فَنَكْ وقائع وأحداث عن الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا / المملكة العربية السعودية / من الماضي الى الحاضر / المملكة العربية السعودية: قوة عسكرية عظمى أم نمر من ورق

المملكة العربية السعودية: قوة عسكرية عظمى أم نمر من ورق

Saudi arabia- saudi soldiers at the Yemeni borders
جنود سعوديون يطلقون نيران المدفعية بالقرب من الحدود مع اليمن، جازان، المملكة العربية السعودية، 20 أبريل 2015. Photo AP ©Hollandse Hoogte ⁃ HASAN JAMALI

خلال الحملة الانتخابية الرئاسية الأمريكية في عام 2016، أوضح المرشح الديمقراطي بيرني ساندرز، معارضته السابقة لحرب الخليج عام 1991 واعتراضاته الحالية على تورط الولايات المتحدة في سوريا والعراق بالقول أن الأميركيين بحاجة إلى دول أخرى للمساعدة في تحمل عبء السلام.

وقال ساندرز “تمتلك السعودية ثالث أكبر ميزانية عسكرية فى العالم بأسره.” وأضاف “سيضطرون إلى المشاركة ومحاربة تنظيم الدولة الاسلامية إلى جانب دول اخرى في المنطقة.”

وعلى ما يبدو كان ساندرز متأخر قليلاً فيما يتعلق بآخر المستجدات، ففي الواقع، تراجعت المملكة العربية السعودية من المركز الثالث إلى المركز الرابع في الإنفاق العسكري عام 2016، ويرجع ذلك إلى حدٍ كبير إلى سياسة شد الحزام بعد انخفاض أسعار النفط. ومع ذلك، فإن إنفاق المملكة البالغ 61,4 مليار دولار، لأمةٍ يبلغ عدد سكانها 31,5 مليون نسمة، يضعها على قدم المساواة مع الولايات المتحدة الأمريكية، التي أنفقت 10 أضعاف هذا الرقم، إلا أنها تمتلك 10 أضعاف عدد السكان.

وقد كشف البيت الأبيض في 20 مايو 2017 عن أحدث إنفاق للسعوديين – شراء أسلحة بقيمة حوالي 110 مليار دولار من الولايات المتحدة. فقد تزامن هذا الاتفاق مع زيارة دونالد ترامب للمملكة، وهى اول زيارة يقوم بها إلى الخارج كرئيس. فالمملكة مضطرة لشراء جميع أسلحتها تقريباً، ذلك أنها تنتج 2% فقط من معداتها محلياً.

وربما السؤال الذي يتبادر إلى ذهن الكثيرين هو سبب حاجة المملكة العربية السعودية لمثل هذه الميزانية الدفاعية الضخمة. والأهم من ذلك، هل يساعد الإنفاق الكبير هذا في تجهيز السعودية للدفاع عن نفسها في منطقةٍ تحيط بها الصراعات؟ أو ليس بإمكان المملكة العربية السعودية القيام بهذا سوى بمساعدة الحلفاء؟

تهديداتٌ من الشمال ومن الجنوب

وفقاً لبعض المقاييس، تمتلك المملكة العربية السعودية واحدة من أفضل الجيوش المجهزة والحديثة في الشرق الأوسط. كما ذكرت تصنيفات عام 2014 لموقع Business Insider المملكة العربية السعودية باعتبارها ثالث أقوى جيش في المنطقة، خلف كل من إسرائيل وتركيا، على أساس القدرات والأجهزة. فيما احتلت السعودية، وفقاً للترسانة فحسب، المرتبة الثانية، وقد تتغلب قريباً على إسرائيل في تلك الفئة.

وبالرغم من مليارات الدولارات التي تنفق على الأسلحة، يقول فراس مقصد، وهو أستاذ مساعد وخبير في السياسة الخارجية للولايات المتحدة والشرق الأوسط في جامعة جورج واشنطن في العاصمة واشنطن “أن الجيش السعودي عمل في الغالب في ساحة العرض.” وأضاف أن الجيش السعودي لديه خبرة قتالية محدودة وانشئ في الغالب “لحماية النظام واظهار مكانته.”

