تبرع
وقائع الشرق الأوسط وشمال إفريقيا
ابحث في fanack.com
Please enter search keyword.

أطفال سوريا “المجهولون”: خلفتهم الحرب وظلمهم المجتمع والقانون

أطفال سوريا المجهولون
صورة تم التقاطها يوم ٦ إبريل ٢٠٢٢ لطفلٍ وهو ينظر لأطفالٍ آخرين يركضون بين حم المساعدات الإغاثية التي قام فريق من المتطوعين بتسليمها إلى سكان بلدة الناجية غربي محافظة إدلب السورية التي تقع على خطوط المواجهة الرئيسية مع القوات الحكومية السورية. المصدر: Aaref WATAD / AFP.

حسين علي الزعبي

يُخيم الحزن على حياة ملك طه من سكان محافظة درعا جنوبي سوريا، وهي ترى توأمها خالد وخلدون البالغين من العمر ستة أعوام، وهما يكبران أمام أعينها، ولا تستطيع فعل شيء يضمن لهما حقوقهما في حيازة أوراق تثبت نسبهم أو تمنحهم حقي التعلًم والملكية. ملك لم تتمكن من تسجيل ابنيها ضمن السجلات الرسمية التابعة للحكومة السورية، وهو ما دفعها لإن تخشى عليهما من لقب “مجهول النسب”.

ملك، أنجبت طفليها اللذين لا يزالان دون وثائق تثبت نسبهم، بعد زواجها من وليد أحد عناصر الجيش الحر المنشقين عن قوات الأمن السوري، عام 2016. واختفى وليد بعد سيطرة النظام على محافظة درعا عام 2018، وتحديدا أثناء ذهابه للعاصمة دمشق لتسوية أوضاعه للعودة لوظيفته.

تقول ملك التي تتشارك القصة ذاتها مع نسوة أخريات في ريف درعا إن ما فاقم مشكلتها هو عدم امتلاكها لوثائق تعريف رسمية (هوية وطنية) لزوجها الذي لم يستطع تسجيل زواجهما في السجل المدني خلال سنوات الحرب وتشتت العائلات بين مناطق سيطرة مختلف الأطراف المتصارعة في سوريا.

أعداد الأطفال “المجهولي النسب” و”المكتومي القيد” غير الحاصلين على أوراق رسمية تثبت نسبهم ارتفعت لعدم تثبيت عمليات الزواج والولادات لدى السجلات الحكومية. ويعود ذلك لأسباب عديدة يتعلق أحدها بانقسام مناطق السيطرة، إذ تعامل النظام مع السوريين من منطلق المعارضة والموالاة، وعمد إلى حرمان المناطق التي خرجت عن سيطرته من جميع خدمات الحكومة، بما فيها خدمات السجل المدني والمحاكم وغيرها.

كما أفضت المتغيرات الاجتماعية والعسكرية التي عاشتها البلاد، إلى تزايد أعداد الأطفال “مجهولي النسب” في تلك المناطق، بسبب زواج سوريات من مقاتلين أجانب لم تُعرف هويتهم أو من مقاتلين محليين قُتلوا لاحقا وتعذر الحصول على وثائقهم أو تسجيل واقعات زواجهم نتيجة فقدان الوثائق أو وفاة الأبوين كليهما.

وبحسب تحقيق نشره موقع “الجمهورية” منتصف عام 2019، فقد تم توثيق 1826 طفلاً مجهول النسب في إدلب وريفي حماة الشمالي والغربي، ضمن حملة “مين زوجِك“. وقد جاء هؤلاء الأطفال نتيجة 1124 واقعة زواج.

أما في أرياف حلب الشمالي والشرقي والغربي، فقد وثّق التحقيق أكثر من ألفي طفل غير معلوم النسب، بالإضافة إلى وجود 350 حالة في أحد المخيمات المقامة في خربة الجوز. وقدّر التحقيق أن ما يزيد عن 8000 حالة لأطفال مجهولي النسب في 3 مخيمات تخضع لسيطرة الإدارة الذاتية شرقي سوريا.

