فَنَكْ وقائع وأحداث عن الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا / المملكة العربية السعودية / المجتمع ووسائل الإعلام والثقافة / المجتمع السعودي / المملكة العربية السعودية مترددة في إلغاء نظام الوصاية الذكورية

المملكة العربية السعودية مترددة في إلغاء نظام الوصاية الذكورية

Saudi Arabia- Saudi women
نساء سعوديات يقفن لالتقاط صورة “سيلفي” قبل مبارة ودية في كرة القدم بين السعودية والبرازيل في ملعب جامعة الملك سعود في الرياض، في 12 أكتوبر 2018. Photo AFP

شرع ولي العهد السعودي، محمد بن سلمان، بإجراء العديد من التغييرات في المملكة شديدة التحفظ منذ صعوده إلى السلطة في يونيو 2017. كانت بعض هذه التغييرات مجرد تغييراتٍ صورية، بينما أجرى البعض الآخر للقضاء على منافسيه.

ومع ذلك، تمت الإشادة به داخل المملكة وخارجها، لرفعه الحظر المفروض على قيادة المرأة للسيارات في سبتمبر 2017. بيد أنه بعد ستة أشهر، تم القبض على نفس النساء اللاتي كنّ قد أقمنّ حملةً من أجل حصولهنّ على هذا الحق.

محمد بن سلمان ليس الرجل الوحيد الذي يُسيء استخدام سلطته على النساء، فنظام الوصاية في المملكة العربية السعودية يعامل النساء بوصفهن قاصراتٍ قانونياً، مما يتطلب منهن الحصول على إذن من الذكور للسفر والزواج والعمل والآن، القيادة. وبموجب القانون، يكون الأخ أو الأب أو الزوج هو الوصي المعين، مما يمنحهم سلطة اتخاذ مجموعة من القرارات الحاسمة نيابةً عن المرأة.

ووصفت هيومن رايتس ووتش نظام الوصاية بأنه “أهم عقبة أمام تحقق حقوق المرأة في البلاد.”

كما أن نظام الوصاية المسؤول أيضاً عن إجبار أعداد متزايدة من النساء على الفرار من البلاد، وفقًا لآدم كوغل، الذي يراقب المملكة العربية السعودية لمنظمة هيومن رايتس ووتش.

يجمع نظام الوصاية بين القانون والعادات القديمة، مما يجعله مسألةً حساسة. ومن الجدير بالذكر أنه توجد في بلدانٍ أخرى في الشرق الأوسط بعض الأحكام التي تتطلب من المرأة الحصول على إذن من والدها أو زوجها قبل السفر أو الزواج. ففي إيران، على سبيل المثال، يجب أن تحصل المرأة على موافقة زوجها قبل السفر. وقبل نوفمبر 2015، كانت النساء في تونس، التي كان يُنظر إليها على نطاق واسع بكونها بلداً أكثر إرضاءً للنساء في العالم العربي، بحاجة إلى إذن من زوجهن قبل السفر مع أطفالهن. ومع ذلك، لا يوجد بلدٌ شرق أوسطي ينافس المملكة العربية السعودية عندما يتعلق الأمر بإعطاء السلطة للرجال على النساء. ورغم أن محمد بن سلمان كان قد قال في عام 2018 إنه يفضل إنهاء نظام الوصاية، إلا أنه لم يتخذ أي إجراءٍ خوفًا من الإخلال بالعادات الاجتماعية التي يسيطر عليها الذكور.

فقد قال في مقابلةٍ مع مجلة ذا أتلانتيك الأمريكية: “إذا ما أجبت بنعم على هذا السؤال، فهذا يعني أني أخلق مشاكل للعائلات التي لا تريد منح بناتها الحرية.”

ومع ذلك، ضغط نشطاء حقوق المرأة على الحكومة بشجاعة لإلغاء نظام الوصاية منذ سنوات. وعليه، وافقت العائلة المالكة لأول مرة على القيام بذلك في عام 2009 ومرةً أخرى في عام 2013 بعد المراجعة الدورية الشاملة للبلاد في مجلس الأمم المتحدة لحقوق الإنسان.

