فَنَكْ وقائع وأحداث عن الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا / المملكة العربية السعودية / المجتمع ووسائل الإعلام والثقافة / نظرة عامة على المشهد الإعلامي في السعودية / السعي السعودي نحو سيطرةٍ إعلامية

السعي السعودي نحو سيطرةٍ إعلامية

Saudi Arabia- Saudi Broadcasting Corporation
موظف يعمل مع متدربين في استديو القناة الجديدة لهيئة الاذاعة والتلفزيون السعودية في الرياض، 24 ابريل 2018. تهدف القناة الى جذب جيل الشباب. Photo AFP

بدأ السعي السعودي نحو سيطرةٍ إعلامية، بشكلٍ جاد، في أعقاب الغزو العراقي للكويت عام 1991. آنذاك، كانت تحاول المملكة منع مواطنيها من معرفة مجريات الحرب، بالرغم من عدم تمكنها منع الناس من مشاهدة قناة سي إن إن.

وفي نفس العام، تم إنشاء مركز تلفزيون الشرق الأوسط (إم بي سي)، المملوك للقطاع الخاص. ولطالما اتبعت الشبكة خطوط الحكومة السعودية، تماماً كما هو حال الصحيفتين العربيتين المملوكتين لسعوديين، الشرق الأوسط والحياة.

ومع ذلك، في عام 1996، تفوق ظهور شبكة الجزيرة الممولة من قطر، والتي أغضبت الأنظمة العربية لفضحها فسادهم ووحشيتهم، على المحاولات السعودية بالنفوذ الإعلامي. ولكن بدلاً من تبني إصلاحاتٍ ليبرالية أو الحدّ من القمع، فرضت الحكومة السعودية المزيد من القيود على حرية التعبير.

وخلال الربيع العربي، الذي هدد بإسقاط العائلة الحاكمة كما كان الحال في تونس ومصر وليبيا، أجرى آل سعود تعديلاتٍ على قوانين الإعلام في البلاد، فأي صحيفة تنتقد رجال الدين المدعومين من الدولة أو تُشير إلى التمييز ضد السعوديين الشيعة مصيرها الغرامة أو الإغلاق. وفي ذلك الوقت، تظاهر الشيعة في محافظة القطيف الشرقية ضد آل سعود مطالبين بالديمقراطية والإصلاحات.

كما حاول ولي العهد السعودي، محمد بن سلمان (والذي غالباً ما يُشار إليه باسم مبس)، والذي صعد إلى السلطة في يونيو 2017، إغلاق قناة الجزيرة بفرض حصارٍ على قطر.

فقد قال ديفيد هيرست، رئيس تحرير موقع ميدل إيست آي الإلكتروني، إن أحد الأسباب الرئيسية التي جعلت السعودية تحاصر قطر هو أنها لم تتمكن من شراء قناة الجزيرة أو الضغط على أمير قطر للحد من انتقاداته للأنظمة العربية.

وقال هيرست للجزيرة، “تظن المملكة العربية السعودية أن بإمكانها شراء الإعلام. هذه هي طريقة التفكير العربية التقليدية فيما يتعلق بوسائل الإعلام. فهم لا يعتقدون أن العالم العربي- وسبق أن صرحوا بذلك- مستعدون لحرية التعبير، وبالتالي يريدون السيطرة عليها.” ويعتبر موقع ميديل إيست آي من بين وسائل الإعلام التي ترغب السعودية وحلفاؤها بإغلاقها.

تمثلت خطوة محمد بن سلمان التالية بالإستيلاء على أصول أباطرة الإعلام السعوديين، بالرغم من أنهم لم يجرؤوا أبداً على انتقاد الأسرة الحاكمة.

بدأت حملة القمع، التي تم تقديمها كتحقيقٍ ضد الفساد، في نوفمبر 2017، عندما أمر محمد بن سلمان بإلقاء القبض على العشرات من أفراد العائلة المالكة، وكبار المسؤولين ورجال الأعمال الأثرياء. وفي النهاية، تفاوض العديد من المعتقلين على إطلاق سراحهم بالتخلي عن ممتلكاتهم. وكان أبرز المعتقلين وليد الإبراهيم، رئيس مجلس إدارة إم بي سي، التي لا تزال واحدةً من أكثر الشبكات الخاصة تأثيراً في العالم العربي.

