فَنَكْ وقائع وأحداث عن الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا / المملكة العربية السعودية / المجتمع ووسائل الإعلام والثقافة / نظرة عامة على المشهد الإعلامي في السعودية / المملكة العربية السعودية تبسط سيطرتها الإعلامية خارج الشرق الأوسط

المملكة العربية السعودية تبسط سيطرتها الإعلامية خارج الشرق الأوسط

Saudi Arabia- The Independent
Photo: www.newsworks.org

في يوليو 2017، استحوذ المستثمر السعودي البارز، سلطان محمد أبو الجدايل، على حصةٍ تتراوح نسبتها ما بين 25% إلى 50% من شركة ديجيتال نيوز آند ميديا، وهي الشركة الأم المسيطرة على الصحيفة اليومية البريطانية، ذي إندبندنت. آنذاك، كان هناك مخاوفٌ من أن تؤثر حصة أبو الجدايل على الخط التحريري للصحيفة، إلا أن متحدثاً باسم الصحيفة أكدّ لصحيفة الغارديان بأن الخط التحريري للإندبندنت “محمي رسمياً” بموجب اتفاقية جديدة وقعت بين المساهمين. ومع ذلك، أعرب الصحفيون والنقاد، مرةً أخرى، عن مخاوفهم، مع تحالف الإندبندنت بفخر مع مجموعةٍ إعلامية ترتبط ارتباطاً وثيقاً بالعائلة المالكة السعودية في 19 يوليو 2018.

بدأت هذه الشراكة بنشر أربعة مواقع تحمل اسم الإندبندنت، باللغة العربية والفارسية والأوردو والتركية منذ بداية عام 2019. ومع ذلك، يخاطر المحتوى على هذه المواقع بالإنحراف عن القيم الليبرالية التي طالما دافعت عنها الصحيفة الإنجليزية.

سيتم إنتاج جميع محتوى هذه المنصات من قِبل صحفيي المجموعة السعودية للأبحاث والتسويق (SRMG)، المقيمين في لندن وإسلام أباد، واسطنبول، ونيويورك. كما سيتم أيضاً ترجمة بعض المحتوى من موقع الصحيفة باللغة الإنجليزية.

الأمير بندر بن عبد الله بن محمد بن فرحان آل سعود، وزير الثقافة في المملكة، هو رئيس المجموعة السعودية للأبحاث والتسويق، والذي تصدر عناوين الصحف لأول مرة عندما اشترى لوحة ليوناردو دافنشي “المسيح” مقابل 450 مليون دولار.

فقد وعدت الإندبندنت بأن جميع ممارسات التحرير ستعكس المعايير العالمية وتأمل في تعزيز النقاش بين الجماهير الجديدة. لكن النقاد متخوفون، إذ يخشون أن تستخدم المنصات الجديدة لنشر المواقف السعودية في جميع أنحاء المنطقة. إن مثل هذه المخاوف شرعية، آخذين بعين الاعتبار تصنيف منظمة مراسلون بلا حدود للمملكة العربية السعودية في المرتبة 169 من بين 180 دولة على مؤشر حرية الصحافة العالمية. كما خلصت مجموعة الحريات الصحيفة إلى أن المملكة لا تملك وسائل إعلام مستقلة وأن الرقابة هناك شديدة للغاية.

بيد أن صحيفة الإندبدنت ليست أول منفذٍ إعلامي رئيسي يتعاقد مع المجموعة السعودية للأبحاث والتسويق، ففي عام 2017، انضمت بلومبرج إلى الشركة الإعلامية، مشيرةً إلى أن الخطوة جاءت كخطوةٍ منطقية لمساعدة المملكة على تحقيق رؤيتها الطموحة 2030.

وقال جاستن سميث، الرئيس التنفيذي لمجموعة بلومبرج ميديا: “إن التحول كما عبرت عنه القيادة السعودية هو قصةٌ مثيرة، وتود بلومبرج أن تلعب دوراً من خلال كونها مزوداً مستقلاً وغير متحيز للمعلومات في المنطقة.”

