فَنَكْ وقائع وأحداث عن الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا / المملكة العربية السعودية / المجتمع ووسائل الإعلام والثقافة / المجتمع السعودي / الملهى الليلي: معضلة الترفيه عن الشباب في السعودية

الملهى الليلي: معضلة الترفيه عن الشباب في السعودية

Saudi arabia- halal nightclub
سعوديات يحضرن حفلة موسيقية في مدينة جدة في 30 مارس 2018. Photo AFP

كان الشباب في المملكة العربية السعودية على أهبة الاستعداد للإعلان الذي طال انتظاره والذي تم بشق الأنفس، عن افتتاح أول ملهى ليلي حلال في المملكة في 13 يونيو 2019، ليتم إغلاقه ببساطة وإعادة إفتتاحه بعد بضعة أيام. حصل ذلك نتيجة رد فعلٍ عنيف من قبل السلطات الدينية التي ترفض وجود أماكن ترفيهية يرقص فيها الرجال والنساء في نفس المكان والزمان.

بحسب الرواية الرسمية، يرجع إغلاق أول ملهى ليلي في المملكة، والذي يُشار إليه بالمشروع إكس، إلى حقيقة عدم حصوله على الترخيص اللازم للعمل، وذلك بحسب الهيئة العامة للترفيه في المملكة العربية السعودية. الهيئة، التي تأسست في مايو 2016 بموجب مرسومٍ ملكي من قبل الملك سلمان من أجل تحويل 25% من الـ22 مليار دولار سنوياً التي ينفقها السعوديون في السياحة والترفيه في الخارج إلى نفقاتٍ على السياحة الداخلية والترفيه في المملكة، تحدد رؤية وتطور صناعة الترفيه في المملكة العربية السعودية. وفي بيانٍ لها، قالت الهيئة: “بحسب المعلومات التي تبينت للهيئة في متابعتها للموضوع، فإن الفعالية المقامة (بروجكت إكس)، مخالفة للاجراءات والأنظمة المعمول بها، ولم يتم ترخيصها من قبل الهيئة.” فقد قامت الهيئة العامة للترفيه “بالأصل بإصدار ترخيص لإقامة فعالية أخرى،” بحسب ما ذكر البيان. وأضاف البيان “استغل المتعهد موافقة الهيئة لتمديد إقامتها [الفعالية] لارتكاب هذه المخالفة الجسيمة وغير المقبولة.”

يخضع الموقع، المملوك للعلامة التجارية وايت (WHITE)، التي تمتلك أيضاً ملهى ليلي شهير في دبي، للتحقيق حالياً بعد أن أثارت مقاطع الفيديو التي نُشرت على مواقع التواصل الاجتماعي جدلاً وطرحت أسئلةً حول طبيعة الحدث والمكان. ووصف العديد من مستخدمي وسائل التواصل الاجتماعي، وبعض وسائل الإعلام الإقليمية، الحدث بأنه افتتاح ملهى ليلي شهير؛ على الرغم من الإصرار على أنه لن يقدم الكحول. كما أشعلت مقاطع فيديو لرجال ونساء يرقصون في نفس المكان الغضب في المملكة. ومن الجدير بالذكر أن بروجكت إكس هو جزءٌ من مهرجان جدة السنوي، ذلك أن الفعاليات التي تُقام على الواجهة البحرية تٌسمى إكس جد أو إكس جدة. وعلى الرغم من أن هيئة الترفيه ذكرت تداول مقاطع الفيديو على شبكة الإنترنت، إلا أنه لم يتم ذكر العلامة التجارية وايت قط. ووفقاً لمصادرنا، تمت إقامة فعالية أخرى استضافت منسقي أغاني عالميين (دي جاي) قبل افتتاح بروجكت إكس، حيث التقطت الحضور صوراً ومقاطع فيديو بالرغم من عدم حصول المنظمين على تراخيص، إلا أن لا شيء من ذلك مؤكد حتى الآن.

وعليه، صرح توني هابري، الرئيس التنفيذي للملهى، لموقع أرابيان بيزنس الإخباري بأن الملهى سيكون “مقهى وصالة راقية،” مضيفاً أن “السوق السعودي سيكون رائعاً، لأن المجتمع المحلي يخرج كثيراً. لديك أناس في البلد يخرجون كثيراً.” بالفعل، تمتلك العلامة التجارية وايت نوادٍ ليلية في بيروت ودبي، فقد كان هناك ما يقدر بأكثر من ألفين من الحضور الأوائل الذين يتوقون لافتتاح الملهى في جدة بفارغ الصبر.

