فَنَكْ وقائع وأحداث عن الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا / المملكة العربية السعودية / السكان في السعودية / الشيعة في السعودية

الشيعة في السعودية

saudi-arabia-past-to-present-saudis-carring-flags-blaming-wahhabi-for-the-suicide-attack-fanack-hh1024px
أفراد من الشيعة يسيرون في موكب جنازة بعد الهجمات المميتة لتنظيم الدولة الإسلامية على مساجد للشيعة، حاملين لافتات احتجاجٍ ضد الوهابية في جزيرة تاروت في المملكة العربية السعودية، 30 مارس 2015. Photo Hasam Jamali ©Hollandse Hoogte ⁃ HASAN JAMALI

أحيا الربيع العربي لعام 2011، من جديد، تحدياً قديماً واجهته الحكومات في دول الخليج. فخوفاً من الانقلابات وفي ظل الضغوطات الدولية لنشر الديمقراطية في الشرق الأوسط، وظفت النخب الحاكمة من مجلس التعاون الخليجي رجال أعمالٍ طائفيّ الهوية لإعادة تدوير خطرٍ قديم، المعروف بالعامية بـ”التهديد الشيعي.” يعود تاريخ الجانب الأسطوري لهذا الخطر القديم للاختلاف السُني- الشيعي عام 680 ميلادي، عندما قُتل الحسين بن علي، حفيد النبي محمد، والذي يُبجله الشيعة، في معركة كربلاء. وفي حين يعتبر الشيعة المسلمون أنّ نسل النبي محمد هم خلفاؤه الشرعيون، يعتبر السُنة أن أبا بكرٍ الصديق، صديق النبي محمد، هو الخليفة الحقيقي. فقد عزز قتل الحسين على يد جنودٍ سُنة في كربلاء هذا الانقسام، وأصبح رمزاً للشهادة التي شكلّت الهوية الشيعية. كما توجد اختلافاتٌ عقائدية بين التزام السُنة والشيعة بالشريعة الإسلامية، إلا أن كلا الطائفتين تتعايشان معاً سلمياً على مدى قرون.

يعتبر النفط جزءاً لا يتجزأ من قصة اضطهاد الشيعة في المملكة العربية السعودية، تماماً بأهمية مقوّمٍ من مقوّمات الزواج غير السعيد الذي يحكم علاقة الولايات المتحدة الأمريكية بالسعودية؛ تحالفٌ معقدٌ غالباً ما يشوبه التوتر. فالمملكة العربية السعودية ثاني أكبر منتجٍ للنفط في منظمة الدول المصدرة للبترول (أوبك)، وهي مجموعة من الدول تتحكم بنحو 80% من إمدادات العالم. يقع معظم النفط في المملكة العربية السعودية في المنطقة الشرقية، كما أن ثلث سكان المنطقة الشرقية في السعودية من الشيعة. وفي المملكة بأكملها، تتراوح نسبة الشيعة ما بين 5% إلى 20% من إجمالي السكان. وهذا يعني أن جزءاً كبيراً من إمدادات النفط في العالم، حوالي الخُمس، تقع تحت أراضٍ يسكنها أغلبية شيعية، في بلدٍ ذو أغلبيةٍ سُنيّة. كما تعتبر الوهابية، وهي فرعٌ من الإسلام السُني المحافظ والمتشدد، بالتأكيد، عنصراً مرئياً في اضطهاد الأقليات الشيعية في المملكة. ومع ذلك، غالباً ما يتم إهمال الدور المعقد الذي يلعبه النفط في الصراع بين السُنة والشيعة.

