فَنَكْ وقائع وأحداث عن الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا / المملكة العربية السعودية / المجتمع ووسائل الإعلام والثقافة / نظرة عامة على المشهد الإعلامي في السعودية / النزاع الإقليمي يوقف بث الدراما التركية

النزاع الإقليمي يوقف بث الدراما التركية

Saudi Arabia- Hareem Al Sultan
المسلسل التركي “حريم السلطان”. Photo ShahidLive

قرر تلفزيون الشرق الأوسط (إم بي سي) التابع للمملكة العربية السعودية في الأول من مارس 2018 إيقاف بث المسلسلات التركية، التي جذبت جمهوراً واسع النطاق من العالم العربي لأكثر من عقدٍ من الزمان. فقد عزز نجاح المسلسلات التركية في الشرق الأوسط السياحة في البلاد، فضلاً عن صورتها في المنطقة، محققةً تصنيفاتٍ تجاوزت جميع البلاد ما عدا أمريكا.

ففي عام 2014، وصل إجمالي إيرادات أكبر 10 شركات إنتاج في تركيا 152 مليون دولار. فقد تم عرض مسلسلين، حريم السلطان ويبقى الحب، في أكثر من 45 بلداً في جميع أنحاء العالم، حيث يشكل العالم العربي جزءاً كبيراً من هذا الجمهور.

وعليه، صُدم المتابعون المخلصون بقرار الإم بي سي، الذي جاء بعد أيامٍ فحسب من إطلاق سراح مالك المجموعة، وليد الإبراهيم، من قِبل السلطات السعودية. فقد احتجز الإبراهيم في نوفمبر 2017 في فندق ريتز كارلتون في العاصمة الرياض ضمن الحملة التي شنتها السلطات لتطهير المملكة من الفساد. ولم ترد الكثير من التفاصيل حول شروط إطلاق سراح الإبراهيم، باستثناء بيانٍ صادر عن الحكومة السعودية أفاد أن العديد من المحتجزين أطلق سراحهم بعد تخليهم عن المليارات من الأصول.

فقد قال زكريا كورسن، رئيس أورداف، وهي مؤسسة فكرية تركية تركز على شؤون الشرق الأوسط وأفريقيا، للموقع الإخباري ميديل إيست أي، أن المؤسسة الدينية في المملكة لطالما مارست ضغوطاً ضد جهود محمد بن سلمان، ولي العهد السعودي، تحرير المملكة.

إذ قال كورسن، “أغضب محمد بن سلمان رجال الدين في المملكة عندما خفف من القوانين المتعلقة بفتح دور السينما وإقامة الحفلات. ومن المرجح جداً أن [وقف بث المسلسلات التركية] ما هي إلا خطوة لتهدئة رجال الدين هؤلاء إلى حدٍ ما.”

وعلى الرغم من السياسة المحافظة لأردوغان، إلا أن المسلسلات التركية غالباً ما تعرض مؤامراتٍ تقودها النساء والتي تتضمن الخيانة الزوجية واحتساء الكحول. ففي عام 2008، وصل الحد برجل دين سعودي إلى وصف مسلسل نور بالفاسد وغير الأخلاقي. كما أصدر رجل دين سعودي آخر فتوى تسمح بقتل مالكي القنوات الفضائية الذين يبثون محتوى يدنس المقدسات.

ولا بد أن رجال الدين هؤلاء راضين عن إيقاف بث المسلسلات التركية على الإم بي سي، بالرغم من أن كورسن يعتقد أن هذه الخطوة لن تؤثر على اقتصاد تركيا بشكلٍ كبير، إذ أوضح أن شبكات التلفزيون التركية غالباً ما تغطي ميزانياتها قبل بدء الإنتاج. وأضاف أن الدراما التركية تحظى بشعبية كبيرة في جميع أنحاء العالم، إذ يتم بثها لجماهير في أوروبا الشرقية، بل وتصل إلى أمريكا اللاتينية أيضاً.

واليوم، مع وجود شاغر في البث الرئيسي لإم بي سي يصل إلى ست ساعات، تأمل الدول العربية الأخرى بأن يتم سد هذه الفجوة بمسلسلاتهم. فقد سبق وصرح الحايك لوكالة فرانس برس أن الدراما التركية ستستبدل ببرامج عربية تروج للقيم المشتركة في المنطقة، إلا أنه لم يتوسع بذكر تفاصيل هذه القيم.

وتشير التقارير الإعلامية الأخيرة إلى أن المملكة العربية السعودية تتطلع إلى عرض أعمالها الدرامية كطريقة لتوسيع قوتها الناعمة. وذكرت صحيفة “ديلي صباح،” وهي صحيفة مؤيدة للحكومة في تركيا، أن مركز تلفزيون الشرق الأوسط (إم بي سي)، الذي يتخذ من دبي مقراً له، يعمل بالفعل على مسلسلٍ جديد حول السلالة الحاكمة في المملكة العربية السعودية.

