فَنَكْ وقائع وأحداث عن الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا / الخدمات في حوض اليرموك

الخدمات في حوض اليرموك

Daraa
إمرأة تجلس مع أطفالها في حديقة عامة في درعا، جنوب سوريا، 5 أيار 2011. Photo: LOUAI BESHARA / AFP ©AFP ⁃ LOUAI BESHARA

بقلم: أم إلياس – حقوق النشر فَنَك.com

تركز الكثير من الصحافة الأجنبية والتحليلات حول جنوب سوريا على الديناميات العسكرية والأمنية في المنطقة. تعدّ هذه مواضيع مهمة، بيد أنها لا تعكس الصورة بمجملها. في هذا المقال، أود أن أتحدث عن جودة الخدمات المقدمة في منطقتي وفي جنوب سوريا على مستوى أوسع.

كان الدمار الذي لحق بالبنية التحتية بسبب الحرب مهولاً. فمنذ استعادة السيطرة الحكومية الكاملة على المنطقة قبل عام، شهد وضع الخدمات بعض التحسينات في منطقة درعا، في جنوب غرب سوريا، ولكن لا تزال هناك العديد من التحديات، فعلى سبيل المثال، لا تزال الكهرباء من الشبكة الوطنية السورية مقطوعة في قرية كويا، التي تعتبر واحدةً من أكثر القرى النائية في ريف درعا الغربي حيث تقع مباشرةً على الحدود مع الأردن. كان هناك العديد من الوعود لحل هذه المشكلة في أقرب وقتٍ ممكن، ولكن ليس من الواضح متى سيتم الوفاء بهذه الوعود. بعض المناطق المجاورة بها كهرباء، ولكن حتى تلك التي تصلها الكهرباء، والتي تنظر إليها القرى الأخرى مثل قريتي بعين الحسد، تتخلص في أحسن الأحوال بنظام تقنين يعتمد على ساعتين وصل، وثم أربع ساعات قطع. في قريتنا، نستخدم الألواح الشمسية لتوليد الكهرباء، ولكن ما لم يكن لديك المال لشراء ألواح متعددة، فلا يمكنك فعل أكثر من شحن هاتفك وإضاءة منزلك.

نحن أيضا نفتقر إلى الهواتف الأرضية، لذلك نعتمد غالباً على الهواتف المحمولة وتطبيقات وسائل التواصل الاجتماعي مثل الواتساب للاتصال بالأصدقاء والعائلة. أما الوصول إلى الإنترنت في منطقتي، ولقربها من الحدود، فإننا نعتمد بشكلٍ أساسي على الشبكات الأردنية. ولكن الآن، بات استخدام هذه الشبكات ممنوع رسمياً. أولئك الذين يرغبون في استخدام الشبكات الأردنية، والتي تعتبر أكثر أمناً نظراً لعدم مراقبتها من قبل قوات الأمن السورية، يعتمدون الآن على الأقارب والأصدقاء في الأردن لشراء حزم بيانات الإنترنت.

تتوفر المياه من شبكة المياه التابعة للدولة، ولكنها تصلنا بشكلٍ غير منتظم: في كويا، هذا يعني أن المياه لا تصل القرية أكثر من مرتين أسبوعياً. قد تأتي المياه بشكلٍ متكرر في المناطق المجاورة مثل الشجرة، لأن مصادر المياه تختلف باختلاف الأماكن: ففي الشجرة، تأتي المياه من نظام المضخات والمولدات. أما بالنسبة لمياهنا، فهي تأتي من ينبوع طبيعي في عين ذكر، في شمال حوض اليرموك، وغالباً ما يكون مصدر المياه هذا غير كافٍ لتلبية احتياجات الناس. لذلك، يشتري الكثير من الناس أيضاً المياه من صهاريج خاصة، على الرغم من أن هذا يعتبر مكلفاً بالنظر إلى ارتفاع معدل البطالة وانخفاض الرواتب في المنطقة.

لا تزال الخدمات البلدية سيئة بشكلٍ عام في منطقتي. ففي حين يمكن لمكاتب البلدية تقديم بعض الخدمات، مثل التنظيف، فإننا نلجأ في قريتي إلى حرق القمامة. يدير القرية مكتب بلدية مسؤول أيضاً عن قرية بيت آرة المجاورة. رئيس المكتب البلدي هو رجل يدعى مصلح فندي المحمد.

للأسف، لا يوجد في كويا مشاريع هامة للبنية التحتية وإعادة الإعمار. تفتقر مكاتب البلديات إلى الأموال وقد تعتمد على تبرعات السكان المحليين وأقارب السكان المحليين المقيمين بالخارج من أجل تمويل المشاريع. فعلى سبيل المثال، في قرية الشجرة المجاورة، أرسل الأشخاص الذين يعيشون في بلدٍ آخر تبرعات إلى أقاربهم في الوطن. يمكن أن يساعد ذلك في تمويل مبادرات البناء والخدمات العامة وحتى توزيع المساعدات. في الواقع، في الشجرة، هناك توزيعات متكررة للمساعدات ومواد الإغاثة. كان هناك توزيعات لحيوانات مثل الدجاج والأغنام للمحتاجين، لتربية الماشية. لم يكن هناك شيء من هذا القبيل في الكويا.

