فَنَكْ وقائع وأحداث عن الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا / الأديان في الشرق الأوسط / العُمرة: سُنّة المسلمين الأكثر حباً

العُمرة: سُنّة المسلمين الأكثر حباً

Grand mosque mecca
الآلاف من المسلمين في المسجد الحرام لأداء العمرة خلال الأسبوع الأخير من شهر رمضان في الرابع من سبتمبر 2010. Photo: AMER HILABI / AFP ©AFP ⁃ AMER HILABI

العُمرة في اللغة العربية تعني الزيارة، ويُقصد بها في الدين الإسلامي زيارة المسجد الحرام في مدينة مكة في المملكة العربية السعودية لأداء مناسك وطقوس خاصة مثل الطواف حول الكعبة والسعي بين جبلي الصفا والمروة. العُمرة سُنة مؤكدة (ما واظب عليه النبي صلى الله عليه وسلم) عند بعض الفقهاء مثل أبي حنيفة ومالك، بينما يراها آخرون أمثال الشافعي وابن حنبل أنها واجب على كل مسلم.

يمكن أداء مناسك العمرة في أي وقت من العام دون أيام الحج الذي تختلف عنه حيث أن الحج ركن من أركان الإسلام يجب على كل مسلم أن يؤديه إذا استطاع ويكون عليه ذنب إذا لم يؤده، بينما العُمرة هي سُنة يؤخذ عليها أجر بينما تركها لا يُعد ذنباً على المسلم.

والعمرة نوعان، عُمرة مُفردة؛ وهي التي يمكن لأي مسلم تأديتها في أي وقت من العام دون أيام الحج، أما عُمرة التمتع فهي التي تسبق الحج وتكون في أشهر الحج، شوال وذو القعدة وذو الحجة، وشروطها أن يكون الشخص: مسلماً، بالغاً، حراً، عاقلاً، وشرط الاستطاعة لمن أراد، ووجود محرم للمرأة.

وللعُمرة أربعة أركان هي: الإحرام، والطواف، والسعي، والحلق أو التقصير.

أما الإحرام فهو نية البدء في العمرة عند أحد المواقيت المكانية وفيها يقوم بلبس الإحرام وهو للرجال إزار (ثوبٌ يحيط بالنصف الأسفل من البدن) ورداء (ما لُبس على نصف البدن الأعلى) أبيضين طاهرين دون خياطة، وللمرأة أن تلبس ما تشاء من اللباس الساتر لجسدها دون أن تتقيد بلون محدد.

ويُستحب قبل الإحرام أن يقوم الشخص بالاغتسال وتنظيف شعره وأظافره والتطيب، ثم صلاة ركعتين سُنة الإحرام والتلفظ بالنية، فإذا أراد عُمرة مُفردة قال “لبيك عُمرة، وإذا أراد عُمرة ثم تمتع بها إلى الحج قال “لبيك عُمرة متمتعاً بها إلى الحج”.

قبل أداء العمرة، يقوم المعتمرون بالاستعداد بدنياً وروحانياً في المواقيت المكانية المحددة خارج مكة. ينبغي على المعتمرين الدخول في هذه الحالة الروحانية، أو الإحرام، قبل عبور حدود العمرة. يوجد خمسة مواقيت يجتمع فيها المعتمرون بحسب كل جهةٍ يأتون منها، وهي:

1-ذو الحليفة: وهو ميقات أهل المدينة ومن مر به من غيرهم، ويبعد عن مكة 450 كيلومترا.

2-الجحفة: وهي ميقات أهل الشام ومن مر بها من غيرهم، ويبعد عن مكة 204 كيلومترات.

3-يلملم: وهو ميقات أهل اليمن ومن مر به من غيرهم، ويبعد عن مكة 54 كيلومترا.

4-قرن المنازل: وهو ميقات أهل نجد ومن مر به من غيرهم، ويبعد عن مكة 94 كيلومترا.

5-ذات عرق: وهي ميقات أهل العراق ومن مر بها من غيرهم، ويبعد عن مكة 94 كيلومترا.

الطواف، وهو الركن الثاني من أركان العُمرة، ويُقصد به الطواف حول الكعبة سبعة أشواط عكس عقارب الساعة ويكون على النحو التالي:

عندما يصل إلى المسجد الحرام عليه أن يدخل برجله اليُمنى ويقول “بسم الله، والصلاة والسلام على رسول الله، اللهم اغفر لي ذنوبي، وافتح لي أبواب رحمتك، أعوذ بالله العظيم، وبوجهه الكريم، وبسلطانه القديم من الشيطان الرجيم.”

