فَنَكْ وقائع وأحداث عن الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا / الرياضة والسياسة / تدخل الدولة يعرض الرياضة الإيرانية للخطر

تدخل الدولة يعرض الرياضة الإيرانية للخطر

Iranian Saeid Mollaei
الإيراني سعيد مولاي (بالأبيض) يواجه الياباني سوتارو فوجيوارا (بالأزرق) في منافسات فئة الرجال لوزن أقل من 81 كجم في بطولة العالم للجودو عام 2018 في باكو في 23 سبتمبر 2018. Photo: Mladen ANTONOV / AFP ©AFP ⁃ Mladen ANTONOV

تتمتع الفرق الرياضية الإيرانية بسمعةٍ حسنة على مستوى العالم وتشجعها غالبية السكان، إلا أن تدخل المرشد الأعلى، علي خامنئي، والحرس الثوري الإيراني قيّد إمكاناتهم وأثار إدانةً واسعة النطاق، بما في ذلك من الهيئات الرياضية الدولية.

واليوم، قد يعني قمع السلطات أن تمنع الدولة المنتخبات الوطنية من المشاركة في أولمبياد 2020 في طوكيو باليابان، مما يثير مخاوف أوسع بشأن حقوق الإنسان حول الرياضة الإيرانية.

فعلى سبيل المثال، منع الاتحاد الدولي للجودو إيران رسمياً من التنافس في أي من بطولاته، إذ تم إصدار إشعار بتجميد نشاطاتها في 22 أكتوبر 2019 بعد أن ظهر أنه في 28 أغسطس، تم توجيه سعيد مولاي بالانسحاب من المنافسة لتجنب مواجهة اللاعب الاسرائيلي ساغي موكي من قبل رئيس اتحاد الجودو الإيراني وربما اثنين آخرين رفيعي المستوى من مسؤولي الرياضة الإيرانيين.

من جهته، ينفي اتحاد الجودو الإيراني هذه الادعاءات، بحجة أن مولاي اختلق القصة لتعزيز فرصه في تغيير جنسيته.

ومع ذلك، تلقى الاتحاد الدولي للجودو معلوماتٍ داعمة من عبد الله مرادوف، أحد المتحدثين بالفارسية الذي كان مع الرياضي عندما تلقى رسالة خلال بطولة العالم للجودو في طوكيو من النائب الأول لوزير الرياضة الإيراني بالإضافة إلى مكالمة من رئيس اللجنة الأولمبية الوطنية الإيرانية يطلب من الرياضي عدم خوض النزال.

وعليه، واصل الاتحاد الدولي للجودو تعليق أنشطة إيران بعد وصف التعليمات للاعبين الإيرانيين بالخرق لميثاقها.

تجاهل مولاي، 27 سنة، الأوامر وواصل المنافسة ضد ماتياس كاس، ليخسر أمام البلجيكي. وبدلاً من العودة إلى إيران، ذهب إلى ألمانيا وطلب اللجوء، وفقاً لرئيس الاتحاد الدولي للجودو ماريوس فايسر.

وفي مقابلةٍ له مع الاتحاد الدولي للجودو، قال مولاي: “حتى وإن أخبرتني سلطات بلادي أن بإمكاني العودة دون مشاكل، أنا خائف. أخشى ما سيحصل لي ولعائلتي.” وأضاف “أريد المشاركة أينما أستطيع. فأنا أعيش في بلدٍ لا يسمح لي قانونه بذلك. نحن لا نملك الخيار؛ يجب على جميع الرياضيين الامتثال للقانون. ما فعلته اليوم هو من أجل حياتي، من أجل حياة جديدة.”

ومن الجدير بالذكر أن إيران منعت الرياضيين من التنافس ضد الإسرائيليين منذ عام 1979، وتعاقب أولئك الذين لا يمتثلون.

الحظر غير الرسمي لم يؤثر فقط على رياضة الجودو. ففي عام 2017، خسر علي رضا كريمي ماشيني، المنافس الإيراني في بطولة العالم للمصارعة الكبرى تحت سن 23 عاماً في بولندا، عن عمد أمام خصمه الروسي من أجل تجنب مواجهة لاعبٍ إسرائيلي، مدفوعاً بدعوات “علي رضا اخسر” من مدربه، الخطوة التي أشاد بها الاتحاد الإيراني للمصارعة بعد المباراة.

