فَنَكْ وقائع وأحداث عن الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا / عيد الرعاة.. مهرجان يحتفي بحراس الشعر والطبيعة في تونس

عيد الرعاة.. مهرجان يحتفي بحراس الشعر والطبيعة في تونس

راعي التونسي محمد الرعاة
صورة تم التقاطها يوم 26 أكتوبر 2020 للراعي التونسي محمد (75 عاما) وهو يرعى الغنم في مدينة سيدي بوزيد التونسية.

حكيم مرزوقي

حرم الإرهاب وتداعياته، هذا العام، جمهور التونسيين من متابعة مهرجان من نوع خاص ومتفرّد وهو عيد الرعاة. ويعد عيد الرعاة مهرجانا ثقافيا سنويا ينتظم في قرية الوساعية، التابعة لمدينة سبيطلة بمحافظة القصرين وسط غرب تونس، وذلك لإعلان محيط القرية المتاخمة لجبال الشعانبي وسمامة، منطقة عسكرية في إطار حملات التمشيط التي تقوم بها السلطات التونسية ضد العناصر الإرهابية التي تتخذ من تلك الغابات أوكارا لنشاطاتها.تأسس مهرجان الرعاة عام 2012، بمبادرة من المركز الثقافي الجبلي بالمنطقة وإحدى الجمعيات البيئية، بهدف إيجاد تقاليد سياحية بديلة في القرى الواقعة عند سفوح الجبال بهذا الجزء من تونس المعروف بعراقته حيث كان في الماضي مهدا للحضارة الرومانية. كما يعتبر المهرجان أول تظاهرة من نوعها في العالم العربي تحتفي برعاة تونس وتصالح بينهم وبين الموروث الثقافي المتمثل بمخزون شفهي هائل من الغناء والشعر والسرديات، بالإضافة إلى منتجات زراعية وصناعات تقليدية ترتبط بتلك البيئة.

ساهم هذا المهرجان في تعزيز الدور الأساسي للرعاة في إعمار هذه الجبال الشاسعة وحمايتها من الإرهابيين، خصوصا بعد حادثة إقدام 20 عنصرا إرهابيا مسلحا في نوفمبر 2015 على ذبح راعي أغنام يبلغ من العمر 16عاما، وذلك في رسالة ترهيبية تحذيرية إلى باقي الرعاة الذين يتعاملون مع الجهات الأمنية والعسكرية.

اضطر فريق المركز، وقتها، إلى النشاط على سفح الجبل بعد أن وضع التصوّر الأولي للفعاليات داخل الجبل، في مغاراته الجميلة وفي شعابه وعلى هضابه وفي مواقعه الأثرية التي لم تستكشف بعد. وانطلقت تلك الدورة من المهرجان تحت شعار ” نعمْ.. أنا راعٍ .. وألفُ نعمْ”، وذلك تخليدا لقصيدة الشاعر الراحل عامر بوترعة، الذي قال هذه القصيدة ردا على مذيعة تلفزيونية كانت قد تعرضت لفئة الرعاة بالسخرية والتحقير من شأنهم.

توسعت نشاطات وفعاليات عيد الرعاة في غضون سنوات قليلة من تأسيسه، وأقام له حملة دعائية في العاصمة تونس، عبر مجموعة أصوات غنائية وشعرية رافقتها النايات المصنوعة من تلك الأحراش.

وكان المهرجان قد دأب على استقبال ضيوفه، وتكريم رواده، نهاية الربيع من كل عام بين قطعان الأغنام، تحت الخيام وفي المغارات، حيث يقف زواره على تلك الحياة البسيطة الوديعة رغم قسوة الظروف في تلك الجبال التي يريد الإرهاب تحويلها إلى مصدر تخويف وترهيب، مما يضطر بعض السكان إلى مغادرتها نحو الضواحي البائسة في المدن المكتظة.

ويعتزم القائمون على المهرجان تدارك تأجيل دورته هذا العام، مع استتباب الأمن والتنسيق مع الجهات التي ستعمل على حمايته وتأمين انعقاد دوراته في مواعيده المقررة.

مساهمة حيوية في تكوين الحضارة

وبالعودة إلى الوقوف عند فئة الرعاة فلا بأس من إسداء الاعتراف والتقدير لهؤلاء الملقبين بـ “حراس الشعر” في تاريخ الإنسانية وعند محطاتها في مختلف أنحاء العالم.