فقد خاض الجيش السعودي أول قتالٍ له في عام 2015 في اليمن، الذي يشترك في حدودٍ يبلغ طولها 1800 كيلومتر مع المملكة إلى الجنوب. فاليمن متورطٌ في صراعٍ بين قوات المتمردين الحوثيين المتحالفة مع القوات الموالية للرئيس اليمني السابق علي عبد الله صالح، والقوات الموالية لخليفته الرئيس عبد ربه منصور هادي. وفي مارس 2015، قادت المملكة العربية السعودية تدخلاً متعدد الجنسيات إلى جانب الحكومة الحالية. وبعد عامين من إطلاق عاصفة الحزم، يتدهور القتال في اليمن دون إحراز تقدمٍ يذكر لكلا الطرفين.

وقال مقصد أن المملكة اضطرت إلى خوض الحرب في اليمن كوسيلةٍ لاحتواء نفوذ إيران في المنطقة المجاورة. فإيران، التي تقع على الجهة المقابلة من الخليج العربي، تدعم الحوثيين. وأضاف أن المعارك في اليمن “أثبتت أنها منحنى حاد جداً. فلا شيء يُجبر الجندي على التعلم إلا عندما يبدأ أحدهم بإطلاق النار باتجاهه.”

وتخشى السعودية من تمويل طهران ونفوذها المتزايد على الميليشيات الطائفية المختلفة في المنطقة، فضلاً عن تهديدات إيران بأن تصبح قوة نووية. بل أكثر من ذلك، لطالما كانت الحدود السعودية اليمنية مركزاً للاضطرابات بين البلدين وممراً لتهريب المخدرات والأسلحة والمهاجرين غير الشرعيين.

وعلى طول الصحراء الشمالية للمملكة العربية السعودية، تشترك المملكة أيضاً في الحدود مع منطقة نزاع كبرى أخرى، العراق. فالمسلمون السنة والشيعة في العراق، يقتتلون منذ أكثر من عقد. وفي الآونة الأخيرة، احتل تنظيم الدولة الإسلامية (داعش) جزءاً كبيراً من غرب العراق، مما دفع المملكة العربية السعودية في عام 2014 إلى البدء في بناء سياج على طول حدودها لإبعاد مسلحي داعش.

استراتيجية الحربين

لم تُعبّر المملكة العربية السعودية عن استراتيجيةٍ دفاعية واضحة. ولكن يبدو أنها تبنت عقيدة حربين لطالما تبعت فيها الولايات المتحدة حتى وقتٍ قريب، إذ كانت على استعدادٍ لخوض حربين تقليديتين في وقت واحد. وكجزءٍ من هذه الاستراتيجية، لطالما شعر السعوديون بالحاجة إلى الحفاظ على حليفهم التاريخي المقرب، إذ لطالما كانت الباكستان أقرب حليفٍ مسلم للمملكة.

فقد بُنيت العلاقات بين البلدين على المصالح الأمنية المشتركة التي يعود تاريخها إلى السبعينيات، عندما وظفت طفرة النفط السعودية عدداً كبيراً من الباكستانيين. ويرى السعوديون أن باكستان – الدولة النووية المسلمة الوحيدة – باعتبارها عامل توازن فعّال في وجه النفوذ الإيراني المتنامي.

وقد غذت المملكة العربية السعودية في بعض الأحيان هذا التحالف الوثيق خشية خطر التحالف مع حليف وثيقٍ آخر، الولايات المتحدة. فعلى سبيل المثال، ورد أن الرياض ساعدت في تمويل برنامج باكستان للأسلحة النووية، وعرضت على إسلام أباد مبلغ 2 مليار دولار من النفط الخام المجاني بعد فرض الولايات المتحدة عقوبات نووية على باكستان في عام 1998. ويُعتقد على نطاق واسع أنه في حال سعت المملكة العربية السعودية لتطوريها برنامجها الخاص للأسلحة النووية، ستساعد باكستان، المُمتنة ليد الخير السعودية، على تحقيق ذلك.

