فَنَكْ وقائع وأحداث عن الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا / مجلس التعاون الخليجي / سباق شراء برامج التجسس في الخليج

سباق شراء برامج التجسس في الخليج

أصبحت المراقبة الإلكترونية سلاحاً رئيسياً لدول الخليج لقمع المعارضة، فقد انطلقت حمى حيازة برامج التجسس في أعقاب الربيع العربي عام 2011، والذي شهد تنسيق النشطاء والمعارضين للمظاهرات والحملات عبر وسائل التواصل الاجتماعي.

منذ ذلك الحين، قامت كبرى شركات الدفاع وبرامج التجسس ببيع أكثر تقنيات المراقبة الإلكترونية تطوراً للأنظمة القمعية في الخليج. وفي يونيو 2017، نشرت بي بي سي تحقيقاً ضخماً كشفت من خلاله عن أن الشركة الدنماركية التابعة لشركة بي أيه أي (BAE) في المملكة المتحدة والمختصة في المراقبة الإلكترونية عقدت صفقات بيعٍ ضخمة مع كلٍ من المملكة العربية السعودية، والإمارات العربية المتحدة، وقطر وعُمان. تمت الموافقة على المبيعات من قبل الحكومة الدنماركية.

وعلى الرغم من المخاوف المتعلقة بحقوق الإنسان، برر وزير الخارجية الدنماركي أندرس سامويلسون المبيعات، مجادلاً بأن دول الخليج بحاجة إلى برمجيات مراقبة لمهاجمة جماعة الدولة الإسلامية “داعش.”

إذ قال سامويلسون للصحفيين بعد فترةٍ وجيزة من الكشف عن الفضيحة “هذه المنطقة ليست بيضاء أو سوداء، ولا يمكنك أبداً أن تضمن عدم وجود إساءة 100%. من ناحيةٍ أخرى، لدينا مصلحة بمحاربة داعش.”

يُسمى نظام المراقبة الذي تم بيعه للمملكة العربية السعودية والإمارات العربية المتحدة ” Evident،” وهو نظامٌ يُمكّن الحكومات من اعتراض أي حركة على شبكة الإنترنت بكل سهولة. وأضاف موظفٌ سابقٌ في ETI، شريطة عدم الكشف عن هويته، أن النظام يستطيع تتبع مواقع الأفراد وفك تشفير التطبيقات، التي يُفترض أنها آمنة، على الهاتف المحمول.

رفض سامويلسون الكشف عن العوامل التي أخذتها وزارة الخارجية بعين الإعتبار قبل الموافقة على هذه المبيعات. ومع ذلك، يُشكك الخبراء في أن المصالح التجارية وجهود مكافحة الإرهاب كانت الشواغل الرئيسية.

وفي هذا الصدد، قالت هيلي ليكّ نيلسن، الأستاذ المشارك في جامعة سذيرن دنمارك والخبيرة في دول الخليج، للعربي الجديد: “يُحسن السياسيون جعل الأمور تبدو وكأن حقوق الإنسان والديمقراطية لها الأولوية القصوى،” وأضافت “لكن جوهر السياسة الخارجية الدنماركية هو الاعتبارات الأمنية والمالية.”

Specials- MBS
شباب سعوديون يمشون أمام صورة لولي العهد السعودي الأمير محمد بن سلمان في الرياض في 14 نوفمبر ، 2018. Photo AFP

ويُعتقد أن استخدام نظم المراقبة الإلكترونية قد أدى إلى اختفاء العديد من الناشطين في مجال حقوق الإنسان. فقد قالت إحدى النشطات في مجال حقوق المرأة السعودية، منال الشريف، لبي بي سي أن المعارضين كانوا يحذرون من أن “الجدران لها آذان،” لكن الناس في دول الخليج اليوم يقولون: “الهواتف الذكية لها آذان.”

