فَنَكْ وقائع وأحداث عن الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا / الرياضة والسياسة / قطر تعزز قبضتها على كرة القدم العالمية

قطر تعزز قبضتها على كرة القدم العالمية

Specials- Asian cup 2019
المهاجم القطري حسن الهيدوس (وسط) يرفع الكأس بينما يحتفل اللاعبون بفوزهم بالمباراة النهائية لكأس آسيا لكرة القدم عام 2019 بين اليابان وقطر في أبو ظبي في 1 فبراير 2019. Photo AFP ©AFP ⁃ Roslan RAHMAN

فازت قطر في عام 2011، بشرف استضافة نهائيات بطولة كأس العالم لكرة القدم عام 2022. وخلافاً لجميع التوقعات، فازت الإمارة الصغيرة الغنية بالنفط بكأس آسيا 2019 في فبراير الماضي. تظهر هذه الانتصارات قبضة قطر التي تمكنت من تحقيقها على كرة القدم العالمية في السنوات الأخيرة.

فقد فازت قطر على اليابان بنتيجة 3-1 في الحدث الذي أقيم في دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة، لتصبح بطلةً قارية لأول مرة وفي أول ظهورٍ لها في أحد نهائيات عالم المستديرة. وصفت القناة الرياضية ESPN ومقرها الولايات المتحدة، الفريق القطري بالمنتخب اليافع والسريع والمستعد، “بالنظر إلى أعمار المشاركين، فلا ينبغي سوى أن يتحسن أداء المنتخب ليكون على أهبة الإستعداد بحلول موعد نهائيات كأس العالم 2022.”

إلا أن فوز المنتخب القطري لا يتعلق فقط بقطر، فكما ذكرت رويترز في مقال نشرته يوم 2 فبراير، “ربما يكون اكتساح قطر لضمان لقب كأس آسيا لأول مرة في أبو ظبي هو أسوأ السيناريوهات بالنسبة للبلد المضيف، إلا أنه أيضاً منح الأمل لكرة الخليج بأنه لربما الآن لن تكون هذه تجربةً مذلة للمنطقة في كأس العالم 2022.”

وفي ديسمبر 2018، قال جياني إنفانتينو، رئيس الإتحاد الدولي لكرة القدم (الفيفا) وخليفة سيب بلاتر، خلال كلمةٍ ألقاها أمام زعماء مجموعة العشرين، “يمكن لكرة القدم أن تجمعنا وتجعل العالم مكاناً أكثر ازدهاراً وتعليماً ومساواةً وربما أكثر سلاماً.”

لا شيء يجافي الحقيقة أكثر مما حصل في كأس آسيا، حيث حاولت دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة، المنخرطة حالياً مع دولة قطر في أزمةٍ دبلوماسية حول دعمها المزعوم للإرهاب، منع مشجعي قطر من حضور المباريات واعتقلت رجلاً لارتدائه قميص منتخب قطر. كما شكك الاتحاد الإماراتي لكرة القدم في أهلية بعض لاعبي قطر، بما في ذلك أفضل هداف في البطولة المعز علي، إلا أن الاتحاد الآسيوي لكرة القدم، الهيئة الإدارية الإقليمية للرياضة، رفض الشكاوى المقدمة ضدهم.

فقد أصبحت الرياضة في الخليج ساحة معركةٍ سياسية، كما أوضح سيمون تشادويك، أستاذ المشاريع الرياضية بجامعة سالفورد في المملكة المتحدة، لفَنَك في أكتوبر 2018، إذ قال “تستثمر قطر بكثافة في مجال الرياضة منذ أكثر من عشر سنوات الآن لأن هذه إحدى الطرق لرفع مكانتها وإبراز ذاتها على المستوى العالمي، وبناء سوق مستدامة، وممارسة القوة الناعمة، وخلق تماسك اجتماعي وطني، ومعالجة مرض السكري من خلال ممارسة الرياضة. تأخذ قطر الرياضة على محمل الجد، الأمر الذي توّج بترشحها لاستضافة نهائيات كأس العالم عام 2022. فهي تستضيف بالفعل منافساتٍ سنوية مثل بطولة العالم لألعاب القوى، وأصبحت بمثابة وجهة للأحداث الرياضية.”

