فَنَكْ وقائع وأحداث عن الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا / المملكة العربية السعودية / حقوق الإنسان في السعودية / السعودية: لا تهاون في السياسات الوحشية ضد المعارضين

السعودية: لا تهاون في السياسات الوحشية ضد المعارضين

Saudi Arabia- MBS
ولي العهد السعودي الأمير محمد بن سلمان في مؤتمر مبادرة مستقبل الاستثمار في العاصمة السعودية الرياض في 24 أكتوبر 2018. Photo AFP ©AFP ⁃ GIUSEPPE CACACE

تستمر قائمة الأشخاص الذين يواجهون عقوبة الإعدام في المملكة العربية السعودية في الازدياد. مرتجى قريريص قريع هو واحد منهم فقط، فقد اعتقلت السلطات السعودية الرجل البالغ من العمر 18 عاماً في عام 2014، عندما كان يبلغ من العمره 13 عاماً فحسب، لمشاركته في احتجاجات المنطقة الشرقية عام 2011 خلال الربيع العربي.

بعد أن قضى ما يقرب من أربع سنواتٍ في الاحتجاز التحفظي وحوالي 15 شهراً في الحبس الانفرادي، يحاكم حالياً في محكمة الإرهاب بتهمٍ تتعلق بالانتماء إلى منظمة إرهابية وارتكاب أعمال عنف، مثل إطلاق النار على قوات الأمن ورمي زجاجاتٍ حارقة على مركز للشرطة. كما أنه متهم بالسير في جنازة شقيقه، الذي قُتل على أيدي قوات الأمن أثناء مشاركته في مظاهرة.

يُعاقب على الاحتجاجات في المملكة العربية السعودية بموجب المرسوم الملكي 44 / أ، وهو أحد المراسيم التابعة لقانون جرائم الإرهاب لعام 2014 وتمويله. ومع ذلك، ينبغي قراءة قضية  قريريص في السياق الأوسع المتمثل في الملاحقة المنهجية للمسلمين الشيعة أمام المحكمة الجنائية المتخصصة لأسباب غامضة لمعارضتهم للحكومة، بما في ذلك النقد السلمي.

كما يواجه ثلاثة رجال دين سعوديين عقوبة الإعدام. ففي سبتمبر 2017، قُبض عليهم بتهمٍ تتعلق بالإرهاب بسبب صلاتهم بالعائلة الحاكمة في قطر ولارتباطهم بعلاقاتٍ مع الإخوان المسلمين، التي تُعتبر حركة إرهابية في المملكة العربية السعودية. يمكن إعدام سلمان العودة وعوض القرني وعلي العمري في أي لحظة، وفقاً لمصادر حكومية وأحد أقارب الرجال الذين قابلتهم صحيفة ميدل إيست أي.

فقد قالت مضاوي الرشيد، الخبيرة في المجتمع السعودي، لموقع دويتشه فيله الألماني أنه وفقاً لمعلوماتها، “لم تصدر المحاكم السعودية حكم الإعدام بعد. لكن المدعي العام يفكر بوضوح في عقوبة الإعدام.”

يُعرف رجال الدين الثلاثة، المعروفين في جميع أنحاء العالم العربي، بأنهم يحملون آراء “تقدمية” حول الإسلام.

يشتهر العودة بكونه مؤيداً لأحكام الشريعة الأكثر مرونة، أي الشريعة الإسلامية التي تحكم المملكة. فقد قال في عام 2016، إنه يعارض تجريم العلاقات الجنسية المثلية. وقبل إلقاء القبض عليه، وبينما كانت المملكة العربية السعودية في خضم أزمةٍ دبلوماسية مع قطر، قام بالتغريد لصالح التقارب بين البلدين.

أما العمري، وهو صحفي إذاعي، فقد دعا إلى شن حربٍ على الإسلام المتطرف وطالب بالمزيد من المساواة بين الجنسين، في حين أن القرني رجل دين وكاتب يعتبر “معتدلاً،” إذ كان الرجال الثلاثة مؤثرين للغاية على وسائل التواصل الاجتماعي. فعلى سبيل المثال، كان لدى العودة أكثر من 14 مليون متابع على تويتر.

وفي 23 أبريل، أعدمت الحكومة السعودية 37 شخصاً بتهمٍ تتعلق بالإرهاب، بما في ذلك “تبني أيديولوجيات إرهابية متطرفة.” تم عرض واحدة من الجثث على الأاقل على أحد الأعمدة بهدف “ردع” الجمهور.

