فَنَكْ وقائع وأحداث عن الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا / المملكة العربية السعودية / من الماضي الى الحاضر / المملكة العربية السعودية تتخذ أولى الخطوات لفك الإرتباط بالوهابية بعد عقودٍ من التحالف

المملكة العربية السعودية تتخذ أولى الخطوات لفك الإرتباط بالوهابية بعد عقودٍ من التحالف

saudi wahhabism
مشاعل الجالود، أخصائية الموارد البشرية السعودية البالغة من العمر 33 عاماً، تتجول وهي ترتدي ملابس غربية بينما تمر أمام نساء يرتدين النقاب، في منطقة تجارية في العاصمة السعودية الرياض في 3 سبتمبر 2019.Photo: FAYEZ NURELDINE / AFP

في عام 1157 هجري (1744 ميلادي) وفي بلدة الدرعية شمالي العاصمة السعودية الرياض، أبرم محمد بن سعود، مؤسس الدولة السعودية الأولى، ورجل الدين محمد بن عبد الوهاب تحالفاً سياسياً دينياً، اقتسم الاثنان بموجبه السلطة، حيث وفر بن سعود الحماية والدعم السياسي والعسكري للدعوة الوهابية الدينية المتشددة، بينما وفر بن عبد الوهاب وتياره الفكري الدعم الديني والثقافي للدولة السعودية.

جعل ذلك التحالف الوهابية والسياسة السعودية حليفين يتغذى كل منهما على الآخر لأكثر من 250 عام، حتى بعد سقوط الدولة السعودية الأولى عام 1818 ونشوء الدولة السعودية الثانية والثالثة. إلا أن ذلك التحالف شهد انهياراً كبيراً مع تولي محمد بن سلمان ولاية العهد في المملكة عام 2017، محتفظاً بالحق الديني في الحكم ولكن مع تنحية الوهابية كإطار ديني وفكري لدولته جانبا.

ظهور التطرف الديني

عُرف عن محمد بن عبد الوهاب تشدده الديني منذ بداية دعوته عام 1740 في مدينة حُريملاء، شمال الرياض وذلك بعد وفاة والده، الذي كان رجل دين هو الآخر. إلا أن ذلك التشدد قوبل برفض من أهل تلك المدينة فانتقل إلى مسقط رأسه بمدينة العيينة، لتنتقل دعوته من الكلام إلى الفعل حيث قام هو واتباعه بهدم القباب المقامة على القبور والأضرحة وقطع الأشجار التي كان يتبرك بها أهل المدينة وما حولها وغيرها مع تكفير من يدعي إلى التبرك بقبور الأولياء والصالحين، وهو ما أعقبه طرده مرة أخرى من مسقط رأسه إلى مدينة الدرعية حيث قابل محمد بن سعود.

بعد وقوع ذلك التحالف، بدأ أتباع الاثنين في غزو المُدن والقرى لتأسيس الدولة السعودية الأولى، ذلك الغزو الذي يوصف بالدموي وخاصة فيما عُرف بغزوة كربلاء في العراق حيث تم قتل غالبية أهل المدينة في الشوارع والبيوت والاستيلاء على ممتلكاتهم وأمتعتهم وأموالهم ومواشيهم بدعوى أنهم من المشركين الذين لا حقوق لهم عند المسلمين الوحيدين في الجزيرة العربية والذين هم أتباع بن عبد الوهاب وبن سعود. كما تم إتباع هذا النهج الدموي في مناطق أخرى حتى استطاعوا ضم مكة والمدينة إلى الدولة السعودية عام 1805.

ما هي الوهابية؟

الوهابية هي شكلٌ متشدد من الإسلام السُني الذي يصر على التفسير الحرفي للقرآن. يؤمن أتباع الوهابية أنها جاءت لتنقية الدين الإسلامي من العادات والمظاهر الملتبسة بالشرك والكفر، وهو ما يوضحه عبد العزيز بن باز، مُفتي السعودية السابق وأحد أعلام الوهابية، والذي يرى بأن الوهابية تدعو إلى توحيد الله وأنكار التعلق بالقبور والأموات والأصنام وتصديق الكهان والمنجمين وعبادة الأشجار والأحجار.