مجهول النسب في القانون

يعرّف القانون السوري مجهول النسب بأنه “كل مولود لم يثبت نسبه أو لم يُعرف والده، إضافة إلى الأطفال الذين لا يوجد معيل لهم، ولم يثبت نسبهم ولا يملكون القدرة على السؤال عن ذويهم لصغر سنهم؛ والمولود من علاقة غير شرعية، حتى لو كانت والدته معروفة”.

أما “من كان والده أو والداه مسجلين في القيود المدنية السورية، أو ينتمي بأصله للجمهورية العربية السورية، ولم يُسجل ضمن المدة المحددة للتسجيل في قيود السجل المدني، أي خلال 30 يومًا من حدوث واقعة الولادة، فيُعرفه قانون الأحوال المدنية الصادر بالمرسوم التشريعي رقم 26 لعام 2007، بأنه ’مكتوم القيد‘”.

أسباب متعددة وحلول منقوصة

يُرجع باحثو “مركز حرمون للدراسات المعاصرة”، انتشار ظاهرة الأطفال “مجهولي النسب” في سوريا إلى “زواج بعض السوريات من مقاتلين أجانب مجهولي الهوية، أو الزواج من مقاتلين محليين قُتلوا لاحقاً وتعذر تسجيل وقائع زواجهم بسبب فقدان الوثائق، أو موت الأبوين كليها”، أو تغيير أسماء الجهاديين بكنيات إسلامية.

لكن المحامية سلوى نجار ترى في تصريح لـ “فنك” أن ما يسمونه بـ “زواج البراني”، وفقدان الأوراق الثبوتية للعائلات، من بين أهم الأسباب التي أدت إلى انتشار الظاهرة، خصوصاً في فترة الحرب.

ويتم “زواج البراني” في سوريا، بطريقة صحيحة إسلامياً، بحضور شيخ وولي الزوجة، ومهر، وإيجاب وقبول على سُنّة الله ورسوله لكن دون توثيق رسمي لدى الدوائر الحكومية الرسمية.

وتقول نجار التي عملت في المناطق الخارجة عن سيطرة النظام خلال الحرب، إنهم تمكنوا خلال تلك السنوات من تثبيت كثير من الزيجات التي تمت بـ “كتاب براني”، لتأخذ هذه الزيجات شكلاً قانونياً في حال كان الزوجين سوريين، وفي حال كانا معروفَين، ولديهما أوراقهم الثبوتية.

أما في حالة الزيجات التي اختفى فيها الزوج وهو سوري الجنسية ولم تعرف الزوجة حتى اسمه الحقيقي، بحكم النزوح والتهجير، تشير نجار إلى أنه يمكن بهذه الحالة منح الأطفال نسب أمهم فقط عبر دعوى تثبيت أمومة، مع بقاء خانة الأب فارغة. وعلى هذا الأساس، يبقى هؤلاء الأطفال مجهولي النسب من طرف الوالد، ويتم التعامل معهم بحسب القانون السوري كبقية الأطفال مجهولي النسب.

وبخصوص الزيجات من أجانب سواء إن كانت الأم سورية أو الوالدان أجنبيين وأنجبا أطفالاً في الأراضي السورية فهو ملف خاص. ويعامل هؤلاء الأطفال معاملة الأجانب ويتواصل الجانب مع دولهم ليتم تسلمهم، حسبما ذكرت المحامية.

وبحسب منظمات حقوقية، فإن أغلب المهاجرين من أعضاء “داعش” كانوا يتزوجون سوريات في المناطق الخاضعة لسيطرة التنظيم، بعقود زواج ينظمها القاضي الشرعي للتنظيم، وتُغفل تلك العقود الاسم الحقيقي للزوج، ويتم الاكتفاء باسم الشهرة المستعار.

عائلات دون وثائق رسمية

أطفال سوريا المجهولون
صورة تم التقاطها يوم ٦ ديسمبر ٢٠٢١ لامرأة منطقة وهي تسير في مخيّم الهول الذي يديره الأكراد ويتواجد فيه أقارب مقاتلين يشتبه بانتمائهم إلى تنظيم “الدولة الإسلامية” في محافظة الحسكة شمال شرق سوريا. المصدر: Delil SOULEIMAN / AFP.