ثم يتقدم إلى الحجر الأسود في الركن الجنوبي الشرقي من الكعبة ليبدأ الطواف من عنده ويقوم باستلامه بيده اليُمنى وتقبيله أولاً، فإن لم يستطع تقبيله استلمه بيده وقَبَّل يده (والاستلام هو مسح الحجر بيده)، فإن لم يستطع الوصول إليه فعليه أن يُشير إليه بيده ويكبر، ولا يقبل يده ويقول “بسم الله، الله أكبر.” وعلى الرجل في الطواف أن يكشف كتفه الأيمن، أي يضع وسط ردائه تحت إبطه الأيمن وطرفيه على كتفه الأيسر.

كما أن على الرجل أن يُسرع في المشي مع مقاربة الخطوات في الأشواط الثلاثة الأولى، وهو ما يُسمى بـ “الرمل” (إسراع المشي مع تقاربِ الخُطَى وهزِّ الكتفين من غير وثب)، وفي باقي الأشواط يمشي مشيته الطبيعية ما بين الركن اليماني والكعبة.

وبعد الانتهاء من الطواف، يقوم الرجل بتغطية كتفه الأيمن ثم يتقدم إلى مقام إبراهيم ويصلي ركعتين خلف المقام، وبعد أن ينتهي من الصلاة يذهب إلى الحجر الأسود ويستلمه إذا استطاع، فإذا لم يستطع انصرف دون أن يُشير إليه.

السعي: ويُقصد به السعي بين جبلي الصفا والمروة سبعة أشواط وهو الركن الثالث للعمرة. يبدأ المعتمر من جبل الصفا وحينما يدنو منه ويصعد على جبل الصفا حتى يرى الكعبة فيستقبلها ويرفع يديه ويقول “الله أكبر الله أكبر، لا إله إلا الله، الله أكبر الله أكبر ولله الحمد، لا إله إلا الله وحده لا شريك له، له الملك وله الحمد وهو على كل شيء قدير، لا إله إلا الله وحده أنجز وعده ونصر عبده وهزم الأحزاب وحده” وهو الدعاء المأثور عن النبي محمد (صلى الله عليه وسلم)، ثم يدعو بما يشاء بعد ذلك، ويكررها ثلاث مرات ويدعو بعد المرة الأولى والثانية فقط.

وبالمثل عند جبل المروة يُكرر ما فعله عند جبل الصفا، وفي الطريق بينهما يذكر الله ويدعو حتى يكمل سبعة اشواط، يبدأ فيها بجبل الصفا ويختم بجبل المروة، ويقول الحمد لله والله أكبر ولا إله إلا الله”، وفي المسافة بين الجبلين يركض مسرعاً (وهو الآن محدد بعلمين أخضرين) بينما تمشي النساء.

أما الحلق أو التقصير، وهو الركن الرابع من أركان العُمرة فيقوم به المعتمر أو المعتمرة بعد إتمام السعي. ويقوم الرجل بحلق شعر رأسه أو تقصيره، بحيث يكون الحلق شاملاً رأسه كاملاً، والتقصير كذلك، مع تفضيل الحلق على التقصير، أما المرأة فإنها تُقصر من شعرها قدراً بسيطاً بمقدار أُنملة.

ويُحظر على المعتمرين إزالة الشعر أو تقليم الأظافر أو الجماع أو وضع العطر أو الصيد أو عقد الزواج، ويُحظر على الرجال لبس الثياب المُخيطة أو تغطية الرأس، ويُحظر على النساء لبس القفازين أو النقاب، ومن فعل شيء من ذلك ناسياً فلا إثم عليه ولا فدية، ومن اضطر لها فعليه فدية.

والعمرة هي أحب السنن عند المسلمين لما لها من فضل جاء في الأحاديث النبوية مثل “تابعوا بين الحج والعمرة، فإن متابعة بينهما تنفي الذنوب بالمغفرة كما ينفي الكير خبث الحديد.”

كما أن للعمرة في شهر رمضان فضل كبير لما جاء في الحديث النبوي “عُمْرَةٌ فِي رَمَضَانَ تَعْدِلُ حَجَّةً.