لكن بعد كلتا الجلستين، قامت المملكة العربية السعودية فقط بإجراء تغييرات صورية على قانون الوصاية. فقد أنهت الإصلاحات بعض قوانين الوصاية غير الرسمية التي كانت تمنع النساء في السابق من الوصول إلى الخدمات الحكومية أو الحصول على عملٍ دون إذنٍ من ولي الأمر. ومع ذلك، لا تزال المرأة بحاجة إلى موافقة الرجل للحصول على جواز سفر أو السفر إلى الخارج أو الزواج.

فقد دافع رجال الدين المحافظون المدعومون من الدولة عن نظام الوصاية بحجة أنه متجذرٌ في آية قرآنية. إلا أن مناصري المرأة السعوديين من الإسلاميين وغيرهم من علماء الدين ينتقدون هذا التفسير، مدعين أنه لا يوجد مكان في الشريعة، أي الشريعة الإسلامية المستمدة جزئياً من القرآن الكريم، تُذكر فيها الوصاية.

ومرةً أخرى، فإن الجدل الحقيقي ليس له علاقة بتفسير الشريعة، إذ لطالما استشهدت المحاكم السعودية بالأعراف الاجتماعية عند فرض قيودٍ على النساء بفضل غياب قوانين الدولة لدعم النصوص القانونية المستمدة من الشريعة. وهذا يعني أن سلطات الدولة غالباً ما تبرر نظام الوصاية للحفاظ على الممارسات “الثقافية.”

وقال هاني صبرا، محلل شؤون الشرق الأوسط ومؤسس شركة ألف الاستشارية التي تتخذ من نيويورك مقراً لها، لفَنَك، هناك سببان يجعلان القيادة السعودية مترددة في إلغاء نظام الوصاية، إذ أشار أولاً إلى أن جميع الإصلاحات الاجتماعية التي استهلها محمد بن سلمان ذات حافز اقتصادي واضح، والذي كان أحد الأسباب الرئيسية لرفع الحظر عن قيادة المرأة للسيارات.

وفي الوقت نفسه، يعتقد صبرا أن محمد بن سلمان لربما ظنّ أن إلغاء نظام الوصاية لن يولد نفس المزايا الاقتصادية وبدلاً من ذلك يخاطر بتمكين المرأة سياسياً. كما يمكن أن يغضب رجال الدين المتشددين، المكلفين بتنظيم العادات الاجتماعية.

وقال صبرا: “لا يزال رجال الدين المحافظين مؤثرين للغاية في المملكة العربية السعودية، لذلك ربما تفكر الحكومة، لمَ نغضبهم؟”.

وفي هذا الصدد، تشدد هيومن رايتس ووتش على أن المملكة العربية السعودية صادقت على اتفاقية الأمم المتحدة للقضاء على جميع أشكال التمييز ضد المرأة (سيداو)، التي تلزم المملكة قانوناً بإنهاء جميع أشكال التمييز ضد المرأة. ومع ذلك، من المهم الإشارة إلى أن الحكومة السعودية طلبت تحفظاً عاماً على التصديق على اتفاقية سيداو. وبالتالي، ينص هذا على أن المملكة ليست ملزمة بتضمين أي من بنودٍ من الاتفاقية إذا كانت تتعارض مع الشريعة.

على أرض الواقع، ترفض المملكة تنفيذ أي إصلاحاتٍ ذات مغزى على الرغم من تعليقات محمد بن سلمان فيما يتعلق بأهمية مشاركة المرأة في المجتمع السعودي، إذ قال أثناء الكشف عن خطته التحديثية الطموحة التي تحمل اسم رؤية 2030: “ستواصل [الحكومة] تنمية مواهب المرأة واستثمار طاقاتها وتمكينها من الحصول على الفرص المناسبة لبناء مستقبلها والإسهام في تنمية المجتمع والاقتصاد.”