تواجه العديد من الأسر السورية تحديات ضخمة جراء فقدان الوثائق الثبوتية أو وعدم قدرتها على تسجيل جميع الواقعات في السجلات الرسمية، التي طرأت على سجلهم المدني خلال النزوح أو التهجير القسري، وخروج العديد من المناطق عن سيطرة النظام، وتدمير أو إغلاق دوائر السجلات المدنية والمحاكم، وحصرها في حيز نطاق سيطرة النظام.

في هذا السياق، ذكر “المجلس النرويجي للاجئين”، في تقرير استقصائي له، إن 70% من اللاجئين يفتقرون إلى وثائق التعريف الرسمية (الهوية الوطنية). ومن أصل 734 أسرة نازحة داخليًا في خمس مناطق تابعة لمحافظتي درعا والقنيطرة، أفاد أكثر من نصف المستجيبين بأنهم “فقدوا شهادة زواجهم أو تمت مصادرتها أو إتلافها أو تركوها خلفهم عند نزوحهم”.

ومن عيّنة الدراسة الاستقصائية نفسها، فإن ربع أفراد الأسرة، من الذين بلغت أعمارهم 14 عامًا فما فوق، والذين يحق لهم الحصول على الهوية الوطنية لا يحملونها. يضاف إلى ذلك 304 أطفال من أصل 675 طفلًا تحت سن الخامسة، غير مسجلين في دفتر العائلة الخاص بتلك الأسر والذي يعد سجلًا رئيسًا للحصول على وثائق أخرى.

وتفيد الدراسة أيضًا، بأن 195 طفلًا تحت سن الخامسة من أصل 675 طفلًا ليس لديهم بيان ولادة رسمي، سوى ما صدر عن سلطات الأمر الواقع، التي لا تعترف بها الدوائر الرسمية.

حال اللاجئين السوريين في بلدان الجوار لا يختلف كثيرا، إذ تشير أرقام المجلس إلى أن أكثر من نصف المتزوجين السوريين في لبنان، لا يملكون وثائق زواج، وأن معظم الأطفال دون سن الخامسة، غير مدرجين في دفاتر عائلاتهم.

كما تشير إحصائيات المفوضية العليا للّاجئين، إلى أنّ 69% من اللاجئين السوريين في لبنان، لم يستطيعوا متابعة الإجراءات القانونية، لتسجيل ولاداتهم في سجل الأجانب. وترتفع هذه النسبة لتصل إلى 86% مع العائلات التي لم تستطع الحصول على إثباتاتٍ، كدفتر العائلة، أو إخراج القيد العائلي.

“شكل مختلف” بمناطق النظام

ظاهرة الأطفال “مجهولي النسب” أخذت شكلا مختلفا في المناطق الخاضعة لسيطرة للحكومة السورية، إذ تزايدت حالات رمي الأطفال الرضع في شوارع العاصمة دمشق وغيرها من المدن، لتصبح تلك الظاهرة اعتيادية بعد أن كانت غريبة قبل العام 2011.

مديرة مجمع “لحن الحياة” لرعاية الطفولة الكائن في دمشق “ندى الغبرة”، كشفت لوسائل إعلام موالية، عن وجود 3 حالات تقريباً لأطفال “مجهولي النسب” تأتي بشكل شهري إلى المجمع وحده. وتشير الغبرة إلى تواجد هؤلاء الأطفال في المجمع الذي يقوم، بعد استلام الطفل، بإرسال الوثائق للسجل المدني لتسجيله ويتم فتح إضبارة له.

وبحسب الغبرة، فإن عدد الأطفال الذين تخلّى أهلهم عنهم منذ بداية عام 2022 يزيد عن عشرة، في حين بلغ عددهم في العام الماضي 50 طفلا.

وكان مصدر قضائي أفاد صحيفة “الوطن” السورية عام 2018، بأن عدد مجهولي النسب المسجلين منذ عام 2011 بلغ نحو 300 طفلاً، مشيرا إلى تسجيل دائرة العدلية في دمشق حالة من هذا النوع كل شهرين.

