فَنَكْ وقائع وأحداث عن الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا / المملكة العربية السعودية / وُجوه من السعودية / الشيخ سلمان العودة: حياة تحدٍ

الشيخ سلمان العودة: حياة تحدٍ

Saudi Arabia- Salman al-Ouda
Photo: Dr. Salman Al-Oadah / Facebook

لطالما كان الشيخ سلمان العودة من الشخصيات البارزة، ولكن المختلفة، في المملكة العربية السعودية منذ عقود. يصفه منتقدوه بأنه ذئبٌ في ثياب حمل، في حين يُشيد به مؤيديه كصوتٍ معتدل في المملكة المحافظة.

حتى وإن اعتقد المرء ذلك، فإن العودة لم يكن دوماً من المعتدلين، إذ كان ينتمي في أوائل التسعينات إلى حركة الصحوة، وهي حركة مستوحاة من جماعة الإخوان المسلمين. فقد جذبت محاضراته المؤثرة وحضّه على الجهاد انتباه زعيم تنظيم القاعدة الشهير أسامة بن لادن، الذي أشاد بالعودة “لتوعيته” الشباب المسلم.

وبالرغم من الإشادة به من قِبل المطرفين، إلا أن أتباع العودة يقولون أنه لم يؤيد العنف علناً قط. ومع ذلك، كان ناقداً سياسياً صريحاً، كحال الكثير من أقرانه في حركة الصحوة. ففي عام 1991، انتقدت الحركة الأسرة الحاكمة لسماحها بدخول قواتٍ أمريكية إلى أراضي المملكة لصد تقدم القوات العراقية.

تصاعدت التوترات مع استمرار حركة الصحوة في الضغط على الملك فهد لتبني إصلاحاتٍ سياسية. وبينما زعم قادة الصحوة أنهم يمثلون صوت الشعب الحقيقي، ظلت الحركة موالية للدولة. ومع ذلك، كان نشاط الحركة ينتهك العلاقة التقليدية بين المؤسسة الدينية والنخبة الحاكمة. فلطالما كانت المؤسسة الدينية، وعلى مر التاريخ، متهمةً بالسيطرة على الثقافة والشؤون الدينية في البلاد، بينما كانت النخبة الحاكمة تتمتع باحتكارٍ كامل للسياسة.

وفي ظل التهديد الذي شعرت به الدولة بسبب الطموحات السياسية للصحوة، سجنت المملكة العودة وغيره من الشخصيات البارزة في عام 1994. وعندما أطلق سراح العودة في عام 1999، بدا وكأنه رجلٌ آخر.

فقد قال ابنه عبد الله العودة أن والده قرأ العديد من كتب مفكري حركة النهضة في السجن. وكما يقول عبد الله، كان لهذه النصوص تأثير كبير على تطور والده كمفكرٍ وشيخ.

ففي مكالمةٍ لنا عبر الهاتف مع عبد الله، قال لنا في فَنَك، “كان يسعى دوماً والدي إلى تطوير نفسه.”

وأضاف “في السجن، كان يقرأ كل ما تصل له يداه. فقد جعلته الكثير من الآراء التي استوعبها هناك أكثر اعتدالاً فيما يتعلق بالقضايا الاجتماعية.”

لربما كان هذا واقع الحال، إلا أن الدكتور سعد الفقيه، وهو معارض سعودي بارز ومدير حركة الإصلاح الإسلامية، أشار إلى أن العودة لربما أراد أن يصبح شخصاً مشهوراً أكثر من كونه شيخاً بعد أن غادر السجن.وقال الفقيه: “كان العودة صادقاً في صورته الإعلامية، إلا أن مستشاريه أخبروه أنه بحاجة إلى أن يصبح أكثر ليبرالية للوصول إلى جمهورٍ أوسع.”

أياً كانت دوافعه، فقد أصبح خطاب العودة أقل طائفية بشكلٍ ملحوظ. كما دعا إلى فرض قيودٍ أقل على النساء مقارنةً بنظرائه المتشددين من رجال الدين المدعومين من الدولة. ومع التغيير الذي طرأ على آرائه، ازداد أتباعه بشكلٍ كبير، إلى الحد الذي دفع بالدولة إلى الإنضمام إلى الركب برفقته لمواجهة الخطر المتنامي للتطرف الديني. وقال الفقيه في هذا الصدد إن شروط الإتفاق كانت واضحة: يستطيع العودة قول أي شيء يريده ولكن دون تقويض الأسرة الحاكمة.

