فَنَكْ وقائع وأحداث عن الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا / الرياضة والسياسة / دول الخليج تتنافس على بناء العلاقات مع إسرائيل

دول الخليج تتنافس على بناء العلاقات مع إسرائيل

Specials- Miri Regev
وزيرة الثقافة والرياضة الاسرائيلية ميري ريغيف (وسط)، ومحمد بن ثعلوب الدرعي- رئيس اتحاد الإمارات للمصارعة والجودو والجوجيتسو (يسار)، ورئيس الاتحاد الدولي للجودو، ماريوس وايزر (يمين) يتبادلون أطراف الحديث أثناء بطولة جراند سلام للجودو في عاصمة الإمارات العربية المتحدة أبوظبي في 27 أكتوبر 2018. Photo AFP

تستضيف دول الخليج وتؤيد الرياضيين والمسؤولين والقادة الإسرائيليين، مما يشير إلى حملةٍ واضحة لإقامة علاقاتٍ دبلوماسية. ومع ذلك، تُثير المبادرات الأخيرة جدلاً في العالم العربي وغيره.

تجلى ذلك بوضوح عندما تم رفع العلم الإسرائيلي في منافسات بطولة العالم للجمباز الفني في نسخته الـ48 والتي أقيمت في قطر، مما أثار غضب العديد من القطريين. وقبل بدء البطولة التي استمرت تسعة أيام في 25 أكتوبر 2018، انفجرت وسائل التواصل الاجتماعي بانتقاد تطبيع قطر الملاحظ مع إسرائيل.

فقد قام المقيمون العرب في قطر، وقطريون أنفسهم، بحشد الدعم على موقع تويتر للتهكم على وسم (هاشتاق) يلا_جمباز (#GoGymtastic)عن طريق إطلاق وسم يلا_تطبيع (#GoNormalization). ومع ذلك، دافع رئيس الاتحاد القطري للجمباز، علي الهتمي، عن قراره دعوة إسرائيل إلى البطولة. وذكر على شبكة AJ + التي تمولها الدولة أن اللجنة التنظيمية في قطر تلتزم بالمعايير الدولية من خلال دعوة إسرائيل إلى البطولة.

بيد أن هذا التفسير لم يخمد الغضب، كما أن إمكانية أن تحصل إسرائيل على ميدالية في البطولة – مما يعني رفع العلم الإسرائيلي مرتين في نفس البطولة – ضاعف من الضجة.

فقد خشي العديد من القطريون من نجاح لاعب الجمباز الإسرائيلي، أرتيم دولجوبيات، الذي حاز على الميدالية الفضية خلال منافسات الحركات الأرضية في العام السابق. فقد تمكن دولجوبيات من الحصول على إذن للمشاركة في البطولة من السلطات الإسرائيلية بسبب خدمته الحالية في الجيش الإسرائيلي، وذلك قبل يوم واحد من مغادرة الوفد إلى الدوحة. كما كان من المتوقع أن يقدم الرياضيان الإسرائيليان، أندري ميدفيديف والكسندر شاتيلوف، أداءً حسناً.

وقبل أيامٍ من انطلاق البطولة، صرّح شاتيلوف “أتعطش للحصول على الميداليات، بخاصة في مثل هذه البطولة. سأفعل كل ما يحتاجه الأمر للوصول إلى منصة التتويج.”

وعلى الرغم من حماسه، لم يفز أحدٌ من إسرائيل بأي ميداليات، مما جنّب قطر الإحراج أثناء حفل توزيع الجوائز. ومع ذلك، قال الوفد الإسرائيلي إنه تم الترحيب به في البطولة وعبّر عن سروره بعرض شعاراته الوطنية. وقال جاكي فيشنيا، مدير الوفد الإسرائيلي: “لقد تلقينا استقبالًا جيداً ونحن سعداء بالضيافة.”