إن تنامي مطالب الدمقرطة في المملكة العربية السعودية، مثل صون حقوق الإنسان وغيرها من الأهداف المشتركة للمجتمع الدولي، تشتمل على إصلاح السياسات المتعلقة بالأقليات الشيعية فيها. ومع ذلك، تتطلب التغييرات في السياسة تعديلاتٍ في البُنية الأساسية. ومن المنطقي خضوع المملكة لهذا التغيير، إذ سيبتر هذا شعور الشيعة في المملكة بالإنتماء إلى إيران، جارة السعودية ذات الأغلبية الشيعية. إلا أن الجهود الحقيقية لاستأصال مكانة الشيعة في المملكة العربية السعودية كمواطنين من الدرجة الثانية يتطلب أموالاً طائلة؛ أموالٌ تُمنح في الوقت الراهن للسُنة. بعبارةٍ أخرى، إن تحسين وضع الأقلية الشيعية سيكون على حساب مستوى معيشة الأغلبية السُنية، الذين تم تلقينهم بشكلٍ منهجي على الكراهية والخوف من الشيعة. وهذا بدوره، يُهدد الاستقرار في منطقة الخليج، سيما أن إيران والمملكة العربية السعودية منخرطتان في مناوشاتٍ عسكرية ودبلوماسية في جميع أنحاء المنطقة، منها على سبيل المثال الحرب الأهلية السورية، حيث تدعم إيران حكومة الأسد بينما تدعم المملكة العربية السعودية المعارضة السُنية. ثانياً، تبرز مخاوف من تمكين الشيعة في المملكة العربية السعودية، مما يعني تزويدهم بالموارد اللازمة للانفصال عن البلاد، بينما في الوقت الراهن، الانفصال الشيعي مجرد شعارٍ عقيم يجري تداوله في المسيرات. ومع وجود جزءٍ مهمٍ من احتياطي النفط في العالم أسفل المنطقة الشرقية، قد يقلب انفصال الشيعة عن المملكة العربية السعودية ديناميكيات السُلطة في الشرق الأوسط ويمنح السُلطة لجارتها الشيعية، إيران.

لم تكن المملكة العربية السعودية وإيران على خصامٍ دوماً. ففي ستينيات القرن الماضي، تعاونتا معاً للحدّ من فكرة القومية العربية للرئيس المصري جمال عبد الناصر والتوسع السوفياتي في المنطقة. وفي أوائل السبعينيات، لقيتا ترحيباً من قبل الرئيس الأمريكي ريتشارد نيكسون باعتبارهما “ركيزتيّ” الخليج الفارسي، حيث لعب البلدان دوراً حيوياً في الحفاظ على السلام: إيران لحفظ أمن المنطقة والمملكة العربية السعودية- خادمة الحرمين الشريفين في الإسلام- لإضفاء الشرعية على التعاون مع الغرب. وفي عام 1979، قادت الثورة الإسلامية في إيران التغيير في المنطقة من خلال مركزَة سُلطة البلاد في أيدي رجال الدين الشيعة. فقد أقسم زعيمهم، آية الله روح الله الخميني، عام 1981 بتصدير الثورة الإيرانية إلى العالم أجمع. وفيما بعد، منح النظام الإيراني دعمه لأتباعه الشيعة في كلٍ من العراق ولبنان وسوريا.