وفيما بعد، عاقبته اللجنة التأديبية في الاتحاد الدولي للمصارعة لخسارته القتال، مماد دفع رئيس هيئة المصارعة الإيرانية رسول خادم، إلى الاستقالة ، قائلاً: “إذا كان يجب علينا الاستمرار في سياسة عدم التنافس ضد الرياضيين من الكيان الصهيوني، فلا يمكن أن تقع المسؤولية على عاتق المدرب والرياضي.”

أثارت هذه السياسة مخاوف من أن يواجه خمسة مصارعين إيرانيين رد فعلٍ عنيف في حال مواجهتهم منافسين إسرائيليين في بطولة العالم للمصارعة 2019 التي أقيمت في الفترة من 14 إلى 22 سبتمبر في كازاخستان.

فقد كتب خادم رسالةً إلى المجلس الأعلى للأمن القومي محذراً من أن هذه السياسة طويلة الأمد تعرض فرص إيران في التأهل لأولمبياد 2020 للخطر.

فقد كتب “هذا الأمر يتجاوز حرمان أبطالنا الوطنيين في هذا المجال، الذين كانوا ولا يزالوا حاملين راية الفخر والكرامة لبلادنا في المنافسات الأولمبية الكبرى وفي الساحات الدولية. يضع هذا مجمل المصارعة الإيرانية في خطر.”

وبعد مناقشاتٍ مع رئيس الاتحاد الدولي للمصارعة، خلصوا إلى أن تعليق المنافسات في الألعاب الأولمبية قد لا يقتصر فحسب على اتحاد المصارعة الإيراني بل لربما يشمل جميع الرياضات الإيرانية.

ومع ذلك، يرفض آية الله خامنئي سحب هذه السياسة، إذ نصح النقاد بعدم “الخضوع للتهديدات.”

ومع ذلك، ذعنت إيران لبعض الضغوطات الخارجية، فمنذ منعها النساء من حضور مباريات كرة القدم في ملاعبها منذ عام 1981 بصرف النظر عن بعض التنازلات من حين لآخر لاسترضاء الاتحاد الدولي لكرة القدم (الفيفا)، إلا أنها تراجعت مؤخراً عن هذا القانون القاسي.

وفي 10 أكتوبر، تم تخصيص ما يصل إلى 4000 تذكرة للنساء لدخول استاد آزادي في طهران لمشاهدة المنتخب الوطني في مواجهتة ضد كمبوديا. وافقت السلطات على بيع عددٍ محدد من التذاكر للنساء لحضور المباريات الدولية، لكن هذا لم يحصل سوى بعد سنواتٍ من الحملات، وتسلل النساء إلى المباريات متخفياتٍ بملابس رجال، وبالتالي، عددٌ من حالات الحبس التعسفي.

تمثل قضية “الفتاة الزرقاء” نقطة تحولٍ في معركة النساء لحضور مباريات كرة القدم. ففي 2 سبتمبر، ارتدت سحر خداياري ألوان فريقها المفضل، إستقلال طهران، وأشعلت النيران بنفسها أمام محكمة ثورية في طهران، للاحتجاج على حكم بسجنها لمدة ستة أشهر لمحاولتها دخول الملعب لمشاهدة مباراة لكرة قدم. توفيت بعد عدة أيام متأثرة بجراحها.

أجبر الغضب والاهتمام الدولي الاتحاد الدولي لكرة القدم على زيادة الضغط على إيران لضمان قدرة النساء على حضور مباريات كرة القدم تماشياً مع إرشادات الاتحاد الدولي لكرة القدم. أرسل الاتحاد وفداً خاصاً إلى طهران في 19 سبتمبر لضمان عدم وجود عقباتٍ أمام دخول النساء للملاعب بحرية وتمكنهن من حضور مباراة إيران وكمبوديا في 10 أكتوبر.

على الرغم من التقدم المحرز، حذرت جماعات حقوق الإنسان من كونها آخر المباريات، إذ قالت أن تحديد عدد المقاعد للنساء تمييزي.

