فَنَكْ وقائع وأحداث عن الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا / المملكة العربية السعودية / من الماضي الى الحاضر / السُم في الشِعر: الحرب الكلامية تُعمّق الأزمة الخليجية

السُم في الشِعر: الحرب الكلامية تُعمّق الأزمة الخليجية

تتقدم الموسيقى والشعر الحرب الدعائية بين المملكة العربية السعودية وقطر، مما يؤجج إخفاق الأزمة الخليجية. ففي 4 سبتمبر 2017 على سبيل المثال، أطلقت شركة روتانا السعودية أغنيةً بعنوان “علّم قطر،” التي تسخر من الدوحة وتمجد الرياض.

وتقول كلمات الأغنية:

“علّم قطر.. واللي وقف ورا قطر *** إن البلد هذي طويل بالها
بس المسايل لين وصلت للخطر *** لا والله إن تشوف فعل رجالها.”

وفي مقطعٍ آخر، تقول الكلمات:

“هذي السعودية ذرى عز وفخر *** نحيى بظل الله.. وتحت ظلالها
هذي السعودية سماء وأرض وبحر *** أمن.. وأمان.. وعزها.. بأبطالها.”

وتعتبر هذه الأغنية جزءاً من حملةٍ أوسع لتشويه سمعة قطر بعد أن قطع أعضاءٌ من مجلس التعاون الخليجي ومصر علاقاتهم مع الإمارة الصغيرة في يونيو 2017، وذلك بسبب مزاعم عن “دعمها للجماعات الإرهابية،” والتآمر مع إيران. ومع ذلك، يدعي بعض المعلقون أن السبب الحقيقي وراء الخلاف هو الحدّ من سياسة قطر الخارجية المستقلة ونفوذها المتنامي في المنطقة.

ومع ذلك، شارك سبعة من أشهر المغنين في العالم العربي بالأغنية. فقد ألف السعودي تركي آل الشيخ كلمات الأغنية بينما لحنها السعودي رابح صقر. حُملّت الأغنية على موقع يوتيوب محققة نجاحاً كبيراً، مما جذب ما يقرب 5 ملايين مشاهدة في 5 أيام.

وكما كان متوقعاً، كان رد الفعل مستقطباً. فقد أشاد بعض المغردين على تويتر بالأغنية لإعلان الولاء للمملكة العربية السعودية، بينما انتقد آخرون المغنين لمشاركتهم في الحملة الدعائية ضد قطر، معارضين إقحام الموسيقى لتخدم الأجندات السياسية. وقالت غالية الطبطبائي وهي مهندسة كويتية في تغريدة على تويتر ”على الرغم من كل الأحداث والمشاكل، يظل الفن والغناء نبراساً للسلام.”

بل إن بعض المستمعين ألمحوا إلى رشوة عبد المجيد عبد الله وماجد المهندس للمشاركة في هذه الأغنية، ذلك أن كليهما سبق وأشادا بقطر في الماضي. ففي عام 2009، غنى عبد المجيد عبدالله “والله أحبك يا قطر، قد السما وقد البحر،” بينما غنى المهندس أغنية حملت عنوان “روحي قطر.”

وعليه، علّقت قطر عقودها مع الفنانيين الذين شاركوا في الأغنية منذ إطلاقها، كما رد الشاعر القطري خليل الشبرمي، بقصيدةٍ انتقد فيها جميع من في روتانا بوصفهم بالقذرين. فيما بثت قناة الجزيرة ردها بعد يومٍ من إطلاق “علّم قطر،” إلا أن ردها لم يحظى بالشعبية نفسها.

لم تكن هذه الحالة الأولى التي استخدمت فيها الموسيقى والشعر كسلاح حربٍ هذا الشهر. فقد ألقى شاعرٌ من الديوان الملكي السعودي قصيدةً منمقة الأبيات خلال حفلٍ تلفزيوني ترفيهي أمام الملك السعودي سلمان وغيره من القادة. وذكر تقريرٌ لرويترز أن الأبيات شبهت قطر ومؤيديها بالكلاب النابحة، والغربان الناعقة، والثعلب المراوغ. أغضبت السخرية العلنية هذه القطريين، مما دفع شاعراً قطرياً آخر، علي ميرزا محمود، إلى الرد بقوة.

