فَنَكْ وقائع وأحداث عن الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا / الرياضة والسياسة / لمَ لن يُقدم المغرب والجزائر وتونس ملفاً مشتركاً لتنظيم كأس العالم 2030

لمَ لن يُقدم المغرب والجزائر وتونس ملفاً مشتركاً لتنظيم كأس العالم 2030

Morocco- CAF Champions League
مباراة تجمع بين نادي الفتح الرياضي المغربي ونادي مولودية بجاية الجزائري. Photo AFP

في عام 2010، كانت جنوب إفريقيا أول بلدٍ إفريقي يحظى باستضافة نهائيات كأس العالم لكرة القدم، ولكن بعد مضي أكثر من 24 عاماً، لطالما سعت دولةٌ إفريقية أخرى لاستضافة هذا الحدث الشعبي التابع للفيفا في القارة الإفريقية: المغرب. بيد أن المحاولة الأخيرة للبلاد باستضافة نهائيات كأس العالم 2026، والتي تعدّ المحاولة الخامسة حتى الآن للمملكة، باءت بالفشل.

فقد سبق وتنافس المغرب على استضافة نهائيات كأس العالم في الأعوام 1994، و1998، و2006، و2010 إلا أنه لم يقترب من تحقيق النجاح سوى في التصويت النهائي لكأس العالم عام 2010، التي خسرها في نهاية المطاف أمام المنافس، جنوب افريقيا. ففي الوقت الذي قام به المغرب بتحديث منشآته الرياضية والبُنية التحتية السياحية إلى حدٍ كبير منذ أول مشاركة له في عام 1994، كان الفوز في ترشحه الأخير ضمن نطاق الإمكانيات. ولكن عوضاً عن ذلك، خسر المغرب في الجولة الأخيرة من التوصيت مرةً أخرى، ولكن هذه المرة أمام ملف العرض المشترك لأمريكا الشمالية، الذي يضم الولايات المتحدة الأمريكية والمكسيك وكندا بفارقٍ كبير بلغ 134 صوتاً مقابل 65 صوت، وذلك قبل يومٍ واحدٍ فحسب من انطلاق نهائيات كأس العالم لعام 2018 في روسيا.

وفور إعلان نتائج التصويت، عم الإحباط والغضب الصحافة المغربية ووسائل التواصل الاجتماعي في البلاد. فقد دعم 11 اتحاداً افريقياً و7 اتحاداتٍ عربية لكرة القدم، بما فيها اتحادات المملكة العربية السعودية والأردن ولبنان(فضلاً عن الكويت والبحرين والعراق) ملف أمريكا الشمالية، في حين دعمت الجزائر، المنافسة الأشد للمغرب، جارتها في التصويت النهائي.

إن دعم الجزائر الصريح للمغرب في هذا الصدد لم يكن بالأمر الطبيعي، وبالتالي أثار نوعاً من الدهشة بالتأكيد، ذلك أن العلاقات الثنائية بين البلدين كانت شديدة العداء لأكثر من خمسة عقود. فهناك توتراتٌ بين دولتي شمال أفريقيا حول  الصحراء الغربية؛ مشروع خط أنابيب مثير للجدل بالإضافة إلى سياسات الهجرة. فقد ازدادت الصراعات منذ العام الماضي ووصلت إلى ذروةٍ أخرى في أكتوبر 2017، عندما اتهم وزير الشؤون الخارجية الجزائري عبد القادر مساهل المغرب بغسل أموال المخدرات في إفريقيا.

ومع ذلك، في الأشهر الأخيرة تحوّل الخطاب الحكومي لكلا البلدين إلى خطابٍ يحمل نبرةً أكثر وداً وتوافقاً إلى حدٍ كبير. يعدّ هذا اتجاهاً غير متوقعٍ يؤجج باستمرار الشائعات حول تقاربٍ سياسي محتملٍ بين البلدين، بل أشعل أيضاً الدعم الشعبي لمقترح ملفٍ مشترك لتنظيم نهائيات كأس العالم لثلاث دول مغاربية، ألا وهي المغرب والجزائر وتونس لبطولة 2030. فقد تمت الدعوة مراراً وتكراراً، منذ ذلك الحين، لملفٍ مغاربي مشترك لنهائيات 2030 على وسائل التواصل الاجتماعي، بل واشتملت الدعوات على فتح الحدود المغربية الجزائرية، المغلقة رسمياً منذ عام 1994.

