فَنَكْ وقائع وأحداث عن الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا / المملكة العربية السعودية / الاقتصاد في السعودية / المدينة السعودية الضخمة؛ ضخمة بمشاكلها

المدينة السعودية الضخمة؛ ضخمة بمشاكلها

Saudi Arabia- NEOM project
مشروع مدينة نيوم في المملكة العربية السعودية. Photo thegreatmiddleeast

تغوص المملكة العربية السعودية، وهي بلدٌ يتعرض للسخرية لأعرافه البالية شديدة التحفظ، نحو المستقبل بلا هوادة. ففي 24 أكتوبر 2017، كشف ولي العهد السعودي، محمد بن سلمان، عن خططه لبناء مدينةٍ ضخمة تكلف أكثر من 500 مليار دولار في شمال غرب البلاد.

وإذا ما نجح في تحقيق ذلك، ستكون هذه المدينة الضخمة أكبر بـ33 مرة من مدينة نيويورك وتضم منطقة لقطاع مؤسسات الأعمال تبلغ مساحتها 26,500 كلم2، والتي سيُطلق عليها اسم نيوم- المشتقة من كلمة (نيو)، أي الحديث والمستقبل باللغة العربية. أما موقع المدينة، الذي يقع على البحر الأحمر وخليج العقبة، سيمكنها من تعزيز العلاقات الاقتصادية مع بلدانٍ في كلٍ من الشرق الأوسط وافريقيا على حد سواء.

ويعتبر تحقيق هذه المهمة أمرٌ بعيد المنال في بلدٍ يتنافس فيه أفراد العائلة المالكة ورجال الدين المحافظين على السلطة والنفوذ على الشؤون الداخلية.

بيد أن محمد بن سلمان مندفعٌ بشدة، فقد عرض الفيديو الترويجي للمدينة صورةً عن حياة السعوديين والتي وجدها الكثيرون غريبةً عليهم: اختلاطٌ بين الرجال والنساء في الشوارع، وروبوتاتٌ أكثر من البشر، والطاقة المتجددة المصدر الرئيسي للطاقة. وعليه، يأمل المستثمرون نجاح محمد بن سلمان، على الرغم من أن ستيفن هرتوغ، أستاذ مشارك في كلية لندن للاقتصاد، يشكك في الأمر.

فقد قال لمراسلة مجلة سيتي لاب الإلكترونية، ميمي كيرك “سيرغب المستثمرون في رؤية المزيد من التفاصيل قبل المضي قدماً.” وأضاف “ولكن نظراً لمعاناة المملكة العربية السعودية من قيودٍ مالية أكثر مما كان عليه الحال في السابق، قد لا تتمكن من تحقيق استثماراتٍ واضحة قبل حصولها على أموالٍ من القطاع الخاص.”

في حين قال رضا آغا، كبير الخبراء الاقتصاديين لدى في تي بي كابيتال، لرويترز “المشروع بالتأكيد فكرة واعدة وتنطوي على الكثير من الإمكانات، إلا أن العديد من التفاصيل لا تزال بحاجة للتوضيح.”

الوقت يمر بسرعة وعلى السعودية تنويع اقتصادها، الذي يعتمد على صادرات النفط منذ اكتشافه عام 1938. فبعد ثمانين عاماً، بات يشهد إنتاج النفط السعودي تراجعاً، مما يزيد إصرار ولي العهد لتحقيق حلمه.

ومن المقرر افتتاح نيوم في عام 2030، والتي ستعتمد بشكلٍ كبير على قطاعات الأغذية والترفيه والطاقة والمياه والتصنيع والتكنولوجيا الحيوية. كما وعد محمد بن سلمان بأن المدينة ستحتوي على أفضل تكنولوجيا الذكاء الاصطناعي، مثل الطائرات بدون طيار ومختبرات النانوبيولوجيا والألواح الشمسية.

