فَنَكْ وقائع وأحداث عن الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا / ثورة السودان وآفاقها: ثورة إقليمية لجيل يرغب بوضع نهاية للإسلام السياسي؟

ثورة السودان وآفاقها: ثورة إقليمية لجيل يرغب بوضع نهاية للإسلام السياسي؟

Sudan uprising
رجل يرفع علامة النصر ويحمل علم السودان في مظاهرة حاشدة بالقرب من القصر الرئاسي في العاصمة الخرطوم يوم ١٢ سبتمبر ٢٠١٩، وذلك للمطالبة بتعيين رئيس قضاة ومدعٍ عام جديدين. المصدر: Ebrahim HAMID / AFP. ©AFP ⁃ Ebrahim HAMID

نشرت مدونة برنامج أبحاث النزاعات مقالةً سلّطت الضوء على ثورة السودان الأخيرة من منظورٍ تاريخي يحاول استشراف مستقبل هذا الحراك. وتحاول ويلو بريدج، المحاضرة والمؤرخة بجامعة نيوكاسل والباحثة في التاريخ السوداني، عقد مقارنة بين الثورة الشعبية الأخيرة التي شهدتها البلاد خلال العام الجاري والثورتين المشابهتين لها وكانتا وقعتا في عامي 1964 و1985. وترى بريدج أن الدرس الأهم يكمن في تجنب الانقلابات العسكرية التي أطاحت بمشروعات الديمقراطية السابقة. كما ترى أن النجاح في ذلك يبقى رهن عدّة أشياء على رأسها تجاوز الثنائيات المماثلة لثنائية المركز والهامش، وثنائية العلمانية والإسلام السياسي.

واستناداً لما ذكرته بريدج في كتاب “الثورات المدنية في السودان الحديث”، فإنها تقوم في هذه المقالة بمناقشة أوجه التشابه بين الثورة الشعبية الأخيرة في هذا العام من جهة، وثورتين شعبيتين سابقتين شهدهما السودان وهما ثورة أكتوبر 1964 وثورة إبريل 1985. ولم يتمكن قادة الثورتين السابقتين من تأسيس نظامٍ سياسي ديمقراطي مستقر، إذ أطاحت الانقلابات العسكرية في عامي 1969 و1989 بالنظم البرلمانية التي تم تأسيسها. وكانت هذه الانقلابات العسكرية قد رفعت شعاراتٍ أيديولوجية اعتبرت فيها الديمقراطية البرلمانية إما غربية أو فوضوية أو نخبوية للغاية. إلا أن هذين النظامين فقدا في نهاية المطاف طابعهما الأيديولوجي، وقادا إلى استشراء الفساد والاستبداد، ليشتد استغلال الهامش في السودان ويتم استبدال المؤسسات العامة بـ “سوقٍ سياسية” على حد تعبير أليكس دي وال.

وعلى ضوء هذا الكلام، تتساءل بريدج حول كيفية تجنب الوقوع في مثل هذا الفخ في خاتمة كتابها سابق الذكر عندما تناولت ضرورة معالجة أهم ثنائيتين في السياسة السودانية حتى ينجح الانتقال الديمقراطي، وتتمثل هاتين الثنائيتين في ثنائية المركز والهامش، وثنائية العلمانيين والإسلاميين.

فجوة بين المركز والهامش

تعيد بريدج السبب الرئيسي في فشل الثورتين السابقتين إلى انطلاقهما من المناطق النهرية الحضرية، ناهيك عن فشلهما في تجاوز الفجوة الواقعة بين المركز والمناطق المهمشة. واستمر نمط استغلال المركز للهامش بالتوازي مع الحروب الأهلية. إلا أن هذا الأمر لا يعني عدم تقديم هاتين الثورتين للحظاتٍ من الأمل. فقد حشد عبد المجيد إمام قضاة السودان في الشارع في عام 1964، وهو أحد مؤسسي حزب المؤتمر السوداني الحالي المنحدر من الهامش. كما قامت الحكومة الثورية التي أعقبت ثورة أكتوبر بتعيين كلمنت إمبورو المنحدر من الجنوب وزيراً للداخلية، حيث حاول هذا الأخير على الفور إصلاح ما أُجمع عليه حينها بأنه جهاز أمني متضخم. ومع ذلك، فقد كان ثقل الثورة في المركز الحضري للسودان. ونظراً لعدم تمكّن اليساريين والليبراليين الموجودين في المدن من نقل الثورة إلى الهامش، فقد ضاعت تلك اللحظات ذات الإمكانات الاجتماعية الجديدة، حيث كانت الغلبة لصالح القوى المحافظة في السياسة السودانية. وعلى هذا النحو، تمكنت القوى المحافظة من تعبئة الهامش ضد خصومها في المدن، سواءً أكان ذلك عبر المسيرات التي نظمها الصادق وأحمد المهدي للأنصار في الخرطوم للضغط على أول حكومة انتقالية في عام 1965، أو الحكومات الإسلامية التي استخدمت العديد من الميليشيات التي تدربت في الهامش لسحق المعارضين في الحضر منذ عام 1989.