ومع إعلان المغرب بالفعل عزمه عدم الإستسلام والترشح مجدداً، إلا أن الدعوات لتقديم ملفٍ مغاربي مشترك لبطولة 2030 لم تكتسب فقط الدعم من قِبل مشجعي كرة القدم، بل كان لها أيضاً صدى إيجابي بين صناع القرار في شمال إفريقيا.

“لم نتلق أي عرضٍ رسمي، إلا أننا منفتحون على الفكرة ونرغب في رؤية الأمر على أرض الواقع،” هذا ما قاله رئيس اتحاد كرة القدم التونسي، وديع الجريء في يوليو، في حين أعلن وزير الشباب والرياضة الجزائري، محمد حطاب، أن الحكومة “ستدرس إحتمال ترشح دول المغرب” لبطولة كأس العالم 2030.

بينما يُجادل معلقون مثل ماكس غالين، وهو باحثُ يركز على الاقتصاد السياسي لشمال افريقيا ويكتب لموقع ميدل إيست آي، وغيره بحماس لصالح ملفٍ مغاربي مشترك لبطولة كأس العالم 2030. وبحسب ما كتبه غالين، “سيسمح هذا لدول المغرب العربي تقاسم تكاليف استثمارات البنية التحتية،” بل وسيعزز التكامل الإقليمي الذي تمس الحاجة إليه. ولكن على الرغم من أن الاستضافة المشتركة لمثل هذا الحدث المرموق قد تنطوي بالفعل على إمكانية تخفيف التوترات بين حكومتي الرباط والجزائر وتشجيع التكامل الاقتصادي في شمال إفريقيا، التي تُعرف بكونها المنطقة الأقل اتحاداً في العالم، فإن جدوى مثل هذه المشاركة في الملف المغاربي موضع شكٍ كبير.

ففي مقاله الذي نشره موقع ميدل ايست أي، يُجادل غالين بأن مشروعاً مثل كأس العالم سيكون “بالضبط ذلك النوع من التشجيع الذي قد يساهم في بناء التعاون، وتوفير مناسبة رمزية لتخفيف حدة التوتر.” كما شدد على أن الملف المغاربي المشترك “يجب أن يكون فعلياً أكثر شمولاً من سابقيه، ما سيخلق بنية تحتية ستعود بالفائدة على السكان المحليين بعد انتهاء الحدث،” وذلك لتفادي تجربة البرازيل وجنوب افريقيا، “حيث تناقضت النفقات المُسرفة مع الفقر المحلي مما أدى إلى احتجاجات واسعة النطاق.”

ولكن مع ذلك، هناك العديد من العوائق التي تحول دون التخطيط والتنفيذ المشترك السليم لهذا النوع من الملفات، والتي يصعب التغلب عليها، خاصة في الجزائر. فحتى لو افترضنا أن التقارب اللفظي الأخير بين الجزائر والمغرب لن يكون قصير الأمد وأن الشروط السياسية المسبقة في المنطقة تتحقق بطريقةٍ مستدامة من أجل المضي قدماً بمثل هذه المبادرة، فإنه من غير المرجح أن يتم حل القضايا المُلحة الأخرى بتلك السرعة. ينطبق هذا على افتقار الجزائر إلى وسائل النقل والبنية التحتية السياحية الكافية ولسياسة تأشيراتها التقييدية وكذلك العنف المستمر في الملاعب الجزائرية.

وقال الصحفي الجزائري الرياضي الشهير، وليد بيلكا، الذي يعمل لصحيفة La Gazette du Fennec، لنا في فَنَك: “في حين أن الجزائر قد حسّنت بنيتها التحتية بشكلٍ كبير خلال السنوات الخمس عشرة إلى العشر الماضية، إلا أن البلاد لا زالت متخلفة جداً عن معظم البلدان الحديثة في العديد من الجوانب، خاصة فيما يتعلق بالنقل والإقامة وحسن الضيافة في هذا المجال بشكلٍ عام.” وأضاف “لا تعدّ الجزائر مقصداً سياحياً، كما أنها لا تفتقر فحسب إلى القدرة المادية لاستضافة منافسةٍ دولية كبرى مثل كأس العالم، ولكن أيضاً تفتقر إلى الخبرة والدراية الفنية لاستيعاب مثل هذا العدد الكبير من الناس لمدة تتراوح بين أسبوعين وثلاثة أسابيع.”