ولكن من المفارقات، كما يقول الفقيه، أن حملة النظام على الصحوة وغيرها من الحركات السياسية ما دفع بالعديد من الشباب، في المقام الأول، نحو التطرف. ومع ذلك، اتخذ العودة موقفاً معادياً صريحاً للجهاد العالمي. بل إنه صدم العالم الإسلامي في عام 2007 عندما نشر رسالة إلى بن لادن في ذكرى أحداث الحادي عشر من سبتمبر.

التي جاء فيها: “أخي أسامة، كم من الدماء أريقت وكم من الأبرياء والشيوخ والأطفال قتلوا وشرّدوا تحت اسم القاعدة؟ أيسرك أن تلقى الله وأنت تحمل عبء هؤلاء على ظهرك؟”

وبعد عشر سنوات، رأى ولي العهد الجديد، محمد بن سلمان، في الشيخ الطاعن بالسن تهديداً أكثر من كونه عوناً له في الحكم. وفي 9 سبتمبر 2017، أمر محمد بن سلمان باعتقال العودة لنشره تغريدةً قال فيها: “اللهم ألّف بين قلوبهم لما فيه خير لشعوبهم،” في دعوةٍ صريحةٍ منه للمصالحة ما بين المملكة العربية السعودية وقطر، التي دخلت في خلافٍ مع قطر بسبب دعم الأخيرة المزعوم للإرهاب منذ أكثر من عام.

وكما يقول عبد الله العودة، “لا توجد مشكلةٌ لآل سعود مع والدي، بل إن محمد بن سلمان ووالده من يلاحقانه.” وأضاف “يمتلك والدي صفتين لا يتمتع بهما أي من الرجلين، إذ يمتلك شرعيةً دينية وخطابه ديمقراطي، الأمر الذي يتعارض مع طموحات محمد بن سلمان.”

وبعد مرور عامٍ على اعتقاله، وجهت للعودة 37 تهمة، بما فيهم نشر الفتنة والتحريض على الحكم. ويقول عبد الله أن والده لا يزال يقبع في السجن، ويمنع من الحصول على أي كتابٍ سوى القرآن الكريم. ومن الجدير بالذكر أيضاً أن المحاكم السعودية تسعى لإعدامه تعزيراً.

في حين قال يحيى العسيري، الناشط الحقوقي السعودي ورئيس منظمة القسط لحقوق الانسان ومقرها لندن، والتي تراقب انتهاكات حقوق الإنسان في السعودية، أن العودة لم ينتقد المملكة جهراً. بل يُثبت إعتقاله واحتمال الحكم عليه بالإعدام أن محمد بن سلمان يحاول إسكات أي شخصٍ يروج لوجهات نظرٍ مختلفة. وتماماً كما حصل في عام 1994، يهدد حبس المعارضين بدفع غيرهم من المعارضين إلى اللجوء للعنف باسم الجهاد.

وقال العسيري لميدل إيست آي: “بإعلان مثل هذه الأحكام، تسعى السلطات السعودية إلى إسكات الجميع، أو إجبار الناس على اللجوء إلى وسائل غير سلمية للمعارضة”.

وأضاف الفقيه أنه لم يفاجأ بأن المحاكم المدعومة من الدولة تحاول قتل العودة. وكما يقول، يعتقد محمد بن سلمان بأنه يجب تطهير الشرق الأوسط من جماعة الإخوان المسلمين، ولهذا السبب يحاول إعدام قادة وعلماء الإسلام السياسي. ويبدو أن العودة على رأس قائمة الإعدامات هذه.

بينما يُشير عبد الله إلى أن التناقض يكمن في أن محمد بن سلمان يُقدم نفسه كمصلحٍ بينما يزج برجال الدين المعتدلين ونشطاء حقوق الإنسان خلف القضبان. بل الأسوأ من ذلك أن ولي العهد يشجع المتطرفين المتدينيين في المؤسسة الدينية المدعومة من الدولة، الذين يُكفر بعضهم، على سبيل المثال، جميع المسلمين من الشيعة. وعلى عكس سلمان العودة، يخضع رجال الدين هؤلاء لمحمد بن سلمان.