وقال مصدر في إم بي سي لرويترز إن الحكومة حاولت شراء الشبكة الإعلامية قبل عامين، إلا أن الإبراهيم كان يعتقد أن السعر المقترح منخفضٌ للغاية. وقال المصدر ذاته إن الحكومة وضعت يدها على الشبكة اليوم مجاناً.

كما اضطر الملياردير السعودي، الأمير الوليد بن طلال إلى تسليم أصوله، بما في ذلك شبكة روتانا. كما تخلى صالح كامل، الذي يمتلك شبكة راديو وتلفزيون العرب (أي أر تي) الأقل نفوذاً، عن أسهمه في تلك الشركة.

وقالت كريستين ديوان، وهي باحثة مقيمة أولى في معهد دول الخليج العربية في واشنطن، لصحيفة فاينانشيال تايمز، “إن احتمالية وضع عمالقة الإعلام السعودي والعرب تحت مظلة حكومة موحدة أمرٌ مقلق. يُثير هذا المخاوف من أن تنوع الرأي والتغطية ستتعرضان للمزيد من التقليص. من الواضح أن محمد بن سلمان عازمٌ على التحكم في الرسالة بينما يجري عملية إعادة هيكلة جذرية للدولة والاقتصاد السعوديين.”

وقال هيو مايلز، مؤلف كتاب “الجزيرة: كيف تحدت قناة عربية العالم،” إن سعي المملكة العربية السعودية للسيطرة على وسائل الإعلام ما هي إلا وسيلة لممارسة قوتها الناعمة في المنطقة. وشدد على أن معظم القنوات المملوكة للسعوديين لا تحقق أرباحاً، مشيراً إلى الدوافع السياسية وراء مصلحة الحكومة في شراء أو الاستيلاء على وسائل الإعلام ذات النفوذ.

وقال مايلز لمركز الدراسات الأمنية، الذي نشر تقريراً عام 2018 حول هيمنة المملكة العربية السعودية على الإعلام، “إن القناة الإعلامية طريقة اقتصادية للغاية للتأثير على الناس، إذ تحصل على أعلى قيمة لقاء المال المدفوع، وأرخص بكثير من الأسلحة. يتعلق الأمر بالتحكم بالخطاب، وبالنسبة للسعوديين يتعلق الأمر بتولي المسؤولية.”

كما ذكر التقرير أن هيمنة المملكة العربية السعودية على وسائل الإعلام تؤثر سلباً على الأخلاقيات الصحفية، حيث تفتقر إلى التغطية المتوازنة والدقة والتقارير الاستقصائية. وبدلاً من ذلك، يميلون إلى شيطنة أعداء المملكة العربية السعودية، مثل إيران وحلفائها، في حين أن النقد الموجه إلى المملكة صامت.

الأمر الأكثر إثارةً للقلق هو أن السعودية غالباً ما حاولت رشوة أو استمالة صحفيين أجانب لرسم صورةٍ إيجابية للأسرة الحاكمة. ففي برقيةٍ غير مؤرخة من ويكيليكس، اقترحت السفارة السعودية في برلين توظيف صحفيين ألمان لكتابة مقالاتٍ دعائية تؤيد المملكة. وكان يتم دفع مبلغ 7500 يورو للصحفيين لكتابة المقالات وترجمة الكتب من العربية إلى الألمانية، بهدف توزيعها في المناسبات الثقافية.

والأسوأ من ذلك هو أن الصحفيين الذين يرفضون الإلتزام بواجبات العلاقات العامة هذه للمملكة العربية السعودية غالباً ما يتم تشويه سمعتهم أو تهديدهم. كما كشف تسريبٌ آخر غير مؤرخ من ويكيليكس أن مراسل صحيفة فاينانشال تايمز اضطر إلى مغادرة الرياض لنشره ما اعتبرته الدولة السعودية أكاذيب. ووفقاً للتسريبات، نظر آل سعود في اتخاذ إجراءاتٍ قانونية ضد الصحيفة والصحفي بسبب انتقاده للحكومة ونخب المسؤولين.

وفي مقالٍ نُشر على الموقع الإلكتروني العربي الجديد، كتب جايمس دورسي، وهو خبيرٌ في شؤون الشرق الأوسط، أن الفضاء الإعلامي الوحيد الذي لم يشتريه أو يُسيطر عليه محمد بن سلمان هو وسائل التواصل الاجتماعي. فبعد أن أعلن ولي العهد عن رؤيته 2030، التي يتعهد بها بالحد من اعتماد المملكة على النفط، كثر النقاش على وسائل التواصل الاجتماعي حول ما إذا كانت الرؤية قابلة للتطبيق.

