فَنَكْ وقائع وأحداث عن الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا / الأديان في الشرق الأوسط / استطلاع جديد: الشباب العربي يُغير من معتقداته وانطباعاته

استطلاع جديد: الشباب العربي يُغير من معتقداته وانطباعاته

Tunisian youth
تونسيون يشاهدون المناظرة الرئاسية في أحد المقاهي في 7 سبتمبر 2019، في تونس. Photo: FETHI BELAID / AFP ©AFP ⁃ FETHI BELAID

أقل تديناً وأقل احتمالاً باتباع زعماء دينيين: هذه هي النتائج التي توصلت إليها دراسة استقصائية أجريت بين الشباب في الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا من قبل الباروميتر العربي، وهو شبكة بحثية تجري استطلاعاتٍ للرأي في الاتجاهات الاجتماعية والاقتصادية الرئيسية في المنطقة.

فقد نشرت مجلة الإيكونوميست النتائج الرئيسية في 5 ديسمبر 2019، والتي تبين أنه “في جميع أنحاء المنطقة، انخفضت نسبة الأشخاص الذين يعبرون عن ثقتهم الكبيرة في الأحزاب السياسية، التي يحمل معظمهم صبغة دينية، بما يزيد عن الثلث منذ عام 2011 إلى 15%… تمتد الشكوك إلى رجال الدين. ففي عام 2013، قال حوالي 51% من المشاركين في الاستطلاع أنهم يثقون في قادتهم الدينيين ‘ثقة كبيرة‘ أو ‘ثقة متوسطة‘ عندما تم طرح سؤالٍ مماثل في العام الماضي، إلا أن هذه النسبة انخفضت إلى 40% فقط… إن نسبة العرب الذين يصفون أنفسهم بأنهم ‘غير متدينين تصل إلى 13%، من 8% في عام 2013. ويشمل ذلك ما يقرب من نصف الشباب التونسي ، وثلث الشباب الليبي، وربع الشباب الجزائري، وخمس الشباب المصري.”

وفي مقابلة مع فَنَك، قال مايكل روبنز، مدير المشروع في الباروميتر العربي، إن النتيجة الأكثر إثارة للدهشة هي أن “الشباب التونسي (46%) من المرجح على نحوٍ مماثل أن يقولوا إنهم ليسوا متدينين كحال الشباب في الولايات المتحدة الذين يقولون إن للدين أهمية قليلة أو أهميةٌ بالكاد تُذكر في حياتهم (45% في مسح الباروميتر للأمريكتين).” وأضاف: “في بلدانٍ أخرى، من المرجح بشكلٍ متزايد أن يقول الشباب إنهم ليسوا متدينين (18% حتى اليوم من ما نسبته 11% في عام 2013)، إلا أن تونس تبرز في هذا الصدد. وعلى الرغم من أن الغالبية العظمى من الشباب في جميع أنحاء المنطقة ما زالوا يعرّفون أنفسهم بأنهم متدينون، على الأقل إلى حدٍ ما، إلا أنه إذا ما استمر هذا الاتجاه بمرور الوقت، فمن المحتمل أن تكون المجتمعات في منطقة الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا أقل تديناً في العقود القادمة.”

كما يمتد التحول إلى فقدان الثقة في الحركة الإسلامية في المنطقة، حيث انخفض من 35% في عام 2013، عندما تم طرح السؤال على نطاق واسع لأول مرة، إلى 20% في عام 2018. وفي مصر، انخفضت الثقة في جماعة الإخوان المسلمين من 44% في عام 2011 إلى 17% اليوم، بينما تراجعت الثقة في جماعة الإخوان المسلمين في الأردن من 35% في عام 2012 إلى 14% اليوم، وانخفضت النسبة في المغرب من 45% في عام 2013 إلى 25% اليوم. وعلاوةً على ذلك، انخفضت الثقة في حزب النهضة في تونس من 40% في عام 2011 إلى 16% اليوم.