وكما يقول عبد الله، “يخشى ولي العهد المعتدلين كوالدي أكثر من خوفه من الجهاديين.” ويُضيف “يرجع السبب في ذلك إلى المعتدلين ينادون بالديمقراطية.”

دعمكم عونٌ لنا

فَنَك هي مؤسسة إعلامية إلكترونية مستقلة، لا تمولها أي دولة أو مجموعات مصالح. تلتزم فَنَك بنشر تحليلاتٍ مبنية على الوقائع ومحايدة، إلى جانب التقارير المواضيعية حول الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا.
شهد الموقع نمواً سريعاً في نطاق وعمق المعلومات التي يُقدمها، واليوم، بات يُشكل مصدراً غنياً وقيماً للمعلومات عن 21 بلداً، من المغرب إلى عُمان ومن إيران إلى اليمن، باللغتين العربية والإنجليزية. حالياً، وصل عدد القراء إلى 6 ملايين سنوياً، والعدد آخذٌ بالإزدياد.
لضمان حيادية المعلومات على موقع فَنَك (وقائع وأحداث) ، تُنشر المقالات دون ذكر أسماء الكتّاب، مما يُتيح أيضاً لمراسلينا مساحة أكبر من الحرية عند التطرق إلى القضايا الحساسة أو المثيرة للجدل فى بلادهم. وإلى جانب ذلك، نتحرى حقائق جميع المعلومات الواردة في مقالاتنا قبل النشر لضمان دقة المعلومات، وحداثتها وحيادها.

استمرارية تشغيل مثل هذا الموقع الإلكتروني مُكلفة للغاية. بتبرعٍ صغيرٍ منك، يمكنك المساهمة في الحفاظ على حرية واستقلالية تغطيتنا.

Fanack Home / Saudi Arabia / Faces / Sheikh Salman al-Ouda: A Life of Defiance

Sheikh Salman al-Ouda: A Life of Defiance

Saudi Arabia- Salman al-Ouda
Photo: Dr. Salman Al-Oadah / Facebook

Sheikh Salman al-Ouda has been a towering yet ambivalent figure in Saudi Arabia for decades. His critics describe him as a wolf in sheep’s clothing, while his supporters hail him as a moderate voice in the ultraconservative kingdom.

Even if one believes the latter, al-Ouda was not always a moderate. In the early 1990s, he belonged to Sahwa ( ‘awakening’), a movement inspired by the Islamist Muslim Brotherhood. His charismatic lectures and exhortations to jihad attracted the attention of the notorious al-Qaeda leader Osama bin Laden, who praised al-Ouda for ‘enlightening’ Muslim youth.

Despite the endorsement from extremists, al-Ouda’s followers say that he never explicitly sanctioned violence. However, he was a fiery political critic, like many of his peers in Sahwa. In 1991, the movement criticized the ruling family for allowing American troops into Saudi Arabia to push back Iraqi forces.

Tension mounted as Sahwa continued to pressure King Fahd to adopt political reforms. While Sahwa’s leaders claimed that they were the true voice of the people, the movement remained quite loyal to the state. The movement’s activism nonetheless violated the traditional relationship between the religious establishment and the ruling elite. The former was historically charged with controlling culture and religious affairs in the country, while the latter enjoyed a complete monopoly over politics.

Threatened by Sahwa’s political ambitions, the kingdom jailed al-Ouda and other prominent figures in 1994. When al-Ouda was released in 1999, he seemed to be a changed man.

His son, Abdullah al-Ouda, said that his father read many of the thinkers of the al-Nahda – or Arab enlightenment – in prison. These texts, claimed Abdullah, had a profound impact on his father’s evolution as a thinker and a sheikh.

“My father looks at himself as somebody that must always evolve,” Abdullah told Fanack Chronicle over the phone.

“In prison, he read everything he could get his hands on. Many of the views he absorbed made him more moderate on social issues.”

