فَنَكْ وقائع وأحداث عن الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا / المملكة العربية السعودية / وُجوه من السعودية / لبنى العليان

لبنى العليان

Lubna_S._Olayan_World_Economic_Forum_2013
لبنى سليمان العليان Photo Wikipedia ©WIKIMEDIA COMMONS ⁃ Wikipedia

لبنى سليمان العليان إمرأة سعودية حققت إنجازات ملحوظة. ولدت لبنى في أوائل الخمسينات من القرن الماضي في القسيم في المملكة العربية السعودية، حيث تربت لتصبح أحد أكثر النساء نفوذاً في العالم، وتُدير حالياً إمبراطورية عالمية في الشرق الأوسط حيث تشغل منصب الرئيس التنفيذي لشركة العليان المالية، وهي الذراع الشرق أوسطي لمجموعة العليان متعددة الجنسيات التي تتضمن أكثر من 15,000 موظف.

درست السيدة عليان المرحلة الأولى في بيروت، حيث كان والدها، سليمان، يعمل كمقاول في مشروع تابلاين (خط الأنابيب عبر البلاد العربية) ، أحد أضخم مشاريع نقل الأنابيب. شجعها والدها وهو رجل أعمال ناجح في بلاده على تحقيق النجاح من خلال العمل الدؤوب، كما علّم أولاده أيضاً على التواضع. وكما تقول “حرص أبي وأمي على تربيتنا بعيداً عن التكبر، وبأنه لا يتوجب على المرء أن يكون فخوراً بما يملك من المال، بل بأفعاله، ذلك أن الثروة لم تهبط على والدي بين ليلةٍ وضحاها”.

وبعد انتهاء تعليمها المدرسي، ذهبت إلى الولايات المتحدة الأمريكية من أجل الدراسات العليا حيث حصلت على درجة البكالوريوس من جامعة كورنيل ومن ثم حازت على درجة الماجستير في إدارة الأعمال من جامعة إنديانا. كما مُنحت درجة الدكتوراة الفخرية في القانون (LLD) من كلية ترينيتي في دبلن، في شهر يونيو من عام 2011.

وبعد فترة قضتها في شركة جاي بي مورغان كمحلل مالي، عادت السيدة عليان إلى المملكة العربية السعودية وانضمت إلى شركة عليان المالية (OFC) عام 1983 كمحلل مالي ومساعد لوالدها الذي كان آنذاك يشغل منصب الرئيس. أصبحت الرئيس التنفذي ونائب رئيس الشركة عام 1986 وبقيت تشغل ذات المناصب بعد إعادة تنظيم المجموعة أوائل عام 2000 ليتم دمج شركة العليان للتجارة والعقارات والشركات ذات الصلة بالمستهلكين ضمن مجموعة العليان.

واليوم، تُشرف على عمل ما يقارب 40 شركة أنشائها والدها، ومن بينها مشاريع تشاركية مع شركات متعددة الجنسيات مثل كوكا كولا، وزيروكس، وكيمبرلي كلارك، وكولجيت بالموليف. وتحت إشرافها، تسعى شركة عليان المالية إلى الدخول في علاقات تجارية مربحة مع الشركات متعددة الجنسيات التي أثبتت جدواها. وتمتلك الشركة وتشغل 400 فرع من فروع مطعم برجر كينج في جميع أنحاء الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا (MENA) كما أنها الوكيل الوحيد لأجهزة الكمبيوتر المحمولة توشيبا، ومنتجات االعناية الصحية للعديد من الشركات الأخرى. وتعتبر هذه فقط بضع من أنشطة التوزيع والتصنيع والخدمات والإستثمارات التي تمتلكها الشركة.

ولكن لا يتعلق الأمر فقط بالأعمال التجارية بالنسبة للسيدة عليان، إذ تمنح وقتها أيضاً للمشاريع التعليمية والخيرية لما فيه مصلحة للآخرين. فقد تم انتخابها رئيس مجلس إدارة جمعية متلازمة داون الخيرية غير الربحية في الرياض عام 2005. وفي عام 2006، انضمت إلى المجلس الإستشاري لجامعة عفت، وهي كلية خاصة غير ربحية للفتيات في جدة، المملكة العربية السعودية. وفي عام 2007، تم انتخابها كعضو من أعضاء مجلس أمناء جامعة كورنيل كما تم تعينها في مجلس إدارة جامعة الملك عبد الله للعلوم والتقنية (KAUST).

