تبرع
وقائع الشرق الأوسط وشمال إفريقيا
ابحث في fanack.com
Please enter search keyword.

العنف ضد المرأة في الشرق الأوسط وشمال إفريقيا في ازدياد

متظاهرات في مسيرة بمناسبة اليوم العالمي للمرأة في مدينة البصرة جنوب العراق..
AR: متظاهرات في مسيرة بمناسبة اليوم العالمي للمرأة في مدينة البصرة جنوب العراق في 8 مارس / آذار 2021.
(Photo by Hussein FALEH / AFP)

دانا حوراني

ذكر البنك الدولي أن العنف على أساس الجندر يصيب ما لا يقل عن 35% من النساء في الشرق الأوسط وشمال إفريقيا. لكن ما يحدث في الواقع يفوق هذا الرقم لقلة الإبلاغ عن هذه الجرائم. وفي منطقة تحابي فيها القوانين والتقاليد الاجتماعية الرجال على حساب النساء، أدت جائحة كورونا إلى زيادة اختلال ميزان القوى المائل أصلا فقد شهدت الخطوط الساخنة للإبلاغ عن الجرائم على أساس الجندر في لبنان والعراق وتونس والبحرين طفرةً في البلاغات منذ بداية الإغلاق بسبب الجائحة.

وقالت مريم ياغي الناشطة النسوية والصحفية في منصة “شريكة ولكن” الإخبارية النسوية، إن الاعتداءات النفسية والجسدية والعاطفية والجنسية قد تزايدت بشكل رهيب منذ بداية الإغلاق. حيث اصبحت المشكلة طبيعية بسبب القمع الحكومي الممنهج للمرأة بتجاهل المساواة في الحقوق. وأصبح الرجال اللاعبين الأقوياء في لعبة تخسرها النساء في ظل هذه الأطر المقيدة.

وتستند أغلب قوانين الأحوال الشخصية في دول الشرق الأوسط وشمال إفريقيا، رغم أنها ليست موحدة، إلى النصوص الدينية. وتُعد قوانين الأحوال الشخصية في تونس الأكثر علمانية، أما اليمن فتزعم أن قوانينها كلها مستمدة من الشريعة الإسلامية التي تضبط الزواج والطلاق والحضانة والميراث، وتعتمد على معايير أبوية تكرس تبعية المرأة للرجل.

كما يشير النشطاء إلى أن غياب التشريعات الوقائية يزيد من التفاوت بين الجنسين ويترك النساء عرضة لآراء رجعية تعاديهن وتحرمهن حقهن في التعبير والتصرف. ومن هنا برزت جهود المنظمات غير الحكومية في القيام بدور الحكومات وتوفير الملاجئ والخطوط الساخنة وحتى الدعم المادي والنفسي لضحايا العنف الجندري.

وقالت مريم ياغي لفنك: “العنف موجود دائماً في مجتمعاتنا، لكن الإغلاق غير المحدود زمانياً أضاف عقبة جديدة للنساء، لا سيما من أردن الفرار من أماكن العنف. أما الأبوية فهي ترتكز على ثلاث ركائز للإبقاء على سلطتها وهي: التقاليد والدين والتشريعات”.

القتل بذريعة “الشرف”

في منطقة الشرق الأوسط وشمال إفريقيا ينتشر أحد أشكال العنف الجندري وهو ما يُعرف بالقتل من أجل الشرف، أو قتل رجل امرأة أو فتاة من العائلة بدعوى الحفاظ على شرفها من العار الذي تجلبه لها. فعلى سبيل المثال، سجل مركز المعلومات والتوثيق حول حقوق الطفل والمرأة في الجزائر 39 حالة قتل أو “ضرب واعتداء متعمد” على الأقل خلال فترة الإغلاق إبان الجائحة الأخيرة .