وقالت مينكي ووردن، مديرة المبادرات العالمية في هيومن رايتس ووتش: “حظر إيران حضور مباريات كرة القدم على نصف السكان دفع بالنساء والفتيات إلى المخاطرة بالاعتقال، والسجن، وحتى بحياتهن لتحدي هذا الحظر.”

وأضافت، “أي تنازلات من قبل الفيفا لتقييد عدد النساء اللواتي يمكنهن دخول الملاعب سيُقوي فقط المتشددين الإيرانيين الذين سبق لهم أن اختاروا سلفاً نساءً للحضور بينما أبقوا على القيود التمييزية”.

في حين قالت مريم قشقايي شجاعي، وهي مشجعة لكرة القدم وناشطة منذ فترة طويلة لرفع الحظر المفروض على النساء في الملاعب، لفَنَك أنه من المهم أن نلاحظ أن تنازلات السلطات قدمت لمباراة واحدة فقط حتى الآن ولا تنطبق إلا على المباريات الدولية. وأضافت “لن تقام مباراة وطنية إلا بعد ستة أشهر.”

وأضافت: “كانت أعلى الأصوات المناهضة للحظر تتعلق بمباريات الدوري. الكثير من مباريات الدوري تحدث في جميع أنحاء البلاد ولا يُسمح للنساء بمشاهدتها،” مضيفةً أن جهود الفيفا لم تكن كافية وأن الاتحاد تصرف فقط رداً على ضغوط الناشطين، إذ قالت “نريد الآن من الفيفا تطبيق مهلة أخيرة لفرق الدوري، وليس فقط المنتخب الوطني.”

ومع ذلك، قد يكون لمشاركة الهيئات الدولية وغيرها من الهيئات تأثير على موقف إيران من الرياضة وكيفية تفاعلها مع المواثيق ذات الصلة، وكما قالت شجاعي فهناك نقطة يجب على وزارة الشباب والرياضة أخذها بعين الاعتبار إذا ما عاقبت الاتحادات الرياضية العالمية البلاد.

ومع ذلك، كان نائب وزير الرياضة الإيراني محمد رضا درزاني موجوداً خلف كواليس العديد من القرارات التي تسببت في إثارة الجدل، بما في ذلك إصدار أوامر لمولاي بالانسحاب. كما أنه أوقف لاعبين يلعبان لصلح فريقٍ يوناني وشاركا في مباراةٍ ضد فريق إسرائيلي، مدى الحياة، إلى جانب تصريحه بأنه لا يعتقد أن السماح للنساء بحضور مباريات الدوري الإيراني هو أمر مناسب.

كان لتدخل النظام في الرياضة، سواء كان ذلك بالحد من مشاركة المرأة في الأحداث الرياضية أو منع المنافسة ضد رياضيين إسرائيليين، تأثيراً ملحوظاً على الأفراد، مما أثر على حريتهم وحياتهم، وكذلك بالنسبة للرياضيين، بالحد من فرص تحقيق إمكاناتهم.

أما على المسرح الأولمبي، فيمكن أن يعرض موقف إيران الحالي فرص مشاركتها بالمنافسات للخطر. ومع ذلك، قد يستغرق الأمر جهداً أكثر تضافراً من الهيئات الرياضية الدولية قبل رؤية أي تغييرٍ دائم في هذا المجال بالذات.

© Copyright Notice

click on link to view the associated photo/image
©AFP ⁃ Mladen ANTONOV

دعمكم عونٌ لنا

فَنَك هي مؤسسة إعلامية إلكترونية مستقلة، لا تمولها أي دولة أو مجموعات مصالح. تلتزم فَنَك بنشر تحليلاتٍ مبنية على الوقائع ومحايدة، إلى جانب التقارير المواضيعية حول الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا.
شهد الموقع نمواً سريعاً في نطاق وعمق المعلومات التي يُقدمها، واليوم، بات يُشكل مصدراً غنياً وقيماً للمعلومات عن 21 بلداً، من المغرب إلى عُمان ومن إيران إلى اليمن، باللغتين العربية والإنجليزية. حالياً، وصل عدد القراء إلى 6 ملايين سنوياً، والعدد آخذٌ بالإزدياد.
لضمان حيادية المعلومات على موقع فَنَك (وقائع وأحداث) ، تُنشر المقالات دون ذكر أسماء الكتّاب، مما يُتيح أيضاً لمراسلينا مساحة أكبر من الحرية عند التطرق إلى القضايا الحساسة أو المثيرة للجدل فى بلادهم. وإلى جانب ذلك، نتحرى حقائق جميع المعلومات الواردة في مقالاتنا قبل النشر لضمان دقة المعلومات، وحداثتها وحيادها.

