فَنَكْ وقائع وأحداث عن الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا / الرياضة والسياسة / غضبٌ مصري في ظل تدخل وزيرٍ سعودي في دوري كرة القدم

غضبٌ مصري في ظل تدخل وزيرٍ سعودي في دوري كرة القدم

Specials- Turki al-Sheikh
لاعبون سعوديون يسيرون برفقة رئيس الهيئة العامة للرياضة في السعودية، تركي آل الشيخ (وسط)، أثناء حصة تدريبية في ملعب لوجنيكي في موسكو يوم 13 يونيو 2018 قبل بطولة كأس العالم لكرة القدم بروسيا 2018. Photo AFP ©AFP ⁃ Alexander NEMENOV

التقت وجهات نظر عشاق المستديرة المصريون، الذي عادةً ما تفرقهم بما لا لُبس فيه ولاءاتهم لفرقهم المفضلة، في نفورهم من شخصٍ واحد: وزير الرياضة السعودي، تركي آل الشيخ. فالوزير في مهمةٍ لإيجاد موطىء قدمٍ في عالم كرة القدم المصرية، إلا أنه يواجه رداً عنيفاً من المصريين- سواء كان ذلك من المشجعين أو المسؤولين على حد سواء- الذين يرفضون بأن يقوم دخيلٌ ثري من الخليج بإملاء ما عليهم فعله وما لا يفعلونه.

بدأ الأمر برمته عندما تم تعيين آل الشيخ، الذي يُقال أنه من الدائرة المقربة من ولي العهد السعودي محمد بن سلمان، رئيساً فخرياً لأكبر نادٍ مصري، النادي الأهلي، في ديسمبر 2017. منذ تلك اللحظة، بدأ بضخ الأموال إلى النادي، التي وصلت، كما يُقال، إلى 119 مليون جنيه مصري (6,65 مليون دولار). إلا أن آل الشيخ لم يقبل بمجرد دورٍ شرفي، إذ قام بتسهيل انتقال العديد من لاعبي النادي الأهلي إلى أنديةٍ سعودية ودفع بالخطط لإنشاء ملعبٍ جديد.

في مايو 2018، أعلن أنه على استعدادٍ لتزويد الأهلي بـ”لاعبين أجانب من الطراز العالمي.” ومع ذلك، في وقتٍ لاحق من ذلك الشهر، وقع مدربٌ أرجنتيني شاع بأن سيصبح مدرب الأهلي الجديد، عقداً مع نادي الاتحاد السعودي جدة بدلاً من ذلك.

تركي آل الشيخ، “يحب الكلام”

لم تكن تعاملات آل الشيخ موضع تقديرٍ في الأهلي، إذ قال رئيس النادي محمود الخطيب في وقتٍ سابق من عام 2018، “لا أحد، ولا أحد على الإطلاق – مع كل الاحترام الواجب لتركي… سيسمح له بالتدخل في شؤون النادي.” بالإضافة إلى ذلك، طلب المشجعون من مجلس إدارة النادي استبعاد آل الشيخ.

ما أزعج مشجعي النادي الأهلي على وجه الخصوص هو شخصية آل الشيخ وميله إلى جعل نفسه محور الاهتمام، بحسب ما قاله الصحفي الرياضي وأحد مشجعي الأهلي محمد فتحي لفَنَك. “إنه يحب التحدث والتفاخر بما فعله [للأهلي]،” موضحاً أنه بالنسبة لمشجعي الأهلي “لا أحد أكبر من النادي.”

نجح انتقاد المشجعين، ففي أواخر مايو، تنحى آل الشيخ عن منصبه كرئيسٍ فخري، وصرح بأن أفعاله “قد أسيء تفسيرها.”

ومع ذلك، لم تنتهي مهمته بعد. فبعد فترةٍ وجيزة من تنحيه، قام بشراء نادي الاسيوطي، وهو نادٍ صغير في إحدى محافظات صعيد مصر، وأعاد تسميته إلى “بيراميدز اف سي.” تصدر النادي عناوين الصحف خلال الصيف في ظل توقيعه عقوداً مع العديد من اللاعبين البارزين المصريين والأجانب، فضلاً عن تعيين مدرب النادي الأهلي السابق حسام البدري رئيساً للنادي والأرجنتيني ريكاردو لافولبي مدرباً له.

وعلاوةً على ذلك، ظهرت أندية تشجيع بيراميدز من العدم، فضلاً عن ظهور شعارٍ جديد وأغنية جديد للنادي وتم إطلاق قناة بيراميدز الرياضية. كما ظهر نجوم كبار في عالم كرة القدم الدولية، مثل رونالدينيو، كمحللين على القناة. كانت الأشهر الأولى من الموسم جيدة لنادي بيراميدز، حيث أظهر قدرةً على تحدي الهيمنة التقليدية للنادي الأهلي.