بينما انتابت الحيرة بعض الأشخاص الآخرين حول فكرة الملهى الليلي الحلال، متسائلين كيف له أن يحترم جميع ما ينطوي عليه المصطلح. ففي عالم السياحة، على سبيل المثال، يُشير مصطلح “حلال” إلى فئة فرعية في السياحة تتوافق مع قوانين وتقاليد الإسلام، بما في ذلك المطاعم التي لا تقدم لحم الخنزير أو المشروبات الكحولية والفنادق التي يوجد بها منتجعات وبرك سباحة منفصلة للرجال والنساء. ومع ذلك، من الواضح أن منطقة الرقص المختلطة للرجال والنساء لا تحترم هذه المعايير.

يأتي هذا الجدل بعد الانفتاح الواضح للمملكة نحو الترفيه المباشر. ففي 6 مايو، وافق مجلس الشورى السعودي على توفير منتجات الشيشة في المطاعم والمقاهي في المدن السعودية، “وفقاً للوائح محددة،” حسب ما ذكرت صحيفة عاجل السعودية. وفي يناير، وعد تركي آل الشيخ، رئيس الهيئة العامة للترفيه، بأن تصدر بلاده تراخيص العروض المباشرة في المقاهي والمطاعم. وقال “نحن نقبل طلبات ترخيص العروض المباشرة في المطاعم والمقاهي.” يهدف هذا إلى السماح للمطاعم والمقاهي بتنظيم حفلاتٍ موسيقية مباشرة وعروضاً أخرى، كجزءٍ من الإصلاحات التي وعد بها ولي العهد الأمير محمد بن سلمان (مبس) لخطته الإصلاحية لعام 2030.

وفي يناير 2019، أعلنت المملكة أيضاً عن برنامجٍ ترفيهي ضخم، حيث رحبت البلاد بالعروض العالمية، من مسابقات الحصن اليابانية المعروفة ومسابقات كريستال ميز وصولاً إلى مباريات كرة السلة التابعة للرابطة الوطنية لكرة السلة (إن بي أيه) ومسرحية الأسد الملك الموسيقية. وكجزءٍ من البرنامج الوطني للتحول في المملكة العربية السعودية، تهدف الرياض إلى توفير فرص عملٍ جديدة لمجتمعها الفتيّ في مجالاتٍ عدة. ومن المتوقع أن تنعش هذه الفعاليات الاقتصاد، فضلاً عن توظيف السعوديين في التخطيط للفعاليات والفنون وغيرها من المهن، من خلال استضافة المزيد من المسابقات والمعارض والبازارات وعروض الكوميديا المرتجلة وفعاليات الجذب السياحي. سيكون هناك أيضاً دافع للترفيه المحلي والإقليمي، فقد أعلنت الحكومة أنها ستوفر أماكن أصغر للسماح لحاملي التراخيص باستضافة الفعاليات الخاصة بهم، في خطوةٍ تهدف إلى دعم مشهدٍ فني مستقل محلياً. كانت فعالية بروجكت إكس جزءاً من التراخيص الأولى التي تم منحها.

في فضاءٍ عام أكثر من الترفيه، تهدف المملكة العربية السعودية اليوم إلى مراقبة سلوك مواطنيها بقانون جديد للآداب العامة وافق عليه مجلس الوزراء في أبريل، على الرغم من أنه لا يزال من غير الواضح متى سيتم تنفيذه. يسعى القانون إلى دعم “القيم والمبادىء” السعودية، وحظر الملابس العامة التي تُعتبر “مسيئة للذوق العام،” مثل الرجال الذين يرتدون السراويل القصيرة، والكتابات على الجدران التي يمكن تفسيرها على أنها “مؤذية،” وفقاً لوسائل الإعلام المحلية. هذا ويقال إن المخالفين سيواجهون خطر دفع غرامةٍ مالية تصل إلى 5000 ريال سعودي (1,333 دولار أمريكي). فالحكومة السعودية تقوم بعملية موازنة بين من يرون فيهم رجال دين معتدلين، والذي تم ببساطة اعتقالهم، ومراعاة المقاومة التي تأتي من التيار المحافظ. وفي هذا الصدد، كتب الكاتب نادر حبيبي في مجلة International Policy Digest في 23 يونيو: ” تمثل المشاعر الدينية والمحافظة تحدياً كبيراً للإصلاحات الثقافية وثقافة الترفيه في رؤية 2030. بشكلٍ عام، نجح الملك سلمان وولي العهد الأمير محمد بن سلمان في إقناع السلطات الدينية الرسمية في المملكة بالامتناع عن إدانة البرامج الاجتماعية لرؤية 2030. وفي حالات أخرى، اعتقلوا الإسلاميين المحافظين الذين عبروا عن معارضتهم للقمع السياسي أو الإصلاحات الاجتماعية الليبرالية. ومع ذلك، أظهروا في الوقت نفسه حساسية تجاه المشاعر العامة حول السياسات الحكومية التي يتم التعبير عنها على وسائل التواصل الاجتماعي.”

