imam has the Noor, or Light of God, among him, which is passed down in the line of the prophet.

The story of the Ismaili divergence from the Twelver Shiites is again over leadership and succession. The Twelver Shiites believe that after Imam Jaʿfar’s death (765), Imam Mūsā al-Kāẓim takes the position of the Imamate, or leadership, but the Islamilis opted to follow another son of Imam Jaʿfar, Ismaʿil. Hence, this branch of Shiism is known as the Ismaili. Some of them believed that Ismail was the seventh and last Imam. Hence, they are known as the Seveners, who later claimed that Ismail’s son Muḥammad al-Tamm will return at the end of the world as the Mahdi to reinstate justice.

However, the majority of the Ismailis believe that the imamate line continues. Despite their small size, they went to become a very influential Islamic sect as they eventually managed to establish the Fāṭimid dynasty (909–1171) in North Africa, which later spread to Egypt and briefly took power in the Levant. The legendary Assassins or Nizārīs, a religious and political movement derived from the Ismailis, also proselytized in other places such as Iraq. Iran is also connected to them.

There is a difference between the Nizari Ismaili and Mustaali Ismaili – and again, it is over the issue of leadership and succession. The Nizaris accepted Imam Nizar I as the nineteenth Imam, while the Mustaalis opt for Nizar’s younger brother Mustali. The Nizari Muslims are currently headed by Aga Khan IV, who is known as Imam Shah Karim Al Hussaini. He is the 49th hereditary Imam of the Ismaili Shiites. He has been the living Imam since 1957, when he was only 20. Aga Khan IV is an unusual Muslim spiritual leader: he holds British citizenship and lives in France with a degree from Harvard University. About 10 years ago, he was among the top 15 of the world’s wealthiest royals, according to Forbes magazine, with an estimated wealth of $1bn (£770m). In 2013, The Muslim Times described the Aga Khan as a “paradox”. It wrote: “The Pope of his flock, he also possesses fabled wealth and inhabits a world of marvelous châteaux, yachts, jets, and Thoroughbred horses. To be sure, few persons bridge so many divides – between the spiritual and the material; East and West; Muslim and Christian – as gracefully as he does.”

image_pdfimage_print

We would like to ask you something …

Fanack is an independent media organisation, not funded by any state or any interest group, that distributes in the Middle East and the wider world unbiased analysis and background information, based on facts, about the Middle East and North Africa.

The website grew rapidly in breadth and depth and today forms a rich and valuable source of information on 21 countries, from Morocco to Oman and from Iran to Yemen, both in Arabic and English. We currently reach six million readers annually and growing fast.

In order to guarantee the impartiality of information on the Chronicle, articles are published without by-lines. This also allows correspondents to write more freely about sensitive or controversial issues in their country. All articles are fact-checked before publication to ensure that content is accurate, current and unbiased.

To run such a website is very expensive. With a small donation, you can make a huge impact. And it only takes a minute. Thank you.