فَنَكْ وقائع وأحداث عن الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا / الأديان في الشرق الأوسط / اليزيديين: إحساسٌ رائعٌ بالهوية

اليزيديين: إحساسٌ رائعٌ بالهوية

Iraq- Iraqi Yazidis
يزيديون عراقيون يضيئون الشموع والمشاعل خارج معبد لاليش الواقع في وادٍ بالقرب من دهوك، على بعد 430 كيلومتراً شمال غربي بغداد، خلال مراسم الاحتفال بالسنة اليزيديّة الجديدة في 17 أبريل 2018. Photo AFP ©AFP ⁃ SAFIN HAMED

لقرونٍ عديدة، واجه اليزيديون الاضطهاد، إلا أنهم لم يتخلوا عن إيمانهم، بل إن ثباتهم ما هو إلا دليلٌ على إحساسهم الرائع بالهوية. فقبل عام 2014 والفظائع واسعة النطاق التي ارتكبها تنظيم الدولة الإسلامية “داعش” في شمال العراق، والتي أثرت بشكلٍ مأساوي على هذا المجتمع، لم يعرف سوى عدد قليلٌ جداً من سكان الغرب عن اليزيديين. ففي عام 2014، تم إعدام أكثر من 3000 من اليزيديين في غضون أيام، بينما أجبر الكثير من أولئك الذين بقوا على قيد الحياة إما على العبودية الجنسية أو تغيير دينهم. فقد صدمت الصور المُهينة للنساء الأيزيديات المقيدات أثناء بيعهن في سوقٍ للسبايا من قِبل داعش العالم بأسره، وسلطت الأضواء على هذا المجتمع.

وبعد أربع سنوات، من المهم أن ننظر إلى الوراء للتفكر في تلك المأساة وإعادة النظر في المجتمع الذي تعرض للكثير من الاضطهاد وسوء الفهم في نفس الوقت. فقد استخدم الجناة المتعصبون بعض سوء الفهم التاريخي والشائعات التي وصفت اليزيديين بـ”عبدة الشيطان” لـ”تبرير” تعذيب هذا المجتمع من منطلقٍ ديني. وعلى الرغم من أن الأسوأ بات في طي النسيان اليوم، إلا أنه لا يزال هناك الكثير من اللغط حول اليزيديين.

المجتمع اليزيدي هو جزءٌ من الأقلية الكردية قبل الإسلام، حيث يعيشون في المقام الأول في شمال العراق، إلا أن لهم وجودٌ أيضاً في إيران وسوريا وتركيا وجورجيا وروسيا وأرمينيا. كما هاجر العديد من اليزيديين إلى أوروبا، وخاصة إلى ألمانيا منذ اندلاع الحرب العراقية الإيرانية التي استمرت من عام 1980 إلى عام 1988. ويقدر عددهم بما يصل إلى 600 ألف نسمة. مجتمع اليزيديين مجتمعٌ انعزالي للغاية، ويمارس زواج الأقارب، كما أن لديهم نظامٌ قائمٌ على ثلاث طبقات: طبقة المريد، وطبقة الشيخ، وطبقة البير، حيث يحرّم الزواج بين الطبقات. زعيمهم الحالي هو الأمير تحسين بك سعيد.

يؤمن اليزيديون بأنهم ينحدرون مباشرةً من آدم وحده، في حين أن بقية البشر ينحدرون من نسل آدم وحواء، كما يوضح موقع هافينغتون بوست. هذا الاعتقاد اليزيدي متجذرٌ في التقليد الجاهلي، إلا أن الشيخ عدي بن مسافر، وهو واعظٌ صوفي توفي عام 1162، يعتبر الشخصية الأكثر محورية لتأسيس هذا الإيمان.

وبالنسبة لليزيديين يُعتبر تجسدياً لطاووس ملك، الذي قاد الملائكة الآخرين الذين خلقوا العالم. وفي شهر سبتمبر من كل عام، يحج اليزيديون إلى قبر الشيخ مسفر في لالش، شمال الموصل. هناك، يقوم الحجاج بممارسة طقوس الاغتسال في النهر.