تواجه الطموحات السعودية حقيقةً معروفة: صلابة المجتمع والسلطات التي نشأت وتوجد فقط من أجل الحفاظ على الدين ضد “الخطيئة” أو “إغراء الخطيئة.” ومرةً أخرى، تصطدم طموحات محمد بن سلمان والإنفتاح الواضح للمجتمع السعودي بالواقع: داخل بلدٍ محافظ، الترفيه الأساسي على بعد خطوةٍ واحدة من كونه هدّاماً. لربما ستفتح أبواب الملهى الليلي لإقامة بعض الفعاليات الأخرى، إلا أن لا أحد يعلم إلى متى سيصمد في وجه المعارضة.

© Copyright Notice

Please contact us in case of omissions concerning copyright-protected work. The acquired copyright protected images used on/as featured image of this page are: Amer HILABI ©AFP | Amer HILABI ©AFP

ملف التحديث الإقليمي COVID-19

احصل على آخر تحديث عن تفشي فيروس كورونا في الشرق الأوسط وشمال إفريقيا

تطورات فيروس كورونا

الجهل يقود إلى الخوف، الخوف يقود إلى الكراهية، والكراهية تقود إلى العنف هذه هي المعادلة.
ابن رشد (١١٢٦ – ١١٩٨)

إن مؤسستنا منظمةٌ هولندية غير حكومية لا تسعى لتحقيق الأرباح. هذه المؤسسة يجري تمويلها بصورةٍ حصرية عبر أفرادٍ يشاركوننا الإيمان بضرورة نشر معلومات موثوقة وغير متحيزة عن منطقة الشرق الأوسط وشمال إفريقيا، محاكين بذلك المزاج الشعبي السائد في المنطقة ولنعبّر عن صوت أبناء المنطقة بما نقدمه من معلومات ناجعة وتتحلى بالمصداقية.

ولذلك، فإننا نقدّر عالياً ما تقدمه لنا من دعمٍ وسنحرص على أن يعكس هذا الدعم بطريقةٍ إيجابية على الصالح العام!

Fanack Home / Saudi Arabia / Society, Media & Culture of Saudi Arabia / Society of Saudi Arabia / The nightclub problem: In Saudi Arabia, youth entertainment is a catch-22

The nightclub problem: In Saudi Arabia, youth entertainment is a catch-22

Saudi arabia- halal nightclub
Saudi women attend a concert in the western city of Jeddah on March 30, 2018. Photo AFP ©AFP ⁃ Amer HILABI

The Saudi Arabian youth was ready for the long-awaited and heavily announced first ‘halal’ nightclub of the Kingdom to open on June 13, 2019, only to see it shut down right away and reopened a few days later. It’s the consequence of a backlash from the country’s religious authorities that don’t see with a good eye entertainment venues welcoming both men and women to dance in the same space.

Officially, the closure of Saudi Arabia’s first nightclub, referred to as Project X, is due to the fact that it didn’t receive the necessary license to operate, according to Saudi Arabia’s General Entertainment Authority (GEA). Founded in May 2016 through a royal decree by King Salman, in order to transform 25% of the yearly 22 billions dollars the Saudi population spends in tourism and entertainment abroad into local travel and entertainment expenses, the GEA defines the vision and evolution of Saudi Arabia’s entertainment industry.  In a statement, the GEA said: “According to information provided to the GEA, the event (Project X) is in violation of the legal procedures and regulations in force, and has not been authorized by the body”. GEA had “originally issued a license for another event”, the statement said. “Its contractor then took advantage of an extension of that license to commit these serious and unacceptable violations”.

The venue, owned by the WHITE brand, which also owns a very popular Dubai nightclub, is currently under investigation after social media videos of the event sparked controversy and raised questions over the nature of the event and the venue. Many social media users, and some regional media outlets, have described the event as the opening of a famous nightclub; though insisting that it was not going to serve alcohol. Videos of women and men dancing in the same area sparked outrage in the Kingdom. Project X is part of the Jeddah Season festival, as the waterfront events are called X Jed and X Jeddah. Even though GEA mentioned the circulation of videos online, WHITE was never mentioned by name. According to our sources, another event hosting international DJs took place before the Project X opening. People were taking photos and videos and the organizers didn’t have a license. But nothing is confirmed yet.

