فَنَكْ وقائع وأحداث عن الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا / المملكة العربية السعودية / من الماضي الى الحاضر / المرأة السعودية تُمنح حق السفر- هل هذا يعني المساواة في الحقوق؟

المرأة السعودية تُمنح حق السفر- هل هذا يعني المساواة في الحقوق؟

Saudi Arabia- Saudi women
سعوديات يصلن إلى مطار أبها في المنتجع الجبلي الشهير الذي يحمل نفس الاسم في جنوب غرب المملكة العربية السعودية، 13 يونيو 2019.
Photo: Fayez Nureldine / AFP ©AFP ⁃ Fayez Nureldine

بعد إعلانٍ نُشر على موقع الجوازات (الإدارة العامة للجوازات في المملكة العربية السعودية) يعلن فيه أن النساء سيحصلن من الآن فصاعداً على تصاريح سفر فردية، باتت النساء السعوديات يستفدن من تخفيف اللوائح من خلال السفر خارج البلاد بمفردهن. فقد أفادت جريدة سعودي جازيت في 20 أغسطس 2019 أنه خلال ساعاتٍ قليلة فحسب من تطبيق القانون الجديد، عبرت أكثر من 1000 امرأة دون ولي أمرها نقاط الدخول إلى المنطقة الشرقية.

ففي بداية شهر أغسطس، صدرت مراسيم ملكية أنهت فعلياً حاجة النساء فوق سن الـ21 عاماً إلى الحصول على إذنٍ من أحد أقربائها الذكور لتقديم طلبٍ للحصول على جواز سفر أو السفر إلى الخارج. تم الترحيب بهذه الإعلانات باعتبارها خطوة كبيرة للمرأة السعودية، وأشارت إلى أن المملكة العربية السعودية باتت تتجاوز نظام الوصاية سيء السمعة.
فنظام الوصاية – المعروف أيضاً باسم “ولاية الرجل” – هو عبارة عن شبكة من القوانين التي تتطلب من المواطنات طلب إذنٍ من قريب أو وصي ذكر قبل اتخاذ قرارات معينة تتعلق بالحياة وأسلوب الحياة، بما في ذلك تلك المتعلقة بالإجراءات القانونية والمالية والإجراءات الطبية والعمل.

بالإضافة إلى حرية السفر، أدخلت المراسيم الملكية أيضاً حقوقاً جديدة في المملكة العربية السعودية لتسجيل الزيجات والطلاق والولادة وتوثيق المستندات العائلية. وورد أن هناك امتيازٌ جديد بالسماح للطالبات بالدراسة في الخارج بدون محرم (المرافق القانوني). تعدّ هذه الإصلاحات غاية في الأهمية إذ تمنح المرأة الحرية في الحصول على بطاقة الهوية بسهولة أكبر أو القدرة على التمتع بالمزيد من الفرص التعليمية.

تأتي التطورات الجديدة في أعقاب خطوةٍ تاريخية العام الماضي أنهت حظراً طويلاً على قيادة النساء للسيارات في الدولة الخليجية، وذلك كجزءٍ من سلسلة من الجهود التي بذلها ولي العهد السعودي، محمد بن سلمان، في محاولة تحديث البلاد، مثل كبح جماح هيئة الأمر بالمعروف وتخفيف القيود على الاختلاط بين الجنسين، على الرغم من أن الإصلاحات الإضافية كانت مستمرة منذ أكثر من عقد.

وتقول سو إيدل، الباحثة في منظمة القسط السعودية لحقوق الإنسان، في حديثها مع فَنَك: “كان رفع الحظر المفروض على قيادة المرأة للسيارات في العام الماضي ممارسة حقيقية للعلاقات العامة.” وأضافت، “كان القرار يحمل أهميةً لبعض النساء، لا سيما أولئك القادرات على القيادة أو اللواتي سمحت لهن أسرهن بالقيادة. وبالنسبة للآخرين، لم يكن بالضرورة بمثابة انتصارٍ كبير.”