وفي الأشهر التي تلت الثورة الإيرانية، بدأ رجال الدين الشيعة والسُنة في إيران انتقاد النظام الملكي في الخليج. عُززت معارضتهم بفضل الهجوم المتطرف على المسجد الحرام في مكة المكرمة. وفي 28 نوفمبر 1979، حاول الشيعة في أجزاء من المنطقة الشرقية الاحتفال بعاشوراء جهاراً. تتمثل احتفالات عاشوراء بإعادة تمثيل وفاة حفيد النبي، الحسين، في كربلاء، في أجواء تتسم بالعاطفة، وهي ذكرى يحتفل فيها الشيعة عادةً بأجواء سرية، إذ لا تمنح المملكة الحق في حرية الدين. (فمع بدايات عشرينيات القرن الماضي، طالب رجال الدين الوهابيون الذين يحملون مشاعر معادية للشيعة المحليين، بأن يتم تحويلهم قسراً إلى الإسلام السُنيّ). وبعد أشهرٍ من تحريض آية الله الخميني الأقليات الشيعية في المنطقة على الإنتفاض ضد حكوماتها مثل الإيرانيين، اعتبر السعوديون الاحتفالات العلنية للشيعة بعاشوراء بمثابة تهديدٍ للأمن القومي. تم استدعاء الحرس الوطني السعودي لقمع احتفالات الحداد، مما تسبب في أحداث شغبٍ أسفرت عن وفاة عشرات المتظاهرين الشيعة. تحمل احتجاجات الناشطين الشيعة أوجه تشابهٍ مع الجماعة الأصولية السُنية التي اتبعت انتقادات جهيمان العتيبي للمملكة العربية السعودية خلال احتلاله للمسجد الحرام. فقد ندد المحتجون الشيعة بانتماء واعتماد المملكة على الغرب، والفساد الحكومي، والإنحراف عن الأعراف الإسلامية الصارمة. ومن ناحيةٍ أخرى، اختلفوا مع المتظاهرين السُنة في مطلبٍ آخر. ففي عام 1979، دعوا على وجه الخصوص إلى وقف إنتاج النفط بشكلٍ تام وإعادة توزيع الثروة النفطية بتدابير أكثر إنصافاً بين المواطنين السُنة والشيعة. تصاعدت التوترات مع إيران في ثمانينات القرن الماضي، عندما دعم النظام السعودي صدام حسين في حربه ضد إيران. وفي عام 1987، علقت المملكة العربية السعودية علاقاتها الدبلوماسية مع إيران لمدة أربع سنوات في أعقاب وفاة مئات الحجاج الإيرانيين خلال موسم الحج في مكة المكرمة. نتيجةً لذلك، قاطعت إيران الحج من عام 1988 إلى عام 1990. وبعد استعادة النظام بعد الانتفاضة الشعبية، وعدت الحكومة السعودية بزيادة الإنفاق المحلي لتطوير البُنى التحتية في المنطقة الشرقية.

ومع تدفق الأموال إلى المنطقة لرفع المستوى المعيشي المادي لسكانها، تم أيضاً تعديل الحقوق تدريجياً منذ عام 1993. فعلى سبيل المثال، سُمح للقضاة الشيعة الذين يترأسون المحاكم في المنطقة الشرقية باستخدام المدرسة الجعفرية للفقه الإسلامي، وهي فرعٌ من الإسلام الشيعي، لحل القضايا في “قانون الأسرة، والميراث، وإدارة الوقف.” وفي حين شكّل هذا تحسناً، إلا أنه عنى أيضاً أن الشيعة الذين يعيشون في أجزاء أخرى من المنطقة الشرقية، مقاطعة نجران ومنطقة الحجاز الغربية، لن يتمكنوا من الوصول إلى هذه المحاكم الشيعية، سواء على الصعيد المحلي أو الإقليمي أو الوطني. ويقول توبي ماثيسن في كتابه بعنوان “السعوديون الآخرون، الشيعة والانشقاق والطائفية،” أن الاتفاق الذي تم عام 1993 بين الدولة السعودية ومجموعة مختارة من ممثلي الشيعة نجح في “إسكات أكثر وسائل الإعلام صراحةً في الخارج، واستمال العديد من نشطاء المعارضة ووضعهم تحت مراقبة الأجهزة الأمنية.” كما وضّح بشكلٍ أوفى قائلاً “ومن خلال عدم تغيير وضع الشيعة بشكلٍ جذري، وضع هذا أيضاً قادة الحركة “الشيرازية” في موقفٍ حرج.” بعبارةٍ أخرى، ركزت التعديلات التي طرأت في أوائل تسعينيات القرن الماضي، بشكلٍ استراتيجي، على تقسيم المعارضة الشيعية واستمالة بعض قادتها. ونتيجةً لذلك، ساهمت في تفاوت مستوى المعيشة بين السكان الشيعة أنفسهم في المملكة العربية السعودية.

