فَنَكْ وقائع وأحداث عن الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا / المملكة العربية السعودية / من الماضي الى الحاضر / الأمم المتحدة تصدر تقريراً دامغاً في قضية مقتل خاشقجي- هل سيحدث ذلك أي فرق؟

الأمم المتحدة تصدر تقريراً دامغاً في قضية مقتل خاشقجي- هل سيحدث ذلك أي فرق؟

خاشقجي المملكة العربية السعودية الأمم المتحدة
المقررة الخاصة للأمم المتحدة المعنية بحالات الإعدام خارج نطاق القضاء، أغنيس كالامارد (يسار)، التي أصدرت تقريراً عن مقتل الصحفي السعودي جمال خاشقجي، تُحيي خطيبة خاشقجي والكاتبة التركية خديجة جنكيز خلال ندوةٍ أقيمت على هامش اجتماع مجلس حقوق الإنسان التابع للأمم المتحدة في جنيف في 25 يونيو 2019. Photo AFP

أدى اختفاء الصحفي السعودي الراحل جمال خاشقجي في أكتوبر 2018 إلى زيادة الجدل الدائر حول المملكة العربية السعودية، حيث تم الكشف عن تورط ولي العهد الأمير محمد بن سلمان في اغتياله. ولكن بعد أسابيع قليلة، تراجعت الضجة الأولية التي عبر عنها قادة العالم، وتم اتباع نهج “العمل كالمعتاد” أثناء إجراء التحقيقات.

أجريّ أحد هذه التحقيقات من قبل المقررة الخاصة للأمم المتحدة المعنية بحالات الإعدام خارج نطاق القضاء، أغنيس كالامارد. تم تقديم التقرير الذي نُشر في 19 يونيو 2019، إلى مجلس حقوق الإنسان في 26 يونيو. وعليه، خلصت كالامارد في التقرير إلى أن خاشقجي كان ضحية لعملية “إعدام خارج نطاق القضاء نفذت مع سبق الإصرار والذي تتحمل دولة المملكة العربية السعودية المسؤولية عنه.”
وباعتباره تقريراً غير ملزم، ما وقع تأثير هذا الإدعاء؟

في 2 أكتوبر 2018، دخل جمال خاشقجي القنصلية السعودية في اسطنبول بتركيا لتحصيل أوراقٍ تتعلق بزواجه، إلا أنه لم يخرج قط. وبحلول 3 أكتوبر، أكدت الحكومة السعودية أن الصحفي البالغ من العمر 59 عاماً في عداد المفقودين مع نفي معرفة مصيره. وفي الأيام التالية، بدأت الأدلة تتصاعد بأن مسؤولين سعوديين نفذوا عملية اغتياله، بما في ذلك ادعاءاتٍ بأن فريقاً قوامه 15 رجلاً قد وصل إلى إسطنبول من المملكة العربية السعودية في 29 سبتمبر. ومع استمرار الضغوطات، بدأت المملكة العربية السعودية الاعتراف بأن خاشقجي توفي، حيث ادعت بدايةً أنه توفي بعد “عراكٍ بالأيدي” مع مسؤولين، قبل إعادة صياغة روايتهم بالقول إنه قتل في عملية متوحشة.

ومع ذلك، وجد المدعون العامون السعوديون والأتراك أدلة على تنفيذ عملية الإغتيال مع سبق الإصرار، فضلاً عن دليلٍ على وفاته خنقاً وتقطيع أوصاله. ووجدوا أيضاً أن الأمر بتنفيذ الاغتيال جاء من “أعلى المستويات” في الحكومة السعودية.

يستند التقرير المكون من 99 صفحة إلى تحقيقٍ دام ستة أشهر، والذي أشار إلى تسجيلاتٍ صوتية تركية لمسؤولين سعوديين يناقشون تقطيع جثة خاشقجي. ويذكر التقرير أيضاً أن التنظيف الجنائي للقنصلية السعودية يشير إلى وجود تستر.

