فَنَكْ وقائع وأحداث عن الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا / الأديان في الشرق الأوسط / الوهابية: عقيدة غير منفتحة على التأويل

الوهابية: عقيدة غير منفتحة على التأويل

Specials- Wahhabism
مقاتلي الوهابية حاملين رايات التوحيد التي أصبحت علم المملكة السعودية. المصدر (midan.aljazeera.net)

غالباً ما يتم الإشارة إلى الوهابية باعتبارها ما يُشبه مِلة من الإسلام السُني والتي تعدّ مسؤولة عن تطرف الشباب في جميع أرجاء الشرق الأوسط وخارجه. إلا أن الحركة أكثر من كونها مجرد أيديولوجية محافظة للغاية؛ إذ أنها أيضاً نظامٌ سياسي.

ظهرت هذه الأيديولوجية لأول مرة في منطقة نجد، التي أصبحت اليوم جزءاً من المملكة العربية السعودية، في القرن الثامن عشر. ويُشير ديفيد لونغ، المتخصص في شؤون المملكة العربية السعودية والإرهاب الدولي، إلى أن الوهابية في جوهرها هي حركة إصلاحية رجعية وأصولية.

ومنذ البداية، كانت الوهابية منغلقة للغاية. فقد كان محمد عبد الوهاب، الأب الروحي للحركة، تلميذاً للمدرسة الحنبلية في الفقه الإسلامي، والتي تعدّ أكثر المذاهب تشدداً في الإسلام السُني. كما تأثر إلى حدٍ كبير بالشيخ الأصولي ابن تيمية، الذي دافع عن مذهبٍ ديني يستند إلى القرآن والسُنّة.

وهكذا رفضت الوهابية المبكرة أي ممارساتٍ أو معتقداتٍ انحرفت عن هاتين النقطتين المرجعيتين. وبالتالي، فليس من المستغرب أن تعاليم عبد الوهاب كانت معادية للغاية للمسلمين الشيعة، فضلاً عن اليهود والمسيحيين، الذين يُشير إليهم القرآن بـ”أهل الكتاب.”

وعلى الرغم من إنتشار رسالة عبد الوهاب على نطاقٍ واسع، خشي العديد من الأمراء من المصلح المتطرف ومن تكتيكاته الوحشية. وفي النهاية، وجد له ملاذاً في مدينة الدرعية، الواقعة على مشارف الرياض، بعد أن تم نفيه من واحةٍ مجاورة. رحب حاكم الدرعية، محمد بن سعود، بعبد الوهاب ووعده بالحماية.

أبرم الرجلان اتفاقاً، فقد وعد بن سعود بدعم توسع حركة عبد الوهاب عبر الجهاد، ووافق على منحه استئثاراً بتفسير النصوص الإسلامية. وفي المقابل، أصبح بن سعود الزعيم السياسي للحركة الوهابية. مهد هذا التحالف، الذي ولد عام 1744، الطريق أمام إنشاء المملكة العربية السعودية عام 1932.

بدأت القبائل من جميع أنحاء شبه الجزيرة العربية بالإتحاد مع الدرعية، إما لأنهم كانوا مقتنعين بتعاليم عبد الوهاب أو لأنهم كانوا يخشون من أن يتم مداهمة بلداتهم ونهبها إذا ما رفضوا. وتماماً كما هو الحال في المملكة العربية السعودية اليوم، لم يُسمح لإحدٍ مطلقاً بالتشكيك في تعاليم عبد الوهاب.

بعد وفاة عبد الوهاب، واصل أحفاده (آل الشيخ) السيطرة على الشؤون الدينية في ظل الحكم السعودي. وحتى يومنا هذا، يواصلون إضفاء الشرعية على آل سعود الذين يحكمون البلاد من خلال تأييد الخلافة والمصادقة على قرارات الملك. في المقابل، تتقلد عائلة الشيخ مناصب متميزة، بما في ذلك مناصب في وزارة التربية والتعليم ووزارة الشؤون الإسلامية.

وبالرغم من التحالف طويل الأمد، حاول بعض الحكام السعوديين الحدّ من تأثير الأصول الوهابية للمملكة من خلال تحديث الدولة تدريجياً. فقد أطلق الملك فيصل بن عبد العزيز، من بين جملةٍ من الأمور، أول بثٍ تلفزيوني وروّج للتعليم العام للنساء. ومع ذلك، لم تحظى قراراته بشعبية لدى الكثير من داخل المؤسسة السعودية، بما في ذلك ابن أخيه الذي اغتاله في عام 1975.