That might have been the case. But Dr Saad al-Fagih, a prominent Saudi dissenter and the director of the Movement of Reform in Arabia, suggested that al-Ouda wanted to become more of a celebrity than a sheikh once he left prison.

“Al-Ouda was sincere in his public image, but his advisors told him that he needed to become more liberal to reach a wider audience,” al-Fagih said.

Whatever his motivation, al-Ouda’s rhetoric became noticeably less sectarian. He also advocated fewer restrictions on women compared to his hardline counterparts in the state-backed clergy. As his views transformed, his following grew exponentially, so much so that the state joined forces with him to combat the growing threat of religious extremism. Al-Fagih said that the terms of the arrangement were clear: al-Ouda could say anything he wanted but could not undermine the ruling family.

The contradiction, al-Fagih argued, was that the regime’s crackdown on Sahwa and other political movements pushed many youth towards extremism in the first place. Nevertheless, al-Ouda took an explicitly oppositional stance to global jihad. He even shocked the Muslim world in 2007 when he published a letter to Bin Laden on the anniversary of 9/11.

‘My brother Osama, how much blood has been spilt?’ the letter read. ‘How many innocent people, women, children and the elderly have been killed or displaced in the name of al-Qaeda? Will you be happy to meet God Almighty carrying the burden of these hundreds of thousands or millions on your back?’

Ten years later, the new crown prince, Mohammed bin Salman (also known as MBS) saw the elderly sheikh as more of a threat than an asset to his rule. On 9 September 2017, MBS ordered the arrest of al-Ouda for posting a tweet that read: ‘May God harmonize between their hearts for the good of their people’ – an apparent call for reconciliation between Saudi Arabia and Qatar, which have been at loggerheads over Qatar’s alleged support for terrorism for more than a year.

“The House of Saud doesn’t have a problem with my father. It’s just MBS and his father who are after my father,” Abdullah al-Ouda told Fanack Chronicle. “My father has two characteristics that neither of those men have. He has religious legitimacy and his rhetoric is democratic, which runs counter to the ambitions of MBS.”

A year after his arrest, al-Ouda has been charged with 37 crimes, including spreading discord and incitement against the ruler. Abdullah says that his father is still languishing in prison, where he has been denied access to books except for the Koran. The Saudi courts are pushing for a death sentence.

Yehia Assiri, an activist and the director of the London-based Al-QST, which monitors rights abuses in Saudi Arabia, said that al-Ouda did not overtly criticize the kingdom. His arrest and possible death sentence prove that MBS is trying to silence anybody who promotes different views. And just like in 1994, the jailing of opponents risks pushing other dissidents to resort to violence in the name of jihad.

“By declaring such sentences, the Saudi authorities seek to silence everyone, or to force people into non-peaceful means of opposition,” Assiri told the Middle East Eye.

Al-Fagih added that he was not surprised that state-backed courts are trying to kill al-Ouda. MBS, he said, believes that the Middle East must be cleansed of the Muslim Brotherhood, which is why he is trying to execute the leaders and scholars of political Islam. Al-Ouda appears to be high on the kill list.

The contradiction, noted Abdullah, is that MBS is presenting himself as a reformer while jailing moderate clerics and human rights activists. Worse still, the crown prince is emboldening religious extremists in the state-backed clergy, some of whom have claimed that all Shia Muslims are infidels. Unlike Salman al-Ouda, those clerics are subservient to MBS.

“The crown prince fears moderates like my father more than he fears jihadists,” said Abdullah. “That’s because the moderates are calling for democracy.”

image_pdfimage_print

We would like to ask you something …

Fanack is an independent media organisation, not funded by any state or any interest group, that distributes in the Middle East and the wider world unbiased analysis and background information, based on facts, about the Middle East and North Africa.

The website grew rapidly in breadth and depth and today forms a rich and valuable source of information on 21 countries, from Morocco to Oman and from Iran to Yemen, both in Arabic and English. We currently reach six million readers annually and growing fast.

In order to guarantee the impartiality of information on the Chronicle, articles are published without by-lines. This also allows correspondents to write more freely about sensitive or controversial issues in their country. All articles are fact-checked before publication to ensure that content is accurate, current and unbiased.

To run such a website is very expensive. With a small donation, you can make a huge impact. And it only takes a minute. Thank you.