إن موقف المملكة العربية السعودية من حقوق الإنسان متناقض بشكلٍ خاص. فمن ناحية، تظهر الرياض علامات الانفتاح المتزايد، ومن ناحيةٍ أخرى، تمارس السلطات بانتظام السلوك الوحشي، كما يتضح في مقتل الصحفي السعودي جمال خاشقجي في أكتوبر عام 2018، وهو ناقدٌ للنظام، في القنصلية السعودية في اسطنبول. فقد امتدح المجتمع الدولي ولي العهد محمد بن سلمان (المعروف أيضاً باسم مبس) لرفع الحظر المفروض على قيادة المرأة للسيارات في يونيو 2018، ومع ذلك، شن ولي العهد حملة اعتقالاتٍ ضد الناشطات اللائي قدن الكفاح من أجل التمتع بالحق في قيادة السيارات وإلغاء نظام الوصاية الذكورية.

ووفقاً لثلاث شهاداتٍ جمعتها منظمة العفو الدولية، تعرضت النساء المعتقلات للتعذيب بالجلد والصعق بالكهرباء مراراً وتكراراً. فقد سردت إحدى الشهادات أن امرأة “تم تعليقها من السقف.” وذُكر أيضاً أن محققين “يرتدون أقنعةً للوجه” قاموا بالتحرش الجنسي بإحدى الناشطات.

وقالت إليزابيث مايرز، الأستاذة المقيمة في واشنطن العاصمة والمحررة في إنسايد أرابيا، للجزيرة إن القمع في المملكة العربية السعودية “قد ينجح على المدى القصير” ولكن على المدى الطويل قد “يخدم الغرض المعاكس بالضبط من خلال إثارة المزيد من المعارضة وزرع المزيد من الفتنة والانقسام في المجتمع.” وبحسب قوله، فإن الحملة على أي شكلٍ من أشكال الاحتجاج قد “تحفز حركة شعبية كما رأينا في الجزائر أو السودان.”

وفي ظل الإطاحة بالرئيس الجزائري عبد العزيز بوتفليقة والاحتجاجات في السودان التي أدت إلى خلع عمر البشير، يخشى النظام السعودي ربيعاً عربياً آخر يمكن أن يقوض هيمنة العائلة المالكة.

في الوقت الراهن، تتغاضى الولايات المتحدة – واحدة من أكبر حلفاء المملكة العربية السعودية – عن استمرار السياسات الوحشية في المملكة. فقد أصدر الرئيس دونالد ترمب بياناً لدعم محمد بن سلمان في 20 نوفمبر 2018، معترفاً بإمكانية تورط ولي العهد في مقتل خاشقجي مع إعادة التأكيد على قوة العلاقة بين البلدين. ومع ذلك، فإن الرأي العام في الولايات المتحدة ينقلب ببطء ضد محمد بن سلمان مع استمرار التحالف الذي تقوده السعودية في حملته العسكرية في اليمن، كما كشف نطاق صفقات الأسلحة للولايات المتحدة مع المملكة العربية السعودية عن تورط الولايات المتحدة الحقيقي في الصراع.

كما تتصاعد الاحتجاجات في الدول الأخرى المتحالفة مع المملكة، وتشمل هذه المملكة المتحدة وفرنسا، حيث تحاول منظمات حقوق الإنسان والعديد من وسائل الإعلام والمواطنين مساءلة حكوماتهم عن بيع الأسلحة إلى المملكة العربية السعودية التي يُزعم أنها تستخدم لاستهداف المدنيين في اليمن.

بيد أنه بالرغم أن بعض الأصوات السعودية قد أصبحت أكثر صراحةً في معارضتها لخلافة محمد بن سلمان للعرش، إلا أنه ما زال يتمتع بشعبيةٍ كبيرة، ولا سيما بين الشباب. إن قطاع الترفيه الجديد، وبشكلٍ أعم، خطة الأمير لتنشيط الاقتصاد من خلال تحويل اعتماده على صادرات النفط، يساعد على تنصيبه “مصلحاً عصرياً” في عيون الشباب السعودي.