تم بناء منتخب قطر من الصفر، دون تخصيص أي نفقاتٍ لإنجاحه. جلب مدرب المنتخب فيليكس سانشيز، لاعبين من أكاديمية أسباير ومنتخب اليافعين القطري، مما خلق واحداً من أصغر المنتخبات في كأس آسيا، حيث سيقترب النجمان المعز علي وأكرم عفيف من القمة مع استضافة قطر لكأس العالم.

سانشيز هو مدرب كرة قدم إسباني بدأ مسيرته مع نادي برشلونة لكرة القدم قبل أن يتوجه إلى قطر وأكاديمية أسباير، التي تأسست في عام 2004 بهدف الاستكشاف والمساعدة في تطوير الرياضيين القطريين وفي الوقت نفسه تزويدهم بالتعليم الثانوي. أثبت نفسه من خلال الفوز ببطولة آسيا تحت 19 عاماً عام 2014. ومع ذلك، لبناء منتخبٍ قوي، كان عليه التوجه إلى الخارج، إذ تُشكل ثلاثة عشر جنسية إلى جانب القطريين المنتخب الوطني القطري، بما في ذلك 11 أفريقياً، معظمهم من السودان.

من جهتها، تنص قواعد أهلية اللاعبين التابعة للفيفا على أنه يجب أن يكون اللاعب “قد عاش بشكلٍ مستمر لمدة خمس سنواتٍ على الأقل بعد بلوغه سن 18 عاماً على أراضي الاتحاد المعني،” مما دفع قطر إلى منح الجنسية القطرية لمعظم لاعبيها. تقدمت الإمارات، خصم نصف نهائي كأس آسيا، والتي فازت عليها قطر بأربعة أهدافٍ نظيفة، بشكوى بعد المباراة بدعوى أن اللاعبين لم يكونا مؤهلين للعب مع المنتخب. أثارت عدم استجابة الاتحاد القطري لكرة القدم مزيداً من التساؤلات، كما أن إحالة الإتحاد الدولي لكرة القدم المسألة إلى الاتحاد الآسيوي لكرة القدم قد يشير إلى أنه لربما يغض الطرف عن الأمر مع اقتراب كأس العالم.

وعلاوةً على ذلك، لا توجد أرقامٌ محددة لاستثمارات قطر في منتخبها الوطني أو فيما يتعلق بالاستعدادات لعام 2022. ومع ذلك، وفقاً لما أوردته مجلة ميدل إيست إيكونوميك دايجست (MEED)، ستنفق قطر 100 مليار دولار فقط على البنية التحتية المرتبطة بالبطولة. ومنذ البداية، وضعت الحكومة برنامجاً استثمارياً هائلاً، حيث قال وزير المالية علي شريف العمادي في فبراير 2017 إن قطر تستثمر 500 مليون دولار في البنية التحتية كل أسبوع. كما قال مسؤولٌ قطري كبير إن قطر تريد أيضا تطوير قطاع الرياضة المحلي وجذب المزيد من شركات الرياضة الأجنبية بهدف تطوير صناعة بقيمة 20 مليار دولار قبل كأس العالم.

تحتل البلاد حالياً المركز 93 في التصنيف العالمي للفيفا، بفارق نقطةٍ واحدة عن ترينيداد وتوباغو وبفارق بسيط عن جمهورية بنين، بينما تحتل الإمارات العربية المتحدة المركز الـ 98. ووفقاً لصحيفة ذا إندبندنت البريطانية، فإن “المنتخب [الوطني] القطري قدم أداءً مثيراً للإعجاب في [ كأس آسيا]، حيث برز حتى بالمقارنة مع المنتخبات الأرستقراطية الآسيوية، مثل اليابان.” وأضافت الصحيفة، “إن هذا يشير إلى أن استراتيجيات اكتساب وتطوير المواهب في البلاد تحقق النتائج المرجوة منها. وبغض النظر عن رأيك في حصاد اللاعبين، فإن بعض الإجراءات مثل إنشاء أكاديمية أسباير على مشارف [العاصمة] الدوحة وشراء النادي البلجيكي أويبن (KAS Eupen) (كوسيلة يمكن من خلالها صقل مهارات اللاعبين القطريين) تؤتي ثمارها.”