كما عُرف عن الوهابية تشددهم في طاعة الحُكام والرؤساء وتحريم معارضتهم أو الخروج عليهم أو محاولة ازاحتهم، وهو ما استغله الملوك من سلالة آل سعود لعقود طويلة كسند لحكمهم. كما كان للوهابية دور كبير في التشدد الديني داخل المملكة والذي كان من مظاهره إنشاء هيئة الأمر بالمعروف والنهي عن المنكر التي عملت لسنوات طويلة على محاربة ومنع مظاهر الفن والموسيقى والتضييق على النساء بمنعهن من كثير من الحقوق والتضييق عليهن وفرض الوصاية عليهم وغيرها من ملامح التشدد الديني.

كما استُغِل المذهب الوهابي المتشدد في استقطاب الملايين من الأتباع في العالم الإسلامي، والذين عُرفوا بالسلفيين، وأقاموا المساجد التي تنشر هذا الفكر في مختلف دول العالم وأغدقت الأموال الكثيرة على هذه الاستراتيجية- لا سيما تذاكر السفر لجذب المجاهدين من شتى أنحاء العالم للحرب في أفغانستان، والدفع بهيئات الإغاثة السعودية إلى العمل هناك. وهو ما أشار إليه ولي العهد السعودي، محمد بن سلمان، في حوار له مع صحيفة الواشنطن بوست والذي قال فيه “إن الاستثمار في المدارس والمساجد حول العالم مرتبط بالحرب الباردة، عندما طلبت الدول الحليفة من السعودية استخدام مالها لمنع تقدم الاتحاد السوفييتي في دول العالم الإسلامي.”

وبجانب الحرب في أفغانستان، دعمت المملكة الكثير من المجموعات الدينية المُتشددة في الدول العربية وساهمت في إنشاء الجمعيات والمساجد والمدارس التي تتبنى المذهب الوهابي، وهو ما كان له شديد الأثر في المنطقة العربية عقب اندلاع الربيع العربي أواخر عام 2010، حيث برزت الجماعات الدينية المُتشددة في المشهد السياسي للدول التي شهدت انتفاضات كبيرة. كان أشدها وأكثرها خطورة ما حدث في سوريا حيث نزح الألاف من المجاهدين والمتشددين دينياً الذين شكلوا ميليشيات لمحاربة النظام، حتى تحولت إلى حرب ارتكبت خلالها هذه المجموعات مذابح ضد المدنيين وفرضت نظم دينية متشددة وقمعية وارهابية في المناطق التي سيطرت عليها. ومع ذلك، شهدت العديد من دول الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا تفجيراتٍ وعمليات إرهابية، وهو ما جاء برد فعل عكسي على التحول الديمقراطي في المنطقة الذي جعل العالم يصم آذنه عن الأنظمة الديكتاتورية مقابل الحرب على هذه المجموعات المتشددة.

أولى خطوات الإنفصال

في عام 2015 ومع تصاعد نفوذ ولي العهد الجديد، محمد بن سلمان، اتبعت المملكة نظاماً أكثر انفتاحاً وليبرالية في كثير من الجوانب خاصة فيما يتعلق بالحريات الفردية ومظاهر الفن. فعلى سبيل المثال، وضعت قيود كبيرة على هيئة الأمر بالمعروف والنهي عن المنكر وسُمح للنساء لأول مرة بقيادة السيارات والتي كانت محظورة عليهن، وأُنشأت الهيئة العامة للترفيه التي رعت نشر الفن والموسيقى في المملكة.

وعلاوةً على ذلك، تم التضييق على المشايخ المتشددين مما دفع غالبيتهم إلى التراجع عن الآراء المتشددة ودعم رؤية ولي العهد. فعلى سبيل المثال، وصل ذلك التراجع إلى تنصل عضو هيئة كبار العلماء بالسعودية والمستشار بالديوان الملكي عبد الله المنيع من الوهابية ووصفها بالوهمية والخيالية وليس لها من الواقع شيء. وأضاف، أن وصف السعودية بالوهابية مجرد افتراءات سياسية يراد بها التنفير من البلاد.

وصفت إصلاحات ولي العهد ضد التشدد الديني في المملكة بأنها الخطوة الأولى في مشوار فك الارتباط بين النظام السعودي والوهابية، الذي امتد إلى قرونٍ من الزمان. ومع ذلك، ظلت الحريات السياسية على حالها ولم تتأثر بهذا التغيير ولا تزال مُقيّدة. ففي السنوات الأخيرة، قام النظام باعتقال العشرات من المعارضين السياسيين أو النشطاء على مواقع التواصل الاجتماعي والذين لهم آراء مخالفة لولي العهد.

