فَنَكْ وقائع وأحداث عن الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا / الرياضة والسياسة / كيف أصبحت مصر بطلاً عالمياً في رياضة الإسكواش

كيف أصبحت مصر بطلاً عالمياً في رياضة الإسكواش

Specials- Squash egypt
نور الشربيني (القميص الأسود) تواجه اللاعبة الفرنسية كاميل سيرم في نصف نهائي بطولة نهائيات السلسلة العالمية للاسكواش 2018 في دبي، والتي أقيمت في أوبرا دبي في 8 يونيو 2018. Photo AFP ©AFP ⁃ Karim SAHIB

في أوائل ديسمبر 2018، توّج لاعب الإسكواش المصري كريم عبد الجواد بلقب بطولة بلاك بول للإسكواش المفتوحة في القاهرة، وهي بطولة دولية كبرى تتبع للاتحاد الدولي لمحترفي الإسكواش. كما كان الوصيف مصرياً أيضاً: علي فرج. وفي ربع النهائي ونصف النهائي، هزم عبد الجواد اللاعبين المصريين محمد الشوربجي وطارق مؤمن على التوالي.

إن هيمنة مصر على بطولةٍ دولية للاسكواش ليس بالأمر الفريد من نوعه، إذ يحتل الشوربجي صدارة الترتيب العالمي للإتحاد الدولي لمحترفي الإسكواش عن فئة الرجال، والفرج هو الثاني. وجاء مؤمن وعبد الجواد في المركز الرابع والتاسع على التوالي، بينما يُكمل مصري آخر، محمد أبو الغار، قائمة العشرة الأوائل.

كما أن تصنيف النساء مشابه، إذ تحتل مصرياتٌ المراكز الثلاثة الأولى، مع ما مجموعه أربعة مصريات في المراكز العشرة الأولى. ففي بطولة هونج كونج المفتوحة في ديسمبر، فازت رنيم الوليلي على مواطنتها نور الشربيني لتحتل المركز الأول.

إذاً، ما الذي يُغذي نجاح الإسكواش في مصر؟ إن كرة القدم هي الرياضة الأكثر شعبية على مستوى البلاد، ومع ذلك، فإن البلاد بعيدة كل البعد عن المسرح العالمي لكرة القدم، باستثناء نجاح نجم ليفربول، محمد صلاح. فلا توجد أي رياضة أخرى تجاري في نجاحها إنجازات الإسكواش.

نشأت رياضة الإسكواش في إنجلترا في القرن التاسع عشر، حيث انتشرت من هناك إلى دول الكومنولث وخارجها تحت تأثير بريطانيا، التي شيدت ملاعب الإسكواش لدبلوماسييها وضباطها. وبالتالي، جاء معظم لاعبي الإسكواش المحترفين من بلدانٍ ذات وجود بريطاني قوي مثل باكستان وماليزيا وأستراليا ونيوزيلندا ومصر. بدأت البطولات الدولية في الثلاثينات، وحتى آنذاك لعبت مصر دوراً قيادياً. فقد كان عبد الفتاح عمرو بك أحد أوائل الأبطال، وهو دبلوماسي مصري الذي بدأ اللعب خلال تقلده أحد المناصب في لندن، وأتى من بعده اللاعب محمود كريم.

وبعد عدة عقودٍ من تصدّر اللاعبين الباكستانيين للترتيب العالمي، صعد المصريون للهيمنة على اللعبة مرةً أخرى في التسعينيات. ويقول البعض أن حسني مبارك، الرئيس السابق ولاعب الاسكواش المتحمّس، كان له دورٌ أساسي في تعزيز الرياضة في مصر. فقد أحضر بطولةً دولية، بطولة الأهرام، إلى مصر في عام 1996 لأول مرة، إذ كان يمتلك ملعباً زجاجياً بُنيّ بالقرب من الأهرامات في الجيزة، وبثت البطولة على الهواء مباشرة على شاشة التلفزيون. كما هنأ مبارك شخصياً الفائز بالبطولة آنذاك، أحمد برادة.

وقال أشرف منير، المدير الإداري لأكاديمية الإسكواش في نادي الجزيرة الرياضي لفَنَك، “مع برادة أصبحت رياضة الإسكواش أكثر معرفةّ، وأصبحت أكثر شعبيةً منذ ذلك الحين.”

وتضمنت قائمة النجوم الجدد عمرو شبانة، الذي تدرب في الجزيرة، وفي وقتٍ لاحق رامي عاشور (الملقب بالفنان)، والذي يعتبر واحداً من أكثر اللاعبين موهبةً على الإطلاق. إذ قال عاشور ذات مرةٍ لصحيفة نيويورك تايمز “في مصر، لا نلتزم بالقواعد مثل الإنجليز أو الألمان أو [الأمريكيين]. يساعدنا هذا في الإسكواش.” وعادةً ما يُعرف اللاعبون المصريون بأسلوبهم الهجومي، “المصريون يهاجمون كل الوقت، بالضربات اللولبية ورد الكرات؛ بينما يلتزم البريطانيون بالأساسيات،” بحسب ما قاله منير، وهو لاعب سابق وصل إلى المركز السادس في التصنيف المصري.