واليوم، خفت حدة هذه النقاشات، ذلك أن أي شخصٍ يجرؤ على انتقاد سياسات محمد بن سلمان يعرض نفسه لخطر الإعتقال، تماماً كما ظهر هذا جلياً بإلقاء القبض على العديد من الشخصيات العامة- بمن فيهم نشطاء، وصحفيين، ورجال دين- في حملةٍ سابقة في سبتمبر 2017. وأضاف دورسي إن الحملة على المعارضة إلى جانب قبضة محمد بن سلمان على الإعلام، صعدّت من الحرب الإعلامية مع قطر بشكلٍ لا يمت بصلة للصحافة.

image_pdfimage_print

دعمكم عونٌ لنا

فَنَك هي مؤسسة إعلامية إلكترونية مستقلة، لا تمولها أي دولة أو مجموعات مصالح. تلتزم فَنَك بنشر تحليلاتٍ مبنية على الوقائع ومحايدة، إلى جانب التقارير المواضيعية حول الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا.
شهد الموقع نمواً سريعاً في نطاق وعمق المعلومات التي يُقدمها، واليوم، بات يُشكل مصدراً غنياً وقيماً للمعلومات عن 21 بلداً، من المغرب إلى عُمان ومن إيران إلى اليمن، باللغتين العربية والإنجليزية. حالياً، وصل عدد القراء إلى 6 ملايين سنوياً، والعدد آخذٌ بالإزدياد.
لضمان حيادية المعلومات على موقع فَنَك (وقائع وأحداث) ، تُنشر المقالات دون ذكر أسماء الكتّاب، مما يُتيح أيضاً لمراسلينا مساحة أكبر من الحرية عند التطرق إلى القضايا الحساسة أو المثيرة للجدل فى بلادهم. وإلى جانب ذلك، نتحرى حقائق جميع المعلومات الواردة في مقالاتنا قبل النشر لضمان دقة المعلومات، وحداثتها وحيادها.

استمرارية تشغيل مثل هذا الموقع الإلكتروني مُكلفة للغاية. بتبرعٍ صغيرٍ منك، يمكنك المساهمة في الحفاظ على حرية واستقلالية تغطيتنا.

Fanack Home / Saudi Arabia / Society, Media & Culture / Saudi's Media Landscape: An Overview / The Saudi Quest for Media Control

The Saudi Quest for Media Control

Saudi Arabia- Saudi Broadcasting Corporation
An employee works with trainees at the studio of the new channel Saudi Broadcasting Corporation “SBC” in Riyadh, on April 24, 2018. The channel aims to appeal to young people. Photo AFP

Saudi Arabia’s quest for media control began in earnest after the Iraqi invasion of Kuwait in 1991. Back then, the kingdom was trying to keep its citizens from finding out about the war, although it could not stop people from tuning into CNN.

The same year, the privately owned Middle East Broadcasting Center (MBC) was established. The network has always toed the line of the Saudi government, as do the pan-Arab Saudi-owned newspapers Sharq al-Awsat and al-Hayat.

Yet the emergence in 1996 of the Qatari-sponsored network  al-Jazeera, which angered Arab regimes for exposing their corruption and brutality, outdid Saudi attempts for media influence. But rather than adopt liberal reforms or lessen repression, the government has clamped down even harder on free expression.

During the Arab Spring, which threatened to depose the ruling family as it had in Tunisia, Egypt and Libya, the House of Saud amended the country’s media laws. Any newspaper that criticized a state-backed cleric or referenced the discrimination of Saudi Shiites would be fined or closed down. At the time, Shiites in the eastern province of Qatif were demonstrating against the House of Saud and calling for democracy and reforms.

Saudi’s Crown Prince Mohammed bin Salman (often referred to as MBS), who ascended to power in June 2017, further tried to shut down al-Jazeera by imposing a blockade on Qatar.

David Hearst, editor of the online news portal Middle East Eye, said that one of the main reasons Saudi Arabia blockaded Qatar was because it could not buy al-Jazeera or pressure Qatar’s emir to curb his criticism of Arab regimes.