وعلاوة على ذلك، لم يُسمح سوى لستة قضاةٍ شيعة بترأس المحاكم السعودية، وكان يتوقع منهم تطبيق والالتزام بخطوط دقيقة. فعلى سبيل المثال، أقيل الشيخ حسن بوخمسين من منصبه عام 2010 لانتقاده أمراً قضائياً حكومياً. نقطة ضعفٍ أخرى في هذا الإطار الزمني للتقدم السُني- الشيعي هي شرعية أو قوة المحاكم الشيعية، إذ يشكوا الشيعة السعوديون من افتقار محاكمهم لسلطةٍ حقيقية، حيث يمكن للفرقاء في الدعاوى ممن يعارضون الأحكام الصادرة، إعادة فتح القضايا بسهولة في المحاكم السُنية- التي مُنحت الحق في إلغاء أحكام المحاكم الشيعية. كما أن الشيعة مجردون من أهلية الشهادة في المحاكم السُنية.

ثانياً، وفي حين لا يُحظر على الشيعة، حرفياً، بناء وإدارة المساجد، إلا أن عملية الحصول على ترخيصٍ حكومي تعسفيةٌ ومحفوفةٌ بالتعقيدات، بينما يمكن لرجال الدين السُنة تقديم التماسٍ لوزارة الشؤون الإسلامية والدعوة والإرشاد للحصول على مساعداتٍ مالية، في حين يتوقع من نظرائهم الشيعة طلب المساعدة الاقتصادية من طائفتهم. وتشتمل التنازلات الأخرى التي يتوجب على رجال الدين وأتباع الطائفة الشيعية الالتزام بها رفع الآذان بصيغة أهل السُنة في حال تواجد المسجد في حي سكني مختلط (سنة وشيعة)، وإغلاق محالهم أو التوقف عن العمل لأداء الصلوات الخمس على وقتها، على الرغم من أن الشيعة يجمعون الصلوات الخمس في ثلاث صلوات، وهذا يعني أنهم ليسوا مجبرين، من ناحيةٍ عقائدية، على التوقف عن العمل في كل مرة يُنادى فيها للصلاة السُنية.

ولا تزال التجاوزات والقيود التعسفية قائمةً في قطاعاتٍ أخرى. فعلى سبيل المثال، في مجال التعليم العالي، يظهر التحيز الطائفي جلياً في عملية اختيار الطلاب للمنح الدراسية والجامعات الحكومية، وكذلك في اختيار الموظفين الأكاديميين والإداريين للمؤسسات التعليمية. كما يوجد أيضاً في فرص العمل والترقيات، في حال الحصول على هذه الفرص، إذ أن هناك القليل من الشيعة المعروفين صراحةً في مناصب رفيعة المستوى في الشركات والوكالات التي تملكها الحكومة.

وأخيراً، هناك تقدمٌ وإعاقة، على حد سواء، في التمثيل السياسي، حتى اليوم. فوفقاً لمنظمة Global Security “لم يكن هناك أي وزراء، أو نواب وزراء، أو محافظين، أو نواب محافظين، أو مدارء لفروع الوزارات شيعة في المنطقة الشرقية، كما أن ثلاثة فقط من أعضاء المجلس البلدي المعيّن من قِبل الحكومة، والبالغ عدد أعضائه 59 عضواً، كانوا من الشيعة. ومع ذلك، فإن الشيعة ممثلين تمثيلاً جيداً في المجالس البلدية المُنتخب أعضاؤها، حيث يحظون بـ10 مقاعد من أصل 11 في مجالس القطيف والإحساء. كما ترأس شيعيّ المجلس البلدي بمحافظة القطيف. وبوجود خمسة شيعة فحسب في مجلس الشورى، فهم ممثلين تمثيلاً ناقصاً إلى حدٍ كبير.”