وعلى مدار العقد الماضي، استثمرت قطر بكثافة في كرة القدم في الخارج، حيث بلغت استثماراتها 1,6 مليار دولار منذ عام 2012 لصالح الفرق الضخمة مثل نادي باريس سان جرمان الفرنسي وبرشلونة في إسبانيا. ويبدو أن الاستثمار في الرياضة ليس مجرد وسيلةٍ لقطر للترويج لنفسها خارج منطقة الخليج فحسب ولكن أيضاً لتأمين الدخل في عالمٍ يتوقع أن تنخفض فيه عائدات النفط.

عام 2022 هو أول عامٍ يتم فيه اختيار قطر لاستضافة كأس العالم، مكانةٌ شرفت البلاد كدولةٍ مستضيفة، فضلاً عن كونها أول فرصةٍ للبلاد لتثبت قوة قبضتها على كرة القدم على الساحة العالمية.

© Copyright Notice

click on link to view the associated photo/image
©AFP ⁃ Roslan RAHMAN

دعمكم عونٌ لنا

فَنَك هي مؤسسة إعلامية إلكترونية مستقلة، لا تمولها أي دولة أو مجموعات مصالح. تلتزم فَنَك بنشر تحليلاتٍ مبنية على الوقائع ومحايدة، إلى جانب التقارير المواضيعية حول الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا.
شهد الموقع نمواً سريعاً في نطاق وعمق المعلومات التي يُقدمها، واليوم، بات يُشكل مصدراً غنياً وقيماً للمعلومات عن 21 بلداً، من المغرب إلى عُمان ومن إيران إلى اليمن، باللغتين العربية والإنجليزية. حالياً، وصل عدد القراء إلى 6 ملايين سنوياً، والعدد آخذٌ بالإزدياد.
لضمان حيادية المعلومات على موقع فَنَك (وقائع وأحداث) ، تُنشر المقالات دون ذكر أسماء الكتّاب، مما يُتيح أيضاً لمراسلينا مساحة أكبر من الحرية عند التطرق إلى القضايا الحساسة أو المثيرة للجدل فى بلادهم. وإلى جانب ذلك، نتحرى حقائق جميع المعلومات الواردة في مقالاتنا قبل النشر لضمان دقة المعلومات، وحداثتها وحيادها.

استمرارية تشغيل مثل هذا الموقع الإلكتروني مُكلفة للغاية. بتبرعٍ صغيرٍ منك، يمكنك المساهمة في الحفاظ على حرية واستقلالية تغطيتنا.

Fanack Home / Sports and Politics / Qatar Strengthens Grip on World Football

Qatar Strengthens Grip on World Football

Specials- Asian cup 2019
Qatar’s forward Hasan Al Haydos (C) raises the cup as the players celebrate their win during the 2019 AFC Asian Cup final football match between Japan and Qatar in Abu Dhabi on February 1, 2019. Photo AFP

In 2011, Qatar won the bid to host the 2022 FIFA World Cup. Against the odds, the tiny, oil-rich state also won the 2019 Asian Cup in February. These victories show the grip Qatar has managed to gain on world football in recent years.

Qatar defeated Japan 3-1 at the event in the United Arab Emirates (UAE) to become continental champions for the first time and in its first final appearance. The US-based sports channel ESPN described the Qatari team as young, fast and willing. ‘Given the ages of those involved, it should only get better and be coming to the boil nicely by the time the 2022 World Cup comes around.’

But Qatar’s win is not just about Qatar. As Reuters put it in an article on 2 February, ‘Qatar running rampant to secure a maiden Asian Cup title in Abu Dhabi might have been the worst-case scenario for the hosts, but it also offered hope for Gulf football that the 2022 World Cup might not now be a humiliating experience for the region.’

In December 2018, Gianni Infantino, Sepp Blatter’s successor as FIFA president, said during a speech to the G20 leaders, “Football can bring us together and make the world a more prosperous, educated, equal and perhaps even peaceful place.”

Nothing could have been further from the truth at the Asian Cup, where the UAE, with which Qatar is currently embroiled in a diplomatic standoff over its alleged support for terrorism, tried to stop Qatar fans from attending games and reportedly arrested a man for wearing a Qatar shirt. The UAE’s football association also questioned the eligibility of some of Qatar’s players, including the tournament’s top goal scorer Almoez Ali, but their complaints were dismissed by the Asian Football Confederation, the sport’s regional governing body.