كما وثقت منظمة “سوريون من أجل الحقيقة والعدالة” في تقرير لها عام 2020 ما لا يقل عن 43 حالة لأطفال حديثي الولادة تخلى عنهم ذووهم خلال النصف الثاني من عام 2019، والنصف الأول من عام 2020.

ومع تزايد أعداد الأطفال مجهولي النسب في المناطق الخاضعة لسيطرة النظام، أعلنت الحكومة السورية، مطلع العام الجاري، عزمها تشكيل لجنة خاصة لإعداد مشروع قانون خاص بمجهولي النسب، بالاشتراك مع عدة وزارات منها العدل والداخلية.

وفي هذا الصدد، قال وزير الشؤون الاجتماعية والعمل محمد سيف الدين لصحيفة “الوطن” إنه “سيتم تشكيل لجنة خاصة لإعداد مشروع قانون خاص بمجهولي النسب، مشيرا إلى أن “هذا المشروع قديم حديث باعتبار أنه تم عرضه على مجلس الشعب في عام 2018 إلا أن المجلس رفضه حينئذ”. وزعم أن “أعداد مجهولي النسب قليلة ولا تذكر”.

Donate
Chronicle of the Middle East and North Africa

The Unknown Children of Syria: Left Behind by War and Oppressed by Society and the Law

Unknown Children of Syria
A boy watches as children run between humanitarian food aid packages being handed over by a volunteer team of first responders to locals in the town of al-Najieh in the western countryside of Syria’s Idlib province, which is currently along the frontlines with Syrian government forces, on April 6, 2022. Aaref WATAD / AFP

Hussein Ali Alzoubi

Sadness hangs over the life of Malak Taha, a resident of the Daraa governorate in southern Syria. Her 6-years-old twin children, Khaled and Khaldoun, are growing up before her eyes, and she cannot do anything to secure their rights to possess papers that prove their lineage or grant them the rights of education and property.

Malak was unable to register her sons in the official records of the Syrian government, fearing that they would be registered under unknown parentage.

Malak gave birth to her two children after her marriage to Walid, a member of the Free Syrian Army, in 2016. After the regime took control of Daraa in 2018, Walid disappeared while he on his way to Damascus to settle his situation and return to his job.

Malak, who shares the same story with other women in rural Daraa, says that the problem is that she does not have official identification documents for her husband. Walid could not register their marriage in the civil registry during the war, while families were scattered between the areas of control of the various conflicting parties.

The number of children of unknown parentage and unregistered children rose because the government did not record marriages and births. One reason is that the regime deliberately deprived the opposition-controlled areas of all government services.

According to an investigation published by the Al-Jumhuriya website in 2019, 1,826 children of unknown parentage were documented in Idlib and the north and west of Hama collated by a campaign titled “Who is your husband?” These children were born as an outcome of 1124 marriages.

In the north, east and west countryside of Aleppo, the investigation documented more than 2000 children of unknown parentage, in addition to 350 cases in a camp in the village of Khirbet al-Joz. The investigation estimated more than 8000 cases of children of unknown parentage in three camps controlled by the Syrian Democratic Forces.

Unknown Parentage in the Law

Syrian law defines unknown parentage as “every child whose parentage is not proven or whose father is not known, in addition to children who have no breadwinner, and who cannot be asked about their relatives because of their young age; and children born from an illegal relationship, even if their mother is known.”

And “any child whose father or parents were registered in the Syrian civil records, or originally belonged to the Syrian Arab Republic and was not registered within the specified period for registration in the civil registry records, that is, within 30 days of the occurrence of the birth, the Civil Status Law promulgated by Legislative Decree No. 26 of 2007 considers the child unregistered.”

Several Reasons and Lacking Solutions

Harmoon Center for Contemporary Studies attribute the spreading phenomenon of unknown parentage to the marriage of some Syrian women to anonymous foreign fighters or Syrian fighters who were later killed, and it wasn’t possible to obtain their documents because they were lost or both parents died. Parentage was challenging to prove in some cases because many marriages were registered with the husband’s alias.

However, attorney Salwa Najjar said to Fanack that illegal marriage and the loss of family identification papers are the primary reasons for spreading the phenomenon, especially during the war.

