فَنَكْ وقائع وأحداث عن الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا / النفوذ الروسي في جنوب سوريا

النفوذ الروسي في جنوب سوريا

Translation- Russian military syria
أطفال يتحدثون مع أحد أفراد القوات العسكرية الروسية في مدينة درعا، جنوب سوريا، في 14 أغسطس 2018. المصدر: Andrei BORODULIN / AFP ©AFP ⁃ ANDREI BORODULIN

بقلم: أم إلياس – حقوق النشر فَنَك.com

غالباً ما يتحدث الغرباء عن تأثير القوى الأجنبية المختلفة، مثل روسيا وإيران، في سوريا، إذ من النادر أن نسمع وجهة نظر أحد السكان المحليين حول هذه المسألة. باعتباري أسكن في محافظة درعا في جنوب سوريا، أود أن أتناول موضوع النفوذ الروسي لعلاقته بمنطقتي، على الرغم من أني لم أقابل شخصياً أي روس، إلا أني رأيتهم أثناء عبوري في منطقة المزيريب على طول الحدود السورية الأردنية.

لعب الروس دوراً رئيسياً في الحملة الأخيرة التي أعادت جنوب سوريا إلى سيطرة الحكومة السورية. عسكرياً، قدم الروس دعماً جوياً حاسماً للنظام السوري، لكنهم أيضاً لعبوا دوراً في التفاوض على ما يسمى “اتفاقيات المصالحة” بين مختلف المناطق والحكومة لضمان عودة تلك المناطق إلى سيطرة الحكومة دون قتالٍ كبير. كانت منطقتي، حوض اليرموك، تحت سيطرة جماعة تابعة للدولة الإسلامية تعرف باسم جيش خالد بن الوليد، لذلك لم يكن هناك اتفاقٌ من هذا القبيل. بدلاً من ذلك، قصف الروس المنطقة بعنف، مما سهل الاستسلام السريع لقوات الحكومة السورية. على الرغم من أن القصف كان يدمرنا ويروعنا في ذلك الوقت، لا أعتقد أنه كان هناك أي حلٌ آخر سوى الحل العسكري لتطهير وجود الدولة الإسلامية من المنطقة. وفي أعقاب الحملة العسكرية مباشرةً، زار الروس المنطقة وقدموا بعض المساعدات الغذائية والطبية للسكان المحليين.

ومع ذلك، فقد عمل الروس أيضاً على تعزيز نفوذهم في المنطقة وفي جميع أنحاء جنوب سوريا على المدى الطويل. تتمثل أهم آلية لمحاولة ممارسة النفوذ بمشروع الفيلق الخامس، الذي تنافس مع الفرقة الرابعة المدرعة التابعة للجيش السوري، والمخابرات العسكرية والمخابرات الجوية لتجنيد المتمردين السابقين وغيرهم من السكان المحليين. تم الإعلان عن الفيلق الخامس في نهاية عام 2016 ويعتبر اليوم عدداً من التشكيلات العسكرية كجهاتٍ تابعة له. وأيضاً، يعتبر رسمياً قوةً “هجومية” ودورها، كما صوره الروس، هو محاربة الدولة الإسلامية.

المعقل الرئيسي للفيلق الخامس في ريف درعا الغربي هي بلدة طفس، حيث يقود القوة المحلية التابعة للفيلق الخامس أبو مرشد طفس (القائد السابق لجماعة جيش المعتز بالله المتمردة). في الواقع، على الرغم من عودة الخدمات الحكومية إلى طفس، يبدو أن هناك مقاومة محلية قوية لفكرة دخول قوات الحكومة السورية إلى البلدة؛ وبالتالي بقيت هذه القوات بعيدة. بيد أن الروس يحتفظون بوجودٍ للشرطة العسكرية في كلٍ من طفس وبلدة المزيريب القريبة وينظر إليهم كضامنون مهمون لمواصلة مشروع الفيلق الخامس.

