فَنَكْ وقائع وأحداث عن الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا / المملكة العربية السعودية / من الماضي الى الحاضر / الملك فيصل

الملك فيصل

عام 1964، وبعد خلع أخيه، تولى فيصل منصبي الملك ورئيس الوزراء. وأدخل سلسلة من التدابير بغية السيطرة على موارد الحكومة المالية، بالإضافة إلى المؤسسات الحديثة والبيروقراطية، لإقامة نظام ملكي دستوري. فأرسى الملك فيصل أسس دولة سعودية شديدة المركزية ذات حريات ومشاركة سياسية محدودة. كما أدخل سلسلة من الإصلاحات الداخلية تتراوح بين الرعاية الصحية المجانية والتعليم المجاني إلى إدخال التلفزيون. وعلى الجبهة الاقتصادية، أخذ سلسلة من المبادرات نتج عنها خطة خمسية في أوائل السبعينات.

مع هزيمة مصر في حرب حزيران/يونيو عام 1967 ووفاة عبد الناصر بعد ثلاث سنوات، ظهرت المملكة العربية السعودية كزعيم للعالم العربي. ونظراً لمواردها النفطية وأهميتها الدينية، عزز الملك فيصل البلاد كبديل للأنظمة العربية الثورية في الستينات من خلال تبنّي جدول أعمال إسلامي. وانتقلت السلطة من القاهرة ودمشق وبغداد إلى الرياض. استجاب فيصل إلى دعوات العرب بحظر تصدير النفط خلال الحرب المصرية الإسرائيلية عام 1973، مما زاد من شعبيته، ليس في العالم العربي فحسب، وإنما أيضاً على نطاق أوسع بين أوساط المسلمين. وعلى الرغم من التوتر قصير الأمد مع الغرب، برز فيصل كلاعب هام في السياسة الإقليمية.

اغتيل الملك فيصل على يد ابن أخيه، الأمير فيصل بن مساعد آل سعود، في 25 آذار/مارس 1975 (68 عاماً) انتقاماً لمقتل شقيق القاتل، الأمير خالد بن مساعد، في الستينات على يد أجهزة الأمن السعودية. تولى الخلافة بعده أخوه ولي العهد خالد بن عبد العزيز آل سعود.

Landscape
Landscape
King Faisal and Queen Elisabeth of Great Brittain in London, 1967 / Photo HH
الملك فيصل والملكة أليزابيت خلال زيارة رسمية إلى لندن عام 1967 / Photo HH /اضغط للتكبير

دعمكم عونٌ لنا

فَنَك هي مؤسسة إعلامية إلكترونية مستقلة، لا تمولها أي دولة أو مجموعات مصالح. تلتزم فَنَك بنشر تحليلاتٍ مبنية على الوقائع ومحايدة، إلى جانب التقارير المواضيعية حول الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا.
شهد الموقع نمواً سريعاً في نطاق وعمق المعلومات التي يُقدمها، واليوم، بات يُشكل مصدراً غنياً وقيماً للمعلومات عن 21 بلداً، من المغرب إلى عُمان ومن إيران إلى اليمن، باللغتين العربية والإنجليزية. حالياً، وصل عدد القراء إلى 6 ملايين سنوياً، والعدد آخذٌ بالإزدياد.
لضمان حيادية المعلومات على موقع فَنَك (وقائع وأحداث) ، تُنشر المقالات دون ذكر أسماء الكتّاب، مما يُتيح أيضاً لمراسلينا مساحة أكبر من الحرية عند التطرق إلى القضايا الحساسة أو المثيرة للجدل فى بلادهم. وإلى جانب ذلك، نتحرى حقائق جميع المعلومات الواردة في مقالاتنا قبل النشر لضمان دقة المعلومات، وحداثتها وحيادها.

استمرارية تشغيل مثل هذا الموقع الإلكتروني مُكلفة للغاية. بتبرعٍ صغيرٍ منك، يمكنك المساهمة في الحفاظ على حرية واستقلالية تغطيتنا.

Fanack Home / Saudi Arabia / Past to Present / King Faisal

King Faisal

In 1964, after his brother had been disposed, Faisal assumed the titles of King and Prime Minister. He introduced a series of measures to control the government finances and new, modern institutions and bureaucracies, without seriously responding to demands for the establishment of a constitutional monarchy. The foundation of a highly centralized Saudi state with limited freedoms and political participation was laid down by him. He introduced a series of domestic reforms ranging from free health care and education to the introduction of television. On the economic front he would take a series of initiatives, culminating in a five year plan in the early 1970s.

With the defeat of Egypt in the 1967 June War and the death of Nasser three years later, Saudi Arabia emerged as contested leader of the Arab world. Given its oil resources and religious significance, King Faisal promoted the country as an alternative to the revolutionary Arab regimes of the 1960s by adopting a pan-Islamic agenda. Power shifted from Cairo, Damascus, and Baghdad to Riyadh. Faisal responded to Arab calls for an oil embargo during the Egyptian-Israeli War in 1973, which increased his popularity not only in the Arab world but also more broadly among Muslims. Notwithstanding a short-lived tension with the West, he emerged as an important player in regional politics.

Landscape
King Faisal
King Faisal and Queen Elisabeth of Great Brittain in London, 1967 / Photo HH
King Faisal and Queen Elisabeth of Great Brittain in London, 1967 / Photo HH

King Faisal was assassinated by his nephew, Prince Faisal bin Musaid Al Saud, on 25 March 1975 (aged 68) presumably in revenge for the death of the assassin’s brother, Prince Khalid bin Musaid, in the 1960s at the hands of Saudi security services.

image_pdfimage_print

We would like to ask you something …

Fanack is an independent media organisation, not funded by any state or any interest group, that distributes in the Middle East and the wider world unbiased analysis and background information, based on facts, about the Middle East and North Africa.

The website grew rapidly in breadth and depth and today forms a rich and valuable source of information on 21 countries, from Morocco to Oman and from Iran to Yemen, both in Arabic and English. We currently reach six million readers annually and growing fast.

In order to guarantee the impartiality of information on the Chronicle, articles are published without by-lines. This also allows correspondents to write more freely about sensitive or controversial issues in their country. All articles are fact-checked before publication to ensure that content is accurate, current and unbiased.

To run such a website is very expensive. With a small donation, you can make a huge impact. And it only takes a minute. Thank you.