يأتي بناء المدينة الضخمة بالتوازي مع برنامج التحول الوطني (المعروف أيضاً باسم رؤية السعودية 2030)، الذي أعلن عنه العام الماضي. وحتى الآن، يبدو أن برنامج التحول الوطني يُمضي قدماً بالرغم من مواجهته لبعض العقبات الرئيسية. فأسعار النفط لم تنخفض فحسب، بل تعرقل المؤسسة الدينية في البلاد التقدم أيضاً. وبالتالي، تم تمديد الجدول الزمني لبعض الأهداف، بينما ألغي البعض الآخر بالكامل.

ومع ذلك، لا يزال برنامج التحول الوطني يهدف إلى خلق 1,2 مليون فرصة عمل في القطاع الخاص، فضلاً عن خصخصة أصول الدولة بحلول عام 2020. ومع ذلك، فإن الغاية الأكبر للبرنامج هي إعادة هيكلة البيروقراطية السعودية حتى يتمكن محمد بن سلمان من إجراء جميع التغييرات التي يرغب بها في المملكة، بل إن الأهم من ذلك هو تحرير رأس المال لبناء المدينة الضخمة.

ومع ذلك، يتساءل النقاد كيف ستكبح المدينة الضخمة البطالة بين الشباب، فغالباً ما تفشل المشاريع التي ترعاها الدولة، مثل نيوم، في تعزيز النظام البيئي التكنولوجي العضوي الذي يولد الابتكار. فالشباب السعودي، بالرغم من أنه يشكل نحو 70% من السكان، يحتاج إلى الوقت لتعلم هذه المهارات إذا ما أرادوا إيجاد عملٍ في نيوم. وإن لم يفعلوا ذلك، ستكون الفرص أمامهم محدودة ذلك أنه سيتم إشراك الروبوتات لأداء الأعمال التي عادةً ما تعرف بمنخفضة الأجر.

رفض محمد بن سلمان هذه المخاوف، مؤكداً أن هدف نيوم أكبر بكثير من توفير وظائف للسعوديين. عوضاً عن ذلك، ستكون المدينة بمثابة مركزٍ تجاري وتكنولوجي جديد للعالم. على الأقل، ينبغي على المدينة أن تساعد في الحفاظ على بقاء المال السعودي داخل المملكة. وكثيراً ما تشجع القوانين شديدة التحفظ في البلاد السعوديين على قضاء إجازاتهم في أماكن أخرى في المنطقة مثل الإمارات العربية المتحدة والبحرين ولبنان.

ويأمل محمد بن سلمان، أنه بحلول عام 2030، سيتمكن السعوديون الأغنياء من زيارة منتجعات ساحل البحر الأحمر، المزمع إنشاؤها جنوب مدينة نيوم. سيتم بناء فنادق فاخرة على طول هذا الساحل، الممتد عبر 50 جزيرة وعلى طول 33,998 كلم2. كما ستستفيد منتجعات ساحل البحر الأحمر من قوانين أكثر تحرراً، مما يجعلها وجهةً جذابة للأجانب. كما ستتم إجازة الكحول وإلغاء أو تقليص القوانين التي تضبط معايير ارتداء النساء للملابس.

ومع ذلك، لا يقتنع الجميع بقدرة المملكة استكمال هذا المشروع، مُشيرين إلى إخفاقاتها السابقة في تحقيق طموحاتها غير الواقعية. وعلى وجه التحديد، عندما حاولت المملكة في نوفمبر 1967 سحب جبالٍ جليدية من القارة القطبية الجنوبية لتزويد البلاد بما يكفي من المياه. كان المشروع سيكلف 100 مليون دولار على الأقل، والتي سيتم انفاقها على مدى ستة أشهر. وعلى الرغم من حماس محمد بن فيصل، نجل الملك فيصل، إلا أنه تم إلغاء المشروع، واعتمدت عوضاً عن ذلك تكنولوجيا تحلية المياه.

