فَنَكْ وقائع وأحداث عن الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا / الرياضة والسياسة

الرياضة والسياسة في الشرق الأوسط وشمال إفريقيا

Sports- Yemeni sport
فتى يمني يركل الكرة في الهواء خلال مباراةٍ لكرة القدم بين مجموعة من الأصدقاء والجيران في العاصمة صنعاء في 11 أبريل 2018. Photo AFP

تحرص المؤسسات الرياضية الدولية والقارية على الحفاظ على أكبر قدر ممكن من استقلالية المؤسسات الرياضية بعيداً عن تدخل الحكومات. ومع ذلك، تبقى الأنشطة الرياضية إحدى أدوات اللعبة السياسية في بعض دول المعمورة.

وتعتمد العلاقة بين الرياضة والسياسة على طبيعة النظام السياسي القائم في هذه الدولة أو تلك. وغالباً ما تعمد الأنظمة الاستبدادية والديكتاتورية بشكل خاص، إلى ممارسة نوعٍ من السيطرة على الأنشطة الرياضية، بل واحتكارها لخدمة مصالحها السياسية المختلفة.

وفي الشرق الأوسط، الصاخب بالخلافات السياسية والفقير بالديمقراطية، لعبت الرياضة دوراً سياسياً مؤثراً إلى حدٍ بعيد، سواءً كان ذلك على المستوى الداخلي أو الخارجي. ولهذا السبب، يقدّم موقع فنك في هذا الملف الخاص لمحة موسعة عن العلاقة المعقدة التي تجمع بين السياسة والرياضة في هذه المنطقة.

وعلى سبيل المثال لا الحصر، مارست معظم الدول العربية على المستوى الخارجي نوعاً من الضغط السياسي باستخدام سلاح الرياضة في مواجهة إسرائيل، باعتبارها كياناً محتلاً للأراضي الفلسطينية. ومنعت هذه الدول رياضييها من مواجهة رياضيي إسرائيل في المحافل الدولية، سواء في الألعاب الفردية أو الجماعية. وقد تأت المقاطعة بقرارٍ من قبل اتحاد اللعبة ذاتها، أو قراراً ذاتياً من اللاعب أو الفريق، انطلاقاً من خلفيات سياسية أيضاً.

وعلى الخلفية ذاتها، ما لبث أن رُفِع العلم الإسرائيلي في غير محفل رياضي على الأراضي العربية. وجاء ذلك على الرغم من حالة الاستياء الشعبي التي تحركها بعض القوى السياسة التي تقدم الأرض على السلام. واعتبرت هذه القوى الحضور الرياضي الإسرائيلي بداية للتطبيع السياسي المجاني؛ ذلك التطبيع الذي بدأ يؤتي أُكله مؤخراً في إطار ما اصطلح على تسميته بالشرق الأوسط الجديد.

أما على المستوى الداخلي، فقد أصبحت تجمعات “الألتراس” أو روابط مشجعي النوادي الرياضية جزءاً لا يتجزأ من الساحة السياسية المصرية منذ ثورة 25 يناير 2011. بل وأصبحت لهم صولات وجولات مع القوى الأمنية المصرية للضغط على الحكومات المتعاقبة بهدف تلبية مطالب تتعلق بالحريات والمشاركة السياسية.

كما تعتبر تجمعات الألتراس في المغرب رمزاً للشباب الباحث عن فرصٍ أفضل للحياة، فضلاً عن كونها منصةً للتعبير عن مخاوف جيلٍ مهمشٍ لا يرى أفقاً آمناً لتلبية احتياجاته المستقبلية. فأضحت المدرجات منطلقاً للأغاني والأهازيج التي تعبر عن آمال هؤلاء المهمشين.

وقد تعرضت أكثر من دولة في الشرق الأوسط إلى عقوبات نتيجة تدخل الدولة في الشأن الرياضي. وعلى سبيل المثال، علّق الاتحاد الدولي لكرة القدم “الفيفا” عضوية الاتحاد الكويتي في أكتوبر عام 2015م. وجاء القرار على خلفية تعارض القوانين المحلية الكويتية مع لوائح الفيفا التي تنص على استقلالية قرار الاتحادات الأعضاء دون أي تدخل من طرف ثالث. ولذلك، فقد اعتبر الاتحاد الدولي حينها تدخّل الحكومة الكويتية في قرار الاتحاد الكويتي تدخلاً غير مقبول.

كما تم منع إيران رسمياً من التنافس في أي من بطولات الاتحاد الدولي للجودو، حيث تم إصدار إشعار بتجميد نشاطاتها في أكتوبر عام 2019 بعد أن ظهر توجيه اللاعب سعيد مولاي من قبل رئيس اتحاد الجودو الإيراني وربما اثنين آخرين رفيعي المستوى من مسؤولي الرياضة الإيرانيين بالانسحاب من المنافسة لتجنب مواجهة اللاعب الاسرائيلي ساغي موكي.

