فَنَكْ وقائع وأحداث عن الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا / المملكة العربية السعودية / من الماضي الى الحاضر / السعودية: بالرغم من الإصلاحات، إعتقال نشطاء في مجال حقوق المرأة

السعودية: بالرغم من الإصلاحات، إعتقال نشطاء في مجال حقوق المرأة

Saudi Arabia- Saudi women
2018 سعوديان يهرولن في شوارع جدة، مارس. Photo AFP ©AFP ⁃ Amer HILABI

ألقت السلطات السعودية، منذ 15 مايو 2018، القبض على ما لا يقل عن 13 ناشطاً في مجال حقوق المرأة بسبب نشاطهم السلمي. وتأتي هذه الاعتقالات قبل شهرٍ من 24 يونيو، حيث من المقرر رفع الحظر على قيادة النساء للسيارات، مما يثير تساؤلاتٍ حول التأثير الحقيقي لما يُسمى بالإصلاحات التي يتم تنفيذها في البلاد.

وكان من بين الناشطات اللواتي ألقي القبض عليهنّ إيمان النفجان، ولجين الهذلول، وعزيزة اليوسف، وعائشة المانع، ومديحة العجروش، وولاء آل شُبّر، وحصة الشيخ، فضلاً عن اعتقال نشطاء ذكور وهم إبراهيم المديميغ ومحمد الربيعة وعبدالعزيز المشعل، الذين يعارضون جميعهم نظام وصاية الذكور. ويسمح هذا النظام بالوصي، سواء كان الأب أو الزوج أو الأخ أو ابن العم باتخاذ قراراتٍ مصيرية نيابةً عن المرأة، مثل السفر، أو التقدم بطلبٍ للحصول على جواز سفرٍ أو الدراسة في الخارج أو الزواج.

وقال نشطاء لوكالة أسوشيتد برس إن سبعة من المعتقلين شاركوا في جهود تأسيس منظمة غير حكومية تدعى أمينة لتقديم الدعم والمأوى لضحايا العنف المنزلي. كما عارضت الهذلول والنفجان علناً حظر قيادة السيارات على النساء، ووقعنّ عريضة في عام 2016 لإلغاء نظام ولاية الذكور. وعلاوة على ذلك، فقد تم بالفعل احتجاز الهذلول مرتين، بسبب قيادتها السيارة في عام 2014 ونشاطها في يونيو 2017، في حين تم اعتقال النفجان لفترةٍ وجيزة في عام 2013 لتصويرها ناشطة أخرى أثناء قيادتها لسيارتها في العاصمة السعودية الرياض.

وأعلنت الحكومة في وقتٍ لاحق أن سبعة أشخاص اعتقلوا بسبب اتصالاتهم المشبوهة مع كيانات أجنبية وتقديمهم دعماً مالياً لـ”أعداء في الخارج،” وقالوا إن السلطات ستحدد هوية المتورطين الآخرين، كما تم أيضاً وصفهم بالخونة.

وقال كريم شهيب، وهو باحثٌ في شؤون المملكة العربية السعودية في منظمة العفو الدولية، لفَنَك: “نحن قلقون للغاية بشأن الاعتقالات الأخيرة في المملكة العربية السعودية والقمع المستمر لحرية التعبير التي نراها بشكلٍ عام.”

Saudi Arabia- Arrests in Saudi Arabia
صورة يتم تداولها على وسائل التواصل الاجتماعي الموالية للحكومة في المملكة العربية السعودية والتي تصف المناضلات في مجال حقوق المرأة اللواتي تم اعتقالهنّ بـ”الخونة.” Photo Twitter

وأضاف “كما أن حجم الاعتقالات أيضاً ذو أهمية ولا نعرف أين [النشطاء]، وشروط الإفراج عن الأشخاص الذين تم إطلاق سراحهم. هذا مقلقٌ للغاية.” واستشهد شهيب بقضية المدافعين عن حقوق الإنسان محمد العتيبي وعبد الله العطاوي، اللذين حكم عليهما في يناير بالسجن 14 و7 سنوات على التوالي، بسبب “المشاركة في تأسيس جمعية غير حكومية والإعلان عنها قبل الحصول على تصريح.” بالإضافة إلى “الإضرار بالوحدة الوطنية، ونشر الفوضى وتحريض الرأي العام من خلال إعداد وصياغة ونشر البيانات التي تضر بسمعة المملكة ومؤسساتها القضائية والأمنية”، و”نشر المعلومات حول استجوابهم رغم توقيع تعهدات بالامتناع عن القيام بذلك.”

وأضاف شهيب “هذه الاعتقالات الأخيرة ليست حالة نادرة، حتى خلال فترة ما يسمى بالإصلاح، لأننا كنا نراقب الأشخاص الذين أرسلوا إلى السجن وفرضت عليهم أحكام قاسية بسبب نشاطهم السلمي وانتقادهم [ولي العهد محمد بن سلمان].” وتابع القول “أعتقد أن حقوق الإنسان ليست على جدول الأعمال، حتى وإن رأينا محادثاتٍ حول الإصلاحات.”