نقطة مهمة أخرى هي أن جودة الخدمات والحالة الإنسانية يمكن أن تختلف حسب المنطقة. فبدلاً من أن يكون الوضع ناتجاً عن الاختلافات في مهارات موظفي البلدية والعمال في مختلف المناطق، يعتمد هذا على ما إذا كانت الأموال متوفرة لتمويل إعادة الإعمار والتنمية. ونظراً لأن قدرات الحكومة في ظل الاقتصاد المعطل بالبلاد محدودة، فإن الأمور تعتمد بشدة على السكان المحليين وأقاربهم في المنفى، الذين قد يساعدون بالتدخل لسد الفجوة المالية. لا يمكننا إلا أن نأمل أن يتحسن الوضع في المستقبل.

© Copyright Notice

click on link to view the associated photo/image
©AFP ⁃ LOUAI BESHARA

دعمكم عونٌ لنا

فَنَك هي مؤسسة إعلامية إلكترونية مستقلة، لا تمولها أي دولة أو مجموعات مصالح. تلتزم فَنَك بنشر تحليلاتٍ مبنية على الوقائع ومحايدة، إلى جانب التقارير المواضيعية حول الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا.
شهد الموقع نمواً سريعاً في نطاق وعمق المعلومات التي يُقدمها، واليوم، بات يُشكل مصدراً غنياً وقيماً للمعلومات عن 21 بلداً، من المغرب إلى عُمان ومن إيران إلى اليمن، باللغتين العربية والإنجليزية. حالياً، وصل عدد القراء إلى 6 ملايين سنوياً، والعدد آخذٌ بالإزدياد.
لضمان حيادية المعلومات على موقع فَنَك (وقائع وأحداث) ، تُنشر المقالات دون ذكر أسماء الكتّاب، مما يُتيح أيضاً لمراسلينا مساحة أكبر من الحرية عند التطرق إلى القضايا الحساسة أو المثيرة للجدل فى بلادهم. وإلى جانب ذلك، نتحرى حقائق جميع المعلومات الواردة في مقالاتنا قبل النشر لضمان دقة المعلومات، وحداثتها وحيادها.

استمرارية تشغيل مثل هذا الموقع الإلكتروني مُكلفة للغاية. بتبرعٍ صغيرٍ منك، يمكنك المساهمة في الحفاظ على حرية واستقلالية تغطيتنا.

  • صفقة القرن: 17 درساً تعلمناه

    إن الوثيقة لم تأت على ذكر احتلال إسرائيل للأراضي الفلسطينية الممتد منذ عقود طويلة ولو لمرة واحدة. بل إن أقرب شيءٍ لهذا المعنى نجده في استخدام المفردة الإنجليزية "occupations" بمعنى "وظائف"، وقد تعني في سياقات أخرى "الاحتلال"، وهو ما يحمل معنىً أبعد ما يكون عمّا يفهمه معظم الناس من هذا المصطلح في السياق الفلسطيني.
  • الحرب ليست حلاً للصراع بين الولايات المتحدة وإيران

    إن المحادثات المباشرة هي الحلّ الوحيد والكفيل بتزويد إيران بفرصة للتغلّب على مشاكلها الاقتصادية، ناهيك عن إتاحته للولايات المتحدة التوصل لاتفاقٍ أكثر شمولية من الاتفاق النووي. وعلى الرغم من أن المواجهة الحالية بين إيران والولايات المتحدة قد تزداد سوءاً، فإن الطرفين يعلمان علم اليقين أنه لا مفر من اللجوء إلى المحادثات حتى وإن جاء ذلك في أعقاب أي حالة تصعيد تؤدي إلى خسائر في الأرواح ووقوع دمارٍ لا طائل منه.
  • الحرب السورية: الآثار تدفع الثمن أيضاً

    يتطلب إجراء البحوث الأثرية اتصالاً مباشراً بالمواقع والمواد القديمة. إلا أنّ العنف المسلح المتصاعد في سوريا يحول دون استكمال علماء الآثار لعملهم. كما حوّلت معظم المؤسسات الدولية تركيزها عن سوريا ونقلت بعثاتها ومشاريعها إلى البلدان المجاورة.

Fanack Home / Services in the Yarmouk Basin

Services in the Yarmouk Basin

Daraa
A woman sits in a public park with her children in Daraa, south of Syria, on May 5, 2011. Photo: LOUAI BESHARA / AFP ©AFP ⁃ LOUAI BESHARA

By: Umm Elias – Copy Rights Fanack.com

Much of foreign journalism and analysis about southern Syria focuses on military and security dynamics in the region. These are important topics, but they do not give the full picture. In this essay, I want to talk about the quality of services provided in my area and in southern Syria on a wider level.