استمرارية تشغيل مثل هذا الموقع الإلكتروني مُكلفة للغاية. بتبرعٍ صغيرٍ منك، يمكنك المساهمة في الحفاظ على حرية واستقلالية تغطيتنا.

Fanack Home / Sports and Politics / State Interference Putting Iranian Sports in Danger

State Interference Putting Iranian Sports in Danger

Iranian Saeid Mollaei
Iran’s Saeid Mollaei (white) fights with Japan’s Sotaro Fujiwara (blue) in the men under 81kg category bout of the 2018 Judo World Championships in Baku on September 23, 2018. Photo: Mladen ANTONOV / AFP ©AFP ⁃ Mladen ANTONOV

Iranian sports teams fair well globally and are supported by the majority of the population, but interference by the Supreme Leader, Ali Khamenei, and the Islamic Revolutionary Guard Corps has constrained their potential and elicited wide condemnation, including from international sporting bodies.

Suppression by the authorities may now mean national teams will be barred by international organizations from competing in the 2020 Olympics in Tokyo, Japan and raises wider human rights concerns around Iranian sports.

The International Judo Federation (IJF) has officially banned Iran from competing in any of its competitions. A final suspension notice was issued on 22 October 2019 after it emerged that on 28 August, Saeid Mollaei was allegedly directed to withdraw from competing to avoid fighting against the Israeli Sagi Muki by the president of the Iran Judo Federation and possibly two other high-ranking Iranian sports officials.

The Iran Judo Federation denies the claims, arguing that Mollaei made them up to strengthen a change of nationality process.

However, the IJF received supporting information from Abdullo Muradov, a Farsi speaker who was with the athlete when he received a message during the World Judo Championships in Tokyo from Iran’s first deputy minister of sport as well as a call from the Iranian National Olympic Committee’s president asking the athlete not to fight.

Calling the directives a breach of its charter, the IJF went ahead and upheld the suspension. Mollaei, 27, ignored the orders and proceeded to compete against Matthias Casse, losing to the Belgian. Instead of returning to Iran, he went to Germany and is claiming asylum, according to IJF President Marius Vizer.

“Even if the authorities of my country told me that I can go back without any problems, I am afraid. I am afraid of what might happen to my family and to myself,” he told the IJF in an interview. “I want to compete wherever I can. I live in a country whose law does not permit me to. We have no choice; all athletes must comply with it. All I did today was for my life, for a new life.”

Iran has banned its athletes from competing against Israelis since 1979, punishing those who do not comply.

The unofficial ban has not just impacted judo. In 2017, Alireza Karimi-Machiani, Iran’s contender at the U23 World Senior Wrestling Championship in Poland, purposefully lost against his Russian opponent in order to avoid facing an Israeli, goaded by calls of “Alireza, lose” from his coach, a move praised by Iran’s Wrestling Federation following the match.

The United World Wrestling (UWW) Disciplinary Chamber later punished him for throwing the fight, which prompted Rasoul Khadem, president of Iran’s Wrestling Federation, to resign, saying, “If we must continue with the policy of non-competition against the Zionist regime’s athletes, the responsibility cannot fall on the shoulders of the coach and the athlete.”

The policy triggered fears that five Iranian wrestlers would face a backlash should they be pitted against Israeli contenders at the 2019 World Wrestling Championships that took place from 14-22 September in Kazakhstan.

Khadem wrote to the Supreme National Security Council warning that the long-standing policy put Iran’s chances of qualifying for the 2020 Olympics at risk.

‘This is something that goes beyond depriving our national champions in this field who are, and have been, the standard-bearers of this country’s honour and pride at major Olympics and international arenas. It puts the whole of Iranian wrestling in danger,’ he wrote.