وأشارت كالامارد إلى حدوث ستة انتهاكات للقانون الدولي نتيجةً للحادث، بما في ذلك الحرمان التعسفي من الحياة، واستخدام القوة خارج الحدود الإقليمية، وانتهاك استخدام الدولة السعودية للبعثات القنصلية لأغراض رسمية، والتعذيب، والاختفاء القسري، وانتهاك حرية التعبير. كما وقعت أربعة انتهاكاتٍ أخرى بسبب عدم اتخاذ إجراءاتٍ من جانب الدولة السعودية، والتي انتهكت العديد من التزاماتها فيما يتعلق بـ: مسؤولية التحقيق بفعالية وشفافية وبحسن نية، وواجب التعاون الدولي في التحقيق في الوفاة غير القانونية، وكذلك الإلتزام بعدم التكرار، وضمانات منح الأفراد- وفي هذه الحالة، خاشقجي- المحاكمة العادلة. كما تعرض سجل المملكة العربية السعودية الخاص بالسجن التعسفي للهجوم.

وبالإضافة إلى هذه الاستنتاجات، دعا تقرير الأمم المتحدة الدول، سواء تلك المشاركة في القضية أو غيرها من البلدان، إلى اتخاذ تدابير بموجب القانون الدولي وتكرار المزيد من التحقيقات في المسؤولية الفردية للمسؤولين السعوديين رفيعي المستوى، بما في ذلك مسؤولية ولي العهد.

وحتى الآن، وبعد اعتقال 18 مسؤولاً في البداية بسبب تورطهم المحتمل في عملية الإغتيال، حاكمت المملكة 11 منهم، بينما فرضت عقوبات على 17 مسؤولاً.

وفي تقرير الأمم المتحدة، كتبت كالامارد أن هذه الإجراءات لا تتسم بالشمولية الكافية، حيث لم تتمكن البلاد حتى الآن من معالجة الإخفاقات والمسائل الأساسية حول “سلسلة القيادة” ومسؤولية القيادة العليا عن التنفيذ.

وبينما يُسمح للدبلوماسيين من الأعضاء الدائمين في مجلس الأمن التابع للأمم المتحدة (المملكة المتحدة وفرنسا والولايات المتحدة وروسيا والصين) بحضور المحاكمة، فمن المحتمل أن يتم استدعاؤهم خلال مهلةٍ قصيرة لحضور وقائع الجلسات، التي يتم عقدها باللغة العربية بالكامل دون أي ترجمةٍ فورية.

كما فشل تقرير كالامارد حتى الآن في استنباط ردٍ قوي من المملكة العربية السعودية، حيث رفضه وزير الدولة السعودي للشؤون الخارجية عادل الجبير، وادعى أن كالامارد “انتهكت الإجراءات التي ينبغي أن يتخذها المقررين الخاصين.”

يزعم بعض المحللين أن هذه القضية يمكن أن تلحق الضرر بسمعة محمد بن سلمان، لأنه حاول الظهور كقائدٍ تقدمي للدولة النفطية، ولا سيما مكانته الدبلوماسية. وقال خبير الأمن في الشرق الأوسط الدكتور أندرياس كريج لـ TRT World إن العديد من صانعي السياسة الآن يميزون بين مبس (وهي اختصار شائع يشير فيه إلى محمد بن سلمان) والدولة، إلا أن هذا قد يتحول إلى تحدٍ بعد أن يصبح ولي العهد ملكاً، وبحسب ما قاله كريج “لا يريد المسؤولون الأجانب رفيعي المقام أن تتم مشاهدتهم وهم يصافحون شخصاً مثل محمد بن سلمان.” وحسب قول حسين إيبش من معهد دول الخليج العربي ومقره واشنطن، فإن سيطرة ولي العهد على السلطة في البلاد “تبدو مطلقة.”

وبحديثه إلى فَنَك، يقول ريان بوهل المحلل المختص بشؤون الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا لدى شركة ستراتفور للاستخبارات الخاصة، إنه من عدة نواحي محمد بن سلمان هو الدولة السعودية.