Specials- Juhayman al-Otaybi
جهيمان العتيبي. المصدر (pinterest.co.kr)

وبعد أربع سنوات، في عام 1979، تم الاستيلاء على المسجد الحرام في مكة من قبل مجموعة من المتمردين، بقيادة جهيمان العتيبي الذي أعلن أن صهره هو المهدي المنتظر. ووفقاً للقرآن، سيحكم المهدي لعدة سنواتٍ قبل يوم القيامة.

وعلى مدى أسبوعين، قُتل مئات الحجاج وقوات الأمن أثناء محاولة إستعادة السيطرة على الحرم. اعتقد الكثيرون في المؤسسة السعودية أن الحادث كان عقاباً من الله لعدم التزامهم بالتعاليم الدينية الصارمة للوهابية. ردت المملكة بتشجيع الوهابية، وقمع المواطنين الذين يعتقد أنهم ينتهكون العقيدة. المفارقة كانت ملفتة للنظر، فقد قُتل العتيبي ورجاله، إلا أن نظرتهم للعالم سادت.

وفي العام نفسه، اندلعت الثورة الإيرانية، مما أدى إلى تأسيس الجمهورية الإسلامية. ولعقود، عملت السعودية على تمويل المتمردين والحلفاء القمعيين في جميع أنحاء العالم لتعويض تأثير الشيوعية. واليوم، تُصدر المملكة أيدولوجيتها لمواجهة إيران.

وتشير معظم التقديرات إلى أن السعودية أنفقت عشرات المليارات من الدولارات لتشجيع الحركات الإسلامية الرجعية في الخارج. وإذا ما كان هذا صحيحاً، فإن هذا المبلغ يفوق بكثير الأموال التي استثمرها الاتحاد السوفييتي في الشيوعية.

وعليه، من غير المستغرب أن السياسة الخارجية للمملكة العربية السعودية قد عانت من رد فعلٍ عنيف. والمثال الأكثر شهرة على ذلك هجمات الحادي عشر من سبتمبر على برجي مركز التجارة العالمي، ذلك أن 15 من خاطفي الطائرة الـ19 كانوا من المواطنين السعوديين. وفي حين كان من الأسهل تجنيد السعوديين لإنجاز المهام أكثر من غيرهم من الجنسيات العربية الأخرى بسبب القوانين الأكثر تيسيراً لحصولهم على التأشيرات، كان من الواضح أن المهاجمين السعوديين يُشاركون وجهات نظرٍ مشابهة لتلك التي يحملها غالبية رجال الدين الوهابيين المحافظين في المملكة. بل إن ما هو أكثر إثارةً للجزع أن بعض المسؤولين الأمريكيين يدعون أن هناك أدلة تُشير إلى تورط أعضاءٍ من الحكومة السعودية في تسهيل المهمة.

ومع ذلك، أصبحت المملكة حليفاً رئيسياً في ما يسمى بالحرب على الإرهاب. ويدعي وليام ماكانتس، الباحث في معهد بروكينغز، أن السعوديين هم “من يشعلون النيران وهم ورجال الإطفاء،” عندما يتعلق الأمر بمكافحة التطرف الإسلامي.

وقال لصحيفة نيويورك تايمز: “إن السعوديين يروجون لشكلٍ سام جداً من الإسلام الذي يرسم خيوطاً رفيعة جداً بين فئةٍ ضئيلة من المؤمنين الحقيقيين والآخرين بالمجمل، سواء كانوا من المسلمين أو غير المسلمين.” وأضاف “يوفر [السعوديون] علفاً أيديولوجياً للجهاديين العنيفين. ومع ذلك، فإنهم في نفس الوقت [شركاء أمريكا] في محاربة الإرهاب.”

وتشتمل الجماعات الإرهابية التي كانت إما مدعومةً أو مستوحاةً من الوهابية، والنظام السياسي الذي تكاثرت فيه، على تنظيم القاعدة وتنظيم الدولة الإسلامية “داعش.” ومن عجيب المفارقات أن هذه الجماعات كانت أكثر تعصباً للدين من المملكة نفسها. وكحال العتيبي، قاموا بترويع المملكة لعلاقاتها الودية مع “الغرب.” ففي عام 2016، نفذ تنظيم الدولة الإسلامية ما يصل إلى 25 هجوماً مختلفاً داخل المملكة على مدار ثمانية أشهر.

وبالتالي، إدراكاً للتهديد الذي يُشكله المتطرفون الإسلاميون على آل سعود، قال ولي العهد محمد بن سلمان إن الوقت قد حان “لعودة” المملكة إلى الإسلام المعتدل- وهو عصرٌ يقول الكثير من العلماء أنه لم يكن موجوداً في المملكة العربية السعودية.

