فَنَكْ وقائع وأحداث عن الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا / الرياضة والسياسة / المصارعة في إيران: من التصوف إلى السياسة

المصارعة في إيران: من التصوف إلى السياسة

Specials- Mohammadali Geraei
الإيراني محمدعلی گرایی (يمين) يواجه المصارع الهندي غوربريت سينغ (يسار) في منافسات ربع النهائي المصارعة اليونانية -الرومانية لوزن 77 كيلوغرام في دورة الألعاب الآسيوية 2018 التي أقيمت في جاكرتا في 22 أغسطس 2018. Photo AFP ©AFP ⁃ AAMIR QURESHI

تعتبر المصارعة واحدةً من أقدم الرياضات في العالم. “تعود أول آثارٍ حقيقية لتطور المصارعة إلى زمن السومريين، قبل 5 آلاف عامٍ مضت.” كما يُعتقد أنه “لا يوجد رياضة أقدم أو أكثر انتشاراً من المصارعة.” ومع مرور الوقت، تم تطوير أنماط مختلفة من المصارعة من قبل المصريين القدماء والرومان واليونان والفرس والحضارات الأخرى. وباعتبارها رياضةً قديمة، فإن الأنماط التقليدية للمصارعة متأصلة بعمق في تاريخ إيران وتراثها الثقافي. ومن الناحية التاريخية، تخطت المصارعة كونها مجرد رياضة. ففي حين أن العديد من الناس يمتلكون معرفةً كافية بهذه الرياضة، إلا أنهم لا يدركون جميعاً روابطها الدينية وأثرها الاجتماعي في إيران. فكلمة “كشتي” (أي المصارعة باللغة الفارسية) متجذرة في “الجشتي” في اللغة البهلوية الفارسية، التي كان يتم التحدثت بها في إيران ما قبل الإسلام، وهي تعني الحزام الذي كان الزرادشتيين يجبرون على ارتدائه مع بلغوهم سن 15 عاماً. ومن الناحية الثقافية، “کشتی گرفتن” (أي القيام بالمصارعة) ترتبط بشكلٍ وثيق بـ”كشتي بستن” (أي ارتداء الحزام).

قبل أن تصبح المصارعة رياضة عالمية ذات قواعد وأنظمة معروفة، كان المصارعون في إيران يرتدون نفس الحزام للمصارعة – على غرار الحزام الذي يرتديه الأكراد في منطقة الشرق الأوسط. كان الحزام في الزرادشتية مؤشراً وتذكاراً بالواجبات الدينية لشخصٍ ما، وكان من المفترض أن يتم فتحه وتثبيته في كل مرة يؤدي فيها شخص من أتباع الزرادشتية صلواته. كان يوجد على الحزام ثلاث عقد، وهي تذكير بالمفاهيم الثلاثة الرئيسية في الديانة الزرادشتية: الأعمال الصالحة، والكلمات الطيبة والأفكار الجيدة. كما كانت تمثل مصارعةً روحانية بين الخير والشر. أولئك الذين كانوا يرتدون الحزام في الألعاب الرياضية اعتبروا أبطالاً يحافظون على معايير أخلاقية عالية، وأظهروا الشجاعة والإنصاف وقاموا بأفعال جيدة مثل دعم الفقراء والوقوف في وجه الظلم.

يمكن رؤية تجسيد لهذه العلاقة بين المصارعة والروحانية في الزورخانة في إيران (“بيت القوة”)، وهو صالة رياضية مخصصة لممارسة ورزش باستانی، وهو نوع من المصارعة التقليدية تقترن بقراءة القصائد والأغاني الصوفية والروحانية، وتلاوات المرشد (المرشد الروحي) مع إيقاعاتٍ تقليدية. كان الفن المعماري للزورخانة في ذلك الوقت يشبه الأديرة الصوفية، وكان المكان الذي يجلس فيه المرشد يشبه منبر الوعظ. بشكلٍ عام، كانت تتضمن المصارعة التقليدية العديد من العناصر الدينية والشعائرية التي قاومت التغيير حتى يومنا هذا.