The destruction caused to the infrastructure by the war was very great. Since the restoration of full government control over the area a year ago, the situation of services has seen some improvements in the Deraa region, in southwestern Syria,, but many challenges remain. For example, electricity from the Syrian national grid remains cut off in my village of Koaiya, which is one of the most remote villages in the western Deraa countryside as it lies right on the border with Jordan. There have been many promises to fix this problem as soon as possible, but it is not clear when these promises will be fulfilled. Some of the neighbouring localities have electricity, but even those in this situation, which is enviable to villages such as mine, at best dispose of a rationing system based on two hours of electricity, then four hours without. In our village, we use solar panels to generate electricity, but unless you have the money to buy multiple panels, you cannot do much more than charge your phone and keep the lights on in your house.

We also lack phone landlines. Therefore, for contact with friends and family, we often rely on mobile phones and social media applications like Whatsapp. Internet access in my area, since it is near the border, used to work predominantly via Jordanian networks. But now, the use of these networks is officially forbidden. Those who wish to use Jordanian networks, which are seen as more secure as they are not monitored by the Syrian security forces, now rely on relatives and friends in Jordan to buy Internet data packages.

Water from the state network is available, but comes very infrequently: in Koaiya, this means no more than twice a week. Water might come more frequently in neighbouring localities like al-Shajara, because sources of water vary in different places: in al-Shajara, the water comes from a system of pumps and generators. As for our water, it comes from a natural spring in Ain Dhikr, in the north of the Yarmouk Basin, and often this source of water is not sufficient to meet people’s needs. Therefore, many people also buy water from private tankers (saharij), though this is costly considering the high level of unemployment and low salaries in the area.

Municipal services generally remain poor in my region. While municipal offices can offer some services, such as cleaning, in my village we often resort to burning rubbish. The village is ran by a municipal office that is also responsible for the neighbouring village of Bayt Arah. The head of the municipal office is a man called Muslih Fandi al-Muhammad.

Regrettably, in Koiya we have no important infrastructure and reconstruction projects. Municipal offices are lacking funds and may rely on donations from locals and from relatives of locals living abroad in order to fund projects. For instance, in the neighbouring village of al-Shajara, people who are living in another country have sent donations to their relatives at home. This can help finance construction initiatives, public services and even the distribution of aid. Indeed, in al-Shajara, there are frequent distributions of aid and relief. There have even been distributions of animals like chicken and sheep to those in need, for them to raise as livestock. There has been nothing of the sort here in Koaiya.

An important point is that the quality of services and the humanitarian situation can vary by locality. Rather than being the product of differences in the skills of municipal staff and workers in various localities, this situation depends on whether the money exists to finance reconstruction and development. As the government’s capacities amid the country’s crippled economy are limited, things heavily depend on locals and their relatives in exile, who might help by stepping in to fill the financial gap. We can only hope that the situation will improve in the future.

© Copyright Notice

click on link to view the associated photo/image
©AFP ⁃ LOUAI BESHARA | ©AFP ⁃ LOUAI BESHARA

We would like to ask you something …

Fanack is an independent media organisation, not funded by any state or any interest group, that distributes in the Middle East and the wider world unbiased analysis and background information, based on facts, about the Middle East and North Africa.

The website grew rapidly in breadth and depth and today forms a rich and valuable source of information on 21 countries, from Morocco to Oman and from Iran to Yemen, both in Arabic and English. We currently reach six million readers annually and growing fast.

In order to guarantee the impartiality of information on the Chronicle, articles are published without by-lines. This also allows correspondents to write more freely about sensitive or controversial issues in their country. All articles are fact-checked before publication to ensure that content is accurate, current and unbiased.

To run such a website is very expensive. With a small donation, you can make a huge impact. And it only takes a minute. Thank you.

  • The decline of Erdoğanist authoritarianism: a new chance for “democratization” in Turkey?

    On the flip side of the picture, ironically, the making of Erdoğanist authoritarianism has generated ample opportunities for a radical liberalization of the Turkish political system. Scrapping institutional discipline, liquidating the bureaucratic guardians, disposing of the ‘traditional’ cadre structure and confusing the ideological compass that defined the ‘old’ imperious state apparatus, without effectively replacing them with ‘new’ ones, presents a historic moment for a comprehensive and thorough transformation.
  • Western states must repatriate IS fighters and their families before more break free from Syrian camps

    The first, still best, option – repatriation of foreign nationals – is arguably a quickly closing window. Even then, questions would remain about what should happen to Iraqi and Syrian nationals, and what role the West should play in resolving their situation. But European powers must avoid taking the third option they’d been exercising by default – doing nothing, and waiting for circumstances to change.