فَنَكْ وقائع وأحداث عن الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا / المملكة العربية السعودية / من الماضي الى الحاضر / الإعدامات السعودية تُشعل شرارة التوترات الاقليمية

الإعدامات السعودية تُشعل شرارة التوترات الاقليمية

Iran Protest Saudi Execution - Scroll Editorial
الشعب الإيراني يحتج على إعدام الشيخ نمر النمر مقابل السفارة السعودية في طهران, إيران – يناير 2016. Photo Scroll Editorial.

تم إعدام سبعة وأربعين شخصاً أدينوا بتخطيط وتنفيذ هجمات إرهابية ضد المدنيين وقوات الأمن في المملكة العربية السعودية في الأول من يناير 2016. ونقلت وكالة الأنباء الحكومية الرسمية (واس)، عن وزارة الداخلية أنّ 47 شخصاً أدينوا بمجموعة مختلفة من الجرائم، مثل تبني الفكر التكفيري المتطرف، والانضمام إلى “منظمات إرهابية” وتنفيذ “مؤامرات إجرامية” ضد الدولة. وتعتبر هذه أكبر عملية إعدام جماعية شهدتها المملكة منذ عام 1980 الذي شهد إعدام 63 شخصاً من المتشددين الذين استولوا على المسجد الحرام في مكة عام 1979.

وقالت الوزارة أن غالبية الأشخاص الذين أعدموا كانوا متورطين في الهجمات التي نفذها تنظيم القاعدة بين عامي 2003-2006، والتي أدت إلى وفاة العديد من السعوديين والأجانب في المملكة. خمسة وأربعون من الذين أعدموا من المواطنين السعوديين، ومواطن صيني ومصري واحد. وكانوا جميعاً قد أدينوا بالتآمر وتنفيذ هجمات إرهابية تستهدف المدنيين والقوات الأمنية في المملكة العربية السعودية والدول المجاورة.

ومما لا شك فيه أن أبرز الذين اعدموا كان نمر باقر النمر، وهو واعظ شيعي بارز من القطيف في المنطقة الشرقية في البلاد، وهي منطقة لحقول النفط الضخمة والتي يقيم فيها غالبية السعوديين الشيعة. اتهمت الحكومة النمر بكونه المحرّض الرئيسي للصراع الطائفي في المنطقة الشرقية، حيث كان قد اعترف بعشرين من التهم الموجهة له من قبل النائب العام.

وجد النمر مذنباً بمهاجمة صحابة رسول الله، وعدم مبايعته حاكم البلاد، كما صرّح علناً بأن القيادة السعودية “لا تملك الشرعية للبقاء في السلطة.” كما وجهت إليه أيضاً تهم زرع بذور الشقاق، وتحريض المواطنين ضد الدولة، وإشعال الاضطرابات الطائفية في بلدة العوامية في القطيف عام 2011 (التي أسفرت عن مقتل عدة مواطنين ورجال أمن)، واستمرار دعواته للإطاحة بالنظام الحاكم.

كما وجهت إليه أيضاً تهم إشعال الاضطرابات الطائفية في البحرين ومهاجمة قوات درع الجزيرة التي كانت تتمركز في البحرين لدعم الأسرة الحاكمة وقمع الفتنة الطائفية الشيعية. وفي قائمة طويلة من الاتهامات عقب تنفيذ حكم الاعدام، اتهم النمر أيضاً بالاجتماع سبع مراتٍ بعد صلاة الجمعة مع سبعة من الإرهابين الـ23 الواردة أسمائهم على قائمة المجرمين المطلوبين الصادرة عن وزارة الداخلية. كما اتهم أيضاً بتنظيم أعمال الشغب الطائفية في القطيف ومظاهرات أمام مقبرة البقيع في المدينة المنورة. وادعت عائلة وأنصار النمر أنه لم يسبق له أن دعا للعنف ضد السلطات السعودية أو السُنة.