وتلقت السيدة عليان، وهي أم لثلاثة أطفال، العديد من الجوائز العالمية تقديراً لإنجازتها والخدمات التي تقدمها. ومن بين العديد من الأوسمة التي حازتها إدراجها من قبل مجلة التايم في عام 2005 باعتبارها أحد أكثر سيدات الأعمال نفوذاً في العالم. وتواصل مجلة فوربس العالمية إدراجها على قائمة أكثر النساء نفوذاً في العالم. وحصدت لقب سيدة أعمال العام عام 2009 وتستمر في لفت الأنظار إليها بسبب نجاحها الملحوظ.

ما يجعل السيدة لبنى عليان مميزة، هي أنها تمكنت في مجتمع ذكوري بحت من التميّز كأنثى وتغلبت على الحواجز التقليدية في الثقافة السعودية ليسطع نجمها. ففي المملكة العربية السعودية، يتم فصل الذكور عن الإناث قدر الإمكان، إذ أنّ كل إمرأة في السعودية، بما في ذلك السيدة عليان، تعتمد على النية الحسنة لوصيها سواء كان ذلك والدها أم زوجها أم شقيقها أم ابنها، إذ لا يمكن للمرأة مواصلة مشوارها المهني إلا إذا وافقت أسرتها على ذلك. وفي عام 2004، أصبحت السيدة عليان بالرغم مما سبق ذكره أول سيدة في التاريخ السعودي تلقي الخطاب الرئيسي في منتدى جدة الاقتصادي، وهو مؤتمر دولي كبير ضم العديد من الشخصيات البارزة في العالم أمثال الرئيس الأمريكي السابق بيل كلينتون ومهاتير محمد رئيس وزراء ماليزيا، ورئيس كازاخستان. كما ترأست المنتدى الاقتصادي العالمي في دافوس عام 2005.

وسبق وصرحت السيدة عليان في إحدى المناسبات قائلة “تتلخص رؤيتي لمستقبل بلادي في تمتع المملكة باقتصاد مزدهر ومتنوّع يمّكن أي مواطن سعودي من الحصول على فرصة عمل، بغض النظر عن الجنس، وفي المجال الذي يؤهله/ يؤهلها للعمل”. ومع ذلك، لا يزال تحقيق مثل هذه الرؤية بعيداً لسنواتٍ عديدة.

© Copyright Notice

click on link to view the associated photo/image
©WIKIMEDIA COMMONS ⁃ Wikipedia

دعمكم عونٌ لنا

فَنَك هي مؤسسة إعلامية إلكترونية مستقلة، لا تمولها أي دولة أو مجموعات مصالح. تلتزم فَنَك بنشر تحليلاتٍ مبنية على الوقائع ومحايدة، إلى جانب التقارير المواضيعية حول الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا.
شهد الموقع نمواً سريعاً في نطاق وعمق المعلومات التي يُقدمها، واليوم، بات يُشكل مصدراً غنياً وقيماً للمعلومات عن 21 بلداً، من المغرب إلى عُمان ومن إيران إلى اليمن، باللغتين العربية والإنجليزية. حالياً، وصل عدد القراء إلى 6 ملايين سنوياً، والعدد آخذٌ بالإزدياد.
لضمان حيادية المعلومات على موقع فَنَك (وقائع وأحداث) ، تُنشر المقالات دون ذكر أسماء الكتّاب، مما يُتيح أيضاً لمراسلينا مساحة أكبر من الحرية عند التطرق إلى القضايا الحساسة أو المثيرة للجدل فى بلادهم. وإلى جانب ذلك، نتحرى حقائق جميع المعلومات الواردة في مقالاتنا قبل النشر لضمان دقة المعلومات، وحداثتها وحيادها.

استمرارية تشغيل مثل هذا الموقع الإلكتروني مُكلفة للغاية. بتبرعٍ صغيرٍ منك، يمكنك المساهمة في الحفاظ على حرية واستقلالية تغطيتنا.

Fanack Home / Saudi Arabia / Faces / Lubna S. Olayan

Lubna S. Olayan

Lubna S. Olayan Photo Wikipedia
Lubna S. Olayan Photo Wikipedia

Lubna Suleiman al-Olayan is a Saudi woman of remarkable achievements. Born in the early 1950s in Gassim, Saudi Arabia, she rose to be one of the most powerful women in the world. She runs a global empire out of the Middle East, as the CEO of Olayan Financing Company, the Middle East arm of the multinational Olayan Group with more than 15,000 employees.