إن قدرة روسيا على الحفاظ على الأمن والاستقرار على المدى الطويل، وكذلك فرض ما يسمى بـ”اتفاقيات المصالحة،” موضع شكٍ أكبر. فعلى سبيل المثال، كان هناك العديد من التقارير عن عمليات اعتقالٍ قامت بها القوات الحكومية بما يتعارض مع “اتفاقيات المصالحة.” كما وقعت العديد من حوادث الاغتيال وأنواع أخرى من الهجمات في الجنوب الأوسع، ويبدو أن الأوضاع أسوأ بشكلٍ خاص في ريف درعا الغربي. الأسباب وراء استهداف أشخاص محددين ليست واضحة دائماً، لكن يبدو أن الروس غير قادرين على التحكم في الانتهاكات المتزايدة للأمن أو منعها؛ وقد أدى هذا إلى انتشار مشاعر الخوف في المناطق المتضررة.

كما قدم الروس وعوداً بخصوص إطلاق سراح المعتقلين. في الواقع، جاء وفدٌ روسي إلى قريتي، الكوية، منذ عدة أشهر، حيث التقوا بالسكان المحليين وقدموا وعوداً بالإفراج عن المحتجزين، الذين احتُجز الكثير منهم بتهمة الانتماء إلى الدولة الإسلامية. ومع ذلك، ليس من الواضح أن تلك الوعود يتم الوفاء بها فعلاً، مما يثير تساؤلاتٍ حول مدى تأثير روسيا فعلياً على عملية صنع القرار في الحكومة السورية.

باختصار، من الواضح أن روسيا تمارس نفوذاً شاملاً على منطقتنا أكثر من إيران. إن دور الأخيرة كوسيطٍ في اتفاقيات المصالحة كان من الممكن أن يرفضه معظم الناس في الجنوب، الذين يشككون في ما يرون أنه محاولاتٍ إيرانية لنشر دينهم الشيعي وأيديولوجيتهم السياسية. ولكن يبقى أن نرى مدى تأثير روسيا، وما إذا كان بإمكانها استخدام هذا النفوذ للحفاظ على الاستقرار على المدى الطويل في منطقتنا.

© Copyright Notice

click on link to view the associated photo/image
©AFP ⁃ ANDREI BORODULIN

دعمكم عونٌ لنا

فَنَك هي مؤسسة إعلامية إلكترونية مستقلة، لا تمولها أي دولة أو مجموعات مصالح. تلتزم فَنَك بنشر تحليلاتٍ مبنية على الوقائع ومحايدة، إلى جانب التقارير المواضيعية حول الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا.
شهد الموقع نمواً سريعاً في نطاق وعمق المعلومات التي يُقدمها، واليوم، بات يُشكل مصدراً غنياً وقيماً للمعلومات عن 21 بلداً، من المغرب إلى عُمان ومن إيران إلى اليمن، باللغتين العربية والإنجليزية. حالياً، وصل عدد القراء إلى 6 ملايين سنوياً، والعدد آخذٌ بالإزدياد.
لضمان حيادية المعلومات على موقع فَنَك (وقائع وأحداث) ، تُنشر المقالات دون ذكر أسماء الكتّاب، مما يُتيح أيضاً لمراسلينا مساحة أكبر من الحرية عند التطرق إلى القضايا الحساسة أو المثيرة للجدل فى بلادهم. وإلى جانب ذلك، نتحرى حقائق جميع المعلومات الواردة في مقالاتنا قبل النشر لضمان دقة المعلومات، وحداثتها وحيادها.

استمرارية تشغيل مثل هذا الموقع الإلكتروني مُكلفة للغاية. بتبرعٍ صغيرٍ منك، يمكنك المساهمة في الحفاظ على حرية واستقلالية تغطيتنا.

