فَنَكْ وقائع وأحداث عن الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا / احتجاجات “ذوي السترات الصفراء” السودانيين

احتجاجات “ذوي السترات الصفراء” السودانيين

Translation- Sudan protests
متظاهرون سودانيون يرددون هتافات خلال مظاهرة مناهضة للحكومة في مدينة أم درمان يوم 31 يناير 2019. وذكر شهود عيان أن الشرطة السودانية أطلقت في هذا اليوم الغاز المسيل للدموع على حشود المتظاهرين في العاصمة الخرطوم وغيرها من المدن السودانية، بالتزامن مع تنظيم احتجاجات جديدة طالبت بإنهاء إلى حكم الرئيس عمر البشير المستمر منذ ثلاثة عقود. المصدر: AFP.

احتجاجات السودان على سوء الأحوال السياسية والاقتصادية وضعت استقرار بلد شريك مهم للغرب على المحك. الباحثة الألمانية أنيته فيبَر ترى في تحليلها لموقع قنطرة أن للسودان والرئيس البشير ثلاثة سيناريوهات محتملة.

يتجمهر منذ شهر وبشكل شبه يومي معلمون وأطباء وعاطلون عن العمل وأمَّهات غاضبات وطلَّاب مُحْبَطون في شوارع السودان، البلد الذي مزَّقته الحرب الأهلية، من أجل التظاهر ضدَّ سياسة حكومتهم. اجتذبت هذه المظاهرات منذ بدايتها في التاسع عشر من شهر كانون الأوَّل/ديسمبر (2018) عشرات الآلاف، وقتل منهم فيها اثنان وأربعون شخصًا.

إنَّ ما بدأ كاحتجاجات على السياسات الاقتصادية وعلى رفع سعر الخبز ورفع أسعار البنزين والوقود، تطوَّر إلى دعوة للإطاحة بالرئيس عمر البشير. لقد وصل البشير إلى السلطة منذ الانقلاب العسكري في عام 1989 وأصبح منذ عام 1993 رئيسًا للسودان.

ولفترة طويلة كان يُنظر إليه باعتباره القاسم المشترك الأدنى بين النخبة السياسية والعسكر. وكذلك أدَّت مذكِّرة الاعتقال الصادرة عن المحكمة الجنائية الدولية بحقّه بالإضافة إلى العقوبات الأمريكية المفروضة على السودان إلى توحيد الصفوف خلف الرئيس عمر البشير.

سياسة خارجية قوية وأوضاع حرجة في الداخل

لكن مع ذلك يُشْهَدُ للرئيس البشير وحكومته تحقيق عدد من الإنجازات السياسة الخارجية المثيرة للانتباه: حيث تقدَّمت في السنوات الأخيرة عملية تطبيع العلاقات مع السودان من دولة منبوذة إلى شريك للغرب. وبات يوجد – على سبيل المثال – تعاون سوداني ناجح مع وكالة المخابرات المركزية الأمريكية في الحرب ضدَّ الإرهاب، وكذلك أصبح الاتِّحاد الأوروبي ينظر إلى السودان كشريك رئيسي، وذلك بسبب موقعه كنقطة التقاء للمهاجرين القادمين من كلِّ منطقة القرن الإفريقيي.

وفي المقابل تعتبر الأوضاع في داخل السودان حرجة. ويشير بشكل خاص الوضع الاقتصادي الكارثي إلى ضرورة عدم “بقاء الوضع على ما هو عليه”. بعد الطفرة النفطية القصيرة في مطلع الألفية الثالثة وبعد انفصال جنوب السودان وفقدان مناطق إنتاج النفط، لم يتم تحقيق أي تنويع اقتصادي مستدام، وازدادت مستويات الفساد وفشلت الاستثمارات الضرورية في البنية التحتية. كان النمو الاقتصادي لعام 2018 سلبيًا (2,3- في المائة)، كما أنَّ التوقُّعات لعام 2019 سيِّئة، وقد باتت العملات الصعبة نادرة.