وهنا، تتساءل بريدج عن وجه اختلاف ثورة عام ٢٠١٩ عن سابقتيها، لتجيب على هذا التساؤل بردّ ذلك إلى استمرار اللحظة الثورية لفترةٍ أطول. ففي عام 1964، استغرق اسقاط نظام عبود 5 أيام، أما إسقاط نظام النميري في عام 1985 تطلّب 11 يوماً، في حين سقط نظام البشير بعد مرور 4 أشهر. وبحسب صاحبة المقالة، فإن ذلك يدل على رسوخ نظام البشير، لكنه يعني أيضاً حصول الناشطين الثوريين على متسعٍ من الوقت للدعوة إلى توفير تمثيلٍ أكبر للجماعات المهمشة ضمن الاتفاق الانتقالي. كما وفّر ذلك المزيد من الوقت للمهمشين على أساس الجنس والعمر للمطالبة بتمثيلهم. وعلى الرغم من عدم التوازن الكامل بين الجنسين في الحكومة الانتقالية، فإننا نجد على سبيل المثال تمثيل المرأة يفوق أي تمثيل آخر لهنّ في التاريخ السوداني، كما أننا شهدنا مؤخراً تعيين أول رئيس أنثى للقضاء في السودان.

وتضيف بريدج اختلافاً آخر لا بد من مراعاته في هذا السياق وهو أن الهامش المتمرد بات أقرب بكثير إلى الوطن الآن مما كان عليه الحال في عامي 1964 و1985. وكانت المعارضة المسلحة للحكومة في ذلك الوقت تنحصر أساساً في الجنوب المنفصل الآن، وكانت الحرب في جنوب كردفان قد بدأت عام 1985. أما اليوم فقد امتد التمرد إلى الشمال، بما في ذلك دارفور بالطبع، كما أن ارتكاب النظام البائد لفظائع بالجملة في تلك المنطقة أحيا بقضية ضرورة تحقيق العدل للهامش إلى صدارة المشهد لتصبح من أهم شعارات المتظاهرين حتى في المركز النهري.

Mohamed Hamdan Daglo
زعيم التظاهرات في السودان أحمد ربيع “يمين” رافعاً علامة النصر إلى جانب الجنرال عبد الفتاح البرهان رئيس المجلس العسكري الانتقالي الذي يحكم السودان، وذلك على هامش مراسم التوقيع على “إعلانٍ دستوري” يمهد للانتقال إلى الحكم المدني، وذلك في العاصمة الخرطوم يوم ١٧ أغسطس ٢٠١٩. ويظهر في الصورة الجنرال محمد حمدان دقلو “حميدتي”، نائب رئيس المجلس العسكري الانتقالي وقائد قوات الدعم السريع شبه العسكرية، ورئيس الوزراء الأثيوبي آبي أحمد، والرئيس التشادي إدريس ديبي. ووقع على الاتفاقية محمد حمدان دقلو، نائب رئيس المجلس العسكري، وأحمد الربيع ممثل تحالف قوى الحرية والتغيير بحسب ما ذكره مراسل وكالة الأنباء الفرنسية. وجرت مراسم التوقيع على الإعلان الدستوري في الخرطوم بحضور مجموعة من الرؤساء الشخصيات البارزة ورؤساء وزراء العديد من الدول. المصدر: Ebrahim HAMID / AFP. ©AFP ⁃ Ebrahim HAMID

إلا أن الجنرال حميدتي، مدّعي البطولة وعدو الثورة اللدود، ما يزال على سبيل المثال يتمتع بالقدرة على حشد قوات داخل الهامش من خلال ميليشيات “قوات الدعم السريع” سيئة السمعة. وكان حميدتي قد وجّه الأوامر لهذه الميليشيات بمواجهة الثوار في الحضر، مثلما حدث خلال المذبحة الفظيعة التي وقعت في 3 يونيو من هذا العام.

وبدأت القوى السياسية الحضرية في إبريل الماضي بالتفاوض مع المجلس العسكري الانتقالي بشكلٍ مستقل عن الجماعات المتمردة داخل قوى الحرية والتغيير ونداء السودان. وبدا الأمر وكأن سيناريو سقوط الأنظمة واستمرار الانقسامات الإقليمية المعتاد سيتكرر مجدداً. ومع ذلك، فقد بدأت الحكومة الانتقالية والمتمردون في الوقت الراهن بعقد محادثاتٍ للسلام. وترى الكاتبة أنه يتوجب على السودانيين توخي الحذر لسببين، أولاً لأن محادثات السلام التي عُقدت قبل ذلك (كما في مؤتمر المائدة المستديرة في الجنوب عام 1965) فشلت في وقف النزاع المستمر، وثانياً لأن المتمردين في دارفور والهوامش الأخرى لا يعدون عن كونهم مجموعة من الحركات والفصائل المختلفة، بعضها لديه التزام حقيقي بالديمقراطية والتقدم الاجتماعي أكثر من الأخرى. وكما يوضح بحث أليكس دي وال، فإن هناك ثمة نمط ممتد للسياسة السوقية يبدأ بتجسيد المتمردين لأجندة النظام، لتستخدم بعد ذلك محادثات السلام ببساطة لتقسيم الثروة والموارد بين الحكومة وخصومها المسلحين. ويهيمن الرجال على سياسات المتمردين، والتي تجتمع للمفارقة مع الثورة الحضرية التي تحاول إعطاء أولوية لتمثيل المرأة. لذلك، ترى الكاتبة أنه من المهم في هذا السياق الإشارة إلى أن مجموعات مثل شبكة حماية نساء دارفور، والإدارة العامة للنازحين واللاجئين بدارفور تطالب بالمشاركة في المحادثات. وهنا يبرز سؤالٌ على نطاق أوسع حول ما إذا كان سيستمر الانفصال بين المعارضة المدنية في المركز الحضري والمعارضة المسلحة في الهامش.