Illegal marriage in Syria occurs in accordance with Islam, in the presence of a sheikh, the bride’s guardian, a dowry, and mutual acceptance, but without official documentation.

Najjar, who worked in areas outside the regime’s control during the war, says that they were able to legalise many illegal marriages if the spouses were Syrians, known and had their identification papers.

In marriages in which the Syrian husband disappeared, and the wife did not know his real name, Najjar indicated that in this case, children could be given the lineage of their mother only through a maternity confirmation claim, and the father field would remain empty. On this basis, these children remain of unknown parentage on their father’s side, and they are treated according to Syrian law like other children of unknown parentage.

According to Najjar, if a Syrian mother or foreign parents gave birth on Syrian territory, the children would be treated as foreigners, and the government would hand them over to their countries.

According to human rights organisations, most foreign ISIS fighters married Syrian women with contracts documented by the qadi. These contracts did not include the husband’s real name but only his alias.

Families with no Official Documents

Unknown Children of Syria
A fully veiled woman walks at the Kurdish-run al-Hol camp, which holds relatives of suspected Islamic State (IS) group fighters in the northeastern Hasakeh governorate, on December 6, 2021. Delil SOULEIMAN / AFP

Many Syrian families face enormous challenges due to the loss of identification documents or their inability to record all the events that happened during displacement or forced eviction. Also, many areas spiralled out of the regime’s control, and the destruction or closure of civil registry departments and courts, making them only operative in the regime-controlled areas.

The Norwegian Refugee Council stated, in a survey report, that 70 per cent of refugees lack basic identity documents. Out of 734 internally displaced families in five areas in Daraa and Al-Quneitra, more than half the respondents reported that they had either lost their marriage certificate or that it had been confiscated, destroyed or left behind during their displacement.

Almost a quarter of the surveyed household members aged 14 and above, and thus eligible for a Syrian national ID card, are without national ID cards. Almost half of the children under 5 (304 out of 675) are not included in the household’s family booklet, which is necessary for obtaining other documents.

The study also states that one-third of children under 5 (195 out of 675) do not have a birth certificate. Some of them have birth notification documents issued in non-government-controlled areas, which government authorities don’t accept.

The situation in neighbouring countries is not much different. The NRC figures indicate that more than half of Syrian married couples in Lebanon do not have marriage certificates and that most under-fives are not included in the family booklet.

The UNHCR statistics also indicate that 69 per cent of the Syrian refugees in Lebanon could not follow the legal procedures to register their births in the foreigners’ registry. This percentage rises to 86 per cent with families that could not obtain proof documents, such as family booklets or family extracts.

A New Form in the Regime-controlled Areas

The unknown parentage phenomenon took a different form in the regime-controlled areas, as cases of throwing infants in the streets of Damascus and other cities increased.

Nada al-Ghabra, director of the Lahn al-Hayat Complex for Children’s Care in Damascus, revealed to pro-regime media that this complex receives approximately three cases of unknown parentage monthly. Ghabra said that these children reside in the complex, and after receiving them, it sends the documents to the civil registry for registration, and a file is opened for them.

According to Ghabra, the number of children abandoned by their parents since the beginning of 2022 rose to more than 10, while the previous year, it reached 50.

A judicial source reported to the Syrian newspaper, Al-Watan, in 2018 that the number of children of unknown parentage registered since 2011 has reached about 300, pointing out that the Justice Department in Damascus records a case of this kind every two months.

In a report in 2020, Syrians for Truth and Justice organisation documented at least 43 cases of new-born children abandoned by their parents during the second half of 2019 and the first half of 2020.

With the increasing number of unknown parentage cases in the regime-controlled areas, the government announced its intention to form a special committee to prepare a draft law for children of unknown parentage in partnership with several ministries, including the ministries of justice and interior.

In this regard, Minister of Social Affairs and Labour Mohamed Seif al-Din told Al-Watan newspaper that a special committee would be formed to prepare a draft law for children of unknown parentage, noting that this draft law is old and recent at the same time, considering that it was presented to the Parliament in 2018. Still, the Parliament rejected it at that time. He also claimed that “the number of children of unknown parentage is few and trivial.”