ومع ذلك، يأمل المراقبون أن ينجح محمد بن سلمان في كبح جماح تأثير رجال الدين الوهابيين. ومرةً أخرى، لا يبدو أن سياسته الخارجية توفر وسيلةً فعّالة لمكافحة الإرهاب. وتعتبر الحرب المدمرة التي تشنها السعودية على اليمن مثالاً على ذلك. فمع الإنقسامات الكبيرة التي تعاني منها البلاد اليوم، أصبح اليمن موطناً لإزدهار المتطرفين.

وفي غضون ذلك، لا تزال العلاقة بين الوهابية والتطرف الجهادي مثيرةً للجدل. فعلى سبيل المثال، يتأمل ديفيد لونغ بالعوامل المتعددة التي تدفع شخصاً ما لإرتكاب أعمالٍ إرهابية باسم أيديولوجيةٍ ما، سواء كانت دينية أو علمانية. وبالنسبة له، ليست العقيدة ما يضطر شخصاً ما إلى اللجوء إلى العنف، بل “العداء الموجود مسباقاً في عالمٍ مرهق.”

وعلى حد قوله، “هناك بالتأكيد وهابيون مثيرون للفتن ممن يلتزمون ويشجعون الإرهاب الجهادي المعاصر، إلا أن عدائهم لا ينبع من عقائد حركة الإصلاح الديني الأصولية لابن عبد الوهاب.” ويُضيف “وعلاوة على ذلك، إن معظم الإرهابيين الجهاديين المعاصرين ليسوا من أتباع الوهابية. إن الفئتين، الوهابية والجهادية المعاصرة، ليستا مترادفتين.”

image_pdfimage_print

Fanack Home / Religions in the Middle East / Wahhabism: A Doctrine Not Open to Interpretation

Wahhabism: A Doctrine Not Open to Interpretation

Specials- Wahhabism
Wahhabi fighters carrying banners of unification that became the flag of Saudi Arabia. Photo (midan.aljazeera.net)

Wahhabism is often referred to as a cult-like denomination of Sunni Islam that is responsible for radicalizing young men across the Middle East and beyond. But the movement is more than just an ultra-conservative ideology; it is also a political system.

The ideology first surfaced in the Najd region, now part of Saudi Arabia, in the 1700s. David Long, a specialist in Saudi Arabia and international terrorism, notes that Wahhabism is essentially a reactionary and fundamentalist reform movement.

From the start, Wahhabism was highly exclusive. Muhammad ibn Abd al-Wahab, the father of the movement, was a student of the Hanbali school of Islamic jurisprudence, which is considered the most conservative strand of Sunni Islam. He was impacted significantly by the fundamentalist religious scholar Taqi al-Din ibn Taymiyya, who advocated a religious doctrine that was based on the Koran and Sunna.

Early Wahhabism thus rejected practices or beliefs that deviated from these two reference points. Not surprisingly, the teachings of Abd al-Wahab were extremely hostile to Shia Muslims as well as Jews and Christians, which the Koran refers to as ‘people of the book’.

Although Abd al-Wahab’s message spread widely, many emirs feared the extremist reformer and his brutal tactics. He eventually found sanctuary in the town of Diriyah – located on the outskirts of Riyadh – after being banished from a nearby oasis. The ruler of Diriyah, Muhammad ibn Saud, welcomed Abd al-Wahab and promised him protection.

The two men made a deal. Ibn Saud promised to support the expansion of Abd al-Wahab’s movement through jihad, and agreed to hand him a monopoly over the interpretation of Islamic texts. In return, Ibn Saud would be the political leader of the Wahhabi movement. This alliance, which was born in 1744, set the stage for the creation of the Kingdom of Saudi Arabia in 1932.

Tribes from around the Arabian Peninsula started to join forces with Diriyah, either because they were convinced of Abd al-Wahab’s teachings or because they feared that their towns would be raided and pillaged if they refused. Just like in Saudi Arabia today, nobody was free to question Abd al-Wahab’s teachings.

After Abd al-Wahab’s death, his descendants (the Sheikh family) continued to control religious affairs under Saudi rule. To this day, they continue to legitimize the ruling House of Saud by approving succession and endorsing the king’s decisions. In return, the Sheikh family enjoys privileged positions, including in the Ministry of Education and Ministry of Islamic Affairs.

Despite the long-standing alliance, some Saudi rulers tried to reduce the influence of the kingdom’s Wahhabi origins by gradually modernizing the country. King Faisal bin Abdulaziz, for one, launched the first television broadcast and promoted public education for women. However, his decisions were unpopular with much of the Saudi establishment, including his nephew who assassinated him in 1975.