يرتبط أحد مصادر سوء الفهم الرئيسية لهذا المجتمع باسمهم، اليزيديون أو الأزيديون. فقد خضع الإسم لتأويلاتٍ مختلفة وله مدلولات مختلفة بحسب الأشخاص. فعلى سبيل المثال، يعتقد بعض المسلمين السُنة أنها مستمدة من يزيد بن معاوية (645-683)، الخليفة الثاني من سلالة الأمويين الذي لم يكن يحظى بشعبيةٍ كبيرة. وبالنسبة للشيعة المسلمين، فإن يزيد هو الشخصية الأكثر بُغضاً ذلك أنه الشخص الذي قتل الإمام الشيعي الثالث وابن علي، الحسين، في معركة كربلاء (680 م)، والتي تعدّ نقطة مفصلية في تحول الانقسام الشيعي السني.

كما يربط بعض الأشخاص اليزيديين بمدينة يزد الفارسية. ومع ذلك، وفقاً لبي بي سي، أوضحت الأبحاث الأخيرة أن الاسم لا علاقة له بمدينة يزد الإيرانية، إلا أنه مشتقٌ من اللفظ الفارسي “إيزيد” الذي يعني الملاك أو المعبود. وتعني كلمة الأزيديين “عباد الله،” وهكذا يصف أتباع هذه الديانة أنفسهم.

يُطلق اليزيديون على أنفسهم لقب “داسين،” وهو مشتقٌ من اسم أبرشية النسطورية القديمة التي تتبع الكنيسة المسيحية الشرقية القديمة. يحترم اليزيديون كلاً من الإنجيل والقرآن على حد سواء، إلا أن الكثير من تقاليدهم شفوية. هناك سوء فهمٍ شائع للغاية يربط بين الدين اليزيدي بالزرادشتية، الذي ينطوي على ازدواجية بين النور والظلام وحتى عبادة الشمس. ومع ذلك، أظهرت الأبحاث الأخيرة أن دينهم غير مزدوج: فهم لا يؤمنون بوجود الشر أو الجحيم.

المصدر: Wikipedia, REACH, International Coalition for Responsanility to Protect (ICRtoP), Nadia's Initiative, The Guardian. إضغط للتكبير. @Fanack

بالنسبة لليزيديين، يمتلك جميع البشر الخير والشر بداخلهم، وخياراتهم خالية من المؤثرات الخارجية. وعلى الرغم من أن مزاراتهم غالباً ما تكون مزينة بالشمس ومقابرهم تتجه شرقاً نحو شروق الشمس، وهو ما يشبه الزرادشتية، إلا أنهم يتشاركون أيضاً بالعديد من العناصر مع المسيحية والإسلام. هذا ويمكن أن يمنحنا النظر إلى بعض الطقوس اليزيدية إطاراً مرجعياً، فعلى سبيل المثال، يمارسون التضحية بالحيوانات والختان. كما يتم تعميد الأطفال اليزيديين “بالمياه المقدسة” من قبل كاهن يسمونه البير. وفي مراسم الزفاف، يكسر البير الخبز ويعطي نصفه للعروس والنصف الآخر للعريس. كما ترتدي العروس اللون الأحمر وتزور الكنائس المسيحية. وعلاوة على ذلك، يصوم اليزيديون لمدة ثلاثة أيام في ديسمبر ثم يحتفلون بنهاية الصيام بشرب النبيذ مع البير.

ووفقاً للديانة اليزيدية، فإن الله هو يزدان، الذي لا يمكن أن يُعبد بشكلٍ مباشر. يزدان هو خالق الكون، ولكنه ليس الحافظ له، وبالتالي فهو يعتبر قوةً سلبية. فقد خلق الله سبعة أرواحٍ عظيمة، أكبرها طاووس ملك، الذي يعدّ المنفذ الفعلي للإرادة الإلهية على الأرض. ومن الجدير بالذكر أن الطاووس في المسيحية المبكرة كان رمزاً للخلود لأن جسده، بنظرهم، لا يفسد أو يتحلل بعد الموت.