وتقريباً فور الإعلان عن عملية الإعدام، انتقد أحمد خاتمي، رجل الدين الإيراني المحافظ البارز وعضو في مجلس الخبراء، بشدة العمل السعودي وتوقع أن يكون له تداعيات خطيرة. وفي تصريحات نقلتها وكالة الانباء الايرانية الرسمية، أدان حسين جابر الأنصاري، المتحدث باسم وزارة الخارجية الإيرانية بشدة الرياض لإعدامها النمر. فضلاً عن ذلك، أدان رئيس البرلمان علي لاريجاني أيضا إعدام النمر.

وبعد أقل من 24 ساعة من بث خبر إعدام النمر، هوجمت السفارة السعودية في طهران وقنصليتها في مشهد من قِبل المتظاهرين الإيرانيين احتجاجاً على قتله. وفي دول مجلس التعاون الخليجي، أكدت البحرين والإمارات العربية المتحدة دعمها لجميع الجهود السعودية لمكافحة الإرهاب. كما وصف وزير الخارجية الاماراتي الشيخ عبد الله بن زايد آل نهيان الإعدام بأن ما “اتخذته المملكة يعد رسالة واضحة ضد الإرهاب ودعاة ومثيري الفتنة والفرقة والاضطرابات الذين يسعون لتمزيق وحدة المجتمع وتهديد السلم الاجتماعي في المملكة.” كما أعلنت البحرين دعمها للسعوديين بـ”اتخاذ جميع التدابير الرادعة واللازمة الضرورية لمواجهة العنف والتطرف.”

وبعد ذلك بوقتٍ قصير، وبعد وصفهم أعمال العنف ضد البعثات الدبلوماسية السعودية في إيران، أعمالاً إرهابية، قطعت السعودية علاقاتها الدبلوماسية مع جارتها إيران، وحذت البحرين حذوها. وبينما انتقدت طهران تنفيذ حكم الإعدام بالنمر، أدانت دول الخليج وجامعة الدول العربية ومجلس هيئة كبار العلماء السعودية، الهجمات والتدخل الإيراني في المنطقة.

وبعد يوم من الهجمات على البعثات الدبلوماسية السعودية، أرسلت إيران رسالة إلى مجلس الأمن الدولي تُعرب عن أسفها عن هذه الهجمات، وتعهدت بـ”اتخاذ التدابير اللازمة لمنع وقوع حوادث مماثلة في المستقبل.” إلا أن هذا لم يبدو أنه لاقى قبولاً من قِبل السعوديين وحلفائهم.

وأعرب مجلس الأمن الدولي في بيان “عن قلقه العميق” حيال هذه الاعتداءات على البعثات الدبلوماسية، ودعا السلطات الإيرانية إلى حماية المنشآت الدبلوماسية والقنصلية والعاملين فيها طبقاً لالتزاماتها الدولية.

ومع الخطاب المحتدم بين البلدين والذي لا يوجد أي دلائل على اخماده، يخشى العديد من المحللين السياسيين أن انقطاع العلاقات الدبلوماسية قد يكون له تداعيات أكثر خطورة. ويتوقع البعض على سبيل المثال، أن يلقي بنتائج سلبية على المفاوضات بشأن الحرب في سوريا، المتورطة فيها كل من المملكة العربية السعودية وإيران على حد سواء.

وفي حين أن غالبية السعوديين السُنة يدعمون علناً موقف الحكومة ضد ما يصفونه بالإرهاب، عبر البعض عن امتعاضه، خلف الكواليس، من توقيت تحرّك الحكومة. وقال أحد السعوديين الذي تحدّث إلينا شريطة عدم الكشف عن هويته “هذا التوقيت غير ملائم لإعدام الشيخ. لم يكن له أي داعٍ، إلا إذا كان ذلك لإثارة رد فعلٍ إيراني. فمع الحرب التي لا معنى لها جنوب البلاد (اليمن)، والتي تستنزف مواردنا المالية، نحن لسنا بحاجة إلى التورط بتكوين المزيد من الأعداء.”