وقالت: “لا توجد دولة تراقب شعبها بنفس الطريقة التي تتبعها دول الخليج.” وتابعت، “يمتلكون المال ليتمكنوا من شراء برامج المراقبة المتطورة.”

بالإضافة إلى الدنمارك، تشتري دول الخليج أيضاً أنظمة مراقبة متطورة من الشركات الإسرائيلية رغم عدم مشاركتهم علاقاتٍ دبلوماسية رسمية مع الدولة.

فقد ذكرت سيتي لاب، وهي مجموعة بحثية من جامعة تورنتو، في سبتمبر أن برمجية بيغاسوس (Pegasus) – وهو نظام مراقبة للهواتف المحمولة أنتجته مجموعة إن إس أو (NSO) الإسرائيلية – قد تم بيعه إلى البحرين والمملكة العربية السعودية والإمارات العربية المتحدة خلال العامين الماضيين.

وقال التقرير الذي سمى دول الخليج الثلاث التي اشترت برمجية بيغاسوس، إن “نتائجنا ترسم صورة قاتمة للمخاطر التي ستواجه حقوق الإنسان في ظل الإنتشار العالمي لشركة إن إس أو. فقد تم ربط ما لا يقل عن ستة من الدول التي تستخدم برمجية بيغاسوس ذات الأهمية بالاستخدام التعسفي لبرامج التجسس لاستهداف المجتمع المدني.”

ومع ذلك، لربما تكون صحيفة نيويورك تايمز قد كشفت عن أكبر فضيحةٍ في أغسطس 2018 عندما حصلت على رسائل بريدٍ إلكتروني تثبت أن الإمارات العربية المتحدة قد استخدمت برمجية بيغاسوس لمراقبة أمير قطر وأمير سعودي ومحرر جريدة تصدر باللغة العربية في المملكة المتحدة.

كُشفت الواقعة عندما سألت مجموعة إن إس أو الإمارات العربية المتحدة ما إذا كانت تريد تجديد عقدها باهظ الثمن لمواصلة استخدام برنامج التجسس. وقبل أن يتعهد القادة الإمارتيون بتجديد العقد، أرسلوا بريداً إلكترونياً إلى مجموعة إن إس أو متسائلين عن إمكانية التجسس على ثلاثة أشخاص آخرين على وجه التحديد.

وكتب ممثل الشركة مرةً أخرى بعد أربعة أيام، من خلال رسائل البريد الإلكتروني التي حصلت عليها صحيفة نيويورك تايمز: “تجدون مرفقاً طيه تسجيلين.”

كما تستخدم أبو ظبي نظام مراقبة إسرائيلي مثبت يسمى عين الصقر (Falcon Eye). يمكّن هذا النظام الاستخبارات الإماراتية من رصد كل شخص في البلد على نحوٍ فعلي، حسبما أفاد مصدرٌ على ما يبدو من شركة فالكون آي لـصحيفة ميدل إيست آي في عام 2015.

وأضاف المصدر أن عين الصقر يسجل ويحلل أنماط العمل والأنماط الاجتماعية والسلوكية، إذ قال “يبدو هذا وكأنه ضربٌ من الخيال العلمي لكنه يحدث في أبو ظبي اليوم.”

كما يقوم الإمارتيون أيضاً بتطوير برامج التجسس الخاصة بهم لخنق المجتمع المدني بالرغم من محاولات إقناع العامة بخلاف ذلك. ففي فبراير 2018، أكد الرئيس التنفيذي لشركة الأمن الإلكتروني، دارك ماتر، ومقرها أبو ظبي، لوكالة أسوشيتد برس، أن شركته تعمل بشكلٍ مستقل عن الدولة.

إلا أن الحقيقة تخالف ذلك. وبما أن الحكومة الإماراتية تُشكل 80% من عملاء دارك ماتر، يقول المعلقون في الخليج إن الشركة ليس أمامها خيارٌ سوى التجسس ومراقبة مواطنيها.

