فَنَكْ وقائع وأحداث عن الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا / المملكة العربية السعودية / من الماضي الى الحاضر / بعد ابن سعود

بعد ابن سعود

ولي العهد السعودي الأمير فيصل بن عبد العزيز آل سعود (Photo by AFP)

توفي ابن سعود في 9 نوفمبر/تشرين الثاني عام 1953 عن عمر يناهز 77 عاماً. وقبل وفاته، كان ابن سعود قد عين سعود بن عبد العزيز آل سعود (ولد 1902) خلفاً له، مع من الأخ غير الشقيق لسعود، فيصل بن عبد العزيز (ولد 1906)، كان أكثر مناسبة لهذا المنصب. وخوفاً من العواقب السياسية من تصعيد التنافس بين ابنيه، عين ابن سعود فيصل ولياً للعهد (وأصبح في وقت لاحق رئيس الوزراء ووزير الخارجية).

كدولة حليفة للولايات المتحدة الأمريكية، شعرت المملكة بتنامي الحس العدائي تجاه الولايات المتحدة ومناهضة الاستعمار في العالم العربي. وأصبح رئيس الجمهورية المصرية جمال عبد الناصر خصم أمريكا الإيديولوجي والسياسي في عهد الملك سعود. وبإلهام من الخطاب الثوري العربي، فرّ مجموعة من الأمراء بقيادة طلال بن عبد العزيز آل سعود، وهو ابن آخر لابن سعود (والأخ غير الشقيق للملك سعود)، إلى مصر وأسسوا حركة الأمراء الأحرار. طالبت الحركة بتحول السعودية إلى ملكية دستورية. إلا أنها بقيت في المنفى دون أن تتمكّن من تحقيق أهدافها. انطبق نفس الأمر على قوى المعارضة من القوميين العرب والشيوعيين.

ورث الملك سعود مملكة تفتقر إلى مؤسسات حديثة وبيروقراطية دولة، ولكن مع ثروات واعدة. تبددت الثروة الجديدة على القصور والاستهلاك، وبعض الشيء على التحديث الأوّلي. وأساء الملك إدارة الشؤون المالية للدولة، الأمر الذي أثار انقلاباً من داخل القصر الملكي. فقام فيصل، أخو الملك، بتحدّي سلطته وأجبره على التنازل عن العرش في تشرين الثاني/نوفمبر 1964 ومغادرة البلاد. توفي الملك سعود عام 1969 في اليونان. وتوفي في اليونان في 24 كانون الثاني/يناير 1969 عن عمر يناهز 67 عاماً

إقرأ المزيد

ملف فنك الشامل عن السعودية يوفر لمحة شاملة عن هذه الدولة وتاريخها ...
تعود جذور المملكة العربية السعودية إلى الحضارات الأولى في شبه الج...
بسط آل سعود سيطرتهم في الرياض عام 1902، وبموافقة البريطانيين توسّعو...

© Copyright Notice

Please contact us in case of omissions concerning copyright-protected work. The acquired copyright protected images used on/as featured image of this page are: AFP photo ©AFP

الجهل يقود إلى الخوف، الخوف يقود إلى الكراهية، والكراهية تقود إلى العنف هذه هي المعادلة.
ابن رشد (١١٢٦ – ١١٩٨)

إن مؤسستنا منظمةٌ هولندية غير حكومية لا تسعى لتحقيق الأرباح. هذه المؤسسة يجري تمويلها بصورةٍ حصرية عبر أفرادٍ يشاركوننا الإيمان بضرورة نشر معلومات موثوقة وغير متحيزة عن منطقة الشرق الأوسط وشمال إفريقيا، محاكين بذلك المزاج الشعبي السائد في المنطقة ولنعبّر عن صوت أبناء المنطقة بما نقدمه من معلومات ناجعة وتتحلى بالمصداقية.

ولذلك، فإننا نقدّر عالياً ما تقدمه لنا من دعمٍ وسنحرص على أن يعكس هذا الدعم بطريقةٍ إيجابية على الصالح العام!

ملف التحديث الإقليمي COVID-19

احصل على آخر تحديث عن تفشي فيروس كورونا في الشرق الأوسط وشمال إفريقيا

تطورات فيروس كورونا

Fanack Home / Saudi Arabia / History of Saudi Arabia from Past to Present / After Ibn Saud

After Ibn Saud

Saudi Arabia’s Crown Prince Faisal ibn Abdul Aziz Al Saud in 1939 (Photo by AFP)

Ibn Saud died on 9 November 1953, aged 77, leaving his eldest son Saud bin Abdulaziz Al Saud (born 1902) to assume the title of King. Before his death Ibn Saud had designated his eldest son as his successor, although Saud’s half brother, Faisal bin Abdulaziz (born 1906), was much fitter for the job. Fearing the political consequences of escalating rivalry between his two sons, Ibn Saud designated Faisal as Crown Prince to the future King (later he would also serve as Prime Minister and Minister of Foreign Affairs).

As a country allied with the United States, Saudi Arabia felt the pressure of a growing anti-Western and anti-colonial mood in the Arab world. Egypt’s president Gamal Abdul Nasser became its ideological and political opponent during the reign of King Saud. Inspired by Arab revolutionary rhetoric, a group of princes led by Talal bin Abdulaziz Al Saud, another son of Ibn Saud (and a half brother of King Saud), fled to Egypt and established the Free Princes Movement. The movement demanded the transformation of Saudi Arabia into a constitutional monarchy. The movement remained in exile without achieving its objectives. The same applied to non-royal Arab nationalist and communist oppositional forces.

King Saud inherited a kingdom lacking modern institutions and state bureaucracy but with promising wealth. The new wealth was squandered on palaces and consumption, and only rudimentary modernization was possible. The state finances were mishandled. In 1964, after years of internal strife between King and Crown Prince over matters like these, Faisal with the support of the majority of the other princes, challenged the King’s authority and forced him to abdicate. Thereupon Saud left the country. He died in Greece on 24 January 1969, aged 67.

Further Reading

Fanack’s Saudi Arabia country file provides a comprehensive overview about Saudi Arabia, its history, politics, cultur...
The Kingdom of Saudi Arabia has its roots in the early civilizations of the Arabian Peninsula, which played an important...
The Al Saud established their control in Riyadh in 1902 and, with the approval of the British, expanded into the Eastern...

© Copyright Notice

Please contact us in case of omissions concerning copyright-protected work. The acquired copyright protected images used on/as featured image of this page are: AFP photo ©AFP



"The heritage of knowledge is more valuable than gold."
Yahya ibn Abi Kathir (769-848)

We are a Dutch not for profit organisation (NGO), financed solely by individuals who share our belief in the importance of publishing and disseminating reliable, unbiased information on the Middle East & North Africa region. To represent the voice of the region’s people, we carefully echo the region’s heartbeat by offering fact-checked and therefore credible information.

Your support is greatly appreciated and helpful!