وتقول إيدل أيضاً إن الإصلاحات تلقت قدراً مفرطاً من المديح إلى حدٍ ما، مع إذعان محمد بن سلمان للضغوط الخارجية ومحاولته إقناع الشباب في الديار بأنهم يحصلون على الفرص التي يريدونها مع استرضاء العناصر الداخلية المقاومة لبعض الإصلاحات.

فقد قامت بعض الجماعات الحقوقية التي تدعو إلى الإلغاء الكامل لنظام الوصاية بتسليط الضوء على العوائق التي تفرضها المملكة والتي تحول دون منح المرأة السعودية حقوقاً كاملة ومساوية لحقوق الرجل.

ووفقاً لهيومن رايتس ووتش، تتأثر كل امرأة في البلاد، بغض النظر عن وضعها، سلباً بقوانين الوصاية، ولكي تحقق المملكة العربية السعودية خطة رؤية 2030، فهي بحاجة إلى القضاء على هذا النظام. فعلى سبيل المثال، 20% فقط من النساء يعملنّ في المملكة العربية السعودية، بالرغم من أن ما نسبته 50% من السكان هنّ من النساء. ووفقاً لشركة ميرسر المختصة بتحليلات الأسواق الدولية، سيعمل سد هذه الفجوة على تغذية المكاسب المجتمعية والاقتصادية للبلاد.

وعلى الرغم من الإصلاحات الحالية، لا تزال قوانين الوصاية السعودية بعيدةً كل البعد عن إلغائها، إذ لا يزال يتعين على المرأة أن تطلب الإذن للزواج أو استئجار شقة، كما أنها لن تكون قادرة على منح جنسيتها السعودية لأطفالها إذا تزوجت من مواطن غير سعودي، مما جعل النقاد يقولون إن القوانين الجديدة ليست شاملة بما فيه الكفاية.

كما أنها تتعارض مع المعايير الحالية والقوانين الأخرى، فعلى سبيل المثال، لا يزال بإمكان الرجال تقديم شكاوى تتعلق بعقوق الابناء، على سبيل المثال إذا ما عصت الإبنة أوامرهم. ومن غير الواضح أيضاً كيف يمكن تطبيق القوانين الجديدة إذا رفض الرجال الامتثال للوائح الجديدة ومنع النساء من السفر، مما يشير إلى أن هناك حاجة أيضاً إلى تحول ثقافي أوسع.

وليكون للإصلاحات تأثير حقيقي، يقول دعاة حقوق الإنسان مثل منظمة قسط، أنه ينبغي أن يقف القانون في صف المرأة. فعلى سبيل المثال، عندما تهرب النساء المعنفات إلى الخارج، فإن السفارات من توقع بهنّ وتعيدهن إلى الوطن، في حين أن الشرطة غالباً ما تقف في صف الأبوين.

فعلى سبيل المثال أيضاً، وعلى الرغم من الإصلاح التدريجي، لا يزال تطبيق أبشر الذي تديره الحكومة يسمح للرجال بتتبع أنشطة زوجاتهم، بما في ذلك السفر إلى الخارج، والذي سيؤدي في الواقع إلى توجيه الرجال إلى موقع النساء، إذا قرروا السفر دون إذن أو بدون إخبار أزواجهن. كما ذكرت هيومن رايتس ووتش أنه حتى 21 أغسطس، لم يتم تحديث التطبيق للسماح للنساء بالتقدم للحصول على جوازات سفر عبر الإنترنت، وبالتالي السماح للأوصياء الذكور برفض طلب سفر أقاربهم من النساء. وأشارت أيضاً إلى أن إدارة الجوازات السعودية أكدت على وسائل التواصل الاجتماعي أن النساء فوق 21 عاماً يمكنهن التقدم بطلب للحصول على جوازات سفر أو تجديدها شخصياً في مكاتبها قبل تحديث منصة أبشر.

