فَنَكْ وقائع وأحداث عن الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا / المملكة العربية السعودية / وُجوه من السعودية / لجين الهذلول: وجه المقاومة الشجاع في السعودية

لجين الهذلول: وجه المقاومة الشجاع في السعودية

Loujain al-Hathloul
صورة عرضت على واجهة متحف اللوفر في باريس، قبل قمة مجموعة العشرين، من قبل أعضاء منظمة العفو الدولية لناشطات حقوقيات سعوديات يقبعن خلف القضبان بمن فيهم لجين الهذلول (وسط)، تتوسطها عبارة “سيد ماكرون، طالب بالإفراج عنهن.” Photo: THOMAS COEX / AFP

فلورينس ماسينا

ناشطةٌ في حقوق المرأة وشخصية عامة معروفة على وسائل التواصل الاجتماعي، واليوم، سجينة سياسية: لجين الهذلول، البالغة من العمر 31 ربيعاً فحسب، تُمثل الكثير مما تفعله المملكة العربية السعودية بالمدافعين عن حقوق الإنسان. فقد حُكم عليها في 28 ديسمبر 2020، بالرغم من كونها تقبع خلف القضبان منذ عام 2018، بالسجن لأكثر من خمس سنوات؛ الحكم الذي تعمل على استئنافه حالياً.

تدافع لجين الهذلول منذ نعومة أظافرها عن حقوق المرأة وتعتبر واحدة من أبرز المدافعات عن حقوق الإنسان في المملكة العربية السعودية، وأكثرهنّ صراحةً، مستخدمةً وسائل التواصل الاجتماعي لنشر أفكارها وتعليقاتها الاجتماعية. ففي عام 2013، تم تصويرها وهي تقود سياراتها في حملةٍ مناهضة لمنع النساء من قيادة السيارات . وبعد عام، تم احتجازها لمدة 73 يوماً لمحاولتها قيادة سيارتها من الإمارات العربية المتحدة إلى المملكة العربية السعودية. كما اعتادت تصوير نفسها دون ارتداء الحجاب، الذي لم يعد إلزامياً بيد أنه ما زال موضوعاً حساساً في المملكة. وفي عام 2015، دخلت عالم السياسة بإعلان ترشحها للانتخابات إذ كانت تلك أول سنة يُسمح فيها للنساء بالتصويت، على الرغم من أن اسمها لم يضف إلى بطاقات الاقتراع.

لكن في عام 2018، وضعتها أفعالها على قائمة “الأشخاص المطلوب إسكاتهم،” حيث تم اعتقالها هي وغيرها من نشطاء حقوق الإنسان في مايو بتهم تشمل “التواصل مع منظمات معادية للسعودية.” في ذلك الوقت، تم سجن الناشطة الحقوقية إيمان النفجان أيضاً، رغم أنها لم تفصح عن مصيرها وتم إطلاق سراحها مؤقتاً في مارس 2019. وفي ديسمبر 2020، طالب مكتب المدعى العام بفرض أقصى عقوبة سجن على الهذلول، والبالغة 20 عاماً، وذلك أمام محكمة الإرهاب في المملكة التي تم إنشاؤها في الأصل عام 2008 لمحاكمة الجماعات الإرهابية مثل القاعدة. وفي وقتٍ سابق، أحيلت قضيتها في نوفمبر من 2020 إلى محكمة الجنايات بتهم من بينها “زعزعة الأمن القومي” و”العمل مع كيانات أجنبية ضد الدولة.” وفي أول جلسة محاكمة لها في 13 مارس 2019، وجهت إليها تهمة “تعزيز حقوق المرأة،” و”الدعوة إلى إنهاء نظام ولاية الذكور،” و”التواصل مع منظمات دولية ووسائل الإعلام الأجنبية ونشطاء آخرين،” ولا سيما مع الأمم المتحدة ومنظمة العفو الدولية. في آخر محاكمةٍ لها، انتهى بها الأمر بالسجن لمدة خمس سنوات وثمانية أشهر.

من الجدير بالذكر أن المملكة العربية السعودية تعمل على الترويج للتخفيف الواضح على القيود المفروضة على النساء منذ عام 2018، مثل رفع حظر قيادة السيارات، وحمايتهن من التمييز الوظيفي، وتمكينهن من تسجيل المواليد والوفيات، والحصول على سجلات الأسرة، واتخاذ قرارات طبية بشأن أجسادهن، أي تلك المتعلقة بالولادة والحمل، والسفر إلى الخارج دون مرافقة ولي أمر. لكن كما قال آدم كوغل، نائب مدير قسم الشرق الأوسط وشمال أفريقيا في منظمة هيومن رايتس ووتش الدولية ، لفَنَك، “تم تقويض العديد من الإصلاحات في ظل حقيقة أن نشطاء حقوق المرأة الذين دافعو عن هذه الإصلاحات إما خلف قضبان السجن أو في المنفى أو يتم إسكاتهم.”