فلو فكرت الإنسانية في قيمة ما قدم لها الرعاة عبر تاريخها لأقامت لهم النصب والتماثيل – مع قطعانهم ـ في مداخل المدن قبل البوادي، وذلك اعترافا وتقديرا لإسهامات هذه الفئة في صناعة الحضارة.

قد يعتقد البعض أن الحضارة لا تقوم على ظهور الدواب وأن ” الحجر المتدحرج لا ينبت عليه العشب” فالإنسان لا يفكر في الزراعة والصناعة والعمران إلا عندما يستقر ويفكر فيما حوله بهدوء وتمعن ورغبة في التكيف، ولكن، من قال إن الحضارة هي فقط مظاهرها ومفرداتها؟
حسب الراعي فخرا أنه أول من فهم ورصد وتكيف مع لغة الحيوان والطبيعة فتعلم منها الكثير، ودجن الرياح في نايه ليحاكي غربة القصب ويؤسس لمفهوم الشعر كلحظة اندهاش أبدية أمام معجزة الحياة.

نماذج من إبداعات الرعاة

راعية بربرية تونسية ترعى قطيعها
صورة تم التقاطها يوم 14 ديسمبر 2019 لرقية (75 عاماً)، وهي راعية بربرية تونسية، ترعى قطيعها في قرية كسرى الجبلية التونسية، وهي أعلى قرية بربرية في البلاد على ارتفاع 1100 متر. المصدر: FETHI BELAID/ AFP.

يدرك الراعي، وبالفطرة والسليقة، أن الدواب والغيوم والسواقي لا تحتاج الى إشارات مرور، ولا يلزمها نقود أو نميمة أو أوراق ثبوتية.  كما لا يعنيه الوقوف أمام الواجهات التجارية أو في طوابير طالبي التأشيرات أمام السفارات الأجنبية غير أن تفاصيل كثيرة من مظاهر الحياة المدينية وترفها مدينة في وجودها الى الرعاة واليكم بعض النماذج:

ـ بنطال الجينز، هذا اللباس المفضل لدى رعاة البقر لمتانته ومناسبته لصهوات الخيول المطاردة للأبقار أو الجامحة والعصية على الترويض، جاء السيد لفيس ستراوس وهو أمريكي من أصل ألماني، وأدرك بحسه التجاري الماكر أن هذا القماش الأزرق المتين العجيب سوف يكون له شان عظيم فأقدم على إنشاء أول معمل لتصنيعه وتعميمه ليناسب جميع الفئات والأذواق والأزمنة وبات الجينز رمزا لكسر رتابة الأناقة الأرستقراطية وعنوانا للانفتاح الطبقي.. لا سيما أن تسميته تعود إلى مصدره في جنوى الإيطالية، بحسب ما يؤكد المؤرخون المعاصرون..

ـ الروك فور: هذه الجبنة الفرنسية ذات الطعم الآسر يعود اكتشافها وبالصدفة إلى راعي أغنام في مقاطعة من الريف الفرنسي تحمل الاسم ذاته. أخفى صاحبنا زوادته من الجبن العادي في مغارة ذات رطوبة خاصة وحينما عاد اليها بعد أيام وجد أن قطع الجبنة قد تعفنت ولكنه كان مضطرا لأكلها بدافع الجوع (أمهر الطباخين). ومن يومها أدمن الراعي إيداع أجبانه تلك المغارة الساحرة، وأدمن الفرنسيون من بعده، هذا المذاق العجيب، جعلوه على رأس ثقافتهم “الجبنية”، تباهوا به وصدروه إلى مختلف أصقاع الأرض.

ـ الغولف: رياضة أصحاب الصولجانات، يعود اكتشافها الى راع من الريف السكوتلندي يلهو بعصاه بين التلال ويقذف بطرفها الأحجار كي يفزع الأرانب في حفرها ومضاجعها. أحب بقية زملائه من الرعاة هذا اللون من التسلية وعمموها على أهالي القرية إلى أن تفطن إليها بعض الأثرياء من المتقاعدين فاحتكروها وجعلوها رياضتهم المفضلة.

كما أن أغلب الرياضات الأخرى من العاب القوى كالركض والسباحة والقفز والتسلق ورمي الأثقال ورفعها وفنون المبارزة والقتال كان يمارسها الرعاة دون حاجة الى احتفاليات وتتويجات، إضافة الى الفوتبول الذي كان يصنع من وبر الإبل أو شعر الماعز.