حملت قصيدته الأبيات التالية: ”مرغ كما الخنزير جسمك كله.. وامسح بوجهك ما تشاء من القذر.. واعبث كما تبغي بثوبك في القذر… لكن توخى إذا دنوت من الخطر.. قف عند حدك عاقلاً متأدباً.. إلا قطر…”

كما استخدم الشعر من قِبل الحكام الذين اختاروا اتباع نهجٍ أكثر استعطافاً للأزمة. ففي 29 يونيو2017، حمّل الشيخ محمد بن راشد آل مكتوم، رئيس وزراء الإمارات العربية المتحدة وحاكم دبي، قصيدة على موقع انستغرام يحث فيها قطر على العودة إلى مجلس التعاون الخليجي.

قال في القصيدة:

وآحِـــسْ أنِّ الــوقـتْ يـكـفـي وحـــانِ
والــشَّـرْ نـسـعـىَ كـلِّـنـا فــي دفـانـهْ
ونـرجـعْ إلــىَ وحــدَةْ قـلـوبْ ومـعاني
نـحـمي بـعـضنا دونْ حـقدْ وضـغانهْ
وواجـــبْ عـلـيـنا نـنـاصحهْ بِـلْـعلاني
إنْ حَــطْ لــهْ أفـعـىَ رَمِــلْ فـي ثـبانِهْ
والــذِيـبْ يـاكـلْ م الـكـبارْ الـسِّـماني
ســاعَـةْ تــغـادرْ سـربـهـا بـإسـتـهانهْ

إلا أن كلمات آل مكتوم لم يكن لها الصدى المرجو، إذ يبدو أن ثمن السلام مكلفٌ جداً بالنسبة لقطر. ففي نهاية يونيو2017، أصدرت دول الحصار 13 مطلباً، أبرزها إغلاق قناة الجزيرة وغيرها من الشبكات المملوكة للحكومة والتي أثارت غضب الحكام في جميع أنحاء المنطقة لكشفها عن قضايا الفساد وسوء المعاملة.

كما تتعرض قطر لضغوطاتٍ لوقف دعم جماعات الإخوان المسلمين مثل حماس. مُنحت قطر 10 أيامٍ للموافقة على المطالب، التي رفضت الخضوع لها بالرغم من تعرضها لحصارٍ من قِبل جيرانها.

والآن، مع إندلاع الحرب الكلامية، بالكاد تحظى قطر بدعمٍ يذكر. حتى أن الإمارات العربية المتحدة والبحرين أقرتا قانوناً يُعاقب بموجبه المتعاطف مع قطر بالحبس لمدة تتراوح ما بين 5 إلى 15 عاماً.

بيد أن هذه الرقابة بعيدة كل البعد عن عنصر المفاجأة. ففي دول مجلس التعاون الخليجي، يُعاقب أولئك الذين يخرجون عن النص، ويُقتلون في بعض الأحيان. فعلى سبيل المثال، في عام 2012، حُكم على الشاعر القطري محمد ابن الذيب بالسجن مدى الحياة بسبب أبياتٍ شعرية “أهانت” أمير قطر و”روجت” للإطاحة بحكام الدولة.

خفضّ الحكم في خضم غبطة الربيع العربي، الذي شهد انضمام أعضاء مجلس التعاون الخليجي للمعارضة، خشية أن تؤدي الاضطرابات الشعبية إلى نهاية حكمهم. وأخيراً، أطلق سراح ابن الذيب في عام 2015 بعد أن قضى 3 سنواتٍ في السجن.

