فَنَكْ وقائع وأحداث عن الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا / المملكة العربية السعودية / وُجوه من السعودية / الأمير السعودي الملياردير حر بعد حملة “مكافحة الفساد.”

الأمير السعودي الملياردير حر بعد حملة “مكافحة الفساد.”

Saudi Arabia- Al-Waleed Bin Talal
الوليد بن طلال . Photo AFP ©AFP ⁃ ISHARA S. KODIKARA

أطلق سراح الملياردير السعودي الأمير الوليد بن طلال في 27 يناير 2018، بعد أكثر من شهرين من احتجازه من قبل السلطات السعودية. وفي مقابلةٍ له مع رويترز قبل الإفراج عنه بقليل، قال إنه يتوقع أن تتم تبرئته من جميع التهم وإطلاق سراحه خلال أيام.

ويُعرف الأمير بإمبراطوريته التجارية وعمله الخيري وكونه أغنى رجل في الشرق الأوسط على قائمة فوربس للمليارديرات. بيد أن حظوظه تغيرت عندما أعتقل في 4 نوفمبر 2017 برفقة أكثر من 200 من أفراد العائلة المالكة السعودية وكبار المسؤولين ورجال الأعمال.

فقد صدر أمر اعتقاله من قِبل ولي العهد محمد بن سلمان، بشكلٍ مباشر، وذلك بعد بضع ساعاتٍ من إصدار الملك سلمان مرسوماً ملكياً بإنشاء لجنةٍ لمكافحة الفساد يرأسها ابنه. تتمتع هذه اللجنة بسلطة التحقيق، واعتقال، وإصدار أوامر بمنع السفر، وتجميد أصول أولئك الذين تثبت عليهم تهم الفساد.
ووفقاً للمرسوم، تهدف اللجنة إلى “الحفاظ على المال العام ومعاقبة الفاسدين وأولئك الذين يستغلون مناصبهم،” على الرغم من أن العديد من المعلقين وصفوها بأنها انتزاعٌ للسلطة من قبل محمد بن سلمان.

وقال سعود المعجب، النائب العام للمملكة، إن “الحجم المحتمل لممارسات الفساد التي كشف عنها كبير جداً. واستناداً إلى تحقيقاتنا في السنوات الثلاث الماضية نقدر أن 100 مليار دولار أسيء استخدامها عبر عمليات فساد.”

ومن بين جميع المعتقلين، لربما شكل اعتقال بن طلال المفاجأة الأكبر. ولكونه قطباً تجارياً يملك مليارات الدولارات من الاستثمارات في جميع أنحاء العالم، تسبب احتجازه بزعزعةٍ في الأسواق المالية، بما في ذلك في المملكة العربية السعودية نفسها، حيث يتم إدراج مؤسسته، شركة المملكة القابضة، للتداول العام في سوق الأسهم السعودية، تداول. ووفقاً لبلومبرغ، انخفض سهم الشركة بنسبة تصل إلى 9,9% عند بداية التعاملات في الرياض يوم اعتقاله وأغلق بانخفاضٍ نسبته 7,6%، وهو أدنى مستوى له منذ يونيو 2012.

مفاوضات

بعد مضي بضعة أسابيع على الاعتقالات، بدأت السلطات السعودية التفاوض مع المعتقلين البارزين، حيث عرضت عليهم تسويات مقابل حريتهم، وفقاً لصحيفة فايننشال تايمز. وذكرت صحيفة القدس العربي، التي تتخذ من لندن مقراً لها، إن بن طلال نفى الاتهامات الموجهة له بالفساد أو أي مخالفاتٍ أخرى، وعرض تقديم “تبرعٍ” للحكومة السعودية، الأمر الذي رفضته بدورها.

وذكرت صحيفة ديلي ميل البريطانية إنه تم نقل الأمير من فندق ريتز كارلتون في العاصمة الرياض، حيث كان محتجزاً، إلى سجن الحائر شديد الحراسة، بعد رفضه دفع المبلغ الذى طلبته الحكومة، والذي ذكرت الصحيفة أنه يبلغ 1,03 مليار دولار، كما رفض التنازل عن السيطرة على بعض شركاته الاستثمارية.