وبحسب قوله “يسيطر على الكثير من أذرع الجهاز الأمني، كما يسيطر على قدرٍ كبير من المنتجات الاقتصادية لبرامجها الاقتصادية،” مضيفاً أن “والده أظهر ثقة قوية جداً جداً به في معظم القرارات التي اتخذها.”

وقبل إصدار التقرير، بدا أن الخطاب الأولي المتشدد حول الأحداث من الحلفاء والشركات الدولية قد خفت حدته. فقد تجاوب الرئيس الأمريكي دونالد ترمب بدايةً مع الرواية السعودية للأحداث، قائلاً “من الواضح أنه كان هناك خداع، وكانت هناك أكاذيب،” بينما قال وزير الخارجية البريطاني جيريمي هانت إنه “إذا تبين أن القصص المروعة التي نقرأها صحيحة، فإنها تتعارض جوهرياً مع قيمنا وسنتصرف وفقاً لها.”

بالإضافة إلى ذلك، قرر العديد من مسؤولي الأعمال التجارية والسياسيين الدوليين مقاطعة مؤتمر مبادرة مستقبل الاستثمار السعودي في عام 2018، بما في ذلك مصارف إتش إس بي سي وجاي بي مورغان، ووزير الخزانة الأمريكي ستيفن منوتشين  ووزير التجارة البريطاني ليام فوكس.

ومع ذلك، استمرت صفقات الأسلحة الدولية، ومنذ إصدار التقرير قام دونالد ترمب بتجنب الإجابة عن الدعوات التي تطالب بإشراك مكتب التحقيقات الفيدرالي بالتحقيق بمقتل خاشقجي، قائلاً إنه “تم التحقيق فيها بشكلٍ كبير،” مع الإشارة إلى أن المملكة العربية السعودية تشتري معداتٍ أمريكية بكمياتٍ كبيرة.

من ناحيةٍ أخرى، أظهر أعضاء الكونغرس مشاعر معادية للسعوديين بشكلٍ متزايد، حتى أن مجلس الشيوخ الأمريكي أوقف صفقة بقيمة مليار دولار كانت تنطوي على مبيعات أسلحة للسعودية، على الرغم من أن ترمب استخدم حق النقض (الفيتو) الخاص به لإتمام الصفقة.

وقال لنا بوهل أن الولايات المتحدة قد أشارت إلى أنها غير مهتمة باستخدام حقوق الإنسان كهدفٍ للسياسة الخارجية، خاصة عندما يتعلق الأمر بالمملكة العربية السعودية.

وفي هذا الصدد، وقال بوهل: “يتواصل جاريد كوشنر وبن سلمان بانتظام، وتربطهما علاقة شخصية. ونعلم أن إدارة ترمب تُقدّر هذا النوع من العلاقات كثيراً لغاية إنجاز أعمالها.”

وقال بوهل أن مجلس الشيوخ الأمريكي سيحتاج إلى أغلبية كبيرة جداً للتغلب على حق النقض للرئيس.
ومع ذلك، يغذي تقرير الأمم المتحدة الاتجاه الذي يشهد دعوات الأفراد والمؤسسات إلى مزيدٍ من الخطاب العام حول العلاقات المستقبلية مع المملكة، بحسب بوهل.

فقد وجد حكمٌ صدر مؤخراً عن محكمة الاستئناف في لندن أن منح الحكومة البريطانية تراخيص تصدير للسعودية غير قانوني ذلك أنه لم يتم تقييمها بشكلٍ صحيح إذا ما كانت الأسلحة المصنعة من قبل شركاتٍ في المملكة المتحدة قد استخدمت في هجوم التحالف الذي تقوده السعودية على اليمن. وتشير بيانات المجتمع المدني إلى أن التحالف مسؤول عن أكثر من 8000 حالة وفاة في اليمن منذ عام 2015.