جذبت المصارعة مزيداً من الاهتمام خلال الإمبراطورية الصفوية (1501-1722) والإمبراطورية الزندية (1751-1779)، عندما تم توحيد إيران بعد قرون وأعلن الإسلام الشيعي كدينٍ للدولة. ركز الصفويون على هوية إيران الشيعية لإبعاد الإمبراطورية عن منافسهم، الإمبراطورية العثمانية، حيث استمر هذا الاتجاه طوال السلالات التي تلت ذلك. وأثناء إمبراطورية القاجار (1785-1906)، شجعت الشعبية المتزايدة للمصارعة الحكومة على تطويرها، لذلك، تم تكليف صاحب الدولة بهذه المهمة. أسس بدايةً دوري شهد مشاركة جميع المصارعين في كل مدينة كبرى وانتهى بمنافسة أخيرة بين أبطال كل مدينة في العاصمة طهران. في وقتٍ لاحق، أصبح هذا الدوري بطولةً سنوية. وخلال هذه الفترة أصبح العديد من الأبطال المعروفين شخصياتٍ عامة.

خلال عصر رضا شاه (1925-1941)، جذبت المصارعة المزيد من الاهتمام الرسمي باعتبارها أحد التقاليد الشعبية في إيران، وتم بناء زورخانات وصالات رياضية جديدة. تم افتتاح أول نادي للمصارعة في عام 1921 في طهران. في هذه الفترة أصبحت المصارعة رياضة عالمية وتم تعريف لوائحها الدولية. وعلى هذا النحو، انتقلت المصارعة الإيرانية إلى المستوى التالي من تبني الأساليب والملابس الجديدة في المصارعة لتعزيز تقاليد المصارعة المتجذرة بشكلٍ كبير في مجتمعها. حدث هذا التحول في نهاية الثلاثينيات. في عام 1938، بدأ مسعود بهلوان-نيشان تدريب المصارعين في المصارعة الحرة والمصارعة اليونانية -الرومانية في أصفهان. جرت أول منافسة وطنية في المصارعة الحرة في عام 1939 في نادي أمجدية الرياضي بطهران. ومع ذلك، تسببت الحرب العالمية الثانية في إيقاف الحياة الطبيعية، بما في ذلك المصارعة، عندما احتلت الجيوش الروسية والبريطانية إيران في خطة عسكرية مشتركة.

بعد الحرب، عادت شعبية المصارعة تنتشر مرةً أخرى. كان أول منتخب دولي يتنافس في إيران عام 1947 هو تركيا. وفي عام 1948، شارك فريق المصارعة الإيراني في أولمبياد لندن لأول مرة، في حين كانت مشاركة إيران الأولى في بطولة العالم في أول حدثٍ يُقام للمصارعة الحرة في عام 1951 في هلسنكي، فنلندا. وعلى الرغم من أن إيران فشلت في تحقيق انطباعٍ جديرٍ بالذكر في تلك المناسبة، إلا أنها واصلت عملها لترك بصمتها في العقود القادمة.

في مشاركتها الثانية في بطولة العالم في عام 1954 في اليابان، أحرز المنتخب الوطني الإيراني المركز الثالث، وحاز على ميداليتين ذهبيتين وميدالية فضية واحدة. فاز توفيق جهانبخش وعباس زاندي بالميداليات الذهبية. استمر الفريق الإيراني في صنع التاريخ، حيث احتل المركز الأول في خمس بطولات عالمية للمصارعة الحرة (1959 في يوكوهاما باليابان، 1965 في مانشستر بإنجلترا، وعامي 1998 و2002 في طهران بإيران، 2013 في بودابست -المجر). كما فازت إيران ببطولة العالم في المصارعة اليونانية -الرومانية في طشقند- أوزبكستان. خلال هذه الفترة، قدمت إيران بعض من أفضل المصارعين إلى العالم، حيث تم اختيار ثلاثة منهم ضمن قائمة أفضل 20 مصارعاً في كل العصور والتي أعلن عنها في عام 2000 من قبل الاتحاد العالمي للمصارعة: وهم عبد الله موحد، وغلام رضا تختي، ورسول خادم. إلا أن حميد سوريان، الذي فاز بست ذهبيات في بطولة العالم وذهبية أخرى في أولمبياد لندن 2012، يعتبر المصارع الإيراني الأكثر شهرة. في الواقع، أنتجت إيران العديد من أبطال المصارعة الجدد خلال العقدين الأول والثاني من القرن الحادي والعشرين، حتى أن هذه الفترة أطلق عليها اسم “النهضة” لهذه الرياضة.