بالإضافة إلى ذلك، فقد جذبت التطورات السابقة في المملكة ردود فعلٍ متباينة، إذ تقول إيدل إنه بالرغم من حصول بعض التحرر في أماكن العمل، إلا أنه في الوقت نفسه لا يزال هناك الكثير من التمييز ضد المرأة السعودية، حيث لا تزال أماكن العمل المختلطة موضع خلاف.

وأشارت إيدل أيضاً إلى أنه مقابل كل إصلاح يأتي “المتملقون المطيعون.”

وبحسب قولها، “تم إعداد الناس للثناء على محمد بن سلمان وشكره على وسائل التواصل الاجتماعي،” إذ بات الأمر برمته يبدو وكأن النساء يتمتعن بكافة حقوقهن، وهو الأمر البعيد كل البعد عن الحقيقة، إذ لا تزال المرأة على سبيل المثال بحاجة إلى إذن ولي أمرها للزواج.

وعلاوةً على ذلك، لا تزال النساء بحاجة إلى إذنٍ من الذكور لفتح حساب مصرفي أو مغادرة السجن أو استخدام ملجأ تديره الحكومة أو رفع دعوى قضائية.

كما أن نظام الوصاية في المملكة العربية السعودية مترسخٌ في سياق انتقاداتٍ أوسع، وذلك في ظل الاتهامات التي تطال البلاد بانتهاكها عدداً من حقوق الإنسان، مثل قمع المعارضة وحرية التعبير. وعلاوةً على ذلك، تعرضت الدولة النفطية أيضاً لانتقادات بسبب قوانينها الغامضة، والملاحقة القضائية والاحتجاز التعسفي بسبب جرائم متعلقة بالاحتجاج.

يكمن وراء هذه الإصلاحات حقيقة أن العديد من النساء اللواتي كن يقمن بحملاتٍ لسنوات ما زلن يقبعنّ في السجن، بما في ذلك تعرض العديد منهنّ للتعذيب. وفي هذا الصدد، تقول إيدل: “يضع هذا حملة الإصلاح في منظورها الصحيح.”

فقد وصفت روثنا بيغم، باحثة حقوق المرأة البارزة في هيومن رايتس ووتش، التطورات الحديثة بأنها انتصارٌ يشوبه المرارة، مؤكدةً أن “النساء السعوديات الشجاعات اللاتي طالبن بهذه التغييرات ما زلن وراء القضبان أو تواجهن محاكمات جائرة”.

فقد تم على سبيل المثال القبض على لجين الهذلول في عام 2014 لقيادتها السيارة. تم إطلاق سراحها لكنها سجنت مرةً أخرى في حملةٍ أوسع ضد نشاط المرأة، قبل رفع الحظر عن قيادة النساء للسيارات. اتُهمت النساء المعتقلات علانيةً بالخيانة ولكن لم يتم توجيه أي تهم إليهن.

ومع ذلك، لا زال يتعين النظر إلى كيفية تنفيذ الإصلاحات، إذ كان هذا الأسبوع أول لمحة عن كيفية عمل البند الجديد الخاص بتقديم النساء طلبات الحصول على جوازات سفر بمفردهن.

ومع ظهور مشاكل أولية وشكاوى، فإن التعقيد يكمن دوماً في التفاصيل، وبحسب ما تقوله إيدل، “سيكون من المثير للاهتمام أن نرى كيف ستسير الأمور.”