وفي الآونة الأخيرة، برزت المرأة المصرية أيضاً في التصنيف العالمي. ووفقاً لمنير، “استلهموا النجاح من اللاعبين الرجال.”

يكمن جزءٌ من نجاح مصر في حقيقة أن اللاعبين الكبار يتركزون في القاهرة والإسكندرية وبالتالي يعيشون بالقرب من بعضهم البعض. فهم جميعاً جزءٌ من مجتمعٍ متماسك في النوادي الرياضية ويمكنهم التدرب بشكلٍ أفضل على أساسٍ منتظم.

وبهذا الصدد، قال منير “البُنية التحتية للنادي غاية في الأهمية. لديهم العديد من الملاعب وينظمون البطولات كل أسبوعين إلى ثلاثة أسابيع.” وأضاف “هذا يعني الكثير من المنافسة والممارسة.” وعلاوةً على ذلك، يُقال أن مصر تمتلك ثالث أكبر عددٍ من ملاعب الإسكواش في العالم.

كما يخلق وجود الأبطال في الأندية المصرية أيضاً زخماً هاماً للاعبين الشباب، إذ أن هناك دائماً نموذجاً يحتذى به من حولهم. وقال منير: “يشاهد اليافعون الأبطال من مصر في أنديتهم ويريدون أن يكونوا مثلهم،” وتابع القول “أصبحت اللعبة أكثر شعبيةً كل يوم. يشارك في البطولة الوطنية حوالي 1000 لاعب، إذ يعتبر هذا عدداً كبيراً.”

ويمكن للإسكواش أن تكون وسيلةً لتحقيق طموحات أخرى، فعلى سبيل المثال، ساهمت إنجازات علي فرج في الإسكواش في دراسته في جامعة هارفارد، كما حصل لاعبون آخرون على منحٍ دراسية في الخارج. ففي ظل الظروف الاقتصادية الصعبة والتعليم باهظ التكاليف في الديار، يحلم العديد من المصريين الشباب بالحصول على فرصٍ في الخارج.

وقال محفوظ ظاظا، وهو مدّرب في نادي الجزيرة منذ 30 عاماً، أن لعب الإسكواش في سنٍ صغيرة مفتاحٌ آخر للنجاح، إذ يقول “يمكن للأطفال البدء في اللعب في سن الخامسة. عليك أن تبدأ مبكراً في التدريب المحترف لتصل إلى القمة. ففي أوروبا، غالباً ما يبدأون اللعب في سن المراهقة، أي بعد فوات الأوان.”

ماريا، البالغة من العمر سبع سنوات، واحدةٌ من اللاعبات اللواتي يتدربن مع ظاظا. فقد قالت “رأيت أصدقائي يلعبون الإسكواش ويحبون اللعبة. كما رأيتها أيضاً على شاشة التلفزيون.” وأضافت “لذلك، انتقلت من الجمباز إلى الاسكواش. أنا أحبها، إذ يمكنني أن أتعلم الكثير من الأشياء الجديدة.” تلعب ماريا أربع مراتٍ في الأسبوع لمدة ساعة تقريباً، حيث تأتي من الجانب الآخر من المدينة للوصول إلى النادي.

وعلى الرغم من النجاح المستمر للاعبين المصريين، إلا أن الاستثمارات الحكومية ليست عاملاً مساهماً، بحسب قول منير، “بالكاد تذكر مقارنةً بالاستثمارات في كرة القدم.” وبدلاً من ذلك، تأتي التدفقات المالية من النوادي والرعاة، منها على سبيل المثال البنك التجاري الدولي وشركة حديد عز.

يجني كبار اللاعبين أرباحاً جيدة، “ليس كحال لاعبي التنس، إلا أنها لا تزال جيدة،” بحسب منير. يمكن أن يتجاوز مبلغ الجائزة في البطولات الدولية الكبرى 100 ألف دولار. بالإضافة إلى ذلك، يحصل لاعبو الإسكواش على رواتب من التدريب في الأندية ومن خلال الرعاية. غالباً ما تشتري النوادي الثلاثة الرئيسية – الأهلي ووادي دجلة (القاهرة) وسموحة (الإسكندرية) – لاعبين جيدين من النوادي الأخرى. فعلى سبيل المثال، كان عبد الجواد يلعب في الجزيرة لكنه انتقل إلى الأهلي. بينما يلعب كل من أبطال العالم، الشوربجي والشربيني في نادي سموحة.