كما استعرض الرياضيون الإسرائيليون رموزهم الوطنية في بطولة الجودو في أبو ظبي الشهر الماضي. فقد عزف النشيد الإسرائيلي مرتين: مرةً في بداية البطولة، ومرة أخرى بعد فوز بيتر بتشيك الإسرائيلي بالذهبية عن فئة أقل من 100 كجم.

وأثناء التتويج، بكت وزير الثقافة والرياضة الإسرائيلية ميري ريغيف وقالت إن الرسالة التي تحملها أبو ظبي هي رسالة “الوحدة والسلام.” وخلال البطولة، زارت ريغيف أكبر مسجدٍ في الإمارات، مسجد الشيخ زايد، وقالت للصحفيين إنها وقعت على سجل زوار المسجد باللغة العبرية لإظهار “الأخوة التي يمكن أن تسود بين اليهود والمسلمين.”

وعلى صعيدٍ متصل، لم يعبر العديد من العرب عن ذات الآمال، فقد قال عبد الخالق عبد الله، وهو محللٌ سياسي يعيش في الإمارات، لصحيفة واشنطن بوست إنه من المثير رؤية ريغيف – التي يصفها بالشخص الذي يكره العرب – تزور الإمارات. وقال: “إن عزف النشيد الوطني الإسرائيلي لم يزد الأمر سوى إهانة.”

وعلى الرغم من آراء شعوبها تجاه هذا الأمر، تتنافس الإمارات وقطر بشكلٍ واضح لتصبح كلٌ منهما المركز الرياضي للشرق الأوسط وإقامة علاقاتٍ أوثق مع إسرائيل.

فإمارة قطر الصغيرة- التي تحاصرها اليوم الإمارات والسعودية ومصر والبحرين– بحاجة ماسة إلى أصدقاء. فقد استضافت البلاد الأحداث الرياضية كشكلٍ من أشكال القوة الناعمة، مما ساعدها على كسر عزلتها وبناء علاقاتٍ مع المجتمع الدولي، بما في ذلك إسرائيل.

وبحسب ما قاله الدكتور يول جوزانسكي، الباحث الكبير في معهد تل أبيب لدراسات الأمن القومي، لصحيفة هآرتس، “في حين تخوض قطر هذه الأزمة مع جيرانها، يمكن أن يكسبها الانفتاح على الإسرائيليين الكثير من النقاط لدى إدارة [ترمب] الأمريكية.”

ومع ذلك، تمتلك دولة الإمارات دوافع مختلفة، إذ أنها تعمل على تسريب الدفء للعلاقات مع إسرائيل في محاولةٍ لتشكيل تحالفٍ أوسع ضد عدوهم المتبادل، إيران. كما تعدّ التجارة الثنائية أيضاً عاملاً رئيسي، بحسب ما كتبه سيغورد نويباور، وهو محلل في الشأن الخليجي يُقيم في واشنطن العاصمة. وأشار أيضاً إلى أن الشركات الإسرائيلية تبيع تقنيات الأمن القومي إلى الإمارات، وهي دولة بوليسية تراقب عن كثب وتقمع أي شكلٍ من أشكال النشاط السياسي. كما يستفيد الإسرائيليون أيضًا من سوق دبي للماس، كما يستثمرون بشكلٍ كبير في قطاع العقارات، حيث يعمدون إلى شرائها باستخدام جوازات سفرهم الأخرى.

كما كانت سلطنة عُمان أيضاً سبّاقةً في مد يدها إلى اسرائيل، ففي 26 أكتوبر 2018، زار رئيس الوزراء الإسرائيلي بنيامين نتنياهو السلطان قابوس بن سعيد في العاصمة العمانية مسقط. وقال مكتب رئيس الوزراء للصحفيين إن الزعيمين ناقشا سبل تحقيق “السلام والاستقرار في الشرق الأوسط.” ففي نهاية المطاف، لطالما كانت عُمان تتمتع بسمعةٍ بكونها صانع سلامٍ في المنطقة.