ومع ذلك، ومرةً أخرى يبدو أن آل الشيخ قد تمادى في سلطته الاستبدادية. فبعد نتيجةٍ مخيبة للآمال في الدوري في سبتمبر، ألقى آل الشيخ باللوم على الحكم، مصرحاً لوسائل الإعلام “هذا يكفي. سأتقدم بطلبٍ إلى فخامة الرئيس عبد الفتاح السيسي، لإيجاد حلٍ للعقبات التي نواجهها على مستويات الرياضة والاستثمار.” حتى أنه هدد بإخراج نادي بيراميدز من الدوري في حال رفض طلبه بإحضار حكام أجانب.

معارضة جميع الأندية لتركي آل الشيخ

اشتكت أنديةٌ أخرى من تفضيل الاتحاد المصري لكرة القدم لنادي بيراميدز، إذ قال فتحي، “بعد مبارةٍ ضد بيراميدز، قال جميع المدربون أن الحكم انحاز لبيراميدز.” بينما تخطى علاء نبيل، مدرب نادي المقاولون العرب، ذلك مستنكراً سيطرة آل الشيخ على الاتحاد المصري لكرة القدم، وادعى أن حامل لقب الدوري قد تقرر بالفعل لصالح بيراميدز. وفي ضوء هذه التصريحات، تم تغريم نبيل وإيقافه لمبارتين.

وفي أواخر سبتمبر، تم القبض على العديد من مشجعي الأهلي بعد أن هتفوا شاتمين آل الشيخ داخل الملعب.

ومع ذلك، يعتقد فتحي أن الإجراءات ضد نبيل واعتقال جماهير الأهلي رمزية إلى حدٍ كبير. وقال: “لقد قاموا فقط باعتقال عددٍ قليل من المشجعين- إذ عادةً ما يعتقلون أعداد أكبر بكثير- وكان عقاب نبيل محدود نسبياً.” وأضاف “بالنسبة لي، هذا يدل على أن السلطات تتفق معهم في الواقع وليس مع تركي.”

في الواقع، اشتكى آل الشيخ من أن السلطات لم تفعل ما يكفي لحمايته من الهجمات من النوادي والمشجعين الآخرين. فقد كتب على موقع الفيسبوك “تظهر كل يوم مشكلة جديدة،” وأنه يفكر في سحب استثماراته.

علاوة على ذلك، أعلنت وكالة سيلا المملوكة للسعودية إيقاف صفقة رعايةٍ مع الأهلي والرياضة المصرية بشكلٍ عام كرد فعلٍ على “الإهانات” الموجهة إلى آل الشيخ. كما توقفت قناة بيراميدز عن البث بعد قيام هيئة مراقبة الإعلام في مصر بتأديب القناة بسبب “انتهاك ممارسات وسائل الإعلام.”

لعبة سعودية في عالم كرة القدم الدولية

ومع ذلك، فإن لدى جيمس دورسي، وهو زميل بارز في كلية إس راجاراتنام للدراسات الدولية بجامعة نانيانغ التكنولوجية، رؤيةً أعم لتدخل آل الشيخ. فقد صرح لفَنَك عبر الهاتف “تحاول السعودية استعراض عضلاتها في الرياضات الدولية.” فعلى سبيل المثال، قدم محمد بن سلمان عرضاً إلى الاتحاد الدولي لكرة القدم (الفيفا)، لإنشاء مسابقتين جديدتين، مما يمنح السعودية صوتاً مهماً في كرة القدم العالمية، على حد قوله.

كما تترأس المملكة العربية السعودية أيضاً تأسيس اتحادٍ جديد لكرة القدم لدول غرب وجنوب آسيا (SWAFF)، الذي يتألف من 14 دولة مع غيابٍ ملحوظ لإيران وقطر، والذي يعدّ منافساً فعلي للاتحاد الآسيوي لكرة القدم الموجود بالفعل.

فقد أصبح تداخل كرة القدم والسياسة واضحاً بشكلٍ خاص عندما دعمت المملكة العربية السعودية محاولة الولايات المتحدة وكندا والمكسيك استضافة كأس العالم 2026، على حساب المغرب. فقد ألمح آل الشيخ بنفسه في تغريدةٍ له إلى أن المغرب كان يجب أن ينحاز إلى السعودية في خلافه الدبلوماسي مع قطر من أجل كسب الدعم السعودي.