وبغض النظر عن كونها ظاهرةً ثقافية، لطالما ارتبطت المصارعة الإيرانية بالسياسة والتطورات السياسية داخل وخارج البلاد. فخلال فترة حكم الشاه، استخدم بعض المصارعين صورتهم العامة كأبطال لنقل شكاوي الناس إلى الحكومة. فعلى سبيل المثال، كان تختي، الذي ضمن له مكانةً باعتباره المصارع الأكثر شعبية في تاريخ إيران، محل تقديرٍ كبير من قبل الجمهور لمعارضته للشاه والتحدث علانيةً ضده. فقد كانت وفاته عن عمرٍ يناهز 37 عاماً، والتي أفيد بأنها انتحار، بمثابة صدمةٍ للعديد من الإيرانيين الذين ألقوا باللوم على الشاه في “قتله.” فلم ينسى الإيرانيون أبداً صورة تختي عندما رفض الانحناء للسماح للشاه بوضع ميدالية حول عنقه. وبعد ثورة عام 1979، كانت المصارعة الإيرانية تعبق بحماس الجمهورية الإسلامية الأيديولوجي، إذ لم يسمح لأي مصارع بالمصارعة ضد إسرائيلي. في الواقع، ظلت المصارعة في إيران رمزاً للوقوف في وجه الشر، سواء كان ديكتاتورية الشاه أو قمع الشعب الإيراني أو الاحتلال الإسرائيلي للأراضي الفلسطينية.

وفي فترة ما بعد 1979، لم تنشر أي تقارير عن مصارعٍ بارز يحيل المظالم السياسية للشعوب إلى السلطات. ويبدو أن السبب الرئيسي في ذلك هو مشاركة الحكومة الناجحة للرياضيين. فعادةً ما يلتقي المرشد الأعلى والرئيس والمسؤولون البارزون الآخرون ويستمعون إلى الرياضيين ويتحدثون معهم حول القضايا المهمة التي تواجه البلاد، مما يمنحهم الشعور بالمسؤولية. وقد عُقد هذا اللقاء الأخير بين القائد الأعلى والحائزون على الميداليات في دورة الألعاب الآسيوية لعام 2018 التي أقيمت في جاكرتا، إندونيسيا. ونتيجةً لذلك، يروّج العديد من الرياضيين لرؤية المؤسسة وسياساتها. ومع ذلك، فإن الاستياء من منع الرياضيين، بمن فيهم المصارعين، من مواجهة المنافسين الإسرائيليين أخذٌ في التزايد، فإلى جانب منح الرياضيين الإسرائيليين انتصاراتٍ سهلة، أدى ذلك إلى حظر العديد من الرياضيين الإيرانيين من المشاركات الدولية.

© Copyright Notice

click on link to view the associated photo/image
©AFP ⁃ AAMIR QURESHI

دعمكم عونٌ لنا

فَنَك هي مؤسسة إعلامية إلكترونية مستقلة، لا تمولها أي دولة أو مجموعات مصالح. تلتزم فَنَك بنشر تحليلاتٍ مبنية على الوقائع ومحايدة، إلى جانب التقارير المواضيعية حول الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا.
شهد الموقع نمواً سريعاً في نطاق وعمق المعلومات التي يُقدمها، واليوم، بات يُشكل مصدراً غنياً وقيماً للمعلومات عن 21 بلداً، من المغرب إلى عُمان ومن إيران إلى اليمن، باللغتين العربية والإنجليزية. حالياً، وصل عدد القراء إلى 6 ملايين سنوياً، والعدد آخذٌ بالإزدياد.
لضمان حيادية المعلومات على موقع فَنَك (وقائع وأحداث) ، تُنشر المقالات دون ذكر أسماء الكتّاب، مما يُتيح أيضاً لمراسلينا مساحة أكبر من الحرية عند التطرق إلى القضايا الحساسة أو المثيرة للجدل فى بلادهم. وإلى جانب ذلك، نتحرى حقائق جميع المعلومات الواردة في مقالاتنا قبل النشر لضمان دقة المعلومات، وحداثتها وحيادها.