وعلى خلفيات سياسية، تحولت الأحداث الرياضية العالمية إلى ميدان نزاعٍ جديد بين السعودية وقطر، بعدما عزّزت قطر من حضورها على مستوى كرة القدم العالمية، بداية من سيطرتها على حقوق البث التلفزيوني وانتهاءً بفوزها باستضافة بطولة كأس العالم في عام 2022م.

وتسعى المملكة العربية السعودية، كحال جيرانها، إلى توظيف الأنشطة الرياضية كأداة دبلوماسية، من أجل الحصول على الشرعية الدولية. ويشمل ذلك اتخاذ موقفٍ أكثر إيجابية حول كرة القدم النسائية والسماح للنساء بحضور الأحداث الرياضية. كل ذلك على أمل أن تصبح المملكة جزءاً من المجتمع الدولي من خلال هذه الأنشطة.

لمعرفة المزيد عن العلاقة التي تجمع بين الرياضة والسياسة في منطقة الشرق الأوسط وشمال إفريقيا، يرجى الإطلاع على المقالات المتعددة الموجودة في هذا الملف الخاص من موقع فنك.

إقرأ المزيد

قضت بلسم خمس سنوات بالمشاركة، بالمتوسط، بعشر إلى اثني عشرة بطولة سنوياً في جميع أنحاء أوروبا وآسيا ومنطقة الشرق الأوسط وشمال ...
في عام 2000، أنشأت الشيخة موزة بنت ناصر المسند لجنة رياضة المرأة القطرية. تهدف لجنة رياضة المرأة القطرية إلى تحسين أداء المرأة ف...
تلتزم كلٌ من المملكة العربية السعودية والبحرين والإمارات العربية المتحدة بعزل الإمارة الصغيرة بكل سبيلٍ يمكن تخيله. إلا أن دو...
وبعد أشهرٍ قليلة من مأساة الزمالك في عام 2015، تم حظر مجموعات الألتراس بالقانون من قبل محكمةٍ مصرية. فقد كان هناك قضية مرفوعة أما...
يُشكل الإعداد لملفٍ مشترك يضم الدول الثلاث تحدياً، مما يجعل تقديم ملفٍ مغاربي مشترك ناجح لاستضافة نهائيات كأس العالم 2030 أمراً...
وبعد ثورة عام 1979، كانت المصارعة الإيرانية تعبق بحماس الجمهورية الإسلامية الأيديولوجي، إذ لم يسمح لأي مصارع بالمصارعة ضد إسرا...
تستثمر قطر بكثافة في مجال الرياضة منذ أكثر من عشر سنوات الآن لأن هذه إحدى الطرق لرفع مكانتها وإبراز ذاتها على المستوى العالمي،...
سواء استمر آل الشيخ في التدخل في كرة القدم المصرية أم لا، فإن مشاركته حتى الآن لم تسر، دون أدنى شك، بسلاسةٍ كما كان يأمل.
استضافت قطر الأحداث الرياضية كشكلٍ من أشكال القوة الناعمة، مما ساعدها على كسر عزلتها وبناء علاقاتٍ مع المجتمع الدولي، بما في ...
ويمكن للإسكواش أن تكون وسيلةً لتحقيق طموحات أخرى، فعلى سبيل المثال، ساهمت إنجازات علي فرج في الإسكواش في دراسته في جامعة هارف...

© Copyright Notice

Please contact us in case of omissions concerning copyright-protected work. The acquired copyright protected images used on/as featured image of this page are: mooinblack ©Shutterstock | MOHAMMED HUWAIS ©AFP

الجهل يقود إلى الخوف، الخوف يقود إلى الكراهية، والكراهية تقود إلى العنف هذه هي المعادلة.
ابن رشد (١١٢٦ – ١١٩٨)

إن مؤسستنا منظمةٌ هولندية غير حكومية لا تسعى لتحقيق الأرباح. هذه المؤسسة يجري تمويلها بصورةٍ حصرية عبر أفرادٍ يشاركوننا الإيمان بضرورة نشر معلومات موثوقة وغير متحيزة عن منطقة الشرق الأوسط وشمال إفريقيا، محاكين بذلك المزاج الشعبي السائد في المنطقة ولنعبّر عن صوت أبناء المنطقة بما نقدمه من معلومات ناجعة وتتحلى بالمصداقية.

ولذلك، فإننا نقدّر عالياً ما تقدمه لنا من دعمٍ وسنحرص على أن يعكس هذا الدعم بطريقةٍ إيجابية على الصالح العام!

Fanack Home / Sports and Politics

Sports and politics in the Middle East

Sports- Yemeni sport
A Yemeni boy kicks the ball in the air during a football match among friends and neighbours in the capital Sanaa on April 11, 2018. Photo AFP

International and Intercontinental sports institutions try to retain as much independence as possible from governments’ intervention. Despite that, sports activities remain as one of the tools used in the political game in some countries around the globe.

The relation between sport and politics depends on the nature of a country’s current political regime. Authoritarian regimes and dictatorships often exercise a kind of control over sports activities or even monopolize them to serve their political interests.

In the Middle East and North Africa region, which is full of political conflicts and is poor when it comes to democracy; sports played both internally and externally an effective political role to a considerable extent. Fanack provides in this special file a comprehensive overview about the complex ties between politics and sports in the region.