© Copyright Notice

click on link to view the associated photo/image
©AFP ⁃ AMER HILABI

دعمكم عونٌ لنا

فَنَك هي مؤسسة إعلامية إلكترونية مستقلة، لا تمولها أي دولة أو مجموعات مصالح. تلتزم فَنَك بنشر تحليلاتٍ مبنية على الوقائع ومحايدة، إلى جانب التقارير المواضيعية حول الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا.
شهد الموقع نمواً سريعاً في نطاق وعمق المعلومات التي يُقدمها، واليوم، بات يُشكل مصدراً غنياً وقيماً للمعلومات عن 21 بلداً، من المغرب إلى عُمان ومن إيران إلى اليمن، باللغتين العربية والإنجليزية. حالياً، وصل عدد القراء إلى 6 ملايين سنوياً، والعدد آخذٌ بالإزدياد.
لضمان حيادية المعلومات على موقع فَنَك (وقائع وأحداث) ، تُنشر المقالات دون ذكر أسماء الكتّاب، مما يُتيح أيضاً لمراسلينا مساحة أكبر من الحرية عند التطرق إلى القضايا الحساسة أو المثيرة للجدل فى بلادهم. وإلى جانب ذلك، نتحرى حقائق جميع المعلومات الواردة في مقالاتنا قبل النشر لضمان دقة المعلومات، وحداثتها وحيادها.

استمرارية تشغيل مثل هذا الموقع الإلكتروني مُكلفة للغاية. بتبرعٍ صغيرٍ منك، يمكنك المساهمة في الحفاظ على حرية واستقلالية تغطيتنا.

Fanack Home / Religions in the Middle East / Umrah: Muslims’ Most Cherished Sunnah

Umrah: Muslims’ Most Cherished Sunnah

Grand mosque mecca
Thousands of Muslims gather at the Grand Mosque to perform Umrah during the last week of Ramadan on September 4, 2010. Photo: AMER HILABI / AFP ©AFP ⁃ AMER HILABI

Umrah in Arabic means ‘visit’, and in Islam it means to visit the Great Mosque in Mecca, Saudi Arabia to perform special rites and rituals such as the tawaf (circumambulation of the Kaaba) and say (running between the Safa and Marwah hills seven times). Umrah is a Sunnah (a desirable act, based on the words and behaviour of the Prophet Muhammad), according to clerics such as Abu Hanifah and Malik, whereas other clerics such as al-Shafii and Ibn Hanbal see umrah as the duty of every Muslim.

Umrah and its rituals can be performed at any time of the year other than the days of hajj (pilgrimage). Hajj is different from umrah because hajj is one of the pillars of Islam that every Muslim must perform at least once in their lives if they are able to do so. A Muslim is considered sinful if he or she does not perform hajj. Umrah, in contrast, is a Sunnah for which a Muslim is rewarded. However, he or she is not considered sinful for not performing it.

There are two types of umrah: one is umrah al-Mufradah, which is performed by any Muslim at any point during the year, except during the days of hajj; the other is umrah al-Tamattu, which is performed in conjunction with hajj in the hajj months of Shawwal, Dhu al-Qadah and Dhu al-Hijjah. The conditions to perform umrah are that the person must be a Muslim who is an adult, free, sane and have the financial capacity. In addition, women must have a muhram (male relative) with them for their umrah to be valid.

There are four acts that constitute umrah: ihram, tawaf, say and halq (shaving the head) or taqsir (trimming the hair on the head).

Ihram is the intention to perform umrah, for which pilgrims must wear prescribed clothing. These are the izar (a garment that goes round the waist) and the rida (a garment that covers the shoulders) for men, both of which must be made of plain, unstitched white cloth. Women do not have to adhere to a specific colour provided the clothes cover their bodies properly.

Before entering into the state of ihram, pilgrims are advised to bathe, wash their hair, cut their nails, put on perfume and then say a prayer of two rakahs (a rakah is the basic unit of Muslim prayers) and pronounce their intention to perform umrah. The wording varies slightly depending on whether the pilgrim wants to perform the umrah al-Mufradah or the umrah al-Tamattu.

Before performing umrah, pilgrims assemble at one of the mawaqit makaniyah (fixed places) outside Mecca and prepare themselves physically and spiritually. In these places, pilgrims enter ihram, or a sacred state, before crossing the pilgrimage boundary. There are five mawaqit at which pilgrims assemble, depending on where they started their journey:

1. Dhu al-Hulaifah: The place allocated to pilgrims from the city of Medina and those to the north of it. It is 450 kilometres from Mecca.

2. Al-Juhfah: The place for pilgrims coming from the Levant and countries to the north and north-west. It is 204 kilometres from Mecca.