استمرارية تشغيل مثل هذا الموقع الإلكتروني مُكلفة للغاية. بتبرعٍ صغيرٍ منك، يمكنك المساهمة في الحفاظ على حرية واستقلالية تغطيتنا.

Fanack Home / Sports and Politics / Wrestling in Iran: From Mysticism to Politics

Wrestling in Iran: From Mysticism to Politics

Specials- Mohammadali Geraei
Iran’s Mohammadali Geraei (R) competes against India’s Gurpreet Singh (L) in their men’s greco-roman 77kg quarter-final wrestling match at the 2018 Asian Games in Jakarta on August 22, 2018. Photo AFP

Wrestling is one of the oldest sports in the world. “The first real traces of the development of wrestling date back to the times of the Sumerians, 5,000 years ago.” It is believed that “no sport is older or more widely distributed than wrestling”. Over time, different styles of wrestling were developed by ancient Egyptians, Romans, Greeks, Persians and other civilizations. As an ancient sport, traditional styles of wrestling are deeply imbedded in Iran’s history and cultural heritage. Historically, wrestling went well beyond just being a sport. While many people are familiar with the sport, not all are aware of its religious connections and social effect in Iran. The word koshti (‘wrestling’ in Persian) is rooted in goshti in Pahlavi Persian, spoken in pre-Islamic Iran, which is a belt Zoroastrians were obliged to wear when they turned 15. Culturally, koshti gereftan (‘the act of wrestling’) is very much tied to koshti bastan (‘wearing the koshti/belt’).

Before wrestling became a global sport with known rules and regulations, wrestlers in Iran would wear the same belt for wrestling – similar to the belt Kurds in the Middle East wear today. The  belt in Zoroastrianism was an indicator and reminder of one’s religious duties, and was to be opened and fastened each time a Zoroastrian performed his prayers. It had three knots on it, a reminder of the three main concepts in the Zoroastrian religion: good deeds, good words and good thoughts. It also represented an inner spiritual wrestling between good and evil. Those who wore the belt in sports were considered heroes who maintained high moral standards, showed courage and fairness and performed good deeds such as supporting the poor and standing up to injustice.

An embodiment of this connection between wrestling and spirituality can be seen in Iran’s zurkhaneh (‘house of strength’), which is a sort of gym dedicated to the practice of varzesh-e bastani, a type of traditional wrestling combined with reading mystical and spiritual poems, songs and recitations by a murshed (‘spiritual guide’) with traditional rhythms. The architecture of zurkhanehs at that time was similar to Sufi monasteries, and the place where the murshed sat resembled a preacher’s pulpit. In general, traditional wrestling had many ritual and religious components that have resisted change to this day.

Wrestling attracted more attention during the Safavid Empire (1501-1722) and the Zand Empire (1751-1779), when Iran was reunited after centuries and Shia Islam was proclaimed as the state religion. The Safavids focused on Iran’s Shia identity to distance the empire from their rival, the Ottoman Empire. This trend continued throughout the ensuing dynasties. During the Qajar Empire (1785-1906), the growing popularity of wrestling encouraged the government to develop it. Therefore, Sahib al-Dowleh was tasked with the job. He essentially created a league that started with all wrestlers competing in every major city and ended with the champions of each city competing in the capital Tehran. Later, this league became an annual championship. It was during this period that many well-known champions became public figures.