Sports in the Gulf have become a political battleground, as Simon Chadwick, professor of sports enterprise at Salford University in the United Kingdom, explained to Fanack in October 2018. “Qatar has been investing heavily in the field of sports for more than ten years now because it is a way to raise its profile and global visibility, build a sustainable market, exercise soft power, create a national social cohesion and tackle diabetes through exercise. Qatar is taking sports seriously, which culminated in its nomination to host the 2022 World Cup. It already hosts yearly competitions like the World Athletics Championship and has become something of a sports event destination.”

Qatar’s team has been built from scratch, with no expense spared to make it successful. Its head coach  Felix Sanchez brought in players from the Aspire Academy and Qatar’s youth sides, creating one of the youngest squads at the Asian Cup. Star players Almoez Ali and Akram Afif will be approaching their peak when Qatar hosts the World Cup.

Sanchez is a Spanish football manager who started his career with FC Barcelona before heading to Qatar and the Aspire Academy, founded in 2004 with the goal of scouting and helping develop Qatari athletes while also providing them with secondary education. He has proved his worth by winning the 2014 AFC U-19 Championship. However, to build a strong team, he had to go abroad. Thirteen nationalities besides Qatari make up the national team, including 11 Africans, mainly from Sudan.

FIFA’s eligibility rules state that a player must have ‘lived continuously for at least five years after reaching the age of 18 on the territory of the relevant Association’, which pushed Qatar to give Qatari nationality to most of its players. The UAE, Qatar’s Asian Cup semifinal opponent, which Qatar beat 4-0, lodged a complaint after the match claiming that two players were not eligible to play. The Qatari football associations lack of response has only raised more eyebrows, and FIFA’s deferral on the matter to the Asian Football Confederation suggests it might turn a blind eye as the World Cup approaches.

No exact numbers could be found for Qatar’s investment in its national team or in preparations for 2022. However, according to the Middle East Economic Digest (MEED), Qatar will spend $100 billion just on infrastructure linked to the tournament. From the start, the government laid out a massive investment programme, with Finance Minister Ali Shareef al-Emadi saying in February 2017 that Qatar was investing $500 million in infrastructure each week. Qatar also wants to develop the local sports sector and to attract more foreign sports companies, with the aim of developing a $20 billion industry ahead of the World Cup, a senior official said.

The country currently stands at 93 in FIFA’s world rankings, one spot behind Trinidad and Tobago and just ahead of Benin, while the UAE stands at 98. According to the British newspaper The Independent, ‘The [Qatari] national team has impressed at [the Asian Cup], standing out even by comparison with Asian aristocracy, such as Japan,’. It added, ‘This suggests the country’s talent acquisition and development strategies are delivering their intended outcomes. Whatever you think about player harvesting, measures such as the creation of the Aspire Academy on the outskirts of [the capital] Doha and the purchase of Belgian club KAS Eupen (as a vehicle through which to hone Qatari players’ skills) are bearing fruit.’

Over the past decade, Qatar has also invested heavily in football abroad, funnelling $1.6 billion since 2012 to mega-franchises such as France’s Paris Saint-Germain FC and FC Barcelona in Spain. It looks like investing in sports might be a way not only for Qatar to brand itself outside of the Gulf region but also to secure income in a world where oil revenues are predicted to decline.

2022 is Qatar’s first selection for the World Cup, a place it was given as the host, and the first chance the country will have to prove the strength of its grip on football on the global stage.

image_pdfimage_print

We would like to ask you something …

Fanack is an independent media organisation, not funded by any state or any interest group, that distributes in the Middle East and the wider world unbiased analysis and background information, based on facts, about the Middle East and North Africa.

The website grew rapidly in breadth and depth and today forms a rich and valuable source of information on 21 countries, from Morocco to Oman and from Iran to Yemen, both in Arabic and English. We currently reach six million readers annually and growing fast.

In order to guarantee the impartiality of information on the Chronicle, articles are published without by-lines. This also allows correspondents to write more freely about sensitive or controversial issues in their country. All articles are fact-checked before publication to ensure that content is accurate, current and unbiased.

To run such a website is very expensive. With a small donation, you can make a huge impact. And it only takes a minute. Thank you.