وكانت ثورة أكتوبر قد شهدت خروج مظاهراتٍ احتجاجية حضرية كبرى في المدن الرئيسية في دارفور مثل نيالا والأبيض. وشهدت تلك الحقبة تطوّر الأحداث بسرعةٍ كبيرة في الخرطوم، إلا أنه كان من الصعب على مواطني المركز الحضري إدراك ما يجري في الهامش دون وسائل الإعلام الإلكترونية المتاحة اليوم، والعكس بالعكس. وترى الكاتبة أن بطء حركة الثورة وانتقال السلطة اليوم، مقارنةً على الأقل بالثورتين السابقتين، هي في الواقع لصالح الهامش. وبحسب تحليلها، فإن الاحتجاج السلمي يحمل في طياته تأثيراً على الهامش. فمنذ بضعة أسابيع فقط، بدأت لجان المقاومة في نيالا بإقامة معسكراتٍ لتوعية الشباب بالمظاهرات السلمية، وعقب الاشتباكات في نيالا، كانت هناك مسيرات تضامن من أجل دارفور في جميع أنحاء السودان. وكذلك، أعلنت أحزاب مثل الحزب الشيوعي السوداني تضامنها مع الاحتجاجات الأخيرة ضد عمليات التنقيب عن الذهب المضرة بالبيئة والعمال في تلودي في جنوب كردفان. وأسفرت هذه الاحتجاجات في نهاية المطاف عن صدور قرار عن مجلس الوزراء يجرّم استخدام الزئبق في تعدين الذهب، ما يدلّ على وجود إشاراتٍ إيجابية لتأثير الاحتجاج في الهامش على القرار السياسي في المركز.

العلمانية والدين

تنتقل بريدج إلى النقطة الثانية وهي التساؤل عن إمكانية التغلب على الصدع الواقع بين العلمانية والسياسة الدينية. وتستبعد الكاتبة احتمال حدوث ذلك بالنظر إلى الطابع الإسلامي للنظام، ناهيك عن العداء الشعبي الواسع للإسلاميين الذي ظهر خلال احتجاجات الحضر، ورد الفعل المتردد لمختلف الإسلاميين من خارج حزب المؤتمر الوطني تجاه الثورة نفسها. وهنا لا بد من الإشارة إلى أن موجة الديمقراطية الكبيرة التي ضربت شمال القارة في عام 2011 لم تنجح خلالها سوى في تونس التي نجت من العودة إلى الاستبداد عندما اتفق الإسلاميون والعلمانيون على اعتماد حياةٍ سياسة ذات نظامٍ برلماني. وهنا تستشهد بريدج بما جاء في البحوث التي قام بها باحثون من وزن كافاتورتا وميروني، إذ أظهرت هذه الأبحاث تجنّب حزب النهضة بزعامة راشد الغنوشي خطاب الحاكمية والدولة الإسلامية القديم لصالح نهجٍ يستوعب التعددية والسياسة اليومية. في المقابل، شهدت أماكن أخرى كسوريا وليبيا ومصر استغلال الديكتاتوريين العسكريين وأمراء الحرب الفجوة الواقعة بين الإسلاميين والعلمانيين لتبرير العودة إلى السياسة الاستبدادية أو الاستمرار فيها.

إلا أن الوضع يختلف في السودان، ليس لأن هذا البلد يتمتع بتركيبة ثقافية مختلفة تماماً عن البلدان الأخرى المذكورة فحسب، ولكن لأن الثورة السودانية قامت أيضاً ضد نظامٍ إسلامي على ما كان عليه الحال مع الحركات الأخرى المرتبطة بـ “الربيع العربي”.