ومنذ ذلك الحين، حاول آل الشيخ إصلاح العلاقات مع المغرب، وكثيراً ما عبر عن دعمه لجهود المغرب استضافة كأس إفريقيا على وسائل التواصل الاجتماعي.

مواجهة قطر

ويعتقد دورسي أن الاهتمام المفاجىء للمملكة العربية السعودية بكرة القدم ما هو إلا محاولة لممارسة القوة الناعمة ومواجهة نفوذ منافستها قطر التي تستضيف كأس العالم 2022 وترعى أنديةً كبيرة مثل برشلونة وباريس سان جيرمان. وعلاوةً على ذلك، كانت المملكة العربية السعودية في نزاعٍ قانوني مع شركة بي إن سبورت المملوكة لقطر، والتي تمتلك حقوق بث الحصري لجميع البطولات العالمية الكبرى لكرة القدم في العالم العربي، ذلك أنها سمحت لقناة قرصنة يسَّر عملها سعوديون، قناة بي أوت كيو، ببث المباريات على الإنترنت.

وقال دورسي إن مصر أيضاً تُثير اهتمام السعودية لأنها أهم دولة في عالم كرة القدم في الشرق الأوسط، ويرى في ذلك “تصميمٌ على الحصول على موطىء قدمٍ في السوق المصري.”

تعكس الطريقة التي يتبعها آل الشيخ في اكتساب موطىء قدمٍ في مصر نفس السلوك الذي يتبعه محمد بن سلمان في مجالاتٍ أخرى، بحسب اعتقاد دورسي، “إنه يدل على نوعٍ من الاندفاع أو التهور، والشعور بأنك تستطيع أن تفعل ما تشاء،” مشيراً إلى كيفة تعامل محمد بن سلمان مع احتجاز رئيس الوزراء اللبناني سعد الحريري كرهينة. وكما يقول، “إنها فكرة خاطئة عن حدود السلطة. إنهم يُعيقون أنفسهم.”

في مصر، يبدو أن هذا ما فعله آل الشيخ، وذلك انطلاقاً من الأداء الضعيف لفريق بيراميدز وإغلاق قناته التلفزيونية. فقد أكد بيانٌ من النادي أن آل الشيخ سيسحب استثماراته، وسيحصل اللعبون الذين وقعوا عقوداً على عقودٍ في مكانٍ آخر. ومن دون هؤلاء اللاعبين، من غير الواضح كيف سيستمر النادي، إذ قد يكون نجاح النادي قصير الأمد. إذا ما حصل هذا، ستنتهي مغامرة آل الشيخ المصرية بـ”إخفاقٍ تام،” كما يصفها دورسي.

بينما كان فتحي أكثر حذراً، إذ قال “[في 11 أكتوبر]، نشر تركي فيديو على صفحة نادي بيراميدز على الفيسبوك، ربما يُشير ذلك إلى أنه سيبقى. لننتظر ونرى.”

في هذه الأثناء، لربما بدأت خطوة آل الشيخ التالية تتشكل. فقد زعمت وسائل الإعلام المحلية أن قناة بيراميدز ستنقل إلى الزمالك، ثاني أكبر نادٍ في مصر والغريم التقليدي للنادي الأهلي. وعلاوةً على ذلك، شكر آل الشيخ رئيس نادي الزمالك، مرتضى منصور، على الفيسبوك في 13 أكتوبر لإطلاقه إسمه على أحد مباني النادي، وأشاد بالنادي نفسه.

سواء استمر آل الشيخ في التدخل في كرة القدم المصرية أم لا، فإن مشاركته حتى الآن لم تسر، دون أدنى شك، بسلاسةٍ كما كان يأمل.

© Copyright Notice

click on link to view the associated photo/image
©AFP ⁃ Alexander NEMENOV

دعمكم عونٌ لنا

فَنَك هي مؤسسة إعلامية إلكترونية مستقلة، لا تمولها أي دولة أو مجموعات مصالح. تلتزم فَنَك بنشر تحليلاتٍ مبنية على الوقائع ومحايدة، إلى جانب التقارير المواضيعية حول الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا.
شهد الموقع نمواً سريعاً في نطاق وعمق المعلومات التي يُقدمها، واليوم، بات يُشكل مصدراً غنياً وقيماً للمعلومات عن 21 بلداً، من المغرب إلى عُمان ومن إيران إلى اليمن، باللغتين العربية والإنجليزية. حالياً، وصل عدد القراء إلى 6 ملايين سنوياً، والعدد آخذٌ بالإزدياد.
لضمان حيادية المعلومات على موقع فَنَك (وقائع وأحداث) ، تُنشر المقالات دون ذكر أسماء الكتّاب، مما يُتيح أيضاً لمراسلينا مساحة أكبر من الحرية عند التطرق إلى القضايا الحساسة أو المثيرة للجدل فى بلادهم. وإلى جانب ذلك، نتحرى حقائق جميع المعلومات الواردة في مقالاتنا قبل النشر لضمان دقة المعلومات، وحداثتها وحيادها.