وغالباً ما يستخدم سجن الحائر جنوب الرياض لاحتجاز النشطاء السياسيين المطالبين بالإصلاح والإرهابيين أو من يُشتبه بأنهم إرهابيون. فقد احتجز رائف بدوي، وهو ناشط سعودي بارز، هناك إلى أن التفتت منظمات حقوق الإنسان الدولية لقضيته، واحتجت على الحكم المجحف الذي صدر بحقه.

رجلٌ عصامي

قبل اعتقاله، كان بن طلال، وهو ابن شقيق الملك الحالي وحفيد الملك الراحل عبد العزيز بن سعود– الملك المؤسس للمملكة العربية السعودية الحديثة- الوجه الأكثر شهرةً من الأسرة المالكة السعودية بالنسبة للعديد من المدراء التنفيذيين والمستثمرين الأجانب. فقد انخفض رأس ماله، الذي قُدر في عام 2017 بـ20 مليار دولار، أكثر من ملياري دولار منذ احتجازه. ولا تزال فوربس تُدرجه ضمن قائمة أغنى 45 رجلاً في العالم، برأس مالٍ يبلغ 17,3 مليار دولار.

وخلافاً لغيره من الأمراء السعوديين، فإن بن طلال رجلٌ عصامي، فقد استخدم ثروته الموروثة وامتيازه الملكي لبناء إمبراطورية أعماله والاستثمار في جميع أنحاء العالم. فإلى جانب كونه مؤسس شركة المملكة القابضة، التي يملك فيها حصة الأغلبية، هو أيضاً أكبر مساهم فردي في سيتي جروب، وثاني أكبر مساهم يحق له التصويت في شركة توينتي فيرست سنتشري فوكس، فضلاً عن كونه يمتلك حصصاً كبيرة في سلسلة فنادق فور سيزونز، ومالك فندق سافوي في لندن، وجزء من فندق بلازا في نيويورك.

وبالإضافة إلى ذلك، يملك مجموعة روتانا، أكبر شركة ترفيهية في العالم العربي، ويمتلك حصة قدرها 10% في يورو ديزني سكا، الشركة التي تمتلك وتدير وتتولى صيانة ديزني لاند باريس. وفي ديسمبر 2011، استثمر 300 مليون دولار في تويتر، وذلك بشرائه أسهماً ثانوية من المطلعين على بواطن أمور الشركة. وأتاحت له عملية الشراء هذه حصوله على حصة تزيد عن 3% في الشركة، التي بلغت قيمتها 8 مليارات دولار في وقتٍ سابق من ذلك العام.

أعمالٌ تجارية معتادة؟

صرّح بن طلال لرويترز قبيل إطلاق سراحه: “لا توجد اتهامات. هناك فقط مناقشات بيني وبين الحكومة… بخصوص أمور متعددة لا يمكنني البوح بها الآن. ولكن تأكدوا أننا في نهاية القصة بالكامل. أشعر بارتياح شديد لأني في بلدي وفي مدينتي ولهذا أشعر أنني في بيتي. لا مشكلة على الإطلاق. كل شيء على ما يرام.”

وكانت المقابلة، التي أجريت من جناحه في فندق ريتز كارلتون، أول زيارةٍ له منذ اعتقاله. وقال لرويترز إنه قبل الطلب بإجراء المقابلة لأنه شعر بالضيق بسبب التقارير الإعلامية التي تشير إلى أنه قد أرسل إلى السجن فضلاً عن تعرضه للتعذيب، إذ قال “جميعها أكاذيب. هذا مؤسفٌ جداً.”

وعند سؤاله عن شروط الإفراج عنه والتسوية التي تم التوصل إليها، سخر من التقارير الإعلامية التي ادعت عرضه صفقة تبرئة بقيمة 6 مليارات دولار، كما أكد أيضاً عدم تنازله عن ملكية أيٍ من شركاته وعدم نقل أي أصولٍ للدولة.

الحياة الشخصية

تزوج الوليد بن طلال أربع مرات، فقد كانت زوجته الأولى ابنة عمه، دلال بنت سعود، ابنة الملك الراحل سعود، ورزق منها بطفلين: الأمير خالد، المولود في عام 1978، والأميرة ريم، المولودة في عام 1982. وبعد ذلك تطلقا. تزوج بن طلال مجدداً وبعد طلاقه مرةً أخرى، تزوج خلود العنزي. في حين كانت زوجته الرابعة أميرة الطويل، التي طلقها في عام 2014 بعد حوالي ست سنوات من الزواج. وفي مقابلةٍ له مع صحيفة عكاظ السعودية قال: “نعم، أعلنها عبر صحيفة عكاظ للمرة الأولى، لقد انفصلت رسمياً عن الأميرة أميرة الطويل، لكنها لا تزال شخصاً أكن له كل الاحترام.”