Gaafar al-Nimeiry
رئيس السودان الأسبق جعفر النميري “على يمين الصورة” مبتسماً في مارس ١٩٧٣ عل هامس زيارةٍ رسمية أجراها للعاصمة الإثيوبية أديس أبابا. ويتواجد على يمين النميري الإمبراطور الإثيوبي هايله سيلاسي (١٨٩١-١٩٧٥). ومنذ عام ١٩٦٩، حكم النميري السودان لمدة ١٦ عاماً حتى أطاحت به ثورةٌ شعبية في إبريل من عام ١٩٨٥. المصدر: UNHCR / AFP. ©AFP ⁃ UNHCR

وسبق لنا رؤية هذا السيناريو في تاريخ السودان وفي دول “الربيع العربي”، إذ قامت الثورات الشعبية ضد أنظمة علمانية أو شبه علمانية، لتحظى هذه الثورات بدعمٍ إسلامي فاتر ويترتب عليه فوز الإسلاميين بالانتخابات. إلا أننا لم نر إذا ما كان هذا السيناريو ممكناً في حال كانت الإطاحة تتعلق بنظامٍ إسلامي الطابع. وبصورةٍ مغايرة لما عليه الحال في تونس، فإنه تتواجد في السودان أحزابٌ أخرى ذات توجهاتٍ دينية وتجارية قد تشغل الحيز السياسي الذي تركه الإسلاميون، ومن هذه الأحزاب حزب الأمة القومي والحزب الاتحادي الديمقراطي الذي صُنف باعتباره يمين الوسط في النظم البرلمانية السابقة في السودان. وما يزال الإسلاميون رغم ذلك يتمتعون بنفوذٍ اقتصادي وإعلامي كبير، فضلاً عمّا يتمتعون به من نفوذ داخل الأجهزة الأمنية وعلاقتهم بحلفاء أجانب مهمين. وهنا تلفت بريدج النظر إلى وجود علاقة غامضة في حالة حزب المؤتمر الشعبي مع أقوى حركات التمرد في دارفور، وهي حركة “العدل والمساواة”. وتضغط هذه القوى في الوقت الحالي، لإجراء انتخاباتٍ مبكرة على أمل الاستفادة من نفوذها الاقتصادي والإعلامي الحالي قبل أن تطغى العمليات الانتقالية الثورية على آثار 30 عاماً من الحكم الإسلامي.

هل يجتمع الإسلام السياسي والاعتدال؟

تتساءل بريدج عمّا إذا كانت القوى الإسلامية ستعتدل في مواقفها أم أنها ستحاول إعادة تكوين النظام القديم، مشيرةً هنا إلى ولع قيادة حزب المؤتمر الشعبي، الذي يمثل المعارضة الإسلامية، بتسليط الضوء على علاقتها براشد الغنوشي للترويج لأنفسهم عبر تجربة الغنوشي واعتدال حزب النهضة في السياسة الديمقراطية في تونس. وهنا تقول صاحبة المقالة إن تاريخ المعارضة الإسلامية في السودان ملوثٌ لسوء الحظ إلى حد ما مقارنةً بتاريخ الغنوشي في تونس. فقد كان قائدا أكبر جماعات المعارضة الإسلامية، غازي صلاح الدين وعلي الحاج، من الفاعلين الرئيسيين عندما رفضت الجبهة الإسلامية الوطنية الانضمام إلى مظلة المعارضة التابعة للتحالف الوطني خلال انتفاضة 1985، وكانا شخصيتين بارزتين في الجبهة الإسلامية الوطنية عندما خططت الجبهة للانقلاب الذي أوصل عمر البشير إلى السلطة في عام 1989. ويتمثل النمط السائد في التاريخ السوداني في منع السياسيين الذين ساعدوا الأنظمة العسكرية من المشاركة في الأنظمة البرلمانية اللاحقة، وبالفعل تم رفع دعوى قضائية بحث غازي صلاح الدين وعلي الحاج وآخرين بسبب دورهم في الإطاحة بديمقراطية عام 1989.

ثورات أجيالٍ مختلفة

لا تكمن إشكالية الجيل الأكبر سناً من الإسلاميين في اعتدالهم على المستوى الفلسفي بقدر ارتباطهم بالنظام القديم وشبكاته وجرائمه. ولهذا، فإنه عندما تذبذب حزب المؤتمر الشعبي أوائل عام 2019 بخصوص قرار دعم الثورة، فإن هذا يعكس إلى حدٍّ كبير الانقسام بين القيادة في عهد علي الحاج وشباب الحزب الذين اعتنقوا الطابع الجيلي للثورة، فتجاهلوا قيادتهم الحزبية التي جاوز أغلبها الستين من العمر، وخرجوا إلى الشوارع. وتأمل الكاتبة في أن تؤدي هذه الفجوة الواقعة بين الأجيال في حالة حزب المؤتمر الشعبي إلى ظهور نمطٍ أكثر اعتدالاً من السياسة الدينية.

ويعيدنا هذا مجدداً إلى العلاقة ما بين الثورة والأجيال. فقد حدثت هذه الثورة الجيلية ذاتها داخل بعض الأحزاب الأخرى المعارضة المحافظة على مدى العقد الماضي، إذ احتجّ شباب حزب الأمة القومي والحزب الاتحادي الديمقراطي ضد مهادنة النظام الأبوي القائم في الحزبين منذ ستينيات القرن الماضي. ويكمن أحد أسباب ارتفاع شعبية حزب المؤتمر السوداني خلال الثورة في وجود قادة شباب نسبياً، وقد كان في الواقع الحزب الذي يعبر عن الثورة الأخيرة.