وكذلك لم يتم بعد تحقيق الطموحات، التي أثارها رفع العقوبات الاقتصادية الأمريكية عن البلاد. تضاف إلى ذلك الظروف المناخية، التي تؤثِّر تأثيرًا سلبيًا على أمن المواطنين الغذائي.

ما الذي يمكن حدوثة؟

لا يوجد في السودان – مثلما هي الحال في فرنسا الآن – شيءٌ أقلّ عرضة للخطر من مستقبل المجتمع وثقافة البلاد السياسية. تخرج إلى الشوارع في السودان أيضًا جميع المجموعات السكَّانية – بما فيها الطبقة الوسطى. ولكن على العكس مما عليه الحال في فرنسا، فإنَّ ردود الفعل أكثر وحشية والعواقب أكثر خطورة.

يبقى تطوُّر الوضع في الأسابيع والأشهر القادمة مرهونًا إلى حدّ كبير بمدى نجاح الحكومة في تحسين ظروف معيشة المواطنين وتنفيذ المطالب السياسية بمصداقية. وسيكون مدى الدعم الذي لا يزال يتمتع به الرئيس – مسألة حاسمة أيضًا. هناك ثلاثة سيناريوهات محتملة.

أوَّلًا: يراهن عمر البشير على القسوة والعنف ويمكنه الاعتماد في ذلك على ولاء شرائح واسعة من الجيش، تمامًا مثلما فعل حتى الآن. تنقسم الطبقة الوسطى الحضرية بين المؤيِّدين للحكومة والداعمين للمعارضة السياسية. أمَّا أهالي المدن الأصغر سنًا، غير المحسوبين على أية شبكة محسوبية، فيقعون إمَّا في حالة سبات وخمول أو ينضمُّون إلى المعارضة – المسلحة أو غير المسلحة.

ونتيجة لذلك تضاف جبهةٌ حضريةٌ إلى جبهتي الحرب الأهلية القائمة في دارفور وجنوب كردوفان. وطالما لا توجد سوى تحسينات رمزية، سينصبُّ غضب المواطنين على شخص الرئيس. النجاحات الاقتصادية السريعة والمرئية يمكنها وحدها أن تؤدِّي إلى الاستقرار في ظلّ البشير.

ينتج تفاقم آخر في الوضع عندما تنشق عن النظام أجزاء من الأجهزة الأمنية وتشكِّل تحالفات مع المعارضة المسلحة الحالية. يؤدِّي هذا الانشقاق إلى زيادة تصعيد الحرب الأهلية، التي لا يمكن كسبها عسكريًا ولكنها تُقيِّد الموارد. وفي ظلِّ هذه الظروف تتحوَّل الحكومة إلى دولة غير ليبرالية تُموِّل الحرب الأهلية. وهذا سيكون بمثابة السيناريو الأسوأ بالنسبة للمصالح الغربية مثل سلامة الطرق التجارية في البحر الأحمر والتعاون في شؤون الهجرة ومكافحة الإرهاب.

ثانيًا – سيناريو حسني مبارك: تستمر الاحتجاجات وتتصاعد. ويؤدِّي انشقاق الجيش وتكاتف الأحزاب السياسية والمتظاهرين وأجزاء من الأجهزة الأمنية إلى الضغط على رئاسة الحكومة. وينتج عن ذلك انقلاب عسكري أو تغيير في القيادة بسبب ضغط المعارضة. بعد ذلك يجب أوَّلًا تأسيس تحالفات جديدة وتجاوز المصالح المتباينة. تحتاج محاربة عناصر النظام القديم المتمرِّدة طاقة هائلة. وبالتالي يصبح السودان لبعض الوقت عاطلًا عن العمل كلاعب إقليمي وبالنسبة للتعاون مع أوروبا.