Ms Olayan’s early education began in Beirut, where her father, Suleiman, served as a contractor on the huge Tapline project, one of the biggest transportation and trucking job of any pipeline. Her father, a successful businessman in his own right, encouraged her to achieve success through hard work. He also taught his children to be modest. In her own words, “my father and mother were keen to raise us not to be arrogant. That is, a human being should not be proud with his money, but with his deeds. For this wealth did not land on my father overnight.”

After her school internship, she went to the United States for higher studies and received her BSc degree from Cornell University and then her MBA from Indiana University. She was awarded an honorary Doctor of Law (LLD) degree from Trinity College, Dublin, in June of 2011.

Following a stint at J.P. Morgan as a financial analyst, Ms Olayan returned home to Saudi Arabia and joined the Olayan Financing Company (OFC) in 1983 as a financial analyst and assistant to her father, who was then the chairman. She became CEO and deputy chairman of OFC in 1986 and continued to serve in those same roles following the reorganization in early 2000 that consolidated Olayan Group’s trading, real estate, and consumer-related operations in the region with those of OFC.

Today, she oversees the operations of some 40 companies established by her father. Among them are joint ventures with multinational companies such as Coca Cola, Xerox, Kimberly Clark, and Colgate Palmolive. Under her direction, OFC strives to enter profitable relationships with proven multinationals. The company fully owns and operates 400 branches of Burger King throughout the Middle East–North Africa (MENA) region and is the sole agent for Toshiba laptops and for healthcare products for many other companies. These are some of the distribution, manufacturing, service, and investment activities of the company.

But it is not all business for Ms Olayan. She gives her time to educational and charitable ventures in the interest of others. She was elected to the board of the non-profit Down Syndrome Charitable Association in Riyadh in June 2005. In 2006 she joined the advisory board of Effat College, a private non-profit college for girls in Jeddah, Saudi Arabia. In 2007 she was elected to the board of trustees of Cornell University, and she has been appointed to the board of King Abdullah University for Science and Technology (KAUST).

A mother of three, Ms Olayan has received many global awards given in recognition of accomplishment and service. Among her many accolades are her listing by Time magazine in 2005 as one of the most influential businesswomen in the world. Forbes continues to list her as one of the most powerful women in the world. She was named Entrepreneur of the Year in 2009 and continues to draw attention by her remarkable success.

What makes Lubna Olayan special is that, as a female in the traditional professional male bastion of society, she has managed to overcome traditional barriers in Saudi culture and hold her own. In Saudi Arabia, of course, men and women are segregated as much as possible. Every woman, including Ms Olayan, is dependent on the goodwill of her guardian, father, husband, brother, or son. A woman can pursue a career of her own choosing only if her family agrees. In 2004, Ms Olayan was nevertheless the first woman in Saudi history to deliver the keynote address at the Jeddah Economic Forum, a major international conference that included many notable world figures, such as Bill Clinton, the ex-president of the United States, Mahathir Mohamed, prime minister of Malaysia, and the president of Kazakhstan. She also chaired the World Economic Forum in Davos in 2005.

Ms Olayan once said, “My vision for the future of my country is summarized in a country enjoying a flourishing and diverse economy where any serious Saudi national can find a work opportunity, regardless of the sex, in the field where he or she is qualified to work.” Realization of this vision is still many years away.

image_pdfimage_print

We would like to ask you something …

Fanack is an independent media organisation, not funded by any state or any interest group, that distributes in the Middle East and the wider world unbiased analysis and background information, based on facts, about the Middle East and North Africa.

The website grew rapidly in breadth and depth and today forms a rich and valuable source of information on 21 countries, from Morocco to Oman and from Iran to Yemen, both in Arabic and English. We currently reach six million readers annually and growing fast.

In order to guarantee the impartiality of information on the Chronicle, articles are published without by-lines. This also allows correspondents to write more freely about sensitive or controversial issues in their country. All articles are fact-checked before publication to ensure that content is accurate, current and unbiased.

To run such a website is very expensive. With a small donation, you can make a huge impact. And it only takes a minute. Thank you.