وتختم بريدج مقالتها بالتالي: “شهدت ثورة أكتوبر 1964 انتقالاً جيلياً داخل نخبةٍ صغيرة نأمل بأن يكون شاملاً هذه المرة. لقد أصبح طلاب الجامعة اليوم أكثر تنوعاً من حيث الجنس والعرق والأصل الإقليمي مقارنة مع ما كان عليه الحال في حقبة الستينيات. ولذلك، فهم ليسوا مثقلين بالطريقة القديمة لممارسة السياسة التي كبّلت الأجيال التي سبقتهم، وربما يمكنهم ذلك من تجاوز ثنائية الإسلام السياسي والعلمانية. لكن حتى وإن تمكنوا من تحقيق ذلك، فإنهم سيبقون بحاجةٍ إلى نشر ثورتهم إلى ما يتجاوز المراكز الحضرية باتجاه الهامش. وهنا لا بد من الإشارة إلى تهديد علي الحاج بالإطاحة النظام الانتقالي عبر تشكيل حكومة ظل في أقاليم الهامش، وهو ما يعيدنا إلى النقطة الأساسية المتمثلة في حاجة الديمقراطيين المقيمين في المناطق الحضرية إلى دمج الهامش في النظام الجديد إذا ما أرادوا منع استغلاله ضد ثورتهم”.

“الآراء الواردة في هذه المقالة تعبّر عن وجهة نظر الكاتب ولا تعبّر بالضرورة عن وجهة نظر فنك”.

© Copyright Notice
Click on link to view the associated photo/image:
©AFP ⁃ Ebrahim HAMID | ©AFP ⁃ Ebrahim HAMID | ©AFP ⁃ Ebrahim HAMID | ©AFP ⁃ UNHCR

دعمكم عونٌ لنا

فَنَك هي مؤسسة إعلامية إلكترونية مستقلة، لا تمولها أي دولة أو مجموعات مصالح. تلتزم فَنَك بنشر تحليلاتٍ مبنية على الوقائع ومحايدة، إلى جانب التقارير المواضيعية حول الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا.
شهد الموقع نمواً سريعاً في نطاق وعمق المعلومات التي يُقدمها، واليوم، بات يُشكل مصدراً غنياً وقيماً للمعلومات عن 21 بلداً، من المغرب إلى عُمان ومن إيران إلى اليمن، باللغتين العربية والإنجليزية. حالياً، وصل عدد القراء إلى 6 ملايين سنوياً، والعدد آخذٌ بالإزدياد.
لضمان حيادية المعلومات على موقع فَنَك (وقائع وأحداث) ، تُنشر المقالات دون ذكر أسماء الكتّاب، مما يُتيح أيضاً لمراسلينا مساحة أكبر من الحرية عند التطرق إلى القضايا الحساسة أو المثيرة للجدل فى بلادهم. وإلى جانب ذلك، نتحرى حقائق جميع المعلومات الواردة في مقالاتنا قبل النشر لضمان دقة المعلومات، وحداثتها وحيادها.

استمرارية تشغيل مثل هذا الموقع الإلكتروني مُكلفة للغاية. بتبرعٍ صغيرٍ منك، يمكنك المساهمة في الحفاظ على حرية واستقلالية تغطيتنا.

  • آن الأوان لإنهاء نظام المحاصصة الطائفية مع استمرار الاحتجاجات

    تحتاج مؤسسات تقاسم السلطة إلى تفكيك ما يعيشه لبنان من حالة تفسيرٍ ضيّقة للنص. وتمثّل هذه الاحتجاجات لحظة مفصلية لبدء حوارٍ وطني عن كيفية توسيع أسس احتواء الجميع في الحياة السياسية اللبنانية. المحتجون استطاعوا حتى هذه اللحظة التضامن مع بعضهم البعض، متجاوزين بذلك حدود الطائفية والطبقية والجندرية وهو ما كان مستحيلاً في السابق. وقد يكون هذا التضامن طريق العبور إلى مستقبل ما بعد طائفي، سواءً أكان ذلك بنظامٍ يكفل تقاسم السلطة أو بدونه.
  • مقتل قاسم سليماني والتصعيد الخطير في سياسة الاغتيال الأمريكية

    ترفض إدارة ترامب حتى هذه اللحظة شرح وتبرير سياستها في الاستهداف بالقتل، إلا أن هذه العملية الأخيرة تقوّض أهم القواعد الدولية والأمريكية المطبقة على مستوى كبح عمليات الاغتيال، بل إنها تضع سوابق دولية أخطر في عمليات الاستهداف بالقتل.
  • أمن الخليج: توقعٌ صيني ببقاء المنطقة رهن الهيمنة العسكرية الأمريكية

    رغم تبني الصين لرؤيةٍ تعددية لأمن الخليج، يبدو أنها تفضل استمرار قيادة الولايات المتحدة لهذا الملف، وهو ما اتضح بجلاء في بداية عام ٢٠١٩ عندما أعلنت استعدادها للمشاركة في التحالف البحري الذي تقوده الولايات المتحدة لحراسة السفن التجارية في الخليج وتأمين خطوط النقل البحري، علماً بأن هذا التحالف أُنشأ رداً على الهجمات المتكررة على ناقلات النفط في خليج عمان.