ويبقى أن نرى ما إذا كان هذا المسلسل سيستقطب المتعصبين للدراما التركية. وبالرغم من ذلك، أشادت شخصيات إعلامية عربية بارزة، مثل المذيع المصري عمر أديب، بقرار الإم بي سي وطالب الفضائيات المصرية بأن تحذو حذوها.

وعبر عن حزنه في برنامجه الحواري الذي يبث ليلاً بقوله “وصلت مشاهدات آخر حلقة من أحد المسلسلات التركية الشهيرة إلى أكثر من 25 مليون، حيث حققوا أرباحاً ضخمة من ذلك.” وأضاف “لا تدعم تركيا مصر أو المملكة العربية السعودية، إذاً لماذا ندعمها نحن؟”

وعلى عكس أديب، لا يهتم الكثير من محبي الدراما التركية بالسياسة الإقليمية عندما يتعلق الأمر ببرامجهم المفضلة. فقد قالت هدى، وهي لبنانية تعيش في بيروت لفَنَك، أن أياً من المسلسلات العربية ترتقي لنظيرتها التركية. وبالرغم من أنها تعتبر المسلسلات المصرية أفضل من الإنتاج اللبناني، إلا أن أياً منهما يرتقي إلى القيمة الترفيهية لخطوط الحبكة في المسلسلات التركية.

فقد أخبرتنا عبر الهاتف “أحب مشاهدة الدراما التركية لاحتوائها على نساء ورجال وسيمين… أفضلها على المسلسلات العربية لأنه على الرغم من تشابه الثقافة، إلا أن البرامج التركية تمتلك أسلوباً أفضل بكثير من العربية.”

بيد أنه لربما هناك أخبارٌ جيدة بانتظار هدى وغيرها من المعجبين. فقد صرح رئيس غرفة تجارة إسطنبول، والمسؤول عن ترويج المسلسلات التركية للخارج أوزتورك أوران، للصحافة التركية أن تركيا تخطط لإطلاق قناةٍ تبث أعمالها الدرامية باللغة العربية. وإذا ما حصل هذا، سيكون تأثير قرار إم بي سي بالكاد يُذكر على استهلاك البرامج التركية.

وعلاوة على ذلك، فإن أقراص الفيديو الرقمية (DVD)، متاحة على نطاقٍ واسعٍ أيضاً، والتي تعد من الخيارات التي تأخذها هدى بعين الاعتبار. إلا أنها قالت أنها تفضل مشاهدة المسلسلات التركية على شاشة التلفاز، لتتجنب إغراء مشاهدة جميع الحلقات في غضون أمسياتٍ قليلة.

فقد قالت “من الصعب على أم بي سي وقف بث المسلسلات التركية في الوقت الذي ارتبط بها العديد من المشاهدين. أود رؤية عودة المسلسلات التركية على شاشة إم بي سي. فقد أصبحت مشاهدة المسلسل من الساعة الـ9 إلى الساعة الـ10 إحدى عاداتي كل مساء. أصبحت المسلسلات التركية شيء أدمن عليه.”

© Copyright Notice

Please contact us in case of omissions concerning copyright-protected work. The acquired copyright protected images used on/as featured image of this page are: ©https://shahidlive.co/ | ©https://shahidlive.co/

الجهل يقود إلى الخوف، الخوف يقود إلى الكراهية، والكراهية تقود إلى العنف هذه هي المعادلة.
ابن رشد (١١٢٦ – ١١٩٨)

إن مؤسستنا منظمةٌ هولندية غير حكومية لا تسعى لتحقيق الأرباح. هذه المؤسسة يجري تمويلها بصورةٍ حصرية عبر أفرادٍ يشاركوننا الإيمان بضرورة نشر معلومات موثوقة وغير متحيزة عن منطقة الشرق الأوسط وشمال إفريقيا، محاكين بذلك المزاج الشعبي السائد في المنطقة ولنعبّر عن صوت أبناء المنطقة بما نقدمه من معلومات ناجعة وتتحلى بالمصداقية.

ولذلك، فإننا نقدّر عالياً ما تقدمه لنا من دعمٍ وسنحرص على أن يعكس هذا الدعم بطريقةٍ إيجابية على الصالح العام!

ملف التحديث الإقليمي COVID-19

احصل على آخر تحديث عن تفشي فيروس كورونا في الشرق الأوسط وشمال إفريقيا

تطورات فيروس كورونا

Fanack Home / Saudi Arabia / Society, Media & Culture / Saudi's Media Landscape: An Overview / Regional Dispute Forces Turkish Soap Operas Off the Air

Regional Dispute Forces Turkish Soap Operas Off the Air

Saudi Arabia- Hareem Al Sultan
Turkish series “Hareem Al Sultan”. Photo ShahidLive

Saudi Arabia’s Middle East Broadcasting Corporation (MBC) decided on 1 March 2018 to stop broadcasting Turkish soap operas, which have attracted a wide audience in the Arabic-speaking world for more than a decade. The success of Turkish soaps in the Middle East has boosted the country’s tourism and image in the region, scoring ratings that surpass all other countries except for America.