وقال بوهل: “يمكن أن ينجح تقرير خاشقجي في الوصول إلى محكمةٍ أوروبية.” أو يمكن استخدامه من قبل إدارة ديمقراطية أمريكية مستقبلية أو حكومة عمالية بريطانية للإشارة إلى كيفية إدارتها لعلاقاتها مع المملكة العربية السعودية والتعامل معها.

في التقرير أيضاً، اقترحت كالامارد أن هناك حاجة إلى آلياتٍ جديدة على مستوى الأمم المتحدة لتعزيز منع عمليات القتل المستهدف والتحقيق الجنائي بشأنها. وعليه، باتت الكرة الآن في ملعب الأمين العام للأمم المتحدة أنطونيو غوتيريس.

وفي الوقت الذي دعا فيه المدافعون عن حقوق الإنسان، مثل مديرة البحوث للشرق الأوسط في منظمة العفو الدولية لين معلوف، غوتيريس إلى “الأخذ على الفور بتوصية المقررة الخاصة بالشروع في متابعة تحقيق جنائي دولي،” قال بوهل إن الولايات المتحدة “ستحاول إبطاء وإعاقة” الجهود المبذولة لمحاسبة كبار المسؤولين.

على الأقل، يُضاف تقرير كالامارد إلى مجموعةٍ من الأدلة التي يمكن الاستفادة منها من قبل الجهات الفاعلة التي تسعى للمساءلة عن الأفعال التي تنتهك القانون الدولي. بيد أنه من غير المرجح أن يكون أي طريق نحو تحقيق العدالة بشفافية لجمال خاشقجي سهلاً.

image_pdfimage_print

دعمكم عونٌ لنا

فَنَك هي مؤسسة إعلامية إلكترونية مستقلة، لا تمولها أي دولة أو مجموعات مصالح. تلتزم فَنَك بنشر تحليلاتٍ مبنية على الوقائع ومحايدة، إلى جانب التقارير المواضيعية حول الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا.
شهد الموقع نمواً سريعاً في نطاق وعمق المعلومات التي يُقدمها، واليوم، بات يُشكل مصدراً غنياً وقيماً للمعلومات عن 21 بلداً، من المغرب إلى عُمان ومن إيران إلى اليمن، باللغتين العربية والإنجليزية. حالياً، وصل عدد القراء إلى 6 ملايين سنوياً، والعدد آخذٌ بالإزدياد.
لضمان حيادية المعلومات على موقع فَنَك (وقائع وأحداث) ، تُنشر المقالات دون ذكر أسماء الكتّاب، مما يُتيح أيضاً لمراسلينا مساحة أكبر من الحرية عند التطرق إلى القضايا الحساسة أو المثيرة للجدل فى بلادهم. وإلى جانب ذلك، نتحرى حقائق جميع المعلومات الواردة في مقالاتنا قبل النشر لضمان دقة المعلومات، وحداثتها وحيادها.

استمرارية تشغيل مثل هذا الموقع الإلكتروني مُكلفة للغاية. بتبرعٍ صغيرٍ منك، يمكنك المساهمة في الحفاظ على حرية واستقلالية تغطيتنا.

Fanack Home / Saudi Arabia / History of Saudi Arabia from Past to Present / The UN Released a Damning Report on Khashoggi’s Killing – Will It Make a Difference?

The UN Released a Damning Report on Khashoggi’s Killing – Will It Make a Difference?

Khashoggi UN saudi arabia
United Nations special rapporteur on extrajudicial, summary or arbitrary executions Agnes Callamard (L), who issued a report of the killing of Saudi journalist Jamal Khashoggi, greets Khashoggi’s fiancee and Turkish writer Hatice Cengiz at a side event during the United Nations Human Rights Council in Geneva on June 25, 2019. ©AFP ⁃ FABRICE COFFRINI

The disappearance of the late Saudi journalist Jamal Khashoggi in October 2018 heightened controversy surrounding the Kingdom of Saudi Arabia, as the country’s Crown Prince Mohammed bin Salman was revealed to be implicated in his killing. But a few weeks in, the initial furore expressed by world leaders was meted, and a “business as usual” approach has arguably ensued while investigations run their course.