The CEO of the venue, Tony Habre, told the news website Arabian Business that the club would be a “high-end cafe and lounge”, adding that: “The Saudi market will be great, because the local community goes out a lot. You have people in the country who go out a lot”. WHITE already has nightclubs in Beirut and Dubai, and the opening of the Jeddah venue was awaited by an estimation of over 2000 first impatient attendants.

Other people were perplex at the idea of a halal nightclub, wondering how it could respect all the aspects of the term. In the tourism industry, for example, “halal” refers to a sub-category of tourism that is aligned with the laws and traditions of Islam, including restaurants that do not serve pork or alcohol and hotels that offer separate spas and pools for men and women. Clearly, a dancing space for both women and men does not respect this criteria.

This controversy comes after a seemingly opening of the Kingdom towards live entertainment. On May 6, the Consultative Assembly of Saudi Arabia, or the Shura Council, approved the provision of sheesha products in the restaurants and cafes of Saudi cities, “according to specific regulations,” the Saudi newspaper Ajel reported. In January, Turki Al-Sheikh, the Chairman of the General Authority for Entertainment, promised that his country will issue licenses for live shows in cafes and restaurants. “We accept applications for licensing of live shows in restaurants and cafes,” he said. It aims to allow restaurants and cafes to hold live concerts and other shows, as part of the reforms promised by Crown Prince Mohammad Bin Salman (MBS) for his 2030 reform plan.

In January 2019, the Kingdom has also announced a massive entertainment program, with the country welcoming international performances, from Japan’s Takeshi’s Castle and Crystal Maze to NBA basketball games and The Lion King musical. As part of Saudi Arabia’s National Transformation Programme, Riyadh aims to offer its considerable young population new employment options in different fields. The events are expected to spur the economy and employ Saudis in event planning, the arts and other pursuits, by hosting more competitions, exhibitions, bazaars, stand-up comedy shows and themed attractions. There will also be a push for local and regional entertainment, and the government announced it will provide smaller venues to allow license-holders to host their own events, in a move aimed at supporting a home-grown, independent arts scene. The Project X event was part of those first licenses given.

In a more general space than entertainment, Saudi Arabia now aims to police its citizens’ behavior with a new public decency law approved by cabinet in April, though it remains unclear when it will be enforced. The law seeks to uphold Saudi “values and principles”, banning in public clothing deemed to “offend public tastes”, like men wearing shorts, and graffiti that could be interpreted as “harmful”, according to local media. Violators reportedly risk facing a fine of up to 5,000 riyals (USD 1,333). The Saudi government is in a system of balancing between what they perceive as dissident clerics, whom they simply arrest, and smoothing resistance that could come from conservative groups. On International Policy Digest, author Nader Habibi wrote on June 23 that: “The religious and conservative sentiments represent a major challenge to the cultural reforms and entertainment culture in Vision 2030. In general, King Salman and Crown Prince Mohammed bin Salman have been successful in convincing the formal religious authorities of the Kingdom to refrain from denouncing the Vision 2030 social programs. In other cases, they have arrested conservative Islamists who have voiced opposition to political repression or liberal social reforms. Yet at the same time, they have also shown sensitivity to public sentiments about government policies that are expressed on social media.”

The Saudi ambitions face a well-known reality: the rigidity of a society and authorities raised and existing only for the sake of preserving religion against ‘sin’ or ‘temptation to sin’. Once again, MBS’ ambitions and the apparent opening of Saudi society are facing reality: within a conservative country, basic entertainment is one step away of being subsersive. The nightclub might exist for another few events, but who knows long it can sustain the opposition.

© Copyright Notice

click on link to view the associated photo/image
©AFP ⁃ Amer HILABI | ©AFP ⁃ Amer HILABI

image_pdfimage_print

We would like to ask you something …

Fanack is an independent media organisation, not funded by any state or any interest group, that distributes in the Middle East and the wider world unbiased analysis and background information, based on facts, about the Middle East and North Africa.

The website grew rapidly in breadth and depth and today forms a rich and valuable source of information on 21 countries, from Morocco to Oman and from Iran to Yemen, both in Arabic and English. We currently reach six million readers annually and growing fast.

In order to guarantee the impartiality of information on the Chronicle, articles are published without by-lines. This also allows correspondents to write more freely about sensitive or controversial issues in their country. All articles are fact-checked before publication to ensure that content is accurate, current and unbiased.

To run such a website is very expensive. With a small donation, you can make a huge impact. And it only takes a minute. Thank you.