Fanack Home / The Sudan Uprising and its possibilities: regional revolution, generational revolution, and an end to Islamist politics?

The Sudan Uprising and its possibilities: regional revolution, generational revolution, and an end to Islamist politics?

Sudan uprising
A man flashes the victory gesture while waving a Sudanese national flag during a mass demonstration near the presidential palace in the capital Khartoum on September 12, 2019, calling for the appointment of a new permanent chief of judiciary and prosecutor general. Photo: Ebrahim HAMID / AFP ©AFP ⁃ Ebrahim HAMID

By: Dr Willow Berridge

Drawing on my book Civil Uprisings in Modern Sudan I will be discussing the parallels between today’s popular uprising (2019) and Sudan’s two previous popular uprisings, the October Revolution of 1964 and the April Intifada of 1985. The leaders of those two uprisings were ultimately unable to establish a democratic political order in the long term, as the parliamentary systems they created were ultimately overthrown by military coups in 1969 and 1989 respectively. These military coups were launched in the name of ideologies that perceived parliamentary democracy as either too Western, too chaotic or too elitist. They ultimately lost their ideological character and brought about rampant corruption and authoritarianism, intensifying the exploitation of the periphery of Sudan and replacing public institutions with the ‘political marketplace’, a concept that Alex de Waal discusses..

So how do you avoid this trap? Well, what I wrote at the end of my Civil Uprisings book, is that the two most important divisions in Sudanese politics that had to be resolved for a transition to democracy to succeed were between the centre and the periphery, and between the secularists and the advocates of religious politics.

Centre-periphery divide

The key failing of the past two uprisings was that they began in the urban riverain areas and they failed to transcend the divide between the centre and the marginalised regions. The pattern of exploitation of the periphery by the centre continued, and the civil wars along with it. This is not to say that these uprisings did not offer moments of possibility. In 1964 the man who brought Sudan’s judges onto the street was Abd al-Majid Imam, a co-founder of today’s Sudan Congress Party who hailed from the periphery. The revolutionary government that followed October appointed Clement Mboro, a southerner, Minister of Interior, and he immediately set about trying to reform what was admittedly then a much less inflated security apparatus. However, the core of the revolution was in Sudan’s urban centre. Because the leftists and liberals of the cities were unable to revolutionise the periphery as well, those moments of new social possibility were lost, and the more conservative forces in Sudanese politics were able to mobilise the periphery against their opponents in the cities – whether that be Sadiq and Ahmad al-Mahdi marching the Ansar in Khartoum to strongarm the first transitional government into submission in 1965, or the Islamist governments bringing various militias trained in the periphery to crush urban dissidents since 1989.

Now, what is different in 2019? The most important point is that the revolutionary moment has gone on longer. In 1964 it took 5 days for the Abboud regime to fall, in 1985 it took the Nimeiri regime 11 days, and today it took the al-Bashir regime 4 months to fall. This shows how entrenched the al-Bashir regime was, but it has also meant that there has been much more time for today’s revolutionary activists to call for more representation for marginalised groups within the transitional arrangement. It has also created more time for those marginalised on the basis of gender and age to demand representation. For example, the transitional government, although far from being fully gender balanced, has more representation of women than any other in Sudanese history, and just yesterday we saw the appointment of Sudan’s first female chief justice.

Another factor to consider is that the rebellious periphery is a lot closer to home now than was the case in 1964 and 1985. Back then, armed opposition to the government was mainly restricted to the now seceded south, with the war in south Kordofan only just beginning in 1985. Today, the rebellion has extended further into the north including of course Darfur, and the departed regime’s perpetration of mass atrocities in that region has ensured that the issue of justice for the periphery is now one of the foremost slogans of the demonstrators even at the riverain centre.

Mohamed Hamdan Daglo
Sudan’s protest leader Ahmad Rabie (R), flashes the victory gesture alongside General Abdel Fattah al-Burhan (2nd-R), the chief of Sudan’s ruling Transitional Military Council (TMC), during a ceremony where they signed a “constitutional declaration” that paves the way for a transition to civilian rule, in the capital Khartoum on August 17, 2019, accompanied by General Mohamed Hamdan Daglo “Hemeti” (3rd-L), TMC deputy chief and commander of the Rapid Support Forces (RSF) paramilitaries, Ethiopian Prime Minister Abiy Ahmed (L), and Chadian President Idriss Deby (4th-L). – The agreement was signed by Mohamed Hamdan Daglo, deputy chief of the military council, and Ahmed al-Rabie, representing the Alliance for Freedom and Change protest umbrella group, an AFP reporter said. Heads of state, prime ministers and dignitaries from several countries attended the ceremony in Khartoum. Photo: Ebrahim HAMID / AFP ©AFP ⁃ Ebrahim HAMID

Yet at the same time, General Hemedti, the pseudo-champion and arch-nemesis of today’s revolution, has still been able to mobilise forces within the periphery through his notorious Rapid Support Force militia. He instructed them to act against today’s urban revolutionaries, most notably of course during the awful massacre that occurred on 3 June this year.