كما قال سميث إن بلومبرج تشارك نفس المبادىء التي يتبعها صانعو السياسة في رؤية 2030، بما في ذلك الإيمان بقدرة الأسواق الحرة والشفافية والتقدم والحداثة.

ولربما يرغب سميث في التراجع عن تصريحاته بعد عملية القتل المروعة للكاتب الصحفي في واشنطن بوست جمال خاشقجي في القنصلية السعودية في اسطنبول. فقد كشفت تلك الحادثة عن الحد الذي قد يذهب إليه ولي عهد المملكة محمد بن سلمان من أجل إسكات الصحفيين.

في الواقع، إن أي شخصٍ ينشر حتى أبسط انتقادٍ للمملكة على وسائل التواصل الاجتماعي يخاطر بتعرضه للإنتقام على يد الدولة. ففي سبتمبر 2018، أصدرت المملكة العربية السعودية قانوناً يجرم التهكم الإلكتروني، مما يجعل أي تعبير عن الرأي عرضةً للعقاب بما يصل إلى خمس سنوات من السجن وغرامة قدرها 800 ألف دولار.

وتنص المادة 6 من قانون مكافحة جرائم المعلوماتية في البلاد على حظر “إنتاج ما من شأنه المساس بالنظام العام، أو القيم الدينية، أو الآداب العامة، أو حرمة الحياة الخاصة، أو إعداده، أو إرساله، أو تخزينه عن طريق الشبكة المعلوماتية، أو أحد أجهزة الحاسب الآلي.” كانت هذه المادة الذريعة التي استخدمت لحجب نتفليكس بث حلقة من برنامج “قانون باتريوت” في المملكة.

في الحلقة، يُدين الكوميدي حسن منهج، مقدم البرنامج، محمد بن سلمان وأي شخصٍ يتعامل مع ولي العهد. ويقول منهج في الحلقة “هناك أشخاص في المملكة العربية السعودية يقاتلون من إجل الإصلاح الحقيقي، إلا أن محمد بن سلمان ليس واحداً منهم.” وتابع الكوميدي قوله “تطلب الأمر مقتل الصحفي في واشنطن بوست ليقول الجميع، يا إلهي، أعتقد أنه ليس مصلح حقيقي.”

بعد حظر الحلقة، سخر منهج من السلطات السعودية على نحوٍ أكبر، إذ قال إن السعوديين ساهموا في إثارة اهتمامٍ عالمي ببرنامجه، وأن الحظر كان بلا جدوى، حيث لا يزال من الممكن مشاهدة الحلقة على يوتيوب داخل المملكة.

وبالرغم من النكات، أخبر منهج ذا أتلانتك أنه ناقش التداعيات المحتملة لانتقاد المملكة العربية السعودية مع عائلته ويعترف الآن بأنه يعيش في خوفٍ من النظام السعودي.

في غضون ذلك، ردت نتفليكس على انتقادات سحبها الحلقة، بالقول بأنها تدعم الحرية الفنية بقوة في جميع أنحاء العالم، وأنها حجبت الحلقة فقط في المملكة العربية السعودية بعد طلبٍ قانوني من المملكة.

لم يعجب هذا التفسير كارين عطية، محررة الرأي في واشنطن بوست، والصديقة المقربة من خاشقجي، التي عندما سمعت الأخبار، غرّدت عبر تويتر بقولها، “من الشائن أن تسحب نتفليكس إحدى حلقات [منهج] المنتقدة للملكة العربية السعودية.”

كما أعربت جماعات حقوق الإنسان عن قلقها، إذ قالت سماح حديد، مديرة حملات الشرق الأوسط في منظمة العفو الدولية، في بيانٍ إن فرض السعودية الرقابة على نتفليكس باستخدام قانون جرائم الإنترنت ليست مفاجأة، ففي نهاية المطاف، شنت المملكة حملةً وحشية ضد المعارضة منذ وصول محمد بن سلمان إلى السلطة في يونيو 2017.