والآن بعد أن بات من الواضح عدم وجود أي نيةٍ لديه لتمكين المرأة السعودية، يدعو الاتحاد الأوروبي وجماعات حقوق الإنسان الرياض إلى الوفاء بخطابها.

وفي فبراير 2019، عبّر المشرعون الأوروبيون عن قلقهم بشأن الخدمات الحكومية الإلكترونية، في إشارة مرجحة إلى تطبيق أبشر السعودي الذي يسمح للأوصياء الذكور بتتبع حركة زوجاتهم وأخواتهم وبناتهم. كما حث المشرعون المملكة العربية السعودية على إنهاء نظام الوصاية، إلا أن النداء لم يلق آذاناً صاغية.

“محمد بن سلمان ليس ليبرالياً،” بحسب ما قاله صبرا لنا في فَنَك، وأضاف “لم تكن هذه هي الحقيقة قط.”

image_pdfimage_print

دعمكم عونٌ لنا

فَنَك هي مؤسسة إعلامية إلكترونية مستقلة، لا تمولها أي دولة أو مجموعات مصالح. تلتزم فَنَك بنشر تحليلاتٍ مبنية على الوقائع ومحايدة، إلى جانب التقارير المواضيعية حول الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا.
شهد الموقع نمواً سريعاً في نطاق وعمق المعلومات التي يُقدمها، واليوم، بات يُشكل مصدراً غنياً وقيماً للمعلومات عن 21 بلداً، من المغرب إلى عُمان ومن إيران إلى اليمن، باللغتين العربية والإنجليزية. حالياً، وصل عدد القراء إلى 6 ملايين سنوياً، والعدد آخذٌ بالإزدياد.
لضمان حيادية المعلومات على موقع فَنَك (وقائع وأحداث) ، تُنشر المقالات دون ذكر أسماء الكتّاب، مما يُتيح أيضاً لمراسلينا مساحة أكبر من الحرية عند التطرق إلى القضايا الحساسة أو المثيرة للجدل فى بلادهم. وإلى جانب ذلك، نتحرى حقائق جميع المعلومات الواردة في مقالاتنا قبل النشر لضمان دقة المعلومات، وحداثتها وحيادها.

استمرارية تشغيل مثل هذا الموقع الإلكتروني مُكلفة للغاية. بتبرعٍ صغيرٍ منك، يمكنك المساهمة في الحفاظ على حرية واستقلالية تغطيتنا.

Fanack Home / Saudi Arabia / Society, Media & Culture of Saudi Arabia / Society of Saudi Arabia / Saudi Arabia Reluctant to Abolish Male Guardianship System

Saudi Arabia Reluctant to Abolish Male Guardianship System

Saudi Arabia- Saudi women
Saudi women pose for a selfie ahead of the friendly football match between Saudi Arabia and Brazil at the King Saud University Stadium in Riyadh on October 12, 2018. Photo AFP

Saudi Arabia’s Crown Prince Mohammed bin Salman, also known as MBS, has instigated several changes in the ultra-conservative kingdom since ascending to power in June 2017. Some were cosmetic reforms whereas others were made to eliminate his rivals.

He was nonetheless praised, both inside the kingdom and beyond, for lifting the ban on women driving in June 2018. Yet six months later, the same women who campaigned for that right were arrested.

MBS is not the only man abusing his power over women. Saudi Arabia’s guardianship system treats women as legal minors, requiring them to obtain male permission to travel, marry, work and now drive. By law, a brother, father or husband is the designated guardian, giving them the power to make a range of critical decisions on the woman’s behalf.

Human Rights Watch (HRW) has called the guardianship system the most ‘significant impediment to realizing women’s rights in the country’.

Male guardianship is also responsible for forcing increasing numbers of women to flee the country, according to Adam Google, who monitors Saudi Arabia for HRW.

The guardianship system straddles the law and age-old customs, making it a sensitive issue. Other countries in the Middle East also have some provisions that require women to obtain permission from their father or husband before travelling or getting married. In Iran, for instance, women must obtain their husband’s approval before traveling.