والأسوأ من ذلك، قالت عائلتها إن لجين “تعرضت لاعتداء جنسي وتعذيب بالضرب والصدمات الكهربائية، واحتُجزت بمعزل عن العالم الخارجي لفترات طويلة من الزمن،” إذ يمكن العثور على تفاصيل قضيتها والتعذيب الذي تعرضت له على الموقع الإلكتروني الذي أنشأته عائلتها للدفاع عن قضيتها. وبحسب ما يذكره الموقع، فقد كان سعود القحطاني، أحد كبار المستشارين الملكيين، حاضراً عدة مرات عندما تعرضت الناشطة للتعذيب، وكان أحياناً يضحك عليها، ويهددها أحياناً أخرى بالاغتصاب والقتل ورمي جسدها في شبكة الصرف الصحي.

وفي هذا الصدد، قال خالد إبراهيم، المدير المشارك لمركز الخليج لحقوق الإنسان، لفَنَك: “يمكن قول الكثير عن لجين الهذلول، لكن إحدى الحقائق المهمة هي أنها واجهت محكمة الإرهاب.” وأضاف: “كما حصل ذلك أيضاَ مع مدافعين آخرين عن حقوق الإنسان. ولماذا؟ إنها ناشطة شجاعة، تفعل ذلك بسلام، ولا تريد سوى أن تقود النساء السيارات، وأن يدرسن، وأن يكون لهن مستقبل. هذا ما يريده الجميع.” وقال إبراهيم إنه واثق من أنها ستستأنف الحكم، وأشاد بأسرتها التي كافحت باستمرار من أجلها ودعت لمناصرتها دولياً للحصول على الاهتمام والدعم، وتابع إبراهيم: “أتعلمون، ترفض التوقيع على أي تصريحٍ ينص على أنها ستتوقف عن نشاطها والحديث عن تعذيبها، أعتقد أن هذا هو سبب استهدافها، إنها شجاعة جداً، حقاً.”

فقد طالبت العديد من المنظمات والأفراد والإدارات العامة من جميع أنحاء العالم السعودية بالإفراج الفوري عنها ووقف السجن التعسفي ومحاكمة المدافعين عن حقوق الإنسان. وفي 24 نوفمبر 2020، نشرت منظمة العفو الدولية بياناً قالت فيه: “إن النتيجة الوحيدة العادلة لهذه المحاكمة هي الإفراج عن لجين الهذلول، فوراً ومن دون قيد أو شرط. إنها ليست مجرمة – بل هي مدافعة عن حقوق الإنسان تتعرض للعقاب لمجرد تجرؤها على الدعوة إلى التغيير.”

لهذا السبب لجين الهذلول: شابةٌ شجاعة تؤمن بالتغيير وحقوق الإنسان، وهو ما تعتبره السلطات السعودية عملاً إرهابياً.

إقرأ المزيد

الناشطون في مجال حقوق المرأة، على وجه الخصوص، يُعاقبون على نحو مث...
تشكل الفتيات ما نسبته 96% من الفارين من البلاد. كما أظهرت الدراسة ال...
"خففت السعودية بعض الجوانب المتعلقة بنظام الوصاية الذكوري بما في ...

© Copyright Notice

Please contact us in case of omissions concerning copyright-protected work. The acquired copyright protected images used on/as featured image of this page are: THOMAS COEX ©AFP | THOMAS COEX ©AFP

الجهل يقود إلى الخوف، الخوف يقود إلى الكراهية، والكراهية تقود إلى العنف هذه هي المعادلة.
ابن رشد (١١٢٦ – ١١٩٨)

إن مؤسستنا منظمةٌ هولندية غير حكومية لا تسعى لتحقيق الأرباح. هذه المؤسسة يجري تمويلها بصورةٍ حصرية عبر أفرادٍ يشاركوننا الإيمان بضرورة نشر معلومات موثوقة وغير متحيزة عن منطقة الشرق الأوسط وشمال إفريقيا، محاكين بذلك المزاج الشعبي السائد في المنطقة ولنعبّر عن صوت أبناء المنطقة بما نقدمه من معلومات ناجعة وتتحلى بالمصداقية.

ولذلك، فإننا نقدّر عالياً ما تقدمه لنا من دعمٍ وسنحرص على أن يعكس هذا الدعم بطريقةٍ إيجابية على الصالح العام!

Fanack Home / Saudi Arabia / Faces of Saudi Arabia / Loujain al-Hathloul, The Brave Face of Resistance in Saudi Arabia

Loujain al-Hathloul, The Brave Face of Resistance in Saudi Arabia

Loujain al-Hathloul
A projection on the Louvre Museum in Paris by Amnesty International members depicting jailed Saudi human rights activists including Loujain al-Hathloul (C) and reading “Mr Macron, demand their release”, ahead of the G20 summit. 2020. Photo: THOMAS COEX / AFP

By: Florence Massena

Women’s rights activist, social media figure and now political prisoner: Loujain al-Hathloul, at only 31, represents a lot of what Saudi Arabia does to its human rights defenders. Already detained since 2018, she has been condemned on December 28 to more than five years of jail, which she will appeal.