Specials- Juhayman al-Otaybi
Juhayman al-Otaybi. Photo (pinterest.co.kr)

Four years later, in 1979, the Grand Mosque in Mecca was seized by a group of insurgents, led by Juhayman al-Otaybi who declared his brother in law the Mahdi (savior). According to the Koran, the Mahdi will rule for several years before the Day of Judgment.

For two weeks, hundreds of pilgrims and security forces were killed while trying to retake the sacred mosque. Many in the Saudi establishment believed that the incident  was a punishment from God for failing to comply with the strict religious teachings of Wahhabism. The kingdom responded by emboldening Wahhabism, and cracking down on citizens who were believed to violate the doctrine. The irony was striking; al-Otaybi and his men were killed, but their worldview prevailed.

The same year, the Iranian revolution erupted, leading to the establishment of the Islamic Republic. For decades, Saudi Arabia had been bankrolling insurgents and repressive allies worldwide to offset the influence of communism. Now, the kingdom would export its ideology to counter Iran.

Most estimates indicate that Saudi Arabia has  spent tens of billions of dollars to embolden reactionary Islamic movements abroad. If true, this amount far surpasses the money the Soviet Union invested in communism.

Not surprisingly, Saudi Arabia’s foreign policy has suffered a violent backlashy. The most famous example of this is the September 11 attacks on the World Trade Center. Fifteen of the 19 plane hijackers were Saudi citizens. While Saudis were easier to recruit for the mission than other Arab nationals due to freer visa regulations, it is clear that the Saudi attackers shared a similar worldview to the most conservative Wahhabi clerics in the kingdom. More disturbing, some US officials claim that there is evidence to suggest that members of the Saudi government facilitated the mission.

The kingdom has nonetheless become a chief ally in the so-called war on terror. William McCants, a Brookings Institution scholar, claims that the Saudis are both “the arsonists and the firefighters”, when it comes to combatting Islamic extremism.

“The Saudis promote a very toxic form of Islam that draws sharp lines between a small number of true believers and everyone else, Muslim and non-Muslim,” he told The New York Times. “[The Saudis] provide ideological fodder for violent jihadists. Yet at the same time they’re [America’s partners] in fighting terrorism.”

Terrorist groups that have either been supported or inspired by Wahhabism, and the political system it has spawned, include al-Qaeda and the Islamic State (IS). Ironically, these groups are even more religiously intolerant than the kingdom itself. Like al-Otaybi, they have terrorized the kingdom for its friendly relations with the ‘West’. In 2016, IS carried out as many as 25 different attacks inside the kingdom over an eight-month period.

Realizing the threat that Islamic extremists pose to the ruling House of Saud, Crown Prince Mohammed bin Salman (MBS) has said that it is time for the kingdom to ‘return’ to moderate Islam – an era that many scholars say never existed in Saudi Arabia.

Observers nonetheless hope that MBS will succeed in curtailing the influence of Wahhabi clerics. Then again, his foreign policy does not appear to offer an effective means to combat terrorism. Saudi Arabia’s devastating bombing campaign in Yemen is a case in point. With the country now completely fragmented, extremists have thrived.

Meanwhile, the correlation between Wahhabism and jihadist extremism remains hotly contested. David Long, for one, ponders the myriad of factors that cause a person to commit acts of terrorism in the name of an ideology, whether religious or secular. For him, it is not the doctrine that compels someone to turn to violence, but the ‘pre-existing hostility in a stressful world’.

‘There are certainly firebrand Wahhabis who adhere to and encourage contemporary jihadist terrorism, but their hostility does not emanate from the doctrines of the fundamentalist religious reform movement of Ibn Abd al-Wahab,’ he writes. ‘Moreover, most contemporary jihadist terrorists are not adherents of Wahhabism. The two categories, Wahhabism and contemporary jihadism, are not synonymous.’

image_pdfimage_print

We would like to ask you something …

Fanack is an independent media organisation, not funded by any state or any interest group, that distributes in the Middle East and the wider world unbiased analysis and background information, based on facts, about the Middle East and North Africa.

The website grew rapidly in breadth and depth and today forms a rich and valuable source of information on 21 countries, from Morocco to Oman and from Iran to Yemen, both in Arabic and English. We currently reach six million readers annually and growing fast.

In order to guarantee the impartiality of information on the Chronicle, articles are published without by-lines. This also allows correspondents to write more freely about sensitive or controversial issues in their country. All articles are fact-checked before publication to ensure that content is accurate, current and unbiased.

To run such a website is very expensive. With a small donation, you can make a huge impact. And it only takes a minute. Thank you.