ومع ذلك، فإن هذه “الحداثة” تجميلية إلى حدٍ كبير، فقبل عامٍ من وفاة خاشقجي، سمح محمد بن سلمان بشن حملةٍ سرية تشمل المراقبة والخطف والاحتجاز والتعذيب لإسكات أي شكلٍ من أشكال المعارضة. لا ينطبق هذا فقط على المعارضين داخل المملكة ولكن أيضاً على النقاد الذين يعيشون في الخارج، حيث يتم ترحيل بعض من يخضعون للمراقبة قسراً من بلدانٍ عربية أخرى إلى المملكة.

© Copyright Notice

click on link to view the associated photo/image
©AFP ⁃ GIUSEPPE CACACE

دعمكم عونٌ لنا

فَنَك هي مؤسسة إعلامية إلكترونية مستقلة، لا تمولها أي دولة أو مجموعات مصالح. تلتزم فَنَك بنشر تحليلاتٍ مبنية على الوقائع ومحايدة، إلى جانب التقارير المواضيعية حول الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا.
شهد الموقع نمواً سريعاً في نطاق وعمق المعلومات التي يُقدمها، واليوم، بات يُشكل مصدراً غنياً وقيماً للمعلومات عن 21 بلداً، من المغرب إلى عُمان ومن إيران إلى اليمن، باللغتين العربية والإنجليزية. حالياً، وصل عدد القراء إلى 6 ملايين سنوياً، والعدد آخذٌ بالإزدياد.
لضمان حيادية المعلومات على موقع فَنَك (وقائع وأحداث) ، تُنشر المقالات دون ذكر أسماء الكتّاب، مما يُتيح أيضاً لمراسلينا مساحة أكبر من الحرية عند التطرق إلى القضايا الحساسة أو المثيرة للجدل فى بلادهم. وإلى جانب ذلك، نتحرى حقائق جميع المعلومات الواردة في مقالاتنا قبل النشر لضمان دقة المعلومات، وحداثتها وحيادها.

استمرارية تشغيل مثل هذا الموقع الإلكتروني مُكلفة للغاية. بتبرعٍ صغيرٍ منك، يمكنك المساهمة في الحفاظ على حرية واستقلالية تغطيتنا.

Fanack Home / Saudi Arabia / Human Rights in Saudi Arabia / In Saudi Arabia, No Let-up in Brutal Policies Against Dissenters

In Saudi Arabia, No Let-up in Brutal Policies Against Dissenters

Saudi Arabia- MBS
Saudi Crown Prince Mohammed bin Salman at the Future Investment Initiative conference in the Saudi capital Riyadh on October 24, 2018. Photo AFP ©AFP ⁃ GIUSEPPE CACACE

The list of people facing the death penalty in Saudi Arabia continues to grow. Murtaja Qureiris is just one of them. The 18-year-old was arrested by Saudi authorities in 2014, when he was only 13, for his participation in the 2011 Eastern Province protests during the Arab Spring.

After having spent nearly four years in pre-trial detention and almost 15 months in solitary confinement, he is currently on trial at a terror court on the grounds of belonging to a terrorist organization and committing acts of violence, such as firing at security forces and throwing Molotov cocktails at a police station. He is also charged with marching at the funeral of his brother, who was killed by security forces while taking part in a demonstration.

Protests in Saudi Arabia are punishable under Royal Decree 44/A, a follow-up decree to the 2014 Law for the Crimes of Terrorism and its Financing. However, Qureiris’ case has to be read in the broader context of systematic prosecution of Shia Muslims before the Specialized Criminal Court (SCC) on ambiguous grounds for opposing the government, including through peaceful criticism.

Three Saudi clerics are also facing the death penalty. In September 2017, they were arrested on terrorism charges for having ties with Qatar’s royal family and for being connected to the Muslim Brotherhood, which is considered a terrorist movement in Saudi Arabia. Salman al-Odah, Awad al-Qarni and Ali al-Omari may be executed at any moment, according to government sources and one of the men’s relatives interviewed by the Middle East Eye.

Madawi al-Rasheed, an expert on Saudi society, told DW that according to her information, “Saudi courts have not yet handed down the death sentence. But the public prosecutor is clearly considering the death penalty.”

Well known across the Arab world, the three clerics are considered to hold ‘progressive’ views on Islam.

Al-Odah is famous for being in favour of more flexible Sharia legislation, the Islamic law that governs the kingdom. In 2016, he said he opposed criminalization of same-sex relationships. Prior to being arrested, and while Saudi Arabia was in the midst of a diplomatic crisis with Qatar, he tweeted in favour of a rapprochement between the two countries.