  • العنف المنزلي في الشرق الأوسط

    كما لا ينبغي الاكتفاء بسن التشريعات فحسب، إذ يجب الحرص أيضاً على تنفيذ التشريعات التي تجرّم جميع أشكال العنف الممارس بحقّ المرأة، بما في ذلك ما يتم ارتكابه من عمليات اغتصاب تحت اسم الحياة الزوجية. وينبغي أيضاً إلحاق هذه القوانين بخططٍ مخصصة للقيام بإجراءاتٍ وطنية محددة على هذا المستوى.
  • لا آثار سلبية للاجئين السوريين على سوق العمل الأردنية

    تخلص نتائج البحث بصفةٍ عامة إلى أن توفير فرص العمل بصفةٍ قانونية للاجئين لا يعود بنتائج سلبية على سوق العمل المحلي. ومن المحتمل أن يلعب تدفق المساعدات الخارجية إلى الأردن للمساعدة في تلبية بعض احتياجات اللاجئين، ناهيك عن شروط الاتفاقية التي تضمنت دعم مالي وامتيازات تجارية ودعم توظيف الأردنيين، دوراً مهماً في خلق الطلب على العمالة بين الأردنيين. وهنا لا بد من الإشارة إلى أهمية ضمان وجود الموارد الكافية والخدمات العامة الكفيلة بدعم اللاجئين والاقتصاد المضيف على حدٍّ سواء.
  • تنظيم "الدولة الإسلامية" في طريقه للعودة والغرب لم يتعظ من الدروس

    بات من الواضح أكثر من أي وقت مضى أن الحركة في حالة تحوّلٍ بمعدلٍ أسرع بكثير مما كان متوقعاً، حتى وإن سعى الرئيس الأمريكي في الوقت ذاته إلى سحب القوات من أفغانستان والعراق وسوريا. قد يربح الرئيس على المدى القصير بعض المزايا السياسية، وقد يساعد ذلك حتى في إعادة انتخابه، لكننا في الواقع نعيش في حالة هدوءٍ نسبي ضمن صراعٍ طويل للغاية، حتى لو بقي القادة الغربيون على قناعة بأن القوة العسكرية هي الإجابة الصحيحة على هذه الإشكالية رغم الفشل المستمر في مواجهتها منذ 19 سنة.

Fanack Home / Russian Influence in Southern Syria

Russian Influence in Southern Syria

Translation- Russian military syria
Children chat with a member of the Russian military forces in the southern Syrian city of Daraa on August 14, 2018. Photo: Andrei BORODULIN / AFP ©AFP ⁃ ANDREI BORODULIN

By: Umm Elias – Copy Rights Fanack.com

Outsiders often talk about the influence of various foreign powers, such as Russia and Iran, in Syria; it is rare to hear a local’s perspective on the matter. As a resident of Deraa province in southern Syria, I would like to address the topic of Russia influence as it relates to my area. Though I have not personally met with Russian personnel, I have seen them as I passed through the Muzayrib area along the Syrian-Jordanian border.

The Russians played a major role in the final campaign that brought southern Syria back under Syrian government control. Militarily, the Russians provided critical air support to the Syrian regime. But they also had a role in negotiating the so-called “reconciliation agreements” between various localities and the government to ensure those areas returned to government control without a major fight. My area, the Yarmouk Basin, was controlled by an Islamic State-affiliated group known as Jaysh Khalid bin al-Waleed, so there was no such agreement. Instead, the Russians intensely bombarded the area, facilitating its rapid capitulation to Syrian government forces. Although the bombardment was damaging and terrorized us at the time, I do not think there was any other solution except a military one to clear out the Islamic State presence from the area. In the immediate aftermath of the military campaign, the Russians even visited the area and provided some food and medical assistance to the locals.

However, the Russians have also worked to cement their influence in the area and throughout southern Syria for the long-term. The most important mechanism by which they try to exert influence is the Fifth Corps project, which has competed with the Syrian army’s 4th Armored division, the military intelligence and the air intelligence for recruits among former rebels and other locals. The Fifth Corps was announced at the end of 2016 and now counts a number of formations as affiliates. It is officially designated as an “assault” force and its role, as portrayed by the Russians, is to fight the Islamic State.

In the Yarmouk Basin area, most of the auxiliary forces are currently affiliated with the 4th Armored division, with only a minority enlisted in the Fifth Corps. In truth, not everyone has confidence in the Fifth Corps project and many doubt its longevity. Instead, they see the 4th Armored Division as a better guarantor of their interests and security. This is despite the fact that the Fifth Corps offers a relatively high and stable salary, whereas many 4th Armored Division auxiliary personnel have received irregular lump-sum payments instead of consistent salaries.