 ووفقاً لتقرير منظمة العفو الدولية، ما زالت تُسجل حالات مماثلة في العراق وإيران والأردن والكويت وفلسطين، حيث لا يقتل الأقارب النساء فحسب، بل يقتلهن أفراد في المجتمع لا يمتون لهنّ بصلة لأسباب سياسية.

فقد اغتيلت حنان البرعصي المحامية الليبية في بنغازي عام 2020 بعد إدانتها أفراد فاسدين مقربين من الفصائل المسلحة في شرق ليبيا. وقد سبقتها في العراق الناشطة ريهام يعقوب المعروفة بتنظيمها للمظاهرات.

ويشير النشطاء إلى اختلال عميق في المعايير الاجتماعية في دول المنطقة، إذ تؤثر وتفضل العائلات عموما السمعة على العدالة، وتفضّل القتل على مواجهة الأحكام المجتمعية، كما حدث مع ليليان علاوة، الأكاديمية اللبنانية والكاتبة والشاعرة والأم لثلاثة أبناء، إذ قتلتها 30 رصاصة من رشاش من طراز PKM في 23 أغسطس 2021. ووفقاً لتقرير الطب الشرعي مزقت الرصاصات نصفها العلوى، وفصلت رجلها عن جذعها، لكن العدالة لم تتحقق. بل إن زوجها وصهرها وابن عمها وإخوانها الذين استدرجوها للقتل، ما يزالون أحراراً طلقاء.

مع أن هذه الحادثة جاءت بعد إلغاء البرلمان اللبناني قبلها المادة 562 من قانون العقوبات التي كانت تخفف العقوبة على من يقتلون قريباتهن للدفاع عن “شرف” العائلة، لكن تأثير الإلغاء على الواقع كان ضئيلا.

أما في سوريا، فلا يستعمل القانون عبارة “القتل من أجل الشرف” لكنه ينص على استثناء الرجال المدانين بقتل قريباتهم بسبب قيامهن “بتصرف جنسي غير شرعي”.

أزمة مركبة

ترى الناشطة النسوية مايا عمار أن زيادة العنف ضد المرأة ضاعفته الأزمة الاقتصادية التي حلّت على كثير من دول المنطقة. فالتقاليد الأبوية تضيف ضغوطاً لأنها تخص الرجل بدور الإنفاق.

وأردفت: “عندما تهدد هذا الدور معدلات البطالة المرتفعة أو عدم استقرار البلاد مادياً، فإن بعض الرجال سيشعرون بأنهم مجبورون على تنفيس غضبهم على من يمثل لهم “صداعاً” أو مسؤولية ثقيلة، وعادةً ما تمثل ذلك زوجاتهم وبناتهم”.

وأضافت أن المجتمع يستبقي هذا السلوك عندما لا يُنزل بمرتكبي العنف ضد النساء أشد العقوبات.

وقالت: “ثمة العديد من القوانين التي وُضعت لحماية المرأة لكن الحكومات لا تطبقها لأنه من مصلحتها ألا تتمكن المرأة وتبقى ضعيفة. فالأبوية مبنية على تمكين الرجل وإخضاع المرأة، فلم يغيرون ذلك؟”.

وبحسب منظمة “كفىاللبنانية لحقوق المرأة، يحكم بعض القضاة بخلاف القانون ولصالح المنتهكين لتجنب إيقاع الأسر في صعوبات اقتصادية. وهذه الأحكام صالحة اقتصادياً في ظل غياب أنظمة تدعم المرأة مادياً، رغم ما تلحقه من ضرر على ضحايا الانتهاكات.

 المهمشات أكثر عرضة للخطر

ترى مريم ياغي أن بعض النساء لسن على دراية بحقوقهن، ومن ثمّ لا يرين الإبلاغ عن الجرائم التي تُرتكب بحقهن خياراً يمكن تنفيذه. وقالت: “إذا لم يُعرّف العنف علنا، فإننا نخاطر بتمرير المجتمع له وقبوله إياه”.

وتواجه نساء الكوير، واللاجئات، والمهاجرات العاملات في الخدمة المنزلية معاملة بالغة السوء نتيجة تغافل الحكومات عن حقوقهن.