إقرأ المزيد

ملف فنك الشامل عن السعودية يوفر لمحة شاملة عن هذه الدولة وتاريخها ...
تعود جذور المملكة العربية السعودية إلى الحضارات الأولى في شبه الج...
يأمل المراقبون أن ينجح محمد بن سلمان في كبح جماح تأثير رجال الدين ...

© Copyright Notice

Please contact us in case of omissions concerning copyright-protected work. The acquired copyright protected images used on/as featured image of this page are: FAYEZ NURELDINE ©AFP | FAYEZ NURELDINE ©AFP

الجهل يقود إلى الخوف، الخوف يقود إلى الكراهية، والكراهية تقود إلى العنف هذه هي المعادلة.
ابن رشد (١١٢٦ – ١١٩٨)

إن مؤسستنا منظمةٌ هولندية غير حكومية لا تسعى لتحقيق الأرباح. هذه المؤسسة يجري تمويلها بصورةٍ حصرية عبر أفرادٍ يشاركوننا الإيمان بضرورة نشر معلومات موثوقة وغير متحيزة عن منطقة الشرق الأوسط وشمال إفريقيا، محاكين بذلك المزاج الشعبي السائد في المنطقة ولنعبّر عن صوت أبناء المنطقة بما نقدمه من معلومات ناجعة وتتحلى بالمصداقية.

ولذلك، فإننا نقدّر عالياً ما تقدمه لنا من دعمٍ وسنحرص على أن يعكس هذا الدعم بطريقةٍ إيجابية على الصالح العام!

ملف التحديث الإقليمي COVID-19

احصل على آخر تحديث عن تفشي فيروس كورونا في الشرق الأوسط وشمال إفريقيا

تطورات فيروس كورونا

Fanack Home / Saudi Arabia / History of Saudi Arabia from Past to Present / Saudi Arabia Takes First Step to Disengage from Wahhabism After Centuries of Alliance

Saudi Arabia Takes First Step to Disengage from Wahhabism After Centuries of Alliance

saudi wahhabism
Saudi human resources professional Mashael al-Jaloud, 33, walks in western clothes past women wearing the niqab, an Islamic dress code for women, at a commercial area in the Saudi capital Riyadh on September 3, 2019. Photo: FAYEZ NURELDINE / AFP

In 1157 Hijri (1744 CE) in the town of Diriyah, north of the Saudi capital Riyadh, Mohammed bin Saud, founder of the first Saudi state, and cleric Mohammed bin Abdul Wahhab concluded a political and religious alliance. Under this alliance, the two shared power and Bin Saud provided protection and political and military support for the radical religious Wahhabi dawah (call to faith), while Abdul Wahhab and his followers provided religious and cultural support to the Saudi state.

This alliance allowed Wahhabism and Saudi politics to feed off each other for more than 250 years, even after the fall of the first Saudi state in 1818 and the emergence of the second and third Saudi states. However, the alliance saw a major change when Mohammed bin Salman, also known as MBS, was appointed crown prince of Saudi Arabia in 2017. He retained the religious right to rule and put Wahhabism aside as a religious and intellectual framework for the country.

Emergence of religious extremism

Abdul Wahhab first emerged as a religious extremist in 1740 in the city of Haremela following the death of his father, who was also a clergyman. However, the people of the city rejected his dawah, so he moved backed to his hometown of Uyaynah. By this time, his dawah had moved from words to action in which he and his followers demolished domes erected on graves and shrines, cut down trees that were blessed by the local residents, and considered as infidel anyone who sanctified the graves of the saints and righteous. As a result, he was kicked out of Uyaynah and moved to Diriyah, where he met Bin Saud.

After the alliance had been struck between the two men, their followers began to invade and take control of cities and villages. The invasion of Karbala in Iraq was particularly bloody. Most of the residents were killed, and their property and belongings were seized under the pretext that they were polytheists who were not entitled to any rights. A similar approach was taken in other areas until Mecca and Medina, now two of Islam’s holiest cities, were annexed to the Saudi state in 1805.

What is Wahhabism?