وقال روبنز: “تشير هذه النتائج إلى أن منطقة الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا قد تكون على أعتاب تغيير كبير في السنوات المقبلة.” وتابع القول، “تتمثل أحد الأسباب في إنه إن لم يلعب الدين الدور المركزي الذي يلعبه اليوم في حياة المواطنين، فمن المتوقع أن تتغير سياسات المنطقة بشكلٍ كبير. قد يدعو الشباب الحكومات إلى التقليل من أهمية دور الدين في الحياة العامة وفي الدولة. وغالباً ما أدى هذا التحول إلى توتراتٍ كبيرة في المناطق الأخرى بين القوى الدينية والقوى الأكثر علمانية، ومن المحتمل أن تتبع مساراً مشابهاً في منطقة الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا.”

يبدو أن هذا السيناريو يحدث بالفعل، حيث دعت الاحتجاجات على مستوى البلاد في العراق ولبنان إلى تقليل الطائفية وإيلاء المزيد من اهتمام الزعماء السياسيين بالمواطنين. وقال روبنز لفَنَك، “بالنظر إلى الإحباط واسع النطاق لدى الجماهير العربية، وخاصة جيل الشباب، في جميع أنحاء المنطقة، فإن شكل المعارضة للحكومة قد يتغير.” وأضاف “في الجزائر، لم يكن هناك تأثير كبير من الجهات الدينية على الاحتجاجات. أما في لبنان، فقد أكد زعماء الاحتجاجات على التقليل من أهمية الهوية الطائفية طوال الاحتجاجات، معلنين أن اللبنانيين جميعهم شعب واحد. وعلى الرغم من مشاركة العديد من الأجيال في هذه الأحداث، إلا أن صوت الشباب هو الأعلى والأكثر صراحةً على وجه الخصوص في هذه الاحتجاجات. بعبارةٍ أخرى، تشير الطريقة التي تجري بها هذه الاحتجاجات إلى أن تراجع الدين بين الشباب وفقدان الثقة في الحركات الإسلامية ربما يُغيران بالفعل السياسة في المنطقة.”

تُشير هذه المعتقدات المتغيرة أيضاً إلى آراء جديدة حول المجتمع والسياسة والحياة بشكلٍ عام. فعلى سبيل المثال، أظهر استطلاع للرأي أجري في يونيو 2019 من قِبل الباروميتر العربي لبي بي سي العربية أن معظم الناس في المنطقة يؤيدون حق المرأة في أن تصبح رئيسة للوزراء أو رئيسة. ووفقاً لاستطلاعٍ للرأي حول الشباب العربي لعام 2019، الذي نُشر في 25 أبريل، يعتقد ثلثا الشباب العربي أن الدين له تأثير كبير في الشرق الأوسط، ويعتقد ثمانية من كل عشرة أن المؤسسات الدينية تحتاج إلى إصلاح، في حين قال 31% إنهم يعرفون شخصاً يعاني من حالة مثل الاكتئاب أو القلق، مما يدل على انفتاح الناس على مشاكل الصحة العقلية. وأظهر الاستطلاع نفسه أيضاً أن غالبية الشباب يعتقدون أن الوقت قد حان لإنهاء جميع النزاعات الإقليمية.

على الرغم من هذه الرغبة الظاهرة في التغيير، يواصل قادة البلاد الكفاح الجاد للحفاظ على قبضتهم على السلطة، بغض النظر عن الغضب المتزايد الذي يتم التعبير عنه، سواء في الشوارع أو على وسائل التواصل الاجتماعي. بل إن كونك شاباً هو أيضاً من عوامل التغيير، حيث أن من شملهم الاستطلاع اليوم سيكبرون ليأخذوا مواقعهم في المجتمع أيضاً.

وقال روبنز: “ربما يكون من السابق لأوانه تحديد ما إذا كان هناك تحول اجتماعي أعمق يحدث، لكن هناك احتمال كبير.” وأضاف “من المحتمل أن يعود بعض الشباب إلى الدين مع تقدمهم في السن وتكوين أُسر، وهذا أمرٌ شوهد في بلدانٍ أخرى. حتى إن لم يفعلوا ذلك، فإن أكثر من أربعة من كل خمسة شباب في جميع أنحاء المنطقة يظلون متدينين، وهذا يعني أنه حتى لو استمر اتجاه الابتعاد عن الدين، فمن المحتمل أن تكون منطقة الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا متدينة في الغالب لعقود. من الممكن أيضاً أن تكون الزيادة في عدد الشباب الذين يقولون أنهم ليسوا متدينين مؤقتة وستنعكس من تلقاء نفسها في السنوات القادمة. ومن السابق لأوانه معرفة ذلك، لكننا سنواصل تتبع هذه الظاهرة في الدراسات الاستقصائية المستقبلية، والتي ستوفر صورة أوضح عن الدرجة التي قد يحدث بها تحولٍ اجتماعي أعمق.”