ومع ذلك، يتمثل التهديد المحتمل لهيمنة مصر في حصرية هذه الرياضة. إن لعب الإسكواش يعني، إلى حدٍ كبير، القدرة على أن تصبح عضواً في أحد الأندية الخاصة. يتم نقل العضوية من جيلٍ إلى آخر، إذ يُكلّف شراء العضوية دون وجود صلاتٍ عائلية ثروة. وبالتالي، فإن وجود مجموعة من اللاعبين المحتملين للإسكواش تبقى محدودةً إلى حدٍ ما. لكن أولئك داخل هذه المجموعة يمكنهم الوصول إلى مرافق وفرص تدريب ذات مستوى عالمي.

وقال منير، “بعض الأندية تسمح بدخول غير الأعضاء وتختار لاعبيها منهم.” وأضاف “المزيد من اللاعبين يعني المزيد من الفرص.”

يعتقد منير أن مصر ستواصل هيمنتها على اللعبة في المستقبل القريب، “لا يزال عدد اللاعبين الصغار آخذٌ في التوسع.” وما دام هناك فتياتٌ أمثال ماريا يخترنّ لعب الإسكواش ويحصلنّ على تدريبٍ جيد، يبدو مستقبل مصر في الإسكواش مشرقاً.

© Copyright Notice

click on link to view the associated photo/image
©AFP ⁃ Karim SAHIB

دعمكم عونٌ لنا

فَنَك هي مؤسسة إعلامية إلكترونية مستقلة، لا تمولها أي دولة أو مجموعات مصالح. تلتزم فَنَك بنشر تحليلاتٍ مبنية على الوقائع ومحايدة، إلى جانب التقارير المواضيعية حول الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا.
شهد الموقع نمواً سريعاً في نطاق وعمق المعلومات التي يُقدمها، واليوم، بات يُشكل مصدراً غنياً وقيماً للمعلومات عن 21 بلداً، من المغرب إلى عُمان ومن إيران إلى اليمن، باللغتين العربية والإنجليزية. حالياً، وصل عدد القراء إلى 6 ملايين سنوياً، والعدد آخذٌ بالإزدياد.
لضمان حيادية المعلومات على موقع فَنَك (وقائع وأحداث) ، تُنشر المقالات دون ذكر أسماء الكتّاب، مما يُتيح أيضاً لمراسلينا مساحة أكبر من الحرية عند التطرق إلى القضايا الحساسة أو المثيرة للجدل فى بلادهم. وإلى جانب ذلك، نتحرى حقائق جميع المعلومات الواردة في مقالاتنا قبل النشر لضمان دقة المعلومات، وحداثتها وحيادها.

استمرارية تشغيل مثل هذا الموقع الإلكتروني مُكلفة للغاية. بتبرعٍ صغيرٍ منك، يمكنك المساهمة في الحفاظ على حرية واستقلالية تغطيتنا.

Fanack Home / Sports and Politics / How Egypt Became a Global Squash Champion

How Egypt Became a Global Squash Champion

Specials- Squash egypt
Nour El Sherbini of Egypt (black jersey) competes with Camille Serme of France during their semi-final in the PSA Dubai Squash World Series Finals 2018 at Dubai Opera in Dubai on June 8, 2018. Photo AFP

In early December 2018, Egyptian squash player Karim Abdel Gawad was crowned winner of the Black Ball Squash Open in Cairo, a major international tournament in the top-tier Professional Squash Association (PSA) World Tour. The runner up was also Egyptian: Ali Farag. In the quarter and semi-finals, Abdel Gawad defeated the Egyptian players Mohamed el-Shorbagy and Tarek Momen consecutively.

Egypt’s domination of an international squash tournament is not unique. El-Shorbagy leads the men’s PSA World Ranking and Farag is number two. Momen and Abdel Gawad come in fourth and ninth place respectively, and another Egyptian, Mohamed Abouelghar, completes the top ten.

The women’s ranking is similar. Egyptians fill the top three spots, with a total of four Egyptians in the top ten. In the Hong Kong Open in December, Raneem el-Welily beat Nour el-Sherbini to claim the number one position.

So what fuels Egypt’s squash success? Football is by far the most popular national sport. However, with the exception of Liverpool star Mohamed Salah, the country is far from playing on the global stage. There is no other sport in Egypt that comes close to matching squash’s achievements.

Squash originated in England in the 19th century. It spread from there to the Commonwealth and beyond under the influence of Britain, which built squash courts for its diplomats and officers. Hence, most top squash players have come from countries that had a strong British presence such as Pakistan, Malaysia, Australia, New Zealand and Egypt. International championships started in the 1930s, and even in those early days Egypt played a leading role. The first major champions were FD Amr Bey, an Egyptian diplomat who started playing during his posting in London, and later Mahmoud Karim.