تعتبر فكرة طاووس ملك الجزء الأكثر اساءة للفهم في نظام المعتقد اليزيدي. ويعتقد اليزيديون أنه بمجرد أن خلق الله آدم، أمر الملائكة بالسجود لخلقه. وفي حين سجد الملائكة الآخرون، إلا أن طاووس ملك أبى ولم يسجد، لأنه كان يؤمن أنه لا يجوز أن يسجد سوى إلى الله. وبسبب عدم خضوعه، ألقي في النار، إلى أن أخمدت دموع ندمه النار إلى أن تصالح مع الله. ووفقاً للديانة اليزيدية طاووس ملك هو وسيطٌ بين الله والبشرية. وبالتالي، يعتبر طاووس ملك غرور الله المحوّر الملازم له. ولذلك، إلى حدٍ ما، يُعتبر اليزيديون موّحدين.

لقصة طاووس ملك بعض أوجه تشابه مع قصة الشيطان لدى المسلمين، والذي يسمى أيضاً إبليس أو الشيطان باللغة العربية. وبالنسبة للمسلمين، الشيطان هو ملاكٌ هابط رفض أن يسجد لآدم بداعي الكبرياء. ولفعله هذا، طرد من الجنة. ومع ذلك، فإن الفرق الرئيسي هو أن الشيطان لم يتصالح أبداً مع الله، وعندما هبط من الجنة، بدأ في إغراء الإنسانية بالشر.

وعلى غرار المسلمين، يصلي اليزيديون خمس مراتٍ في اليوم، إلا أنهم يتجهون إلى الشمس وقت الشروق والظهر والغروب. يومهم المقدس هو يوم الأربعاء، ويوم السبت هو يوم الراحة. ولأنهم يصلون لطاووس ملك، ولأن الاسم الآخر لطاووس ملك هو الشيطان، فقد تم وسم اليزيديين على أنهم “عبدة الشيطان.” يؤمن اليزيديون أن تطهير الروح التدريجي من الخطايا أمرٌ ممكن من خلال تناسخ الأرواح، مما يجعل فكرة الجحيم غير واردة. وهذا بدوره يعني أنهم يؤمنون بفكرة تطهير الروح من الداخل من خلال التقمص، وهو مصطلح يُشير إلى رجوع الروح إلى الحياة بجسدٍ آخر. وعلاوة على ذلك، يعتقدون أن الملائكة السبعة تتجسد من حين لآخر في شكلٍ إنساني. وفي حال طرد اليزيدي من مجتمعه، فإن روحه أو روحها لا يمكن أن تتطور أبداً، وكحال الإسلام والمسيحية، فإن إتباع دينٍ آخر أمرٌ غير وارد. وبالمثل، لا يمكن لأحد أن يعتنق الديانة اليزيديّة.

تم استغلال النظام الإيماني اليزيدي وطريقة عيشهم المعزولة كذريعةٍ لاضطهادهم لعدة قرون. بل إن ظهور الدولة القومية الحديثة في أوائل القرن العشرين لم يجعل حياتهم أسهل. وعلى الرغم من تطهير مناطقهم الرئيسية في شمال العراق من تنظيم الدولة الإسلامية “داعش،” إلا أنهم لا يزالون مجتمعاً ضعيفاً للغاية في منطقةٍ تعاني من مشاكل أساسية فيما يتعلق بحقوق الأقليات. فقد تمثلت استراتيجية الخروج الأسهل لليزيديين بالهجرة الجماعية إلى أوروبا، التي ربما تكون قد منحتهم حقوق الأقليات، إلا أنها في واقع الأمر فصلتهم فعلياً عن أرض أجدادهم.