فقد أعلن مكتب نتنياهو إن “زيارة نتنياهو لسلطنة عمان تشكل خطوة ملموسة في إطار تنفيذ سياسة رئيس الوزراء التي تسعى إلى تعزيز العلاقات الإسرائيلية مع دول المنطقة من خلال إبراز الخبرات الإسرائيلية في مجالات الأمن والتكنولوجيا والاقتصاد”.

وعلى الرغم من تفاؤل إسرائيل، لن يتحقق السلام والاستقرار بسهولةٍ دون إنهاء احتلال الضفة الغربية وقطاع غزة وحتى التوصل إلى حلٍ عادل للاجئين الفلسطينيين.

وكان ذلك واضحاً من الغضب الذي أثارته زيارة نتنياهو إلى عُمان بين المسؤولين الفلسطينيين. فقد قال منير الجاغوب، وهو مسؤولٌ كبير في السلطة الفلسطينية، إن زيارة نتنياهو إلى عُمان تقتل مبادرة السلام العربية، التي اقترحتها المملكة العربية السعودية عام 2002 كوسيلةٍ لحل النزاع العربي الإسرائيلي طويل الأمد. ومن الجدير بالذكر أن مبادرة السلام العربية تقترح تطبيع الدول العربية لعلاقاتها مع إسرائيل مقابل انسحاب الأخيرة الكامل من الضفة الغربية وغزة.

من جهتها، انتقدت حماس أيضاً سلطنة عُمان لاستضافتها نتنياهو. ودعت الجماعة الدول العربية إلى مضاعفة جهود مقاطعتها لإسرائيل التي “تهدد فلسطين والمنطقة برمتها.”

ومن الواضح أن السلام العادل بين إسرائيل وفلسطين بعيد المنال، إذ ظهر ذلك بوضوح عندما اندلع العنف في غزة بعد أسابيع فقط من بطولة الجمباز في قطر. فقد فشلت إسرائيل في محاولة اغتيال أحد كبار قادة حماس، مما أدى إلى تبادل إطلاق النار بين الجانبين.

وبعد أيامٍ من الهجوم، ردت حماس بإطلاق مئات الصواريخ على إسرائيل، مما أدى إلى إصابة 10 أشخاص. كما أرسل الجيش الإسرائيلي مقاتلاته لقصف ما زعم أنها أهدافٌ إرهابية. ومع ذلك، كان المدنيون في غزة، المحاصرون بالفعل في أواضعٍ إنسانية كارثية، من دفعوا ثمناً باهظاً – كما هو الحال غالباً عندما يتصادم الجانبان.

وعلى ما يبدو، لم يزعج العنف دول الخليج. فمن المحتمل أن قطر شعرت بالارتياح لأن المواجهات اندلعت بعد بطولة الجمباز، وليس قبلها. وكما يقول يول جوزانسكي، “يمكن أن تقول قطر دوماً أن هذه بطولة دولية، نحن لا نريد أن نستضيف الإسرائيليين، لكننا جزء من المجتمع الدولي،” مضيفاً، “سيكون من الصعب على قطر القيام بذلك في حالة تصاعد الصراع [في غزة].”

image_pdfimage_print

دعمكم عونٌ لنا

فَنَك هي مؤسسة إعلامية إلكترونية مستقلة، لا تمولها أي دولة أو مجموعات مصالح. تلتزم فَنَك بنشر تحليلاتٍ مبنية على الوقائع ومحايدة، إلى جانب التقارير المواضيعية حول الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا.
شهد الموقع نمواً سريعاً في نطاق وعمق المعلومات التي يُقدمها، واليوم، بات يُشكل مصدراً غنياً وقيماً للمعلومات عن 21 بلداً، من المغرب إلى عُمان ومن إيران إلى اليمن، باللغتين العربية والإنجليزية. حالياً، وصل عدد القراء إلى 6 ملايين سنوياً، والعدد آخذٌ بالإزدياد.
لضمان حيادية المعلومات على موقع فَنَك (وقائع وأحداث) ، تُنشر المقالات دون ذكر أسماء الكتّاب، مما يُتيح أيضاً لمراسلينا مساحة أكبر من الحرية عند التطرق إلى القضايا الحساسة أو المثيرة للجدل فى بلادهم. وإلى جانب ذلك، نتحرى حقائق جميع المعلومات الواردة في مقالاتنا قبل النشر لضمان دقة المعلومات، وحداثتها وحيادها.