Prior to November 2015, women in Tunisia, which was widely perceived as a more accommodating country for women in the Arab world, needed permission from their husband before travelling with their children. However, no Middle Eastern country rivals Saudi Arabia when it comes to giving power to men over women. Although MBS said in 2018 that he favoured ending the guardianship system, he has not taken any action out of fear of upsetting male-dominated social customs.

“If I say yes to this question, that means I’m creating problems for the families that don’t want to give freedom for their daughters,” he said in an interview with American magazine The Atlantic.

Nevertheless, women’s rights activists have bravely lobbied the government to abolish the guardianship system for years. The royal family first agreed to do so in 2009 and again in 2013 following its Universal Periodic Review (UPR) at the United Nations Human Rights Council.

Yet after both hearings, Saudi Arabia merely made cosmetic changes to the guardianship law. The reforms ended some unofficial guardianship rules, which previously barred women from accessing government services or obtaining employment without permission from a male guardian. However, women still need a man’s approval to obtain a passport, travel abroad or get married.

State-backed religious clerics have defended the guardianship system, arguing that it is rooted in a Koranic verse. But Saudi Islamic feminists and other religious scholars criticize the interpretation, claiming that nowhere in sharia, Islamic law that is partially derived from the Koran, is guardianship codified.

Then again, the real debate has little to do with the interpretation of sharia. Saudi courts have long cited social norms when enforcing restrictions on women thanks to an absence of state laws to aid legal texts derived from sharia. This means that state authorities often justify the guardianship system to preserve ‘cultural’ practices.

Hani Sabra, a Middle East analyst and founder of the New York-based Alef Advisory, told Fanack that there are two reasons why the Saudi leadership is reluctant to abolish the guardianship system. He first notes that all social reforms MBS has instituted have a clear economic incentive, which was one of the main reasons that the ban on women driving was lifted.

At the same time, Sabra believes that MBS probably calculated that abolishing the guardianship system will not generate the same economic benefits and instead risks politically empowering women. It could also anger the religious clergy, who are charged with regulating social customs.

“Conservative clerics are still very influential in Saudi Arabia, so the government is probably thinking, why anger them?” Sabra said.

HRW stresses that Saudi Arabia has ratified the United Nations Convention on the Elimination of All Forms of Discrimination against Women (CEDAW), which legally obliges the kingdom to end all discrimination against women. However, it is important to note that the Saudi government demanded a general reservation upon ratifying CEDAW. This states that the kingdom is not obliged to incorporate any of the terms of the convention if it contradicts sharia.

In practice, the kingdom refuses to implement any meaningful reforms despite comments by MBS regarding the importance of female participation in Saudi society.

“[The government] will continue to develop [women’s] talents, invest in their productive capabilities and enable them to strengthen their future and contribute to the development of our society and economy,” he said while unveiling his ambitious modernization plan called Vision 2030.

Now that it has become clear that he has no incentive to empower Saudi women, the European Union and rights groups are calling on Riyadh to deliver on its rhetoric.

In February 2019, European lawmakers expressed concern over government web services, a likely reference to the Saudi application Absher that allows male guardians to track the movement of their wives, sisters and daughters. The lawmakers also urged Saudi Arabia to end its male guardianship system, but the plea has fallen on deaf ears.

“MBS isn’t a liberal,” Sabra told Fanack. “That was simply never true.”

image_pdfimage_print

We would like to ask you something …

Fanack is an independent media organisation, not funded by any state or any interest group, that distributes in the Middle East and the wider world unbiased analysis and background information, based on facts, about the Middle East and North Africa.

The website grew rapidly in breadth and depth and today forms a rich and valuable source of information on 21 countries, from Morocco to Oman and from Iran to Yemen, both in Arabic and English. We currently reach six million readers annually and growing fast.

In order to guarantee the impartiality of information on the Chronicle, articles are published without by-lines. This also allows correspondents to write more freely about sensitive or controversial issues in their country. All articles are fact-checked before publication to ensure that content is accurate, current and unbiased.

To run such a website is very expensive. With a small donation, you can make a huge impact. And it only takes a minute. Thank you.