Loujain al-Hathloul has been fighting all her young years for women’s rights, and is considered as one of the most prominent and outspoken women human rights defenders in Saudi Arabia, using social media to spread her thoughts and social comments. Already in 2013, she was getting filmed driving in a 2013 women’s rights campaign against the driving ban. A year after, she was detained for 73 days for attempting to drive from the UAE into Saudi Arabia. She was also used to film herself without covering her hair, which is not considered mandatory anymore but is still a sensitive topic in the Kingdom. In 2015, she touched politics by declaring herself a candidate for elections as it was the first year women could vote, though her name was never added to the ballot.

But it’s in 2018 that her actions put her on a “people to silence” list, as she and other human rights activists were arrested in May on charges including “contacts with organizations hostile to Saudi Arabia”. At that time, women’s rights activist Eman al-Nafjan was also imprisoned, although she didn’t share her fate and got temporarily released from jail in March 2019. In December 2020, the state prosecutor’s office  required the maximal sentence, 20 years, all that in front of the Kingdom’s terrorism court, which was originally created in 2008 to judge terrorist groups such as al-Qaeda. Her case was transferred earlier in November 2020 to the criminal court on charges including “destabilizing national security” and “working with foreign entities against the state”. On her first trial session on March 13, 2019, she had been charged with “promoting women’s rights”, “calling for the end of the male guardianship system”, and “contacting international organizations, foreign media, and other activists”, notably contacts with the United Nations and the international organization Amnesty International. On her last trial, she ended up being sentenced to five years and eight months in prison.

Saudi Arabia has been promoting an apparent loosening up of restrictions towards women since 2018, such as lifting the driving ban, protecting them from employment discrimination, enabling to register births and deaths, to obtain family records, to make medical decisions about their own body, related to birth and pregnancy, and to travel abroad without being accompanied by a guardian. But as Adam Coogle, deputy director with the Middle East and North Africa division at the international organization Human Rights Watch (HRW), told Fanack, “A lot of the reforms are undermined by the fact that the women’s rights activists who pushed for them are either in jail, in exile, or silenced”.

Worst, her family has said that al-Hathloul has been “sexually assaulted, tortured with beatings and electric shocks, and held incommunicado for long periods of time”. Details of her case and torture can be found on the website her family set up to advocate her situation. It is said there that Saud al-Qahtani, a top royal adviser, was present several times when the activist was tortured, sometimes laughing at her, sometimes threatening to rape and kill her and throw her body into the sewage system.

“A lot can be said about Loujain al-Hathloul, but one important fact is that she faced the terrorism court”, Khalid Ibrahim, co-director of the Gulf Center for Human Rights, told Fanack. “Other human rights defenders too. And for what? She is a brave activist, she does it peacefully, she only wants women to drive a car, to be able to study, to have a future. It is what everyone needs really.” Ibrahim said he is confident she will appeal, and praised her family, who has constantly fought for her and advocated internationally to get attention and support. “You know, she refuses to sign any declaration stating that she would stop her activism and talking about her torture”, Ibrahim said. “I think that’s why she’s so targeted. She’s very brave, really.”

Many organizations, individuals and public administrations from around the world have asked for her immediate release for Saudi Arabia to stop arbitrary imprisonment and trial of human rights defenders. On November 24, 2020, Amnesty International published a statement saying: “The only just outcome for this trial would be the immediate and unconditional release of Loujain al-Hathloul. She is not a criminal – she is a human rights defender who is being punished simply for daring to advocate for change.”

For that reason Loujain al-Hathloul is: a brave young woman who believes in change and rights to all. Which is perceived by the authorities of Saudi Arabia as an act of terrorism.

Further reading

Women’s rights activists are ironically being punished for pushing the same agenda that led Saudi Arabia to lift the d...
Girls constitute 96 per cent of those fleeing the country. The study, conducted in the Mecca area, shows that the reason...
Saudi Arabia has removed some of the aspects of the male guardianship system, including allowing women to drive and trav...

© Copyright Notice

Please contact us in case of omissions concerning copyright-protected work. The acquired copyright protected images used on/as featured image of this page are: THOMAS COEX ©AFP | THOMAS COEX ©AFP



"The heritage of knowledge is more valuable than gold."
Yahya ibn Abi Kathir (769-848)

We are a Dutch not for profit organisation (NGO), financed solely by individuals who share our belief in the importance of publishing and disseminating reliable, unbiased information on the Middle East & North Africa region. To represent the voice of the region’s people, we carefully echo the region’s heartbeat by offering fact-checked and therefore credible information.

Your support is greatly appreciated and helpful!