One such investigation was carried out by the UN special rapporteur on extrajudicial killings, Agnes Callamard. Published on June 19, 2019, it was presented to the Human Rights Council on June 26. In the report, Callamard deduced that Khashoggi had been the victim of a “premeditated extrajudicial execution, for which the State of Saudi Arabia is responsible.” As a non-binding report, what impact does this allegation have?

On October 2, 2018, Jamal Khashoggi entered the Saudi consulate in Istanbul, Turkey to collect paperwork for his marriage but never came out. By October 3, the Saudi government confirmed that the 59-year-old journalist was missing but denied knowledge of his fate. In the following days, evidence started mounting that Saudi officials had carried out his murder, including claims that a 15-men strong hit squad had arrived in Istanbul from Saudi Arabia on September 29 . As pressure kept building, Saudi Arabia started to concede that Khashoggi was dead, initially claiming he died in a “fist-fight” with officials, before reframing their version to say he was killed in a rogue operation.

However, Saudi and Turkish prosecutors found evidence of premeditation, as well as proof of death by strangulation and dismemberment of his body. They also found that the order to carry out the assassination came from the “highest levels” of Saudi Arabia’s government.

The 99-page report is based on a six-month investigation, which cited Turkish audio recordings of Saudi officials discussing dismembering Khashoggi’s body. The report also states that the forensic cleaning of the Saudi consulate indicated a cover-up.

Callamard noted that six violations of international law took place as a result of the incident, including the arbitrary deprivation of life, an extraterritorial use of force, the Saudi state’s use of consular mission for official purpose, torture, enforced disappearance and violation of the freedom of expression. Four further violations took place due to the lack of action from the Saudi state, which violated several of its obligations: the obligation to investigate the murder effectively, transparently, and in good faith, to cooperate with international actors in investigating this unlawful death, as well as the obligation of non-repetition and to grant people – in this case, Khashoggi – a fair trial. The Saudi state’s record on arbitrary imprisonment also came under fire.

In addition to these conclusions, the UN report called on states, both the ones involved in the case and other countries, to take measures under international law and to iterate further investigation into the individual liability of high-level Saudi officials, including that of the Crown Prince.

So far, after initially detaining 18 officials for their potential involvement in the murder, the Kingdom has prosecuted 11 of them, while 17 officials have been given sanctions.

In the UN report, Callamard writes that these measures do not go far enough, as the country has so far been unable to address central failures and questions over the “chain of command” and senior leadership responsibility.

While diplomats from the UN Security Council‘s permanent members (UK, France, USA, Russia, China) are allowed to attend the trial, they are likely to be summoned at short notice to attend proceedings, and these are being held entirely in Arabic without interpreters.

Callamard’s report has also so far failed to elicit a strong response from Saudi Arabia, with the Saudi minister of state for foreign affairs, Adel al-Jubeir, dismissing it and claiming that Callamard “breached procedures that need to be applied to the special rapporteurs.”

Some analysts claim that this case could hurt Mohammed bin Salman’s reputation, as he has tried to come across as a progressive leader of the petrostate, and particularly his diplomatic stature. Middle East security expert Dr Andreas Krieg told TRT World that right now many policymakers are making a distinction between MBS (a common acronym by which Mohammed bin Salman is referred) and the state, but that could turn challenging after the Crown Prince becomes king: “Foreign dignitaries do not want to be seen shaking hands with someone like MBS”, Krieg said. Yet according to Hussein Ibish of the Arab Gulf State Institute in Washington, the Crown Prince’s hold on power in the country “appears absolute.”

Speaking to Fanack Chronicle, Ryan Bohl, a Middle East and North African analyst for the geopolitical intelligence platform Stratfor, says that in many ways, MBS is the Saudi state.