In April, the urban political forces began to negotiate with the Transitional Military Council independently of the rebel groups within the Forces of Freedom and Change and Sudan Call. It looked like the classic scenario where regimes fall but regional divisions continue might repeat itself. However, the transitional government and rebels have now begun to implement peace talks. We still need to be cautious for two reasons – first of all, because post-uprising peace talks have happened before (as at the round table conference on the south in 1965), and failed to stop the ongoing conflict, and secondly because the rebels in Darfur and the other peripheries are made up of an array of different movements and factions, some of which have a more genuine commitment to democracy and social progress than others. As Alex de Waals research shows us, there has been a long term pattern of marketised politics whereby rebel agendas begin to mirror regime agendas, and peace talks are simply used to divide wealth and resources between the government and its armed opponents. Rebel politics are also very male dominated, which sits awkwardly with an urban uprising that is trying to prioritise the representation of women. So in this context, it is important to note that groups such as the Darfur Women’s Protection Network and the General Coordination of Displaced People and Refugees are demanding that they participate in the talks. More broadly, there is a question of whether the disjuncture between civil opposition in the urban centre, and armed opposition in the periphery, will continue.

Back during the 1964 October Revolution there were major urban protests in the leading cities of Darfur like Nyala and al-Ubayyid. The issue back then was that events developed very rapidly in Khartoum, and without the forms of electronic media we have today it was harder for the citizens of the urban centre to be aware of what was going on in the peripheries, and vice versa. The fact that both the uprising and the transition are happening in slow motion today, at least in contrast with the events of yester-year, is actually to the advantage of the periphery. And we are seeing peaceful protest having an impact on the periphery. Just a few weeks ago, the resistance committees in Nyala began to set up camps to educate the youth on peaceful demonstration, and following clashes in Nyala there were solidarity marches for Darfur all over Sudan. Similarly, parties like the Sudan Communist Party announced their solidarity with the recent protests against toxic gold mining in Talodi in South Kordofan, and ultimately these protests led the cabinet yesterday to outlaw the use of mercury in gold mining. Thus, there are positive signs of protest on the periphery feeding back into political action at the centre.

Secularism and religion

Coming to the second point, can the rift between secularism and religious politics be overcome? At the moment, this looks unlikely- given the Islamist character of the regime, the mass popular hostility to Islamism displayed during the urban protests, and the ambivalent reaction of the various non-NCP Islamists to the uprising itself. Nevertheless, it is worth observing that in the great democratic wave that occurred slightly further north in 2011, the one country which escaped a return to authoritarianism was Tunisia, where both Islamists and secularists were willing to embrace parliamentary politics, and as research by the likes of Cavatorta and Merone has shown, Rashid Ghannushi’s al-Nahda party has moved away from the old rhetoric of hakimiyya and Islamic states, towards an approach that is accommodating of pluralism and everyday politics. Elsewhere, in Syria, Libya and Egypt, military dictators and warlords exploited the divide between Islamists and secularists to justify returning to, or keeping an authoritarian mode of politics.

However, the case in Sudan is different, not just because Sudan has a very different cultural makeup to those other countries but because unlike the various movements associated with the Arab spring, the Sudanese uprising was an uprising against an Islamist regime.

Gaafar al-Nimeiry
Sudan President Gaafar al-Nimeiry (R) smiles in March 1973 in Addis Ababa during his official visit to Ethiopia. At his right, Emperor of Ethiopia, Haile Selassie (1891-1975). Nimeiry, who ruled Sudan from 1969 during 16 years, was ousted in April 1985 by a popular uprising. Photo: UNHCR / AFP ©AFP ⁃ UNHCR

We have seen the scenario both in Sudan’s history and during the Arab Spring where there is a popular uprising against a secular or semi-secular regime, the Islamists give it lukewarm backing, and then win out in elections, but we have not seen whether this scenario can repeat itself when the regime that was overthrown was itself Islamist in character. It is worth observing that unlike Tunisia, Sudan has other religiously oriented, business orientated parties that might occupy the political space the Islamists vacate, such as the National Umma Party and Democratic Unionist Party which have acted as centre right in previous parliamentary systems in Sudan. Yet the Islamists still have considerable financial and media power, as well as influence within the security services, important foreign allies and in the case of the Popular Congress Party, an ambiguous relationship with the most powerful of the Darfur rebel movements, the Justice and Equality Movement. At the moment they are, in Johnsonesque fashion, pushing for early elections in the hope that they will be able to capitalise on their existing financial and media power before the revolutionary transitional processes reverse the effects of 30 years of Islamist rule.