ـ القهوة هذا المشروب الأسود الساخن  الذي أحيط بهالة من السحر والغموض فحرص  الاتراك العثمانيون على عدم خروجه من قصور السلاطين وأحاطوا كيفية اعدادها بالسرية والكتمان فبالغوا في تحميص حبيباتها لمحو خصائصها الظاهرية ولكنها وصلت الى أقاصي الشرق عن طريق رجل هندي أخفى حبيباتها الخضراء تحت ثيابه كما اخترقت أوروبا عن طريق جاسوس نمساوي وما لبثت أن انتشرت كالإشاعة وأرست ثقافة بأكملها فارتبطت بأسماء لامعة من محبيها فسميت أنواع بأسمائهم مثل كازنوفا وفاغنر وتفننوا في إعدادها مثل تعديلها بخيط حليب مما جعلها تشبه ثوب كهنة الكابوتشينو (أصل تسمية هذا النوع من القهوة في البندقية). ولا ننسى الكاتب الفرنسي بلزاك الذي يقول إنه كان يشرب أربعين فنجانا منها كل يوم أثناء الكتابة.  يعود الفضل في اكتشاف هذا المشروب الى راع حبشي (ومنهم من يقول يمني) لاحظ تغيرا في نشاط أغنامه عندما تقبل على تناول هذه النبتة. جرب ذلك على نفسه فاستساغ طعمها ومفعولها وكانت القهوة التي غزت الآفاق ومثلت في أرقى الصالونات.

ما أنبل تلك العلاقة التي تنشأ بين الراعي وقطيعه.. إنها على بساطتها، درس في كل شيء لأنها العودة الى الينابيع الأولى حيث الأسئلة الأولى، والحوار النقي مع الكون وتلك الغنائية الخلاقة التي جعلت الناقد والمفكر باختين يقول: إن كل الشعر هو إعادة انتاج للحالة الرعوية الأولى المتمثلة في “نشيد الإنشادّ” الوارد في العهد القديم من الكتاب المقدس.

قال راع لحبيبته الراعية في هذا الشرق القديم “شعرك قطيع ماعز يتسلق جبل جلعاد”.

يكفي أن نشير بأن مهنة الرعي قد تأتمتت في الدول الغربية وأصبح الراعي يستخدم المروحيات وأجهزة الاتصالات الحديثة، ولكنه لم يفقد روحه الرعوية التي ما زالت تعج بالشعر والحب.

مهرجان الرعاة في مراعي وجبال الوسط التونسي، إنجاز ثقافي وحضاري ينبغي دعمه والمحافظة على استمراره.. هذا ما يتفق عليه جميع المهتمين في تونس وخارجها.

ملاحظة

الآراء الواردة في هذا المقال تعبّر عن آراء الكاتب (الكتّاب)، وليس المقصود منها التعبير عن آراء أو وجهات نظر فَنَك أو مجلس تحريرها.

إقرأ المزيد

الثقافة التونسية مركبة بشكل خاص من العناصر العربية والبربرية، كم...
وبعد نجاح الثورة التونسية، فقد نجحت تونس في تأمين انتقال السلطة ب...
كان قانون مكافحة الإرهاب التونسي، الذي تمت الموافقة عليه في يوليو...

© Copyright Notice

Please contact us in case of omissions concerning copyright-protected work. The acquired copyright protected images used on/as featured image of this page are: ©AFP | FETHI BELAID ©AFP | FETHI BELAID ©AFP

الجهل يقود إلى الخوف، الخوف يقود إلى الكراهية، والكراهية تقود إلى العنف هذه هي المعادلة.
ابن رشد (١١٢٦ – ١١٩٨)

إن مؤسستنا منظمةٌ هولندية غير حكومية لا تسعى لتحقيق الأرباح. هذه المؤسسة يجري تمويلها بصورةٍ حصرية عبر أفرادٍ يشاركوننا الإيمان بضرورة نشر معلومات موثوقة وغير متحيزة عن منطقة الشرق الأوسط وشمال إفريقيا، محاكين بذلك المزاج الشعبي السائد في المنطقة ولنعبّر عن صوت أبناء المنطقة بما نقدمه من معلومات ناجعة وتتحلى بالمصداقية.