وفي الآونة الأخيرة، عانت المملكة لبناء مدينة الملك عبد الله الاقتصادية، التي تقع جنوب موقع مدينة نيوم اليوم. ومن المفترض أن المدينة اليوم تؤوي مليوني شخص، إلا أن عدد ساكنيها لا يبلغ سوى 10 آلاف نسمة. كما لا يزال مركز الملك عبد الله المالي شمال العاصمة الرياض قيد الإنشاء بعد أكثر من عقدٍ من الزمان. وكان من المفترض أن ينافس المركز المالي مدينة دبي باعتباره مركزاً تجارياً دولياً رئيسياً، إلا أنه أبعد ما يكون عن تحقيق هذا الطموح.

ويقول توبي كريغ جونز، الخبير في النفط والماء في المملكة العربية السعودية ومؤلف كتاب مملكة الصحراء، أن مدينة محمد بن سلمان الضخمة هي الأحدث في اتجاهٍ طويل الأمد للاستثمار في مخططاتٍ ضخمة مثل مشروع القارة القطبية الجنوبية. ويقترح أن آل سعود سيكونون أفضل حالاً بالحفاظ على ما يكفي من النفط والمياه لتعزيز التنمية المستدامة.

ومع ذلك، تفتقر منطقة شمال الحجاز، حيث يخطط محمد بن سلمان لبناء نيوم، لكلا هذين الموردين الطبيعيين. فبدلاً من القفز بالمملكة العربية السعودية نحو القرن الواحد والعشرين، يمكن أن تشكل المدينة عبئاً عليها. فالحكومة تكافح بالفعل لتلبية احتياجات الناس الذين يعيشون في الرياض وجدة ومكة والدمام. وفي حال استكمال مدينة نيوم ومنتجعات ساحل البحر الأحمر، يمكن أن تعاني هذه المدن من المزيد من الإهمال، مما يؤدي إلى تفاقم مظالم سكان البلاد، ولا سيما شبابها.

إن التحرر الاجتماعي في المملكة لن يفعل الكثير، كما ينبغي أن تكف السلطات السعودية عن فرض تدابير التقشف بهذه السرعة، وهو الأمر الذي يبدو أن محمد بن سلمان يعرفه. فمع انخفاض أسعار النفط، يخفف بن سلمان اليوم من اقتطاعات الدولة. ومع ذلك، ذكرت تقاريرٌ أنه يخطط لرفع الأسعار المحلية مجدداً بنسبة 80% بحلول شهر يناير 2018، كجزءٍ من برنامجٍ لإلغاء الدعم عن المحروقات ومعادلة ميزانية المملكة.

ومن الواضح أن محمد بن سلمان يعتمد جزئياً على التقشف لتمويل مشروعه الضخم. وبطبيعة الحال، كان بإمكانه سلوك طريق مختلف بتعزيز مهارات الترميز، والحوكمة الرشيدة، والنمو المطرد في قطاع الذكاء الاصطناعي. وعليه، فإن هذه الاستراتيجية، وإن كانت متواضعة، كانت ستزود جيل الشباب بالمهارات اللازمة للمستقبل. ولكن في حال ارتفاع مستويات البطالة، قد ينتهي الأمر باستياء الجيل القادم من ولي العهد المتهور. وبالفعل، محمد بن سلمان يقف الآن عند نقطة اللاعودة. واليوم، توجد المدينة الضخمة على جدول الأعمال، ذلك أن نجاحها حقيقة مُلّحة لتحوّل المملكة العربية السعودية.