في حين أخبر أحد الخبراء الأمنيين الإيطاليين ميدل إيست آي أن الشركة متأصلة في أنظمة الاستخبارات الإماراتية. وأضاف القرصان الإلكتروني السابق، سيمون مارجاريتيلي، أنه أجرى مقابلةً مع الشركة قبل عامين وأُبلِغ بأن الإمارات تقوم بإنشاء نظام للمراقبة يمكنه اعتراض وتعديل وتحويل الحركة على عنوان الآي بي، وشبكات الجيل الثاني والثالث والرابع.

وكما يُقال، عُرض على مارجاريتيلي راتب شهري قدره 15 ألف دولار، غير خاضع للضرائب، للعمل في الشركة إلا أنه رفض لأسباب أخلاقية. ومع ذلك، يبدو أن شركات برامج التجسس لا ترى أي تضاربٍ في المصالح في بيع أنظمتها لحكومات الخليج القمعية.

كما أصبحت المملكة العربية السعودية سيئة السمعة أيضاً لاستخدامها برامج التجسس لمراقبة المعارضين في البلاد وخارجها، إذ استثمر النظام منذ فترةٍ طويلة في المراقبة، وشراء أنظمة القرصنة من الشركة الايطالية المختصة ببرامج المراقبة هاكينج تيم (Hacking Team). فقد كشفت رسائل البريد الإلكتروني التي تسربت عن أن الشركات السعودية دفعت لشركة هاكينج تيم ما يقرب من 5 ملايين يورو على مدى خمس سنوات.

في حين ذكرت مجلة مذربورد، وهي مجلة إلكترونية تابعة لمجلة فايس وتركز على التكنولوجيا، بأن مستثمراً سعودياُ اشتري 20% من شركة هاكينج تيم بعد الفضيحة التي حصلت لحمايتها من الإفلاس. كما كشفت رسائل البريد الإلكتروني أن سعود القحطاني – الذي يشار إليه أحياناً باسم ستيف بانون المملكة – كان المحاور الرئيسي للمملكة العربية السعودية مع فريق شركة هاكينج تيم. وبحسب رويترز، القحطاني هو الرأس المدبر لعملية قتل جمال خاشقجي عبر سكايب.

يُقلق سباق شراء برامج التجسس في دول الخليج، وبشكلٍ كبير، الجماعات الحقوقية وبعض الحكومات الغربية. فعلى سبيل المثال، تعرّض أحد موظفي منظمة العفو الدولية للتجسس بواسطة برمجية بيغاسوس. وبعد التعبير عن غضبها، ضغطت الجماعة الحقوقية على الحكومات، وعلى وجه الخصوص إسرائيل، لشن حملةٍ على شركات التجسس هذه.

وقالت دانة إنغلتون، نائب مدير قسم التكنولوجيا في منظمة العفو الدولية، “لن تقف منظمة العفو الدولية مكتوفة الأيدي أثناء قيام شركات مثل مجموعة إن إس أو بالربح من بيع برمجيات بيغاسوس الخبيثة إلى الدول القمعية في جميع أنحاء العالم.”

وأضافت “بما أن وزارة الدفاع الإسرائيلية رفضت طلبنا بإلغاء رخصة تصدير [مجموعة إن إس أو]، فمن الواضح أننا الآن في حاجة إلى اتخاذ خطواتٍ قانونية إضافية لفضح الحقيقة والسعي للمساءلة.”

إقرأ المزيد

في هذا الملف الخاص، يقدّم موقع فنك مقالات متعددة ومتنوعة لسبر أغو...
بعد استقلالها، أنشأت بعض الدول الأعضاء في مجلس التعاون لدول الخلي...