إقرأ المزيد

وفي وقتنا الحالي، نشهد توترات بين أكبر طائفتين مسلمتين : السنة وال...
تونس
من الجوانب البارزة في المجتمع التونسي طابعها المتجانس عرقياً ودي...

© Copyright Notice
Click on link to view the associated photo/image:
©AFP ⁃ FETHI BELAID | ©AFP ⁃ FETHI BELAID

دعمكم عونٌ لنا

فَنَك هي مؤسسة إعلامية إلكترونية مستقلة، لا تمولها أي دولة أو مجموعات مصالح. تلتزم فَنَك بنشر تحليلاتٍ مبنية على الوقائع ومحايدة، إلى جانب التقارير المواضيعية حول الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا.
شهد الموقع نمواً سريعاً في نطاق وعمق المعلومات التي يُقدمها، واليوم، بات يُشكل مصدراً غنياً وقيماً للمعلومات عن 21 بلداً، من المغرب إلى عُمان ومن إيران إلى اليمن، باللغتين العربية والإنجليزية. حالياً، وصل عدد القراء إلى 6 ملايين سنوياً، والعدد آخذٌ بالإزدياد.
لضمان حيادية المعلومات على موقع فَنَك (وقائع وأحداث) ، تُنشر المقالات دون ذكر أسماء الكتّاب، مما يُتيح أيضاً لمراسلينا مساحة أكبر من الحرية عند التطرق إلى القضايا الحساسة أو المثيرة للجدل فى بلادهم. وإلى جانب ذلك، نتحرى حقائق جميع المعلومات الواردة في مقالاتنا قبل النشر لضمان دقة المعلومات، وحداثتها وحيادها.

استمرارية تشغيل مثل هذا الموقع الإلكتروني مُكلفة للغاية. بتبرعٍ صغيرٍ منك، يمكنك المساهمة في الحفاظ على حرية واستقلالية تغطيتنا.

Fanack Home / Religions in the Middle East / Young Arabs are Changing their Beliefs and Perceptions: New Survey

Young Arabs are Changing their Beliefs and Perceptions: New Survey

Tunisian youth
Tunisians watch the Presidential TV debate in a cafe on September 7, 2019, in Tunis. Photo: FETHI BELAID / AFP ©AFP ⁃ FETHI BELAID

Less religious and less likely to be following religious leaders: these are the findings of a survey conducted among youth in the Middle East and North Africa (MENA) by the Arab Barometer, a pollster surveying the main social and economic trends in the region.

The main findings were published by The Economist on 5 December 2019, showing that ‘across the region the share of people expressing much trust in political parties, most of which have a religious tint, has fallen by well over a third since 2011, to 15 per cent. … The doubts extend to religious leaders. In 2013, around 51 per cent of respondents said they trusted their religious leaders to a “great” or “medium” extent. When a comparable question was asked last year, the number was down to 40 per cent. … The share of Arabs describing themselves as “not religious” is up to 13 per cent, from 8 per cent in 2013. That includes nearly half of young Tunisians, a third of young Libyans, a quarter of young Algerians and a fifth of young Egyptians.’

In an interview with Fanack, Michael Robbins, project director at the Arab Barometer, said the most surprising finding was that “Tunisian youth (46 per cent) are equally likely to say they are not religious as youth in the US who say religion has little or no importance in their lives (45 per cent in the Americas Barometer survey)”. He added, “In other countries, youth are also increasingly likely to say they are not religious (up to 18 per cent today from 11 per cent in 2013), but Tunisia stands out in this regard. Although the vast majority of youth across the region still identify as being religious, at least to some extent, if this trend continues over time, it is possible that societies in MENA will be far less religious in the decades to come.”