دعمكم عونٌ لنا

فَنَك هي مؤسسة إعلامية إلكترونية مستقلة، لا تمولها أي دولة أو مجموعات مصالح. تلتزم فَنَك بنشر تحليلاتٍ مبنية على الوقائع ومحايدة، إلى جانب التقارير المواضيعية حول الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا.
شهد الموقع نمواً سريعاً في نطاق وعمق المعلومات التي يُقدمها، واليوم، بات يُشكل مصدراً غنياً وقيماً للمعلومات عن 21 بلداً، من المغرب إلى عُمان ومن إيران إلى اليمن، باللغتين العربية والإنجليزية. حالياً، وصل عدد القراء إلى 6 ملايين سنوياً، والعدد آخذٌ بالإزدياد.
لضمان حيادية المعلومات على موقع فَنَك (وقائع وأحداث) ، تُنشر المقالات دون ذكر أسماء الكتّاب، مما يُتيح أيضاً لمراسلينا مساحة أكبر من الحرية عند التطرق إلى القضايا الحساسة أو المثيرة للجدل فى بلادهم. وإلى جانب ذلك، نتحرى حقائق جميع المعلومات الواردة في مقالاتنا قبل النشر لضمان دقة المعلومات، وحداثتها وحيادها.

استمرارية تشغيل مثل هذا الموقع الإلكتروني مُكلفة للغاية. بتبرعٍ صغيرٍ منك، يمكنك المساهمة في الحفاظ على حرية واستقلالية تغطيتنا.

Fanack Home / Saudi Arabia / Economy / Saudi Arabia’s Mega City has Mega Problems

Saudi Arabia’s Mega City has Mega Problems

Saudi Arabia- NEOM project
Saudi Arabia’s NEOM project. Photo thegreatmiddleeast

Saudi Arabia, a country mocked for its outdated and ultraconservative norms, is diving headfirst into the future. On 24 October 2017, the kingdom’s crown prince, Mohammed bin Salman (MBS), unveiled his plans to build a mega city costing more than $500 billion in the country’s north-west.

If he succeeds, the mega city will be 33 times larger than New York City and feature a 26,500km2 business zone called NEOM – an amalgam of neo and mustaqbal, the Arabic word for future. The city’s location, situated on the Red Sea and the Gulf of Aqaba, would enable it to strengthen economic ties with countries in both the Middle East and Africa.

The task is a tall order in a country where members of the royal family and ultraconservative clerics vie for power and influence over domestic affairs.

Yet MBS is driven. The city’s promotional video portrays an image of Saudi life that is alien to many: men and women mingling on the streets, more robots than humans and renewable energy powering everything. Investors hope MBS succeeds, although Steffen Hertog, an associate professor at the London School of Economics, is sceptical.

“Investors will want to see more detail before moving forward,” he told Mimi Kirk, a reporter for CityLab. “But because Saudi Arabia is more financially constrained than it used to be, it may not be able to make large up-front investments until private money comes.”

“The project is certainly a novel idea and one with a lot of potential, but a lot of details still require clarification,” Raza Agha, a chief economist at VTB Capital, told Reuters.

The clock is ticking for Saudi Arabia to diversify its economy, which has depended on oil exports since it discovered in 1938. Eighty years later, Saudi oil production is in decline, increasing the urgency for the crown prince to realize his dream.

NEOM is slated to open by 2030. It will rely heavily on the food, entertainment, energy, water, manufacturing and biotechnology sectors. MBS also promises that the city will host top-of-the-line artificial intelligence (AI) such as drones, nanobiology labs and solar panels.

Construction of the mega city runs parallel to MBS’ National Transformation Programme (NTP, also known as Vision 2030), which he announced last year 2016. So far, the NTP seems to be moving forward despite encountering major obstacles. Not only are oil prices slumping but the country’s clerical establishment is also impeding progress. The timeline of some targets has thus been extended, while others have been scratched entirely.

Nevertheless, the NTP still aims to create 1.2 million private sector jobs, while privatizing state assets by 2020. The programme’s larger purpose, however, is to restructure Saudi bureaucracy so that MBS can make all the changes he desires in the kingdom. Most important is the freeing up capital to build the mega city.