After several decades of Pakistani players topping the rankings, Egyptians rose to dominance again in the 1990s. Some say Hosni Mubarak, former president and a fervent squash player himself, was instrumental in promoting the sport in Egypt. He brought an international tournament, the Al-Ahram championship, to Egypt in 1996 for the first time. He had a glass court built next to the pyramids in Giza, and the championship was broadcast live on television. He personally congratulated the winner, Ahmed Barada.

“With Barada, squash got a lot of exposure, and it has become more popular since,” Ashraf Mounir, managing director of the Squash Academy at Gezira Sporting Club, told Fanack.

New stars included Amr Shabana, who trained at Gezira, and later Ramy ‘The Artist’ Ashour, who is considered one of the game’s most gifted players ever. “In Egypt we don’t obey rules as the English or Germans or [Americans do]. This helps us in squash,” Ashour once told The New York Times. Egyptian players are known for their typically offensive style. “Egyptians are attacking all the time, with drop-shots and volleys; Brits play more basic,” said Mounir, an ex-player who reached the sixth position in the Egypt ranking.

More recently, Egyptian women have also risen to prominence in the world rankings. “They were inspired by the success of the male players,” according to Mounir.

Part of Egypt’s success likely lies in the fact that the top players are concentrated in Cairo and Alexandria and hence live in close proximity to each other. They are all part of a tight-knit community in sport clubs and can train with the very best on a regular basis.

“The club infrastructure is important. They have a lot of courts and organize tournaments every two or three weeks,” Mounir said. “That means a lot of competition and practice.” Egypt reportedly has the world’s third highest number of squash courts.

The presence of champions in Egyptian clubs also creates an important impetus for young players. There is always a role model around to look up to. “Juniors are seeing champions from Egypt at their clubs and want to be like them,” Mounir said. “It is becoming more popular every day. The national championship has almost 1,000 players participating. That’s a big pool.”

Squash can also be a means to pursue other ambitions. For instance, his squash achievements helped Ali Farag to study at Harvard University, and other players have received scholarships to study abroad. Faced with tough economic conditions and expensive education at home, many young Egyptians dream of opportunities overseas.

Playing squash from a very young age is another key to success, said Mahfouz Zaza, who has been coaching at Gezira for 30 years. “Children can start playing at the age of five. You have to start early with professional training to reach the top. In Europe, they often start playing in their teens. That is too late.”

Seven-year-old Maria is one of the players training with Zaza. “I saw friends playing squash and they liked it. I also saw it on television,” she said. “So, I changed from gymnastics to squash. I like it, I can learn a lot of new things.” She plays four times a week for about an hour, driving from the other side of town to reach the club.

Despite the continued success of Egyptian players, government investments are not a contributing factor, said Mounir. “It’s nothing compared to football.” Instead, financial injections come from the clubs and sponsorship, for example the Commercial International Bank and Ezz Steel.

Top players make good money. “Not like tennis, but still good,” Mounir said. Prize money at major international tournaments can exceed $100,000. In addition, squash players earn a salary teaching at the clubs and through sponsorships. The three main clubs – al-Ahly, Wadi Degla (Cairo) and Smouha (Alexandria) – often buy good players away from other clubs. For instance, Abdel Gawad used to play at Gezira but moved to al-Ahly. Both world number ones el-Shorbagy and el-Sherbini play at Smouha.

A potential threat to Egypt’s dominance is the exclusivity of the sport. Playing squash to a large extent means being able to become a member of one of the private clubs. Membership is passed down from generation to generation, and buying oneself in without a family connection costs a fortune. Hence, the pool of potential squash players remains somewhat limited. But those within that pool have access to world-class facilities and training opportunities.

“Some clubs admit non-members and select players from those,” Mounir said. “More players mean more opportunities.”

In the immediate future, Mounir believes Egypt will continue to dominate the sport. “The number of juniors is still expanding,” he said. As long as girls like Maria choose to play squash and have access to a quality trainer, Egypt’s squash future looks bright.

image_pdfimage_print

We would like to ask you something …

Fanack is an independent media organisation, not funded by any state or any interest group, that distributes in the Middle East and the wider world unbiased analysis and background information, based on facts, about the Middle East and North Africa.

The website grew rapidly in breadth and depth and today forms a rich and valuable source of information on 21 countries, from Morocco to Oman and from Iran to Yemen, both in Arabic and English. We currently reach six million readers annually and growing fast.

In order to guarantee the impartiality of information on the Chronicle, articles are published without by-lines. This also allows correspondents to write more freely about sensitive or controversial issues in their country. All articles are fact-checked before publication to ensure that content is accurate, current and unbiased.

To run such a website is very expensive. With a small donation, you can make a huge impact. And it only takes a minute. Thank you.