استمرارية تشغيل مثل هذا الموقع الإلكتروني مُكلفة للغاية. بتبرعٍ صغيرٍ منك، يمكنك المساهمة في الحفاظ على حرية واستقلالية تغطيتنا.

Fanack Home / Sports and Politics / Egypt Furious over Saudi Minister’s Meddling in Football League

Egypt Furious over Saudi Minister’s Meddling in Football League

Specials- Turki al-Sheikh
Saudi Arabia players walk with the head of the General Authority for Saudi Sport, Turki al-Sheikh (C), as they gather during a training session at the Luzhniki stadium in Moscow on June 13, 2018 ahead of the Russia 2018 World Cup football tournament. Photo AFP

Football-loving Egypt is usually split unequivocally over team loyalties but has found common ground in its aversion to one person: Saudi Arabia’s de facto Sports Minister Turki al-Sheikh. The minister has been on a mission to gain a foothold in Egyptian football but faces a backlash from Egyptians – from fans to officials – who do not want to be told what to do by a wealthy intruder from the Gulf.

It all started when al-Sheikh, said to be part of the inner circle of Crown Prince Mohammed bin Salman (often referred to as MBS), was appointed as honorary president of Egypt’s biggest club al-Ahly in December 2017. From that moment, he began to pump money into the club, reportedly amounting to 119 million Egyptian pounds ($6.65 million). But al-Sheikh would not settle for just a ceremonial role. He facilitated the transfer of several al-Ahly players to Saudi clubs and pushed plans for a new stadium.

In May 2018, he announced that he was ready to provide al-Ahly with “world-class foreign players”. However, later that month, an Argentinian coach who was rumoured to become the new al-Ahly coach signed a contract with the Saudi club Ittihad Jeddah instead.

Al-Sheikh “Loves to Talk”

Al-Sheikh’s dealings were not appreciated at al-Ahly. “No one, no one at all — with all due respect to al-Turki … will be allowed to interfere in the club’s affairs,” club Chairman Mahmoud el-Khateib said earlier in 2018. In addition, fans asked the club’s board to dismiss al-Sheikh.

What bothered al-Ahly fans most was al-Sheikh’s personality and tendency to make himself the centre of attention, sports journalist and al-Ahly fan Mohamed Fathy told Fanack. “He loves to talk and prides himself on what he has done [for al-Ahly],” he said, explaining that for al-Ahly fans “nobody is bigger than the club”.

The fans’ criticism worked. In late May, al-Sheikh stepped down as honorary president, saying his actions had been “misinterpreted”.

Yet his mission was far from over. Soon after stepping down, he purchased al-Assiouty, a small provincial club in Upper Egypt, and renamed it Pyramids FC. The club made headlines in the summer with several top signings of Egyptian and foreign players, the appointment of former al-Ahly coach Hossam el-Badry as chairman and Argentinean Ricardo La Volpe as coach.

Pyramids’ fan clubs sprung up seemingly out of nowhere, a new logo and team song were introduced and the Pyramids TV sports channel was launched. Big international football stars such as Ronaldinho appeared on the channel as analysts. The first months of the season were good for Pyramids, showing its ability to challenge al-Ahly’s traditional dominance.

Yet once again, al-Sheikh seems to have overplayed his hand. After a disappointing result in the league in September, al-Skeikh blamed the referee, telling the media, “I’ve had enough. I’m submitting a request to his Excellency, President Abdel Fattah al-Sisi, to find a solution for the obstacles we are facing on the sporting and investment levels.” He even threatened to take Pyramids out of the league if his request to bring in foreign referees was turned down.

All Clubs against al-Sheikh

Other teams complained about Pyramids being favoured by the Egyptian Football Association (EFA). “After a match against Pyramids, all coaches said that the referee favoured Pyramids,” Fathy said. Alaa Nabil, the coach of the Arab Contractors club, went further, decrying al-Sheikh’s influence over the EFA and alleging that the league was already decided in Pyramids’ favour. Nabil was subsequently fined and suspended for two matches.

In late September, several al-Ahly fans were arrested after they chanted insults at al-Sheikh inside the stadium.