وفي العام نفسه، حكمت المملكة العربية السعودية على الشاعر الفلسطيني أشرف فياض بالإعدام بسبب نشره شريط فيديو على الإنترنت يظهر فيه الشرطة الدينية وهي تجلد رجلاً علناً، بحسب فياض ومؤيديه. وعلى الرغم من إلغاء عقوبة الإعدام بحقه في وقتٍ لاحق، إلا أنه حُكم على فياض بالجلد 800 جلدة وبالسجن لمدة ثماني سنوات.

ومع ذلك يسارع العديد من الفنانين السعوديين والقطريين للدفاع عن حكامهم من السخرية. إلا أن ما يُثير السخرية حقاً هو أن أولئك الأكثر ولاءً معرضون لخطر العقوبة أو حتى الموت إذا ما تخطوا حدود الرقابة.

© Copyright Notice

click on link to view the associated photo/image
©AFP ⁃ Fayez Nureldine

دعمكم عونٌ لنا

فَنَك هي مؤسسة إعلامية إلكترونية مستقلة، لا تمولها أي دولة أو مجموعات مصالح. تلتزم فَنَك بنشر تحليلاتٍ مبنية على الوقائع ومحايدة، إلى جانب التقارير المواضيعية حول الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا.
شهد الموقع نمواً سريعاً في نطاق وعمق المعلومات التي يُقدمها، واليوم، بات يُشكل مصدراً غنياً وقيماً للمعلومات عن 21 بلداً، من المغرب إلى عُمان ومن إيران إلى اليمن، باللغتين العربية والإنجليزية. حالياً، وصل عدد القراء إلى 6 ملايين سنوياً، والعدد آخذٌ بالإزدياد.
لضمان حيادية المعلومات على موقع فَنَك (وقائع وأحداث) ، تُنشر المقالات دون ذكر أسماء الكتّاب، مما يُتيح أيضاً لمراسلينا مساحة أكبر من الحرية عند التطرق إلى القضايا الحساسة أو المثيرة للجدل فى بلادهم. وإلى جانب ذلك، نتحرى حقائق جميع المعلومات الواردة في مقالاتنا قبل النشر لضمان دقة المعلومات، وحداثتها وحيادها.

استمرارية تشغيل مثل هذا الموقع الإلكتروني مُكلفة للغاية. بتبرعٍ صغيرٍ منك، يمكنك المساهمة في الحفاظ على حرية واستقلالية تغطيتنا.

Fanack Home / Saudi Arabia / Past to Present / Venom in Verse: War of Words Deepens Gulf Crisis

Venom in Verse: War of Words Deepens Gulf Crisis

Music and poetry are spearheading the propaganda war between Saudi Arabia and Qatar, adding to the fiasco of the Gulf crisis. On 4 September 2017, the Saudi label Rotana released a song called ‘Teach Qatar [a lesson]’, which ridiculed Doha and glorified Riyadh.

‘Teach Qatar, and those who support Qatar, that our country is patient. But when things become dangerous, by God you will see its men take action,’ the lyrics state.

‘Saudi Arabia is the epitome of might and enshrinement, we live in the shadow of God and under the state’s protection. Saudi Arabia is the sky, earth and sea,’ the lyrics continue.

The song is part of a wider campaign to smear Qatar after members of the Gulf Cooperation Council (GCC) and Egypt cut ties with the tiny emirate in June 2017, ostensibly for ‘supporting terrorist groups’ and colluding with Iran. However, some commentators claim that the real reason for the dispute is to curtail Qatar’s autonomous foreign policy and growing influence in the region.

Nevertheless, seven of the Arab world’s most popular singers featured on the track. Saudi nationals Turki al-Sheikh and Rabeh Sager wrote the lyrics and composed the music respectively. The song was uploaded to YouTube and became an instant hit, attracting nearly 5 million views in five days.

The reaction, as expected, was polarized. Some Twitter users hailed the song for declaring loyalty to the Saudi kingdom. Others criticized the artists for aiding a propaganda campaign against Qatar, arguing that music should not serve political agendas. ‘Despite all these events and problems, art and song need to remain a beacon for peace,’ Kuwaiti electrical engineer Ghaliya Tabtabtai posted on Twitter.