“Saudi Arabia thinks that the media can be bought. That’s the classic Arab state way of thinking about the media. They don’t think the Arab world – and they’ve said so – is ready for free speech and they want to control it,” Hearst told al-Jazeera. Middle East Eye is among the media Saudi Arabia and its allies want closed.

MBS’ next move was to seize the media assets of Saudi tycoons, even though they have never dared to criticize the ruling family.

The crackdown, which was presented as an anti-corruption probe, took place in November 2017, when MBS ordered the arrest of dozens of royals, senior officials and wealthy businessmen. Many of those arrested eventually negotiated their release by relinquishing their assets. The most prominent of the detainees was Waleed al-Ibrahim, chairman of MBC, which remains one of the most influential private networks in the Arab world.

One source at MBC told Reuters that the government had attempted to buy the media company two years ago, but al-Ibrahim believed that the proposed price was too low. The source said that the government has now acquired the network for free.

Billionaire Prince Al-Waleed bin Talal was also forced to hand over his assets, including the network Rotana. Saleh Kamel, who owns the less influential Arab Radio and Television Network, also relinquished his shares in that company.

“The prospect of bringing the giants of Saudi and Arab media under unified government control is worrying. It raises concern that the diversity of opinion and coverage will be further curtailed. Mohammed bin Salman is clearly intent on controlling the message as he conducts a dramatic restructuring of the Saudi state and economy,” Kristin Diwan, senior resident scholar at the Arab Gulf States Institute in Washington, told the Financial Times.

Hugh Miles, author of Al-Jazeera: How Arab TV News Challenged the World, said that Saudi Arabia’s quest for media domination is a way to exert its soft power in the region. Most Saudi-owned channels, he stressed, do not make a profit, indicating the political motivations behind the government’s interest in purchasing or seizing influential media outlets.

“A channel is a very economical way to influence people. Bang for your buck, it’s much cheaper than guns. It is about controlling the discourse, and for Saudis about being in charge,” Miles told the Center for Security Studies, which published a 2018 report on Saudi Arabia’s media dominance.

The report also stated that Saudi Arabia’s takeover of the media is negatively impacting journalistic ethics, where balanced coverage, nuance and investigative reporting are absent. Instead, Saudi Arabia’s enemies, such as Iran and its allies, tend to be demonized, while criticism of the kingdom is mute.

More concerning, Saudi Arabia has often tried to bribe or co-opt foreign journalists to portray a positive image of the ruling family. In an undated cable from WikiLeaks, the Saudi embassy in Berlin proposed hiring German journalists to write propaganda articles that endorsed the kingdom. The journalists would have been paid 7,500 euros for writing articles and translating books from Arabic to German, with the purpose of handing them out at cultural events.

Worse still, journalists who refuse to fulfil Saudi Arabia’s public relations duties are often smeared or threatened. Another undated WikiLeak revealed that a reporter for the Financial Times had to leave Riyadh for publishing what the Saudi state deemed lies. The House of Saud, according to the leak, even considered taking legal action against the paper and journalist for criticizing the government and elite officials.

In an article for The New Arab website, James Dorsey, a Middle East expert, wrote that the only space that has not been bought or seized by MBS is social media. After the crown prince announced his Vision 2030, which he is undertaking to reduce the kingdom’s dependency on oil, there was much debate on social media about whether the vision is achievable.

There is less debate now. Anyone who dares to criticize MBS’ policies risks arrest, as was evident when several public personalities – including activists, journalists and religious clerics – were seized in an earlier round-up in September 2017. Crackdowns on dissent along with MBS’ media grab, wrote Dorsey, has escalated a media war with Qatar that has little to do with journalism.

image_pdfimage_print

We would like to ask you something …

Fanack is an independent media organisation, not funded by any state or any interest group, that distributes in the Middle East and the wider world unbiased analysis and background information, based on facts, about the Middle East and North Africa.

The website grew rapidly in breadth and depth and today forms a rich and valuable source of information on 21 countries, from Morocco to Oman and from Iran to Yemen, both in Arabic and English. We currently reach six million readers annually and growing fast.

In order to guarantee the impartiality of information on the Chronicle, articles are published without by-lines. This also allows correspondents to write more freely about sensitive or controversial issues in their country. All articles are fact-checked before publication to ensure that content is accurate, current and unbiased.

To run such a website is very expensive. With a small donation, you can make a huge impact. And it only takes a minute. Thank you.