وفي مقابلةٍ له مع مجلة فانيتي فير في عام 2013، قبل طلاقه الأخير، قال: “كان لدي ثلاث زيجات ناجحة، إلا أن علاقتي جيدة جداً معهن جميعاً. فهنّ يتحدثنّ معي وأنا أتحدث إليهن. إحداهنّ والدة أطفالي.”

© Copyright Notice

click on link to view the associated photo/image
©AFP ⁃ ISHARA S. KODIKARA | ©AFP ⁃ ISHARA S. KODIKARA

دعمكم عونٌ لنا

فَنَك هي مؤسسة إعلامية إلكترونية مستقلة، لا تمولها أي دولة أو مجموعات مصالح. تلتزم فَنَك بنشر تحليلاتٍ مبنية على الوقائع ومحايدة، إلى جانب التقارير المواضيعية حول الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا.
شهد الموقع نمواً سريعاً في نطاق وعمق المعلومات التي يُقدمها، واليوم، بات يُشكل مصدراً غنياً وقيماً للمعلومات عن 21 بلداً، من المغرب إلى عُمان ومن إيران إلى اليمن، باللغتين العربية والإنجليزية. حالياً، وصل عدد القراء إلى 6 ملايين سنوياً، والعدد آخذٌ بالإزدياد.
لضمان حيادية المعلومات على موقع فَنَك (وقائع وأحداث) ، تُنشر المقالات دون ذكر أسماء الكتّاب، مما يُتيح أيضاً لمراسلينا مساحة أكبر من الحرية عند التطرق إلى القضايا الحساسة أو المثيرة للجدل فى بلادهم. وإلى جانب ذلك، نتحرى حقائق جميع المعلومات الواردة في مقالاتنا قبل النشر لضمان دقة المعلومات، وحداثتها وحيادها.

استمرارية تشغيل مثل هذا الموقع الإلكتروني مُكلفة للغاية. بتبرعٍ صغيرٍ منك، يمكنك المساهمة في الحفاظ على حرية واستقلالية تغطيتنا.

Fanack Home / Saudi Arabia / Faces / Billionaire Saudi Prince Released Following ‘Anti-Corruption’ Campaign

Billionaire Saudi Prince Released Following ‘Anti-Corruption’ Campaign

Saudi Arabia- Al-Waleed Bin Talal
Alwaleed bin Talal. Photo AFP

Saudi Arabian billionaire Prince Alwaleed bin Talal was released from custody on 27 January 2018, more than two months after being detained by the Saudi authorities. In an interview with Reuters shortly before his release, he said that he expected to be cleared of all charges and freed within days.

The prince is known for his business empire, philanthropy and for being the wealthiest man in the Middle East on Forbes’ billionaires list. However, his fortunes changed when, on 4 November 2017, he was arrested along with more than 200 Saudi royals, senior officials and businessmen.

The order for his arrest came directly from Crown Prince Mohammed bin Salman (often referred to as MBS), a few hours after King Salman issued a royal decree establishing an anti-corruption committee and installing his son at his head. The committee has the authority to investigate, arrest, issue travel bans on and freeze the assets of those it finds corrupt.

According to the decree, the committee’s goal is to ‘preserve public money, punish corrupt people and those who exploit their positions’, although several commentators have described it as a power grab by MBS.

Saud al-Mojeb, the kingdom’s attorney general, said, “[T]he potential scale of corrupt practices which have been uncovered is very large. Based on investigations over the past three years, at least $100 billion has been misused through corruption.”

Of all the arrests, bin Talal’s was perhaps the most surprising. As a business tycoon with billions of dollars in investments around the world, his detention sent ripples through the financial markets, including in Saudi Arabia itself, where his conglomerate, Kingdom Holding Company, is publicly listed on Tadawul, the Saudi stock market.

According to Bloomberg, the company’s stock fell by as much as 9.9 per cent at the open in Riyadh on the day of his arrest and closed 7.6 per cent lower, the lowest since June 2012.

Negotiations

A few weeks after the arrests, Saudi authorities started negotiating with the prominent detainees, offering deals in return for their freedom, according to the Financial Times.