باختصار، في حين أن الكراهية التاريخية والعقائدية لا تزال قائمةً، فبالأحرى أنّ الذريعة السياسية السعودية ما يمنع ويدفع، على حد سواء، المساواة بين السُنة والشيعة. كما أن تناقضات السياسة السعودية تتجلى في رد فعلها على هجمات تنظيم الدولة الإسلامية عام 2015 على المساجد الشيعية في المملكة. فعلى مدى العقود الماضية، سمحت السعودية لرجال الدين السُنة الذين ترعاهم الحكومة بتشويه صورة الشيعة، وربطهم بالشرك، وبالتالي تعزيز تاريخٍ من القمع والنبذ من الحقوق المدنية الأساسية. ومن جهةٍ أخرى، فإن استنكار البلاد للهجمات على مساجد الشيعة، قاد الحملة ضد تنظيم الدولة الإسلامية وشكل تحالفاً بين 34 دولةً إسلامية- باستثناء إيران. هذه الإزدواجية بقيادة المعركة ضد الجماعة الإسلامية المتطرفة التي تُشيطن الشيعة وتعتبرهم فئةً ضالة، في حين ترعى وتصدّر الوهابية، وهي جماعةٌ أخرى من الإسلاميين المتشددين ممن يحملون ذات وجهات النظر حول الشيعة، يمكن مشاهدتها في قضية نمر باقر النمر، وهو شيخٌ شيعي انتقد الدولة السعودية، والذي أعدم مع 46 من النشطاء الآخرين في وقتٍ مبكر من عام 2016. جددت هذه الحادثة احتجاجات الشيعة السعوديين ضد الدولة. وقد أشير إلى أن الحُكم الصادر يعني التأكيد على رد فعل الدولة المتكافىء تجاه أعمال الإرهاب (أو التحريض على الثورات)، سواء كانت من نشطاء شيعة أو سُنة. وللبدء في فهم الوضع الحساس للشيعة في المملكة العربية السعودية، فمن الأفضل أخذ كلمات توبي ماثيسن بعين الاعتبار، والذي يوّضح في كتابه “الخليج الطائفي: البحرين والسعودية والربيع العربي الذي لم يكن،” أن الاستراتيجيات الطائفية التي وظفتها المملكة العربية السعودية وغيرها من دول الخليج بداية الربيع العربي: “إذ لم تكن الطائفية مجرد تدخلٍ حكومي، بل نتاج مزيجٍ من النخب السياسية والدينية والاجتماعية والاقتصادية، التي استخدمت جميعها الطائفية لخدمة هدفها الخاص.”

© Copyright Notice

click on link to view the associated photo/image
©Hollandse Hoogte ⁃ HASAN JAMALI | ©Hollandse Hoogte ⁃ HASAN JAMALI

دعمكم عونٌ لنا

فَنَك هي مؤسسة إعلامية إلكترونية مستقلة، لا تمولها أي دولة أو مجموعات مصالح. تلتزم فَنَك بنشر تحليلاتٍ مبنية على الوقائع ومحايدة، إلى جانب التقارير المواضيعية حول الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا.
شهد الموقع نمواً سريعاً في نطاق وعمق المعلومات التي يُقدمها، واليوم، بات يُشكل مصدراً غنياً وقيماً للمعلومات عن 21 بلداً، من المغرب إلى عُمان ومن إيران إلى اليمن، باللغتين العربية والإنجليزية. حالياً، وصل عدد القراء إلى 6 ملايين سنوياً، والعدد آخذٌ بالإزدياد.
لضمان حيادية المعلومات على موقع فَنَك (وقائع وأحداث) ، تُنشر المقالات دون ذكر أسماء الكتّاب، مما يُتيح أيضاً لمراسلينا مساحة أكبر من الحرية عند التطرق إلى القضايا الحساسة أو المثيرة للجدل فى بلادهم. وإلى جانب ذلك، نتحرى حقائق جميع المعلومات الواردة في مقالاتنا قبل النشر لضمان دقة المعلومات، وحداثتها وحيادها.