وبالفعل، فقد قامت الجزائر بتحديث البنية التحتية للنقل بشكلٍ كبير، حيث تم تشييد طرق رئيسية وخطوط سكك حديدية جديدة تربط بين المدن الكبرى في الشمال الحضري، بالإضافة إلى خطوط الترام وحتى قطار أنفاق في العاصمة الجزائر، إلا أن هذه الخطوات تأخرت كثيراُ في تلبية الطلب المحلي. ولا يزال من المشكوك فيه ما إذا كانت الحكومة قادرة على مواصلة هذا التحديث الكبير للبنية التحتية الجزائرية بعد الآن: فقد أثر انخفاض أسعار النفط بالفعل على الإنفاق الحكومي.

وفي الوقت نفسه، من المقرر أن تستضيف الجزائر دورة الألعاب المتوسطية 2021 في مدينة وهران الساحلية. واليوم، يتم العمل على بناء ملعبٍ جديد وغير ذلك من البنية التحتية الضرورية مثل مرافق الإقامة والتدريب. ومع ذلك، لا تزال الشكوك تساور بيلكا، إذ قال: “ستكون دورة الألعاب المتوسطية 2021 اختبارا كبيراً، لكن سيشهد هذا الحدث حضور الرياضيين المشاركين مع عددٍ محدود جداً من المشجعين والحضور الصحفي.” وتابع القول “ستجلب بطولة كأس العالم العالم بأسره: الرياضيون والمشجعون والصحافة والإعلام والرعاة.”

فقد اعتبرت لجنة تقييم الفيفا أن ملف جارة الجزائر لاستضافة نهائيات كأس العالم في المغرب عام 2026 تنطوي على مخاطرةٍ كبيرة فيما يتعلق بـ”الملاعب، والإقامة، والنقل،” على الرغم من كون البلاد وجهة سياحية رئيسية بالفعل، حيث تستقبل أكثر من 10 ملايين زائر سنوياً. ويُشير بيلكا إلى أن المشاركة الناجحة للجزائر في ملف استضافة كأس العالم أمرٌ غير محتمل- في الوقت الحالي على الأقل.

ومع ذلك، فإنه يستبعد أن العنف المنتشر بشكلٍ كبير في الملاعب الجزائرية يصنف من بين العقبات الرئيسية لاستضافة مثل هذا الحدث. وشدد الصحفي على أن “العنف في الملاعب الجزائرية مرتبطٌ بشكلٍ أساسي بالنادي والمنافسات الإقليمية، وبالكاد نسمع عن أي أحداث عنفٍ عند مشاركة المنتخب الوطني،” مضيفاً أن كرة القدم الوطنية تضم وفوداً دولية فضلاً عن مراقبة الفيفا، وأن المنظمين والأمن لن يوقفهم شيء ليكونوا على أهبة الاستعداد وفقاً لذلك.

يُشكل الإعداد لملفٍ مشترك يضم الدول الثلاث تحدياً، مما يجعل تقديم ملفٍ مغاربي مشترك ناجح لاستضافة نهائيات كأس العالم 2030 أمراً مستبعداً. ومع ذلك، لا تزال دبلوماسية كرة القدم تمتلك القدرة على تخفيف حدة التوتر في المنطقة وقد تؤثر إيجاباً على التكامل السياسي والاقتصادي في المنطقة المغاربية في المستقبل القريب.