After discussion with the UWW president, they concluded that suspension from competing in the Olympics might not only extend to Iran’s Wrestling Federation but all Iranian sports.

Ayatollah Khamenei has been unwilling to withdraw the policy, advising critics not to “yield to threats”.

However, Iran has not been above accommodating outside pressure. Having banned women from attending football matches at stadiums since 1981 with occasional concessions that have served to placate FIFA, the international football federation, it recently rolled back this draconian law.

On 10 October, up to 4,000 tickets were earmarked for women to enter Tehran’s Azadi Stadium to watch the national team play Cambodia. The authorities agreed to sell a capped number of tickets to women for international matches, but this has only followed years of campaigning, women sneaking into matches dressed as men, and as a result, a number of arbitrary prison sentences.

The case of the ‘blue girl’ represented a turning point for women’s fight to attend football matches. On 2 September, Sahar Khodayari dressed in the colours of her favourite team, Esteghlal, and set herself on fire in front of a Tehran Revolutionary Court, to protest a possible prison sentence of six months for trying to enter a stadium to watch a football match. She died several days later from her injuries.

The outcry and international attention compelled FIFA to increase pressure on Iran to ensure women are able to attend football matches in line with FIFA guidelines. The association sent a special delegation to Tehran on 19 September to ensure there were no obstacles to women freely entering stadiums and being able to attend the Iran-Cambodia match on 10 October.

Despite the progress made, human rights groups caution against declaring it the end-game, saying the seating cap is discriminatory.

“Iran’s ban on half the population attending football matches has led to women and girls risking arrest, jail and even their lives to challenge it,” said Minky Worden, director of global initiatives at Human Rights Watch.

“Any concessions by FIFA to limit the number of women who can attend stadiums only empowers Iran’s hardliners who have previously pre-selected women to attend while keeping the discriminatory restrictions in place.”

Maryam Qashqaei Shojaei, a football fan and long-time campaigner for lifting the ban on women in stadiums, told Fanack that it was important to note that the concession by the authorities has only been made for one match so far and only applies to international games. “We don’t have another national match for another six months,” she said.

“The loudest cries for this stadium ban were regarding league matches. A lot of league matches are happening around the country and women aren’t allowed to watch them,” she said, adding that FIFA’s efforts were insufficient and that the organization has only acted in response to pressure from activists. “Now we want FIFA to apply another deadline for league teams, not only the national team.”

Nevertheless, the involvement of international as well as other bodies may have an impact on Iran’s position on sports and how it interacts with the respective charters, as Shojaei said there is a point where the Ministry of Sport and Youth must do something if all of the global sporting associations come down hard on the country.

However, Iran’s Deputy Sports Minister Mohammad Reza Davarzani has been lurking in the background of many of the decisions causing controversy, including ordering Mollaei to withdraw. He also banned for life two footballers who played with a Greek club and appeared in a match against an Israeli team. He has stated that he does not believe allowing women to attend Iranian league matches is appropriate.

The regime’s interference in sports, whether it is to limit women’s participation in sporting events or to prevent competition against Israeli contenders, has had a notable impact on individuals, affecting their freedom, their life and, for athletes, the chance to fulfil their potential.

On the Olympic stage, Iran’s current position could put its chances of participation in jeopardy. However, it might take a more concerted effort from international sporting bodies before any lasting change in this particular arena is seen.

© Copyright Notice

click on link to view the associated photo/image
©AFP ⁃ Mladen ANTONOV | ©AFP ⁃ Mladen ANTONOV

We would like to ask you something …

Fanack is an independent media organisation, not funded by any state or any interest group, that distributes in the Middle East and the wider world unbiased analysis and background information, based on facts, about the Middle East and North Africa.

The website grew rapidly in breadth and depth and today forms a rich and valuable source of information on 21 countries, from Morocco to Oman and from Iran to Yemen, both in Arabic and English. We currently reach six million readers annually and growing fast.

In order to guarantee the impartiality of information on the Chronicle, articles are published without by-lines. This also allows correspondents to write more freely about sensitive or controversial issues in their country. All articles are fact-checked before publication to ensure that content is accurate, current and unbiased.

To run such a website is very expensive. With a small donation, you can make a huge impact. And it only takes a minute. Thank you.