كما نشرت منظمة العفو الدولية مدونة بعنوان “ينبغي على المملكة العربية السعودية أن تستثمر في حقوق الإنسان لا في حملات العلاقات العامة،” في 29 مارس، وذكرت فيه: “إذا كنت لا تعرف ذلك، فستعتقد أن المملكة العربية السعودية تسير على طريق إصلاح كبير. ومع ذلك، ففي الأشهر التي مرت منذ تنصيب ولي العهد، فإننا لم نجد سبباً يمنعنا من الاعتقاد بأن مبادراته هذه ليست إلا مجرد تمرين بارع للعلاقات العامة. ففي حقيقة الأمر أن لدى المملكة العربية السعودية سجلاً بشعاً لحقوق الإنسان، ولم يتدهور الوضع إلا منذ تنصيب محمد بن سلمان ولياً للعهد رسمياً في يونيو 2017.”

فمنذ توليه قيادة المملكة، شرع محمد بن سلمان بحملةٍ من الإصلاحات الاجتماعية والمالية والثقافية كجزءٍ من رؤية 2030، لتطوير إمكانات البلاد، والإنفتاح وتحسين حياة مواطنيها. وبدلاً من ذلك، ذكرت هيومن رايتس ووتش في 6 مايو أن تحليل “قاعدة بيانات عامة لوزارة الداخلية على الإنترنت، كشفت أن السلطات احتجزت 2,305 أشخاص يخضعون للتحقيق لأكثر من 6 أشهر دون أن يمثلوا أمام قاضٍ. ويبدو أن عدد المحتجزين لفترات طويلة للغاية ازداد بشكلٍ كبير في السنوات الأخيرة. وكشف تحليل مماثل قامت به هيومن رايتس ووتش في مايو 2014 أن 293 شخصاً فقط قد تم احتجازهم لغرض التحقيق في تلك الفترة.”

ودون القدرة على الاحتجاج والإنتقاد، والتهديد المستمر بالاعتقال والسجن، لا يبدو أن المدافعين عن حقوق الإنسان لديهم مكانٌ في رؤية المملكة 2030. فالناشطون في مجال حقوق المرأة، على وجه الخصوص، يُعاقبون على نحو مثيرٍ للسخرية لنشاطهم على نفس جدول الأعمال الذي دفع السعودية إلى رفع الحظر المفروض على قيادة النساء للسيارات في المقام الأول- وهو الأمر الذي تمت الإشادة به دولياً. ومع ذلك، تبدو الاعتقالات، وبشكلٍ متزايد، وكأنها وسيلة لإسكات النشطاء من أجل تجنب الاضطرار إلى إعطاء المزيد من الحقوق للمرأة.

© Copyright Notice

click on link to view the associated photo/image
©AFP ⁃ Amer HILABI | ©AFP ⁃ Amer HILABI

دعمكم عونٌ لنا

فَنَك هي مؤسسة إعلامية إلكترونية مستقلة، لا تمولها أي دولة أو مجموعات مصالح. تلتزم فَنَك بنشر تحليلاتٍ مبنية على الوقائع ومحايدة، إلى جانب التقارير المواضيعية حول الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا.
شهد الموقع نمواً سريعاً في نطاق وعمق المعلومات التي يُقدمها، واليوم، بات يُشكل مصدراً غنياً وقيماً للمعلومات عن 21 بلداً، من المغرب إلى عُمان ومن إيران إلى اليمن، باللغتين العربية والإنجليزية. حالياً، وصل عدد القراء إلى 6 ملايين سنوياً، والعدد آخذٌ بالإزدياد.
لضمان حيادية المعلومات على موقع فَنَك (وقائع وأحداث) ، تُنشر المقالات دون ذكر أسماء الكتّاب، مما يُتيح أيضاً لمراسلينا مساحة أكبر من الحرية عند التطرق إلى القضايا الحساسة أو المثيرة للجدل فى بلادهم. وإلى جانب ذلك، نتحرى حقائق جميع المعلومات الواردة في مقالاتنا قبل النشر لضمان دقة المعلومات، وحداثتها وحيادها.

استمرارية تشغيل مثل هذا الموقع الإلكتروني مُكلفة للغاية. بتبرعٍ صغيرٍ منك، يمكنك المساهمة في الحفاظ على حرية واستقلالية تغطيتنا.

Fanack Home / Saudi Arabia / Past to Present / Women’s Rights Activists Detained in Saudi Arabia Despite ‘Reforms’

Women’s Rights Activists Detained in Saudi Arabia Despite ‘Reforms’

Saudi Arabia- Saudi women
Saudi women jog in the streets of Jeddah on March 8, 2018. Photo AFP

Since 15 May 2018, Saudi Arabian authorities have arrested at least 13 women’s rights activists for their peaceful activism. The arrests come just over a month before 24 June, when the driving ban on women is due to be lifted, raising questions about the real impact of the so-called reforms being implemented in the country.