ثالثًا – سيناريو رئيس الوزراء الأثيوبي أبي أحمد: ترسل الحكومة إشارة واضحة بأنَّها مستعدة للتغيير. يعلن عمر البشير عن استقالته القريبة. يتم الإعلان عن انتخابات جديدة وتشكيل حكومة “وحدة وطنية” انتقالية تتكوَّن من الأحزاب السياسية وقوى المجتمع المدني من جميع أنحاء البلاد. ويبدأ العمل على إعداد خريطة طريق تُركِّز قبل كلِّ شيء على الإصلاحات الاقتصادية. تحاول عناصر الحرس القديم المُحْبَطة نسف التكتُّل الجديد، غير أنَّها تكون أضعف بكثير مما كانت عليه في السيناريو السابق، وذلك لأنَّ حكومة الوحدة الوطنية أكثر شمولًا وهي بالتالي أقوى. ويبقى السودان لاعبًا إقليميًا ودوليًا يمكن الاعتماد عليه.

يعتبر تحسين الأوضاع الاقتصادية أمرًا حاسمًا من أجل تحقيق الاستقرار المستدام، ومع ذلك فإنَّ العملية السياسية ضرورية أيضًا. ومن أجل تنفيذ الإصلاحات الاقتصادية الضرورية، هناك حاجة إلى مساعدات مالية واستثمارات من الخارج.

وهذا يتطلب مشاركة أقوى من جانب أوروبا، بيد أنَّ المشاركة الأوروبية يمكنها فقط أن تكون مفيدة عندما توجد من الخرطوم مؤشرات تشير إلى التحوُّل والرغبة في التغيير. يمكن لأوروبا أن تعمل كوسيط في أية عملية تغيير سياسي، وذلك بسبب اعتبارها من قِبَل الحكومة والمعارضة على حدّ سواء شريكًا جديرًا بالثقة.

ملاحظة: تم نشر ترجمة هذه المقالة على موقع فنك بعد موافقة موقع قنطرة الذي سبق له ترجمتها على ذلك.

دعمكم عونٌ لنا

فَنَك هي مؤسسة إعلامية إلكترونية مستقلة، لا تمولها أي دولة أو مجموعات مصالح. تلتزم فَنَك بنشر تحليلاتٍ مبنية على الوقائع ومحايدة، إلى جانب التقارير المواضيعية حول الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا.
شهد الموقع نمواً سريعاً في نطاق وعمق المعلومات التي يُقدمها، واليوم، بات يُشكل مصدراً غنياً وقيماً للمعلومات عن 21 بلداً، من المغرب إلى عُمان ومن إيران إلى اليمن، باللغتين العربية والإنجليزية. حالياً، وصل عدد القراء إلى 6 ملايين سنوياً، والعدد آخذٌ بالإزدياد.
لضمان حيادية المعلومات على موقع فَنَك (وقائع وأحداث) ، تُنشر المقالات دون ذكر أسماء الكتّاب، مما يُتيح أيضاً لمراسلينا مساحة أكبر من الحرية عند التطرق إلى القضايا الحساسة أو المثيرة للجدل فى بلادهم. وإلى جانب ذلك، نتحرى حقائق جميع المعلومات الواردة في مقالاتنا قبل النشر لضمان دقة المعلومات، وحداثتها وحيادها.

استمرارية تشغيل مثل هذا الموقع الإلكتروني مُكلفة للغاية. بتبرعٍ صغيرٍ منك، يمكنك المساهمة في الحفاظ على حرية واستقلالية تغطيتنا.

  • الثورة في السودان: فليسقط النظام!