© Copyright Notice

Please contact us in case of omissions concerning copyright-protected work. The acquired copyright protected images used on/as featured image of this page are: Fayez Nureldine ©AFP | Fayez Nureldine ©AFP

الجهل يقود إلى الخوف، الخوف يقود إلى الكراهية، والكراهية تقود إلى العنف هذه هي المعادلة.
ابن رشد (١١٢٦ – ١١٩٨)

إن مؤسستنا منظمةٌ هولندية غير حكومية لا تسعى لتحقيق الأرباح. هذه المؤسسة يجري تمويلها بصورةٍ حصرية عبر أفرادٍ يشاركوننا الإيمان بضرورة نشر معلومات موثوقة وغير متحيزة عن منطقة الشرق الأوسط وشمال إفريقيا، محاكين بذلك المزاج الشعبي السائد في المنطقة ولنعبّر عن صوت أبناء المنطقة بما نقدمه من معلومات ناجعة وتتحلى بالمصداقية.

ولذلك، فإننا نقدّر عالياً ما تقدمه لنا من دعمٍ وسنحرص على أن يعكس هذا الدعم بطريقةٍ إيجابية على الصالح العام!

Fanack Home / Gulf Cooperation Council (GCC) / The Race to buy Spyware in the Gulf

The Race to buy Spyware in the Gulf

Cyber surveillance has become a major weapon for Gulf states to crack down on dissent. The push to acquire cyber spyware followed the Arab Spring in 2011, which saw activists and protesters coordinate demonstrations and campaigns over social media.

Since then, major defense and spyware companies have sold some of the most sophisticated cyber surveillance technologies to repressive regimes in the Gulf. In June 2017, the BBC published a major investigation, revealing that the Danish subsidiary of the UK BAE cybersurveillance company made massive sales to Saudi Arabia, the United Arab Emirates (UAE), Qatar and Oman. The sales were approved by the Danish government.

Despite human rights concerns, Denmark’s foreign minister Anders Samuelson justified the sales, arguing that Gulf states need surveillance software to attack the Islamic State group (IS).

“This area is not black and white, and you can never give a hundred percent guarantee that there is no abuse. On the other hand, we also have an interest in fighting IS,” Sameulsen told reporters shortly after the scandal was exposed.

The surveillance system sold to Saudi Arabia and the UAE is called Evident, which enables governments to intercept internet traffic with ease. Speaking on condition of anonymity, a former employee at ETI added that the system could track people’s location and decrypt supposedly secure mobile applications.

Samuelsen refused to disclose the factors that the foreign ministry considered before approving the sale. However, experts suspect that business interests and anti-terrorism efforts were chief concerns.

“Politicians are good at making it [look like] human rights and democracy are the top priority,” said Helle Lykke Nielsen, associate professor at the University of Southern Denmark and expert on Gulf states, to TheNewArab. “But the core of Danish foreign policy is security and financial considerations.”

Specials- MBS
Young Saudis walk in front of a portrait of Saudi Crown Prince Mohammed bin Salman in Riyadh on November 14, 2018. Photo AFP ©AFP ⁃ Fayez Nureldine

The use of cybersurveillance systems is believed to have resulted in the disappearance of many human right campaigners. One Saudi women’s rights activist, Manal al-Sharif, told the BBC that dissents used to warn that the ‘walls have ears,’ but today people in Gulf countries say, ‘smartphones have ears.’

“No country monitors its own people the way they do in Gulf countries,” she said. “They have the money, so they can buy advances surveillance software.”

In addition to Denmark, Gulf countries are also purchasing sophisticated surveillance systems from Israeli based companies despite not sharing formal diplomatic ties with the country.

City Lab, a research group from the University of Toronto, reported in September that Pegasus – a mobile phone surveillance system produced by the Israeli based NSO group – was sold to Bahrain, Saudi Arabia and the UAE over the last two years.

“Our findings paint a bleak picture of the human rights risks of NSO’s global proliferation. At least six countries with significant Pegasus operations have previously been linked to abusive use of spyware to target civil society,” said the report, which named the three GCC countries as purchasers of Pegasus.

However, The New York Times may have exposed the biggest scandal in August 2018 when it obtained emails proving that the UAE had used Pegasus to monitor the Qatari emir, a Saudi prince, and the editor of an Arab language newspaper in the U.K.