ومع ذلك، هذا أيضاً حال تشابك التحالفات الجيوسياسية في الشرق الأوسط، فعندما شرعت السعودية بتدخلها العسكري في اليمن، تبنى البرلمان الباكستاني قراراً بعدم الانضمام إلى التحالف الذي تقوده السعودية . وفي مارس 2017، قال مصدر أمني باكستاني كبير لموقع Middle East Eye أن الجيش الباكستاني سوف يرسل لواءً من القوات القتالية إلى الحدود الجنوبية السعودية للمساعدة في حماية المملكة من الهجمات الانتقامية التي يرتكبها الحوثيون. وحتى اليوم، ليس من الواضح ما إذا كانت باكستان قد أرسلت القوات أم لا.

© Copyright Notice

click on link to view the associated photo/image
©Hollandse Hoogte ⁃ HASAN JAMALI | ©Hollandse Hoogte ⁃ HASAN JAMALI

دعمكم عونٌ لنا

فَنَك هي مؤسسة إعلامية إلكترونية مستقلة، لا تمولها أي دولة أو مجموعات مصالح. تلتزم فَنَك بنشر تحليلاتٍ مبنية على الوقائع ومحايدة، إلى جانب التقارير المواضيعية حول الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا.
شهد الموقع نمواً سريعاً في نطاق وعمق المعلومات التي يُقدمها، واليوم، بات يُشكل مصدراً غنياً وقيماً للمعلومات عن 21 بلداً، من المغرب إلى عُمان ومن إيران إلى اليمن، باللغتين العربية والإنجليزية. حالياً، وصل عدد القراء إلى 6 ملايين سنوياً، والعدد آخذٌ بالإزدياد.
لضمان حيادية المعلومات على موقع فَنَك (وقائع وأحداث) ، تُنشر المقالات دون ذكر أسماء الكتّاب، مما يُتيح أيضاً لمراسلينا مساحة أكبر من الحرية عند التطرق إلى القضايا الحساسة أو المثيرة للجدل فى بلادهم. وإلى جانب ذلك، نتحرى حقائق جميع المعلومات الواردة في مقالاتنا قبل النشر لضمان دقة المعلومات، وحداثتها وحيادها.

استمرارية تشغيل مثل هذا الموقع الإلكتروني مُكلفة للغاية. بتبرعٍ صغيرٍ منك، يمكنك المساهمة في الحفاظ على حرية واستقلالية تغطيتنا.

Fanack Home / Saudi Arabia / Past to Present / Saudi Arabia: Military Superpower or Paper Tiger

Saudi Arabia: Military Superpower or Paper Tiger

Saudi arabia- saudi soldiers in Yemen
Saudi soldiers fire artillery near the border with Yemen, in Jazan, Saudi Arabia, 20 April 2015. Photo AP

During the US presidential campaign in 2016, Democratic candidate Bernie Sanders explained his past opposition to the 1991 Gulf War and current objections to expanded US involvement in Syria and Iraq by saying that Americans need other nations to help shoulder the peace burden.

“Saudi Arabia has the third-largest military budget in the entire world,” he said. “They’re going to have to get in and take on the Islamic State as well as other countries in that region.”

He was a bit off. Saudi Arabia fell from third to fourth place in military spending in 2016, largely due to government belt tightening following a fall in oil prices. Still, Saudi Arabia’s $61.4 billion outlay, for a nation of 31.5 million residents, puts it on a par per capita with the US, which spent ten times as much but also has ten times the population.

The Saudis’ latest spending spree – a nearly $110 billion arms deal with the US – was announced by the White House on 20 May 2017. The deal was timed to coincide with Donald Trump’s visit to the kingdom, his first foreign trip as president. Saudi Arabia must buy almost all of its weapons because it produces just 2 per cent of its equipment domestically.