Some listeners even suggested that singers Abdul Majeed Abdulla and Majid al-Mohandes must have been bribed for participating in the song since both have praised Qatar in the past. In 2009, the former performed ‘I Swear I Love You Qatar as Much as the Sky and Sea’. The latter once sang ‘Qatar is My Soul’.

Qatar has since suspended contracts with the artists who featured on the song. Qatari poet Khalil al-Shubrami also crafted a retort that criticizes everyone in Rotana for being unclean. Al-Jazeera broadcast his response the day after ‘Teach Qatar’ was released, but it has not gained anywhere near the same popularity.

This is not the only instance if music or poetry being used as a weapon of war this month. A Saudi court poet recited flowery verses during a televised event to entertain Saudi King Salman and other leaders. Reuters reported that the verses appeared to liken Qatar and its supporters to barking dogs, cawing crows and a devious fox. The public ridicule upset Qataris, compelling another one of their poets, Ali Mirza Mahmoud, to lash back. ‘Dunk your body in like swines, cover your faces with as much filth as you want. Drag your robe through the mire … you imbecile, bray on about whoever you want, just not Qatar,’ he recited on television.

Poetry has also been used by rulers who have chosen to take a more conciliatory approach to the crisis. On 29 June 2017, Sheikh Mohammed bin Rashid al-Maktoum, prime minister of the United Arab Emirates (UAE) and the ruler of Dubai, uploaded a poem on Instagram urging Qatar to return to the GCC.

‘Now is the time to unite and be of one heart and protect each other without grudges or hatred,’ the poem read. ‘[The GCC] will keep advising Qatar openly in line with the instructions of Prophet Muhammad, who said a wolf only eats sheep that leave the flock.’

Al-Maktoum’s words had little effect. The price of peace appears too costly for Qatar. At the end of June 2017, it was issued 13 demands, most notably to close down al-Jazeera and other state-funded networks that rile rulers across the region for exposing corruption and abuse.

Qatar is also being pressured to stop supporting strands of the Muslim Brotherhood such as Hamas. It was given ten days to agree to the demands, which it refused to do despite being subjected to a blockade by its neighbours.

Now that the war of words has begun, Qatar is receiving little support. The UAE and Bahrain even adopted a law making any expression of sympathy for the country punishable with between five and 15 years in prison.

The censorship is not surprising. In the GCC, those who step out of line can be punished and sometimes killed. In 2012, Qatari poet Muhammad Ibn al-Deeb was sentenced to life in prison for reciting a verse that ‘insulted’ the emir of Qatar and ‘promoted’ the overthrow of the state’s rulers.

The sentence was handed down amid the euphoria of the Arab Spring, which saw GCC members clamp down on dissent, fearing that popular unrest could spell the end of their rule. Al-Deeb was eventually released in 2015 after serving three years in prison.

The same year, Saudi Arabia sentenced Palestinian poet Ashraf Fayadh to death for posting a video online showing the religious police lashing a man in public, according to Fayadh and his supporters. Although the death penalty was later revoked, Fayadh received 800 lashes and was sentenced to eight years in prison.

Several Saudi and Qatari artists are nonetheless rushing to defend their rulers from ridicule. The irony, of course, is that those most loyal risk punishment or death if they push the boundaries of censorship.

image_pdfimage_print

We would like to ask you something …

Fanack is an independent media organisation, not funded by any state or any interest group, that distributes in the Middle East and the wider world unbiased analysis and background information, based on facts, about the Middle East and North Africa.

The website grew rapidly in breadth and depth and today forms a rich and valuable source of information on 21 countries, from Morocco to Oman and from Iran to Yemen, both in Arabic and English. We currently reach six million readers annually and growing fast.

In order to guarantee the impartiality of information on the Chronicle, articles are published without by-lines. This also allows correspondents to write more freely about sensitive or controversial issues in their country. All articles are fact-checked before publication to ensure that content is accurate, current and unbiased.

To run such a website is very expensive. With a small donation, you can make a huge impact. And it only takes a minute. Thank you.