فَنَكْ وقائع وأحداث عن الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا / مجلس التعاون الخليجي / استثمارات مجلس التعاون لدول الخليج في الغرب

استثمارات مجلس التعاون لدول الخليج في الغرب

تم تمويل برج شارد في لندن (ارتفاعه 310 م) جزئياً من قبل مستثمرين قطريين

بعد استقلالها، أنشأت بعض الدول الأعضاء في مجلس التعاون لدول الخليج صناديق ثروة سيادية، وهي صناديق استثمار مملوكة للدولة، في محاولة لتخطيط تنميتها الاقتصادية باستخدام الدخل المستدام الضخة من صادرات النفط والغاز.

تم إنشاء أول صندوق ثروة سيادية، هيئة الاستثمار الكويتية، عام 1953. تلتها أبوظبي بعد عقدين من الزمن (1976) بهيئة أبو ظبي للاستثمار، وسلطنة عمان عام 1980 بصندوق الاحتياطي العام للدولة.

أنشئت مثل هذه الصناديق في محاولة لتنويع الاقتصاد والابتعاد عن الاعتماد الكلي على عائدات النفط والغاز وذلك بالالتزام بالاستثمارات. تستثمر صناديق الثروة السيادية إما في الأعمال التجارية، وبالتالي بالسعي إلى التنويع، أو ضمان ثروة أجيال المستقبل عن طريق عوائد طويلة الأجل. وركزت بعضها على السوق المحلية، واستثمرت غيرها بشكل أساسي في الخارج في مجموعة واسعة من القطاعات. بعد بداية الأزمة المالية عام 2008 في الاقتصادات الغربية، واجهت الصناديق ضغوطاً محلية على الاستثمار أكثر في الاقتصاد المحلي وتحقيق عوائد على المدى القصير. كما أدت ردة فعل الحكومات على الربيع العربي – زيادة الإنفاق لإسكات المزيد من السخط – إلى زيادة الاستثمارات محلياً.

تستثمر صناديق الثروة السيادية في مجموعة واسعة من القطاعات الاقتصادية في أوروبا والولايات المتحدة، كما في آسيا وأفريقيا. وكانت هناك استثمارات كبيرة في القطاع المالي الغربي. بعد عام 2008، أنقذت الخليج صناديق الثروة السيادية مجموعات مالية أوروبية متعثرة، مثل Barclays و Credit Suisse، مما يشكل تحدياً لمهيمنة سلطة الغرب المالية. اشترى جهاز قطر للاستثمار حصة 20% في بورصة لندن، وتملك الهيئة العامة للاستثمار الكويتية جزءً من مجموعة Citigroup.

تستثمر صناديق الثروة السيادية في مجموعة واسعة من القطاعات الاقتصادية في أوروبا والولايات المتحدة، كما في آسيا وأفريقيا. وكانت هناك استثمارات كبيرة في القطاع المالي الغربي. بعد عام 2008، أنقذت الخليج صناديق الثروة السيادية مجموعات مالية أوروبية متعثرة، مثل Barclays و Credit Suisse، مما يشكل تحدياً لمهيمنة سلطة الغرب المالية. اشترى جهاز قطر للاستثمار حصة 20% في بورصة لندن، وتملك الهيئة العامة للاستثمار الكويتية جزءً من مجموعة Citigroup. وبالإضافة إلى ذلك، تم الاستثمار في الصناعات التحويلية وصناعة السيارات، والخدمات، والنقل، والعقارات والرياضة. عام 2006، اشترت شركة موانئ دبي التي تملكها الإمارات العربية المتحدة شركة الشحن P&O التي تملكها بريطانيا، مما أعطى شركة موانئ دبي السيطرة على منشآت في ستة موانئ أمريكية. كما حاولت دبي شراء مطار أوكلاند الدولي في نيوزيلندا عام 2007. وساعد المستثمرون القطريون، ومن بينهم البنوك القطرية، بتمويل بناء أطول ناطحة سحاب في أوروبا، Shard بارتفاع 310 م، في لندن (دشنها رئيس وزراء قطر في 5 تموز/يوليو 2012)، عن طريق شراء حصة 80% للسيطرة على المشروع . منذ تمويل المشروع من قبل الاستثمارات المتوافقة مع الشريعة الإسلامية، خضع مستأجرو الأبراج إلى شروط معينة، بما في ذلك عدم الارتباط بصناعات تعتبر لا تنسجم مع أحكام الشريعة. اشترى صندوق الثروة السيادية القطري حصة 20% من شركة BAA  البريطانية العاملة في المطار، مما أعطى قطر فوائد كبيرة في بناء مدرج إضافي في مطار هيثرو في لندن.

إقرأ المزيد

بعد ثلاث سنوات من توقيع الميثاق تم تأسيس قوة دفاع مشتركة: قوة درع ا...
يأتي التكامل الاقتصادي في المرتبة الأولى دوماً في دول مجلس التعاو...
يُعتقد أن استخدام نظم المراقبة الإلكترونية قد أدى إلى اختفاء العد...