The question in many people’s minds may be exactly why Saudi Arabia needs such a large defence budget. More critically, does being a big spender equip Saudi Arabia to defend itself in a region beset by conflict? Or can Saudi Arabia do it only with the help of allies?

Threats from North and South

By some measures, Saudi Arabia has one of the best-equipped and modern militaries in the Middle East. A 2014 ranking by Business Insider named Saudi Arabia as the region’s third most powerful military, behind Israel and Turkey, based on capabilities and hardware. Based solely on arsenal, Saudi Arabia ranked second, and it may soon overtake Israel in that category.

Yet for all the billions of dollars spent on weapons, “the Saudi army has mostly functioned as a parade ground military,” contends Firas Maksad, an adjunct professor and an expert on US foreign policy and the Middle East at George Washington University in Washington, DC. The Saudi military has limited combat experience and was created mostly to “protect the regime and show prestige”, he said.

The Saudi army saw its first action in 2015 in Yemen, which shares a 1,800km border with the kingdom to the south. Yemen is embroiled in a conflict between Houthi rebels, which are allied with forces loyal to the former Yemeni President Ali Abdallah Saleh, and forces loyal to his successor, Abdrabbuh Mansur Hadi. In March 2015, Saudi Arabia led a multinational intervention on the side of the current government. Two years after the launch of Operation Decisive Storm, the fighting in Yemen grinds on, with little progress on either side.

Maksad said Saudi Arabia was forced into the war to contain Iran’s influence in its backyard. Iran, which sits across the Persian Gulf from Saudi Arabia, is backing the Houthis.

The battles in Yemen “have proven to be a very steep learning curve”, Maksad said. “Nothing forces a soldier to learn until someone starts shooting at him.”

Saudi Arabia fears both Tehran’s financing of and growing influence over various sectarian militias in the region, as well as the threat of Iran becoming a nuclear power. What’s more, the Saudi-Yemeni border has always been a site of unrest between the two nations and a passageway for smuggling drugs, weapons and illegal immigrants.

The desert in Saudi Arabia’s north shares a border with another major conflict zone, Iraq. Iraq’s Sunni and Shiite Muslims have been at war for more than a decade. More recently, the Islamic State (ISIS) occupied much of Western Iraq, prompting Saudi Arabia in 2014 to begin building a fence along its border to keep out ISIS militants.

Two-war Strategy

Saudi Arabia has not articulated a clear-cut defence strategy. Yet it seems to have adopted a two-war strategy long followed by the US until recently, which was to be prepared to fight two conventional wars simultaneously.

As part of that strategy, the Saudis have always felt the need to maintain close ties with Pakistan. Historically, Pakistan has been the kingdom’s closest Muslim ally.

The two countries’ ties have been built on common security interests dating back to the 1970s, when the Saudi oil boom employed a large number of Pakistanis. The Saudis view Pakistan, the only nuclear Muslim nation, as an effective counterweight to growing Iranian influence.

Saudi Arabia has sometimes nurtured that close alliance at the risk of alienating another close ally, the US. For instance, Riyadh reportedly helped bankroll Pakistan’s nuclear weapons programme and offered Islamabad $2 billion worth of free crude oil after the US imposed nuclear sanctions on Pakistan in 1998. It is widely assumed that, if Saudi Arabia were ever to pursue a nuclear weapons programme of its own, a grateful Pakistan would help the Saudis to achieve it.

Yet such is the complexity of geopolitical alliances in the Middle East that when Saudi Arabia launched its military intervention in Yemen, the Pakistani parliament adopted a resolution not to join the Saudi-led coalition. In March 2017, a Pakistani senior security source told the news website Middle East Eye that the Pakistani army will be sending a brigade of combat troops to Saudi Arabia’s southern border to help shield the kingdom from reprisal attacks mounted by the Houthis. However, it remains unclear whether these troops were ever dispatched.

image_pdfimage_print