© Copyright Notice

click on link to view the associated photo/image
©AFP ⁃ SAFIN HAMED

دعمكم عونٌ لنا

فَنَك هي مؤسسة إعلامية إلكترونية مستقلة، لا تمولها أي دولة أو مجموعات مصالح. تلتزم فَنَك بنشر تحليلاتٍ مبنية على الوقائع ومحايدة، إلى جانب التقارير المواضيعية حول الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا.
شهد الموقع نمواً سريعاً في نطاق وعمق المعلومات التي يُقدمها، واليوم، بات يُشكل مصدراً غنياً وقيماً للمعلومات عن 21 بلداً، من المغرب إلى عُمان ومن إيران إلى اليمن، باللغتين العربية والإنجليزية. حالياً، وصل عدد القراء إلى 6 ملايين سنوياً، والعدد آخذٌ بالإزدياد.
لضمان حيادية المعلومات على موقع فَنَك (وقائع وأحداث) ، تُنشر المقالات دون ذكر أسماء الكتّاب، مما يُتيح أيضاً لمراسلينا مساحة أكبر من الحرية عند التطرق إلى القضايا الحساسة أو المثيرة للجدل فى بلادهم. وإلى جانب ذلك، نتحرى حقائق جميع المعلومات الواردة في مقالاتنا قبل النشر لضمان دقة المعلومات، وحداثتها وحيادها.

استمرارية تشغيل مثل هذا الموقع الإلكتروني مُكلفة للغاية. بتبرعٍ صغيرٍ منك، يمكنك المساهمة في الحفاظ على حرية واستقلالية تغطيتنا.

Fanack Home / Religions in the Middle East / The Remarkable Sense of Identity of the Yazidis

The Remarkable Sense of Identity of the Yazidis

Iraq- Iraqi Yazidis
Iraqi Yazidis light candles and paraffin torches outside Lalish temple situated in a valley near Dohuk, 430 km (260 miles) northwest of Baghdad, during a ceremony to celebrate the Yazidi New Year on April 17, 2018. Photo AFP

For centuries the Yazidis faced persecution, yet they have never abandoned their faith. Their perseverance is a testimony to their remarkable sense of identity. Before 2014 and the widespread atrocities perpetrated by the Islamic State (IS) in northern Iraq, which tragically affected this community, very few people in the West knew about the Yazidis. In 2014, more than 3,000 Yazidis were executed in the matter of days and many of those who survived were either forced into sex slavery or religious conversions. The outrageous images of the chained Yazidi women being sold in IS slave markets shocked the world and brought this community to a center of attention.

Four years on, it is important to look back to reflect on that tragedy and revisit a community which has been subject to so much persecution and misunderstanding at the same time. Some of the historical misunderstandings and rumors which framed Yazidis as “devil worshipers” were used by fanatical perpetrators to religiously “justify” tormenting this community. Although today the worst is over, there is still much miscomprehension about the Yazidis.

The Yazidi community is part of a pre-Islamic Kurdish minority. They live primarily in northern Iraq, but they can also be found in Iran, Syria, Turkey, Georgia, Russia, and Armenia. Many Yazidis have also migrated to Europe, particularly to Germany since the war between Iran and Iraq that lasted from 1980 to 1988. Their population is estimated to be as high as 600,000 people. The community is highly insular, practicing endogamous marriage. They have a system based on three castes: murids, sheikhs, and pirs. People from each caste marry within their own group. Their current world leader is Prince Tahseen Said.

Yazidis believe that they are descended directly from Adam alone, while the rest of humanity comes from the lineage of both Adam and Eve, as the Huffington Post explains. This Yazidi belief is rooted in the pre-Islamic tradition, but it is Sheikh Adi ibn Musafir, a Sufi preacher who died in 1162, who is the figure considered as the founder of the faith.

For Yazidis, he is an incarnation of Melek Taus, or “the Peacock Angel”, who leads the other angels who created the world. Every year in September there is a pilgrimage to the tomb of Sheikh Musafir at the Lalish, north of Mosul. There, the Yazidi pilgrims carry out ritual ablutions in the river.

One of the main sources of misunderstanding of this community is their name, Yazidi, or sometimes Yezidi. This name has been subject to various interpretations and it has meant different things to different people. For example, some Sunni Muslims believe it derives from Yazid ibn Muawiya (645-683), the greatly unpopular second caliph of the Umayyad dynasty. For the Muslim Shiites, Yazid is the ultimate hate figure because he is the one who killed the third Shia Imam and son of Ali, Hussain (or Husayn), in the battle of Karbala (680 AD), which was the most important turning point in the Shia-Sunni schism.