    الآن تنتهي سنوات الغرور والفساد والظلم والعنف الممنهج ضد المدنيين. فقد تكلم الناس وكشفوا حقيقة طغاة الجمود والتشدد. ولم يعد بإمكانهم الاختباء بعد الآن. الشباب السوداني يهتف: يسقط تجار الدين. فليسقط النظام، وهو يمر بالفعل في حالة تداعٍ، والسودانيون مستعدون تماماً لاستعادة بلدهم.
  • اقتراحات بيع المفاعلات النووية للسعودية تدقّ ناقوس الخطر

    خفّض القادة السعوديون من مشترياتهم المخطط لها، ومن المتوقع حالياً أن تقوم المملكة ببناء مفاعلين فقط. وترى صاحبة المقالة أنه لا بد من التفاوض على اتفاقية تعاونٍ نووي مع المملكة بحسب لما ينص عليه القانون الأمريكي في حال استمرت إدارة ترامب في متابعة خطتها لتصدير الطاقة النووية إلى الرياض، كما يجب اتخاذ خطواتٍ إضافية للحد من مخاطر الانتشار النووي.
  • ولي العهد السعودي محمد بن سلمان يواجه وضعاً جيوسياسياً مضطرباً في جولته الآسيوية

    قد يخرج ولي العهد السعودي من جولته الآسيوية مطمئناً، وذلك في أعقاب الاستقبال الجيّد الذي حظي به فيما قام بزيارته من الدول الآسيوية، إلا أنه سيحظى بالتأكيد على ترحيبٍ أقل في واشنطن وعواصم أوروبا الغربية. بيد أن المعيار النهائي سيكمن في قدرة محمد بن سلمان على المناورة واتقان تجاوز حقل ألغامٍ من المصالح الجيوسياسية المتضاربة، وهو أمرٌ لم يظهر بعد أن ولي العهد السعودي يستطيع القيام به.

Fanack Home / Sudan: The Yellow Vests of Khartoum

Sudan: The Yellow Vests of Khartoum

Translation- Sudan protests
Sudanese protesters chant slogans during an anti-government demonstration in the capital Khartoum’s twin city of Omdurman on January 31, 2019. Sudanese police fired tear gas at crowds of demonstrators in the capital and other cities today, witnesses said, as fresh protests demanded an end to President Omar al-Bashir’s three-decade rule. Photo AFP ©AFP ⁃ STRINGER

By: Annette Weber

Tens of thousands of Sudanese have been protesting for weeks against political and economic grievances in the war-wracked nation. The stability of an important partner of the West is also at stake. How will the situation develop? Annette Weber believes that three scenarios are possible.

For a month now, teachers, doctors, the unemployed, angry mothers and frustrated students have been taking to the streets of war-torn Sudan almost daily to protest against the policies of their government. These rallies have attracted tens of thousands since they started on 19 December – with 42 demonstrators losing their lives so far.

What began as a protest against economic policies and the rising price of bread and fuel has snowballed into calls for the resignation of President Umar al-Bashir. Bashir came to power in a 1989 military coup, appointing himself president in 1993. For a long time, he was viewed as the lowest common denominator between the political elite and the military. The International Criminal Court warrant for his arrest, as well as U.S. sanctions against the country resulted in a closing of ranks behind the President.

Robust Foreign Policy – Precarious Situation at Home

Nevertheless, a number of notable foreign policy achievements are attributed to the president and his government: the process of normalisation from pariah state to partner of the West has advanced in recent years. For example, the nation now co-operates successfully with the CIA in anti-terrorism programmes and the EU also views Sudan as a key partner due to its role as migration hub for the entire Horn of Africa.

The domestic situation is, on the other hand, precarious. Catastrophic economic conditions are the main argument against preserving the status quo. In the wake of the short-lived oil rush of the early 2000s and after the secession of southern Sudan and the loss of the countryʹs oilfields economic diversification failed, levels of corruption rose and urgently-needed infrastructure investment failed to materialise. There was negative economic growth in 2018 (-2.3 percent), with similar forecasts for 2019 and foreign currencies in short supply.

Expectations raised by the lifting of U.S. economic sanctions have also so far not been fulfilled. Added to this, adherence to a climate change policy framework that has a negative impact on the populationʹs food security.

What is likely to happen?