During the Reza Shah era (1925-1941), wrestling attracted more official attention as one of Iran’s popular traditions, and new zurkhanehs and gyms were built. The first wrestling club was opened in 1921 in Tehran. It was in this period that wrestling became a global sport and its international regulations were defined. As such, Iranian wrestling moved to the next level of adopting the new styles and customs of wrestling to boost its hight-held wrestling tradition it its society. This shift happened at the end of the 1930s. In 1938, Masoud Pahlavan-Neshan started training wrestlers in freestyle and Greco-Roman wrestling in Isfahan. The first national competition in freestyle wrestling took place in 1939 in Tehran’s Amjadieh sports club. However, the Second World War brought a halt to normal life, including wrestling, when Iran was occupied by the Russian and British armies in a common military plan.

After the war, wrestling started to grow again. The first international team to compete in Iran in 1947 was Turkey. And in 1948, Iran’s wrestling team took part in the London Olympics for the first time. Iran’s first participation in the World Championships was in the first freestyle event held in 1951 in Helsinki, Finland. Although Iran failed to make much of an impression on that occasion, it would go on to make its mark in the decades to come.

In its second participation in the World Championships in 1954 in Japan, Iran’s national team came third, winning two golds and one silver medal. Towfigh Jahanbakhsh and Abbas Zandi won the gold medals. The Iranian team continued making history, coming first in five World Championships in freestyle (1959 in Yokohama, Japan; 1965 in Manchester, England; 1998 and 2002 in Tehran, Iran; and 2013 in Budapest, Hungary). Iran also won the World Championship in Greco-Roman wrestling in Tashkent, Uzbekistan. During this period, Iran introduced some of the finest wrestlers to the world, with three of them named in the top 20 wrestlers of all time announced in 2000 by the World Wrestling Federation: Abdullah Movahhed, Gholam Reza Takhti and Rasool Khadem. But it is Hamid Sourian, who won six golds in World Championships and one gold in the 2012 London Olympics, who is considered Iran’s most celebrated wrestler. In fact, Iran produced so many new wrestling champions during the 2000s and 2010s that the period was dubbed  a renaissance for the sport.

Beyond a cultural phenomenon, Iranian wrestling has long been connected to politics and political developments inside and outside the county. During the Shah’s rule, some wrestlers used their public appeal as heroes to convey people’s grievances to the government. Takhti, for instance, who has guaranteed his place as the most popular wrestler in Iran’s history, was very much appreciated by the public for opposing the Shah and speaking out against him. His death at the age of 37, which was reported as a suicide, came as a shock to many Iranians who blamed the Shah for his ‘murder’. Iranians have never forgotten the image of Takhti refusing to bow down to allow the Shah to put a medal around his neck. After the 1979 revolution, Iranian wrestling was infused with the Islamic Republic’s ideological zeal. No wrestler was allowed to wrestle with an Israeli. In fact, wrestling in Iran remained a symbol of standing up to evil, be it the Shah’s dictatorship and oppression of the Iranian people or the Israeli occupation of Palestinian territories.

In the post-1979 period, no reports have been published about a prominent wrestler transmitting peoples’ political grievances to authorities. It seems that the main reason has been the government’s successful engagement of athletes. The supreme leader, president and other prominent officials usually meet and listen to athletes and talk to them about important issues facing the country, giving them a sense of responsibility. The most recent such meeting took place between the supreme leader and medal laureates of the 2018 Asian Games in Jakarta, Indonesia. As a result, many athletes promote the establishment’s vision and policies. Still, resentment over banning athletes, including wrestlers, from facing Israeli competitors has been on the rise. Besides granting Israeli athletes easy wins, this has led to many Iranian athletes being banned from international arenas.

image_pdfimage_print

We would like to ask you something …

Fanack is an independent media organisation, not funded by any state or any interest group, that distributes in the Middle East and the wider world unbiased analysis and background information, based on facts, about the Middle East and North Africa.

The website grew rapidly in breadth and depth and today forms a rich and valuable source of information on 21 countries, from Morocco to Oman and from Iran to Yemen, both in Arabic and English. We currently reach six million readers annually and growing fast.

In order to guarantee the impartiality of information on the Chronicle, articles are published without by-lines. This also allows correspondents to write more freely about sensitive or controversial issues in their country. All articles are fact-checked before publication to ensure that content is accurate, current and unbiased.

To run such a website is very expensive. With a small donation, you can make a huge impact. And it only takes a minute. Thank you.