However, critics wonder how the mega city will curb youth unemployment. State-sponsored projects such as NEOM often fail to foster an organic tech ecosystem that breeds innovation. Saudi youth, despite making up 70 per cent of the population, need time to learn these skills if they are to find work in NEOM. If they do not, there will be few opportunities since robots will be engaged to perform what is typically low-wage labour.

MBS has dismissed these concerns, insisting that NEOM has a greater purpose than producing jobs for Saudis. It will instead serve as the new business and technological hub for the world. The city should at least help keep Saudi money in the kingdom. The country’s ultraconservative laws often encourage Saudis to vacation elsewhere in the region such as the United Arab Emirates, Bahrain and Lebanon.

MBS hopes that by 2030, wealthy Saudis can visit the Red Sea Coast Resorts (RSCR), blueprinted for construction just south of NEOM. Luxury hotels will be erected on this strip, stretching across 50 islands and 33,998km2.

RSCR will benefit from more liberal laws, making the destination attractive to foreigners. Alcohol will be legalized and laws regulating women’s clothing will be removed or extensively scaled back.

Still, not everybody is convinced that Saudi Arabia can finish the project, citing its past failures to fulfil its unrealistic ambitions. Most notably, in November 1976, the kingdom tried to tow icebergs from Antarctica to supply the country with sufficient water. The project would have cost at least $100 million, spent over six months. Despite the drive of Mohammed bin Faisal – son of then King Faisal – the project was cancelled. Desalinization technology was adopted instead.

More recently, the kingdom has struggled to build King Abdullah Economic City, which is located south of where NEOM will stand. The city should have housed 2 million people by now, yet it has only 10,000 residents. King Abdullah Financial District, in the north of the capital Riyadh, is also still under construction after more than a decade. The district was supposed to challenge Dubai as a major international business hub but has not come anywhere near to fulfilling this ambition.

Toby Craig Jones, an expert on oil and water in Saudi Arabia and the author of Desert Kingdom, argues that MBS’ mega city is the latest in a long-standing tendency to invest in grandiose schemes like the Antarctica project. The House of Saud, he suggests, would be better off preserving enough oil and water to foster sustainable development.

Northern Hijaz, where MBS plans to build NEOM, lacks both these natural resources. Rather than catapulting Saudi Arabia into the 21st century, the city could be a burden. The government is already struggling to cater to the needs of people living in Riyadh, Jeddah, Mecca and Damman. If NEOM and RSCR are completed, these cities could suffer further neglect, exacerbating the grievances of the country’s population, particularly its youth.

Social liberalization in the kingdom will only do so much. Saudi authorities also need to refrain from imposing austerity measures too fast. MBS seems to know that. With oil prices declining, he is easing state cuts for now. However, he is reportedly planning to raise domestic prices again by 80 per cent in January 2018, as part of a programme to eliminate energy subsidies and balance the kingdom’s budget.

It is clear that MBS is relying partly on austerity to finance his mega project. Of course, he could have charted a different path by fostering coding skills, good governance and steady growth in the AI sector. This strategy, though modest, would have equipped the youth with skills for the future. But if unemployment increases, the next generation may end up resenting the extravagant crown prince. MBS is already at the point of no return. The mega city is in the works, and its success is imperative to Saudi Arabia’s makeover.

image_pdfimage_print

We would like to ask you something …

Fanack is an independent media organisation, not funded by any state or any interest group, that distributes in the Middle East and the wider world unbiased analysis and background information, based on facts, about the Middle East and North Africa.

The website grew rapidly in breadth and depth and today forms a rich and valuable source of information on 21 countries, from Morocco to Oman and from Iran to Yemen, both in Arabic and English. We currently reach six million readers annually and growing fast.

In order to guarantee the impartiality of information on the Chronicle, articles are published without by-lines. This also allows correspondents to write more freely about sensitive or controversial issues in their country. All articles are fact-checked before publication to ensure that content is accurate, current and unbiased.

To run such a website is very expensive. With a small donation, you can make a huge impact. And it only takes a minute. Thank you.