استمرارية تشغيل مثل هذا الموقع الإلكتروني مُكلفة للغاية. بتبرعٍ صغيرٍ منك، يمكنك المساهمة في الحفاظ على حرية واستقلالية تغطيتنا.

Fanack Home / Saudi Arabia / Population / Shia in Saudi Arabia

Shia in Saudi Arabia

saudi-arabia-past-to-present-saudis-carring-flags-blaming-wahhabi-for-the-suicide-attack-fanack-hh1024px
Shiites march in a funeral procession after deadly attacks on Shia mosques by IS, carrying signs of protest against Wahhabism, in Tarut, Saudi Arabia, 30 March 2015. Photo Hasam Jamali

The Arab Spring of 2011 resurrected an old challenge to the Gulf monarchies. Fearing coups and international pressure to democratise the Middle East, royal elites from the Gulf Cooperation Council (GCC) hired sectarian identity entrepreneurs to recycle an old danger, colloquially known as “The Shia threat.” The mythological aspect of this danger goes back to the old Sunni-Shia schism in 680 AD , when Husayn ibn Ali, grandson of the Prophet Muhammad, revered by Shia Muslims, was killed in the Battle of Karbala. While Shia Muslims regard the descendants of the Prophet Muhammad as his rightful successors, Sunnis consider the rule of Abu Bakr, a friend of the Prophet, as the true caliph. Husayn’s killing by Sunni soldiers at Karbala cemented this split and became a symbol of matyrdom that shaped the Shia identity.  Theological discrepancies do exist between Sunni’s and Shia’s adherence to Islamic law, but the two sects have co-existed peacefully for centuries.

Oil is an integral aspect of the story of Shia’s oppression in Saudi Arabia, just as essential as an ingredient in the bad marriage that is the US-Saudi relationship, a complex and often strained alliance. Saudi Arabia is the second largest producer of oil in the Organisation of the Petroleum Exporting Countries (OPEC), a group of nations that control around 80 percent of the world’s supply. Most of Saudi Arabia’s oil is located in the Eastern Province, and  a third of the inhabitants of the Eastern Province in Saudi Arabia are Shia. In the whole kingdom, Shia only amount for 5 to 20 percent of the total population. This means that a large portion of the world’s oil supply – almost a fifth – is located under a Shia majority territory, in a majorly Sunni country. Wahhabism, a branch of ultraconservatist Sunni Islam, is certainly a visible element in the oppression of Shia minorities in the Kingdom. However, the complex role that oil plays in the Sunni-Shia conflict is often neglected.

Rising demands for the democratisation of Saudi Arabia, like upholding human rights and other shared goals of the international community, include reforming policies pertaining to its Shia minorities. Policy changes, however, necessitate infrastructural modifications. It would make sense for the kingdom to undergo this change as it would severe its Shia’s sense of belonging to Iran, a Shia-majority neighbour. But genuine efforts to eradicate the status of Shia in Saudi Arabia as second class citizens would require massive amounts of money – money that is currently given to Sunnis. In other words, improving the status of the Shia minority will come at the expense of the standard of living of the Sunni majority, which has been systematically indoctrinated to hate and fear Shias. This, in turn, threatens the Gulf’s stability, especially as Iran and Saudi Arabia engage in military and diplomatic skirmishes across the region, for example in the Syrian civil war, where Iran is backing the Assad government while Saudi Arabia supports the Sunni rebels. Second, there is a fear that empowering the Shia in Saudi Arabia would mean equipping them with the necessary resources to separate from the country, whereas at present, Shia secession is only an empty slogan tossed around in rallies. With an important portion the world’s oil reserve lying below the Eastern Province, a Shia secession from Saudi Arabia would alter the power-dynamics of the Middle East and empower their Shiite neighbor, Iran.