إقرأ المزيد

بعد ثلاث سنوات من توقيع الميثاق تم تأسيس قوة دفاع مشتركة: قوة درع ا...
الإمارات العربية المتحدة
استخدمت الإمارات العربية المتحدة عائدات النفط (الذي تم اكتشافه في...

دعمكم عونٌ لنا

فَنَك هي مؤسسة إعلامية إلكترونية مستقلة، لا تمولها أي دولة أو مجموعات مصالح. تلتزم فَنَك بنشر تحليلاتٍ مبنية على الوقائع ومحايدة، إلى جانب التقارير المواضيعية حول الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا.
شهد الموقع نمواً سريعاً في نطاق وعمق المعلومات التي يُقدمها، واليوم، بات يُشكل مصدراً غنياً وقيماً للمعلومات عن 21 بلداً، من المغرب إلى عُمان ومن إيران إلى اليمن، باللغتين العربية والإنجليزية. حالياً، وصل عدد القراء إلى 6 ملايين سنوياً، والعدد آخذٌ بالإزدياد.
لضمان حيادية المعلومات على موقع فَنَك (وقائع وأحداث) ، تُنشر المقالات دون ذكر أسماء الكتّاب، مما يُتيح أيضاً لمراسلينا مساحة أكبر من الحرية عند التطرق إلى القضايا الحساسة أو المثيرة للجدل فى بلادهم. وإلى جانب ذلك، نتحرى حقائق جميع المعلومات الواردة في مقالاتنا قبل النشر لضمان دقة المعلومات، وحداثتها وحيادها.

استمرارية تشغيل مثل هذا الموقع الإلكتروني مُكلفة للغاية. بتبرعٍ صغيرٍ منك، يمكنك المساهمة في الحفاظ على حرية واستقلالية تغطيتنا.

Fanack Home / Gulf Cooperation Council (GCC) / GCC investments in the West

GCC investments in the West

The 310 metres high Shard Tower in London (tallest building in Europe), partly financed by Qatari investors

After their independence, some of the Gulf Cooperation Council (GCC) member states created Sovereign Wealth Funds (SWFs), state-owned investment funds, in a bid to plan their economic development using the huge sustained income from the export of oil and gas.

The first Sovereign Wealth Fund, the Kuwait Investment Authority, was established in 1953. Abu Dhabi followed suit two decades later (1976) with the Abu Dhabi Investment Authority, and Oman in 1980 with the State General Reserve Fund.

Such funds were established in an attempt to diversify the economy and move away from a total reliance on oil and gas revenues by committing to investments. SWFs either invest in businesses, thus pursuing diversification, or ensure the wealth of future generations by aiming at long-term returns. Some focused on the domestic market and others invested primarily overseas in a wide range of sectors.

After the outbreak of the 2008 financial crisis in Western economies, the funds have been facing domestic pressures to invest more in the local economies and achieve short-term returns. Governments’ response to the Arab Spring – increased spending to silence further discontent – has also led to increased investments in the home countries.

GCC SWFs have been investing in a broad range of economic sectors in Europe and the United States, but also in Asia and Africa. There has been significant investment in the Western financial sector. After 2008, Gulf SWFs rescued embattled European financial groups like Barclays and Credit Suisse, challenging the West’s hegemonic financial power. Qatar Investment Authority bought a 20 percent stake in the London Stock Exchange and Kuwait Investment Authority owns a part of Citigroup. In addition, investments have been made in the manufacturing and automobile industry, services, transport sector, real estate and sports. In 2006, UAE-owned Dubai Ports World (although not a SFW) bought UK-owned shipping company P&O, giving Dubai Ports World control over facilities in six US ports. Dubai also attempted to buy Auckland International Airport in New Zealand in 2007. Qatari investors, among which Qatari banks, have helped to finance the construction of Europe’s tallest building, the 310 metres high Shard in London (inaugurated by Qatar’s Prime Minister on 5 July 2012), by buying an 80 percent stake to take control of the project. Since the project was financed by Sharia-compliant investments, the towers’ tenants have been subject to certain conditions, including that they are not connected to industries deemed unlawful to Sharia. Qatar’s SWF bought a 20 percent stake in UK airport operator BAA, giving Qatar a huge vested interest in the construction of an extra runway at London’s Heathrow Airport.

Further Reading

Three year after the signing of the charter a collective defence force – the Peninsula Shield Force – was established, but in the following years the GCC failed to rig it up.

We would like to ask you something …

Fanack is an independent media organisation, not funded by any state or any interest group, that distributes in the Middle East and the wider world unbiased analysis and background information, based on facts, about the Middle East and North Africa.

The website grew rapidly in breadth and depth and today forms a rich and valuable source of information on 21 countries, from Morocco to Oman and from Iran to Yemen, both in Arabic and English. We currently reach six million readers annually and growing fast.

In order to guarantee the impartiality of information on the Chronicle, articles are published without by-lines. This also allows correspondents to write more freely about sensitive or controversial issues in their country. All articles are fact-checked before publication to ensure that content is accurate, current and unbiased.

To run such a website is very expensive. With a small donation, you can make a huge impact. And it only takes a minute. Thank you.