فعلى سبيل المثال، تعاني النساء والفتيات في مخيمات اللاجئين شمالي العراق من القواعد المجتمعية التي تعتبر شهادتهن على العنف “عاراً”. أما النساء العاملات المهاجرات، فإن مصيرهن مرتبط بنظام “الكفالة” المطبق في كثير من الدول العربية. ويتيح نظام الكفالة للكفيل التحكم بالعمال تماماً، ما يجعلهن عرضة لاستغلال العمل، والترحيل، وتزايد حالات العنف بشكل عام.

وعلى الجانب الآخر، تعاني مجتمعات الكوير من التمييز في التوظيف، وتعتمد بشكل كبير على المنظمات غير الحكومية والتبرعات لتوفير مأوى مؤقت ودعم مالي.

وتتفق مايا عمار ومريم ياغي على الحاجة إلى المزيد من الجهود للتغلب على التوجهات الأبوية. والتغيير، كما تقول مايا، عملية تراكمية يمكن للأجيال الشابة أن تسرّعها وتعمل على تفعيلها لأنها أكثر عرضة لمزيد من المعلومات عن حقوق المرأة وأقل مواجهةً للمعايير الجندرية التقليدية عن ذي قبل. وترى مريم أن على الرجال أن يستخدموا حضورهم الشخصي لحضور الدورات والندوات التي تؤكد على ضرورة المساواة الجندرية.

وقالت مايا: “ربما تتقبل الأجيال الكبيرة بعض المفردات النسوية، لكن مدى التغيير عندهم يظل محدوداً. أما أملنا فيصب على الأجيال الشابة العتيدة. لكن ما زلنا لا ندري إذا كان ذلك سيُحدث الأثر المرجوّ أم لا”.

Donate
Chronicle of the Middle East and North Africa

Violence Against Women in MENA on the Rise

Demonstrators wearing cross-out masks attend a rally for International Women's Day in Iraq.
Demonstrators wearing cross-out masks attend a rally for International Women’s Day in Iraq’s southern city of Basra on March 8, 2021. Hussein FALEH / AFP

Dana Hourany 

Gender-based violence (GBV) affects at least 35 percent of women in the Middle East and North Africa (MENA), according to the World Bank. This figure, however, is considered an underestimation because GBV cases are frequently underreported. In a region where laws and social traditions largely favor men over women, COVID-19 has exacerbated pre-existing power imbalances. Since the outbreak began, GBV hotlines in Iraq, Lebanon, Tunisia, and Bahrain have seen a spike in the number of reported cases.

Feminist activist and journalist Mariam Yaghi at Sharika Wa Laken, an online feminist news platform, says that mental, verbal, emotional, and sexual assault have all escalated dramatically since the outbreak began. The problem is normalized by governments’ systematic oppression in denying women equal rights. Men become the most powerful players in a game that women are losing under such restrictive frameworks.

Although not standardized, the majority of MENA countries’ personal status laws are based on religious texts. Tunisia, on the other hand, is thought to have the most secular personal status laws, whilst Yemen maintains that all of its laws are based on Muslim Sharia law. These laws govern marriage, divorce, inheritance, and custody, and they are all based on patriarchal norms that assert women’s subordination to men. 

Activists also point out that the lack of protective legislation exacerbates power disparities, leaving women vulnerable to antiquated misogynistic views and denying them the right to speak up and act. This has necessitated the efforts of non-governmental organizations to provide shelters, hotlines, and even financial and emotional support to victims of gender-based violence that should otherwise be supplied by governments.

“Violence has always existed in our communities, but the indefinite lockdowns posed new obstacles for women, particularly those wanting to flee violent settings. To retain its power, the patriarchy rests on three pillars: tradition, religion, and legislation,” Yaghi told Fanack. 