To give an example, most of the Arab countries exercised political pressure using sports in their conflict with Israel, being an entity occupying Palestinian territories. These countries prevented their athletes from confronting Israeli athletes in international forums, whether in individual or team sports. The boycott decisions might be taken by the sports federation itself. Sometimes it is an individual decision taken by athletes or teams, based on political backgrounds.

Based on the same background, the Israeli flag was displayed on Arab soil in forums other than sports. This took place despite the popular discontent incited by some political powers who put land before peace. These political powers considered this strong Israeli presence in sports as the beginning of a free political normalization; a process that has started to bear its fruits as of recently in the context of what was termed as the New Middle East.

On a local level, the “Ultras” groups or sports club fan associations have become an inseparable part of the Egyptian political sphere since the 25th of January revolution in 2011. They even had attempts and clashes with security forces in Egypt to exercise pressure on the consecutive governments, aiming to meet their demands of political freedom and participation.

In addition, Ultras groups in Morocco are considered a symbol for the youth searching for better life opportunities. They are also platforms to express the fears of a marginalized generation that doesn’t see any safe horizon to meet its future needs. The ultras became a springboard for songs and chants expressing the hopes of these marginalized people.

More than one country was exposed to sanctions as a result of the state intervening in sports. For instance; FIFA suspended the Kuwaiti Federation‘s membership in October 2015 over the conflict between the local Kuwaiti rules with these of FIFA. According to FIFA regulations, independence of Member Federations’ decision from the interference of any third party should be emphasized. Thence, FIFA deemed the Kuwaiti government’s intervention in the Kuwaiti Federations affairs as unacceptable.

On another domain, Iran was officially denied any competition in any of the International Judo Federation tournaments. Iran’s activities were suspended in October 2019 after the head of the Iranian Judo Federation the athlete Saeid Mollaei to withdraw from the competition to avoid competing against the Israeli athlete Sagi Muki. The withdraw is claimed to be also directed by two other important Iranian sports officials.

Based on political backgrounds, international sports events turned into a new field of dispute between Saudi Arabia and Qatar, since Qatar reinforced their presence on the world of international football. This started by Qatar’s control over TV broadcast rights and ends by its win to host the World Cup in 2022.

Like its neighbors, The KSA seek to employ sports activities as diplomatic tools to gain international legitimacy. This includes taking a more positive stance towards women football and allowing women to attend sports events. All this in the hope that the Kingdom will become part of the international community through these activities.

To know more about the relation between sports and politics in the MENA region, go through the articles made by Fanack in this special file.

Further Reading

Balsam spent five years participating in an average of ten to twelve fencing competitions annually across Europe, Asia, and the MENA region. In 2015, twenty years after her introduction to fencing, Balsam established the Sports an...
In 2000, Sheikha Moza bint Nasser al-Missnad established Qatar Women’s Sport Committee (QWSC). The QWSC’s objective is to improve women’s performance in sports, enhance their participation in various sporting events, session...
Saudi Arabia, Bahrain and the UAE are committed to isolating the tiny emirate in every way imaginable. But Dorsey believes that efforts to undermine Qatar’s sports industry could backfire. Assuming the World Cup does go ahead in...
A few months after the Zamalek tragedy in 2015, the Ultras’ groups were banned by law by an Egyptian court. There was even a court case to brand them a ‘terrorist organisation’, but that was overturned. Nevertheless Ultras b...
Designing a joint bid involving all three states is challenging, which makes a successful joint Maghreb 2030 bid quite unlikely. But football diplomacy still has the potential to ease tensions in the region and might positively af...
After the 1979 revolution, Iranian wrestling was infused with the Islamic Republic’s ideological zeal. No wrestler was allowed to wrestle with an Israeli. In fact, wrestling in Iran remained a symbol of standing up to evil, be i...
Qatar has been investing heavily in the field of sports for more than ten years now because it is a way to raise its profile and global visibility, build a sustainable market, exercise soft power, create a national social cohesion...
Whether or not al-Sheikh continues to meddle in Egyptian football, his involvement to date has certainly not gone as smoothly as he no doubt hoped.
Qatar has hosted sporting events as a form of soft power, helping it break its isolation and build relationships with the international community, including Israel. However, The UAE has different motives, warming up to Israel in a...
Squash can also be a means to pursue other ambitions. For instance, his squash achievements helped Ali Farag to study at Harvard University, and other players have received scholarships to study abroad. Faced with tough economic c...

© Copyright Notice

Please contact us in case of omissions concerning copyright-protected work. The acquired copyright protected images used on/as featured image of this page are: mooinblack ©Shutterstock | MOHAMMED HUWAIS ©AFP



"The heritage of knowledge is more valuable than gold."
Yahya ibn Abi Kathir (769-848)

We are a Dutch not for profit organisation (NGO), financed solely by individuals who share our belief in the importance of publishing and disseminating reliable, unbiased information on the Middle East & North Africa region. To represent the voice of the region’s people, we carefully echo the region’s heartbeat by offering fact-checked and therefore credible information.

Your support is greatly appreciated and helpful!