Some people also associate the Yazidis to the Persian city of Yazd. However, according to the BBC, the latest research has clarified that the name has nothing to do with the Iranian city of Yazd, but is taken from the modern Persian “ized”, which means “angel” or “deity”. The name Izidis means “worshippers of God”, and it is also how Yazidis define themselves.

The name they call themselves is Daasin (plural Dawaaseen), which is derived from the name of an old Nestorian diocese, the Ancient Church of the East. Yazidis respect both the Bible and the Quran, but much of their own tradition is oral. There is a very common misunderstanding which links Yazidi faith to Zoroastrianism, which entails a duality between light and dark and even sun worship. Nonetheless, the recent research has demonstrated that their religion is non-dualistic: they don’t believe in the existence of evil or Hell.

Source: Wikipedia, REACH, International Coalition for Responsanility to Protect (ICRtoP), Nadia's Initiative, The Guardian. Click to enlarge. @Fanack

For the Yazidis, all people have good and evil inside of them, and choices are made free of external temptation. Although their shrines are often decorated with the sun and that their graves point east towards the sunrise, which is similar to Zoroastrianism, they share also many elements with both Christianity and Islam. Looking at some of the Yazidi rituals can give us a frame of reference. For example, they practice the sacrifice of animals and circumcision. The Yazidi children are baptized with ‘holy water’ by a priest whom they call a pir. At wedding ceremonies, the pir breaks bread and gives one half to the bride and the other to the groom. The bride is dressed in red and visits Christian churches. The Yazidis fast for three days in December and then celebrate the end of the fast by drinking wine with the pir.

According to the Yazidi faith, the supreme being is Yasdan, who cannot be worshipped directly. Yasdan is the Creator of the world, but is not the preserver. Hence, he is considered a passive force. Seven great spirits emanate from him, of which the greatest is Malak Taus (otherwise known as the Peacock Angel), who is the active executor of the divine will on earth. It is important to note that the peacock in early Christianity was a symbol of immortality because its flesh does not appear to decay.

The notion of Melek Taus is the most misunderstood part of the Yazidi belief system. Yazidis believe that once God created Adam and Eve, he ordered the angels to bow to his creations. While the other angels did so, Melek Taus refused, because he believed that he should bow to no one but the Supreme God. For his lack of submission, he was thrown into Hell, until his tears of remorse quenched the fires and he became reconciled to God. According to the Yazidi belief, he now serves as an intermediary between God and humanity. Therefore, the Peacock Angel is considered God’s s alter ego, inseparable from Him. So, to that extent, Yazidism is monotheistic.

The story of Malak Taus has some similarities to the Muslim story of Satan, who is also called Iblis or Shaytan in Arabic. For Muslims, Satan is a fallen angel who refused to submit to Adam out of pride. For this act, he was banished from heaven. However, the main difference is that Satan never reconciled with God and when he fell from heaven, he started to tempt humanity into evil.

Similar to Muslims, Yazidis pray five times a day, but they pray facing the sun at sunrise, noon, and sunset. Their rholy day is Wednesday, and their day of rest is Saturday. Because they pray to Malak Taus, and because the other name for Malak Taus is Shaytan, which means devil in Arabic, the Yazidis have been mislabelled as “devil-worshippers”. The Yazidis believe that gradual purification is possible through continual rebirth, which makes the notion of Hell redundant. This in turn means that they believe in internal purification through metempsychosis, a term referring to the transmigration of souls. Moreover, they believe that the seven angels are occasionally reincarnated in human form. Should a Yazidi get expelled from his or her community, his or her soul can never progress and like Islam and Christianity, conversion to another religion is out of the question. Similarly, no one can convert to the Yazidi faith.

The Yazidi belief system and their insular way of life have been used as the pretext for their persecution for many centuries. The advent of the modern nation-state in the early 20th century did not necessarily make their lives easier. Although the Islamic State is removed from their main areas in northern Iraq, they continue to be a very vulnerable community in a region which has fundamental issues with minority rights. An easier exit strategy for the Yazidis has been a mass migration to Europe, which may have offered them minority rights but physically has to disconnect them from their ancient lands.

image_pdfimage_print