وقال آخر أن المملكة كانت تعاني من سلسلة من المحن بعد وفاة الملك عبد الله في يناير 2015. “بدايةً، كان هناك انخفاض أسعار النفط، تلاها الحرب ضد الحوثيين في اليمن أواخر مارس. وأعقب ذلك حادثين في مكة المكرمة خلال موسم الحج حيث توفي العديد من الحجاج. ومؤخراً أعلنت الحكومة عن رفع أسعار الوقود والكهرباء، مما جعل السلع الأخرى ترتفع بشكلٍ كبيرٍ أيضاً. والآن، توترات مع إيران؟ أخشى ما سيحدث مستقبلاً.”

دعمكم عونٌ لنا

فَنَك هي مؤسسة إعلامية إلكترونية مستقلة، لا تمولها أي دولة أو مجموعات مصالح. تلتزم فَنَك بنشر تحليلاتٍ مبنية على الوقائع ومحايدة، إلى جانب التقارير المواضيعية حول الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا.
شهد الموقع نمواً سريعاً في نطاق وعمق المعلومات التي يُقدمها، واليوم، بات يُشكل مصدراً غنياً وقيماً للمعلومات عن 21 بلداً، من المغرب إلى عُمان ومن إيران إلى اليمن، باللغتين العربية والإنجليزية. حالياً، وصل عدد القراء إلى 6 ملايين سنوياً، والعدد آخذٌ بالإزدياد.
لضمان حيادية المعلومات على موقع فَنَك (وقائع وأحداث) ، تُنشر المقالات دون ذكر أسماء الكتّاب، مما يُتيح أيضاً لمراسلينا مساحة أكبر من الحرية عند التطرق إلى القضايا الحساسة أو المثيرة للجدل فى بلادهم. وإلى جانب ذلك، نتحرى حقائق جميع المعلومات الواردة في مقالاتنا قبل النشر لضمان دقة المعلومات، وحداثتها وحيادها.

استمرارية تشغيل مثل هذا الموقع الإلكتروني مُكلفة للغاية. بتبرعٍ صغيرٍ منك، يمكنك المساهمة في الحفاظ على حرية واستقلالية تغطيتنا.

Fanack Home / Saudi Arabia / Past to Present / Saudi Executions Spark Regional Tensions

Saudi Executions Spark Regional Tensions

Iran Protest Saudi Execution - Scroll Editorial
Iranians protest Saudi execution of Sheikh Nimr al-Nimr at the Saudi Embassy in Tehran, Iran – January 2016. Photo Scroll Editorial.

Forty-seven people convicted of plotting and carrying out terrorist attacks on civilians and security forces were executed in Saudi Arabia on 1 January 2016. The official government news agency (SPA) quoted the Ministry of Interior as saying that the 47 had been convicted of a variety of crimes, such as adopting the radical takfiri ideology, joining “terrorist organizations,” and carrying out “criminal plots” against the state. This was the largest mass execution for such offences in Saudi Arabia since those in 1980 of 63 militants who had seized Mecca’s Grand Mosque in 1979.

The ministry said that the majority of those executed were involved in attacks carried out by al-Qaeda from 2003 to 2006, which led to the deaths of many Saudis and foreigners in the Kingdom. Forty-five of those executed were Saudi nationals, one was Chadian, and one Egyptian. They had been convicted of plotting and carrying out terrorist attacks targeting civilians and security forces in Saudi Arabia and neighboring countries.

Unquestionably the most prominent of those executed was Nimr Baqer al-Nimr, a fiery Shiite preacher from al-Qatif in the Eastern Province of the country, a region of vast oil fields where most Shiite Saudis reside. The government charged that al-Nimr was the main instigator of sectarian strife in the Eastern Province and had admitted to 20 of the charges leveled against him by the prosecutor general.

Al-Nimr was found guilty of attacking the Prophet’s Companions, denying allegiance to the country’s ruler, and publicly stating that the Saudi leadership had “no legitimacy to remain in power.” He was also charged with sowing dissension, instigating citizens against the state, stirring sectarian troubles in al-Awamiyah town in Qatif in 2011 (which killed several security officers and civilians), and continuing his call for the ruling regime to be toppled.