ولذلك، فإننا نقدّر عالياً ما تقدمه لنا من دعمٍ وسنحرص على أن يعكس هذا الدعم بطريقةٍ إيجابية على الصالح العام!

Fanack Home / Shepherd’s Festival: A Tunisian Celebration of Poetry & Nature Guardians

Shepherd’s Festival: A Tunisian Celebration of Poetry & Nature Guardians

Tunisian shepherd Mohamed
Tunisian shepherd Mohamed, 75, follows his sheep on October 26, 2020 in the central Tunisian city of Sidi Bouzid. FETHI BELAID/ AFP

Hakim Marzouki

This year, terrorism prevented Tunisians from organizing a special and unique festival. Although organized on annually in al-Wasaeya village near Sbeitla, the Shepherd’s festival was canceled due to declaring the whole area as a military zone. This announcement come in line with the crackdown carried out by the Tunisian authorities against terrorists who use the nearby forests for their activities.

The festival is an initiative initiated in 2012 by the CCAM Djebel Semamma and one of the environmental associations. The main goal of organizing this festival lays in creating alternative tourism activities in this part of Tunisia known for its authenticity, as it was the cradle of the Roman empire. Interestingly, the Shepherd’s festival is the first Arab one to celebrate shepherds and create harmony between them and their cultural inheritance that is fraught with a huge oral tradition. This tradition consists of singing, poetry and narratives. Furthermore, the festival celebrates the agricultural products and traditional crafts that are deeply connected to this environment.

The Shepherd’s festival contributed to enhancing the main role of shepherds in populating these vast mountains and protecting them from terrorists. That was evident when 20 armed terrorists beheaded in November 2015 a 16 years old shepherd. By this, terrorists were sending a warning message to the rest of the shepherds cooperating with security and military forces.

At the time, the center’s team had to move the activity to the foothill of the mountain. That came after putting an initial plan to hold the festival’s activities inside the mountain, in its reefs, plateaus and undiscovered archaeological sites. This edition of the festival was launched with the slogan “Yes, and a thousand yes… I am a shepherd”. That came to commemorate the late poet “Amer Botaraah” who made this poem in response to a TV anchor that mocked and belittled shepherds.

A few years after its foundation, the activities and events of the shepherds’ festival expanded. Organizers created an advertising campaign in the capital “Tunis”. With the participation of a group of singers and poets, the activities of the campaign were organized along with the flues made from bushes.

By the end of each year’s spring, the festival welcomes its guests and honored its pioneers between sheep herds, under tents and inside caves. Guests enjoy this simple and peaceful life despite the cruel circumstances in these mountains. In contrast, terrorists want to turn life there into a source of intimidation. They push residents to leave their homes to the miserable suburbs of the crowded cities.

The organizers of the festival intend to redress the postponement this year. That can be done once security is stabilized with the permission of authorities that will work to protect it and ensure holding the festival’s sessions on the scheduled dates.

A Vital Contribution to Civilization

Considering the significance of shepherds’ role, they deserve praise and appreciation for being “guardians of poetry” through the history of mankind.

If people thought about the value shepherds have been providing over history, they would build statues and monuments for them – with their sheep – at cities’ gates and before each Badia. Such an act will be an acknowledgment and an appreciation of this class’ contributions to civilization.

Some might think that civilization is not built on the backs of animals and that “Plants don’t grow on a rolling stone”. However, humans cannot think of agriculture, industry and urbanization until they settle and quietly think about the surroundings trying to adapt. But who said that civilization is only its manifestations?

Shepherds should be proud because they were the first to notice, comprehend and adapt to animal and nature’s language. They learned a lot from them. Moreover, they played the flute and created poetry as an eternal moment of astonishment in front of the miracle of life.

Examples of Shepherds’ Innovations

a Tunisian berber shepherd tends to her flock
Rakia, 75, a Tunisian berber shepherd, tends to her flock in the Tunisian mountain village of Kesra, the country’s highest Berber village at 1100 metres altitude, on December 14, 2019. FETHI BELAID/ AFP

Shepherds innately know that animals, clouds and waterwheels don’t need traffic signs. They don’t need money, gossip or documents. In addition, shepherds don’t care for standing in front of stores or in queues among those wanting visas in front of foreign embassies. However, many details of urban life and its luxuries are indebted to shepherds for their existence, such as:

Jeans: It is the cowboy’s favored choice of fashion due to its sturdy material and its compatibility with riding horses and chasing cows or for taming wild horses. The German American Levi Strauss realized through his commercial sense that this blue sturdy and wondrous fabric would have a great value. In fact, he built the first lab to manufacture jeans and generalize it across all classes, styles and times. As a result, jeans became a symbol of breaking the monotony of aristocratic elegance and a symbol of class openness. According to contemporary historians, the name of jeans was invented in the Italian city of Genoa.