وقالت حديد: “ولقد سبق للسلطات أن استخدمت قوانين مكافحة جرائم الإنترنت لإسكات أصوات المعارضين، ممّا يخلق بيئة من الخوف لأولئك الذين يتجرؤون على رفع أصواتهم في السعودية”.

وأضافت، “فمن خلال الرضوخ لمطالب السلطات السعودية، تكون نتفليكس عرضة لخطر تسهيل سياسة المملكة بعدم التسامح مطلقاً مع حرية التعبير، ومساعدة السلطات على حرمان الناس من حقهم في الحصول على المعلومات بحرية”.

دعمكم عونٌ لنا

فَنَك هي مؤسسة إعلامية إلكترونية مستقلة، لا تمولها أي دولة أو مجموعات مصالح. تلتزم فَنَك بنشر تحليلاتٍ مبنية على الوقائع ومحايدة، إلى جانب التقارير المواضيعية حول الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا.
شهد الموقع نمواً سريعاً في نطاق وعمق المعلومات التي يُقدمها، واليوم، بات يُشكل مصدراً غنياً وقيماً للمعلومات عن 21 بلداً، من المغرب إلى عُمان ومن إيران إلى اليمن، باللغتين العربية والإنجليزية. حالياً، وصل عدد القراء إلى 6 ملايين سنوياً، والعدد آخذٌ بالإزدياد.
لضمان حيادية المعلومات على موقع فَنَك (وقائع وأحداث) ، تُنشر المقالات دون ذكر أسماء الكتّاب، مما يُتيح أيضاً لمراسلينا مساحة أكبر من الحرية عند التطرق إلى القضايا الحساسة أو المثيرة للجدل فى بلادهم. وإلى جانب ذلك، نتحرى حقائق جميع المعلومات الواردة في مقالاتنا قبل النشر لضمان دقة المعلومات، وحداثتها وحيادها.

استمرارية تشغيل مثل هذا الموقع الإلكتروني مُكلفة للغاية. بتبرعٍ صغيرٍ منك، يمكنك المساهمة في الحفاظ على حرية واستقلالية تغطيتنا.

Fanack Home / Saudi Arabia / Society, Media & Culture of Saudi Arabia / Saudi's Media Landscape: An Overview / Saudi Arabia Expanding its Media Dominance Beyond the Middle East

Saudi Arabia Expanding its Media Dominance Beyond the Middle East

Saudi Arabia- The Independent
Photo: www.newsworks.org

In July 2017, prominent Saudi investor Sultan Muhammad Abuljadayel purchased a stake worth between 25 per cent and 50 per cent in Independent Digital News and Media, which is the holding company of the British daily The Independent. At the time, there were concerns that Abuljadayel’s stake would compromise The Independent’s editorial line, but a spokesperson for the newspaper assured The Guardian that The Independent’s editorial line had been “formally protected” by a new agreement between the company’s shareholders. However, journalists and critics are raising concerns once again since The Independent proudly allied with a media group that is closely affiliated with the Saudi royal family on 19 July 2018.

This partnership began publishing four branded The Independent sites in Arabic, Persian, Urdu and Turkish at the beginning of 2019. However, the content on these sites risks deviating away from the liberal values that the English paper has long championed.

Almost all the content on these platforms will be produced by Saudi Research and Marketing Group (SRMG) journalists based in London, Islamabad, Istanbul and New York. Some content on the English language website will also be translated.

Prince Bader bin Abdullah bin Mohammed bin Farhan al Saud, who is the culture minister in the kingdom, is the chairman of SRMG and first made headlines when he purchased a Leonardo da Vinci painting of Jesus Christ for $450 million.

The Independent has promised that all editorial practices will reflect global standards and hopes to foster debate among new audiences. But critics are weary, fearing that the new platforms will be used to propagate Saudi positions across the region. Such concerns are valid, considering that Reporters Without Borders ranks Saudi Arabia 169 out of 180 countries on the World Press Freedom Index. The press freedom group has also concluded that the kingdom has no independent media and that censorship is extremely high.