دعمكم عونٌ لنا

فَنَك هي مؤسسة إعلامية إلكترونية مستقلة، لا تمولها أي دولة أو مجموعات مصالح. تلتزم فَنَك بنشر تحليلاتٍ مبنية على الوقائع ومحايدة، إلى جانب التقارير المواضيعية حول الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا.
شهد الموقع نمواً سريعاً في نطاق وعمق المعلومات التي يُقدمها، واليوم، بات يُشكل مصدراً غنياً وقيماً للمعلومات عن 21 بلداً، من المغرب إلى عُمان ومن إيران إلى اليمن، باللغتين العربية والإنجليزية. حالياً، وصل عدد القراء إلى 6 ملايين سنوياً، والعدد آخذٌ بالإزدياد.
لضمان حيادية المعلومات على موقع فَنَك (وقائع وأحداث) ، تُنشر المقالات دون ذكر أسماء الكتّاب، مما يُتيح أيضاً لمراسلينا مساحة أكبر من الحرية عند التطرق إلى القضايا الحساسة أو المثيرة للجدل فى بلادهم. وإلى جانب ذلك، نتحرى حقائق جميع المعلومات الواردة في مقالاتنا قبل النشر لضمان دقة المعلومات، وحداثتها وحيادها.

استمرارية تشغيل مثل هذا الموقع الإلكتروني مُكلفة للغاية. بتبرعٍ صغيرٍ منك، يمكنك المساهمة في الحفاظ على حرية واستقلالية تغطيتنا.

Fanack Home / Sports and Politics / Why Morocco, Algeria and Tunisia will not launch a joint 2030 World Cup Bid

Why Morocco, Algeria and Tunisia will not launch a joint 2030 World Cup Bid

Morocco- CAF Champions League
A football match between Morocco’s Fat’h Union Sport and Algeria’s MO Bejaia. Photo AFP

In 2010, South Africa was the first African country ever to host the World Cup, but for more than 24 years, another African state has consistently pursued to welcome the popular FIFA event on the African continent: Morocco. Yet the country’s most recent World Cup bid, for the 2026 tournament – the kingdom’s fifth attempt so far – has failed again.

The country already competed to host the event in 1994, 1998, 2006 and 2010 but only got close to a success in the final vote for the 2010 tournament, which was eventually won by its South African rival. As Morocco has significantly upgraded its sporting and tourist infrastructure since its first bid in 1994, winning the most recent competition was within the realms of possibility. But instead, Morocco had lost the final round of voting once again, this time against the joint North American bid, composed of the United States, Mexico and Canada by a landslide of 134 against 65 votes, only one day before the kick-off of the 2018 World Cup in Russia.

Immediately after voting results were announced, frustration and anger erupted in Morocco’s press and on social media. Eleven African and seven Arab football federations, including the ones from Saudi Arabia, Jordan and Lebanon (as well as Kuwait, Bahrain and Iraq) had supported the North American bid, whereas Morocco’s arch rival Algeria had backed its neighbor in the final vote.

Algeria’s outspoken support for Morocco in this regard was not a matter of course and therefore indeed surprising, as bilateral relations between both states have been severely hostile for more than five decades. There are tensions between the two North African countries over Western Sahara, a controversial pipeline project as well as migration policies. Conflicts have increased since last year and reached yet another peak in October 2017, when Algeria’s Minister of Foreign Affairs, Abdelkader Messahel, accused Morocco of laundering drug money in Africa.

Nevertheless, in recent months, the governmental rhetoric of both countries has significantly shifted towards a friendlier and more accommodating tone. This is an unexpected trend that persistently fuels rumors about a possible political rapprochement of the two countries and even triggered popular support for a joint World Cup bid of the three Maghreb states Morocco, Algeria and Tunisia for the 2030 tournament. Calls for a Maghreb 2030 bid have been repeatedly raised in social media ever since and even include calls for immediately opening the Moroccan-Algerian border, which has been officially closed since 1994.

As Morocco has already announced its intention to not give up and apply again, calls for the launching of a joint Maghreb 2030 bid have not only gained support among football fans but also decision makers in North Africa.

“We haven’t received any official offer, but we’re open to the idea and would like to see it happen”, the president of the Tunisian Football Federation, Wadie Jary, said in July while Algeria’s Minister of Youth and Sports, Mohamed Hattab, announced that his government “will study a possible candidacy of the Maghreb countries” for the World Cup 2030.