The incident came about when NSO group asked if the UAE wanted to renew its pricey contract to continue using the spyware. Before Emirati leaders committed, they emailed NSO group and requested if it could manage to spy on three selected persons.

“Please find two recordings attached,” a company representative wrote back four days later, according to the emails that the NYT obtained.

Abu Dhabi is also using an Israeli installed surveillance system called Falcon Eye. This system enables Emirati intelligence to monitor practically every single person in the country, a source ostensibly close to Falcon Eye told MEE in 2015.

The source added that Falcon Eye records and analyzes work, social and behavioural patterns. “It sounds like sci-fi but it is happening in Abu Dhabi today,” the source said.

The Emirates are also developing their own spyware to stifle civil society despite attempts to convince the public otherwise. In February 2018, the CEO of the Abu-Dhabi based cybersecurity company Dark-Matter, ensured the Associate Press that his company operates independently of the state.

The truth is less convenient. With the Emirati government comprising 80 percent of DarkMatter’s clientele, Gulf commentators and hackers say that the company has little choice but to spy and monitor its own citizens.

One Italian security expert told Middle East Eye that the company is entrenched in the UAE’s intelligence systems. Former hacker, Simone Margaritelli, added that he had an interview with the company two years ago and was informed that the UAE was creating a surveillance system that could intercept, modify and divert traffic on IP, 2G, 3G, and 4G networks.

Margaritelli was reportedly offered a tax-free $15,000 monthly salary to work for the company but refused on ethical grounds. However, spyware companies appear to see no conflict of interest in selling their systems to repressive gulf regimes.

Saudi Arabia has also become notorious for using spyware to monitor dissents in the country and abroad. The regime has long invested in surveillance, purchasing hacking systems from the Italian spy-ware vendor Hacking Team. Leaked emails revealed that Saudi companies paid Hacking Team nearly 5 million euros over a period of five years.

Motherboard, a VICE online magazine that focuses on technology, reported that a Saudi investor purchased 20 percent of Hacking Team after the breach to save it from going under. The emails also revealed that Saud Al-Qahtani – sometimes referred to as the kingdom’s Steve Bannon – was Saudi Arabia’s main interlocutor with Hacking Team. Al-Qahtani is the same man that masterminded the murder of Jamal Khashoggi via Skype, according to Reuters.

The race to purchase spyware in Gulf states severely concerns rights groups and some western governments. Amnesty International , for one, had one of their employees spied on by Pegasus software. After expressing outrage, the rights group has pressured governments, and particularly Israel, to crackdown on these spyware companies.

“Amnesty International will not stand idly by as companies such as NSO Group profit from selling their invasive Pegasus software to repressive states around the world,” said Dana Ingleton, deputy director of Amnesty International Tech.

“As the Israeli Ministry of Defense refused our request to revoke the export license of [NSO Group] it is clear that we now need to take additional legal steps to expose the truth and seek accountability against us.”

© Copyright Notice

click on link to view the associated photo/image
©AFP ⁃ Fayez Nureldine | ©AFP ⁃ Fayez Nureldine

image_pdfimage_print

We would like to ask you something …

Fanack is an independent media organisation, not funded by any state or any interest group, that distributes in the Middle East and the wider world unbiased analysis and background information, based on facts, about the Middle East and North Africa.

The website grew rapidly in breadth and depth and today forms a rich and valuable source of information on 21 countries, from Morocco to Oman and from Iran to Yemen, both in Arabic and English. We currently reach six million readers annually and growing fast.

In order to guarantee the impartiality of information on the Chronicle, articles are published without by-lines. This also allows correspondents to write more freely about sensitive or controversial issues in their country. All articles are fact-checked before publication to ensure that content is accurate, current and unbiased.

To run such a website is very expensive. With a small donation, you can make a huge impact. And it only takes a minute. Thank you.