The Independent isn’t the first major outlet to ally with SRMG. In 2017, Bloomberg joined forces with the media company, citing the move as a logical step to help the kingdom realize its ambitious Vision 2030.

“The transformation as articulated by the Saudi leadership is an exciting story and Bloomberg would like to play a role by being an independent, unbiased information provider in the region,” said Justin Smith, Chief Executive Officer of Bloomberg Media Group.

Smith also said that Bloomberg shares the same principles as the policymakers spearheading Vision 2030, including the belief in free markets, transparency, progress and modernity.

Smith may have wanted to retract his statements following the gruesome murder of Washington Post columnist Jamal Khashoggi inside the Saudi consulate in Istanbul. That incident exposed the lengths that the kingdom’s crown prince, Mohammad bin Salam (MBS), is willing to go to in order to silence journalists.

In fact, any person who publishes even the mildest criticism of the kingdom on social media risks reprisal from the state. In September 2018, Saudi Arabia passed a law criminalizing online satire, making such expressions punishable with up to five years of jail time and an $800,000 fine.

Article 6 of the country’s anti-cybercrime law outlaws the “production, preparation, transmission or storage of material impinging on public order, religious values, public morals and privacy,” on the internet. That was the pretext for banning an episode of the show Patriot Act from the kingdom’s Netflix stream.

In the episode, comedian Hasan Minhaj, who headlines the show, condemns MBS and anyone who does business with the crown prince. “There are people in Saudi Arabia fighting for true reform, but MBS is not one of them,” Minhaj says in the episode.

“It took the killing of a Washington Post journalist for everyone to go, oh, I guess he’s really not a reformer,” the comedian goes on to say.

After the episode was banned, Minhaj poked more fun at the Saudi authorities. He said that the Saudis helped spark worldwide interest in his show and that the ban was useless, since his episode can still be watched on YouTube inside the kingdom.

Despite the jokes, Minhaj told The Atlantic that he discussed the possible repercussions of criticizing Saudi Arabia with his family and now admits that he lives in fear of the Saudi regime.

Meanwhile, Netflix responded to criticism for pulling the episode, arguing that it strongly supports artistic freedom worldwide and only removed the episode in Saudi Arabia following a legal demand from the kingdom.

The explanation didn’t appease Karen Attiah, who is the Washington Post’s opinion editor and was a close friend of Khashoggi. When she heard the news, she tweeted that it was “quite outrageous that Netflix has pulled one of [Minhaj’s] episodes critical of Saudi Arabia.”

Rights groups also expressed concern: Samah Hadid, the Middle East director of campaigns at Amnesty International, said in a statement that Saudi Arabia’s use of the anti-cybercrime law to prohibit the critical episode from airing came as no surprise. The kingdom, after all, has been brutally cracking down on dissent since MBS was appointed Crown Prince in June 2017.

“The authorities have previously used anti-cybercrime laws to silence dissidents, creating an environment of fear for those who dare to speak up in Saudi Arabia,” said Hadid.

“By bowing to the Saudi authorities’ demands, Netflix is in danger of facilitating the kingdom’s zero-tolerance policy with regard to freedom of expression and assisting those authorities in denying people’s right to freely access information.”

image_pdfimage_print

We would like to ask you something …

Fanack is an independent media organisation, not funded by any state or any interest group, that distributes in the Middle East and the wider world unbiased analysis and background information, based on facts, about the Middle East and North Africa.

The website grew rapidly in breadth and depth and today forms a rich and valuable source of information on 21 countries, from Morocco to Oman and from Iran to Yemen, both in Arabic and English. We currently reach six million readers annually and growing fast.

In order to guarantee the impartiality of information on the Chronicle, articles are published without by-lines. This also allows correspondents to write more freely about sensitive or controversial issues in their country. All articles are fact-checked before publication to ensure that content is accurate, current and unbiased.

To run such a website is very expensive. With a small donation, you can make a huge impact. And it only takes a minute. Thank you.