Wahhabism is an austere form of Sunni Islam that insists on a literal interpretation of the Koran. Adherents believe that Wahhabism will purify Islam of customs and habits confused with polytheism and atheism. This was explained by Abdul Aziz bin Baz, former mufti of Saudi Arabia and one of the leaders of Wahhabism, who declared that Wahhabism calls for the oneness of God and denies attachment to graves, the dead, idols, believing in priests and astrologers, and the worship of trees and stones.

Moreover, Wahhabism is known for its strict obedience to the rulers and heads of states and prohibits opposition to them, defection or attempts to remove them from power. For decades, the House of Saud used Wahhabism to support for their rule. Wahhabism also played a major role in religious militancy within the kingdom, culminating in the establishment of the Commission for the Promotion of Virtue and the Prohibition of Vice, which worked for many years to fight and prevent manifestations of art and music, placed restrictions on women by denying them many rights and imposed guardianship on them, among other signs of religious orthodoxy.

The doctrine was also used to attract millions of followers in the Muslim world, known as Salafists, and establish mosques that spread this ideology in different countries. A significant amount of money was lavished on this strategy – notably air tickets to bring mujahideen from around the world to participate in jihad in Afghanistan as well as humanitarian aid for the country. MBS referred to this in an interview with The Washington Post in which he said, “Investment in schools and mosques around the world is linked to the Cold War, when allied countries asked Saudi Arabia to use its money to prevent the progress of the Soviet Union in the countries of the Islamic world.”

Besides the war in Afghanistan, the kingdom has supported many religious groups in Arab countries and contributed to the establishment of Wahhabi associations, mosques and schools, which had a major impact on the region following the Arab Spring uprisings in late 2010, when hardline religious groups gained a political foothold. This was most evident in Syria, where thousands of mujahideen and religious hardliners formed anti-regime militias, massacring citizens and imposing violent and repressive and religious systems in the areas they controlled. However, numerous countries in the Middle East and North Africa experienced bombings and other terrorist operations, adversely affecting the democratic transition in the region and prompting the world to turn a blind eye to dictatorial regimes in exchange for help fighting these groups.

First step towards disengagement

From 2015, as MBS gained more political influence, the kingdom took a more open approach to religious tenets, especially when it came to individual freedoms and the arts. For example, significant limitations were placed on the Commission for the Promotion of Virtue and the Prohibition of Vice. Women were also permitted to drive for the first time, and the General Authority for Entertainment was established to sponsor the dissemination of art and music.

Moreover, radical clerics have been subject to restrictions and even harassment, prompting most of them to back down from hardline views and support MBS’ purportedly more progressive vision. For example, Abdallah al-Mani, a member of the Council of Senior Scholars and advisor to the Royal Court, described Wahhabism as fake and having nothing to do with reality. He added that associating Saudi Arabia with Wahhabism is political fabrication intended to harm the country’s image.

MBS’ clampdown on religious militancy has been described as the first step towards disengagement between the Saudi regime and Wahhabism, which have been intertwined for centuries. However, political freedoms have not been affected by this change and remain restricted. In recent years, the regime has arrested dozens of political opponents, social media activists and those who express opinions contrary to the crown prince.


Further Reading

Fanack’s Saudi Arabia country file provides a comprehensive overview about Saudi Arabia, its history, politics, cultur...
The Kingdom of Saudi Arabia has its roots in the early civilizations of the Arabian Peninsula, which played an important...
Observers nonetheless hope that MBS will succeed in curtailing the influence of Wahhabi clerics. Then again, his foreign...

© Copyright Notice

Please contact us in case of omissions concerning copyright-protected work. The acquired copyright protected images used on/as featured image of this page are: FAYEZ NURELDINE ©AFP | FAYEZ NURELDINE ©AFP

COVID-19 UPDATE

Get the latest update on the Coronavirus outbreak in the Middle East and North Africa.

Regional Update

"Ignorance leads to fear, fear leads to hatred, and hatred leads to violence.
This is the equation."

IBN RUSHD/AVERROES (1126 – 1198)

We are a Dutch not for profit organisation (NGO), financed solely by individuals who share our belief in the importance of publishing and disseminating reliable, unbiased information on the Middle East & North Africa region. To represent the voice of the region’s people, we carefully echo the region’s heartbeat by offering fact-checked and therefore credible information.

Your support is greatly appreciated and helpful!