In 2014, the total gross revenue of Turkey’s ten biggest production companies amounted to $152 million. Two soap operas, the Magnificent Century and One Thousand and One Nights, aired in more than 45 countries worldwide, with the Arab world constituting a large part of that audience.

Devoted fans were thus shocked by MBC’s decision, which came just days after the company’s chairman, Waleed al-Ibrahim, was released by the Saudi authorities. Al-Ibrahim was originally detained in November 2017 at the Ritz Carlton Hotel in the capital Riyadh as part of the kingdom’s ostensible anti-corruption purge. There has been little information about the terms of al-Ibrahim’s release, except for a Saudi government statement claiming that many of those detained were released after handing over billions in assets.

Mazen Hayek, the spokesperson for MBC, nonetheless confirmed that al-Ibrahim still holds 40 per cent of the shares in the network. However, he refused to disclose who had made the decision to stop broadcasting Turkish soap operas or why.

Many media reports speculate that MBC’s decision was made to punish Turkish President Recep Tayyip Erdogan for rushing to the aid of Qatar after it was subjected to a Saudi-led blockade. Turkey has also supported and harboured members of the Muslim Brotherhood, which Saudi Arabia considers a terrorist organization.

However, internal politics in Saudi Arabia could also be a major factor. Zekeriya Kursun, the president of Ordaf, a Turkish think tank that focuses on Middle Eastern and African affairs, told the news portal Middle East Eye that Saudi Arabia’s religious clergy has long been lobbying against the efforts of Mohammed bin Salman (MBS), the Saudi crown prince, to liberalize the kingdom.

“Mohammed bin Salman enraged the kingdom’s clerics when he loosened the rules on cinema and concerts. [Terminating the Turkish series] is very likely a move to pacify those clerics to an extent,” Kursun said.

Despite Erdogan’s conservative politics, Turkish soap operas often feature female-driven plots that include infidelity and alcohol consumption. In 2008, Saudi clerics even declared the soap Noor as evil and immoral. Another Saudi cleric issued a fatwa that permitted the killing of owners of satellite TV stations that broadcast sacrilegious content.

These clerics must be pleased to have Turkish soap operas finally removed from MBC, although Kursun believes that the move is unlikely to hit Turkey’s economy hard. Turkish television networks, he explained, typically have their budgets covered before they begin production. He added that Turkish dramas have never been more popular worldwide, broadcasting to audiences in Eastern Europe and as far away as Latin America.

With MBC now having six hours of prime airtime fill, other Arabic countries are hoping that their soaps will fill the viewing gap. Hayek told Agence France-Presse (AFP) that Turkish productions will be replaced with Arabic shows that promote the shared values of the region. However, he did not expand on what those values are.

Recent media reports suggest that Saudi Arabia is looking to showcase its own dramas as a way to extend its soft power. The Daily Sabah, a pro-government newspaper in Turkey, reported that a Dubai- based Middle East broadcaster is already working on a new series about Saudi Arabia’s ruling dynasty.

Whether the series will appeal to fanatics of Turkish soap operas remains to be seen. However, prominent Arab personalities, such as Egyptian TV host Amir Adib, are hailing MBC’s decision and calling on Egyptian satellite channels to follow suit.

“The latest episode of one of the famous Turkish soap operas reached more than 25 million viewers and they gained huge profits from that,” he lamented on his nightly talk show. “Turkey doesn’t support Egypt or Saudi Arabia, so why are we supporting them?”

Unlike Adib, most fans of Turkish soap operas could not care less about regional politics when it comes to their favourite shows. Huda Mzeidout, a Lebanese woman in Beirut, told Fanack Chronicle that none of the Arab soaps measure up to their Turkish counterparts. While she considers Egyptian shows to be better than Lebanese productions, neither come close to the entertainment value of Turkey’s scandalous plot lines.

“I like watching the Turkish series because they have beautiful women and beautiful men … I prefer them to Arab series because although the culture is similar, the Turkish shows have way more style [than Arabic ones],” she said over the phone.

She, and other fans, may be in for some good news. Ozturk Oran, the head of the Istanbul Chamber of Commerce and responsible for promoting Turkish soap operas globally, told the Turkish press that Turkey plans to launch a channel that broadcasts its dramas in Arabic. If that happens, MBC’s decision will have little impact on the consumption of Turkish shows.

DVDs are also widely available, which is an option that Mzeidout is considering. But she says that she prefers watching Turkish soap operas on television, so she can avoid the temptation of watching all the episodes in a few evenings.

“It’s tough for MBC to suspend Turkish series when viewers are so attached to them,” she said. “I would prefer to see the Turkish shows back on [MBC]. It has become a habit to watch a soap opera from 9 to 10 each evening. [Turkish series] have become something of a drug for me.”

image_pdfimage_print