3. Yalamlam: The place for pilgrims from Yemen and countries to the south. It is 54 kilometres from Mecca.

4. Qarn al-Manazil: Located 95 kilometres from Mecca, this is the place for pilgrims from the east.

5. Dhatu Irq: The place for pilgrims from Iraq and others who travel along their route. It is also 94 kilometres from Mecca.

Tawaf, or the circumambulation of the black Kaaba cube Muslims face when they pray, is the second act of umrah. Muslims are required to circle the Kaaba anticlockwise seven times as follows:

When they reach the Great Mosque, pilgrims enter with the right leg and say, ‘In the name of God, peace and prayer be to the Messenger of God, O God! Forgive my sins and open the doors of Your mercy for me. I seek refuge with God, the Supreme, with His Noble Face, and with His Eternal Dominion from the accursed devil.’

Pilgrims then approach the black stone at the eastern corner of the kaaba to start the tawaf, placing their right hand on it and kissing it if possible. Otherwise, they face it, point towards it and say: “In the name of God, God is the Greatest, without kissing one’s hands.” Men must bare their right shoulder by placing the rida under their right arm and the lower parts of it over their left shoulder during the entirety of the tawaf.

During the first three circumambulations, only the men must make al-Raml (fast-paced walking, lifting the legs forcefully and sticking out the chest while moving the shoulders). The remaining four are completed by walking (at a normal pace) between the al-Rukn al-Yamani (the Yemeni corner) and the Kaaba.

After completing the tawaf, men cover their right shoulder again and all pilgrims advance to the Maqam Ibrahim, the stone used by Prophet Ibrahim throughout the building of the Kaaba, and offer two short rakahs. After finishing the prayer, pilgrims head for the Kaaba and touch it if possible. Otherwise, they leave without pointing to it.

Say is the ritual of running seven times between the Safa and Marwah hills and is the third act of umrah. Pilgrims start say by ascending Safa until they can see the Kaaba. They face it, raise their hands and supplicate to Allah three times. This is interspersed by any prayers of the pilgrims’ choosing, which they say between the first and second supplication.

Pilgrims then descend from Safa and walk towards Marwah while reciting the supplication Subhan Allah. Between the hills are two green pillars. The men run between the pillars while the women walk at a normal pace. When on top of Marwah, pilgrims again face the Kaaba and supplicate to Allah. This is repeated until the seven laps are completed.

Halq or taqsir is the fourth act of umrah, which pilgrims perform after making say. Men shave or trim the hair on their head, although shaving is preferred, while women cut their hair by an inch.

It is forbidden for pilgrims to remove hair, cut their nails, have sexual intercourse, put on perfume, hunt or write a marriage contract during umrah. Men are prohibited from wearing stitched clothes or covering their heads while women are prohibited from wearing gloves or covering their face. Those who do so out of forgetfulness or ignorance are not considered sinful nor are they obliged to offer an animal sacrifice, but those who do so deliberately without excuse are considered sinful and must offer an animal sacrifice.

Umrah is the most cherished Sunnah among Muslims because of the virtue attached to it, as mentioned in the Hadiths (a collection of traditions containing sayings of the Prophet Muhammad which, with accounts of his Sunnah constitute a major source of guidance for Muslims). These include the Hadith saying, ‘Perform hajj and umrah consecutively; for they remove poverty and sin as the bellows removes impurity from iron.’

Performing umrah in the holy month of Ramadan has particular virtue, as per the Hadith saying, ‘Performing umrah during Ramadan is equal to hajj.’

© Copyright Notice

click on link to view the associated photo/image
©AFP ⁃ AMER HILABI | ©AFP ⁃ AMER HILABI

We would like to ask you something …

Fanack is an independent media organisation, not funded by any state or any interest group, that distributes in the Middle East and the wider world unbiased analysis and background information, based on facts, about the Middle East and North Africa.

The website grew rapidly in breadth and depth and today forms a rich and valuable source of information on 21 countries, from Morocco to Oman and from Iran to Yemen, both in Arabic and English. We currently reach six million readers annually and growing fast.

In order to guarantee the impartiality of information on the Chronicle, articles are published without by-lines. This also allows correspondents to write more freely about sensitive or controversial issues in their country. All articles are fact-checked before publication to ensure that content is accurate, current and unbiased.

To run such a website is very expensive. With a small donation, you can make a huge impact. And it only takes a minute. Thank you.