Commentators like Max Gallien, a researcher focusing on Political Economy of North Africa who wrote in Middle East Eye, and others are arguing enthusiastically in favor of a joint Maghreb 2030 bid. This, Gallien writes, “would allow the Maghreb countries to spread the costs for infrastructure investments” and even boost a much needed regional integration. But although a joint hosting of such a prestigious event has indeed the potential to ease tensions between the governments in Rabat and Algiers and foster economic integration in North Africa, which is known for being the world’s most poorly integrated region, the feasibility of such a joint Maghreb bid is highly questionable.

In his article for Middle East Eye, Gallien rightly argues that a project like the World Cup would be “exactly the kind of incentive that could help to build cooperation, providing a symbolic occasion to ease tensions”. He also emphasizes that a joint Maghreb bid “would have to be substantially more inclusive than its predecessors, creating infrastructure that would continue to benefit locals after the circus moves on” in order to avoid Brazil’s and South Africa’s experience, “where lavish expenses contrasted with local poverty and set off widespread protests”.

But nevertheless, many obstacles for a proper joint planning and implementation of such a bid are considerably difficult to overcome, especially in Algeria. Even if we assume that the recent verbal rapprochement between Algeria and Morocco will not be short-lived and that political preconditions in the region are fulfilled in a sustainable manner in order to go ahead with such an initiative, other severe issues are unlikely to be solved that fast.

This applies to Algeria’s lack of sufficient transportation and tourist infrastructure and its restrictive visa policy as well as the ongoing violence in Algerian stadiums.

“While Algeria has greatly improved its infrastructure over the last 15 to 20 years, the country still severely lacks behind most modern countries in many aspects, mainly with regards to transportation, accommodation and the hospitality of the industry in general”, Walid Bylka, an Algerian sports journalist working for La Gazette du Fennec, told Fanack Chronicle. “Algeria is not a tourist destination and lacks not only the physical capacity to host a major international competition like the World Cup, but especially the expertise and technical know-how to accommodate such a large number of people for a two to three week period”, he adds.

Algeria has indeed massively upgraded its transportation infrastructure, building new highways and railway lines connecting the bigger cities in the urban north as well as tramways and even a metro in the capital Algiers. But those investments were all long overdue to meet local demand. It remains doubtful whether the government is able to continue with this large-scale modernization of Algeria’s infrastructure any longer: the low price has already severely affected government spending.

Meanwhile, Algeria is set to host the 2021 Mediterranean Games in the coastal city of Oran. A new stadium and other necessary infrastructure like accommodation and training facilities are being built right now. But Bylka is still skeptical. “The 2021 Mediterranean Games will be a big test but that event will mainly see athletes making the trip with a very limited number of fans and press attending”, he said. “The World Cup will bring the entire world: athletes, fans, press, media and sponsors.”

Algeria’s neighbour Morocco’s 2026 bid was deemed a high risk by FIFA’s evaluation committee for “stadiums, accommodation and transportation”, although the country is already a major tourist destination, with over ten million visitors per year. So Bylka indicates that a successful Algerian participation in a World Cup Bid is unlikely – at least for now.

However, he rules out that the widespread violence in Algerian stadiums ranks among the major obstacles to host such an event. “Violence in Algerian stadiums is mainly tied to club and regional rivalries, you almost never hear about violence when the national team is involved”, the journalist emphasized, adding that national team football involves international delegations and FIFA scrutiny, and that organizers and security stop at nothing to prepare accordingly.

Designing a joint bid involving all three states is challenging, which makes a successful joint Maghreb 2030 bid quite unlikely. But football diplomacy still has the potential to ease tensions in the region and might positively affect political and economic integration in the Maghreb in the near future.

image_pdfimage_print

We would like to ask you something …

Fanack is an independent media organisation, not funded by any state or any interest group, that distributes in the Middle East and the wider world unbiased analysis and background information, based on facts, about the Middle East and North Africa.

The website grew rapidly in breadth and depth and today forms a rich and valuable source of information on 21 countries, from Morocco to Oman and from Iran to Yemen, both in Arabic and English. We currently reach six million readers annually and growing fast.

In order to guarantee the impartiality of information on the Chronicle, articles are published without by-lines. This also allows correspondents to write more freely about sensitive or controversial issues in their country. All articles are fact-checked before publication to ensure that content is accurate, current and unbiased.

To run such a website is very expensive. With a small donation, you can make a huge impact. And it only takes a minute. Thank you.