Saudi Arabia and Iran were not always rivals. In the 1960s, they cooperated to curb Egypt’s Gamal Abdel Nasser’s pan-Arabism and the Soviet expansion in the region. In the early 1970s, they were hailed by U.S. President Richard Nixon as the “twin pillars” of the Persian Gulf, whereby both countries played vital roles in maintaining peace: Iran to police the region and Saudi Arabia – the custodian of Islam’s holiest places – to legitimise cooperation with the West. In 1979, Iran’s Islamic revolution drove change in the region by placing the country’s power in the hands of Shia clerics. Their leader, the ayatollah Ruhollah Khomeini, swore in 1981 to export Iran’s revolution to the whole world. The Iranian regime then lent its support to Shia followers in Iraq, Lebanon and Syria.

In the months following the Iranian revolution, Iran’s Shia and Sunni clerics began to criticize the Gulf monarchy. They were strengthened in their dissent by the fundamentalist attack on the Grand Mosque in Mecca. On November 28, 1979, Shia in parts of the Eastern Province attempted to observe Ashura in public. Ashura is a passion play reenacting the death of the Prophet’s grandson Husayn at Karbala, a commemoration Shia Muslims usually observe in the private sphere, as the kingdom does not grant rights to freedom of religion. (As early as the 1920s, the Wahhabi clerics who were hostile to the local Shia, demanded that they be forcibly converted to Sunni Islam.) Months after Ayatollah Khomeini incited Shia minorities in the region to rise up against their governments like the Iranians, the Shia’s public observance of Ashura was viewed by the Saudis as a national security threat. The Saudi National Guard were called to quell the mourning celebrations, causing riots that resulted in death for a dozen Shia protestors. Protests by Shia activists bore similarities with the Sunni fundamentalist group that followed Juhayman al-Otaybi’s criticism of Saudi Arabia during his occupation of the Grand Mosque. Shia protestors stigmatised the kingdom’s affiliation with and dependency on the West, governmental corruption, and deviation from strict Islamic mores. On the other hand, they diverged from the Sunni protestors in another demand. In 1979, they specifically called for a cessation of oil production and a redistribution of oil wealth in a more equitable measure between Sunnis and Shia citizens. Tension with Iran escalated in the 1980s, when the Saudi regime supported Saddam Hussein’s war with Iran. In 1987, Saudi Arabia suspended diplomatic ties with Iran for four years after hundreds of Iranian pilgrims were killed during hajj season in Mecca. Iran boycotted the hajj from 1988 to 1990. After a restoration of order following the Shia uprising, the Saudi government promised to  local spending to upgrade infrastructure in the Eastern Province.

As money flowed into the area to elevate the material living standard of its inhabitants, rights were also gradually amended from 1993. For instance, Shia judges presiding over courts in the Eastern Province were allowed to use the Jafari school of Islamic jurisprudence, a branch of Shia Islam, to resolve cases in “family law, inheritance, and endowment management.” While this was an improvement, it meant that Shia living in other parts of the Eastern Province, the Najran Province and the western Hejaz region were unable to access these Shia courts, whether local, regional or national. In “The Other Saudis: Shiism, Dissent and Sectarianism“, Toby Matthiesen writes that this deal struck in 1993 between the Saudi state and a select group of Shia representatives successfully “silenced the most outspoken media outlets abroad, coopted many opposition activists and placed them under surveillance of the security services.” He further elucidates: “By not fundamentally altering the situation of the Shia, it also put the shirazi leaders in an awkward position.” In other words, the amendments that occurred in the early 1990s were strategically focused on dividing the Shia opposition and coopting some of its leaders. As a result, it contributed to variances in the standard of living among the Shia population of Saudi Arabia.

Furthermore, there are only six Shia judges permitted to preside over Saudi courts, and they were expected to tow very fine lines. Sheikh Hassan Bu Khamseen, for example, was dismissed from his position in 2010 for criticizing a government’s judicial decree. Another weakness in this timeline of Sunni-Shia progress is the validity or strength of the Shia courts. Saudi Shia complain that their courts lack genuine authority, as litigants who disagree with verdicts can easily reopen cases in Sunni courts – who are endowed with the power to annul Shia ruling. Shia are also disqualified as witnesses in Sunni courts.