He was also charged with calling for sectarian unrest in Bahrain and attacking the al-Jazira Shield forces that were stationed on the island to bolster the ruling family and quell Shiite sectarian strife. In a long list of indictments issued following the execution, al-Nimr was also accused of meeting several times after Friday prayers with seven of the 23 terrorists on the list of most wanted criminals issued by the Interior Ministry. Additionally, he was charged with masterminding sectarian riots in Qatif and demonstrations at al-Baqi cemetery in Medina. His family and supporters maintain that al-Nimr never called for violence against Saudi authorities or Sunnis.

Almost immediately after the announcement of the execution, Ahmad Khatami, a prominent conservative Iranian cleric and a member of the Assembly of Experts, strongly criticized the Saudi action and predicted serious repercussions. In statements carried by the official IRNA news agency, Hossein Jaber Ansari, Iran’s foreign ministry spokesman, strongly condemned Riyadh for executing al-Nimr. Parliament speaker Ali Larijani also condemned al-Nimr’s execution.

Less than 24 hours after news of the execution of al-Nimr was broadcast, Saudi Arabia’s embassy in Tehran and its consulate in Mashhad were attacked by Iranian protesters in protest of the killing. In the Gulf Cooperation Council, Bahrain and the United Arab Emirates reaffirmed their support for all Saudi efforts to combat terrorism. UAE Foreign Minister Sheikh Abdullah bin Zayed al-Nahyan called the executions a “clear message against terrorism and those who call for and incite sedition and unrest to tear apart the society’s unity and threaten social peace in the kingdom.” Bahrain announced that it backed the Saudis in “all deterrent and needed measures it takes to confront violence and extremism.”

Shortly afterwards, calling the acts against its diplomatic missions in Iran acts of terrorism, the Saudis broke off diplomatic relations with their neighbour, and Bahrain followed suit. While Tehran lashed out at Riyadh for al-Nimr’s execution, the Gulf States, the Arab League, and the Saudi Council of Senior Scholars all condemned the attacks and Iranian interference in the region.

A day after the attacks on the Saudi diplomatic missions, Iran sent a letter to the UN Security Council expressing its regret over the attacks, vowing to “take necessary measures to prevent the occurrence of similar incidents in the future.” That did not appear to placate the Saudis and their allies. The UN Security Council expressed “deep concern” over the breach of the diplomatic missions and called on the Iranian authorities to protect diplomatic and consular property and personnel and to respect fully their international obligations in this regard.

With the rhetoric between the two nations showing no signs of subsiding, many political analysts worry that the diplomatic break could have more serious ramifications. Some, for instance, predicted negative consequences for negotiations about the war in Syria, in which Saudi Arabia and Iran both are involved.

While most Sunni Saudis have publicly supported the government stand against what they see as terrorism, some privately lament the timing of the government’s move. One Saudi, speaking on condition of anonymity, said, “this was the wrong time to execute the sheikh. There really was no need for it, unless it was to spark a reaction from Iran. With a senseless war in the south (Yemen) that is draining our financial resources we don’t need to get involved with making more enemies.”

Another said that the Kingdom was beset with a series of misfortunes following the death of King Abdullah in January 2015. “First it was the falling oil prices. Then it was the start of the war against the Houthis last March. This was followed by the two incidents in Mecca during the Hajj season where so many pilgrims died needlessly. Then recently the government announces price increases for fuel and electricity, which makes everything else shoot up. And now this…. Tensions with Iran? I fear what will come next.”

image_pdfimage_print

We would like to ask you something …

Fanack is an independent media organisation, not funded by any state or any interest group, that distributes in the Middle East and the wider world unbiased analysis and background information, based on facts, about the Middle East and North Africa.

The website grew rapidly in breadth and depth and today forms a rich and valuable source of information on 21 countries, from Morocco to Oman and from Iran to Yemen, both in Arabic and English. We currently reach six million readers annually and growing fast.

In order to guarantee the impartiality of information on the Chronicle, articles are published without by-lines. This also allows correspondents to write more freely about sensitive or controversial issues in their country. All articles are fact-checked before publication to ensure that content is accurate, current and unbiased.

To run such a website is very expensive. With a small donation, you can make a huge impact. And it only takes a minute. Thank you.