استمرارية تشغيل مثل هذا الموقع الإلكتروني مُكلفة للغاية. بتبرعٍ صغيرٍ منك، يمكنك المساهمة في الحفاظ على حرية واستقلالية تغطيتنا.

Fanack Home / Sports and Politics / Gulf States Compete to Build Ties with Israel

Gulf States Compete to Build Ties with Israel

Specials- Miri Regev
Israeli Culture and Sports Minister Miri Regev (C) Mohamed Bin Thaaloob al-Derai, President of UAE Wrestling Judo & Kickboxing Federation (L) and International Judo Federation President Marius Vizer (R) chat during the Abu Dhabi Grand Slam Judo tournament in the Emirati capital Abu Dhabi on October 27, 2018. Photo AFP ©AFP ⁃ STRINGER

Gulf nations are hosting and endorsing Israeli athletes, officials and leaders, signaling a clear push to establish diplomatic relations. However, the recent overtures are generating a controversy in the Arab world and beyond.

This was clear when the Israeli flag was displayed at the 48th World Artistic Gymnastics World Championships in Qatar, drawing the ire of many Qataris. Before the nine-day competition commenced on 25 October 2018, social media exploded with criticism of Qatar’s perceived normalization with Israel.

Arab residents in Qatar, and Qataris themselves, mobilized on Twitter to ridicule the hashtag #GoGymtastic by starting the hashtag #GoNormalization. The president of the Qatari Gymnastics Federation Ali Al-Hitmi nevertheless defended his decision to invite Israel to the event. He stated on the state-sponsored network AJ+ that Qatar’s organizing committee was adhering to international standards by inviting Israel to the event.

The explanation didn’t quell the anger, however, and the possibility that Israel could earn a medal in the competition – resulting in the hoisting of the Israeli flag twice in the same event – compounded the uproar.

Many Qataris feared the success of Israeli gymnast Artem Dolgopyat, who had won a silver medal during a floor exercise the previous year. Dolgopyat is part of the Israeli army and had booked his ticket to Doha at the last minute. Israeli athletes Andrey Medvedev and Alexander Shatilov were also predicted to do well.

Days before the tournament, Shatilov said, “I’m hungry for the medals, especially in such a competition. I’ll do everything I need to get onto the medal podium.”

Despite his motivation, nobody from Israel won any medals, allowing Qatar to avoid an awkward award ceremony. The Israeli delegation nonetheless said that it was welcomed at the tournament and pleased to have displayed its national emblems. “We were very well received and we’re happy with the hospitality,” said Jacki Vishnia, the manager of the Israeli delegation.

Israeli athletes also displayed their national symbols at a Judo tournament in Abu Dhabi last month. The Israeli anthem even played twice: once at the beginning of the tournament, and again after Israeli Peter Paltchik won gold in the under 100kg category.

After the final event, Israel’s Culture and Sports minister Miri Regev wept and said that the entire message in Abu Dhabi was one of “unity and peace.” During the tournament, Regev visited the UAE’s largest mosque, the Sheikh Zayed Mosque. She told reporters that she signed the mosque’s guestbook in Hebrew to demonstrate the “brotherhood that could be between Jews and Muslims.”

Many Arabs didn’t express the same hope. Abdulkhaleq Abdulla, a political analyst based in the UAE, told The Washington Post it was terrible to see Regev – a person he describes as hating Arabs – visiting the UAE. “Hearing the Israeli national anthem played only added to the insult,” he said.

Despite the sentiments of their populations, the UAE and Qatar are clearly competing to become the sports hub of the Middle East and to establish closer ties with Israel.