Al-Omari is a radio journalist who called for a war on radical Islam and advocated greater gender equality. Al-Qarni, for his part, is a cleric and writer who is considered a ‘moderate’. The three men were extremely influential on social media. Al-Odah, for instance, had more than 14 million followers on Twitter.

On 23 April, the Saudi government executed 37 people on terrorism charges, including ‘adopting extremist terrorist ideologies’. At least one of the dead bodies was displayed on a pole as a ‘deterrent’ to the public.

Saudi Arabia’s attitude to human rights is particularly ambivalent. On the one hand, Riyadh shows signs of increasing openness. On the other, the authorities regularly demonstrate brutal behaviour, as illustrated by the murder in October 2018 of Saudi journalist Jamal Khashoggi, a regime critic, in the Saudi consulate in Istanbul. The international community praised Crown Prince Mohammed bin Salman (also known as MBS) for lifting the ban on women driving in June 2018. However, he then launched a campaign of arrests against women activists who had spearheaded the fight for the right to drive and the abolition of the male guardianship system.

According to three testimonies collected by Amnesty International, the women arrested were repeatedly subjected to torture by flogging and electrocution. One testimony recounted that a woman ‘was made to hang from the ceiling’. It was also reported that interrogators ‘wearing face masks’ subjected another activist to sexual harassment.

Elisabeth R. Myers, a Washington DC-based professor and editor of Inside Arabia, told al-Jazeera that repression in Saudi Arabia “may work in the short run” but in the longer term may “serve the exact opposite purpose by prompting more dissent and sowing more discord and division in society”. According to her, the crackdown on any form of protest may “galvanize a popular movement as we have seen in Algeria or Sudan”.

With the overthrow of Algerian President Abdelaziz Bouteflika and the protests in Sudan that led to the deposition of Omar al-Bashir, the Saudi regime fears another Arab Spring that could undermine the hegemony of the royal family.

For now, the United States (US) – one of Saudi Arabia’s greatest ally – is condoning the continuation of brutal policies in the kingdom. President Donald Trump issued a statement of support for MBS on 20 November 2018, acknowledging the possibility of the crown prince’s involvement in Khashoggi’s murder while reaffirming the strength of the two countries’ relationship. However, public opinion in the US is slowly turning against MBS as the Saudi-led coalition continues its military campaign in Yemen and the extent of the US arm deals with Saudi Arabia has revealed the US’ true involvement in the conflict.

Protests are also mounting in other countries allied to the kingdom. These include the United Kingdom and France, where human rights organizations, several media and citizens are trying to hold their governments to account for selling weapons to Saudi Arabia that are allegedly being used to target civilians in Yemen.

Yet while some Saudi voices are becoming increasingly vocal in their opposition to MBS succeeding to the throne, he remains hugely popular, in particular among the youth. The emerging entertainment sector, and more generally, the prince’s plan to energize the economy by shifting it away from its reliance on oil exports, are helping to position him as a ‘modern reformer’ in the eyes of young Saudis.

This ‘modernity’ is largely cosmetic, however: a year before Kashoggi’s death, MBS authorized a secret campaign, which includes surveillance, kidnapping, detention and torture, to silence any form of dissent. This not only applies to dissenters in the kingdom but also to critics living abroad, with some of those under surveillance being forcibly repatriated from other Arab countries.

© Copyright Notice

click on link to view the associated photo/image
©AFP ⁃ GIUSEPPE CACACE | ©AFP ⁃ GIUSEPPE CACACE

We would like to ask you something …

Fanack is an independent media organisation, not funded by any state or any interest group, that distributes in the Middle East and the wider world unbiased analysis and background information, based on facts, about the Middle East and North Africa.

The website grew rapidly in breadth and depth and today forms a rich and valuable source of information on 21 countries, from Morocco to Oman and from Iran to Yemen, both in Arabic and English. We currently reach six million readers annually and growing fast.

In order to guarantee the impartiality of information on the Chronicle, articles are published without by-lines. This also allows correspondents to write more freely about sensitive or controversial issues in their country. All articles are fact-checked before publication to ensure that content is accurate, current and unbiased.

To run such a website is very expensive. With a small donation, you can make a huge impact. And it only takes a minute. Thank you.