© Copyright Notice

click on link to view the associated photo/image
©AFP ⁃ Fayez Nureldine

دعمكم عونٌ لنا

فَنَك هي مؤسسة إعلامية إلكترونية مستقلة، لا تمولها أي دولة أو مجموعات مصالح. تلتزم فَنَك بنشر تحليلاتٍ مبنية على الوقائع ومحايدة، إلى جانب التقارير المواضيعية حول الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا.
شهد الموقع نمواً سريعاً في نطاق وعمق المعلومات التي يُقدمها، واليوم، بات يُشكل مصدراً غنياً وقيماً للمعلومات عن 21 بلداً، من المغرب إلى عُمان ومن إيران إلى اليمن، باللغتين العربية والإنجليزية. حالياً، وصل عدد القراء إلى 6 ملايين سنوياً، والعدد آخذٌ بالإزدياد.
لضمان حيادية المعلومات على موقع فَنَك (وقائع وأحداث) ، تُنشر المقالات دون ذكر أسماء الكتّاب، مما يُتيح أيضاً لمراسلينا مساحة أكبر من الحرية عند التطرق إلى القضايا الحساسة أو المثيرة للجدل فى بلادهم. وإلى جانب ذلك، نتحرى حقائق جميع المعلومات الواردة في مقالاتنا قبل النشر لضمان دقة المعلومات، وحداثتها وحيادها.

استمرارية تشغيل مثل هذا الموقع الإلكتروني مُكلفة للغاية. بتبرعٍ صغيرٍ منك، يمكنك المساهمة في الحفاظ على حرية واستقلالية تغطيتنا.

Fanack Home / Saudi Arabia / History of Saudi Arabia from Past to Present / Women in Saudi Arabia Gain Right to Travel – Does This Mean Equal Rights?

Women in Saudi Arabia Gain Right to Travel – Does This Mean Equal Rights?

Saudi Arabia- Saudi women
Saudi women arriving at Abha airport in the popular mountain resort of the same name in the southwest of Saudi Arabia, June 13, 2019. Photo: Fayez Nureldine / AFP ©AFP ⁃ Fayez Nureldine

After an announcement on the Jawazat website (Saudi Arabia’s General Directorate of Passports) declaring that women would from now on be issued individual travel authorizations, Saudi women are taking advantage of an easing of regulations by traveling outside of the country by themselves. The Saudi Gazette reported on August 20, 2019 that within just a few hours of the introduction of the new regulation, more than 1,000 unaccompanied women had crossed entry points of the Eastern Province.

At the beginning of August, royal decrees were issued that effectively ended the need for women over the age of 21 to obtain permission from a male relative to apply for a passport or to travel abroad. The announcements were hailed as a giant leap for Saudi women and signalled that the Kingdom of Saudi Arabia is moving beyond its notorious guardianship system.

The guardianship system – also known as “wilaya” – is a network of laws that require female citizens to beseech the permission of a male relative or guardian before making certain life and lifestyle decisions, including those related to legal proceedings, finances, medical procedures and work.

As well as the freedom to travel, the royal decrees also introduced new rights in Saudi Arabia to register marriages, divorces and births and make family documents. There was also reportedly a new concession to allow students to study abroad without a mahram (a legal escort). These reforms are substantial in providing women with the liberty to get an identity card more easily or to be able to access further educational opportunities.

The new developments follow a historic move last year that ended a long-time ban on women driving in the Gulf nation, part of a series of efforts by the Saudi Crown Prince, Muhammad bin Salman (MBS), to attempt to modernise the country, such as reining in the morality police and easing restrictions on gender mixing, although incremental reforms have been ongoing for over a decade.

“Lifting the ban on women driving last year was a real PR exercise,” says Sue Eedle, a researcher with the Saudi advocacy group ALQST, speaking to Fanack Chronicle, “It was crucial to some women, those able to afford to or whose family allowed them to drive. For others, it was not necessarily such a great win.”

Eedle says reforms have been oversold to some extent, with MBS playing to external pressure and trying to persuade young people at home that they are getting the opportunities they want while appeasing internal elements resistant to some of the reforms.

The Kingdom’s barriers to Saudi women being granted full and comparable rights to men has for some time been in the sight of rights groups advocating for the full revocation of the guardianship system.

According to Human Rights Watch, every woman in the country, no matter her status, is adversely affected by the guardianship laws and for Saudi Arabia to realise its Vision 2030 plan, it needs to eliminate the system. For instance, only 20 percent of women in Saudi Arabia work, but 50 percent of the population are women. Bridging this gap will fuel societal and economic gains for the country, according to international market analyst company Mercer.