The tiny emirate of Qatar – currently blockaded by the UAE, Saudi Arabia, Egypt and Bahrain – desperately needs friends. The country has hosted sporting events as a form of soft power, helping it break its isolation and build relationships with the international community, including Israel.

“While Qatar is in the midst of this crisis with its neighbors, being open to Israelis can earn it a lot of points with the American [Trump] administration,” Dr. Yoel Guzansky, a senior researcher at Tel Aviv’s Institute for National Security Studies, told Haaretz.

The UAE has different motives, warming up to Israel in a bid to form a broader alliance against their mutual enemy, Iran. Bilateral trade is also a major factor, writes Sigurd Neubauer, who is a Gulf analyst based in Washington, D.C. He notes that Israeli companies reportedly sell national security technologies to the UAE, which is a police state that closely monitors and represses any form of political activism. Israelis also profit from Dubai’s diamond market and are also heavily invested in real estate, which they can purchase with their second passports.

The Sultanate of Oman has also made an overture to Israel. On 26 October 2018, Israeli Prime Minister Benjamin Netanyahu visited Sultan Qaboos bin Said in the Omani capital of Muscat. The Prime Minister’s office told reporters that the two leaders discussed ways to achieve “peace and stability in the Middle East.” Oman, after all, has long had a reputation for being a peacemaker in the region.

“The visit is a significant step in implementing the policy outlined by Prime Minister Netanyahu on deepening relations with the states of the region while leveraging Israel’s advantages in security, technology and economic matters,” his office announced.

Despite Israel’s optimism, peace and stability won’t be achieved easily without an end to the occupation of the West Bank and Gaza and until a just solution is found for Palestinian refugees.

That was clear from the anger that Netanyahu’s visit to Oman generated among Palestinian officials. Munir al-Jaghoub, a senior official in the Palestinian Authority, said that Netanyahu’s visit to Oman effectively kills the Arab Peace Initiative (API), which was proposed by Saudi Arabia in 2002 as a means to resolving the long-standing Arab-Israeli conflict. The API proposes that Arab states normalize ties with Israel in exchange for the latter’s complete withdrawal from the West Bank and Gaza.

Hamas also criticized Oman for hosting Netanyahu. The group called on Arab countries to double down on its boycott of Israel, which “threatens Palestine and the entire region.”

A just peace between Israel and Palestine is clearly elusive. That was most indicative when violence erupted in Gaza just weeks after the gymnastics tournament in Qatar. Israel botched an assassination attempt against a top Hamas figure, leading to an exchange of fire between the two sides.

Days after the attack, Hamas retaliated by firing hundreds of missiles into Israel, injuring 10. The Israeli military dispatched fighter jets to hit what it claimed to be terrorist targets. But civilians in Gaza, who are already trapped in a humanitarian catastrophe, paid a heavy price – as is often the case when the two sides clash.

The violence didn’t seem to bother Gulf states. Qatar, for one, may have been relieved that the clashes erupted after the gymnastics tournament, rather than before. “Qatar can always say, ‘it’s an international event; it’s not that we want to host the Israelis, but we’re part of the international community,’” argues Dr. Guzansky. “It would be much harder for Qatar to do that in the event of a conflict escalation [in Gaza].”

© Copyright Notice

click on link to view the associated photo/image
©AFP ⁃ STRINGER | ©AFP ⁃ STRINGER

We would like to ask you something …

Fanack is an independent media organisation, not funded by any state or any interest group, that distributes in the Middle East and the wider world unbiased analysis and background information, based on facts, about the Middle East and North Africa.

The website grew rapidly in breadth and depth and today forms a rich and valuable source of information on 21 countries, from Morocco to Oman and from Iran to Yemen, both in Arabic and English. We currently reach six million readers annually and growing fast.

In order to guarantee the impartiality of information on the Chronicle, articles are published without by-lines. This also allows correspondents to write more freely about sensitive or controversial issues in their country. All articles are fact-checked before publication to ensure that content is accurate, current and unbiased.

To run such a website is very expensive. With a small donation, you can make a huge impact. And it only takes a minute. Thank you.