Just as is currently the case in France, in Sudan there is nothing less at stake than the future of a nationʹs society and political culture. In Sudan too, a cross-section of all population groups – including the middle classes – is taking to the streets. But unlike France, the responses are more brutal and the consequences more serious.

The development of the situation in the coming weeks and months greatly depends on to what extent the government succeeds in improving the living conditions of the populace and credibly realising political demands. The question of how much backing the president can still rely on will also be decisive. There are three possible scenarios:

Bashir Takes a Tough Line: The government takes a tough line and in doing so, can depend on the loyalty of most of the army – just as it has done up to now. The urban middle class is divided between those who are pro-government and those who support the political opposition; the younger urban populace, with no affiliation to any patronage network, either lapses into lethargy or joins the – armed or unarmed – opposition. As a result, the two existing civil war fronts Darfur and South Kordofan are joined by an urban front. As long as only symbolic improvements are made, popular anger will be directed at the president. Only quick, visible economic successes could result in a stabilisation under Bashir.

A further escalation of the situation arises when elements of the security apparatus secede from the regime and form alliances with the current armed opposition. This fragmentation results in a further escalation in a civil war that cannot be won militarily, but that ties up resources. Under these circumstances the government will turn to illiberal states that finance the civil war. This would be the worst scenario for western interests such as Red Sea trading routes, migration co-operation and the fight against terrorism.

Egypt Mubarak Scenario: The protests persist and escalate. The disintegration of the military and the consolidation of political parties, the demonstrators and elements of the security apparatus puts pressure on the upper echelons of government. This results in a military coup or a leadership change brought about by opposition pressure. Subsequently, new alliances must first be forged and diverging interests overcome. Controlling rebellious elements of the old regime demands huge levels of energy and focus. This means that for a time, the country must step back from its function as regional actor and in co-operation with Europe.

Ethiopia Abiy Scenario: The government clearly indicates its readiness for change. Bashir announces his imminent resignation. New elections are announced and a transitional government of “national unity” is formed of political parties and civil society movements from all parts of the country. Work begins on a road-map focussed primarily on economic reforms. Frustrated elements of the old guard attempt to torpedo the new constellation, but are significantly weaker than they were in the previous scenario, as the national unity government is more inclusive and therefore stronger. Sudan remains a calculable regional and international actor.

A sustainable stabilisation requires both an improvement in the economic situation, but also a political process. Financial aid and investment from abroad is needed to go about implementing the necessary economic reforms.

This point requires more concerted engagement from Europe; but can only be useful in response to indications of openness and a willingness to change from Khartoum. Viewed as a trustworthy partner by both government and opposition, Europe could serve as mediator in any process of political change.

Remark: This article was originally published by https://www.swp-berlin.org/ in February 06, 2019.

© Copyright Notice

click on link to view the associated photo/image
©AFP ⁃ STRINGER | ©AFP ⁃ STRINGER

We would like to ask you something …

Fanack is an independent media organisation, not funded by any state or any interest group, that distributes in the Middle East and the wider world unbiased analysis and background information, based on facts, about the Middle East and North Africa.

The website grew rapidly in breadth and depth and today forms a rich and valuable source of information on 21 countries, from Morocco to Oman and from Iran to Yemen, both in Arabic and English. We currently reach six million readers annually and growing fast.

In order to guarantee the impartiality of information on the Chronicle, articles are published without by-lines. This also allows correspondents to write more freely about sensitive or controversial issues in their country. All articles are fact-checked before publication to ensure that content is accurate, current and unbiased.

To run such a website is very expensive. With a small donation, you can make a huge impact. And it only takes a minute. Thank you.

  • Western states must repatriate IS fighters and their families before more break free from Syrian camps

    The first, still best, option – repatriation of foreign nationals – is arguably a quickly closing window. Even then, questions would remain about what should happen to Iraqi and Syrian nationals, and what role the West should play in resolving their situation. But European powers must avoid taking the third option they’d been exercising by default – doing nothing, and waiting for circumstances to change.