Among the activists are Eman al-Nafjan, Loujain al-Hathloul, Aziza al-yousef, Aisha al-Manea, Madiha al-Ajroush, Walaa al-Shubbar and Hasah al-Sheikh, as well as male campaigners Ibrahim Modeimigh, Muhammad al-Rabe and Abdulaziz al-Meshaal, all of whom are against the male guardianship system. This system allows a male guardian, a father, husband, brother, cousin or son to make critical decisions on a woman’s behalf, like travelling, applying for a passport, studying abroad or getting married.

Activists told the Associated Press that seven of those detained were trying to establish a NGO called Amina to provide support and shelter to victims of domestic abuse.

Al-Hathloul and al-Nafjan also publicly opposed the driving ban, and signed a petition in 2016 to abolish the male guardianship system. Al-Hathloul has been detained twice already, for driving in 2014 and for her activism in June 2017, while al-Nafjan was detained briefly in 2013 for filming another female activist driving in the Saudi capital Riyadh.

The government later announced that seven people had been arrested for suspicious contacts with foreign entities and offering financial support to ‘enemies overseas’, and said authorities would identify others involved. They have also been called traitors.

Saudi Arabia- Arrests in Saudi Arabia
An image circulated by pro-government social media in Saudi Arabia labeling arrested women’s rights campaigners as ‘traitors’. Photo Twitter

“We are extremely concerned about the recent arrests in Saudi Arabia and about the continued repression of freedom of expression that we see in general,” Kareem Chehayeb, a Saudi Arabia researcher at Amnesty International, told Fanack Chronicle. “It is also an important magnitude of arrests and we don’t know where [the activists] are, and the conditions of release for the ones who were released. This is very worrying.”

Chehayeb recalled the case of human rights defenders Mohammad al-Otaibi and Abdullah al-Attawi, who in January were sentenced to 14 and 7 years in prison respectively, for ‘participating in setting up an organization and announcing it before getting an authorization’, ‘dividing national unity, spreading chaos and inciting public opinion by preparing, drafting and publishing statements that are harmful to the reputation of the kingdom and its judicial and security institutions’, and ‘publishing information about their interrogations despite signing pledges to refrain from doing so’.

“These latest arrests are not a rare case, even during a period of so-called reform, because we have been observing people sent to jail and submitted to harsh sentences for their peaceful activism and criticizing the [Crown Prince Mohammad bin Salman, MBS],” Chehayeb added. “I think that human rights are not on the agenda, even if we are seeing talks about reforms.”

Amnesty International had published a blog post entitled ‘Saudi Arabia should invest in human rights, not PR [public relations] campaigns’ on 29 March 2018, saying, ‘If you didn’t know better, you would think Saudi Arabia is on a path to major reform. However, in the months since the crown prince’s appointment, we have seen little reason to believe that his overtures are anything more than a slick PR exercise. In fact, Saudi Arabia retains an atrocious human rights record and the situation has only deteriorated since the crown prince was appointed as official heir to the throne in June 2017.’

Since he assumed the leadership of the kingdom, MBS has embarked on a campaign of social, financial and cultural reforms as part of Vision 2030, to develop the country’s potential, and open up and improve the life of its citizens. Instead, Human Rights Watch (HRW) reported on 6 May that ‘analyzed data from a public Interior Ministry database…revealed that authorities have detained 2,305 people who are under investigation for more than six months without referring them to a judge. The number held for excessively long periods has apparently increased dramatically in recent years. A similar Human Rights Watch analysis in May 2014 revealed that only 293 people had been held under investigation for that period.’

Without the ability to protest and criticize, and the ongoing threat of arrest and imprisonment, human rights defenders do not seem to have a place in the kingdom’s Vision 2030. Women’s rights activists, in particular, are ironically being punished for pushing the same agenda that led Saudi Arabia to lift the driving ban in the first place – and been praised internationally for it. However, the arrests are looking increasingly like a way to silence the activists in order to avoid having to give more rights to women.

image_pdfimage_print

We would like to ask you something …

Fanack is an independent media organisation, not funded by any state or any interest group, that distributes in the Middle East and the wider world unbiased analysis and background information, based on facts, about the Middle East and North Africa.

The website grew rapidly in breadth and depth and today forms a rich and valuable source of information on 21 countries, from Morocco to Oman and from Iran to Yemen, both in Arabic and English. We currently reach six million readers annually and growing fast.

In order to guarantee the impartiality of information on the Chronicle, articles are published without by-lines. This also allows correspondents to write more freely about sensitive or controversial issues in their country. All articles are fact-checked before publication to ensure that content is accurate, current and unbiased.

To run such a website is very expensive. With a small donation, you can make a huge impact. And it only takes a minute. Thank you.