Second, while Shia are not exactly prohibited from building and managing mosques, the process for obtaining a government license is arbitrary and fraught with complications. Sunni clerics can petition the Ministry of Islamic Affairs, Endowments, Call, and Guidance (MOIA) for financial aid, whereas their Shia counterparts are expected to seek economic assistance from their own congregations. Other compromises that Shia clerics and believers have to make include reciting the Sunni prayer when the mosque is in a mixed neighborhood, and closing their shops or breaking from work for the five prayer times even though Shia followers combine the five prayers together into three, meaning that they do not, theologically speaking, need to stop working every time a Sunni prayer call is sounded.

Caps and arbitrary restrictions remain in other sectors. For instance, in higher education, sectarian bias surfaces in the process of selecting students for scholarships and public universities, as well as in selecting academic and administrative employees for educational institutions. It is also present in employment opportunities and in advancement once these opportunities are realized, as there are very few openly identified Shia in high-level positions in companies and agencies owned by the government.

Finally, there is both progress and obstruction in political representations, even today. According to Global Security: “There were no Shia ministers, deputy ministers, governors, deputy governors, or ministry branch directors in the Eastern Province, and only three of the 59 government-appointed municipal council members were Shia. However, the Shia were well-represented among the elected members of the municipal councils, as they held 10 of 11 seats on the Qatif and al-Ahsa councils. An elected Shia headed the Qatif municipal council. With five Shia on the Consultative Council they were significantly underrepresented.”

In short, while historical and theological antipathies do exist, it is rather Saudi Arabia’s political expediency that both prevents and advances equality between Shia and Sunnis. A major contradiction in Saudi policy is the response to the 2015 IS (Islamic State) attacks on Shia mosques in the kingdom. For the last decades, Saudi Arabia has allowed its government-sponsored Sunni clerics to demonize Shia believers, associate them with polytheists, therefore consolidating a history of oppression and ostracism from basic civil rights. On the other hand, the country denounced the attacks on Shia mosques, has led the campaign against IS and formed an alliance among 34 Muslim nations – excluding Iran. This duality of leading the battle against an extremist Islamist group that demonizes Shia and views them as deviants, while nurturing and exporting Wahhabism, another group of radical Islamists with similar views about Shia, can be witnessed in the case of Nimr Baqir al-Nimr, a Shia Sheikh who criticised the Saudi state, who was executed with 46 other activists in early 2016. This event reignited protests by Saudi Shia against the state. It has been suggested that the sentencing meant to demonstrate the state’s equal response to acts of terror (or inciting revolutions), whether they come from Shia or Sunni activists. To begin comprehending the delicate situation of the Shia in Saudi Arabia, it is best to keep the words of Toby Matthiesen in mind, who explains, in Sectarian Gulf: Bahrain, Saudi Arabia, and the Arab Spring That Wasn’t, the strategies of sectarianism employed by Saudi Arabia and other Gulf monarchies at the start of the Arab Spring: “Sectarianism was not just a government intervention but the result of an amalgam of political, religious, social and economic elites who all used sectarianism to further their own aim.”

image_pdfimage_print

We would like to ask you something …

Fanack is an independent media organisation, not funded by any state or any interest group, that distributes in the Middle East and the wider world unbiased analysis and background information, based on facts, about the Middle East and North Africa.

The website grew rapidly in breadth and depth and today forms a rich and valuable source of information on 21 countries, from Morocco to Oman and from Iran to Yemen, both in Arabic and English. We currently reach six million readers annually and growing fast.

In order to guarantee the impartiality of information on the Chronicle, articles are published without by-lines. This also allows correspondents to write more freely about sensitive or controversial issues in their country. All articles are fact-checked before publication to ensure that content is accurate, current and unbiased.

To run such a website is very expensive. With a small donation, you can make a huge impact. And it only takes a minute. Thank you.