Despite the current reforms, Saudi guardianship laws are still far from eliminated. A woman must still seek permission to get married or to lease a flat. She would also not be able to pass on her Saudi citizenship to her children if she married a non-Saudi citizen, which has caused critics to say that the new rules are not extensive enough.

They also come into conflict with current norms and other regulations. For instance, men can still file complaints of filial disobedience, for example if a daughter disobeys their order. It is also unclear how the new rules might be enforced if men refuse to comply with the new regulations and forbid women to travel, which suggests that a wider cultural shift is also needed.

In order for reforms to have a meaningful effect, advocates like ALQST say the law must also be on the side of the women. When abused women have fled abroad, it’s the embassies that have helped round them up and send them home, while the police have often sided with the parents.

For instance, despite gradual reform, the government-run app Absher still allows men to track their wives’ activities, including travel abroad, which would in effect tip off men to the location of women, should they decide to travel without permission or without telling their husbands. Human Rights Watch reported that as of August 21, the app still had not been updated to allow women to apply for passports online, thereby allowing male guardians to reject their female relatives’ travel application. It also noted however that the Saudi Passports Department confirmed on social media that women over 21 can apply for or renew passports in person at their offices before the Absher platform is updated.

Previous advances in the Kingdom have also attracted mixed feedback. There has been some liberalization in the workplace, although at the same time a lot of segregation towards Saudi women remains, with mixed workplaces still being contentious, Eedle says.

Eedle also notes that for every reform comes “obedient sycophancy.”

“People are set up to praise and thank Muhammad bin Salman on social media,” says Eedle, with the whole thing reading as if women now have all their rights, which is far from the case They still need a male guardian’s permission to marry, for example.

Women also still need male permission to open a bank account, leave prison, use a government-run shelter or file a lawsuit.

Saudi Arabia’s guardianship system also takes hold in a context of wider criticism, as the country has been accused of a number of human rights abuses, such as suppressing dissent and freedom of speech. The petrostate has also come under fire for its vague laws, prosecution and arbitrary detention of minors for protest-related crimes.

Underlying these reforms is the fact that many women who have been campaigning for years are still languishing in prison, including several who have been tortured. “That puts the reforming drive into perspective,” says Eedle.

Rothna Begum, senior women’s rights researcher at Human Rights Watch, has called the recent advances a bittersweet victory, emphasising that “courageous Saudi women who pushed for these changes remain behind bars or face unfair trials.”

Loujain Al-Hathloul, for instance, was arrested in 2014 for driving. She was released but imprisoned again in a wider crackdown against women’s activism, just before the driving ban was lifted. The women detained were publicly accused of treason but not presented with any charge.

How reforms will be implemented is still to be seen, and this week was the first glimpse of how the new provision for women to apply for their own passports would work in practice.

With teething problems and complaints already being apparent, the devil will be in the detail, Eedle says, “It will be interesting to see how it will play out.”

© Copyright Notice

click on link to view the associated photo/image
©AFP ⁃ Fayez Nureldine | ©AFP ⁃ Fayez Nureldine

We would like to ask you something …

Fanack is an independent media organisation, not funded by any state or any interest group, that distributes in the Middle East and the wider world unbiased analysis and background information, based on facts, about the Middle East and North Africa.

The website grew rapidly in breadth and depth and today forms a rich and valuable source of information on 21 countries, from Morocco to Oman and from Iran to Yemen, both in Arabic and English. We currently reach six million readers annually and growing fast.

In order to guarantee the impartiality of information on the Chronicle, articles are published without by-lines. This also allows correspondents to write more freely about sensitive or controversial issues in their country. All articles are fact-checked before publication to ensure that content is accurate, current and unbiased.

To run such a website is very expensive. With a small donation, you can make a huge impact. And it only takes a minute. Thank you.