Roquefort: this delicious French cheese was accidentally discovered in a county in the French countryside that holds the same name. A long time ago, a shepherd hid his stock of normal cheese in a cave that has special humidity. When he came back a few days later, he discovered that his cheese had rotted. Nevertheless, he had to eat it out of hunger (which is most skilled chef). From that day forth, the shepherd was addicted to stocking his cheese in that magical cave. Moreover, his fellow French men followed his footsteps to acquire this magical taste. They put the Roquefort at the top of their cheese culture, took pride in it and exported it all over the world.

Golf: the sport of kings. This sport has been discovered by a Scottish shepherd who used to hit small stones with a stick between the hills. He used that technique to scare rabbits and force them to hide in their holes. His fellow shepherds liked this kind of entertainment. Consequently, this exercise spread across the village until some retired rich men noticed it. At that time, those rich men monopolized this exercise and made it their favorite sport.

In addition, shepherds practiced most of the other athletic sports such as running, swimming and jumping. The list also includes climbing, throwing and lifting weights, fencing and martial arts. They did that without celebration and coronations. Interestingly, football was made from camel and goat hair.

Coffee: A black hot drink enveloped in an aura of magic and mystery. The Turkish Ottoman made sure not to let it out of palaces of sultans. They shrouded its recipe with secrecy. They over roasted its grains to remove its apparent features. However, this sacred hot drink reached the Far East when an Indian man hid some of its green grains in his cloak. It also reached Europe by an Austrian spy and was spread like a rumor. Coffee established a whole culture. It was associated with famous names such as Casanova and Wagner. A lot of recipes were invented for making coffee like mixing it with milk, which made it look like the Capuchin priest’s robe (This type of coffee name originated in Venice). In addition, we can’t forget the French writer Balzac who used to drink 40 cups of coffee every day during writing. The credit for discovering this drink goes to an Ethiopian shepherd (some say a Yemeni) who noticed vigor in his sheep when they eat this plant. He tried it himself and loved both its taste and effect. By this manner, coffee became popular and were poured in the finest salons.

How noble is the relationship that exists between the shepherd and his flock! Even though it is a very simple relationship, it is a lesson in everything because it is like a return to the first innocent questions. It is a return to the pure conversation with the universe and the creative lyricism. That made the critic and thinker Bakhtin say: “Any poetry is a reproduction of the first pastoral state represented in “Song of Solomon” in the old testament of the Holy Bible.”

In a metaphorical way, a shepherd told once his beloved shepherdess in the old Levant: “Your hair is like a flock of sheep climbing Mount Gilead.”

It is worth mentioning that this profession has been automated in the Western world. Shepherds now use drones and modern communication devices. Nevertheless, they still have their pastoral soul inside and are full of poetry and love.

The shepherd’s festival in the pastures and mountains of central Tunisia, is a cultural and civil achievement that must be supported and continued. This is agreed upon by all those concerned in and outside of Tunisia.

DISCLAIMER

The opinions expressed in this publication are those of the writer(s). They do not purport to reflect the opinions or views of Fanack or its Board of Editors.

Further reading

The Tunisian culture is a synthesis of especially Arab and Berber elements, which come to expression in, among others, i...
After the success of the Tunisian revolution, Tunisia was able to live a democratic transition of power through three pr...
Tunisian’s anti-terrorism law, approved in July 2015, was a reaction to the panic following the major attacks that yea...

© Copyright Notice

Please contact us in case of omissions concerning copyright-protected work. The acquired copyright protected images used on/as featured image of this page are: FETHI BELAID ©AFP | FETHI BELAID ©AFP



"The heritage of knowledge is more valuable than gold."
Yahya ibn Abi Kathir (769-848)

We are a Dutch not for profit organisation (NGO), financed solely by individuals who share our belief in the importance of publishing and disseminating reliable, unbiased information on the Middle East & North Africa region. To represent the voice of the region’s people, we carefully echo the region’s heartbeat by offering fact-checked and therefore credible information.

Your support is greatly appreciated and helpful!