The shift extends to a loss of trust in the Islamist movement in the region, falling from 35 per cent in 2013, when the question was first widely asked, to 20 per cent in 2018. In Egypt, trust in the Muslim Brotherhood has fallen from 44 per cent in 2011 to 17 per cent today while in Jordan trust in the Brotherhood has fallen from 35 per cent in 2012 to 14 per cent today, and in Morocco the decline has been from 45 per cent in 2013 to 25 per cent today. Trust in the Ennahda party in Tunisia has fallen from 40 per cent in 2011 to 16 per cent today.

“These results suggest that MENA may be at the cusp of a significant change in the years ahead,” Robbins said. “For one, if religion does not play the central role it does today in the lives of citizens, it is expected that the politics of the region will change dramatically. Youth may call for governments to de-emphasize the role of religion in public life and in the state. This shift has often led to significant tensions in other regions between religious and more secular forces, and it is likely to follow a similar path in MENA.”

This scenario already seems to be happening, with nationwide protests in Iraq and Lebanon calling for less sectarianism and more care for citizens by political leaders. “Given the widespread frustrations of Arab publics, particularly the youth generation, across the region, the form of opposition to the government may be changing,” Robbins told Fanack. “In Algeria, the protests have not had a significant influence from religious actors. In Lebanon, protest leaders have de-emphasized sectarian identity throughout the protests, proclaiming that Lebanese are all one people. Although many generations are participating in these actions, youth are particularly vocal in their support of the protests. In other words, the way in which these protests are taking place suggests that the decline of religion among the youth and the loss of confidence in Islamist movements may already be shifting politics in the region.”

These changing beliefs also suggest new views of society, politics and life in general. For example, a June 2019 survey led by Arab Barometer for BBC News Arabic showed that most people in the region supported the right of a woman to become prime minister or president. According to the 2019 Arab Youth Survey, published on 25 April, two thirds of young Arabs believe that religion is too influential in the Middle East, eight in ten think religious institutions need reform and 31 per cent said they know someone with a condition such as depression or anxiety, which shows people are opening up to mental health issues. The same survey also showed that a majority of the youth thinks it is time to end all regional conflicts.

Despite this apparent appetite for change, the country’s leaders continue to fight hard to maintain their grip on power, apparently regardless of the growing anger expressed, either in the streets or on social media. Being young is also a shifting factor, as those surveyed today will grow to take their place in society as well.

“It is probably too early to say if a deeper social shift is taking place, but there is a significant possibility,” Robbins said. “It is possible that some youth will return to religion as they get older and have families, which is something that has been seen in other countries. Even if they don’t, more than four in five youth across the region remain religious, meaning that even if the trend of turning away from religion continues, it’s likely that MENA will be predominately religious for decades. It is also possible that the increase in youth saying they are not religious is temporary and will reverse itself in the years ahead. It is too soon to know, but we will continue to track this phenomenon in future surveys, which will provide a clearer picture of the degree to which a deeper social shift may be taking place.”

.

Further Reading

At present, tensions exist between Islam’s biggest sects, the Sunnis and Shiites, in part as a consequence of a power...
Tunisia derives its name from Tunis, the current capital, which, in turn, comes from Tunes, an ancient city. Tunisia, pr...
A significant aspect of Tunisian society is its homogenous ethnic and religious character: Arab-Berber and Sunni. Noneth...

© Copyright Notice
Click on link to view the associated photo/image:
©AFP ⁃ FETHI BELAID | ©AFP ⁃ FETHI BELAID

We would like to ask you something …

Fanack is an independent media organisation, not funded by any state or any interest group, that distributes in the Middle East and the wider world unbiased analysis and background information, based on facts, about the Middle East and North Africa.

The website grew rapidly in breadth and depth and today forms a rich and valuable source of information on 21 countries, from Morocco to Oman and from Iran to Yemen, both in Arabic and English. We currently reach six million readers annually and growing fast.

In order to guarantee the impartiality of information on the Chronicle, articles are published without by-lines. This also allows correspondents to write more freely about sensitive or controversial issues in their country. All articles are fact-checked before publication to ensure that content is accurate, current and unbiased.

To run such a website is very expensive. With a small donation, you can make a huge impact. And it only takes a minute. Thank you.