The London-based newspaper al-Quds al-Arabi reported that bin Talal had denied the charges of corruption or any other wrongdoing and offered to make a ‘donation’ to the Saudi government, which was rejected.

According to Britain’s Daily Mail, the prince was transferred from the Ritz-Carlton Hotel in the capital Riyadh, where he was being held, to the maximum security al-Hair prison after he refused to pay the amount requested by the government, which the newspaper put at $1.03 billion, and declined to hand over control of some of his investment companies.

Al-Hair prison, south of Riyadh, is usually used to hold political activists demanding reform as well as terrorists or suspected terrorists. Raif Badawi, a prominent Saudi activist, was detained there until his case came to the attention of international human rights organizations, which protested his unjust sentence.

Self-made Man

Prior to his arrest, bin Talal, a nephew of the current king and grandson of the late King Abdulaziz bin Saud – the founding father of modern Saudi Arabia – was the public face of the Saudi royal family to many foreign executives and investors.

His net worth, originally estimated at $20 billion in 2017, fell by more than $2 billion following his detention. Forbes still lists him as the 45th richest man in the world, with a net worth of $17.3 billion.

Unlike other Saudi princes, bin Talal is self-made, meaning that he used his inherited wealth and royal privilege to build his business empire and invest around the globe. Besides being the founder of the Kingdom Holding Company, in which he has a majority stake, he is the largest individual shareholder in Citigroup, the second-largest voting shareholder in 21st Century Fox, owns large stakes in the Four Seasons hotel chain, owns London’s Savoy Hotel and part of New York’s Plaza Hotel.

Additionally, he owns Rotana Group, the Arab world’s largest entertainment company, and has a 10 per cent stake in Euro Disney SCA, the company that owns, manages and maintains Disneyland Paris. In December 2011, he invested $300 million in Twitter, purchasing secondary shares from insiders. The purchase gave him a more than 3 per cent share in the company, which was valued at $8 billion earlier that year.

Business as usual?

Speaking to Reuters just ahead of his release, bin Talal said, “[T]here are no charges. There are just some discussions between me and the government … on various matters that I cannot divulge right now. But rest assured we are at the end of the whole story. And I’m very comfortable because I’m in my country, I’m in my city, so I feel at home. It’s no problem at all. Everything’s fine.”

The interview, given from his suite in the Ritz-Carlton Hotel, was his first since being detained. He told Reuters that he had accepted the interview request because he was upset by media reports that suggested he had been sent to prison and tortured. “All lies. It’s very unfortunate,” he said.

When asked about the terms of his release and the discussed settlement, he debunked a media report claiming he had been offered a $6 billion acquittal deal. He also confirmed that his companies would remain under his ownership and that no assets would be transferred to the state.

Personal Life

Bin Talal has been married four times. His first wife was his cousin, Dalal bint Saud, the daughter of the late King Saud. The couple had two children: Prince Khaled, born in 1978, and Princess Reem, born in 1982. They later divorced. Bin Talal went on to marry a second time and after divorcing again, he married Khulud al-Anazi. His fourth wife was Ameera al-Taweel, whom he divorced in 2014 after about six years of marriage. In an interview with the Saudi daily Okaz, he said: “Yes, I announce it through Okaz for the first time. I have officially separated from Princess Ameera al-Taweel, but she remains a person that I have all respect for.”

In a 2013 interview with Vanity Fair, prior to his most recent divorce, he said, “I had three unsuccessful marriages yet I have a very good relationship with these wives. They talk to me. I talk to them. One of them is the mother of my two children.”

image_pdfimage_print

We would like to ask you something …

Fanack is an independent media organisation, not funded by any state or any interest group, that distributes in the Middle East and the wider world unbiased analysis and background information, based on facts, about the Middle East and North Africa.

The website grew rapidly in breadth and depth and today forms a rich and valuable source of information on 21 countries, from Morocco to Oman and from Iran to Yemen, both in Arabic and English. We currently reach six million readers annually and growing fast.

In order to guarantee the impartiality of information on the Chronicle, articles are published without by-lines. This also allows correspondents to write more freely about sensitive or controversial issues in their country. All articles are fact-checked before publication to ensure that content is accurate, current and unbiased.

To run such a website is very expensive. With a small donation, you can make a huge impact. And it only takes a minute. Thank you.