“He controls a lot of the levers of the security apparatus, he controls a great deal of its economic product of economic programmes,” said Bohl, adding that “his father has shown pretty much very, very strong confidence in him in most decisions that he’s made.”

Prior to the report, the initial tough rhetoric on the events coming from international allies and businesses appeared to have softened. U.S. President Donald Trump. He initially responded to the Saudi narrative of events, saying “obviously there’s been deception, and there’s been lies,” while UK Foreign Secretary Jeremy Hunt said that “if the appalling stories we are reading turn out to be true, they are fundamentally incompatible with our values and we will act accordingly.”

In addition, various international business and political officials decided to boycott the Saudi’s Future Investment Initiative conference in 2018, including the banks HSBC and JP Morgan, the U.S treasury secretary Steven Mnuchin and the British trade minister Liam Fox.

International arms deals have, however, continued and since the report, Donald Trump has skirted answers on whether calls for an FBI investigation will be acted on, saying it’s “been heavily investigated,” while making the point that Saudi Arabia buys substantial American wares.

Congresspeople, on the other hand, have showed an increasing anti-Saudi sentiment and the U.S. Senate even blocked a billion-dollar deal that would have involved arms sales to Saudi Arabia, although Trump used his veto power to push it through.

Bohl told Fanack Chronicle that the U.S. has signaled that it’s not interested in using human rights as a foreign policy objective, particularly when it comes to Saudi Arabia.

“Jared Kushner and bin Salman communicate regularly, they have a personal relationship. And we know the Trump administration values those kinds of relationships quite a great deal to get their business done”, Bohl said. Bohl added that the US Congress would need a super-majority to overcome the President’s veto pattern.

However, the UN report fuels a trend that sees people and institutions calling for more public discourse around future relations with the Kingdom, Bohl argued.

A recent Court of Appeal ruling in London found the British government’s granting of export licences to Saudi Arabia illegal because it had not properly assessed if weapons manufactured by U.K. companies were used as part of the Saudi-led coalition’s offensive in Yemen. Civil society data indicates that the coalition has been responsible for more than 8,000 deaths in Yemen since 2015.

“The Khashoggi report could be something that works its way into a European court,” Bohl said. Or it could be used by a future Democratic U.S. administration or by a British Labour government to point toward and factor into how they manage their relationship with Saudi Arabia.

In the report, Callamard also suggested that new mechanisms at UN level were needed to strengthen the prevention and criminal investigation of targeted killings. That ball is now in the court of U.N. Secretary General Antonio Guterres.

While human rights campaigners, such as Amnesty International‘s Middle East Director of Research Lynn Maalouf, have called on Guterres “to immediately take up the Special Rapporteur’s recommendation to launch an international follow-up criminal investigation,” Bohl said the U.S. will “attempt to slow down and hinder” efforts to try and hold senior officials accountable.

At the very least, Callamard’s report adds to a body of evidence that can be leveraged by actors seeking accountability for actions outside of international law. But any path toward transparent justice for Jamal Khashoggi is unlikely to be straightforward.

© Copyright Notice

click on link to view the associated photo/image
©AFP ⁃ BULENT KILIC | ©AFP ⁃ FABRICE COFFRINI

We would like to ask you something …

Fanack is an independent media organisation, not funded by any state or any interest group, that distributes in the Middle East and the wider world unbiased analysis and background information, based on facts, about the Middle East and North Africa.

The website grew rapidly in breadth and depth and today forms a rich and valuable source of information on 21 countries, from Morocco to Oman and from Iran to Yemen, both in Arabic and English. We currently reach six million readers annually and growing fast.

In order to guarantee the impartiality of information on the Chronicle, articles are published without by-lines. This also allows correspondents to write more freely about sensitive or controversial issues in their country. All articles are fact-checked before publication to ensure that content is accurate, current and unbiased.

To run such a website is very expensive. With a small donation, you can make a huge impact. And it only takes a minute. Thank you.