Nonetheless, Fathy believes the measures against Nabil and the arrests of al-Ahly fans are largely symbolic. “They only arrested a few fans – usually they arrest them in much higher numbers – and Nabil received just a small punishment,” he said. “For me, this shows that the authorities agree with them and are in fact not with Turki.”

Indeed, al-Sheikh complained that the authorities did not do enough to protect him against attacks from other clubs and fans. He wrote on Facebook that “every day a new problem emerges”, and that he was considering withdrawing his investments.

Furthermore, the Saudi-owned Sela Agency announced it had terminated a sponsorship deal with al-Ahly and Egyptian sports in general in reaction to the ‘offences’ directed at al-Sheikh. The Pyramids channel ceased broadcasting after Egypt’s media monitoring body disciplined the channel over ‘violating media practices’.

Saudi’s Game in International Football

James Dorsey, a senior fellow at Nanyang Technological University’s S. Rajaratnam School of International Studies, sees a larger picture in al-Sheikh’s meddling. “Saudi Arabia is trying to flex its muscles in international sports,” he told Fanack over the phone. For instance, MBS made an offer to FIFA, the international football governing body, to set up two new competitions, which would give Saudi Arabia a significant voice in global football, he said.

Saudi Arabia also spearheaded the establishment of a new football federation for West and South Asia (SWAFF), consisting of 14 countries with the notable absence of Iran and Qatar, which is effectively a rival of the existing Asian Football Federation.

The tangle of football and politics became particularly apparent when Saudi Arabia supported a bid by the United States, Canada and Mexico to host the 2026 World Cup, over Morocco. Al-Sheikh himself hinted in a tweet that Morocco should have sided with Saudi Arabia in its diplomatic spat with Qatar in order to earn Saudi’s support.

A-Sheikh has since tried to mend ties with Morocco, frequently voicing his support for Morocco’s bid to host the Africa Cup on social media.

Countering Qatar

Dorsey believes Saudi Arabia’s sudden interest in football is a bid to exert soft power and counter the influence of its rival Qatar, which is hosting the 2022 World Cup and sponsors major teams such as Barcelona and Paris Saint-Germain. Moreover, Saudi Arabia has been in a legal dispute with Qatari-owned Bein Sports, which holds the rights to broadcast all the major global football leagues in the Arab world, since it allowed the Saudi-facilitated pirate channel BeoutQ to stream matches online.

Egypt is also interesting for Saudi Arabia because it is the most important football nation in the Middle East, Dorsey said. He sees “a determination to have a foothold in the Egyptian market”.

Al-Sheikh’s way of gaining this foothold reflects the same behaviour by MBS in other fields, Dorsey believes. “It demonstrates a sort of impetuousness or entitlement, the feeling that you can do what you please,” he said, pointing to how MBS dealt with the hostage taking of Lebanese Prime Minister Saad Hariri. “It’s a misperception of the limits of power. They shoot themselves in the foot.”

In Egypt, al-Sheikh appears to have done just that, judging by Pyramids FC poor performance and the closure of its TV channel. A statement from the club confirmed that al-Sheikh will withdraw his investments and the top signings will receive contracts elsewhere. Without these players, it is unclear how the club will proceed, and the club’s success may prove short-lived. If this is the case, al-Sheikh’s Egyptian adventure will end in a “fiasco”, as Dorsey put it.

Fathy is more cautious. “[On 11 October], Turki posted a video of Pyramids on Facebook, maybe [indicating] that he will stay. We will have to wait and see,” he said.

Meanwhile, al-Sheikh’s next move could already be taking shape. Local media alleged that the Pyramids channel would be transferred to Zamalek, Egypt’s second-biggest club and al-Ahly’s archrival. Moreover, al-Sheikh thanked Zamalek President Mortada Mansour on Facebook on 13 October for naming a club building after him, and praised the club itself.

Whether or not al-Sheikh continues to meddle in Egyptian football, his involvement to date has certainly not gone as smoothly as he no doubt hoped.

image_pdfimage_print

We would like to ask you something …

Fanack is an independent media organisation, not funded by any state or any interest group, that distributes in the Middle East and the wider world unbiased analysis and background information, based on facts, about the Middle East and North Africa.

The website grew rapidly in breadth and depth and today forms a rich and valuable source of information on 21 countries, from Morocco to Oman and from Iran to Yemen, both in Arabic and English. We currently reach six million readers annually and growing fast.

In order to guarantee the impartiality of information on the Chronicle, articles are published without by-lines. This also allows correspondents to write more freely about sensitive or controversial issues in their country. All articles are fact-checked before publication to ensure that content is accurate, current and unbiased.

To run such a website is very expensive. With a small donation, you can make a huge impact. And it only takes a minute. Thank you.