Killing in the name of “honor”

In the MENA region, so-called honor killing, or the murder of a woman or girl by male family members in the name of maintaining the family’s honor by alleging that the victim has brought the family dishonor, is a widespread form of GBV. The Center of Information on the Rights of Women and Children in Algeria, for example, recorded at least 39 cases of murder or “intentional assault and battery” during the Covid-19 shutdown.

 According to an Amnesty International report, comparable examples continue to be recorded in Iraq, Iran, Jordan, Kuwait, and Palestine, where women are not only killed by close family members but random members of society for political reasons. 

Hanan Al-Barassi, a Libyan lawyer, was assassinated in Benghazi in 2020 after condemning corrupt individuals linked to armed factions in Eastern Libya. This was preceded by a similar incident in Iraq where an activist known for organizing protests, Reham Yacoub, was fatally shot. 

Activists point to a major flaw in MENA social norms, where some families prioritize reputation over justice, preferring to commit murder rather than face societal judgment, as in the case of Lilian Alawa, a Lebanese university professor, writer, poet, and mother of three who was killed by 30 bullets fired from a PKM machine gun on August 23, 2021. According to the forensic report, the bullets ripped her upper body to pieces, practically separating her legs from her torso, but no justice was served. Instead, her husband, brothers, brother-in-law, and nephew, who lured her to her death, are still at large.

Although this comes after the Lebanese parliament repealed Article 562 of the criminal code, which reduced the penalties for persons who claimed to have murdered female relatives to defend the family’s “honor,” it had little effect in actuality.

In Syria, while the law does not use the word “honor killings,” it does provide for exceptions if men are determined to have murdered a female family member for “illegitimate sex acts.”

A compounded crisis

According to feminist activist Maya Ammar, the rise in violence against women has been compounded by economic crises that have impacted numerous countries in the region. Patriarchal norms that assign men the role of sole financial providers have resulted in additional pressures. 

“When this role is threatened by unemployment rates or the country’s financial instability, some men will feel compelled to vent their frustrations on what they consider to be a ‘headache’ or an additional responsibility, which is usually their wife or daughter,” Ammar said.

She went on to say that society perpetuates this behavior by not enforcing heavy penalties for men who commit acts of violence against women.

“There are several laws put in place to protect women that governments fail to implement correctly because it’s more beneficial for them to keep women disempowered. Patriarchy is built on the grounds of empowered men and submissive women, why would they change that?” she said.

According to KAFA, a Lebanon-based women’s rights organization, some judges deliberately rule against the law and in favor of abusers to avert financial hardships on family units.  Such verdicts are regarded as economically sustainable in the absence of systems that would support women financially, despite the terrible toll they take on victims of abuse.

Marginalized women at more risk 

According to Yaghi, some women are uninformed of their rights and would not consider reporting a crime to the police as a feasible option. “If violence is not correctly identified, it risks becoming effaced and accepted by society,” she said.

Because their rights are usually overlooked by governments in the region, queer women, refugee women, and migrant domestic workers face harsher mistreatment.

In refugee camps of northern Iraq, for example, the suffering of women and girls is muffled by societal rules that deems their testimonies against violence as “shameful.”  As for female migrant workers, their destiny is tied to a sponsorship program called “Kafala” that is implemented in most Arab countries. Kafala allows the sponsor full control over the worker, thus facilitating the risk of labor exploitation, deportation and overall increased cases of violence. 

The LGBTQ+ community on the other hand, suffers from employment discrimination and relies heavily on NGOs and donations to seek temporary shelter and financial support. 

Both Ammar and Yaghi agree that further efforts are needed to overcome patriarchal attitudes. Change, according to Ammar, is a cumulative process that can be accelerated by younger generations exposed to more information about women’s rights and subjected to fewer traditional gender norms. According to Yaghi, men must use their personal resolve to attend training and seminars that emphasize the necessity of gender equality.

“Older generations may be accepting of some new feminist notions but their scope of change is limited. Our hope is on the younger generation. But of course, whether this creates impact is something that remains to be seen,” Ammar said.