Islamism with moderation?

So, can they moderate, or will they just try to bring back the old system? The leadership of the Popular Congress Party (PCP) who represented the Islamist opposition have often been fond of highlighting their relationship with Rashid al-Ghannushi, so as to associate themselves with the moderation of the al-Nahda party that he brought into democratic politics in Tunisia. Unfortunately, the Islamist opposition in Sudan have a somewhat more tainted history than al-Ghannushi in Tunisia. The leaders of the largest Islamist opposition groups, Ghazi Salahaddin and Ali al-Haj, were both major players in 1985 when the National Islamic Front refused to join the opposition National Alliance opposition umbrella during the last Intifada, and they were leading figures in the National Islamic Front when it engineered the coup that brought Omar al-Bashir into power in 1989. The pattern in Sudanese history is that politicians who participated in military regimes have been barred from participation in the subsequent parliamentary regimes, and already Ghazi Salahaddin and Ali al-Haj, along with others, have been the subjects of a lawsuit on account of their role in the overthrowing the 1989 democracy.

Generational revolutions

For the older generation of Islamists, the problematic issue is not so much the question of whether they have moderated on a philosophical level as much as their association with the old regime, its networks and its crimes. And that is why, when the PCP vacillated throughout early 2019 over whether to back the uprising or not, that very much reflected a divide between the leadership under Ali al-Haj and the youth of the party, who embraced the generational character of the revolution, ignored their party leadership, which was composed purely of Islamists over the age of 60, and went to the streets. In the case of the Popular Congress Party, we can only hope that this generational divide will lead to the emergence of a far less exclusivist mode of religious politics.

That brings me back to the generational revolution. This same generational revolution has been happening within some of the other parties of the more conservative opposition over the last decade, with the youth of the National Umma Party and the Democratic Unionist Party protesting against the soft approach towards the regime of their aging patriarchs, both of whom have been in control of the party since the 1960s. One of the reasons that the popularity of the Sudan Congress Party has risen so much during the intifada is because it has relatively young leaders – it is the party of the last Intifada, in effect.

The 1964 October Revolution saw a generational transition within a small elite – hopefully this time it will be more comprehensive. The university students today are more diverse in terms of gender, ethnicity and regional origin than was the case in the 1960s. They are not encumbered by the old way of doing politics that binds the older men, and they may well move away from the strict dichotomy of Islamism and secularism. But even if they do that, they still need to extend their revolution beyond the urban centres. It is also worth noting that Ali al-Haj has threatened to topple the transitional regime by setting up a ‘shadow government’ in the regions, and that returns me to the original point that the urban democrats need to bring the peripheries into the new order if they are to prevent those peripheries being manipulated to challenge their revolution.

Remark: This article was originally published by https://blogs.lse.ac.uk/crp/ in October 23, 2019.

“The views expressed in this article are the author’s own and do not necessarily express Fanack’s views.”

© Copyright Notice
Click on link to view the associated photo/image:
©AFP ⁃ Ebrahim HAMID | ©AFP ⁃ Ebrahim HAMID | ©AFP ⁃ Ebrahim HAMID | ©AFP ⁃ UNHCR

We would like to ask you something …

Fanack is an independent media organisation, not funded by any state or any interest group, that distributes in the Middle East and the wider world unbiased analysis and background information, based on facts, about the Middle East and North Africa.

The website grew rapidly in breadth and depth and today forms a rich and valuable source of information on 21 countries, from Morocco to Oman and from Iran to Yemen, both in Arabic and English. We currently reach six million readers annually and growing fast.

In order to guarantee the impartiality of information on the Chronicle, articles are published without by-lines. This also allows correspondents to write more freely about sensitive or controversial issues in their country. All articles are fact-checked before publication to ensure that content is accurate, current and unbiased.

To run such a website is very expensive. With a small donation, you can make a huge impact. And it only takes a minute. Thank you.

  • Libya: why enforcing an arms embargo is so hard

    A stable truce in Libya needs an efficient arms embargo. The ultimate beneficiaries of such an embargo – the Libyan population – are unlikely to see any improvements soon. The years of international meddling have led to many countries having steadfast interests in Libya, and as it currently stands, no one is willing to take losses.

  • Middle East: Ever More Unstable

    Sadly, these developments coupled with a worldwide crisis of leadership may well worsen before a new generation of leaders can rise and try in earnest to resolve many of these conflicts humanely, passionately and equitably to ensure their durability.
  • As protests continue, Lebanon’s sectarian power-sharing stalemate must end

    Power-sharing institutions need not be as narrowly prescribed as they currently are in Lebanon. These protests are a critical moment for the start of a national conversation on how to expand the basis of inclusion in Lebanese political life. So far, protesters have joined up across sect, class and gender in a way previously considered impossible. It is this solidarity that may yet serve as the pathway towards a post-sectarian future, with or without power-sharing.