The main stronghold for the Fifth Corps in the west Deraa countryside is the town of Tafas, where the local Fifth Corps affiliate force is led by Abu Murshad Tafas (previously of the rebel group Jaysh al-Mu’atazz Billah). Indeed, although state services have returned to Tafas, there seems to be strong local resistance to the notion of Syrian government forces entering the town; thus far those forces have stayed away. The Russians, however, maintain a military police presence both in Tafas and the nearby town of Muzayrib and are seen as important guarantors for the continuation of the Fifth Corps project.

Russian’s long-term ability to maintain security and stability as well as enforce the so-called “reconciliation agreements” is more questionable. For example, there have been many reports of arrests carried out by government forces in contravention of the “reconciliation agreements.” There have also been many incidents of assassinations and other kinds of attacks in the wider south, and the situation seems particularly bad in the west Deraa countryside. The reasons why specific people are targeted are not always clear, but the Russians seem unable to control or prevent the increasing breaches in security; this has led to an atmosphere of fear in the affected areas.

The Russians have also made promises regarding the release of detainees. Indeed, a Russian delegation came to my village, Koaiya, many months ago, where they met with locals and made promises for the release of detainees, many of whom are being held on accusations of affiliation with the Islamic State. That said, it is not apparent that those promises are actually being fulfilled, which raises questions over how much influence Russia actually exerts over the Syrian government’s decision-making process.

In sum, it is evident that Russia exerts more overall influence on our area than Iran. The latter’s role as a broker of reconciliation agreements would have been rejected by most of the people in the south, who are suspicious of what they view as Iranian attempts to spread their Shi’ite religion and political ideology. How far Russia’s influence goes, however, and whether it can use that influence to maintain long-term stability in our area remains to be seen.

© Copyright Notice

click on link to view the associated photo/image
©AFP ⁃ ANDREI BORODULIN | ©AFP ⁃ ANDREI BORODULIN

We would like to ask you something …

Fanack is an independent media organisation, not funded by any state or any interest group, that distributes in the Middle East and the wider world unbiased analysis and background information, based on facts, about the Middle East and North Africa.

The website grew rapidly in breadth and depth and today forms a rich and valuable source of information on 21 countries, from Morocco to Oman and from Iran to Yemen, both in Arabic and English. We currently reach six million readers annually and growing fast.

In order to guarantee the impartiality of information on the Chronicle, articles are published without by-lines. This also allows correspondents to write more freely about sensitive or controversial issues in their country. All articles are fact-checked before publication to ensure that content is accurate, current and unbiased.

To run such a website is very expensive. With a small donation, you can make a huge impact. And it only takes a minute. Thank you.

  • In Lebanon: new waves of hatred with little solidarity

    The campaign against Mashrou’ Leila, has expectedly received much attention due to the band’s popularity in Lebanon, the region, and the world. It has also served the purpose of covering what little solidarity there was among the Lebanese population with the rightful protests by Palestinians in the country or diverting attention from the mistreatment and forceful return of Syrian refugees.
  • The missing three-letter word in the Iran crisis

    As things stand today, any Iranian move in the Strait of Hormuz that can be portrayed as a threat to the “free flow of commerce” (that is, the oil trade) represents the most likely trigger for direct U.S. military action. Yes, Tehran’s pursuit of nuclear weapons and its support for radical Shiite movements throughout the Middle East will be cited as evidence of its leadership’s malevolence, but its true threat will be to American dominance of the oil lanes, a danger Washington will treat as the offense of all offenses to be overcome at any cost.
  • Migration in the Mediterranean: why it’s time to put European leaders on trial

    The ICC may be the only institution capable of breaking the current impasse by threatening to bring Europe’s leaders to criminal account. This is the work of last resort for which international criminal law is designed. The ICC should embrace the progressive ideals that drove its construction, and engage.